Jonas Chorum Software Reviews

Jonas Chorum Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2022

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.36

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"It s a very easy to train on and use. The software is user friendly."
  • icon"One of the features that was a deciding factor in choosing this PMS is the ease of functionality of revenue managing."
  • icon"The system is better than previous MSI Cloud. Better Features than before."
  • icon"Everytime there is an update a rate or dates drop or change."
  • icon"There is nothing that comes to my mind that is terrible about Jonus Chorum."

All Jonas Chorum Reviews

1-25 of 45 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Tyson

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

A great cloud based PMS

We enjoy Jonas Chorum in our hotels. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], our account manager, is extremely helpful and prompt.

Pros

Cloud based and usable on most web browsers! It's so great to not have to worry about managing servers and having access to the system wherever you are. The mobile app is helpful on the go and also having the Cloud Sync option to be able to use the PMS when the internet happens to go out in your area is a must.

Cons

Although the Chorum team is very open to feedback, at times, enhancement requests can take a long time to be implemented.

Eric

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Don't Be Fooled By All The Flashy Start-ups, Chorum Is a Solid Performer!

The set up, on-boarding, and continued customer service are all excellent. We've only had the product less than a year and they've already rolled out 2 significant updates adding many welcome features. We currently have 5 properties on the platform and all are happy overall. As a big warning to all: We spent a lot of time researching and piloted two other PMS before this which costs our company a lot of money. All I can say is don't be fooled by clever marketing and slick looking screenshots. There is a big difference between a PMS created by a bunch of software engineers and a company with a history of creating solid PM software. Even though we did our due diligence and were assured by other vendors it was the right choice we got honeypotted twice. While Chorum isn't the most cutting edge looking PMS, they have the experience and knowledge to create a solid PMS that is easy to learn and can be still be used by larger hotels.

Pros

-Cloud-based with nice app than managers can use to get updates as well as can be used by HK and Maint. -quick resolution to any issues, chat function is particularly great, often within a couple minutes you will be live chatting with someone. -true infrastructure of a PMS that knows how hotels operate. -Kaba door lock integration has been a big hit with FD who used to make keys manually and can now just auto make keys right from folio with correct room & # of days. -EMV keypads integration was also important move for our company and the Chorum integration also allowed us to eliminate reg cards by capturing signatures and storing in folio. -Group function is not perfect but still very functional compared to competitors we have used and considered. -Nice dashboard and ease of check in and check out -Easy to learn and navigate

Cons

-Reports are weak, hoping a future update soon improves reporting section vastly. -With all the emphasis put on data these days as well as great BI software available they could build or partner with I would like to see much better reporting. -Don't get me wrong they still have the reports you need and they function better than the garbage start-up PMS's we've used. But they're still light years apart after you've used analytics on TravelClick or Cloudbeds for example. -Examples would be the Room Sales report has a 90 day max range? some reports have 28 day max range, some 31, some 8 weeks? It's data, I should be able to pick the range I want. I would also like to see pick up reports and better selection overall. -Anyway as an RM I might be more selective about this than others and overall the reporting is still better than other PMS we have used, accounting is particularly happy with ledger reports, etc.

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

Our company did have a history with MSI so converting from NiteVision to then MSI CloudPM (now Jonas Chorum) was a simple transition and also well received by staff. Also Chorum was one of the few preferred PMS choices to roll in our Best Western property.

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

FrontDesk Anywhere was a completely useless PMS not suited for any real hotel to use, our company had to write off more than 10K in unresolved accounting discrepancies because of bugs and reporting issues that were never resolved.

Brian

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

September 2022

Former Jonas Chorum user

I would strongly recommend that any one looking for a new PMS stay away from Jonas Chorum. Leaving Jonas Chorum has been an unpleasant experience, but a necessary one, as Jonas Chorum decided to , in the middle of the year, to charge us an exorbitant cost to continue viewing payment information and to also require us to direct all of our credit card payments through an additional third party of their choice. We had no choice but to pay this unnecessary fee (which they will claim is necessary and likely now is for their product) in order to continue using the PMS as needed. After leaving, they denied my refund request for unimplemented services (a significant amount of money) and further demanded we pay a full year as a termination penalty for failing to provide them with 90 day notice of termination, which was nowhere outlined in the contract. How was the PMS itself? Difficult rate changes, ridiculous fees to have Booking.com/Expedia interfaces, user lockout is on a 1hr time lock that cannot be reversed even by technical support, and among these things and others, it can be slow. Why did we stay? The inconvenience of changing. We did not purchase the OTA interfaces, and lived with managing rates and inventory individually on Jonas, Expedia, and Booking.com, and although it would not be easy to later audit which clerk made changes, we made a special lockout user code for when someone would inadvertently lock them self out.

Pros

Leaving this software for another PMS that included OTA interfaces, call accounting interfaces, and that did not require us to give them and/or a third party an additional revenue stream from our debit/credit card payments.

Cons

Exhorbitant charges to view payment information and extranet interfaces. Requirement that all credit card payments be processed by third parties of their choosing.

Robert

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

February 2020

Not for a Small Inn

Pros

Guest history is great. Credit care integration .

Cons

constant over-bookings, support was not able to fix this issue.

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

Previous owner

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

JonasChorum was unable to fix the overbooking issues.

Nancy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Good decision

Very happy with Jonas Chorum. Easy to use.

Pros

Jonas Chorum is very easy to learn and use. The remote access is a definate plus.

Cons

There is nothing that comes to my mind that is terrible about Jonus Chorum.

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

Features, Ease of use, Price

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

Opera was too expensive and was no longer a requirement for us to have. Customer service was bad.

Tammy

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Great Functionality and Easy to Use. Implementation Team is top notch.

Service well above any other vendor I currently use.

Pros

The system is very intuitive. Our users came from another platform and found Jonas Chorum to be much easier to use.

Cons

No cons. They have worked with us to customize the software to our needs.

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

We needed enterprise functionality that will scale as we grow

Christina

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Jonas is Built with a Long History of Hotel Feedback

In researching multiple different options we ultimately selected Jonas from it's years of experience working with hotels. They have had the years to implement industry necessities (ease of posting, ease of changing rates, user friendly interface). The implementation is well documented and organized with an outstanding team. We have implemented a new PMS, channel managers and website integration and honestly this was by far the easiest and smoothest.

Pros

Jonas is built with a long history of hotel feedback and continually improving to keep up with expectations of guests and hotels. - User friendly interface - At a glance see what is happening that day. - Easy to change to rates on the fly. - Easy to train staff. - Reliable!! - We have never had an outage or issue (only during maintenance--but have been informed in advance). Keep in mind it is up to the hotel to have a high-speed reliable internet connection. - Comprehensive reporting - Mobile access - Paperless ability - Stores signature - Automatically sends folio (will not send if rate is confidential) and confirmation - Cloud backup and storage (with on-site safety server)

Cons

- Sorting options on some of the reports - More rule options (i.e. when we reach a certain occupancy automatically close out specified rate code or room type)

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

Lacking in comprehensive features. Most were too new and did not have enough hotel input. The PMS' that were comprehensive were not user friendly.

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

Oracle Opera was dated, years of delay in implementing a true Cloud interface. Support was non-existent (they treated hotels like an IT company). No longer a good fit for a 58 room boutique hotel

Manami

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Customer satisfaction

When we purchased it, it was "bare minimum" PMS and now it has become something we had hope from product developments to customer service. We are very happy with the decision to switch to Jonas (formally MSI). I hope they will continue to respect suggestions for better products even if they grow more.

Pros

They listen to the clients' suggestions for better features and they make it happen. Customer service is top notch and very responsive.

Cons

There were some server downs but it was fixed immediately. I am bit concerned as they grow more, they might not listen to our suggestions as much as they did before.

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

Knowledgeable sales person at very beginning of decision making stage. Sales person from Visual Matrix did not have a demo on but rather had turned off computers at the show. Main reasons for purchase are great & responsive customer service, and how they were eager to listen to customer's needs for future developments.

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

Hotel brand discontinued support with Brilliant and we had to switch to another PMS.

Chris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

GREAT Cloud Based PMS

Fabulous! Great customer service and chat support availability is amazing.

Pros

One of the features that was a deciding factor in choosing this PMS is the ease of functionality of revenue managing. Also, we were a beta property for mobile housekeeping and that functionality is wonderful. It has evolved our business operations and helped our hsk team operations tremendously.

Cons

Wait list functionality doesn't work. Need this to work. I don't like the new Jonas chorum layout of dashboard and wasted space which requires rolling down on screen and extra unnecessary clicks required to simply check a guest in. This needs to be improved.

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

Ability to interface with sales and catering peoduct and ease to load and manage rates

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

Failure to update product, added fees to do so, horrible support, wanted to switch to loud based product and theirs was not working well for Best Western properties, excruciatingly tedious way to have to load and manage rates.

Beverley

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2021

Chorum PMS

Chorum support team and managers are great to work with - they hear when there are issues and they work to correct them.

Pros

Easy to use - good layouts. Chorum is always making updates and finding ways to improve the software.

Cons

Some features we would like to see seem to be difficult to implement. Have struggled with profiles especially since the new 6.0 launch - seem to bee improving, but has been very trying. Interfaces don't always function properly. Would love to see some type of basic training program so that we can do postings and adjustments without being live.

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

Provided the features we needed for a reasonable cost. Lori and the sales team - easy to work with, responsive to questions, providing quotes, etc

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

Didn't integrate with Best Western

Angela

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

Improvements keep coming

They continue to improve in making changes in the software to provide the end user what they need and want. Very receptive to suggestions on enhancements. My account managers are so easy to work with and the technicians are really good at trying to find resolve although it is frustrating to know more than they do when I or a member of my staff calls for assistance.

Pros

Ease of general use. Easy to train someone on the basics of the PMS system.

Cons

Functionality is sometimes lagging. When an update happens, there tends to be at least one thing that "breaks" and then we have to find a work around until it can get addressed in the next enhancement.

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

We were with MSI when the acquisition happened. MSI had a good product with CloudPM and changing companies was not on the table

Sunni

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2020

Jonas Chorum

It has been pleasant with minimal issues

Pros

This system is easy to learn, teach and navigate.

Cons

The lack in ability to track room changes on specific rooms. It would be great to be able to have the option in the housekeeping module where a user can put in a room number and see any changes to that particular room.

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

Pricing

Andrea

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2021

We like Chorum PMS

Over all my staff and I are quite pleased with the system

Pros

We moved from Nite Vision to Chorum because it was cloud based. I was skeptical at first because I LOVED Nite Vision, the longer we have Chorum the more I appreciate the features it offers.

Cons

I wish that it had auto save features. Also I have issues logging in to the GM and settlement sections from certain browsers, it just won't load or says we need Microsoft Silverlight.

Reasons for choosing Jonas Chorum

we liked our relationship with MSI

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

we went cloud based

Marshall

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2020

Stop Sending Surveys

Pros

Ease of use for our sized hotel property

Cons

Getting weekly requests for surveys, maybe should send a couple of times a year

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

MSI Nova stopped support

Jacki

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Great Customer Support and Fast Resolution to Problems

Pros

Lots of support when initially launched this software. Customer service when there are problems is hit or miss on which tech you get, but they are great about resolving problems fast. I used to require computer experience for the staff, now I just ask if they can handle social media and if the answer is yes-I know they can handle the system.

Cons

There can be a lot of bugs that need worked out over time, but they do implement the fixes system wide. I like that they usually offer a work around solution until the fix is implemented when you run into a problem. Just the sheer quantity of them is problematic, but they handle it well.

Reasons for switching to Jonas Chorum

Brand required and much needed. Old system was extremely faulty and difficult to use

Dee

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE