NDoc Reviews

4.11 / 5 (19)

Our advisors have recommended this product 3 times in the last 30 days

User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Excellent reports from an administrative perspective."

  • "Easy to ready patient summary with access to many of the core elements of the patients' care history."

  • "There are many reports and features that allow you to work efficiently and track your data. The customer service is great. "

  • Cons

  • "The fee schedule I like the least. As you grow your business or census, you end up paying more for their service. It is not a flat fee like some other EMRs."

  • "Currently, Speech Therapy doesn't use the software. Need to tackle that. Our speech staff use various testing methods that NDOC doesn't have."

  • "It does take a little while to learn the system, however NDoc provides wonderful learning tools and webinars."

Browse NDoc Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -31 of 19 results

March 2019

Kassandra from Four Seasons Compassion for Life- hospice and palliative care

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

RN

Overall it will take a bit of time to learn to navigate this program, but once you do you will like the program

Pros

I like how previous assessments are carried forward and if your new assessment is not in line with the past one it will alert you (like if a wound is charted at a different stage). I like if a wound heals you can easily go back and open it if comes back. I like that the careplan is carried forward each assessment. I like the ease of the medication section. I like the way you can restart a d/c'd medication and not have to enter everything from scratch. I like that any patient alerts/notifications are at the start of every assessment

Cons

Some of the alerts cam be a bit much especially formal user that is on top of things, I can see how this would be beneficial overall though for helping to stay in compliance. The training videos are a tad bit boring. Much better to get the training in person.

March 2020

Todd from Home Services Unlimited

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Smaller company that provides great service

Pros

Software has been around for a while and has been updated to be web-accessible. The best feature is the people at Thornberry. The service has always been responsive and personal. They can't make all the changes we want but have gone out of their way to change what they can at our request.

Cons

There are still some will require too many clicks to reach or some areas where the same data doesn't carry over, but that is a smaller issue than it once seemed to be. Maintenance of some tables require changes to be made one at a time instead of making bulk changes / uploading.

Reasons for Choosing NDoc

Procura was being sold again and that was a problem we had with HealthWyse and did not want to go through a messy implementation. NDOC was a great implementation.

Reasons for Switching to NDoc

Support issues and inability to bill.

February 2021

Matthew from Gurwin Certified Home Health Agency

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

Customer service is first class!

This agency has used Ndoc for over 10+ years now; our experience is just like many other agencies and their respective EMR's....There are great operational and clinical aspects to the system, but also some challenging parts. Do your research and find out what features will work best for your agency and clinical staff. The customer service is absolutely the best I've seen with my experience with 4 other EMR's.

Pros

The customer service is absolutely the best I've seen in my experience with 4 other EMR's; the team at Thornberry/Ndoc is first class. They are responsive and the process for submitting a help desk ticket is straight forward. There's an abundance of clinical information throughout the system and they are open to suggestions on system improvements. Clinicians have found it a little challenging to get started, but after they get comfortable with it they state it's overall easy to use.

Cons

The billing functionality is the most difficult aspect of the system. The issues are very granular in nature and often require multiple steps to resolve. The help guide on resolving these issues is difficult to understand. Sometimes data doesn't flow from clinical to billing and there's no rhyme or reason why. There have been some issues with the past few releases which required patches to be applied over the weekend. The team at Ndoc is very proficient with the systems and can explain it, but it's often after conversation back and forth. I know they're planning on deploying a new system this year, but the current model leaves a lot to be desired. Integration with other systems or referral information/file types isn't always available either.

March 2020

David from Family Life Care

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Solid System with Fantastic Support

We have been a user of NDoc for 8+ years. The product has performed very well and the product support is fantastic. Most importantly the staff at Thornberry is accessible and they have a keen interest in their customers success.

Pros

NDoc has many features that cover a lot of ground in the home health world. We have a lot of disparate markets with different rules and we haven't found anything that we couldn't handle with NDoc. I love Thornberry's support in my companies direction to interface directly with NDoc to allow me to build additional functionality - this is very rare in todays software environment. The level of support is incredible (not just product support). From the Leadership, Clinical, Support and Developers, they are interested in your success and super helpful at an individual issue level.

Cons

The user interface is a little dated looking and the product isn't adapted yet to direct connecting remote users via a browser. There are effective workarounds and it is in Thornberry's product roadmap.

Reasons for Choosing NDoc

Thornberry took the time to understand both our current market and workflow and our aspirational future. They supported our desire to have read-only interfaces into NDoc so we could build additional automated workflow. Thornberry was to only company who supported this and over 8 years their commitment has never waivered.

March 2020

Ryan from RMC Home Care & Hospice

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Software is decent, but system has some bugs in it

Pros

Once you get to know the system it seems user friendly. We are able to run lots of reports - they give good information (as long as you make sure your filter settings are set correctly.) Response from their help desk is usually quick. Billing module seems pretty straight forward.

Cons

Syncing offline laptops to the server and vice versa needs revamped. Company says they are working on it. Currently though, sometimes some of our charting or visit notes get lost.. Entering a patients service frequency and scheduling out the visits for that frequency are under two separate spots. Combing these to be able to work on them at the same time would be a huge benefit. Cannot print more than one patients med list off at one time. - Med lists do not print alphabetically (meds do print alphabetically on the 485 only). Sending/ receiving orders has some bugs int he system - has gotten better over time. Clinical charting logic is sometimes too "smart" and you are limited to what can be turned off and on - for the logic part. Offline staff can only see patients that are assigned to the for the day. Have to sync multiple times for them to show a list of all patients the company has. Software only currently has the ability to list 4 physicians for each client. Cannot work on multiple patients at the same time.

March 2020

Christina from Willamette Valley Hospice

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Charting is easy. But synching is horrible

Overall the software is good. But, the disconnect between the live system and the field devices, and the bugs that have "cleared" data have created a lack of trust.

Pros

Easy to ready patient summary with access to many of the core elements of the patients' care history.

Cons

Synching. The synching process is ridiculously complex and creates overwork and confusion for field staff. We are still having problems with some of the disconnects in the system. Data that goes nowhere. For example, the facility table, does not actually connect to the patient, so you have to enter in addresses, fax numbers and phone numbers multiple times, creating opportunities for errors. That is one example of many.

Reasons for Choosing NDoc

Easy to navigate, easy to see patient and the key elements needed to provide care

Reasons for Switching to NDoc

lack of ability to "see" the patient easily. Far too complex and difficult to use.

March 2020

Bob from Anew Home Health Agency

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

My thoughts

Pros

Speaking from the IT side of a Home Health company, my favorite part about NDoc is the ability to contact somebody within Thornberry in a timely manner. The response time for any questions or concerns are always within the same day. If they are unable to answer the question or concern that same day, they at least reach out to let me know what they are doing to resolve the issue and when I can expect to have a reply.

Cons

One thing that I would like to see become a possibility with NDoc is to be able to upload editable documents to use with each patient. This would limit the use of paper and then scanning the paper to the library within NDoc

March 2020

Dawn from Regional Medical Homecare

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2020

Ndoc for home Health

I fill the overall transition to NDOC was very rough. I feel we were not prepared to make the transition. I feel there should be more planning and figuring out where we will document things prior to rolling this out. Our staff really struggled with this and I feel it was the lack of being prepared that led to this. Staff frustration was very high at times and I feel that with proper training adn planning alot of this could have been alleviated.

Pros

Writing lab orders is very easy especially for those labs that are recurrent, for example protimes. Wound orders are the same way, I like the way it numbers the wounds and you can put the treatment with the wounds. I like when you have an issue with the software adn you put in a ticket they respond quickly to help resolve the issue.

