All Semper Reviews

1-25 of 124 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Johan

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Everything you need and More... and then some!

PROS

It covers all aspects of what is required in the hospitality industry. From the restaurant all the way to wedding facilities and online booking platform.

CONS

The software altough works great and does everything it should, looks a bit dated.

Reason for choosing Semper

Pricing.

Reasons for switching to Semper

We required POS for our restaurant as well as PMS for the lodge.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great review, Johan! Are you on the new Semper web system yet? This is a very modern system with a lot of new functions. Feel free to send us an email and we will contact you to to switch you over.

Replied November 2021

Martin

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Great Product!

it works well and they have great partner support

PROS

it works well and they have great partner support

CONS

Online is still not there but I'm sure its a end-user problem at the moment (training)

Reason for choosing Semper

[SENSITIVE CONTENT] the sales reps was really helpfull

Reasons for switching to Semper

there was not product/partner support

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review, Martin. We're happy to hear you are enjoying the software.

Replied July 2022

Hester

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2024

My opinion

I'm very negative regarding Semper. I find their accounting side totally unpractical and difficult for non-accounting people to use. None of the info on reports is trustworthy or easy to categorize. Settings need to be changes again and again and again and one user's settings gets pulled over to all users.

PROS

I can log in remotely - that is the only thing remotely positive regarding Semper. To be fair... the previous system probably also have this option and it would probably be more streamlined than Semper's but never had need to use it before we switched to Semper

CONS

Data 100% unreliable and everything needs to be double checked. A HUGE problem if you try to pull an annual report.

Reasons for switching to Semper

I didn't... the sales point at the time was that online bookings can be done through Semper.

Vendor Response

We appreciate your honest feedback and apologize for any challenges you've faced with Semper. It's disheartening to hear about the issues with data reliability, especially when pulling annual reports. We understand the importance of accurate and trustworthy information. Your concerns about the accounting side being impractical for non-accounting users and the difficulties in settings management are duly noted. We are committed to addressing these issues and improving your experience with Semper. If you have specific details or further suggestions, please feel free to share them with our support team. We appreciate your input and are dedicated to making necessary improvements.

Replied January 2024

Tarryn

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Impressive Software

PROS

The functionality and features are very helpful.

CONS

The system can be complicated and overwhelming.

Reasons for switching to Semper

We were interested in having more functionality and features, which Semper seemed to offer.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts! We're pleased to hear you find our software impressive with helpful functionality and features. We understand concerns about complexity and overwhelm and appreciate your feedback. We're continuously working to enhance user experience, and your input is valuable. If you have specific suggestions or questions, please let us know.

Replied January 2024

Tom

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Semper Hospitality Software

The software is stable. Integrates well with other programs, - accounting and other booking systems. The maintenance and development is excellent on the program. The staff are friendly and willing to help and assist all the time.

PROS

The product stood out from others as it was easy to use. It incorporated tour groups and individuals that other programs could not do. A huge amount of data can be recouped through the record systems and easy to find them. Was easy to set the system up to our needs.

CONS

There is nothing that I do not like or find irritating.

Reason for choosing Semper

The system could handle tour groups and the individual guest in the group.

Vendor Response

We can't thank you enough for the kind words, Tom. Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we're on the right track.

Replied November 2021

Lisa

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Semper is the best!

The customer support from Semper is fabulous and they now have specialist support members who are very knowledgeable about the product.

PROS

Semper Online is one of the easiest software packages that I have ever used and it has been extremely easy to convert from a server based system to this online one. It is extremely user-friendly and training new staff is now much easier.

CONS

There is nothing negative about Semper although it can be tricky when the internet is down - but that's not their fault!

Reasons for switching to Semper

Semper is both a CRM and a PMS so it is not necessary to use 2 systems to update rates to our channel manager.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for the great review, Lisa! We are so glad you enjoy the Semper web system. Your review means a lot to us!

Replied November 2021

Nadia

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

User Friendly, with a Super Support Staff

Always friendly and always helpful and willing to assist.

PROS

The software is easy to understand and to use. This makes it a joy to work with on a daily basis.

CONS

Sometimes the updates bring out more problems.

Reasons for switching to Semper

They were not user friendly at all, less functionality and the support service was not good. Plus them being a foreign company, there was problems with VAT calculations - they were never 100%

Vendor Response

Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you find Semper user-friendly and enjoy working with it daily.

Replied January 2024

Vania

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Excellent for calendar management

PROS

Easy integration with online booking platforms

CONS

Doesn't support local (South African) booking platforms

Reason for choosing Semper

More functionality at the time, like a payment platform

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2022

umkulu

PROS

Stock Control is accurate and profit margins are nice to see

CONS

Currenlty there is ONE colour coded for both the Guest that has (i) made partial payment; AS WELL as the Guest that has Paid in FULL. It would be nice to have the Calendar View to highlight in DIFFERENT COLOURS the two types of Guests, those who have PAID IN FULL; and those who have made Payment, but still have OUTSTANDING account prior to their arrival and check in. Because of this issue, one now has to actually click on the booking to open the reservation in order to see if there person is Paid in FULL ; or only partially paid.

Reason for choosing Semper

SA product and support

Reasons for switching to Semper

Point of sale

Leon

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

The ideal software for my business

Pre Semper we had a number of lost bookings as well as a serious problem with double bookings. With Semper being linked directly to our multi channel manager ( MyAllocator ), this problem has totally disappeared. The proiduct comes with 100's of reports so i can pull any stats i need for pipeline management, house maintenance etc. its all there.

PROS

its simple to use and very reliable. I run it locally as we are very rural and the internet is not always reliable. despite running locally, Semper also allows me remote access via a web browser interface so i am able to manage bookings from anywhere.

CONS

Nothing really. its not the fanciest software on the market, but it does everything i want at a very reasonable price.

Reason for choosing Semper

Semper was chosen as its was easy to use and had all the features we needed. We also found support to be very good and requests for new functionality were handled very fast. The user interface at the time was pretty basic, but this meant that user training was fast and easy. a big plus actually. Subsequently they have developed a more modern web based interface so you now have the choice of using either.

Reasons for switching to Semper

automation.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for this great review, Leon. We really appreciate your support and we are so glad our system was able to sort out the issues you had before you implemented Semper.

Replied November 2021

Vernon

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2024

Not happy

PROS

Nothing, not user friendly, set up promises weren’t kept, waste of money

CONS

Set up promises weren’t kept, blackmailed to accept or threatened to be tuned off

Vendor Response

We're sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. We take your feedback seriously and apologize for any inconvenience you've experienced. Your concerns about the system not being user-friendly and setup promises not being kept are noted. We aim to address and rectify any issues promptly. If you have specific details or additional feedback, please reach out to our support team so we can better understand and assist you. We appreciate your input and are committed to improving our services.

Replied January 2024

Karla

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Semper Support Review: [sensitive content hidden]

The support service from [sensitive content hidden] has been consistently excellent.

PROS

Consistently proven to be incredibly helpful. His knowledge and responsiveness have made resolving issues a smooth and efficient process. I appreciate his dedication to provide excellent assistance.

CONS

I currently find the support service to be outstanding, and I can't think of anything that needs improvements at the moment.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're thrilled to hear that Semper consistently provides excellent support. We appreciate your acknowledgement of his helpfulness, knowledge, and dedication. If you ever have further comments or suggestions, feel free to reach out. We're here to assist you!

Replied January 2024

Bronwan

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Extremely User Friendly and Great Support

PROS

I have worked with Semper at Multiple Properties around South Africa and even opted to have Semper implemented in Botswana. I would not use any other PMS in future.

CONS

In my opinion I have not yet found any fault with Semper in order to advise on any improvements required.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you find Semper extremely user-friendly and appreciate the great support. It's fantastic to know that you've chosen Semper for multiple properties and even implemented it in Botswana. We're grateful for your trust and loyalty. If you ever have any suggestions or further comments, feel free to reach out. We look forward to continuing to serve you!

Replied January 2024

Christoffel Jose

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Great Booking System

PROS

The accounting section is very helpful, the basic understanding of booking your rooms and sales split is very handy and easy

CONS

Export reports not really for debtors use, have to use another method to get accurate report totals

Vendor Response

Thank you for your positive review! We're pleased to hear that you find our booking system great, especially the helpful accounting section and easy sales split. We appreciate your feedback on the export reports and are committed to enhancing our features. If you have any specific suggestions, feel free to share. We're here to provide an even better experience for you!

Replied January 2024

Alex

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Semper Property Management System

PROS

Makes managing properties and rentals so much easier. Nice function for housekeeping and good integration with most booking websites.

CONS

Looks outdated (like a software from the early 2000's). But I was using the desktop version and from what I understand, the web platform is much better and more modern.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that Semper makes managing properties easier with good integration. We appreciate your input about the desktop version's appearance, and we're excited for you to explore the more modern web platform for an updated experience. If you have any further comments or suggestions, feel free to let us know. We're here to enhance your property management journey!

Replied January 2024

Leanne

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Semper Review

Overall it has been a good experience with very little difficulties in user management. I would recommend the software to other resorts without hesitation.

PROS

The booking System is very user friendly for my front office staff as well as the online booking system which is very user friendly for my guests.

CONS

The guest search engine could be improved to be more specific

Reason for choosing Semper

We chose the hospitality software as it was very similar to our manual system we had in place at the resort therefore was an easy transition for us.

Vendor Response

Leanne, thank you for the great review! We're so happy you find value in the system. Feel free to send us an email with your suggestions on the guest search engine. We will be happy to look into it.

Replied November 2021

Ewaldt

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2023

Semper PMS Experience

The system is good for small independent hotels, It serves the daily needs of reservations, front office and housekeeping and accounting.

PROS

Dashboard has an easy to use format and everything you need in one place.

CONS

The reporting does not support easy revenue management and analysis.Semper channel manager only connects with limited otas, which is restrictive.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you find the Semper PMS dashboard easy to use. We appreciate your insights about the reporting challenges and limitations with the channel manager. If you have any specific suggestions or further comments, feel free to share. We value your input and are here to support your hotel's needs!

Replied January 2024

David

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: