User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(9)

9

4 stars

(10)

10

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The product is great and easy to use once you have had training on it. The vendor is amazing and the support has been excellent. "

  • "There are a lot of possibilities within the program to make it ideal for a variety of companies. The support team are excellent and I can tell Maestro wants to make things work for their clients."

  • "Maestro is a very user friendly system. Additionally it has all the features of system 2-3 times its cost, and the support has been spot on."

  • Cons

  • "As is common with PMS suites, the interface is a bit dated in its look. The HTML version is a bit more polished however."

  • "The only thing I like least about this product is that yes means no and the no means yes."

  • "Group package rate setup seems to be very complex and difficult to wrap me head around, will continue to study and ask questions."

Browse Maestro PMS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -28 of 22 results

October 2017

Chris from Boutique Hotel Collection

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Fantastic customer support drives feature rich PMS

Pros

The hospitality industry is about people - connecting people, servicing people, and other various interactions. Having a key software vendor that is also about people is invaluable. The support staff at Maestro are what sets them apart from their competition - the Canadian hospitality is on full display here.

Cons

As is common with PMS suites, the interface is a bit dated in its look. The HTML version is a bit more polished however.

July 2019

Erin from Millenium Management Corp

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Maestro Review

Over all, we like using Maestro PMS.

Pros

Transaction details, Customer Support, Auditing Reports

Cons

Unfortunately, we are still waiting on Tax reporting for our 1099's / 1042s annual tax reporting. Being in the US, we require both. We've requested the function over 3 years ago and it is still on the back burner. For US Clients-this is a BIG CON

Reasons for Choosing Maestro PMS

The Sales department was very convincing and our CPA recommended Maestro

Response from NORTHWIND

Replied July 2019

Thank you Erin for your support and sharing that you and your team like using Maestro PMS. We regret that you may not be updated on the latest tax reporting features in Maestro and will reach out to you directly as 1099 reporting and output is available in Maestro and in use by many users, and we can certainly review 1042s options as well. We will work with you to ensure that your configuration has been updated to address this, and hopefully resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to addressing all your concerns.

August 2019

Andy from Silver Slipper Casino Hotel

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Top Notch System and Service

Pros

The software works as promoted with many options to fit clients needs. What I am most impressed is the level of support we receive and the speed in which we receive support. From daily tech questions to new technology upgrades, the Maestro team is always quick to respond and have the desire to provide solutions.

Cons

Group package rate setup seems to be very complex and difficult to wrap me head around, will continue to study and ask questions.

Response from NORTHWIND

Replied August 2019

Thank you Andy for recognizing the level of support services we provide. It is our goal to have clients recognize the effort we put into our support services and we appreciate your positive feedback. In terms of the group rate and other group related capabilities, you have clearly identified that Maestro's group capabilities are sophisticated and flexible, and do require some review and planning to use effectively. We invite you to use our elearning website and our free on-demand training to assist you with ensuring you use that feature to its fullest potential to meet your needs.

July 2019

Madison from The Godfrey Hotel Tampa

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Maestro PMS

Pros

I like that you can put events in and track bookings. You can make payments and keep record of events and rooms booking.

Cons

The program is not user friendly from a hotel stand point. To check in the employees have so many steps in order to get the guest checked in. The reports are not easy to pull and use. when you call support the person is not always nice and helpful.

Response from NORTHWIND

Replied July 2019

Thank you Madison for sharing your experience. Maestro is highly configurable, and the steps chosen by your property's management team may present multiple screens to meet management data needs. Maestro can be trimmed down to only a few steps to check in a guest, as well as support self check in and mobile check in if desired. We also pride ourselves on excellent support and training services and have built our reputation on this and encourage you to reach out to our Client Services or Senior Managers anytime you feel the service you received did not meet expectations. We take our high level of service very seriously and in addition to calling for live support or using our online chat, we have a comprehensive elearning website for clients. We also provide on-demand training, and would be happy to spend some time with you to understand your specific concerns and help address them. Thank you again for your input, please give us an opportunity to improve your experience with Maestro.

July 2019

Joel from St. Eugene Golf Resort Casino

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Wow!

I am absolutely blown away and feel incredibly fortunate to be working with Maestro. It has the capabilities to do everything I have ever wished a PMS could do. I have recently taken over my role and received no interaction with my predecessor nor any reference materials regarding the software. Therefore I was challenged to learn as this is not software that can be picked up easily. We had a Maestro trainer, come down this month to retrain the department. He was phenomenal and I am excited to gain more and more expertise with Maestro over time.

Pros

Maestro is without a doubt the most impressive piece of PM Software I have come across. It is incredibly robust with functionalities for everything my heart could ask for. Customer service and tech support is top notch!

Cons

It is impenetrable to a new user and training a new Front Desk Agent is an involved process.

January 2020

Douglas from Inn on the hudson

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2020

Maestro

Not good. Very difficult to train employees to use.