Cons

I don't like how the careplan is so vague and it is really hard to tell what you need to be instructing on at times. I don't like when you document on the current status when there is a problem or s/s it will automatically create a care plan. I wish it gave you a choice to make this a problem, We don't have primary nursing so we have found when nurses are putting in visit notes off line adn someone else is in the chart on line the visit notes get lost/erased so there is an integration problem, I wish you could send and receive patients by there name and not number. I don't like the whole snyc, receive and send function works. Our staff struggle with writing and modifying service frequencies and I wish this was a little smoother. It would be nice if the prn visit had a spot for date and reason for prn visit as our staff are frequently forgetting to put this in the order and the insurance company wants this information. You can't correct this after it goes through nightly processing without creating a new order. It would be nice if you could go back and fix incorrect orders but this system does not allow you to. I don't like how the RN doing the recert visit does not create the POC.

Reasons for Choosing NDoc

We felt the program was easier to use then some of the others.

Reasons for Switching to NDoc

Carefacts was not making improvements to their program anymore and there was too many work arounds.

March 2020

Amanda from RMC Homecare and Hospice

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Primary nursing product

I would say that overall NDOC is an OK system. I definitely do not feet that this is the ease of use system we thought we were getting when we signed up for this service.

Pros

I do like the calendar function in scheduling visits for staff, writing medication orders is simple and having items move to the Plan of care without significant time spent is nice. I feel that the support staff are responsive to our needs however are not always as helpful as we would like.

Cons

Although I like the ease of moving visits on the calendar, there are functions like the bulk editing that do not appear to function properly. Unfortunately if a staff member is using an off line product and they make changes to the notes on visit directives, this will in turn remove all other notes that were placed on this visit which causes items to be missed. I have struggled with the fact that there are many items in this software product that do not seem to have a logical reasoning for functioning as they do or that they do not appear to work at all. The analytical section I could see as being beneficial but is not user friendly, and the same goes for the reporting system. This system is very much intended to be used by agencies doing primary nursing and with a small staff this is not possible and therefore has increased our struggles. We have had to make work arounds for our HCA staff as the software does not meet our regulations in our state. I definitely have seen staff dissatisfaction as they feel that their documentation is not as good as needed at times. Staff have the capability to hit the required button and only document to this information which in turn can leave out a lot of important information. Many staff feel compelled to complete the check box type charting and still write out an extensive paragraph to ensure documentation is well completed which then leads to increased documentation time.

Reasons for Choosing NDoc

we thought it was going to meet our needs.

Reasons for Switching to NDoc

this company was not up to date with regulations and did not appear to be making changes to be compliant.

March 2020

Nicole from Samaritan Home Health

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

We have been very happy with Thornberry's NDoc system.

Pros

We like that this company specializes in a product that is tailored to home care. It offers interfaces that work with other EMRs. They are up to date on regulations and like feedback to help them update their product. Updates are done often so that you can rest assured that you are following the most recent regulations.

Cons

The fee schedule I like the least. As you grow your business or census, you end up paying more for their service. It is not a flat fee like some other EMRs.

Reasons for Choosing NDoc

We chose this company because other local companies had recommended it.

March 2020

Melissa from Homeland Hospice

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Referral Coordination

Staff is very helpful when I have questions or problems submitting to CMS. They troubleshoot and help me fix what I have started.

Pros

Start to finish implementing an admission runs smoothly. Each screen requires the specifics to enter and move on to the next area needed. The information required matches regulations CMS requires. Format uses common sense with needed information.

Cons

When patient is evaluated and decide they are not ready for admission, we put SNA for seen not admitted, if they change their mind the very next day, we must enter it all in again. We are unable to modify and admit with the same chart.

Reasons for Switching to NDoc

Company decision

February 2020

Mary from Karen Ann Quinlan Hospice

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Great Program for Hospice

We are very happy with this program. It allows us to efficiently document our visits for hospice patients and it is a user friendly system. It is very customizable and allows agencies to document and track data that is important to them. Their customer service is wonderful. They are very responsive and helpful.

Pros

There are many reports and features that allow you to work efficiently and track your data. The customer service is great.

Cons

Sometimes we have ideas for features that we want changed or implemented. Ndoc always listens to our thoughts, but they do not always put those changes into place. Sometimes the workaround is time consuming.

March 2020

jamie from Anew Home Health Agency

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

It's in there. Just like Prego...

5 stars

Pros

Takes some time getting used to the software, but it does have everything you need to provide quality care while completing the necessary documentation. You have to work with it to find out what works best for your organization. Thornberry does provide helpful links to assist on use. The helpdesk gets back to you rather quickly as well.

Cons

Currently, Speech Therapy doesn't use the software. Need to tackle that. Our speech staff use various testing methods that NDOC doesn't have.

February 2020

Kathryn from VNS of Ithaca

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

NDoc Software

Pros

While we do not currently use NDoc for Hospice reasons, our agency does use it for home care. We are very happy with NDoc and Thornberry, and their customer service has been absolutely wonderful and very responsive. They are keeping up with industry trends phenomenally and are really emerging as a leader in EHR software.

Cons

It does take a little while to learn the system, however NDoc provides wonderful learning tools and webinars.

March 2020

Suzanne from Allied Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Great transitions from home health to hospice

Pros

NDOC has many useful reports that are needed for State reviews. I like that our home health agency also uses the system and we can get more information regarding the patient prior to admission.

Cons

Having to change medications administration is time consuming when transferring from IPU to home side routine LOC. It would be nice to edit may meds at the same time.

February 2020

Chelsea from Karen ann quinlin hospice

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

NDOC

Pros

I like how easy it is to use. There isn't a lot of hidden buttons or road blocks. If something is entered incorrectly administration can usually correct it on their own.

Cons

There is some difficulty in toggling between pages. Would really like a next button. Would like more hospice functionality such as face to face documentation and Certificate of terminal illness entry for physicians.

Reasons for Switching to NDoc

Changed Jobs

March 2020

Laura from Allied Services Hospice

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Very positive experience with NDOC software

Very positive.

Pros

Excellent reports from an administrative perspective.

Cons

Inability to see 2 screens at same time.

March 2020

Ken from Home Caer and Hospice of the Valley

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2020

Not user friendly especially for clinicians

The help system was ranked very highly - I cannot understand that. Submit a ticket and we'll get back to you and then we won't really answer your question, we will likely tell you something you already know or tried. Then we go back and forth in a time wasting message board posting system trying to get the answer I actually asked for. At some point pick up a phone.

Pros

Document management is very easy. Sending and receiving orders and plans of care are almost automatic.

Cons

overwhelming menus. There are just too many menus and there doesn't seem to be rhyme of reason to where reports are located. Has anyone heard of alphabetizing? Clinicians can get lost in the visit menu and end up having to complete other clinician's work if the other has their visit on Hold. The sync system is hardly fool proof and has it's glitches also and creates delays in continuity of care.

Reasons for Choosing NDoc

The CEO chose it from her previous experience - definitely not on the clinical side.

Reasons for Switching to NDoc

Wellsky has it's problems but our CEO chose NDOC.

Response from Thornberry

Replied March 2020

Thanks for your review Ken. We understand that transitioning to a new EMR is never easy and believe the perspective of a brand new user is most valuable. I will reach out directly to discuss your concerns.

March 2020

Kristin from RMC Home Care

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Streamlined Orientation

Pros

The implementation of Ndoc software has streamlined our documentation and our orientation process quite a bit. It doesn't matter if you're doing a SOC, Recert, Revisit, or Discharge, the process is the same. This was a big positive change for our agency.

Cons

There seem to be quite a few glitches in the system. However, customer service is very responsive and we always get a same day response to tickets that we submit. They use the feedback we are providing through the Help Desk to change and improve the system. The hospice portion of the product could use a little TLC to make it as efficient as the home care portion, specifically in regards to comprehensive assessment requirements outside of the OASIS and HIS.