What are Coderbyte users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Coderbyte software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.49

47 Reviews

5
26
4
20
3
0
2
0
1
1
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Straightforward setup, easy to send challenges to candidates. Support has been very responsive so far."
  • icon"With the help of this tool we could filter 80-90% of the candidates which saves our time. It's easy to use and customer care was great."
  • icon"Really easy to use, customizable, good metrics and feedback. Just wanted to use for 2 months and it was a vey pleasant experience."
  • icon"It faces errors when the invitees try to use Internet Explorer. We also can't download the assessments for recording reasons."
  • icon"Need to have bulk import functionality in the custom questions tests option. Sometimes found no information about the student's movements."
  • icon"One-week trial was too short to find weakness in the software."

Jump to:

Browse all Coderbyte Reviews

  • Have you used Coderbyte and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 47 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 47 reviews

Sibi

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Simple, Affordable & Straightforward

Excellent. Its definitely the best solution at its price range.

Pros

The customer support team is great and the product is user-friendly.

Cons

It's a bit new, there are some rough edges and there aren't great options for integration (only zapier).

Reasons for choosing Coderbyte

Price & Performance were both better. Also great template library.

User Profile

Linda

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Useful tool for candidate prescreening

We use the tool for candidate prescreening - a 20-30 minute technical exercise before a candidate is invited for an onsite interview. We've had some success with the tool but are having some difficulty tuning the questions such that the score is a decent indicator of a candidate's success.

Pros

Preconfigured questions and test cases that allows users to use an online IDE to submit a coding sample. Relatively low price point to other tools evaluated.

Cons

Difficult to tune the prescreening questions to meet our needs - we're still working through a balance of finding questions that aren't a time burden on candidates but produce a decent amount of code to review for quality (not just accuracy + time as is auto graded).

Reasons for choosing Coderbyte

Mainly features provided for the overall price

Marijn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Very easy to use, quality coding-test platform for developers!

Pros

Easy to use! Great, extensive question library with a huge breadth and depth. Coderbyte is also making big steps in improving the platform and I absolutely love the benchmarking. Now, you cannot only see if a question is easy, medium, or hard, but also how many points ALL previous candidates scored to get a proper idea of difficulty.

Cons

Pricing might be a bit steep if you have a small need or just a few developers to assess but on the other hand, making a bad hire is even more expensive ;)

Nezare

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Ineffective tool, primitive auth, support is the worst I’ve encountered

Pros

Stay away. Every other tool I used is better than this.

Cons

The support, condescending and unhelpful. The support form tells you to expect two weeks to receive a response.

Kiran

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Saves Time and Helps Identify Candidates for the Next Round

Pros

I found CoderByte easy to use and helped us save time in the recruitment process. We used Coderbyte to identify candidates that we wanted to interview. I compared a lot of dev assessments and Coderbyte offered the best value since it had simple pricing that includes everything you need and even has a per candidate pricing option for those who do not recruit that frequently like us.

Cons

I felt that there could be more tests offered. Also for some of the most senior candidates they found the tests to be really easy, but I guess it was good, we could see how quickly they were able to solve the challenges compared to the junior developers.

Shripal

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Meets most expectations

Creating technical assessments and evaluating candidates' scores is a lot less time consuming compared to taking technical interviews. This helps us filter out the candidates easily based upon their assessment score and the time within which they complete the assessment. After the candidates meet the threshold score, we take technical interviews. So a lot of our time was saved by Coderbyte!

Pros

Coderbyte is the perfect plaform for tech recruitment. It offers a wide variety of pre-built challenges and questions which focus on evaluating the logical skills of candidates. It also allows to create custom challenges or ask custom questions, be it objective or subjective. Plagiarism detection is the most useful feature as it helps us identify truly honest candidates. Support is quick, we faced a few data issue, but they were solved quickly after contacting the support team. Coderbyte also filters out candidates based upon their score and highlights them in the summary view which helps us focus on the important candidates. The video recording of candidates' screen gives us a crisp idea of how they are attempting to solve coding challenges, which is quite helpful in judging the candidates

Cons

Pricing, it seems a bit expensive for India. Would prefer to pay around Rs. 5000 per month, instead of the current Pro pricing ($199/month which approximates to Rs. 15,000) UI/UX could be improved, I feel it is a little complex for now. Their pre-built templates for challenges and questions could improve by focusing on more technologies like mobile development (Android, iOS, Flutter)

Reasons for choosing Coderbyte

One feature which superseded all other alternatives: Unlimited assessments and candidate invites. All other alternatives have limited assesments and invites.

Justine

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Is Coderbyte worth it? Here's what I think...

