Optima Hospice


21 reviews(4.5/5)
21 reviews(4.5/5)

Optima Hospice was designed for hospices and supports the unique needs of hospices of all sizes nationwide. Optima Hospice is a cloud-based solution offering a set of tools that encompass every aspect of the hospice, from charting to billing, human resources (HR), financials and more.

Optima Hospice offers patient forms where users can set goals and track their progress. The solution manages medical billing and billing compliance and also helps with CAP and QAPI reporting along with many other standard business reports.

In addition to charting capabilities, Optima Hospice offers tools for medication administration, scheduling with calendar sharing, task notifications and more, like a document center to track important forms.

Unlimited users can be supported on the solution and free support is included in the monthly subscription. Each hospice is offered personalized online setup training and weekly training calls.

Supported Operating System(s):
Mac OS , Web browser (OS agnostic)

21 Reviews of Optima Hospice (formerly Hospicesoft)

Showing 1 - 20 of 21

Start your review of Optima Hospice (formerly Hospicesoft)

Click to start
  • Nicole from At Home Rehab, LLC

    Specialty: Home Health Care

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    August 2018

    Horrible!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Pros

    Well known throughout SNF community. No other positive comments about this software agency at this time.

    Cons

    Implementation was constantly pushed back
    Our agency was basically helping them mold their software
    Unable to get Independence Blue Cross insurance properly working
    Office staff did not have control over numerous features
    Unable to move documents to a different chart
    Scheduling was a nightmare
    The offline & online functionality would be a disaster for our clinicians
    Wasted more time on implementation during COP's that we could not afford for the product not to fit our needs

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Gina Heugel, Optima Healthcare Solutions - HH

    September 2018

    Thanks for your feedback. From the review we believe you’re referencing the Home Health product we’re no longer supporting. We’re sorry that you had such a negative experience and hope that you have the opportunity to experience our other software offerings in the future with a more positive experience. We’re committed to providing an excellent customer experience to all our users.

  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 501-1,000 employees

    August 2018

    Optima HospiceSoft program review

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    I feel the Software is user friendly. I particularly appreciate the quick Feedback option where you can send an email with questions. Optima staff respond most often on the same day with a phone call. They are always willing to go the extra mile to make sure our questions are answered and understood. I appreciate they take the time to work with us on a one to one basis if necessary to solve any issues or concerns we may have.

    Cons

    At times I wish it could be more simplified. There seems to be repetitive layers that can be cumbersome to get through.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Tammy from Hospice Alliance

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    Number of employees: 51-200 employees

    February 2018

    The Implementation / sales team has been wonderful, very informative, helpful and attentive to our needs

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    The experiences that we have had so far have been very positive. They listen to what we wanted, and were looking for in a software. They are willing to work with us to make the software the best, most efficient for our agency

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Rudolph from Pathways of Love Healthcare LLC DBA Pathways Hospice

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    January 2018

    I have been using this software for 4 months.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support

    Overall I have been very satisfied so far and would highly recommend it to any hospice needing a quality EHR.

    Pros

    The functionality. I like that each section is fairly intuitive and flows smoothly. There are a lot of functions that work seamlessly together which is nice.

    Cons

    It can be confusing figuring out where certain functions are located however software support is usually very helpful in helping us figure out where to find each function.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Stacy from Pathways Hospice

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    January 2018

    Superb customer service

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Have been very pleased with our Choice to join since last September.

    Pros

    That it remains compliant with COPs and our accreditation of ACHC. They are continuously rolling out with updates and software improvements.

    Cons

    On tablets the screen appears small and hard to read. And that’s on an IPAD mini2. Need to offer the training sessions maybe twice a week for new employees coming on. Maybe Tuesday and Thursday.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Enid from Sovereign Hospice Inc.

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    January 2018

    One Remarkable Instrument

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    This is a great product, my staff has caught on quite easily and any new staff seems to have no problem getting things done. My office manager is a much happier person as she can get through payroll in a much faster time than before. Not to mention billing, you guys are awesome. No more looking through those paper charts or begging people to bring in their paperwork to the office at the end of the month, what a Blessing!!!!!! Optima? (Hospicesoft) where were you all this time? Thanks a million.

    Pros

    That it's hospice based and made strictly for hospice. I like the fact that I no longer have to keep up with several pieces of paper for both schedule and time sheets at the same time. Billing made easy!!!

    Cons

    That it's taking me so long to learn all the features. But then again new things are added all the time so I just have to keep up.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Norma from Shalom Hospice

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    January 2018

    Interesting

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    I enjoyed the conference

    Pros

    The ease of its use. The availability of staff yo assist with problems. The team is personable and good at explaining the systems use.

    Cons

    Would like more options in the future that allow all staff access to see the patients info. The change in the system slowed payments at the beginning of this year

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Amanda from Sovereign Hospice, Inc.

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    January 2018

    So far, after three months of use, Optima has made my work-life balance more balanced!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support

    So far so good...

    Pros

    Customer service is great! I love that I have more time to put towards seeing patients and their family members as this program is fairly simple and efficient.

    Cons

    A few changes to note input from the schedule page would be ideal in regards to social worker entries to improve ease of use and work hour accuracy.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Valerie from Helping Hands Home Health Care

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    February 2017

    Review from a Billing Specialist using HospiceSoft

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    HospiceSoft is one of the easiest software's to use on the market specifically for Hospice Facilities. I have found that the billing is super easy and very self-explanatory as well as posting payments. Our Nurses love the "ease" of the paperwork as well and how HospiceSoft makes it so convenient for them to complete their paperwork and also in a timely manner. The dashboard I find very useful because once you customize it to your liking, it is there for you to point and click.... I really don't have any negative feedback.. Customer service is always on standby and readily available to answer any questions that we have.

    Pros

    Billing; Posting; Ease of Nursing Documentation; Dashboard; Customer Service

    Cons

    no Cons

  • Kristen from Helping Hands Hospice, Inc.

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    November 2016

    Excellent software

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    If you are looking for a user-friendly hospice software, developed by people who understand hospice process and requirements, look no further. Hospicesoft is an excellent program that helps the whole team work together to better fulfill the needs of the patient, eliminating the need for charts full of paper documents,

    Pros

    The software tracks the many pieces required by multidisciplinary patient care. Excellent dashboards keep administration apprised of what pieces are due, and make finding what you need simple and straight-forward. Finding any piece of the complex patient care puzzle is a breeze. The chart is laid out like any paper chart, and demographics, patient information, every disicipline form, every lab, etc... are all right at your fingertips, only a click or two away. Because it is web-based, there are no requirements for in-house servers, and the information is available from anywhere you have cell or internet access. It can be viewed, or documented, by phone, tablet or computer. There are no specific equipment requirements. Information can be printed, faxed or emailed from within the system (fax requires a very small fee monthly using a service such as RingCentral) to facilities, providers, pharmacies, etc.... Orders for treatments, medications, etc. are easy to update, print, or review. The patient's care plan is a "living" careplan, and revised from within the discipline notes during each visit as the patient's needs changes.

    Cons

    No interface with a pharmacy benefit manager at this time, so all medications, orders, changes, etc... do have to be entered separately into the pharmacy program. Because the careplan is revised from within the discipline notes, and defaults in from the previous notes all charting has to be done sequentially. For patients with frequent visits, this is sometimes an issue.

  • Kevin from Shepherd Personal Hospice

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    September 2016

    A descent hospice software

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    I like how this product has very good notes for some of the disciplines like nursing. It is also pretty simple to grasp and also has many good features such as pre-population of notes that helps us see how the patients are changing over time. The process of adding notes is also simple.

    Cons

    I did find that for compliance to certain Joint Commission and Chap standards, I had to do some manual changes to the documentation that hospicesoft offers. I have certain clauses that I always add to notes and features that surveyors have asked me about. Surveyors have also pointed out how convoluted the IDT documentation can be. While it certainly has all the information, it can be quite difficult to find each piece of information.

  • Chris from Southeast Hospice, LLC

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    September 2016

    Great, affordable software for small hospice operation

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Great software support; very easy to learn basic software. Company also does billing for reduced cost

    Cons

    Takes too long to chart Nurse visits. Very simple software.

  • Sherri from Amazing Grace Hospice

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    June 2016

    Ease of use

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    The support team is great to work with. I love the living plan of care. It ensures our POC stay up to date.

    Cons

    Length of time it takes to document a routine nurse visit. However HospiceSoft is in line with all other EMRs that we have looked at.

  • Kristen from Helping Hands Hospice, Inc.

    January 2016

    Excellent Software

    Ease-of-use
    Quality
    Support

    We have used this software for the past year. You will not find an easier to use, find what you need when you need it, software. Customer support is excellent with quick responses to problems. The only issue we have is the notes are very comprehensive and do take some time to complete, but they force the staff to document well.

    Review Source: Capterra
  • Katherine from Serenity Hospice Care

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    October 2014

    Hospicesoft Review

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    It is very user-friendly. The rates are good, too. The representative who gave us training was really helpful.

    Cons

    They don't have costumer support over the phone. everything has to be by e-mail, which is kind of hard for simple questions/verifications.

  • Brenda from HarmonyHospice, LLC

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    July 2014

    Great Software!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    It is user-friendly and very easy to move around in. The vendor is very helpful in resolving any issue you might incur and give you instruction right then and there.

    Cons

    Social Worker's financial info doesn't carry over to the Comprehensive.

  • Melissa from Green Valley Hospice

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    July 2014

    Best program that I have worked with! Easy to navigate, easy to learn!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    The software is very user-friendly. I love that it is for hospice only. I love that it is always up to date with all the Medicare requirements. The customer service is excellent. It is great to be able to talk to someone that knows how to run the program, and also be able to to talk to the programmer! The best thing is seeing a suggestion I made on how to improve the program actually being put into the software!

    Cons

    I really can't think of any. In comparison to the other programs that I have used, these guys are by far the best.

  • Anne Lea from Carolina Hospice Care

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    July 2014

    Easy Patient Tracking

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    The product is easy to learn and makes tracking patient progress easy (e.g., decline, symptoms). The vendor is supportive, friendly, and available.

    Cons

    I haven't found anything that I do not like yet. If I had to find the least likable factor, I'd say that sometimes I get confused about why one piece of information/report should include information from entire chart, but then I find that it only pulls information from a portion of the chart (e.g., the Doctor's Order lists some medications, but not all the medications the patient is currently taking).

  • Carla from Peters Agency Hospice & Palliative Care

    Specialty: Hospice Care

    June 2014

    Administrator

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    The software is user-friendly and easy to navigate through. The schedule, orders, and plan of care - really, all components of the software - have been easy to work with. The vendor is prompt to assist when need. They are friendly, concerned with my needs, and willing to help.

    Cons

    I would not say I don't like it, but I am having difficulty with Bereavement. I really think it is because I am not using it enough. Small census.

  • Trisha from Ottawa County Hospice

    March 2013

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support

    Hospice Management Suite has been a great benefit to us. As a small hospice we shopped around for a software that would meet our needs and we found just that in HMS. We really wanted find a software that worked for us and would help us to become more in compliance with the ever changing COP's, yet we were unable to invest huge amounts of time or money to the process. When I came across HMS we knew right away that it could be just what we were looking for to get us away from the old fashioned paper chart, and it was! We have found Hospice Management Suite to offer user friendly and precise charting capabilities for our IDG team. We also love the fact that we are able to use various methods within the software to generate pt/staff measures which assist us with our QAPI program. We feel that one of the best features available from HMS is the customer service. They have always been just a phone call or email away to help us out or listen to a suggestion. The people at HMS feel like an extended arm of our hospice team rather than a business located half a country away! Did I mention that it is web based!!! Awesome!!!

Do you use Optima Hospice (formerly Hospicesoft)?Write a Review
In just fifteen minutes, the experts at Software Advice can help you narrow down the right software for your organization. Call us for a Free FastStart Consultation: (844) 686-5616