All Web Help Desk Reviews

1-25 of 120 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Oliver Elijah

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

With SolarWinds we can create granular reports to address problem areas.

SolarWinds has the ability to update files automatically with the mobile device management system. It also allows us to generate granular reports to address problematic areas. In addition SolarWinds Web Help Desk performs a good management of hardware assets.

PROS

SolarWinds generates a positive impact thanks to cost reduction. It works perfectly in the IT support department. With SolarWinds we managed to automatically update the asset with our mobile device management system through an extension. In addition SolarWinds allows us to create granular reports to address problem areas fairly quickly. SolarWinds Web Help Desk performs an excellent job of information management of hardware assets. I believe that the Web Help Desk would be suitable for technical users or for people who require a large amount of personalization without many details.

CONS

SolarWinds should greatly improve the help desk. Also I would like to see that the support matches the functionality of the product.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Full Featured Help Desk Solution

We have streamlined our process for reporting issues in our district which in turn has made our response times come down. Having a history of issues is also beneficial for training purposes and for staff to see how to fix a recurring issue they may have. Overall has made us much more efficient.

PROS

Ease of use. I have had new techs that havent had any experience with a ticketing system sit down and be able to use this product within several minutes. Also it has been a godsend for our staff as we require them to log in to the system to create tickets.

CONS

Inventory function. I was hoping for an easier way to track our device inventory. I believe it would do the job, but the initial setup has to be comprehensive to make things work smoothly.

Curtis

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2017

Web Help Desk has worked better than the past ticketing system we have. It does what we at this time

PROS

Very easy to users to respond and create tickets. When users create tickets through the website it will list their IP Address of the computer they are using. You can set up a status on a ticket for waiting for a response. After the criteria of your choosing will send users email and after the criteria are met it will auto close the ticket. You can also use multi-approval chain works great. If you have sign off of more than 1 person will generate an email to one and if they approve sends to the other. If any deny in the chain will stop the process. You can also respond to tickets through email which goes directly to the user without having to log into the system.

CONS

There is no true purchase order. It's more like a tracking of POs you already have done in another system. IF you want to use then it has to add make and model. Sometimes when clicking a field it will randomly close and you have to back out the ticket and go back in. When ordering licenses the admin uses up a license. When searching tickets can only search by the last name. If you have assets linked to a user you have to set up manually for each user. The mobile app hasn't been updated for users, so do not use. If you want embedded documents or pictures in the PAQs have to use BBCODE, which if are a busy helpdesk won't have time to create.

Vendor Response

Just wanted to thank you for sharing this honest feedback. Without a doubt, we have some room for improvement, but it's comments like this that keep us on the right path.

Replied May 2017

Robert

Mental Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

Well put together help desk.

Maintain and track help desk tickets. Also enter in my own projects help keep me on task. Notes feature allows me to add any updates I have made or upload any new documents I may have.

PROS

Easy to send messages back and forth from client and technician. Can then set reminders on tickets to ensure you do not over look a ticket. Has a FAQ section that allows you to record solutions to reoccurring problems or questions.

CONS

If a ticket has been passed around a few times it is not easy to see who previously worked on the ticket. The information is displayed in the ticket history but this records everything and can become lengthy on a higher level ticket.

Kevin

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

We moved from TrackIT! to Web Help Desk, and it is much easier to use overall.

Easy deployment and configuration. Were also able to use the ticketing system for departments other than IT, such as HR and Maintenance. Our users were also able to adopt Web Help Desk with very little training. For users without an email address in our company WHD gave us a way create users so they could submit tickets, we did not have this option with other software.

PROS

Ease of use and access. Covers everything we need for a small/medium business, and runs great a virtual server. If you buy other products from SolarWinds it integrates with those too. The emailing of tickets is seemless, and it is easy to keep all communications within the tool. Integrates nicely with Active Directory.

CONS

Asset tracking is not as good as other tools. The reporting has a learning curve, and needs to have more options.

Phillip

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

An old help desk system that isn't being modernised or supported beyond security patches

PROS

The ticketing system itself works without major issues, but it's built on a very old system.The search and filtering system is absolutely amazing, giving you the option to allowing you to build queries with any combination of data to include or exclude

CONS

The platform would regularly fail back to the main ticket page when trying to switch to the assets tab, or when saving a note or email response, sometimes causing the system to lose all the changes you just made.The system would sometimes crash in the middle of the night, requiring a service restart on the server.

Betsy

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Chatham University's use of Web Help Desk

Overall, Web Help Desk was great to work with. It was very user-friendly and had a lot of tools to get our everyday Help Desk job (ticket logging, working, resolution) done very efficiently. We had a few issues customer-service-wise (not me personally, but co-workers had said they did), and the issue with duplicates in the asset tracking and management did end up creating problems.

PROS

I liked the easy and multiple ways to find a ticket (open or closed). I liked having the options for searching and the advanced search options. I liked being able to add images and documents to each comment. I loved being able to go in and edit individual comments.

CONS

We had the most problems with customer service and asset management.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Web Helpdesk from Solarwinds

It was an ok tool for me, as I was not working on it as an administrator but for a day to day ticket management, it was very easy to use and our customers were also able to reach out to us with their day to day support queries and we also used it for internal task management.

PROS

The most positive point which I liked about this product was that we were able to use it from anywhere, either when we were on the client-side or in the office. Our work was fieldwork and to have a web-based solution was very helpful to track complaints and provide response to clients and management about the work done.

CONS

I did not use this tool as an administrator, so I am not familiar with its cons, only used for ticket management.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Easy To Setup and Train End Users to Use

PROS

Has tons of features and functionality AND it is easy to setup and utilize all of them. From start to full web help desk completion, it took roughly two weeks (not day to day) and it was fully setup and being used by all company staff to submit tickets, approve tickets, and for tech staff to reply and resolve tickets.

CONS

Depending on how many techs you want to utilize the Web Help Desk it can become pricey. We only had 5-7 techs at any given time so the cost was not that bad.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Ticket Tracking with Webhelpdesk. Easily submit and resolve issues with ticketing system

We easily are able to track resolution of issues and pull reports in order to look at trends.

PROS

Able to look up ticket type, or ticket content for repeat issues. Track issues by who submits them easily by searching. Setup custom requirements for ticket submission. Easily integrate it with Solarwinds to create tickets when there are issues on network. It can also be connected to Exchange to send out email notifications.

CONS

It appears that it cannot send email notifications to Distro lists. Setting up tech alerts can be quite complicated to get everything configured the way you want it to.

Keith

Religious Institutions, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

Review

We were looking for a help desk system that was also our asset inventory. It was able to do both but not very well.

PROS

Overall the software had a lot of options and was easy to setup.

CONS

The server had memory issues often and support wasn't very helpful, other them telling us to reboot it.

Reasons for switching to Web Help Desk

Wanted more options and better support.

Russell

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2017

Basic Helpdesk that needs a lot of work to be brought up to industry standards

Full ticketing system for the last 12 years.

PROS

Basic ticketing works fine. Easy to use and solid once it's been properly setup. Like any product, setting up correctly from the start is needed.

CONS

Vendor (Solarwinds) has not done any real updates or feature improvements since they purchased the product about 5 years ago. It is obvious they don't take this product serious.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your continued use of Web Help Desk, this loyalty to the product means a lot. Though you stated your piece about its progression, let us reassure you things are moving... and fast. Check out the Web Help Desk Product Page on https://thwack.solarwinds.com to access our product roadmap and see what coming down the pike.

Replied May 2017

Alex

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2017

Fast, Easy, effective

Asset management

PROS

It is easy to see all tickets in the system, and who is working said tickets. Notes within the tickets are easy to add or edit, and the reporting is a great feature.

CONS

It tends to hang in my browser at times, which requires a restart of the browser. This happens both in Internet Explorer 11, or Firefox.

Vendor Response

We're so glad to hear you're able to use Web Help Desk with such ease and that you've enjoyed the ability to track ticket status among other functions. Depending on which version of the product you're using, this could be the cause of your browser-related issues. Here is a link to a resources to verify your favored browser is suited for your running instance: http://bit.ly/2rbhXle. If you're issues persist, we strongly urge you to contact our support team via the SolarWinds Success Center for more guidance.

Replied May 2017

Tom

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Solarwinds Web Help Desk solved multiple issues in our stores

As the only main IT person in our company, I was riddled with requests for help through the email, phone and in person. With the Solarwinds Web Help Desk, everything is ticketed, rated and responded to by urgency need. Also, when I contact support on our software programs, I can put the replies directly into the ticket and respond to the associate who wrote the ticket with up to date progress.

PROS

Quick to set up. Easy to operate. All users have access to their tickets

CONS

Reports are rough to use, however I have been able to understand them after a while.

Jeffrey

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

I'm a daily user of the system and have not had any major issues.

PROS

I like it's ease of use in creating and editing the ticket types. This allows me to easily create plenty of different tickets for easy metrics and organization.

CONS

I do not like how the system works primarily off of the email system, having users able to CC the help desk email we assign to the system and generate multiple tickets for one issue has been an issue for our organization.

Tom

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2017

Great all in one solution for NOC Management

Easy, centralized help desk and infrastructure management

PROS

Integration across systems for a true live enviroment. We're able to pinpoint network usage or a downed node within seconds. Custom map utilization helps us view our environment as we see it.

CONS

Sometimes setup isn't as straight forward, support has always been helpful though. We use this software 24/7 for our HelpDesk.

Erik

Hospitality, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

A very robust ticketing system, with a lot of customizable options

Better overall organization for our teams, which allows for more detailed collaboration and ticket resolution all around.

PROS

The software is very configurable including custom action rules, approval processes, inventory (software/hardware), and various queues that allow for customized responses.

CONS

The format of replies can be difficult to read/follow and is not very customizable. The inventory does not collect the user an asset is assigned to; while this is a typical WMI feature, it's not available for some reason in our current version.

Dustin

Publishing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT