User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "This software is very helpful to get geo reference data for modeling "

  • "The functionality saves enormous amount of time in developing and editing HECRAS models."

  • "The ease of use, intuitive data entry, and unrivaled customer support make this a fantastic product. The bottom line is that GeoHECRAS increases our efficiency and our profits."

  • Cons

  • "Program is updated frequently. Installation of the updates was cumbersome for me and required help from the support team. The support team did provide tips on how best to address this issue."

  • "Occasional software bugs may affect productivity but their IT staff is always very responsive and typically fixes and bugs within days."

  • "I cannot think of any significant drawback in GeoHECRAS. As we issue our wish list to the CivilGeo, they proceed to improve the software."

Browse GeoH Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -36 of 14 results

May 2019

Mark from SEC, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

GeoHECRAS is the BEST

I do quick studies, where FEMA mapping does not exist, to determine how much of a property is developable for potential developers. I size stream crossings for FEMA “No-Rise” situations. I analyze FEMA floodways where they would be impacted by crossings I size using the software. Mapping is updated by the click of a button for any changes.

Pros

I like the ease of use and fast productivity. I can set up a model from scratch and determine flood elevations in 4 hours. That requires selecting the orthophoto and importing a CAD file to use as a background, importing contours (or LIDAR), turning them into a DTM (which it does very fast), drawing the reach centerline, cutting cross sections, inserting a crossing (if needed), turning on FEMA flood data (FIRM info), determine base flows using USGS Stream Stats inside the software (faster than using a web browser), and I have base flood elevations and floodplain mapping in 4 hours! Technical Support is the best ever! They are always quick to reply to questions with a call. They call periodically to make sure all is well with the software. They provide updated software regularly that makes its use easier.

Cons

I have no complaints. If I ever have a need, they take care of it quickly. They are a pleasure to work with to solve any issues.

Reasons for Choosing GeoH

I have used the COE HEC-RAS for years. It is too slow and cumbersome.

January 2019

Eric from Greck and Associates Limited

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Business Owner and Senior Water Resources Engineer Review

GeoHECRAS provides cost savings to our clients because it significantly cuts modelling time through ease of use and integrated GIS tools.

Pros

The software allows one to undertake hydraulic analysis in a very efficient manner. The easy to use interface and geographic tools allow you to complete tasks in a much shorter time than using traditional methods. GeoHECRAS provides a cost effective solution compared to other similar softwares with focus on the key tools that are used most often by water resources engineers in southern Ontario.

Cons

After years of use, there is still a lot of room to integrate more features to simplify/automate the modeling design and analysis process.

October 2019

Jeremiah from EWL

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Improved functionality for HEC-RAS but at a cost

Great customer service from CivilGEO. Improvements to a existing free software. Too expensive for most.

Pros

The additional features that have been added to the HEC-RAS. These features make analysis of the model results easier and more intuitive.

Cons

The subscription-based model of the software distribution. The annual maintenance fee is far too high for smaller firms to justify purchasing the product

January 2019

Phil from Aqua Engineering Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

GeoHECRAS Software Customer Review

The software has allowed our company to provide more detail data for our clients in a more timely and efficient manner. State and Federal regulatory agencies seems to like output generated from detail DEM and LIDAR data.

Pros

The software has capabilities to import maps, photographs, and other features available from online sources. These items save time by making them readily available as a component of the software. The capability to provide georeferenced data is helpful in providing solutions to real world problems easily located on the ground. Numerous features to select data from graphical input or from tabular entry of data are very helpful. The capability to merge DEM data sets with CAD or survey data is very helpful. Support team seems to be available and helpful when needed.

Cons

Program is updated frequently. Installation of the updates was cumbersome for me and required help from the support team. The support team did provide tips on how best to address this issue.

June 2019

Kent from Banner Associates, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

GeoHEC-RAS review

Our experience has been good overall.

Pros

Drawing cross sections and extracting data from surfaces is simple. Combining LIDAR data with survey (conflating points) works well. Inundation mapping is easy. Merging different data sets together is quicker than using ArcGIS. Customer support has been great and they call to check in monthly.

Cons

There is a slight learning curve, but after a few times of using the software, it is pretty easy. It would nice to be able to see the comparison of the LIDAR terrain within a cross section view like in HEC-RAS.

May 2019

Jordan from Bolton & Menk, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

What we always wanted Hec-RAS to be

The whole team at CivilGEO has been great to work with. They have always been very receptive to any additional tools that we've wanted to see in the software and have helped work through any problems we've ever had. Hands down the best technical help that we've had from any hydraulics modeling software that we've used.

Pros

Very easy user interface that combines aspects of GIS and CAD into one single platform. GeoHECRAS makes modifying the geometry data of your RAS models simple and seamless which substantially reduces the time it takes to build or modify and existing model. Most importantly though they added an undo button!

Cons

Occasional software bugs may affect productivity but their IT staff is always very responsive and typically fixes and bugs within days.

December 2018

Leonardo from Sanchez Engineering Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Save Time and Effort

I have used the model now for over 4 years, and my experiences have been very positive.

Pros

GeoHECRAS provides the features of HEC-RAS, RAS, HEC-GeoRAS, ArcGIS including the Analysis Add-ons, and AutoCAD in one software package, where you can actually see your model as you develop it, add or remove sections, edit bridges and structures, and plot the floodlines. The model includes all the features of these programs that you require for a complete model in one package.

Cons

I cannot think of any significant drawback in GeoHECRAS. As we issue our wish list to the CivilGeo, they proceed to improve the software.

May 2019

Asma from Colorado State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

GeoHECRAS Review

Great product!

Pros

Very easy to use; reduces man hours needed for constructing a model; great tech support team

Cons

Nothing at this time. The company cares about its customers and tech support services are excellent

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great Resource

We are able to build models and edit much faster. Makes interacting with GIS/CADD files much easier as well.

Pros

Makes building models very simple and fast.

Cons

It tends to crash fairly easily/often, especially if there is a large surface.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

A useful learning software.

It makes so much easier to develop and elaborate engineering projects and school tasks.

Pros

As a student, I enjoy using this software for my engineering classes. It helps me learn new techniques and develop projects for college. It has many functions and with the appropriate guidance, you can do so much.

Cons

If you are just beginning to study Water Engineering, Civil Engineering or some sort of engineering that requires the use of GeoHECRAS you may need to have someone more skillful to introduce you to it, but nothing that a tutorial can't help you get through.

May 2019

Olaf from O.C. Ervin Land Surveying, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

GeoHECRAS makes me money

I have found the GeoHECRAS sales and support team to be fantastic. They respond quickly and correctly.

Pros

The ease of use, intuitive data entry, and unrivaled customer support make this a fantastic product. The bottom line is that GeoHECRAS increases our efficiency and our profits.

Cons

There is very little to list in the line of dislikes.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

GeoHECRAS Product Review

Pros

I like that it includes all of the basic hydrology and hydraulic tools all in the same software package. It is very convenient to have this software as a "one stop shopping" experience.

Cons

Selection and windowing is cumbersome at times and takes a little to get used to as it is different than AutoCAD or Windows.

May 2019

richard from Kapur & Associates, inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Using GeoHECRAS

The ease of use and the amount of functionality is fantastic!

Pros

The functionality saves enormous amount of time in developing and editing HECRAS models.

Cons

I really do not have any negative views regarding the software.

August 2019

Harsha from SLIIT

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

2D modeling

GeoHECRAS is a well developed geo referencing software and it will help to modeling with HEC softwares

Pros

This software is very helpful to get geo reference data for modeling

Cons

Advanced operating menu and less guidance