Pros

Great product for a larger type hotel. There are not many things I do like about this product. Very hard to use.

Cons

Antiquated. Very difficult to use and train to use. Maybe we had an old version but it seemed impossible.

Response from NORTHWIND

Replied January 2020

Thank you Douglas for recognizing that Maestro is "a great product for a larger type hotel". With a reputation for exceptional service, extensive features and partner integrations we are proud of our 8 years working with the Inn on the Hudson. Since your change in 2017 you have missed a plethora of new innovations that would benefit the property (all free to clients). The browser version and mobile apps provide portability for guests & staff, can be hosted in the cloud or on-premise and bring a fresh view of your data, extremely well received by clients. Our in-app live chat support gives users instant simplified direct live help. The new Tablet version is on track for this year giving front line staff & management an intuitive new design. New users are educated quickly via on demand training and monitored and report card based elearning, bringing more value to clients invested in Maestro. We invite you to have another look at Maestro when the opportunity presents itself.

July 2019

David from Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Feature Rich System at a Great Price, and Great Support Too!

Maestro is a very feature rich system that rivals it's major competitors at a far less cost. Additionally, the support and training supplied by Maestro has been second to none, with nearly all support incidents resolved with only a single call.

Pros

Maestro is a very user friendly system. Additionally it has all the features of system 2-3 times its cost, and the support has been spot on.

Cons

While Maestro has great reporting options, I wish there was an end-user in-app custom report feature similar to what one might find in Salesforce without the price of additional licenses. Although you can export to excel and csv formats in the end its still just exporting canned reports. Also, while they have an analytics product, it still requires additional licenses.

July 2019

Herb from Spruce Lake Retreat

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Group Reservations/Systems Manager

I have been using Maestro for 10 years (maintaining the setup, training staff and booking groups) and have seen improvements during this time with periodic upgrades. As a retreat center we have some unique requirements compared to hotels/resorts and the company was able to provide a way to accommodate most of those needs. It is a great program to use for individual and group reservations. Analytics views are great for historical data as well as projecting future usage. Support is great to work with and management is open to discussing enhancement requests.

Pros

That you can view availability and schedule meeting rooms along with guest rooms seamlessly.

Cons

The learning curve. However, there are certain individuals that adept more quickly than others.

June 2019

Danielle from Skytop Lodge

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Easiest reservation program I've ever used.

For the most part Maestro is a great program and hasn't let us down. I love all the different avenues you can take to find existing, and checked out reservations.

Pros

Maestro is super simple to learn and use. Once I got the operations down it was quick and easy to set up reservations for our guests. I'm so glad we use this program.

Cons

The only thing I can say I don't like about Maestro is sometimes when you put in a date and select "New Guest Resv" it sometimes changes the date to the day before, day after, or just a completely random date. I am not sure if this is some kind of default or not.

July 2019

Daniel from River Bend Casino and Hotel

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Excellent Support, Great Features, Superb Value

One of the best systems I've had the pleasure to work with. Support is excellent, the software is robust and full of upper-tier functionality. CANNOT be implemented without a rigorous training schedule. Not a system you can throw a temp or intern on and expect them to understand.

Pros

Hand down the best support I've ever experienced from a tech company. Not only are they fast to respond to questions, they provide monthly training at no extra cost.

Cons

Naming conventions are misleading. Navigation can be cumbersome and thee online help feature is too vague.

February 2019

Ryan from IVES Training

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Used it for 7 years

I'll have to admit that in 9 years working in hotels that I've only used 2 PMS programs. Of the two, I strongly preferred Maestro. I've used Maestro as a front desk agent, night auditor, front office manager, and general manager. Once past the learning curve, and with repeated use, you can fly through the program quicker than the computer can refresh... at least I could :)

Pros

Once you get past the learning curve, it's very easy to use and move quickly through the program. It is a great program for all aspects of managing hotel be it inventory and rate management, guest management, reservations, sales, accounting. I'm sure in 7 years I've used it, I didn't get to use every function since there was just so much. What I liked most was that it is quick and easy to access a lot of information (guest, company, or group info or history / room availability and pricing / accounting and sales figures). This was very helpful since easy flow of information is vital to a hotel running smoothly. When loading rates, I particularly liked that I could set automatic rate adjustments base on parameters such as dates, day of the week, occupancy, room type, or a combination of any of the aforementioned. This automation meant that if sudden inventory changes occurred on the rare occasion that I was not working, the rates would increase or decrease to achieve the best average daily rate and occupancy. Managing inventory was very easy with Maestro. Even with 9 different room types, I could use various reports to see overall occupancy, occupancy by room types, and also by specific rooms. I could go on. It is a very solid PMS program and I would use it again.

Cons

The only real dislike that I had with this program was the learning curve. Because the particular Maestro PMS we used was easier to use without using a computer mouse, it was essential to learn the mnemonics (ALT- letter combo) of every function. I still remember that to get to reservations was ALT-I-R. This was was complicated by the fact that sometimes the ALT-letter combo varied between different tasks even though they were similar tasks. The best way to explain is an example: In a guest reservation, to access notes I would key in ALT-I-N, in a group reservation, I would have to key in ALT-I-T.

August 2016

Curtis from Double JJ Resort

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

Customizable PMS on MSDOS platform easy on server resources

Pros

The vendor Northwind is outstanding. Great support. Great sales team. They listen to customers and worked closely with our team to understand our software needs, IT resources, personnel, and our customers. Their attention to our needs helped their product stand out as the right fit for our resort. We purchased the highest level of support and they have gone above and beyond to deliver what we need. Maestro has countless customized and customizable options. It has numerous modules for the different operations of a resort like ours.

Cons

Northwind is based in Canada, so we changed our phone plan to package calls to Maestro tech support. Maestro has a basic GUI design. User interface has the outdated look, feel, and functionality of a text-based interface. Menu bar and menu lists are not intuitive and some lists are 20 items long making it hard to find menu items. Copy and paste only available in text entry boxes. Cumbersome, not intuitive. Although the data can be found, it can take 10-12 steps to locate it.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Best PMS for independent properties

The best thing about Maestro PMS is the support team associated with the product. From the rep. in the analytics department, to the one in customer support, every team member you interact with is there to help you in any way they can.

Pros

Availability to create the system as we see fit! The opportunities to customize our property to our liking is very beneficial! The analytics that come with the PMS are outstanding!

Cons

Connectivity to other programs. We have had a very difficult time finding a CRM that has two-way communication with Maestro.

July 2018

Caitlin from Island Lake Lodge

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Maestro is dynamic but can be complicated at times. Support is excellent though!

Pros

There are a lot of possibilities within the program to make it ideal for a variety of companies. The support team are excellent and I can tell Maestro wants to make things work for their clients.

Cons

Trying to figure out the best way to do some things can be difficult, and certain things that are seemingly simple are often a lot more complicated than they should be

July 2019

Brendan from Pinnacle International

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Maestro

Pretty Good

Pros

The customer support is great rep. who I usually spoke with was almost always able to solve my problems rather than escalating the problem.

Cons

The software is glitchy and as good as customer support is they can fix it but never showed us what to do in many of the occasions when it glitched.

April 2019

Liz from Post Ranch Inn

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Maestro Review

Pros

I like that it's customizable and also love the availability and responsiveness of the customer service department. Maestro Support is always available to help me with whatever I need, from trouble-shooting issues to creating custom reports.

Cons

I can't really think of much that I don't like

March 2019

Monica from Hotels

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2019

Not for Beginners

I would only recommend this program if you have an extensive program where the actual software people come to your property can assist you. This is a very length system. Good luck choosing!

Pros

Easy to merge between multiple properties for hotels.

Cons

This system was so confusing at first. I came from using Opera. I am used to operating many windows at once. This system is very stubborn you cannot even easily escape a rating query without making a reservation. I think there needs to be an easier way to look up rates without having to plug in a turn away code every time. I did not like how you could only have one screen up at a time. I do not recommend this system for larger properties, it was difficult for my staff to understand and multi-task with this system. It takes so much time to learn the tips and tricks for the system. I think they need to allow multiple windows. Also, I had many problems when my credit card information rules would change and over authorize cards when checking guests in.

February 2017

Priscilla from Cumberland Inn

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Northwind Great

We are an independent property and Northwind PMS has the ability to do everything we need plus more. Also, NORTHWIND staff is excellent!

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

A great experience using this platform.

Pros

After the initial handover and training some systems can be difficult to use, not this one, Nice and easy to use with some great information to hand. Makes life so much easier with the way things are processed.

Cons

Some more work could be done to the interface to bring it more up to date with the fast-paced industry.

September 2018

Sean from Holiday Inn Express

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

It's a good system

Pros

The UI is very intuitive and easy on the eyes. Not a lot of searching for the functions I need. It functions well enough, has similar features to other PMS programs I've used.

Cons

I don't really have any cons to add, it's a typical PMS. They all have pluses and minuses but they basically do the same thing.

September 2016

Samantha from Double JJ Ranch

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Great experience

Pros

The product is great and easy to use once you have had training on it. The vendor is amazing and the support has been excellent.

Cons

The only thing I like least about this product is that yes means no and the no means yes.

January 2016

Jodie from 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa & 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2016

I have used Maestro since May of 2012....primary usage is the Sales & Catering module. Love it!

I find Maestro to be very intuitive when learning the system...great ease of use. The interfaces have greatly simplified and enhanced our ability to communicate within the property management system. Most importantly, the customer service is beyond 5 star! Quick response from caring and concerned partners. I highly recommend Maestro!