All HVMS Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Vandy

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Franklin Equine Services implemented HVMS in 2010. This software & support are superb! A+++

I have listed in the review submitted the "pros" of this software. Franklin Equine Services, LLC is an avid fan and promoter of HVMS. We strongly recommend it to any other our fellow practitioners. This software is fantastic for a sole or multi-practitioner practice...or practices that have multiple locations. It fits the needs for equine veterinarians.

PROS

There are too many positive attributes to list regarding HVMS software. These are only a few: the ease of inventory control in the hospital and truck ( and transferring); the ability to set up relational billing /"pickers" so that inventory items & services are not omitted; by having these functions, we are lessening the possibility of lost entries and revenue; ease of use by all staff & the variety of reports available allow you to track and see so many functions regarding everything from inventory, production and revenue. The Business Infusion/HVMS support staff is extremely helpful to assist with problems and suggestions and from an overall perspective---HVMS more than meets the needs of this practice. We have had other equine veterinary software and this by far is the best software investment!

CONS

While it is difficult to list any "cons" regarding HVMS software. At this point, I can not think of one negative comment.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

HVMS offers a complete equine platform, but we have struggled with software fixes.

It allows us more control in how we manage our business and supplies us with more data than I have seen available from other software platforms.

PROS

HVMS offers a more complete platform of software services than any other I have seen currently on the market. Their inventory management software has allowed us to completely revolutionize the way we manage our inventory. Now we track everything and save thousands in lost product. Overall the software is user friendly and is easy to teach to new hires. The appointment schedule is easy to use. The billing for clients is set up in a way that makes sense for equine clients, and allows for split ownership and leasing of horses. The invoices are easy to read and our clients love them. When the software is working properly, the medical history tab is very functional and allows for a very detailed medical record. I appreciate the many reports available within HVMS and regularly use the production reports to track revenue by doctor and compare month to month. The accounts receivable reports are easy to use and very helpful.

CONS

We have struggled with software fixes, and errors within the software. Although the help desk is often available, it can take days or weeks to identify and correct errors we are experiencing with the software. HVMS IT is quick to blame our onsite hardware, which is rarely the cause of the problem. The reminder system leaves a lot to be desired. We have abandoned the reminders that are printed by the software and instead use the data to create our own digital reminders. With all that HVMS is capable of, emailing reminders to clients should be an available function. HVMS is slow to fix reports that don't pull data correctly. Seems like they could use more programmers.

Cheryl

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2018

I appreciate the versatilty of the software but we are all extremely frustrated with slowness!!

PROS

The navigation between different areas of info are very helpful, there are many ways to get to the information you are looking for. I appreciate the many filter options that help refine searches. (I am not able to answer the Value for Money as I do o know about costs for system. )

CONS

The biggest issue of all for our entire hospital is slowness! It is slow trying to type in information, it is slow searching for patient histories, it continues to get slower if you are trying to search by invoice (presumably because there are so many invoices now?). When you are sending an e-mail thru HVMS and trying to type a note, say sending a statement to a client, it would be SO Helpful if you could save a draft! Having to cancel the e-mail because you get a phone call before completing the note is super frustrating!! It is not uncommon for HVMS to completely freeze up and randomly just close the system without warning, screen just suddenly goes black. That is a frustrating loss of all the screens you had open, you better remember all of the different things you had going on. Closing the month for billing has always been slow but has been extremely slow recently, we often have to have the entire staff close down their computers for 20 - 40 minutes while trying to close the month but a couple of times lately it was 4 - 6 Hours! What a waste of time for sooo many employees (we have about 70 employees, large practice) and the sudden loss of the treatment plan is really hard on our employees doing treatments.

Wendy

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

We received the new software as part of a deal with a practice management group.

PROS

I think it is basically user friendly and easy to figure out for our new staff. I don't know that it's any better or worse than others as I have only used DVM software prior to HVMS. HVMS is more advanced as far as technology goes compared to our other software.

CONS

That it has to be rented and can't be purchased. And that the remote server is in Texas and it is not always available.

Vendor Response

Hello Wendy, Thanks for the review; we really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback :) Regarding your comment on the server hosting, we understand there have been some issues with the availability of the servers due to internet outages and network issue at the site in Texas and offer our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused your practice. As a result, we have been diligently working on an alternate hosted server solution we can offer you which will bring your HVMS server to the cloud providing a much higher level of reliability. We will be reaching out to you in the coming months to introduce this new solution and discuss some of the added services we will be providing with it. Another option is always for your practice to have your own onsite server versus have us host it. If you would like more information on this option, please reach out to our support team and we will get you additional information :)

Replied June 2018

Kris

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Software was easy to learn. Customer chat is very helpful with questions.

Information is at our finger tips when on the phone with clients.

PROS

Software is user friendly. It is easy to search by horse, customer , or trainer. Calendar is easy to set appointments and reserve equipment needed. Inventory system is easy to track the medications in the pharmacy and on the trucks. Just make sure employees properly transfer items. Human error is our most common problem.

CONS

When system updates are done. Sometimes things change and you are not notified. Sometimes when tickets are started for new questions or concerns, it seems like they can be overlooked if you do not keep inquiring about them.

Vendor Response

Hello Kris! Thanks so much for reviewing our HVMS Software, we appreciate the time you took to give us feedback :) I just wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that over the past year we have been publishing our HVMS update change logs in our support portal (follow it here for instant email notification: https://hvms.businessinfusions.com/discussions/forums/13000000283 ) and we also send out a newsletter with the changes before the update is released. If you would like to receive these newsletters to be notified, please sign up from this link: http://eepurl.com/dhCk89 Thanks again Kris for your continued support!

Replied June 2018

Katie

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2018

The functionality of the product is ok at best. The worst part is the customer service.

PROS

HVMS has worked for our all equine clinic for the past few years. The pros are that is is tailored to equine for us and the ease of use is pretty good.

CONS

The worst part of the software is the support and customer service. The computer has a LOT of glitches and randomly will close on you or send an error message, several times a day. It is also not cloud based and syncing can be a pain since we are ambulatory. Updates are needed. It often does not link to Global Vet Link when we try to run coggins test as well.

Vendor Response

Hello Katie, Thank you for taking the time to review our software, we value your feedback! I'm sorry you are not satisfied with the customer support you have received and would like to take this opportunity to address a few of your concerns. We were able to determine the cause of your HVMS software randomly closing was due to an "auto log-off" setting your practice had enabled. We had resolved that a few months back but if this is still a current issue you are experiencing, can you please reach out to us and let us know so we can investigate further and get it resolved for you? We were also experiencing Global Vet Link issues a few months back which have since been resolved, there should be no connection issues related to HVMS directly but Global Vet Link does require an internet connection to use that integration in Main HVMS and from our remote tablet software. If you are still having connection issues with GVL, just let us know and we'll investigate from your system for you :)

Replied June 2018

Tiffany

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2018

I always have issues with the software Errors,Speed, getting IT help

PROS

I did like when I could go to the website when I had an issue and teamview right away to resolve issues. Now that for some reason is not an option.

CONS

I have issues with the connection, it runs very slow when I have great internet service. I get errors for days when I am uploading pics to process coggins. Some days I have to log out and back in 3 to 4 times to get my work done. IT used to be so helpful but I don't feel like they are as available as they used to be.

Vendor Response

Hi Tiffany, Thank you so much for the review of your HVMS software, we at Business Infusions appreciate the time you took to review our software `HVMS¿. I¿d like to take this opportunity to address some of your concerns for you. From your comments it appears you are having issues with the server hosting solution and IT services you are receiving from the Inova Management company. We are no longer affiliated with that company however they use our software for all their clients and offer the server hosting and IT services. They have taken the teamviewer link off their website but you can still access it directly from within your HVMS software from the top left hand corner of your workbench. I believe the issues you are experiencing with slowness, connection drops and errors are related to the hosting solution they have in place for you. I will reach out to them on your behalf and start a support case to see if their IT is able to look into this and can offer any solutions for you.

Replied June 2018

Krista

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2018

I am the main point of contact at our clinic for HVMS support requests.

PROS

It seems to be a well-rounded software. I like the integration of bar codes and supplier translations. Will go back to using the Reorder Matrix to import into orders, now that the sales tax issue is fixed.

CONS

Would like to see the creation and modification of worksheets be more user-friendly. Would like to see more suppliers integrated into HVMS for ordering (perhaps via Vetcove?). Would LOVE to see the Mins/Maxs tab operate using a Min and a Max number and allow it to determine the order amount based on the MAX number vs the QOH for that item. Would like a more specific way to track/account for inventory that is used in-house and not billed to clients - other than making adjustments.

shawn

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

support has been good and it is easy to learn

the worksheets are nice and being able to take the tablet version with to the field is nice. the hospital template is very helpful

PROS

the hospital template and treatment plan makes it very easy to get all horses treated and the billing done in one step.

CONS

The remote servers sometimes is down and then we can not use the treatment plan. I also tried to get a repro module done a couple years ago and was told it was in the works and would be ready soon and then I gave up after several months and no progress. Some of the billing codes seem to have redundant mouse clicks that take 3 or 4 clicks when it could be 1

Laura

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2018

I have a love hate relationship with this software.

PROS

The whiteboard and facility map, the integration of inventory, scheduling etc. The integration with lab results (for those systems that work).

CONS

It is very prone to bugs and errors and cannot do a number of simple things that I think it should be able to do. Everything related to invoicing and reporting is a complete headache and clients don't like the format of invoices. Compensation is also overly complex and we never know if people are really getting compensated as they should.

Ellis

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Very good and most powerful veterinary software ever

PROS

5 Star customer service 5 Star easy to use and excellent training This entire software package is integrated across all aspects of practice management; if you put the time into developing all the aspects of this software and integrating them you will find numerous aspects of your practice that need improvement. Which translates into higher standards of practice.

CONS

Cost....but really...its not a complaint because its worth it. I have used this software in multi-state practice / multi-profit center practice / multi-inventory location practice / multi-accounting and business partners practice and have had struggles at times; but this company readily takes those struggles and solves the problems. These folks are committed to problem solving like no company I've worked with.

Jamie

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Overall user friendly with good support, easy to access patient and client info, some glitches.

PROS

Scheduling multiple doctors. The view of the schedule and ability to modify appointments easily is helpful, especially during very busy times. Allowing us to be able to personalize events is beneficial on keeping the doctors organized and efficient.

CONS

Reports. Not easily readable, typically confusing, or not the information we are looking for. The names of reports are not always indicative of the information that will be given. It typically takes several attempts to find the right report and select the correct filters to get to the information needed.

Joseph

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

The early learning curve for full use (management) is quite steep.

Good financial reporting. Reliable tablet version.

PROS

Good variety of financial reports available. Reasonably good inventory control. Reliable tablet version with easy synchronization.

CONS

This is probably our weakness as much as anything, but the worksheets have not been easy to modify. The amount of time needed to customize the software is significant. One of my other concerns is that from a medical-legal standpoint, the records are not unalterable. Previous records can be altered without any indication of an alteration.

Lauren

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2018

Can do a lot of things, but a lot of quirks and promises of fixes without follow through

PROS

everything in one place. not cloud based so works even without cell service. has the option for in house treatments as well as field cases.

CONS

lots of bugs, rarely fixed (more often they just give a weird workaround). expensive so expecting a top notch product and don't always feel like those top notch promises come to fruition. a bunch of small things that don't work like unable to take pictures off system to make online health certs and they still haven't been changed

Carissa

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Overall, HVMS seems like a pretty good program even though it does have some glitches.

Our business runs effectively each day.

PROS

The fact that it can be equine specific is a plus. There are many different options and features that are good as well.

CONS

The worksheets. We have to wait so long for help to get them customized and then the process to do so is tedious. There are also so many options that the program isn't super user friendly and can almost be too technical at times. We have also had problems with linking credit card processing systems as well.

Stephanie

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2018

Generally positive.

PROS

Daily operations are generally pretty easy, entering new patients, patient history notes, invoicing etc is straightforward. Ability to make sales plans under one general code. 30-minute schedule easy to read and show multiple users schedule at once.

CONS

Difficulty customizing reports and extracting/exporting data. Length of response time with new ticketing customer service methods. "KNOWN" bugs/glitches that continue to go without being fixed.

John

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

many frustrating hours spent trying to change code parameters

PROS

Powerful program with many analytical features. Relatively easy to invoice billings. After much trial and error, I have made the reports section be of business and financial value to me.

CONS

Monthly support fee is very high. Day to day use is manageable but making changes to codes and values is a nightmare. Support is there but slow. Seems support staff is overwhelmed with work and can't keep up.

Katie

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY