What are Hostaway users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Hostaway software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.73

313 Reviews

5
247
4
32
3
9
2
1
1
6
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Good all in one package, easy integration with Airbnb, good layout, each unit calendar is good, the same basis as Airbnb."
  • icon"Hostaway has been a great company to work with. Great customer service and everything is as promised and advertised."
  • icon"The software has been immensely helpful in automating messages and cleaning schedules with our several cleaning staff. The free booking engine website is an additional advantage."
  • icon"I'm trying to look up last years revenue for taxes and it will only show me until last april so I am missing 3 months."
  • icon"Show 0 empathy on money lost due to their mistakes."
  • icon"The last issue I flagged for Hostaway was something that negatively affected EVERY user of their software."

Jump to:

Browse all Hostaway Reviews

  • Have you used Hostaway and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 295 reviews

Midge

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

April 2022

Support from Hostaway

Vagelis

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

BEST PROPERTY MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE

BEST TEAM AND TOOLS

Pros

EASE OF USE , TECHNOLOGY , DESIGN

Cons

EVERYTHING IS PERFECT AND THE TEAM SUPER SUPPORTIVE

User Profile

Justin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Hostaway Review

Pros

Very easy to use and it is good to book rental vacations

Cons

everything is good with this software but customer service does take a while.

Response from Hostaway

Hello Justin, thank you very much for your kind words. While we appreciate feedback, it can sometimes be subjective. Based on your feedback, we looked at our stats and found out the median response times had gotten longer. As a result of it, we immediately increased the size of our support team by 200%. As you can see in the other reviews, the outcome was excellent supprot with fast reponse times. Thank you again for helping us strive to become even better!

Replied May 2021

Troy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Critical choice in my business suceeding

The support and technology are top-notched. Hostaway enables me to communicate with my team and guests to provide outstanding service and enables me to optimize my business to run more efficiently, and effectively. I wouldn't be able to grow my business so fast without Hostaway and their excellent team

Pros

when I initially decided to move forward with Hostaway, the decision was based on features and benefits. As I am getting more familiar with the value it offers, the support team is outstanding and hands down what I like about most. They are knowledgeable, quick, and responsive. They really do care about your business and how to help you become more successful

Cons

there is a bit of a learning curve because of all the features and detailed reporting it offers. "Getting what you pay for" definitely applies here. with Hostaway you get a ton of support, a great product and the best value for a PMS.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

Reporting capabilities. You can't manage what you don't track. I can do whatever I need with Hostaway and then some

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

Reporting was the initial reason

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

WORST customer service

The one time I was able to speak to our rep he was short and condescending. He was argumentative and flat-out rude.

Pros

Ease of use and ability to block bookings from VRBO as well as Air BnB

Cons

Although it now blocks on the calendar it still does not pull payment breakdown from VRBO. The formula we use has had to be adjusted monthly since it doesn't seem to save. I am doing double the work to figure out owner payout and manager payouts.

Sabeeh

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Hostway usage after 4 month

Can say I am still in middle of the ocean.

Pros

user friendly menu options. Ease of use. Integration to apps .Payment gate stripe connectivity.

Cons

1.On main window there should be an option to maximize the view of calendar by hiding the left menu view. 2.On invoice there is no logo or company details coming. 4.On the web portal link there should be a print to pdf option for the booking offered for guest to print out as there are some of the corporate clients who needs to get approval from their companies or get advance payments. 5.Tax option (City tax/DTCM Tax) missing where not able to set for eg 10 AED for studio/one bed room and 20 AED for two bed room- Also not possible to set if days are more than 30 days max Tourism fee should be 30 days x10 AED 6.There should be available meeting calendar for the support based on their expertise like finance or reservations or website so we can chose correct ones. 7.On boarding crash course initial 3 days is fine . But there should be follow-up calls from support as we develop clarifications once start using the software. 8.There should be an option to send some notification for example if we want to send guest arrival info to a building security/reception. Now possible to send to guest and CC to another email.THis case we dont need to inform guest.

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

Payment gateway stripe connectivity

Michael

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Costumer support is not available via phone! Only email support it takes about 4-6 hours to respond

looking to automate my vacation rental business

Pros

the software looks promising, but so far I had a hard time syncing with my Airbnb account, I set up an Onboarding Kick-Off call, but the hostaway accountant didn't show up on the call, so it messed up my schedule, so far I am not confident that the software is doing whats its promise to do, I was just afraid to rely on them for the long run since my plan is to have multiple Airbnb listings so I decide to drop them.

Cons

I set up the syncing with Airbnb myself and it's not blocking the calendar on Airbnb unless you have a reservation on Airbnb, also the inbox messaging system will bring in multiple messages from the same guest if the inquiry was expired or similar. I switched over to hospitable which has much fewer bells and whistles but works excellent from day one, and it integrates and syncs with Airbnb in 30 seconds with zero problems.

Baptiste

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Not suitable for guesthouse

Pros

Easy setup, good and responsive support team

Cons

The software is really not suitable for a daily use for Guesthouse. It had major operational flaws : - it's not possible to change the room of the guest in the property if reservation is from a channel manager - not possible to see easyly what is the balance of each reservation, need to make a lot of click - really complicated to add items (like breakfast) and then bill them - booking.com integration problem - if the client change his reservation on booking.com , it will create a duplicated reservation and need to contact support to remove the other one The booking engine is really complicated with no translation, only english. They propose google translation but the integration is messy.

Karen

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

So Far So Good

I am new to this business so I don't have anything to compare it to except when I was helping a friend who had to jump from one channel to the other all the time. It was confusing so I really like the streamlining of this software.

Pros

I really like having everything in one place. I am still learning everything it can do but I am very impressed so far. Being able to have cleaners in on the app so they can just take the jobs that work for them is very helpful.

Cons

There is a lot to learn about how to use the software and I feel like the teaching sessions go by so fast and I have so many more questions.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

I like how the platform looked and the price.

Madilin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Great software and easy to implement!

We are saving time and able to put that time back into the growth of the business!

Pros

Our favorite features in Hostaway are the auto-messaging features, owner portal, and financial reporting. These features take so much off our plate and get us back to interacting with our guests in meaningful ways. They are also crucial as we look to expand our business and take on other owner's properties. The scalability of the software is a HUGE bonus for us.

Cons

The software is incredibly robust, which is not a downside. However, it can be overwhelming at first. The onboarding process helps make it manageable. Having someone walk you through setting everything up is what makes the experience with the software worthwhile.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

More features that allow us to scale over time and not outgrow the software.

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

The product was so outdated and did not suit our needs. It made more work for us. We then went to manual management and it was better, but we needed systems and processes to be able to expand. Hostaway is allowing us to do that!

Amy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Installation Support is the best I have ever seen

Such a great use of my limited time. As the owner, I want to know what the software can do. By having one one one sessions, I am able to do that without having to depend on technical staff that may not recognize the business importance of such features.

Pros

I get to have an unlimited amount of sessions with techs that really know the system. The system has a lot of nifty features which I would never have been able to use without this wonderful onboarding process.

Cons

Minimum of 3 listings. I am paying for something I may use in the future but not right now. Although, based on my experience so far, it is well worth it.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

Guesty told me I wasn't big enough for them and referred me to their new acquisition "Your Porter". I couldn't even open an account and no customer service was available. I realize Your Porter is just $12 a month per listing, but managing my AirBNB business is not where I want to save money. Tokeet seemed really complex and did not have a unified look and feel making navigation very difficult. Hostaway was the perfect combination, not too expensive, an intuitive interface coupled with amazing customer service and onboarding.

Suzy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Onboarding with Hostaway

Pros

The product is quite easy to use and intuitive. The inbox and calendar are very helpful. Support is great.

Cons

Nothing to report as yet.................

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

Hostaway had more functionality and is scaleable.

Daniel

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Vacation Rental Management

Overall experience has been quite satisfying. I really like their communication when I have issues or concerns. While the PMS isn't quite what I would consider optimal or perfect, the company seems refreshingly committed to improving their product to meet the needs of the community.

Pros

Value, great bang for your buck. A dedicated, response customer support platform (primarily email), who are responsive to concerns and suggestions. Intuitive features that are both efficient and elegant: channel manager, calendar, and listing manager A company that seems keen on evolving to continue providing a solid, affordable product.

Cons

A little lacking on the direct booking side (which may be more valuable to me than most). Hopefully they will add line item charges soon. Other weak points have continually improved or been added including messaging, invoices, and other listing/channel management features. So some still exist but I imagine would be address if requested.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

I did a pretty thorough search for my unique situation and while Cloudbeds came close, Hostaway at least equal but better valued. Honestly, Hostaway wasn't quite all I needed, but they continue to close the gap of what I would consider an ideal PMS (sleek and efficient).

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

I have a bit of a unique property/situation and ResNexus, although nice, was ultimately too much for my property.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Fast & Reliable Software!

My team and I just switched to Hostaway and so far, it's way much better than the previous one as it offers attentive customer service, relevant features such as creating its own invoice, monthly owner statement, mobile app accessibility, and even more updated features that are yet to be released. Highly recommended. 

Pros

They offer attentive customer service, relevant features such as creating its own invoice, monthly owner statement, mobile app accessibility, and even more updated features that are yet to be released. Highly recommended. 

Cons

Unable to customize our website and unable to upload our logo to the invoice JUST YET. But, they're working on it so we just have to wait.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

Their updated features.

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

Lavanda took so long to sort out issues, their features are not yet updated.

Abbey Moore

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Made a mistake and left....came crawling back!

Excellent from start to finish.

Pros

The training is second to none and this is a personal company with REAL people that care about their product and how you feel about it.

Cons

I adore this product but if I had to be VERY picky I would say the interface and usability is a little clunky and needs to be tidied up and streamlined a little. But that is just really pulling at straws as this piece of software is worth every single penny and more.

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

Guesty had shocking customer service and the training left so many holes that it ended up costing me money and lost time (also money) to find holes and correct them with little to no help or accountability after training was compete and they had taken my money.

Martine

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Great CM

Costumer service is super. The best! Quick response and always a solution.

Pros

The overview and communication options. Easy.

Cons

Just small things that are under improvement.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

Most options. Gives a total overview when you need a hotel system to control your apartment rental without having staff at the property.

Response from Hostaway

Hello Martine! It's been a while since we last spoke, we're glad to see you're still happy. We have worked on improving the ease of use and hope that you stay with us. Thank you so much for the feedback!

Replied May 2021

Keiran

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

No Other PMS Compares

The software solves a lot of issues for me, but three core problems were solved because of Hostaway. 1) Channel distribution, 2) Automated guest communication, 3) Cleaning/task coordination.

Pros

Hostaway was able to distribute my listings across the main sales channels with ease. While it does have a lot of other features the primary reason for purchasing this software was for the ease of managing multiple units across multiple OTA's.

Cons

Like any other software, trying to learn how the platform works takes time, but overall it was super easy!

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

Honestly, I had a demo with Guesty and the salesperson seemed rude. I also didn't like the commission pricing model they had.

Kim

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Top notch customer service

Pros

We found Hostaway to be the perfect option for our property management side of the business. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] went above and beyond meeting with us to get us started and through the first few months of operation. Now we deal primarily with the customer service via the app, and they get back to us immediately. They will either fix the issue we're having or we dialogue and troubleshoot to fix. They are constantly working to streamline the program for property managers in terms of calendar updates, updating listings etc. We host between 20-30 properties and they've been great to work with. Highly recommend.

Cons

Sometimes the updates are glitchy, but customer service immediately attends to the issue. It's a newer software and very inexpensive compared to its competitors so minors issues are is to be expected, but they troubleshoot and update constantly.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

We liked [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and our interactions with him. The price was definitely what caught our eye, but our overall customer experience has been top notch. When we dealt with Hostfully we didn't care for our sales rep. He didn't listen to our needs, didn't send out time reminders and links for meetings, and was overall no where near as responsive as we needed them to be. Hostaway won us over.

Kellen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Great product for a very fair price

So far our experience has been excellent. Their support staff has been very helpful and patient with us as we learn the software and had an answer for any question we have.

Pros

It is very user friendly, self explanatory and functional across several platforms

Cons

The only con I have found so far is that there really isn't an easy way to let our homeowners access their owner portals. The app is extremely basic and could use the ability to access more functions from it as well.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

Ease of use, pricing, ability to integrate with our already established website, availability and response of customer service

Mikey

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Some of my main issues resolved so should be good now!

The system does work but again the main difference from other PMS's was accountant management! But the system is easy to use and function.

Cons

It wasn't the software I was more interested in the account management but my account manager was great but has since gone on mat leave, I never got someone to take over! If there is no account management WHY DID I LEAVE MY OLD PMS SYSTEM.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

Why sure at the moment as the AM was the main reason but i don't have that!

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

Not syncing correctly and no support.

Manuel

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

A great custom support and a fast growing Property Management system

Pros

It has a lot of great integrations and it's constantly adding more. Its consumer support its over the charts and has great tools for daily management.

Cons

Can't say, maybe the accounting and mantainence system.

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

Upgrade on software

Adrienne

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Easy to use software w/great customer service

We originally signed up with them in August and at the time their on boarding wasn't great. We went to another company for 5 months and regretted moving away from HostAway ever since. We recently signed back with HostAway and our experience has been amazing. [SENSITIVE CONTENT], our onboarding specialist, has been amazing at helping us navigate through the features of the software.

Pros

The user-friendly interface and speed to set up our booking engine were our two favorite features. Also, the customer service with the onboarding calls was very helpful.

Cons

There isn't much I can say that I dislike about the software. There are a few features I wish they had (PointCentral integration, ability to download nightly rates into a spreadsheet, etc). Still, these features are either in the process of coming out, or they aren't significant enough to be an issue.

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

The issues we had with Ciirus were quite significant. Here's the list: -Their live chat feature was never on -They're not fully integrated with Airbnb -When they made software updates they wouldn't update their user manual so we never knew how to use the new features or where old features were -Their booking engine took a long time to load and customers would ask if our site was down -Customer service was always challenging.

Mike

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Hostaway the new industry leader in PMS

Excellence! this is a team of dedicated professionals that are focused on any size buisness that onboards here. Whether it is 5 properties or 50 the expertise here is amazing. Thoughtful development make the platform a genuine comfort to use

Pros

Support is a premium and available at all times in a number of way, quick consise and always with great resolution.

Cons

The direct booking site manager is being developed further so some things like font color or Logo placement on splash screen isnt available yet, logo placement is fine, would be great to choose where to place it. This is not a real con at all!

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

Support and the onboarding specialsts including the primary sales team consultant.

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

Guesty was appaling in support and nuances with the platform make it labourious to use and issues found remain unresolved with technical limitations in some areas preventing fixes to be delivered efficiently. There is no phone number for Guesty, you are at the mercy of there overnight policy. If you do not have 20+ properties you are not on the radar with this company.

Lila

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

GREAT FEATURES!

Great training and customer service! Very easy to use and set up.

Pros

I love the task features and also de booking engine, everything is very easy to set up and it helps us to keep organized even with a high amount of properties. Also de the inbox is great! I get to see all messages in 1 window and it saves me a lot of time.

Cons

We haven't found something that we don't like, its a very good PMS in general.

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

We did some research about Hostaway and realized that Hostaway has many great features that Hostfully lacks. Hostfully needs an update for some things.

Response from Hostaway

Thank you Lila for your review! We hope you enjoy the revamped inbox and our award-winning support for many years to come!

Replied May 2021

Jack

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Sophisticated Channel Manager

Overall, this has been a good experience. I signed up with them a year ago and periodically I do a review of the competition and new entrants to see if they stack up and so far, this is the best solution for us.

Pros

It does a lot of really great things that suit my business model perfectly. It is the best software system I could find for our budget and requirements. My personal favourite is the webhooks and open API that I can use to build my own functions on top of.

Cons

It really needs the functionality to be able to automate the security deposit for guests. That is my one problem. I would have said the financails could be improved but they just released a major update to this and it looks great. Finally, I'd like to see some custom reports for business metrics. I currently have to download to a .csv and manually figure things out. The overview dashboard does have a decent set of metrics, but I want to see them over time.

Reasons for choosing Hostaway

By far the best value for money and the best suited to my individual needs.

Reasons for switching to Hostaway

Expensive and you had to pay extra for the actual channel manager. It was a good PMS, but it's only really useful if you have a lot of call ins or your own direct booking website that people have to enquire before booking. I wasn't a fan.

Showing 1 - 25 of 295 reviews
Hostaway

Hostaway

4.73/5 out of 313 reviews