What are eXo Platform users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using eXo Platform software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.56

108 Reviews

5
63
4
43
3
1
2
1
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The software allows me to replace many solutions with a single integrated nice platform. I like the openness of the vendor is one of the biggest positive point for the choice I've made."
  • icon"Good tool to focus everything in one place. It has a good interface making it easy for users to use."
  • icon"It comprises of perfect features and functionality is fantastic."
  • icon"A little difficult to understand the link between some elements of the pages and some features are not fully functioning."
  • icon"It's costly and heavy to load, I tried the open source version on my local server and due to the tools used in development it loaded slowly. Also doing any customization is a pain."
  • icon"Too many update notifications can be annoying."

Jump to:

Browse all eXo Platform Reviews

  • Have you used eXo Platform and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 108 reviews

User Profile

Khothatso

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

The best solution for Employee Engagement.

Pros

eXo Platform offers everything you need when it comes to optimum team collaboration and communication. I like because it has everything you need in one solution, from document sharing to video and instant messaging, there is absolutely no better way to ensure workplace productivity than by using this platform. I can organize my work and share and exchange them with my team and we work well together using it, it really is amazing when you looking for a solution that offers employee engagement.

Cons

The interface is not exactly beginner friendly so It will help to be patient when first using it. Too many update notifications can be annoying.

Òscar

Verified reviewer

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp

December 2014

Your open source enterprise social network

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons:

Pros

eXo is an Enterprise Social Network that will improve productivity across the board in all members of the company. It's very feature rich so if you want your organization's knowledge, private, secure and organized then you have to try it!

Cons

We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification).

aliah

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2016

not an open source platform as advertise in the search engine.

Your product is very good but no download option for open source platform as result in the google search engine.

Junior

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp

December 2014

Everything you need for building a social network niche in on place

I have been worked on a personal project where I intend to create a niche of social network. I looked for frameworks available on the market that could provide a complete infrastructure to run out my business and I found it at eXo. EXO plataform provides all basic features for developing a niche of social network, such as authentication, active streams and others features you can imagine for a social network. Particulary, one of the reasons I have decided by using of eXo is because it is written in Java, basically ( JSP - you can extend to JSF, Juzu ...) and works over portlets, i.e., you can built modules and apply them over your portal. If you are looking for a framework for build a social network I strongly recomends you at least do a trial with eXo before going deep into your project.

Pros

- Documentation; - Active community, I've got answers for all questions I've done at eXo forum; - Customizable portal; - You don't need touch any line of code to launch a social network;

Cons

- Server is too slow during start up, I believe that is due to the amount the packages that it have to load; - No so flexible for extracting data from database. EXO uses JCR (Java Common Repository), i.e., you will need to use an API to extract data

Response from eXo Platform

Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated. Let us know on eXo Community when you project is live and make sure to connect with us if you have further questions but it looks like you are already an active forum user :)

Replied December 2014

User Profile

Ashleigh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Marvelous software for all sorts of Collaboration.

Pros

Exo Platform is an outstanding software that provides an excellent platform for collaborating for our projects. It consists of powerful and effective tool that helps a lot in our business. It comprises of perfect features and functionality is fantastic. This software gives best solutions for communication problems and provides good opportunity for easier and effective cooperation among the co-workers.

Cons

In the beginning, when we start working on Exo Platform, it service is quite slow. Another issue is that when one wants to extract data from data base, it is not that much flexible. In order to start video conference, it takes long time to understand the issues.

Divyang

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp

January 2015

eXo Platform - Suites for Social Collaboration,Crowd and intranet based application

eXo platform provides features that match requirement of social collaboration,intranet and cloud base application.I am working on eXo platform (1+ year) it is easy for portal customization functionality. It is easy for admin to define users with roles,permission and group management.

Pros

eXo platform provides features like calender for defining tasks,events and meetings with reminder functionality, chat application with video confrencing, Blog engine for writing blogs and sharing information, WebDAV support for sharing of documents.

Cons

In Older version of eXo platform some time it distorts UI and UX but after releasing new eXo platform 4.1 version they are fixed and lots of new functionality added.

Response from eXo Platform

Glad we could fix your issues with the new version. Thanks!

Replied January 2015

User Profile

Alex

Verified reviewer

Industry: Military

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Great way to interconnect. Very well put together.

I am able to save time at work

Pros

Love the UI. Big number of add-ons and features. Very reliable. It was very easy to use once I got the hang of it. A little intimidating at first but doesn't take long to get used to.

Russ

Verified reviewer

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp

January 2015

Awesome!

I am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to install

Cons

Plugins/add-ons are limited and can be confusing.

abhishek

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

5

Value for money

out of 5

June 2015

Marco Marcello

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: GetApp

September 2015

Evaluating alternatives

eXo Platform is really a userfriendly software, you only need a few hours to be familiarized with the different tools. I warmly recommend it for your organization!

Pros

Very Intuitive Good Look and feel Very complete integrated communications platform

Cons

I´d want to see more interactions, integrations, with things like CRM, HRMS, ...

Paolo

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

My pros and cons for e

I've been working with eXo platform for over a year and a half. I've been discovering its features, its qualities and the points to be improved in order to create a custom portal with customizations. Mostly, I consider it as a very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. I enjoyed eXo very much, as I enjoyed its special and very kind team, with whom I still talk on Skype or other instant messages services. Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

Pros

A lot of features, easy to customize and improve. very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. very kind team Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

Cons

maybe all the deploying part could be improved, looking for example to other new tools that spend only few seconds in order to deploy or redeploy (modules) the whole app. multitenanting, at least for my experience

Tal

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Fantastic product and innovative collaborative tool

eXo Platform is a relatively new app, that can be helpful for corporation and communication on all different levels. I think, it is best suited for medium to large sized companies, as it has so many functions, most of which is not beneficial for small teams.

Pros

Without a doubt, eXo Platform provides everything you may need to put into action your innovative digital work base or customer experience solution. This app design in a way that it helps you to get real work done, without the platform being the part of the work. Because it is cloud-based, you can easily share any kind of data with your co-workers, which makes collaboration so much easier. If you are looking for a multifunctional social collaboration platform for the enterprise, I suggest you try eXo Platform, as it has an entirely new and sophisticated approach towards collaboration and communication between coworkers.

Cons

This platform is constantly developing, so every week you are faced with different types of updates, which can be annoying. Plus, the app is packed with different functions, some of with you may never use. As a result the interface looks cluttered and not particularly user-friendly. Also, the integration with other applications can be complicated and requires a lot of user experience as well, as blunt luck.

Òscar

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

November 2014

Your open source enterprise social network

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons: We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification). Anyway, It's open sourced so you can extend it easly!

Response from eXo

Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team

Replied December 2014

Òscar

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

November 2014

Your open source enterprise social network

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons: We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification). Anyway, It's open sourced so you can extend it easly!

Response from eXo

Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team

Replied December 2014

hani

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

social enterprise system

I've been working with eXo platform for 6 months. we use this platform as a social collaboration place for an Industrial Association. we use community edition for free with a lot of ready-to-use  features (like profile, forum,work spaces, wiki, document mng.)   documentation is useful feature for us. its a Knowledge Management system (KMS) that provide content mng., advance search, tagging and full-txt search. it enables content sharing through our community. spaces provide a virtual place for team work. this application allows you Collaborate on a topic or project with other users. you could have private Document Management , wiki or forum in each space. eXo has a great administration pane that let you manage users and define group and permission. creating customized pages and site is easy for admin.  as an JAVA opensource platform you could customize every thing. we did a lot of changes in profile and run some of our services on it. translating eXo was a great and new experience for me. Crowdin Platform is used for managing eXo translations, so you could submit and develop new translation by help of others. Finally the support team is great!  

Pros

it's a java based opensource with great ready to use feature that could be use as a social enterprise system

Cons

it takes a lot of time for our developers to customize some of it features. but finally we did it...

Reasons for choosing eXo Platform

java based more ready to use feature

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

A digital collaboration software that builds a social niche

Pros

This platform’s got everything our team needs to build a collaboration and social network niche which can be implemented throughout the enterprise including active streams, authentication, and other features. And this is done without doing a single line of code. The interface portal is very convenient for promoting these functions to all teams and employees an is highly customizable.

Cons

It would great if they started rolling out more tutorials and training programs that could have helped us to understand how easy it was to perform certain functions. The program is easy to use, but customers do appreciate a little hand-holding especially at the start.

Oscar

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2016

Your open source enterprise social network

Pros

Open Source software and a good knowledge management system are mandatory nowadays. eXo is a social collaboration platform packed with a lot of features for organizations wanting to add a social dimension to their existing information system or build a social intranet.

Cons

eXo Platform creates real business value as it enables faster communication and better decision making across our whole organisation but it's difficult to engage employees without help.

Heitor

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Very intuitive social collaboration platform, our team familiarized with the different tools really

Pros

Good tool to focus everything in one place. It has a good interface making it easy for users to use.

Cons

The open tool is limited. There is enough commercial exploitation. For easy implementation only by acquiring a plan.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2017

eXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect.

Pros

eXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect with your colleagues, you can organize and customize your own dashboard, choose existing gadget and add external one: essential when you need an overwall view of your work and colleagues activity!

Bhoomin

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

October 2014

eXo Platform

I have been exploring features of eXo Platform while trying to develop an Agriculture Based Business Portal. eXo is a great Open Source Collaborative-Social-Enterprise-Content & Knowledge-Management-Platform that offers complete Portal Life-Cycle Management facilities like: 1. Intranet & Extranet 2. BPM & Workflow Management 3. Folksonomy/Taxonomy Support 4. Cloud Ready 5. Mobile 6. IDE, Template Editing & Output 7. Easy Content Migration 8. REST services 9. Multi-Language Support In my experience, eXo does simplify the development, customization and maintenance of Business Portals. Bhoomin Pandya

Response from eXo

Hi Bhoomin, Thank you for your review and good luck with your agriculture portal project. Let us know when it's live and we will happily get the word out ;) Cheers, The eXo Team

Replied December 2014

Jean

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2016

Replacing many with a single solution

Pros

The software allows me to replace many solutions with a single integrated nice platform. I like the openness of the vendor is one of the biggest positive point for the choice I've made.

Cons

So far the product has been perfect for my needs, and we're able to replace not only the social network platform, but file archival and search mechanisms.

Habib

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Good experience

Pros

Fairly quick roll out, takes only a few days to work out the interface and be able to do what one would want to do. Reliable and fairly quick support on tribe.

Cons

it is just a tool, you make of it what you want. could backfire if the team using it is not serious. I've seen similar software turn into memes-gifs platform at work for employees.

Lan

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

February 2015

An interesting and useful platform

In my point of view, eXo is a great solution for both social and portal service demand based on its various features. I must say that it just likes a combination of everything from intranet, social network to blog, wiki,... everything in one. Therefore, with eXo, maybe I dont have to think of any other website since it has covered all what I want and all what I need. However, yes, everything has two sides, perhaps due to such a rich diversity, its processing speed gets troubles and makes people feel uncomfortable when using. I thought that, eXo now should focus more on refactoring its platform so that it can serve customers better. Having many functions is not yet good, but a quick response at least never causes people get mad.

Ravi

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

A great application to build a social network in your workplace.

Pros

Using this software, the user could easily track all the motion in the company. The Android and iPhone versions are very reliable. There are many features in this application including microblogging. There is also a provision to invite others into this space by providing only limited access. Even the support team is very interactive. They try to answer all the queries of the users.

Cons

The server takes too long to respond. Since there are a lot of features included in this application, it may be difficult for the beginners to deal. There is no tutorial to guide the users through the application. Due to this, many features remain undiscovered by the users.

Thomas

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Very intuitive Platform

Pros

eXo Platform solve the information silly issue and make information easily accessible so an organisation can better control communications and information deliveries.

Cons

- open source is not very pushed forward and - more flexible pricing options through editions - Project management features are not very advanced

Showing 1 - 25 of 108 reviews
eXo Platform

eXo Platform

4.56/5 out of 108 reviews