Overall, coderbyte is good product with minimal room for improvement

Pros

Coderbyte is has a wonderful UI to make and manage the tests The assessmentof students are not hard to the point that we can without a doubt confine and sort the students. Rating of the coding round questions and giving the complexity of the courses of action is really evident component. Recognizing the copiers is uncommonly basic as we are getting information about each and every advancement of the student.r 1 million customer plans that are available to people. The evaluation of understudies are not hard to the point that we can without a doubt disengage and sort the understudies.

Cons

-Need to have mass import function in the custom questions tests choice. -A definitive answer for coding round questions should be imparted to the recruiter. this will assist the recruitment team with intersection check the coding round arrangement of students. -Now and then discovered no data about the student's developments

Vinicius

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

The best for my needs!

Pros

Really easy to use, customizable, good metrics and feedback. Just wanted to use for 2 months and it was a vey pleasant experience.

Cons

It faces errors when the invitees try to use Internet Explorer. We also can't download the assessments for recording reasons.

User Profile

Nitin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Helped us recruit best from the bests :)

Pros

We were looking to hire best programmers and one of the biggest challenge was to check their Logical Skills. Coderbyte helped us to prepare different level tests for different positions we had and also it has very nice reports such as score %, Plagiarism, recording of their tests and many more factors which really helped us to take decisions. Amazing tool!

Cons

The UX of Admin panel could be improved. There were times where I had to find a candidate but couldnt find easily.

Edward

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Great for vetting candidates

Pros

The coderbyte suite made it very easy to perform an interview prescreen followed by a screenshare where we can have the candidates code. The team was very responsive when any issues were identified and fixed them very quickly (within a couple of hours for the issue I faced). Using coderbyte allowed me to simplify the interview process and identify high quality candidates quickly. This additionally helped me save a ton of time with identifying qualified candidates.

Cons

While responding to the issue quickly, any issue that impacts the candidate experience is frustrating. Knowing that they are very responsive is ideal; but preventing the issue in the first place is ideal. (Easier said than done of course)

Umaima

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Best software Easy to use Meets all expectations

The overall experience is very good. Coderbyte really helped us to hire students with minimum ease.

Pros

1. Coderbyte is having a very good UI to create and manage the tests 2. The assessment of students is so easy that we can easily segregate and sort the students. 3. Rating of the coding round questions and providing the complexity of the solutions is really appreciable feature. 4. Identifying the copiers is very easy as we are getting information about each and every movement of the student.

Cons

1. Need to have bulk import functionality in the custom questions tests option. 2. Sometimes found no information about the student's movements 3. The ultimate solutions for coding round questions need to be shared with the recruiter. this will help the recruiter to cross verify the coding round solution of students.

Abhimanyu

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Great Software for Screening Potential Candidates

Pros

Quick Creation of Assessments based on Skills or Roles. Configurable Email Templates for sending out invite email.

Cons

The Questions Library needs to be increased with more questions at Hard Level. Although there are good questions already, but it will be more advantageous to have more questions especially for FrontEnd Developer Role.

Reasons for choosing Coderbyte

We found it easier to setup and use.

Yair

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Solid new contender

We just started using Coderbyte to help automate and standardize our engineering pipeline. Setup was easy, and we were able to preview our assessments and send them out to candidates in < 1 hour. Looking forward to seeing the impact on our recruiting processes – optimistic so far.

Pros

- Straightforward setup, easy to send challenges to candidates - Support has been very responsive so far - Software seems to be frequently updated - Enterprise offering allows for custom domain and branding - Inexpensive - Library of challenges is a nice plus

Cons

- Some questionable UX choices + unexplained features (how does scoring work?) - Need to email support to set up ATS integrations

Reasons for choosing Coderbyte

Price, feature set, support

Response from Coderbyte Enterprise

We're thrilled that you're seeing so much value in Coderbyte, and are excited to continue improving the platform and enterprise feature set.

Replied August 2019

Duangrudee

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Wide range of predefined tests , unlimited invitations and good value for money

We used to spend a lot time interviewing unqualified candidates. Codebyte saves us a lot time by screening only candidates with the skill set that we are looking for.

Pros

Pricing per month and the amount of invitation I can send per month is unlimited. The platform has sufficient list of predefined questions.

Cons

Most of the questions are algorithm oriented. If there are more questions on DevOps , and data science. It will be great.

Response from Coderbyte Enterprise

Thank you for giving Coderbyte a spin. We're adding more assessments for more roles every week you can find the latest platform updates here: https://headwayapp.co/coderbyte-changelog

Replied October 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Some quick feedback

Pros

The price is definitely competitive. Playback of candidates doing the challenge is good for inspecting 'cheaters'. The candidate summary is very useful.

Cons

The fact that I cannot easily add custom tests is a big con. No pair programming with webcam.

Response from Coderbyte Enterprise

Hello, Thanks for being a valued Coderbyte customer! We appreciate your feedback and are excited to soon be releasing some major updates to our pair programming product. Also, we understand that adding custom tests could be faster. Right now, we apply an expert review to all custom tests to ensure that the candidate experience remains excellent. On other platforms like HackerRank, the lengthy and tedious challenge descriptions create a terrible experience for candidates. We want to make sure that never happens on Coderbyte so that our customers can continue to hire top talent, rather than drive them away! Thanks, Coderbyte

Replied October 2019

Siddharth

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Decent product for the price range

Pros

The flexibility with respect to the programming languages

Cons

The problems available out of the box are comparatively less varied.

Jason

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Great recruiting tool

Pros

I found the overall setup and use of the software fairly simple. We were able to select and setup online assessment fairly quickly and distribute it to candidates to assess their skills within the day of the setup.

Cons

There was no simple way to search for tests based on their tags . Some of the tasks contained 'tags' and if I could search by tags, it would've been very easy for me to select the types of tests I wanted to ask in the assessment. However, because this wasn't available, I had to open up each quiz then had to review the test itself one at a time, very manual.

Eric

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

CoderByte Review

Pros

Good price for the product, and ease of use

Cons

The test were not really customizable to real life experiences, that most of my developers deal with

Reasons for choosing Coderbyte

Price

Reasons for switching to Coderbyte

Price

Colson

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Great for First Time Software Dev Hire

Coderbyte was super helpful for us as we hired our first software developer. Coderbyte had the most features and was the most reasonably priced for a small business. As one of the owners of our company, I am not a developer, and Coderbyte allowed me to make sure we made a great hire.

Pros

Easy to set up, reasonable pricing, ability to hide test questions

Cons

No option to weight the scoring on individual sections of the test

User Profile

Smitha

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Coderbyte for Employee Assessment

Our overall experience has been excellent. Coderbyte has been easy to setup tests for our assessments. We are able to run multiple tests in large numbers and evaluate students for our campus recruitment. This has reduced our TAT in scoring and evaluation, help better our hiring process and made it very objective. The candidates also find it easy and engaging to use.

Pros

The time based scoring for the result. Coderbyte not only evaluates on completion of assessment but also on the time taken to complete the assessment. It also checks for plagiarism and this is a very good feature when we are conducting assessments for recruitment.

Cons

Inability to withdraw/cancel invites. Sometimes wrong invites get sent out or candidates are not interested, in such cases there is no option to withdraw or cancel the invite. Also if a candidate has already received an invite but for any reason not got the email, there is no option to resend an invite.

Reasons for choosing Coderbyte

The customer service, ease of use and pricing.

Amol

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Quick onboarding, good platform.

Pros

1. Easy setup to a quick start and with minimum investment. 2. Really good library with having support for multiple languages.

Cons

1. It does not evaluate problem solution against time complexity. If somebody submits a really bad solution still score will be the same. 2. Test URL is not unique, One can submit multiple solutions by using different emails.

Regev

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Awsome Product

Pros

Great set of challenges and easy to use UI. Great pricing tiers.

Cons

The open questions library is a bit thin

Thomas

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Great tool!

We were looking for a full stack dev and the tool prevented us to make some hiring mistakes and select the right profile. Great value for money especially for young startups!

Pros

The ability to prepare a test based on the skills of the candidates and to assess them in a live situation. This is 10x more telling than a reference call or a review of past codes / projects. I also liked the video tool and the report which allowed to assess the candidates

Cons

Some skill tests are missing like MongoDB, Express and AWS. I wished there were more of those

Alessandro

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Good Experience for candidates evaluation

The main benefit was to screen a lot of candidates very efficiently before setting up phone interviews.

Pros

The features that I liked most about this software are the anti-cheating feature and the possibility to watch the recorded videos of the candidates when trying to solve the code challenges. The latter was very important to me since it helped me understanding the way the candidates approached the problem.

Cons

Most of the time the email sent to the candidates with the link for the code assessment were either going into the candidates' spam folder or not working.

Dorian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Great for small teams!

Pros

I'm part of a small talent team that works with education & education technology startups. Coderbyte is a great way to assess large numbers of candidates for technical roles - the set-up is easy, as is the review of candidate scores. This is a great way for me to fast-track strong candidates over to our data team.

Cons

None that stand out to me at this time - perhaps some option for customization in future, but we specifically chose Coderbyte for its library of available challenges (vs. something like HackerRank).

Showing 1 - 25 of 47 reviews
Coderbyte

Coderbyte

4.49/5 out of 47 reviews
PriceDemo