User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(39)

39

4 stars

(15)

15

3 stars

(7)

7

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "It is very easy to use. It has a lot of flexibility you can use custom fields and can be integrated with other applications"

  • "We use this as our ticketing tool and I find it very easy to use and the best part is that it is Open Source. The support is also great, it is easy to make changes."

  • "Easy to configure and Easy to implement. One of the best applications to track incidents and change requests"

  • Cons

  • "It slows down sometimes, but a reboot always works"

  • "It could have linking option better. It does a bit of time to link tickets and SOPs and FAQs. Otherwise it all fine."

  • "I don't believe there are anything negative about OTRS. The display interface could be a little better"

Browse OTRS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 62 results

March 2018

Omar from University of Maryland

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Opensource framework with modern front-end and perl backend

Low-cost, scalabale solution that could handle multiple trouble ticket queues within one software context.

Pros

Highly customizable. Perl backend "makes sense" and isn't opaque like some designs. It runs as a set of CGI, so that allows it to be wedged into most any webserver environment. We found it simple to run within an Apache / Linux environment.

Cons

The CGI-based design is relatively inefficient and can be sluggish without making some optimizations on the webserver side -- mod_perl in our case (relatively complicated). Docs are a bit sparse, though customer service is responsive.

Response from OTRS

Replied March 2018

Thanks for taking time to share your experience, Omar.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Very customizeable, professional service management software

Makes work easier by having a good overview of ongoing tickets, but also past tickets, with details of what was built / done to offer a solution. That's dependant of what you enter into the system of course, but the options are there and they are clear.

Pros

I've been using OTRS for quite a few years now, and it's an excellent piece of software that makes my life as a sysadmin/support desk guy easier. OTRS understands ITIL, end users and IT pros, and the software supports that. You can link tickets, make internal notes, make FAQs, paste images into text fields, send e-mails, etc. You can also do templates, customize columns, set alerts when things take too long, etc. It's really nice. It even works with our ADFS server, which is excpected of a tool like this, but still. In short, OTRS is versatlize and customizeable.

Cons

There have been minor (cosmetic) bugs here and there, every now and then, which are slightly annoying. Often you can fix these things yourself, but OTRS's configuration is very complex and requires some insight and experience. So in the end, you're gonna have to contact support or read the extensive manual. But buth those options work.

Response from OTRS

Replied June 2018

Thank you for reviewing OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts and comments.

May 2018

Mohit from HCL Infosystems Ltd.

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Basic Ticketing tool for customer desks

Basic software for small organization without advanced features of ITIL.

Pros

I used it for sometime in one of my assignments. It was a very basic tool with minimum customization. It just does its job and do not provide advanced features of ITIL framework. Reporting was not effective and so was its UI. We replaced this with more advanced CA Servicedesk. However as a freeware, it was good for initial use.

Cons

It is basic application and nothing much can be expected put of this. Ours is a ITIL compliant organization and need a more robust application.

Response from OTRS

Replied June 2018

Hi Mohit. Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts on OTRS, and I'm glad you found a solution that fits your needs, I did just want to clarify, for other people reading, that OTRS is ITIL-compliant, and we have 6 ITIL-verified processes for incident, change, problem, knowledge and configuration management. Of course, we can't claim that for the ((OTRS)) Community Edition as that's our free unsupported version: in that case, compliance is in the hands of the user - and it can certainly be tough to configure that solo. But, our fully-managed version of OTRS is ITIL-compliant. Thanks again for the review.

August 2017

Mike from The Music Place

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

OTRS has been a fabulous tool for tracking customer interactions

Our customer service improved because we no longer lost track of calls,follow ups, etc.

Pros

Flexibility: We can add/remove queues easily; we can define sequences of events, custom fields, link to external client DBs, etc.

Cons

Performance is "run of the mill"... but then, I'm also on fairly run of the mill hardware, too. Recent versions have vastly improved the GUI interface. However, it is fairly dense - which I actually consider a Pro (efficient) but some people think it's distracting (cluttered).

Response from OTRS

Replied October 2017

Dear Mike, thank you very much for such a great review. We work really hard to offer one of the most flexible help desk systems on the market, so I'm happy to see that reflects on your experience with our software. Easily adjusting the system to your needs is one of the core benefits of OTRS and it will be even simpler with the new admin GUI of OTRS 6. Best regards, OTRS

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

We use OTRS to register all the activities/pendencies. It is ease to use and intuitive as well.

The way we can centralize everything on it is real a benefit.

Pros

The provided scalability really help us. As a new demand appears, we can set the software to fit to this new need. This is really a power way to work with software.

Cons

When I send some e-mail to, which is related to some active ticket, the emails go agrupated, so for any new e-mail sent, all the previous text are rewritten. In some tickets, there are a lot of du- or tri or quadri-plicated emails. I know this is just something I can solve by deleting the text before sendind it to OTRS, but, it would be amazing if OTRS could append only the new text to the ticket.

Response from OTRS

Replied March 2018

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about OTRS. We're glad for the feedback. I will pass along your comments about the e-mails. It may also help to know that you can submit new improvement ideas to the development team via https://otrsteam.ideascale.com/ Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Great Incident Management Software, with all the Features, great value for money

Stable incident management software with all features needed, excellent value for money.

Pros

Easy to get OTRS installed and running, lots of Features in Open Source. Ideal for situations when you need an incident management tool fast. Software runs perfectly stable in Linux, running it on a Windows Server is possible but not recommended. We tried and ran into performance issues.

Cons

User Interface isn't very modern and easy to use. OTRS does not run efficiently on Windows Servers.

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate your feedback.

July 2018

Annie from Chalhoub Group

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Pretty decent, but it does have a few flaws

IT Asset Management got easy for us. Thank you for coming up with this application

Pros

The application is pretty quick and the administrators are able to bring about changes quickly aswell. We create FAQs and SOPs and add it to OTRS which makes it a great internal Knowledge Base. We also use it as a IT Asset management tool.

Cons

Its not the most fanciest application, but I am used to this now and I love it. No issues in the past 4 years

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

We're glad that it's helped with your IT Asset Management efforts. Thanks for taking time to share the review.

July 2018

Lindson from Kennametal

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Its a great and efficient tool for someone in the service desk

We use it as our primary ticketing tool

Pros

I love the way it can be customized to view all sort of information. We track Change requests and Incidents using OTRS. The best part is that it is OpenSource and the modification can be done easily and without shelling out a lot of money.

Cons

none actually. I've used other applications like Remedy, however I am more inclined to OTRS for now.

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Glad to hear that it's working for you, Lindson. We appreciate you taking time to share a review.

May 2019

Carlo from Finlombarda S.p.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Very useful product

Pros

Easy ticket management, high product customization possibilities. Possibility to create many types of reports.

Cons

The CMDB section is just a container of information. It would be useful to have the ability to manage assets by setting thresholds on the age of the hardware to schedule the replacement.

Response from OTRS

Replied May 2019

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Much appreciate it.

January 2020

Alan from Ninja.TEK

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

An unknown player.

Love it, it's the Community edition and has worked for years.

Pros

OTRS is very simple and gets right to the point when supporting users via email.

Cons

It's not that flashy and there could be a little more functionality in the general mechanics, i.e. when you close a ticket, it should go back to the main screen, etc.

Response from OTRS

Replied January 2020

Glad to hear it's working well for you. Thanks for sharing.

April 2018

Jose from overseas supplier

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Complete customer support solution overall

Pros

You can manage your support tickets as you please. Merge issues, whatever the channel is: email, telephone support. And if you need some more juice, there is their API: integrate it with other systems like odoo or vTiger. Also, it helps you to manage billing hours, SLA, remaining support time for the customer.

Cons

The only thing i can think of is Perl: in a world where all the new programmers come with a web background using JavaScript and other modern technologies, OTRS make it difficult for these kind of programmers to work, but any competent sysadmin can help.

Response from OTRS

Replied April 2018

Hi Jose! Thanks for taking time to leave a review. We appreciate hearing your thoughts about OTRS.

February 2017

Sarah from Chauntry Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Feedback and the Support Received

I would like to Thank your Support Team for the exellent level of support and assistance we have been provided since the introduction of OTRS. I would like to also mention a OTRS staff member who assist with our OTRS version update to 5's Shawn was extramely Professional, friendly, helpful and went a step further to assist me with some system configuration and stepped through some additonal funtionality options available to us.

Pros

the ability to track a tickets journey from start to resolution

Cons

some of the terminoligy in the system configuration isn't very user friendly

Response from OTRS

Replied March 2017

Dear Sarah, thank you very much for your review. We're thrilled that you're getting value from our software and our services. Shawn will also be very happy to hear your compliments. At OTRS we have an open ear for your ideas and suggestions. If there's anything that we can improve, or if you have a new idea for OTRS please feel free to contact us: marketing@otrs.com Best regards, OTRS Marketing Team

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Overall , i found OTRS to be the easiest Ticketing system to use thus far

OTRS offered one of the most , if not the most , bang for the buck in my opinion. The support was always on point and promptly responded to all of or requests and questions , they provided on site support when needed and had one of the most pleasant training experience thus far.

Pros

As both a user and an administrator of the software i found the following in my last year of using the software : Ease of use Flexibility Easy customization Open Source Powerful Tools

Cons

Although i found this to be the most user friendly of the ticketing there are a few things i think might be improved in the future : Convoluted Process management SLA administration cumbersome to use and config Lacking a few features out of the box

Response from OTRS

Replied June 2018

Thank you for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate your feedback.

June 2018

Georges from SES Networks

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

With ITSM awareness and maturity, OTRS can be successfully adopted and adapted.

Organize and Improve Desk and Operation functions. The value and level of services delivered by our department/team is better understood internally. Customer expectation is managed properly, therefore leading to improvements in customer experience.

Pros

Adaptability to agents organization and processes. ITIL orientation for ops processes and inclusion of Configuration and Knowledge management.

Cons

Ticket to C.I. links can be better clarified and improved (impact of the relationship) C.I. Features on Customer portal (e.g. missing search function, latency to refresh large CMDB)

June 2018

joshua from AMRI

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

customizable, flexible and inexpensive, ITIL

Pros

It follows ITIL standards, It is free to use and support maintenance is inexpensive. It does support multiply languages.

Cons

It has a lot of customizable options that can cause some confusion when trying to fix a problems or modify the software. Finding those different options and what heading they are under in the management. The current version we are on does not support an easy SSO/SAML setup out of the box.

Response from OTRS

Replied June 2018

Hi Joshua, Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate the feedback. To clarify, for others reading, OTRS is a fully-managed solution. We do offer ((OTRS)) Community Edition that is free to use and open-source, but it requires self-configuration and that can be challenging. Thanks again for taking time to write in!

July 2018

Malcolm from Bru textiles

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Brilliant consultants and best value Helpdesk we have ever used. Highly recommended.

Helps to control helpdesk and service functions across our organisation

Pros

Highly robust, runs on All popular platforms like windows server, Linux etc Light to client performs really well over LAN and WAN Excellent value for money compared to other products in its category

Cons

Requires some Training in order to tweak any of the under the hood features Generating reports is a little weak compared to leading industry products

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

I think our consultants would be thrilled by your review. Thank you for taking time to write in and share your thoughts.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Flexible and powerful helpdesk and service desk solution

My experience in using OTPs is more than 10 years. OTP successfully solves the problems of automating IT services, integrated customer support services. We also successfully use OTPS for the implementation of HR processes.

Pros

1. Open-source 2. ITIL based solution 3. Flexible configuration 4. Built-in processes 5. Powerful email handling 6. Event-based hander

Cons

1. Outdated design 2. No mobile app 3. Relatively complex integration through web services

Response from OTRS

Replied May 2019

Very much appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll keep an eye out in Q4 for design changes.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Easy and Robust Software - Economical Ticketing Solution for any Organization

Cost effective Ticketing Software .

Pros

This is an open source application and exactly the reason why we love it in our company. When every year the management cuts our budget, OTRS is a tool where we don't have too spend to much to get great features and also use it to address tickets and eventually delight our customers

Cons

Vendor Support is something that I would expect to be a little better. For some changes they charge a lot

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback.

August 2018

Remco from Eurofins

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Great Service Desk ticketing Solution

Pros

We have implemented OTRS in our Corporate environment and it is our primary ticketing tool. The ability to track incidents, change requests and Problem tickets is the best feature of OTRS. The reports that can be generated via OTRS is also a great benefit.

Cons

Since this is an Open Source software, for any major modification the vendor needs to be contacted and extra payment needs to be done.

Response from OTRS

Replied August 2018

Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts.

June 2018

Rosen from Lufthansa Technik Sofia Ltd.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

OTRS is one of the best ITSM tools that I've ever seen and I'm so happy seeing its development!

Pros

Incident management and request fulfillment processes are fully covered by the tool. It's highly customizable and very stable.

Cons

There are two things: 1. Change management process is a little bit hard to implement; 2. The trend to go into the cloud. We're very conservative organization and we prefer to operate on-premise solutions.

Response from OTRS

Replied June 2018

Hi Rosen. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on OTRS. We appreciate you doing so and hearing about your experience with it.

July 2018

Binu from Eurofins

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Better than Remedy

Change Management and incidents are easy to manage with this tool

Pros

This is the only Open Source Ticketing tool that I have used and I should say I'm surprisingly impressed. The change management process flows are easily implemented and easily configured

Cons

There are no cons that I can talk about. This product is as robust as remedy or any other ticketing system

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Hi Binu. We're glad to hear that the process workflows are helping out. Thanks for taking time to review OTRS.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

OTRS - Recommended Open source Ticketing System available in market

- Internal operational efficiencies - Improved business process agility - Improved business process outcomes - Improved customer relations/service

Pros

- Deeply Integrate & implements ITIL process - Reports on SLA / Open vs closed and any other business requirement can be easily configured - Tickets : Easy to create & Track, Group similar issue tickets - Workflow, Notification, Process flow automation can easily be configured with no to minimal effort.

Cons

- Need to create more UI themes , even though current are sufficient considering its free.

Response from OTRS

Replied December 2018

Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate the feedback.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

OTRS - Makes life easy

We can manage everything better with tools like OTRS so go give it a try. They offer free demo too.

Pros

- OTRS allows you to keep track of your requirements and all the incidents in terms of tickets. There is no way you can lose something or miss something. With the help of SRX number you will find everything in few seconds. No matter how many years old, those records are. - You can customize your own process and according to you Ex – standard time to meet the SLA - The support team is available 24/7 for help and with every new update.

Cons

- I don’t like that feature of OTRS when on every single email it creates new ticket. Besides that, I honestly don’t have any complaints about OTRS.

Response from OTRS

Replied March 2019

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate it.

July 2018

Francis from Tupperware Brands

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Great to tailor to a good ITSM tool, after a first learning curve one can be efficient

Solid Incident management process rolled out

Pros

email inbound capabilities are great (maybe unique!) Easy to rollout, once you have a couple of basic admins, customising is quite powerful

Cons

Reporting is difficult to make work out of the box, SLA functionality complete only if you pay extra functionality

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thanks for taking time to send in a review, Francis. We appreciate your thoughts.

June 2018

Sander from N.V. Westerscheldetunnel

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Very flexible system - easier to use than to configure

It helps us to administer our support tickets and create FAQ articles for them.

Pros

The ease of use and flexibility are very valuable. Also it's open source and you can run it yourself would you wish to do so.

Cons

Interfacing with other systems is, out of the box, rather limited. You could build it yourself though. Managed hosting by OTRS is very expensive for teams with just a few members.

August 2018

Michael from Eurofins

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Great and Simple Ticketing Tool

Pros

Our organisation has been using OTRS for years now and it has been great. We have implemented OTRS in our IT and Marketing Groups. IT related tickets gets tracked using OTRS and Customer emails are converted into tickets and addressed by the CRM and Marketing teams.

Cons

I did not find any cons regarding OTRS.

Response from OTRS

Replied August 2018

Thanks for the feedback, Michael. We appreciate you taking the time.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Used extensively for the past 10 years

Cheap effective solution for handling incoming client requests.

Pros

Open source. Not the most visually appealing software but it allowed us to break down our queue system based on user requirements with ease.

Cons

Written like an older program. A lot of the functionality is not next gen ready and it sorely lacks vs newer systems.

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate the review.

June 2018

Roberto from Web Consult SRL - Tecnocasa Group

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

In our organization OTRS is used by one hundred operators of IT, Business, Reception, Helpdesk

Pros

Is very flexible, adaptive to almost every kind of organization. Easy for users. Many features available where to pick the more suitable for your needs

Cons

Quite complex the administration, especially when is necessary to change the standard settings. Some features are not easy to implement.

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. Your thoughts are helpful to us.

November 2017

Govinda from InKnowTech Pvt Ltd.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

OTRS has outstanding functionalities, usability

OTRS benefits are many : Integrated Business Features such as Chat and Ticket Timeline View. Free choice of exclusive features. Installation and configuration. Regular, free updates. ITIL compatible Service Management. Use OTRS Business Solution on your mobile devices

Pros

Low cost , usability and integration with multiple app is possible. Very user friendly. Definitely will have great cost saving post implementation.

Cons

Data encryption is not working correctly, same is tested by installing this module. Seems this error must have fixed by app development team.

June 2018

Tom from Colruyt Group

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

OTRS helps our business to organise our customer contacts in a structured way!

Pros

OTRS has the ability to configure everything to your needs. Integration with other systems is very flexible via the webservices.

Cons

It would be nice to have more tools to import and export data e.g. service list or content for dynamic fields/lists

Response from OTRS

Replied June 2018

Thanks for taking time to review OTRS, Tom. We appreciate the feedback.

July 2018

Dwipanita from Eurofins

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Account Receivable Team is more efficient

Efficient tracking of requests in the form of tickets

Pros

After we got this OTRS application setup, we were able to track all tickets that comes into our queue. We work on each ticket and make sure the SLA is in place. I've used remedy in the previous organisation, however this is the best

Cons

I don't believe there are anything negative about OTRS. The display interface could be a little better

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Glad to hear that it's helped meet SLAs. Thanks for taking time to review OTRS.

October 2016

Rajesh from Flytxt Mobile Solutions Ltd

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

A Very Economical Ticketing Tool

This product is using from 3 years.We started from a trial version and later customized to meet our requirements.Its meeting almost all requirements,compared with highly paid other tolls.The major advantages are the unlimited number of agents and customers can create in this. We could develop all the required features in this and happy with the product.

Response from OTRS

Replied October 2016

Thank you very much for your review.

July 2018

Bas from Eurofins

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Best Ticketing Tool ever

Speed and efficiency

Pros

My team use this everyday. Ever since we went live with this tool we were able to accomplish a lot. Incident tickets and Problem tickets are easy to track and manage

Cons

I can't think of any cons. This tool works well and the features are apt for our organization. Use it for a few days and you will get to know

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thanks so much for the review, Bas. We appreciate the feedback and are glad that OTRS is working well for your team!

July 2018

Sujoy from Eurofins

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great App that can be used in any Sector

Customer responses are managed on time

Pros

We got this implemented by our IT Team for us to monitor customer responses and it has been just great. All responses get converted into a ticket and we can manage it as per the SLA configured

Cons

The time it takes to configure small changes are too much, i feel. other than that, I don't think there are any Cons

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thanks for the review, Sujoy. Glad to hear it's helping to manage SLAs.

July 2018

mukhtiyar from Eurofins

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

ITs an amazing OpenSource Application that can be used as a ticketing Tool

Being in the IT Service Desk it helps me track all my Tickets

Pros

We use it daily at the Service Desk. We can track Service Requests and Change Request very effectively. We can also implement ITIL based concepts on OTRS

Cons

As many would agree, the GUI is very basic and could use some uplift. There are other tools in the market which has better interface.

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thanks for your review, Mukhtiyar. Your thoughts are appreciated.

July 2018

Soma from Testing laboratories

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great Application and Great Features

Customer Satisfaction increased by 80%

Pros

We wanted to track tickets that come into the HR services and that's when we asked IT to get OTRS for us. Now its improved our Customer Satisfaction Scores by 80%

Cons

I could never find a Con in OTRS. Its not expensive easy to modify and quick. I love this Application

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Wow! That's wonderful to hear, Soma. Thanks so much for letting us know and for taking time to send in a review.

June 2018

Debolina from GSK Pharmaceuticals India

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Wonderful Application and easy to use

All our tickets are tracked and its one of the best tools that i've used

Pros

We use this as our ticketing tool and I find it very easy to use and the best part is that it is Open Source. The support is also great, it is easy to make changes.

Cons

The GUI could be a little fancy, but over all I'm satisfied with the product. There is not many cons

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thanks, Debolina. We appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts.

October 2018

Pam from Therapy Partners (TPI)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Awesome Ticketing Tool

Pros

I have been using this for the past 3 years. Just the easiest way to keep a track of customer feedback .

Cons

It slows down sometimes, but a reboot always works

Response from OTRS

Replied October 2018

Thanks for taking time to review, Pam. Glad to hear it's going well for you.

July 2018

Tiju from SRM Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Just the best Ticketing Software that I've used

ease of addressing tickets and change requests

Pros

My team and I use OTRS to work on tickets let it be Incident or Change Request. This is a feature rich tool that is opensource

Cons

I could not find any cons in the 2 years that I've been using this software. It doesn't have any addins or plugins that could slow it down.

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thanks for taking time to share your review, Tiju. We're glad for the feedback!

July 2018

Manjunath from ITC Infotech

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great Tool to work with . Its easy and fast

We use this as our Primary Ticketing Tool.

Pros

We use it on a regular basis and it helps us monitor tickets and work on them. It's absolutely essential for an ITIL based service desk

Cons

The GUI could be better. but that's nothing I'm complaining about. I like the speed at which we can change screens

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback!

October 2018

Soma from CIBER, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great Ticketing Tool

Pros

I have used this for about 2 years and it is a very simple and powerful ticketing tool. We use it to track our IT Assets aswell.

Cons

This is an open source tool, so you get what you pay for. I did not find any other negative points.

Response from OTRS

Replied October 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Soma. In case others are reading, there is also a fully-managed version of OTRS.

June 2018

Jackson from Eurofins IT Solutions India Pvt. Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Great Product and great Features

Efficiency

Pros

The ease of use and the way you can customize if easily. My team uses it daily. It is an absolute must for a service desk

Cons

It could have linking option better. It does a bit of time to link tickets and SOPs and FAQs. Otherwise it all fine.

Response from OTRS

Replied June 2018

Thanks so much for your comments, Jackson. We appreciate you taking the time to write in.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

customization makes easy issue tracking

Pros

can submit and track the customer queries easily and customization can be done as per the requirement. notes can be added and the owners can be assigned easily. SLAs can be set up for escalation

Cons

sometimes it is low in performance and when replied via email for an otrs sent request it creates another duplicated ticket.

Response from OTRS

Replied June 2019

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts, and we're glad to hear that OTRS has been useful to you. I'll also share your comments with the rest of the team. Much appreciated.

August 2018

Manisha from Firstsource Advantage, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

OTRS an Amazing Tool - Easy and Efficient

Problem Management tickets were easy to track

Pros

Easy to configure and Easy to implement. One of the best applications to track incidents and change requests

Cons

I have never had a negative experience while using OTRS

Response from OTRS

Replied August 2018

Thanks so much for the review, Manisha. We're glad to hear it's helping. Much appreciated!

April 2018

Simón Bernabé from CORPOELEC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

It is a great software very useful in the IT department of an organization

Ease to handle the eventualities with the stations of work and telecommunications of the organization

Pros

It is very easy to use. It has a lot of flexibility you can use custom fields and can be integrated with other applications

Cons

What I like least about this software is that it does not have a lot of documentation and sometimes it is usually a bit slow when the volume of information grows.

Response from OTRS

Replied April 2018

Thank you for taking time to share your review of OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts and insights.

December 2018

Gustavo from RINNOVO CORP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

OTRS a complex tool for the creation of Tickets.

My experience with this tool is to be able to follow the requirements of our customers through the Tickets in OTRS.

Pros

This tool complies with the necessary requirements to carry out ticket controls and cases attended. It is a very modifiable tool in relation to administration.

Cons

In my case the disadvantages of this tool is that the user interface is very cumbersome and very unintuitive. The creation of the tickets is very complicated for me. It is necessary to have previous knowledge or to have received an induction to be able to use this tool.

Response from OTRS

Replied December 2018

Thanks for taking time to write in Gustavo. The feedback is always appreciated. I don't know if you've had a chance to see the newly released OTRS 7: the external interface was updated with this release, and that's the start of changes to come with respect to the interface. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

June 2019

Samuel from CD

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2019

Good, but the community version was discontinued

My experience was good, but since there is no community version anymore I'm moving to another one.

Pros

No pros anymore as OTRS AG has discontinued the community (free) version. Version 6 will be the last free version.

Cons

Since there is no community version anymore, business version (commercial) is expensive and lack a lot of features when compared to some newer players.

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2019

Thank you for taking time to share your review. I do want to mention that, while we have made some changes to when ((OTRS)) Community Edition updates are released, it hasn't been discontinued. It's available at https://community.otrs.com/. Much appreciate the feedback.

July 2019

Nadia from University of Mississippi

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Excellent Ticketing System

Overall, I had a really great experience with this program and would definitely recommend this program.

Pros

I'm currently using the OTRS-6 system for submitting work order tickets. Before using this system, I would submit a work order and the response time was slow. There was no way that I would have known whether or not the However when I submit a work order request under the OTRS-6 system, I immediately receive a confirmation email and the response time is pretty quick.

Cons

The only con that I see with this program is that there was no user guide available; however, the program is pretty user-friendly.

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2019

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.

August 2019

Suraj from Minsitry of Finance

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

easy tracking on the logged issues and reporting

Pros

can be configured as required and the escalation and tracking is easier

Cons

sometimes it is slow when uploading attachments and duplicated when replied with email

Response from OTRS

Replied August 2019

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It's appreciated.

July 2019

Jenna from Computer Software

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great ITIL support product

Pros

This product is really outstanding, we conducted a review of multiple service management tools and this came out on top. This gives us much more than call logging, there is the ability to set up full SLA criteria based on details logged by the users. When customers log calls depending on the information they provide means that the case they log can be sent to a specific queue for a specific team. Ability to see full detail about customer logging call: asset information, contact information and previous calls. There is a self help option to the product too which can assist with users basic enquiries.

Cons

Integration with outlook hasn't been the easiest.

Response from OTRS

Replied July 2019

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about OTRS. They are appreciated.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 62 reviews