All ReservationKey Reviews

1-25 of 100 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Robert

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Reservation Key is Invaluable to my Business

I started a small hotel 7 years ago with never having been in the business and no idea where to start with a reservation system. Another hotel recommended Reservation Key and I am glad I followed their advice. From the beginning, it was very easy to set up and learn. Also, they continue to refine and add features. I am also amazed how fast and thorough the support is. The system is very easy to use but it also has LOTS of functions that I can sometimes forget. No question is too small for an answer, and it is easy to search on their support site for most answers. I do not hesitate at all to recommend Reservation Key to others.

PROS

Flexibility, amazing support for questions, ease of use, email templates (with tracking capabilities), access on my computer and iPad.

CONS

There really is nothing I am unhappy with.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your very nice and supportive comments!

Replied October 2018

Pamela

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Great partner for our business

We are a small, family-owned, unique property with a loyal clientele. I spent several years searching for reservation software. Nothing was a good match for us. We found ReservationKey through a guest whose daughter was an innkeeper. We have a loyal customer since 2012.

PROS

As a former technology teacher, I appreciate representatives expertise with all the complexities when dealing with software and how to integrate with so many moving parts. He and his team are very customer friendly and responsive. representative is always open to new ideas and works hard to keep improving his software to meet customer’s needs and changes in the market. ReservationKey is very customizable. It is easy to make large or small tweaks to one’s reservation page or pricing without having to pay a programmer. While this may seem like a little thing, one of our needs was the ability to mark a reservation as ‘Do Not Move.’ Our loyal customers request their favorite units and trust that we will not disappoint. This need confused other software vendors, while ReservationKey had an easy-to-use solution. I see representative working out similar solutions for other businesses’ unique needs. ReservationKey has many add-ons. The list of reports is extensive and are extremely helpful when making business decisions. I find the User’s Forum useful, not only for the software but also for new business ideas. The software is easy to use and offers many built-in training tools for new staff. I cannot imagine how difficult it would be to try to run our business without ReservationKey.

CONS

Not many. I struggle with some of the overall financial reports and find it easier to build what I need in Excel. However, that may be more a function of how I work rather than a problem with ReservationKey.

Peter

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Easy to get started and use.

Reservation Key has been fairly faultless in helping me run my business. I wanted a simple platform to get me started in running a bed and breakfast and I have stuck with them for that reason, despite monthly calls from the competition.

PROS

We went straight on to Reservation Key when establishing our bed and breakfast some time ago. We wanted software that was fairly simple to get started and represented excellent value for money compared to the competition. Help was always available during this process and, since then, additional support has been readily available, often within 12 hours through e-mail and sometimes over the phone if necessary.

CONS

Could do with a few more options for credit card processing. We went to Yapstone a couple of years ago and the cost of processing has increased beyond what I consider to be reasonable, especially for a small three room bed and breakfast.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your long time support and use of the system. Besides Yapstone (currently 2.75%) we also integrate with a number of other processors - authorize.net, Square, GoEMerchant, and PayPal. Update: As of June, 2019 we now also support Stripe.

Replied June 2019

Marc

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Great reservations system, integrates well with your web site, excellent features, highly recommend!

We have enjoyed full integration with our own web pages such that you don't even realize that you are using RK's booking engine. It was fairly easy (if you know some HTML/CSS) to integrate and RK's support is fast and thorough, thanks to customer support staff. RK is fast and reliable for our needs and works well with our desktop computers, Android/Apple phones and tablets while on the road. The grid shows inventory status nicely with out clutter. Very configurable for colors, column sized and titles. This is the screen you work with almost almost all of the time, so it need to be what you want to see and allow you go make important elements obvious with color and fonts, etc. RK does it all! Highly recommended!

PROS

Many pages of reports and settings, very configurable to our needs. Short learning curve to get going. Links are provided on many pages which can be sent to people or staff to load a selected report or page. Plenty of CSS configurations are available as well as "custom text" for things that appear on RK's pages. Lots of photos of your rooms and description space. Can be configured for rooms and RV/Tent sites as we have here.

CONS

Not many, we have used this system for 6 or 7 years and once set up it is a daily part of our routines. I think there is still a small issue on bill totals, it doesn't agree with our cash register, off by pennies. Couldn't adjust for first nights deposit to consider multi-night discounts on that amount, so we still have to hand calculate the 1st night deposit for longer stays.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great review! Yes, we have worked hard to make things as configurable as possible, while keeping the interface clean and simple. We are glad to hear you are enjoying those features. We will take a look at the report issue you've noted and will see if we can correct that.

Replied October 2018

Reinhold

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

many years of great experience

In our experience the integration with MyAllocator was one of the biggest achievements that the company did and it happened just in time for us, when it became unfortunately necessary to join OTA to keep bookings strong. The customer service of this company is simply outstanding. Whenever you have question, they get resolved via the "forum" , which seems to be a great way to communicate. In our memory we never needed a problem solved over the phone.

PROS

We are using Reservation Key since 2012 and chose it because at this time it was one of the most affordable softwares around and easy ti use. The integration into our website and customizable look made it an outstanding choice. Of course the customer service was ready to help setting things up to our liking. Never once did we feel we made a wrong choice. The software definitely has all the features you might be looking and we must admit that we don't even take advantage of things that are there to run a successful business.

CONS

For us cons don't exist. Only this question seems to be a con since it is looking for more words.

Jessica

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Best system for the money, excellent support, great for newbies and experienced users!

Absolutely excellent! From functionality, to support, to progress, 5 stars.

PROS

Lots of help to get set up and once you are up and running, super community for assistance, as well as developer assistance. The system of communication with our guests has been a huge part of our success in gathering reviews and staying in touch with our guests. The calendars and reports make the day to day management super easy and I love the ability to set up multiple logins to track the work of my staff. All the tools I could ever need at a price that I can afford for my small business! (No, I was not paid to write this! Promise....I've been using the system for well over 5 years and have met with almost every other provider out there...every one is missing a key feature and are charging more!)

CONS

Since I am being forced to choose something I like least, I suppose I'll go with the themes, but that's not really a negative....ask for help and you shall receive!

Laura

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Excellent value for the cost

Overall I am very happy with the service provided by ReservationKey, and am particularly pleased with the excellent customer support and ability to directly communicate with the developers.

PROS

The software is highly customizable, so it can be made to fit your property exactly the way you want to run it. The visual layout of the calendar is excellent, and the direct booking platform is easy to manage.

CONS

Managing pricing is still a little tricky, though they've been making ongoing improvements ever since I started using the software in 2015. Basic pricing, discounts, and things like minimum stay requirements are easy enough, but once you start getting into the really fancy stuff (multiple rates per room varying by season, to be super specific), the software is still functional but currently lacks elegance.

Jim

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Easy to use & cost effective

Fast support and great forum allow anyone to get quick and easy solutions for any lodging establishment without having to hire tech staff. It's all included with ReservationKey

PROS

As the former IT Director for a billion dollar retailer I appreciate that with ReservationKey anyone can afford a well designed, easy to understand reservation system. It is so flexible it can meet the needs of any lodging establishment, small or large

CONS

There is nothing I don't like except that the interface with expedia isn't done yet.

Vendor Response

Expedia integration is high on our list. Also booking.com. These are the two channels we see our clients connecting to the most so we are putting a high priority on building these direct connections. Thank you for your support and for being a long time subscriber.

Replied October 2018

User Profile

Santiago

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

Great Value for Money and all the functions you need!

Very good!

PROS

Great value for your money. We also really like all the features that the tool offers, like reporting tools, calendar view, customer data base. The tool is very easy to use, and efficient.

CONS

The booking page is very old school, and not very pretty. It also does not give you a lot of room to edit if you are not an advanced coder. Having said that, it works very efficiently. Direct bookings come through without any issues, howerver I would like to provide to my guests a more user friendly, and modern reservation page. I am sure Reservation Key will improve this part of the tool.

User Profile

Scott

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

The best of all I have used

We have run 2 Inns with a total of 20 rooms for around 18 years. Reservation Key was my 4th software program that I had used and I started using it around six or seven years ago. Hands down, it is the best. I have recommended it to several other Inns in our area B&B society and they are all glad they made the switch.

PROS

Taking reservations on my cell phone while in a grocery store is nice. There is nothing else I need it to do. I set it years ago and it works great.

CONS

I am not having any problems with the software at all.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the nice review! We are glad to have been able to work with you over the years to help with refining and developing the software.

Replied October 2018

Jim

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Suggested by Innkeeping friends

Having used pencil and paper for our small motel for over twenty years Reservation Key allows us to offer guests the chance to book or view available rooms online and cuts out a ton of telephone calls.

PROS

We have used for several years, price is reasonable and it does what I need. Prior to using Reservation Key we used pencil and paper and took reservations by telephone (many years) wife isn't a computer person. Reservation Key allows our guests to book online and does a good job in my view. I check the RK forum often for new ideas and my education.

CONS

At the moment I can't think of any negatives, does what we need. I see others comments about minor differences in money totals, having worked with a database in a prior job, well every bit of software seems to round a bit differently.

Julie

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Great Customer Service

Great value for the money. Easy to understand demonstrations and tutorials for initial set up. I created a new and updated website for my business and the original Reservation Key application looked old and outdated; didn't flow well with the updated site. I reached out to Reservation Key for advice. Not only did the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], reach out to me via email in a timely manner, one of his assistants called me on the phone and we (she) reformed the reservation application to totally meld with the website.

PROS

Great customer service Ease of use Integrates well with website Multiple useful applications

CONS

No. I am happy with the service and product.

Reasons for switching to ReservationKey

Horrible customer service

anthony

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Excellent software as well as support

Anytime you have a problem they take care of it for you. You need something changed ask and it will most likely be done. Really quick response from support and 100% satisfied

PROS

I literally spent about a month researching different software programs for our reservation needs and reservation key hit the mark. We have over 50 properties that we rent and appreciate the ease of use and functionality of reservation key it makes our lives much easier and helps us get more business by freeing up our time to focus on renting.

CONS

I honestly can't think of any negative aspects of the software it really fits our needs quite well and we are completely satisfied we have been a customer since 2007 and we are not going anywhere

Karen

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

You will love using Reservation Key

I love the fact that if I can't figure something out, the team will respond to my request in a reasonable timeframe to help me resolve any issues I may have. Great customer service.

PROS

We have been using ResKey for several years now. Love everything about their system. When I need to change something on our system, the forum offers lots of answers and the team has created videos as tutorials to assist as well.

CONS

There isn't anything I don't like about the software.

Vendor Response

We really like making custom videos to answer questions and teach the system. We find it is one of the best ways to go. Thank you for mentioning you have found our videos helpful, and of course for all your nice comments here.

Replied October 2018

Jennifer

Hospitality, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

I can run my business Now while Reservation Key runs my bookings!!!

I have had a great experience from the very first phone call. The service provided has been top notch! I am so thankful that I found Reservation Key, I'm sad that it took me so long to find them!!

PROS

I love that Reservation Key was so easy to set up and put into working order on my website right away. The ease of use for my customers was my main priority. The next thing that I found so wonderful is that it is so easy on the back end. I am not your traditional cookie-cutter hotel/motel. I am very flexible and have 12 units with 5 different types (sizes) of cabins. I had looked for a system for about 5 years. I did many trials and spent a lot of time on set up with all of them being very cumbersome to set up and didn't fit my needs or my customer needs due to not being able to customize as much as I needed. The price is on point for this product for me. All others were way over priced and for a small business that is only open seasonally, I couldn't afford a "big" product. The customer service [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been absolutely amazing. There hasn't been one time that I haven't been able to get an answer and quickly.

CONS

There has been NO Cons to this service for me!

Reason for choosing ReservationKey

Service Customization Easy Set up Price

Cristian

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

#1 Reservation and vacation Rental system

I get good bookings, easy for my clients to reserve online, I just love it!

PROS

Fast, no errors, great service, fully responsive, i am very happy to have found this amazing system.

CONS

It is only in English. It would be great if the reservation page could have multi languages.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your very positive review. Note, we actually do have an option to make reservation pages in Spanish, or whatever language you like. It uses our custom text feature, where it is easy to enter your own translations of our English terms (or load one of our Spanish, French, or German templates and edit from there). Then it is easy to add a new page in every language you need.

Replied October 2018

Marlene

Hospitality, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY