Splunk On-Call Software Reviews

Splunk On-Call Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.53

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Efficient way to manage and aggregate alerts. Easy UI to make the rules for the alerts."
  • icon"The details is provides about the incidents is very granular and helps provide much needed context. It is fairly inexpensive and integrates really well with several other softwares."
  • icon"It makes it very easy to use. It was by far the easiest and most simple to setup when comparing other products."
  • icon"The UI is very basic, possibly by design or my limited permissions but in a lot of ways it feels hollow and lacks any real character if you have to use it daily."
  • icon"The application for Android has no buttons on / off for Maintenance mode."
  • icon"First, setting up overrides for on call management. VictorOps only allows for overrides to be in 30 minutes time blocks."

Browse all Splunk On-Call Reviews

  • Have you used Splunk On-Call and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 29 reviews

Jeremy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

May 2016

The perfect fit

When we went looking for an alerting solution, we wanted something that would make life easier for our folks on-call, as well as something that would help us clean up and make sense of the nigh-impassable flood of alert emails we were seeing constantly from our monitoring. Allowing folks to use their own devices also meant that there was no confusion as to how to reach out to someone, and it's something they always have on them. We were immediately captured by the Twitter-like timeline, so that every person (on-call or not) could view the incoming stream from the entire environment, and the rest of the features common in this space seemed very well-implemented. Since then, they've added tons of new features (the Transmogrifier and Control Calls each were game-changers) that have only made the service better. My director has identified this as the single best product we've implemented in the past two years, based on its impact to our team's efficiency and happiness.

Pros

- Communication-centric design - great for team efforts - Very responsive support and dev team - Easy to set up, easy to use - Lots of integrations available - Contact details in the app makes reaching out to teammates easier in a crisis

Cons

- Some advanced/niche scheduling options are not currently possible - Data on old alerts can be difficult or impossible to obtain, depending on age - Reporting is a work in progress

Response from VictorOps

It's wonderful affirmation for us when we hear that VictorOps has been a positive driver in team efficiency and happiness! We're also continuing to advance our development efforts (our engineering team is also growing!), so keep an eye out for enhancements on reporting and scheduling!

Replied May 2016

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2020

Victory for on-call and alert escalation

For years we have had to manually manage our on call rotations throughout the organization. This linked with the wide range of monitoring tools, problem management has been difficult. VictorOps has allowed us to jump into the future of Outage Management! This has allowed us to reduce our MTTR (mean time to resolution) for outages. I highly recommend this tool!

Pros

VictorOps was easy to deploy, configure teams, and manage on-call rotations. There is a large list of integrations that allow for connections into all our required systems. Included with every integration is a link to their knowledge base. VictorOps is a must have tool for anyone looking to more effectively manage alert escalation and on-call rotations.

Cons

There are only two things i have come across that are lacking. First, setting up overrides for on call management. VictorOps only allows for overrides to be in 30 minutes time blocks. This has caused issues with emergency on call coverage. Second is no having a location, out side the alerts and incidents, to house knowledge base type documents.

Reasons for switching to Splunk On-Call

the tools and integrations with VictorOps was better suited for our Needs.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

VictorOps: Now Brought to You By Splunk

Splunk's purchase of VictorOps gives the opportunity for major improvement and excellent customer support.

Pros

Provides all of the necessary functionality for managing multiple teams of on-call professionals across an organization. App and Slack integration provide a feature-rich experience. override existing schedules, acknowledge or snooze alerts, see detailed history, and run reports.

Cons

Some features are buried in menus, and the calendar is a little hard to use at times. Some options require clicking a specific toggle icon instead of just the text.

Reasons for switching to Splunk On-Call

Changed companies, PagerDuty is a large company who cannot be bothered to support a small company promptly.

Justin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

May 2021

Cheap, but that's about it

IMO, Splunk bought VictorOps to tick a checkbox and nothing more. It's cheap, but unless you're totally strapped for cash, look elsewhere.

Pros

VictorOps (now called Splunk On-Call) organizes incidents in a manner similar to a Twitter timeline. It's really convenient being able to browse your history like that. There are a decent number of integrations with third-party services, and the Rule Engine allows you to annotate incoming alerts with additional information such as links to runbooks. In terms of price, you'll pay a lot less than you will for competing products like PagerDuty.

Cons

Since being acquired by Splunk, VictorOps has been left to rot on the vine. There have been virtually no new features. I was willing to excuse that when VictorOps was operating as a smaller company, but not being able to do an in-depth history of incidents in 2021 is just inexcusable. Splunk's high-pressure sales agents will constantly try to upsell you on other Splunk products. SSO integration is still awkward to set up and use, and there still aren't nearly as many integrations as with PagerDuty.

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

March 2016

VictorOps

Prior to Bluestem Technologies migration to VictorOps, only a few of our squads were using Pagerduty for on-call incident management. Our major goals and justifications for switching to VictorOps was onboarding our entire technology team onto one on-call solution as well increasing our major incident responsiveness. VictorOps was chosen over PagerDuty for it’s people-centric focus, feature capabilities and cost.

Pros

The transmogrifier has been an extremely useful tool for many of our teams. We've added playbook annotations to most of our alerts which has been a boon for our 24 by 7 support team. The Datadog integration has also shown VictorOps's savviness and people-centric approach to building a product. A Datadog VictorOps incident will send all of the pertinent information and graphs to an on-call users phone. The VictorOps mobile app can also be used as a platform to seamlessly chat with other users. We've also been encouraged by some of VictorOp's new features they have started to roll out. Their Statuspage.io integration has made many in our organization excited about the ability to have a one-stop-shop dashboard to communicate down-time incidents to a diverse group of users within our company. Their brand-new Control Calling feature (a feature that creates a conference call and pages users to join, penned "the new bat signal" by VictorOps) is also an intriguing feature that several of our teams have started to explore. Possibly our favorite aspect of working with VictorOps over PagerDuty is how responsive their team has been to both our support and development requests.

Cons

VictorOps is still lacking some of PagerDuty's clerical and reporting functionality; for example, we no longer have the ability to easily reference a specific incident in the past.

Response from VictorOps

Thanks for such a positive review! We see people make the switch from PagerDuty on a regular basis, not just because of our feature set, but because we also put our users first. It's great that you noticed that too. It's also good to note that if you capture each incident as a post-mortem report, you'll always be able to go back and reference it. However if you need a more specific way to reference past incidents, I would definitely suggest you drop our support team a line. They are constantly looking for ways to improve the product, and would love to hear your ideas.

Replied March 2016

Mahipal Singh

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Splunk On-Call Review

My overall experience with Splunk On-Call is too good. It is easy to use and help organisation to manage the on-call support engineer to handle the incident get raise in the production environment.

Pros

The most impactful feature of this software is that we can easily schedule the on-call support engineer for our production environment. So, the team can easily reach out to the available engineer. and also help to let us know what incidents get raised in a production environment. It helps organisations to manage the support members. Engineers will get notifications about their on-call week and incident get triggered in the env. It is easy to use.

Cons

As of now, I don't have anything which I don't like about this software.

Aaron

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

March 2016

Awesome Way to manage On Call

VictorOps has been used in our environment for over a year. This has been an invaluable tool to making sure our staff are aware of what's happening in the environment and pulling in alerts from a couple of different systems. The Transmorgrifier is my favorite feature that I cannot find anywhere else. We've completely transformed at least one custom alert so that our techs don't have to dig for relevant information, they can just find it right in front of them. The best non-replicable asset going, however, is the staff and the culture at VictorOps. They genuinely care about their customers and have even worked with us to develop an integration that we wanted to use in our environment.

Pros

Excellent On-call management and escalations, Transmorgrifier, Customer Service

Cons

Potentially, there could be more integrations, but there seem to be more products out there daily that want to send alerts. It is obvious that the dev staff is looking to include more integrations and are extremely responsive to their customer requests even assisting us with working on custom integrations.

Response from VictorOps

"Customers first" is our mantra here at VictorOps. That's exactly why we built the Transmogrifier, and why our tech team is always happy to offer personalized support. Our dev team is always working on adding new integrations - so be sure to check in to see what's available!

Replied March 2016

Ian

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

March 2016

Add another member to your team with Victor Ops!!

Using VictorOps is like adding another member to your team. By removing the cumbersome problem of over-active alerts, which can cause some serious team fatigue which we experienced prior to using victor ops, you have the ability to add a number of important options relative to the alerts you have created. With the Transmogrifier you can filter through irrelevant alerts with great ease, delivering only the critical alerts to your team. This is of course a process that involves tuning and can take some time. We use Nagios as one of our monitoring tools and the integration with victor ops was seamless. Allowing us to quickly adapt to the ever changing environment that makes up our infrastructure.

Pros

I am really looking forward to our increased use of the Transmogrifier and its ability to attach documentation to alerts on the fly. I can hardly wait until the next alert that rolls in, including a specific and detailed path to solving the problem that is currently alerting. With the Transmogrifier, this feature is only a few clicks away and I am speaking to our team on this on a regular basis in order to improve the team’s efficiency bringing newer folks up to speed faster. The mobile app interface is outstanding and is constantly improved based upon user feedback.

Cons

The only Con that I have discovered is the time it takes to weed through the alerts that you setup. The robustness of what alerts can be programmed in to be registered is an ongoing process as new systems get added.

Response from VictorOps

Wow - "I can hardly wait until the next alert rolls in." Thankfully, this means we're doing exactly what we set out to do: making our users' lives better. Thanks for such a wonderful review!

Replied March 2016

Sky

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

March 2016

VictorOps: Organizing the Chaos of Operations

We recently switched over from PagerDuty to VictorOps while refactoring our monitoring and alerting infrastructure. We wanted to go with a more ChatOps approach and we were ready for something new. The support at VictorOps has been great, and they have responded to every request we've made. They are adding features with every release that are rounding out their offering and adding even more value to their product.

Pros

Lots of integration's. Easy to set up and get started. Great customer service. The Dev and Support teams are very responsive. Transmogrifier!

Cons

Interface can be hard to use. API is missing key features and still rough around the edges.

Response from VictorOps

Thanks for such great feedback on the VictorOps platform. We've found that there are lots of people just like you who are looking to move away from PagerDuty to expand the use of Chat/DevOps methodologies in incident management workflows (as well as all the awesome goodness packed inside the Transmogrifier!). We're constantly striving to make the product better and easier to use, so stay tuned for updates that bring improvements to the interface and API.

Replied March 2016

Dave

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

March 2016

Outstanding service/app

We've been using VictorOps for close to 2 years now and both the app and the service behind it are fantastic. Being able to funnel all of our alerts into 1 alerting system where we manage schedules is a great feature..but others have this. What really makes VictorOps shine is the timeline feature where you can see full history of alerts in a simple timeline view and then 'loop in' team members for help if needed.

Pros

does what it says on the tin very reliable Easy to understand UI

Cons

Android app looks a little (very little!) dated

Response from VictorOps

We love hearing the word "fantastic" in VictorOps reviews! It's also great to note how we're different. We strive hard to make the lives of our users better, and the timeline is a key element in doing just that. Also - we just released a new UI for our Android App! You can check out the full release notes here: https://victorops.com/blog/release-notes-2-26/

Replied March 2016

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2017

Great product, great company

Very customizable, easy to use, and fantastic support. This has really made managing alerts and on-call so much easier, and we've always had helpful and friendly support when needed.

Drew

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Best Incident Management & Reporting

Extremely positive, from VictorOps to Splunk On-Call this product has maintained its integrity in software development and reporting.

Pros

Easiest program to integrate and deploy for developer response toward code break, bug fix, customer request resolution.

Cons

Extremely robust program, takes time for a team to learn up on its full capabilities.

Abdullah

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

A really good product supported by a great team

VictorOps was the default on-call software for a couple of years for various teams in the organization. It works amazingly most of the time. Only issue that was faced was after Zabbix changed their alerting mechanism which somewhat broke the VictorOps. VictorOps team was quick to devise a solution using webhooks, which worked immediately. They however, took some time to figure out the ack-back solution for Zabbix 4.4, and had a bug which delayed the deployment. However, VictorOps support was really good throughout this time, they stayed in contact, and even let developers do live debugging to figure out the bug, and the solution was solved. All in all, I have nice things to say about VictorOps.

Pros

- Easy to use and setup - Alerting data can be customized (found this feature missing on other competing software) - Ack-back feature (used Zabbix) - Very good mobile app with notifications - Alert snooze option which is a life saver. - Alert routing works perfectly

Cons

- Duplicate alerts happen when alerts flap. - Alerting data contains too much data (relevant information is usually found after scrolling)

Reasons for choosing Splunk On-Call

The software matched our requirement of multiple teams, and worked as intended.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

optimally priced on-call software to ensure production fires are immediately acknowledged

We use VictorOps for real time incident reporting. This is integrated using scalyr and splunk and slack. So we get alerts on slack with clickable links from scalyr with the actual incident reports logged into victorops. the service is very reliable, and has never failed us once. I would recommend it without reservations to teams who rely heavily on cloud based systems where real time incident reporting is very important

Pros

works like clockwork, providing a smooth seamless experience. It is incredibly easy to assign on call schedules, and set up alerting. the details is provides about the incidents is very granular and helps provide much needed context. it is fairly inexpensive and integrates really well with several other softwares

Cons

This isn't a con but a good to have feature I should say. basically it is only as good as your configuration and your logging. victor ops on it's own won't detect new incidents based on past incidents. If certain configurations are off, then it would never receive data input from those points, and you would never be notified of potential incidents arising from the same without human intervention.

Ben

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2016

Great on-call management for small/medium teams

I can't really say much about this tool other than: it works, and it works well. Having tried a competitors offering, we found VictorOps to be the right balance of flexible, well-priced, and reliable. It has become an integral part of our operations. We use it with HipChat and find that it makes our incident response and tracking painless. And by painless, I mean it stays out of your way and lets you focus on the problem at hand.

Pros

Great price/value Easy workflows Incredible integrations

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2017

VictorOps FTW

Pros

I enjoy the clean direct design. It makes it very easy to use. It was by far the easiest and most simple to setup when comparing other products.

Cons

The main negatives of VictorOps are that it doesn't seem to be as flexible as some of the competition in terms of how alerts can be accepted, there are some strict guidelines. I would also like to see some improvements made on the alerting - for instance to put in a delay. I also don't like that some transmognifier features are only available in enterprise.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2017

Save time and energy with VictorOps

VictorOps allows you to consolidate alerts coming from multiple platforms, into one easy to read interface (and hand mobile app). I would recommend this service for anyone who is responsible for maintaining services and receives alerts from multiple platforms.

Pros

This has made all the difference for our OnCall

Cons

Haven't quite figured out how to make VictorOps resolve our issues for us ;-)

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Manage the firehose of information

Overall, VictorOps has significantly improved our signal to noise ratio by letting us pay attention just to the important notifications (like the site being down) rather than the many many other logs we gather.

Pros

I love that it lets you customize contact schedules between different users in a company so granularly. This is a new product for us and we are a small company so we need to be careful about easing people into these types of dev-ops schedules and VictorOps allows us to do so.

Cons

In certain places of the UI, it doesn't make sense the order in which you have to do certain actions like adding users vs creating a schedule. Ultimately we figured it out but it's very strict in some places about how exactly you go about organizing your company's scheduler.

Nikita

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

April 2016

VictorOps to reduce downtime and increase uptime

Excellent service for the notification of incidents in the system. It is possible to set different rules and schedule on a group of users: DevOps, Managers. ViсtorOps team quickly implement feature requests - thank you very much!

Pros

Good Android application to manage/acknowledge incidents. East integration with Zabbix. Nice community and documentation.

Cons

The application for Android has no buttons on / off for Maintenance mode.

Response from VictorOps

The ability to manage alerts from mobile platforms is priority for us, so it's great to see that you're actively leveraging the Android app! We're continuously adding new features to our mobile platforms, so keep an eye out for updates that support improved maintenance mode functionality.

Replied May 2016

Chad

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: Less than 12 months

Revi