What are OrangeHRM users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using OrangeHRM software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.14

179 Reviews

5
66
4
78
3
30
2
4
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Very user friendly and we can have all the basic details of us and even with trial version they are providing Check in out to capture attendance also can apply leave to get approval."
  • icon"Excellent management information, it's easy to use. Software functionality is great as wells as its cost, it bring you good tools to improve the development and selection of personnel in your company."
  • icon"Customer services is very good quality. Every one easy to learn and understood this software, it is one of the good management software."
  • icon"The leave request menu in the client side interface is quite ambiguous and can take a while to get used to. Also, the leave request days are ambiguous as they are clocked in decimaled minutes."
  • icon"With the paid version we are only able to export timecards by person rather than in a batch for everyone. Employees are frustrated trying to track their hours throughout the week."
  • icon"Leave entitlements are wrong, adding employees is hard, does not automatically update itself. Only few admins can use."

Jump to:

Browse all OrangeHRM Reviews

  • Have you used OrangeHRM and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 179 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 179 reviews

User Profile

Vinoojan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Good for small scale project managment companies

This one solved our basic need for Applying leave and Time sheets.With the limitations we are using this for long.

Pros

Very user friendly and we can have all the basic details of us and even with trial version they are providing Check in out to capture attendance also can apply leave to get approval.Can view all the employee details and can update our qualifications,etc. Time sheets functionalities are there. you can track project and task with employee or subordinates.

Cons

There is no functionalities to track employees movement like promotions, increment,etc.Also Time sheets are there but can't assign to a particular person. Can only add to the project

Response from OrangeHRM

Hi Vinoojan, thank-you for your review. The missing features you describe are available in all our product versions. Would you be willing to speak with a sales representative from our team, who could bring you through a quick demo and ensure you get the most value from the system?

Replied August 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Orange HRM make your work easy and handy

I was using this while working at my first employment. It was used for most of the HR related activities such as time tracking, leave application ad tracking, performance evaluation of employees etc. It was an easy to learn tool and helpful for all the employee to keep a track of their performance, leave like important matters. I would recommend it for any one who wishes to have all in one HRM.

Pros

I liked mostly the fact that it has lots of features compared to other HRM tools I have seen. As an employee it is really easy t focus on HR things with that one tool. As an employee we can track our performance at the same place is something really matters. So this tool can be recommended for any organization who wish to have proper HRM system.

Cons

I would say it is better to focus more on UI/ UX things in this software. It seems to have some alignment issues as well as kind of packed look for people

Elroy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

HR master

Pros

Its easy to use and very user friendly. I love the fact that it has a good audit trail which can be used to hold persons accountable. The training module is perfect in an continuous professional development driven environment. Its easy to schedule training for each employee and updating the question bank is very easy.

Cons

I wish more of the modules were cheaper or free depending on the number of employees.

Melea

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Overpromised in every way

We feel like we've wasted a year of resources trying to make it work. Complaints fall on uncaring and slow to respond ears. There are some great features in OrangeHRM, but not much attention is given to the essentials. We are walking away before our 1 year contract is up.

Pros

OrangeHRM offers an on premise option if you prefer to keep your data in house. The mobile interface is nice and easy to use.

Cons

We were promised features that do not exist. It is difficult to use the system for timecard tracking. With the paid version we are only able to export timecards by person rather than in a batch for everyone. Employees are frustrated trying to track their hours throughout the week. There is no easy way to see how many hours you've clocked and holiday and PTO hours do not show in totals. Employees that work overnight have incorrect totals. Support is very slow to respond. We feel mislead about how easy it would be to integrate with our payroll provider. We are a​ small company with about 70 employees and no desire to export 70 files each payroll.

User Profile

nuwan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Manage & track the human activities to improve the efficiency & involvement of the company HRM.

I'm able to track my day to day activities by using the system.

Pros

1. Can track the checking in time & checkout time of the employers. 2. Employers can apply the leaves & management can approve the leaves immediately. 3. Can maintain employers detail profile. 4. Can integrate with the fingerprint machines. 5. The system receives the emails both employees & management.

Cons

1. There have some small bugs like When you add check in & check out manually through the system sometimes it not save at once. The user has to re-enter the information again.

User Profile

Bernard

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Among the best Human resource management software

This software is very comprehensive and includes all employee records including leaves, performance and even time sheets. Highly recommended to any HR managers

Pros

The interface is very user friendly and minimal amount of training is required to get a hang on how to use the software.

Cons

The release is not very stable and sometimes crashing may occur. The customer support team may also delay when responding to issues.

User Profile

Sarath

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Helpful Open Source Orange HRM software

Pros

Customer services is very good quality.Every one easy to learn and understood this software, it is one of the good management software

Cons

Overall a good OrangeHRM software, none

User Profile

Juliet

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

one of the best softwares for human resource management

One of the best Human Resource management software. I highly recommend it to human resource managers.

Pros

The system covers almost all the aspects of human resource management, including leave management, employee performance and asset recording.

Cons

The Orange HRM is not easy to setup and it is also not very stable. There is a risk of the system crushing and user losing all the stored data. This has happened to me twice.

User Profile

Gordon

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

A Fairly good software.

Easy Employee management and a fairly simple user interface for the software users.

Pros

It enables automated leave entitlement and management and this makes the job of both the Human resource manager and the employees very easy.

Cons

The software is fairly difficult to setup correctly and their customer support take a long time to reply.

Llanoi

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

HR Softwares

Pros

This software is easy to use in managing and updating employee information (bio, academic qualifications, promotions etc).

Cons

Though this may be minute, it’s user interface is rather basic, whereas modifications could be made to the software for it to appear more “modern”

Maria

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

February 2015

A Cloud Based HRM Application We Could Not Do Without

We researched several HRM applications at the time we decided to transition away from our prior system. We weighed all options and made the decision to go with OrangeHRM. Pros: o Excellent customer support o Very easy and functional report generator application for ad-hoc reporting o Easy to use timesheet tracking built as module within the system o Leave tracking seemed to happen effortlessly o Extremely user friendly, pleasant interface both for staff and the company o Easy custom fields in addition to more complex customization options o Recruitment module o Performance Module for annual and 6 month new hire reviews o Very knowledgeable and helpful sales contact o Easy and intuitive navigation within the system o Fantastic training o Will soon have mobile application of their cloud-based software o Company is very open to client feedback o The portal is customized with your logo and colors so it has your branding Cons o It's hard to think of a con realistically, as if there is anything that we need to be done with the system, we know it can be addressed. The defaults may not be what we'd always like, but it's fine as we can modify it to meet out needs. So what may start out as a 'con' in this area turns into a 'pro' as in the end you have the system you'd like to have. o There is no integration with outside applications (i.e., payroll). This is not a con for us as we have no need for this - but for some companies seeking this, it is not part of this application's functionality. OrangeHRM doesn't try to be all things to all people like some HRM systems - which then end up being costly and much more complicated - but they have developed a solid HRM system with a very easy user interface for those companies looking for this. I would highly recommend at least exploring this solution when researching HRM options. This has been a fantastic decision for our company.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Great for Medium size companies

its a good tool for a small company, I don't see this tool being used by a multinational company, but its a good fit for small to mid size operations

Pros

OrangeHRM is a very intuitive software, basic management of your workforce, it has a simple way to show the information about your employees, personal and job data, loading the data is simple and the transactional part is not complicated at all, you can perform multiple transactions for your workforce, transfer departments, promotions, shift changes, review the hierarchy and id your employees in a simplistic way

Cons

integration with other applications require additional developments, and the technical support is a bit expensive. multi language support may be challenging.

Laura

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Great tool to manage employee information, days off, and performance reviews

My experience with OrangeHRM is a good one in general, I am happy with the functionalities and the information that I have access to in the platform. Apart from making the calculation of the vacation days easier, I don't have anything to complain about.

Pros

I think the user-experience is above average and it's easy enough to navigate the platform. You have all the necessary information stored in there and you can always check your balance, your performance, even your colleague's birthdays and anniversaries, which is nice. I like the way OrangeHRM is structured and divided into clear categories because it makes navigation easy and time-effective.

Cons

I think the calculation of the vacation days could be made easier. It would be great to see the balance left until the end of the year, instead of having to manually input that timeframe. But I can't tell for sure if this is something set by OrangeHRM or an option that each company can take once setting it up.

Reasons for switching to OrangeHRM

It was a company decision.

Manju

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Great platform for project and employee management.

Helpful to track our performance and tasks. Also, it is very easy to use and manage.

Pros

Very easy to use and navigate. In Orange HRM , we can always evaluate our performance and working hours. It also notifies friends birthdays. It is effectively structured and categorized. Which makes the navigation and usage more easily. It also provides a mobile interface, which is great in use

Cons

Sometimes when we manually enter the details and check in/ check out, the details are not saving for the first time and have to r enter the data again.

Gabriela

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Is a complete software to collect information about human resources.

You have the information of the work team at the level of human resources updated and on hand for any use that is required.

Pros

It allows to place the detailed information of each member of the work team, it also allows to document the evaluation of performance and maintain a history of it since entering the company. It allows to document the movements of the jobs that a worker has had and their respective movement dates. It allows to design and visualize the organizational structure incorporating the photos of the members of the team. It allows to document the history of all the training that each person has done.

Cons

There is information loaded in the software that is not visible to all users Sometimes you have to go to an administrator to get information from the staff For some users the software is not tractive because the full menu is displayed and tends to confuse the tabs to be used

Royce

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5

June 2015

Simple and Complete HR Solution.

When in need for a specialized software in the work place and on a tight budget for SMB practices FLOSS software usually is my first avenue of exploration. Working as an IT consulting company for multiple vet clinics we were in need of a simple hr/time recording system that could be deployed within minutes and easy to maintain; something we found in OrangeHRM. We primarily use OrangHRM 3.1.1 for time sheets, attendance records and employee information. The ease of use for logging hours and pulling reports is dead simple and is easy to work with. Pros: - Easy install with multiple options and documentation available - Open source with options of paid support and hosting options - Consistent performance - Ease of use Cons: - Data backup is not built into the product (documentation for manual database backup/restoration available on forums) - Software updates are not performed from web console/gui - Feature sets limited to which product version utilized (most FLOSS products do this) - Reporting functions leave room to be desired Overall OrangeHRM is a fantastic product that can be easily deployed and setup within hours. With it's simple interface and user experience your office setups can greatly benefit from utilizing OrangeHRM. Keep in mind that if you are not paying for the hosted version/support you will need to take steps to ensure data backup policies and staying up to date with the software. Though this process is not difficult it is cumbersome and should be considered when weighing the costs and benefits in your decision making process.

Angel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

A good Open Source option for HRM

After a test phase (kind of a Proof of Concept), we decided to use OrangeHRM Open Source + LDAP plug-in. Employees were upset with old leaving request procedures based on documents, forms and email. Now the system has been running a whole year, and everybody loves its simplicity.

Pros

Functionalities included in OrangeHRM Open Source are very useful. Simple and clear database schema. Online demo environment. A good channel in YouTube.

Cons

Lack of a clear release policy (i.e. quarter or year updates). The last two versions of Open Source edition are 3.3.3 and 3.3.2 published in 2016-09-28 and 2015-08-04 respectively while commercial versions are in 5.2 branch. Forums do not work (http://forum.orangehrm.com) and wiki is not updated (http://wiki.orangehrm.com). The Spanish translation is not usable in Spain. We have maid our own translation but we have no official place to share it.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Makes management of employees records very easy

Easy management of employees and eliminated manual ways of leave applications.

Pros

The software is easily customizable, and with only one click it is possible to check on an employees details, approve leave requests, etc.

Cons

The leave request menu in the client side interface is quite ambiguous and can take a while to get used to. Also, the leave request days are ambiguous as they are clocked in decimaled minutes.

Kathy

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Very good software for small and medium-size businesses

It is very cost effective and hassle-free software. Easy to manage for both admin and user. In one word great app.

Pros

The attendance management is most attractive part of this software. Just log in to the software and it will record your attendance automatically. Integrate your CRM here too.

Cons

Well, I'm still working on that. I'll update here once I come across with anything. As of now didn't find out any.

Kamran

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Far above average

Overall I'm satisfied with the product and already using for 2 startup level companies.

Pros

Feature rich, good design, easy to use and configure, comes with some pre-configured data and the best part, its absolutely free.

Cons

Some features like leaves etc require special configurations on server. Secondly, in ontrast to other open source HR systems, like icehrm, it doesn't give travel related features for free.

User Profile

Jackson

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Great Tool to track Time

Time Tracking was made a cake walk

Pros

I have 25 people reporting into me and OrangeHRM makes it easy for me to track their time and leaves. Adding team members to different projects is really easy

Cons

The support could be a little better. But over all I'm satisfied. We have an in-house support team who helps us when it comes to support.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

better platform to monitor organizational human resource management in future business world.

time and cost saving human resource information management software. and it helps to do work simply and faster.

Pros

high quality customer service , covered all of human resource management functions in organization like payroll , time and attendance, performance management, training and development and recruitment ,

Cons

some times have to get technical support for update system entries. poor self learning ability. inconvenience of generate some reports.

Nemo

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2016

Best HR Software I've ever used, and I've used them all.

The value for what you get is amazing. It's extremely user-friendly (especially their new "eagle" version 6.1.) the functions is similar to your top-tier HRMS but the price was a fraction. I highly recommend it

Pros

Top-Tier HR software functionality with the fraction of the price of top tier hr software.

Cons

None.

Anand

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

HRM that works

Pros

Have used many HRM software in past, but I found Orange HRM simple and well organised. It also has capability to get it customized as per our need which makes it very flexible.

Cons

Well, to be honest OrangeHRM has been their for a long period of time and they keep on improving their drawbacks, and I guess community edition has played a crucial part here. The SaaS model should be improved little further otherwise everything is perfect.

David

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Very user friendly interface. Totally recommended.

Pros

My family and I run a small business and OrangeHRM has been extremely helpful when organizing our employee information and records.

Cons

It would be very helpful if it would offer different options to make teams to work with our employees.

Showing 1 - 25 of 179 reviews
OrangeHRM

OrangeHRM

4.14/5 out of 179 reviews
PriceWatch Demo