All PRTG Reviews

1-25 of 221 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Cesar Enrique

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

PRTG a useful and easy to deploy tool

We started using PRTG with the demo and we realized that it had many functionalities such as email notification and others such as being able to monitor the traffic of an interface or the SNMP of a device and we decided to purchase the licensed version and it has been a great choice.

PROS

What I like most about PRTG is that it is very easy to deploy, in addition to being very intuitive, it does not require much knowledge to configure it. It also has an APP for Android that is very useful and from which you can monitor the services.

CONS

What I like least is that it is a little expensive compared to the competition.

Reasons for switching to PRTG

We changed it because we wanted a more efficient tool, one that was faster in notifications and also more user-friendly.

Vendor Response

Dear Cesar Enrique, Thank you for your feedback on PRTG Network Monitor! We're glad to hear that you find PRTG easy to deploy and intuitive, with an easy-to-use Android app for service monitoring. We understand your concerns about the cost compared to the competition, but we appreciate your decision to switch to PRTG for its efficiency and faster notifications. We're happy to have you as a satisfied user and hope it continues to effectively meet your monitoring needs. Your Paessler Team

Replied November 2023

Eike

Industrial Automation, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2024

Good engine

The engine is good, the amount of available sensors is good. The GUIs / clients could be better.

PROS

Quick and easy setup Open interfaces for custom sensors An API Fair prizing

CONS

Almost all GUIs Old web GUI stuck sometimes or do not show everything New web GUI put focus on strange things and not very intuitive The full client does not work good at all No multiselect on sensors for multiple changes on sensors are possible

Reason for choosing PRTG

Easy and time saving setup Easy setup of satellite systems Good basement of pre-defined sensors Clientless

Vendor Response

Dear Eike, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you're happy with the sensor options. If you would like to give us more feedback, why not become part of our PRTG Feedback Insiders. You can find all the information here: https://go.paessler.com/prtg-feedback-insiders Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2022

Easy to implement, web based and nearly agent less monitoring

It was easy to install and manage, it's helpling a lot with monitoring and alerting and it's aeasy to use. Also to adapt or tweak thresholds is very easy.

PROS

It's very easy to implement and for a lot of the user cases it does not need an agent or software to be installed

CONS

For well known Enterprise Products e.g. VMWare VCenter there are only limited intergration available.

Reasons for switching to PRTG

Icinga was to complicated to setup and to use.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied May 2022

Rene

Chemicals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

Monitoring with some limits

overall we are pretty happy with this product.

PROS

I really like the scheduled scanning with templates for specific ip ranges, so that even new servers/devices/components directly are monitored without forgetting them to add. Also the possibility to write own sensors with Powershell or other languages is very good.

CONS

Batch management is poor in some places. if you want to manage multiple servers at once it is possible at some places but there are limitations so that some task are pretty repetative if you need to add batches, or you have to use workarounds.

Reasons for switching to PRTG

The grouping for notifications in nagios was horrible.

Vendor Response

Dear Rene, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're glad you find the scheduled scanning and custom sensor features valuable. We'll take your comments on batch management into consideration. We appreciate your support and are committed to improving your experience with our product. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Richard Fortigate

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Very good network monitor

Very good monitoring. When i first set it up, it immediately found a defective fibre cable for me.

PROS

Realtime monitoring, easy to read display, handy events

CONS

The "unusual" traffic monitor is annoying and you can't turn it off.

Reason for choosing PRTG

Price/performance and reviews from other users

Reasons for switching to PRTG

Much cheaper and better value for money.

Vendor Response

Dear Richard, Thank you for leaving us a review! The unusual detection can be configured globally under Setup > Monitoring > Unusual Detection. Also, it can be disabled/enabled on device-, group-, probe- and root-level under Advanced Network Analysis > Unusual Detection. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Tim

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Great Network and Real Time Monitor

So far, PRTG has been great to use. We use it so monitor real time network connectivity with our remote locations.

PROS

Really enjoy the ease of use with setting up sensors.

CONS

Dashboard functionality could be a little more robust. We would like to use instant geographical information with a dashboard, but not that great and time consuming to use.

Reason for choosing PRTG

Ease of use for setting up the different sensor and cost of purchase.

Vendor Response

Dear Tim, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear that you find PRTG easy to use for setting up sensors and monitoring real-time network connectivity. We appreciate your suggestion regarding dashboard functionality and will take it into consideration for future improvements. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Lars

Consumer Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Easy to install, configure, maintain and use monitoring System

PROS

- ease of use - ease of installation - ease of maintenance - Variation of integrated monitors and sensors - ability to install scripted and other manual monitors and sensors

CONS

there is not a lot I can wirte here, maybe sometime the lack of support by phone

Reason for choosing PRTG

the product demo showed straight away how easy to handle PRTG is.

Vendor Response

Dear Lars, Thank you for your detailed feedback! We're pleased to hear that our monitoring system met your expectations with its ease of installation, configuration, and maintenance, as well as its wide range of built-in monitors and sensors that provide flexibility. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Karel

Cosmetics, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

PRTG Network Monitor helps us to maintain internal performance criteria.

PROS

Ability to create and present an online dashboard on the status of IT resources for users of our services.

CONS

Time-consuming setup of a large number of sensors and their dependencies to accurately provide status information on larger or more complex devices.

Vendor Response

Dear Karel, Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We're thrilled that PRTG Network Monitor has helped you meet your internal performance criteria, especially with its ability to create and present online dashboards to give users visibility into the status of IT resources. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Paul

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

PRTG is a good monitoring tools

PROS

PRTG is not only easy to deploy but also easy to maintain, providing real-time alerts to infrastructure and server issues

CONS

There's no mobile app with Azure SSO. The product has no another defects.

Vendor Response

Dear Paul, Thanks for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that PRTG's ease of deployment and maintenance, along with its real-time alerts, have been valuable for your infrastructure monitoring needs. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Mohd Yusri

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

What i like most about Prtg

The best real time monitoring to monitor network health.

PROS

-Realtime monitoring -Real alert notification via email & SMS

CONS

-Cant compare day by day stat -Cant compare week by week

Vendor Response

Dear Mohd Yusri, Thank you for highlighting what you value most about PRTG! We're happy to hear that our real-time monitoring and alerting system has been a valuable asset in maintaining the health and reliability of your network. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Brock

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

My go-to monitoring solution for almost 10 years

I have been extremely happy with PRTG for the close to 10 years that I have used it. It has been extremely reliable, which is paramount for a tool you are using to monitor your entire network.

PROS

I love how easy it is to get rolled out and customized to work for pretty much anything with an IP Address. Real-time and historical data that is provided in PRTG is invaluable.

CONS

While this is not necessarily it's intended purpose, the Syslog/SNMP sensors could use some work to make it easier to use them as a collector/trap for historical logs.

Reason for choosing PRTG

More polished product. Ease of use. Price. Cleaner interface. Recommendations from others.

Vendor Response

Dear Brock, Thank you for leaving us this review. We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied May 2022

Reski

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

PRTG is simplified my work Everyday.

PRTG can do Monitor all systems, devices, traffic and applications of your IT infrastructure. Everything you need, and don't expect more for custom weekly / monthly reports

PROS

This is the Recommended software that I often use to monitor or improve the Information Technology infrastructure. Very easy to install, user friendly and supports mobile devices. It can detect our problems quickly. We can check all critical Service Application components on the bus :)

CONS

This software does not yet have a weekly custom report for audit needs, so we do a manual retrieval :(

Reason for choosing PRTG

Budget, Easy to install, user friendly and supports mobile devices

Vendor Response

Dear Reski, thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied October 2019

Ivan

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

PRTG monitoring software

We are monitoring our complete infrastructure, from network switches and routers, over servers to virtualized infrastructure and storage's.

PROS

Helped us many time with alert so our infrastructure did not go down.

CONS

I would like more vendor specific alerts to be included like Fortinet,

Reason for choosing PRTG

Better GUI, more stable application, easy to use and less hardware resources needed. Better probe for automatic search.

Vendor Response

Dear Ivan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied August 2019

Joshua

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

I Find PRTG as the defacto standard in multi platform System Monitoring

PROS

Ease of use, Web based, highly customizable if needed.

CONS

The only quirk I have is it is still not available in Linux (though a linux is probe is development I prefer the whole system on a linux environment)

Reason for choosing PRTG

I find the web interface of PRTG to be more accessible and straightforward.

Vendor Response

Dear Joshua, Thank you taking the time to leave us this review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied March 2022

User Profile

Jhon

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

PRTG makes diagnostic work easier

In the process of network management it is possible to encounter complex situations that are not noticeable to the naked eye which makes conventional systems not easily detected but cause significant operational havoc, for similar cases it is necessary to have tools to support the support team capable of seeing what is not easily detectable and PRTG is one of those reliable tools and high capacity monitoring and detection of anomalies, this coupled with a professional IT team ensures a network of high capacity and stability for end users.

PROS

Our level 1 support work is to timely detect those technical events that affect the network infrastructure and which are reflected in the reports created by users, some of these events went unnoticed to our sight because in the measurements (ping, traces) made to some of the strategic equipment provided results within the normal range, This demanded a lot of time in the detection of failures negatively affecting the SLA, when the pilot was made with PRTG and after several adjustments to the thresholds we were able to timely detect the variations which were not visible before, allowing us to recognize the beginning of a massive event; PRTG has very useful sensors that provide accurate metrics and with the help of protocols such as SNMP it is possible to communicate with remote equipment which facilitates our task.

CONS

I have been using the tool for several years and I can say that there is always something to learn from PRTG, the learning curve to get the most out of it is notorious, although we have had staff who have experience using it which is an important support in our work, however, there is ample information where some doubts are clarified in measurements or implementation of remote probes and the configuration of thresholds.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your positive feedback on PRTG's ability to timely detect technical events and improve network infrastructure monitoring. We understand there may be a learning curve, but we're committed to providing support and addressing any doubts you have. Furthermore, we value your continued use of PRTG and encourage you to reach out to our support team for assistance. Your Paessler Team

Replied June 2023

Alejandro

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Thanks to PRTG, we have control over our IT resources.

PRTG is a powerful tool that greatly helps any IT team, by relying on protocols such as snmp and netflow among others, it allows to acquire very accurate traffic information in the different equipment with which it communicates, this gives an image of the current status of the equipment or service analyzed, thus ensuring immediate response to any eventuality occurred which sometimes represents losses of money for the organization.

PROS

The tool provides us with certain functionalities adaptable to our network topology in order to have 24/7 monitoring of each of the elements involved; being based on sensors we can configure the thresholds according to our metrics to detect alterations in these and once presented an abnormal event the tool with its great capacity of notifications allows the IT team to locate the root of the failure and make corrections in a timely manner, with this we have mitigated the impact on the SLA.

CONS

As a recommendation should be sized very well the amount of elements to monitor in order to make use of the appropriate license, once you have the corresponding sensors should be strategically located in the different nodes, servers or cloud services to have the measurements that your team requires, otherwise the tool is very customizable and adaptable to every need.

Vendor Response

Dear Alejandro, We're pleased that PRTG has given you control over your IT resources. It's great to hear how PRTG's customizable features, have helped your team ensure 24/7 monitoring and prompt problem resolution. Your recognition of PRTG's accurate traffic insights and its role in minimizing downtime and financial losses is greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! Your Paessler Team

Replied August 2023

David

Human Resources, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

The software you want monitoring your network

Fantastic, we can proactively monitor connections and equipment, often we are working on fixing it before the end users know it is broken

PROS

Easy to use, reliable, can email or text about alerts, can execute scripts etc. Able to monitor snmp, pings, https and all sorts of things.

CONS

It is licensed by sensor, so you can easily run out of you monitor everything, you'll need to be careful to only monitor what you need to

Reasons for switching to PRTG

Ease of use

Vendor Response

Dear David, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are happy that PRTG supports you and your team that well. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied January 2020

User Profile

Stephen