User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

3.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(5)

5

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "This software was easy to learn, use and teach. Ease of use and service."

  • "This system keeps data and is relatively easy to report from. It is nice to upload a picture of employees. It provides easy look up for employee data."

  • "on a users perspective it is very intuitive and very user friendly."

  • Cons

  • "Sometimes the reporting isn't exactly what you want/need and you have to do some digging in order to get the right results. "

  • "I have not had any problems with the product or vendor."

  • "Customer Service. Complicated to understand and learn at first."

Browse Sage HRMS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -26 of 24 results

February 2019

Melissa from CSE, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

HRMS works for us!

This product is great mainly because customer service is such a great help. People at Sage know their product well and their people have been able to answer every question I have to help find solutions.

Pros

The software has wizards that help with entering new hires, training, pay raises, job changes, etc. These are helpful because you don't miss a step!

Cons

The software requires a manual export to our payroll system. So, after a new hire is entered, or any changes are made for that matter, I have to manually export the data to payroll. I don't have to enter things twice, but I do have to wait for the information to export over so that the most up to date information is in the payroll system.

May 2020

Barbara from Sheoga Hardwood Flooring

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Paper & Forest Products

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

Sage HRMS - Takes effort but worth it.

The learning curve was quite steep but since we have been using the software for a while now, we are much more comfortable with it.

Pros

The system has many features within the program itself to store information, provide status and look-ups. Set up is extremely important to have done correctly in order for the software to function fully and correctly.

Cons

Reporting features are limited requiring an upgrade to incorporate Crystal Reports to obtain needed information for tax payments and reporting purposes.

Reasons for Choosing Sage HRMS

Information could be pulled from Sage Abra system and parallel processing could be run to ensure set up was done correctly.

May 2020

Meredith from D L Evans Bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

SAGE HRMS PAYROLL/HUMAN RESOURCE modules compared to SAGE ABRA PAYROLL/HUMAN RESOURCE

It gets the payroll process done and has other modules to greatly help, like attendance and human resources but would like a more modern payroll module.

Pros

I love that it does not have a hard close after each quarter and you can rerun reports for any payroll that is in history which means you can go back years. Love that it has an HR module that is easy to use and did not change much going from Sage ABRA to Sage HRMS but wish the payroll module was more modern and interactive so you can actually see a paycheck instead of doing a calculating process and then pulling a report to see what the paycheck will actually be. Love being able to have an excel spreadsheet containing bonuses/incentives that can be easily imported/uploaded into the payroll module.

Cons

Hate that HRMS Payroll does not have an interactive paycheck view while processing payroll where you can make a change on an employee's paycheck and see instantly how it changes everything. An example of this is if an employee wanted to change their 401k pre-tax election/deduction how would it change the taxes and net pay. It is time card driven then you have to calculate (process) before you can see an employee's possible paycheck when you run a Pre-check payroll register (report driven). Every time you have to make changes you do the change on their timecard, even to deductions, then calculate pay before you can see the employee's paystub when you run a report (Pre-check Payroll Register Report) so it is report driven. I would love to see an interactive paycheck in view and see how changes can change the net pay. I love that it comes with Crystal Reports but to find the information (fields) in the payroll directory/data bases is difficult but on the human resource director/data basis are considerably easier. Support, that you pay for, does not help you with crystal reports or how to find the field/information to get it onto a crystal report. Also the standard reports that come with the HRMS program (payroll) are not helpful nor have enough filters/sorts/structure to make them useful so you have to become savvy with Crystal reports to get the information you want in the format you must have it. Also to do W2 or tax forms are only process in HRMS payroll to Aatrix.

Reasons for Choosing Sage HRMS

We went from one Best Software/Sage product to another since the one being used was discontinued which made it an easier install. Since Sage HRMS was replacing Sage ABRA which was being discontinued there were many price breaks/incentives to do so. This also made the switch easier to install.

May 2020

Karen from Roadtec, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

Sage HRMS

I have access to any employee data at any time and can do reporting from the system with ease.

Pros

This system keeps data and is relatively easy to report from. It is nice to upload a picture of employees. It provides easy look up for employee data.

Cons

This system needs an onboarding tool and self-service options. Also, sometimes it would be good to see more data on a person without moving from page to page.

May 2020

Keron from Bws

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

A great investment .

Pros

on a users perspective it is very intuitive and very user friendly.

Cons

depending on how much users are using it at the same time it would lag .. but most of it was due to our systems being overloaded

May 2020

Mary from Ampco Manufacturers Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

So far so good

We use SAGE HRMS as payroll processing and HR part.

Pros

This sofeware is very stable. Sometime computer has stuck and dead . After start off the computer Sage is working well.

Cons

Some feature is not conveninet to use. Getting compensation report with Salary as of Sage HRMS always runtime error.

April 2019

Mornay from WeGo Public Transit

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Limited Functions

Our company has been using the software for a number of years. We will replace this software with another type that will provide more functions.

Pros

A good software program to manage employees and keep record of employee actions.

Cons

Cannot upload and store documents and training material.

February 2019

Dave from Diversified Dynamics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Full Featured

Overall, HRMS is very detailed and gives you the power to keep track of a wide spectrum of employees. We run payroll for weekly, and bi-monthly employees, as well as hourly and salary pay. A wide range of reports to keep the bean counters happy as well.

Pros

Sage HRMS gives you a powerful platform for running payroll, filing necessary tax forms and handling of vacation/sick time.

Cons

Quarterly updates are a bit of a mystery at times. It would be better if they would integrate updates to the software instead of having to go search for the exact update you are in need of.

May 2020

Dee from EightCAP, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

Issues with HRMS for Several Months

Lately, our experience has not been good. We have had and continue to have major problems with the system with no support.

Pros

We have had Sage HRMS since 2005. Loved it when it worked. .

Cons

It no longer supports connect point to MIP payroll. We have had several issues with the system with no support. I have emailed and called with no response.

May 2020

Gary from Business Environments

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

new user

payroll

Pros

good reports for checking history, check printing

Cons

customer support doesn't answer the phone

March 2019

Betsy from Goodwill

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Easy to use

Pros

Everything is well laid out, intuitive and has a nice, updated look. Like that you can add as many custom fields as you want on the HR side. They do a great job of keeping up with tax and legislative updates.

Cons

It's not necessarily a con because the software comes with lots of standard reports, but if you want custom reports then they need to be written in Crystal Reports. If you have someone that knows Crystal Reports, it's super easy! If you don't have someone that knows it, then you can end up like one of the previous reviewers and end up with reports that don't tie out. :)

May 2020

Charles from Princeton Theological Seminary

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Excellent HRMS platform.

HRMS platform has been a excellent tools to manage people operations.

Pros

This software was easy to learn, use and teach. Ease of use and service.

Cons

Integration with our payroll services was null.

May 2020

Gabriela from Consolidated Divisions, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

HRMS

Have used HRMS for many years now. It was an easy software to navigate

Pros

Board to board functionality. Make's it easy to use and train on.

Cons

Crystal Report feature can be difficult to learn.

February 2019

Kelsey from Hurst Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Sage HRMS

Reliable for mid-size company, doesn't require a lot of hours of training to use, user friendly.

Pros

Very easy to use, the tools are great and the analytics are really helpful. I like that it is an all in one for payroll, benefits, performance reviews, applicant tracking and so much more.

Cons

Sometimes the reporting isn't exactly what you want/need and you have to do some digging in order to get the right results.

October 2019

Chris from BETTENDORF ENTERPRISES, INC.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

October 2019

Look at your other options

HRMS has created more problems that it has solved. Wrong pay, missed items, treating taxable wage as non-taxable, reports that don't tie, and flat out recalculating (incorrectly) payrolls that were run in the prior system. We have had to manually calculate payrolls to determine the fixes necessary. So far it has failed to deliver correct results without multiple runs and edits. I have zero confidence the program will give me accurate results and reporting.

Pros

Thought it would really be a better product than Sage ABRA, which is losing support this next year. Thought (wrongly) that it would be a smooth transition from one Sage product to another.

Cons

Although there are a few minor improvements, HRMS is actually a step backwards in usability and reliability from ABRA. The software is a constant source of frustration, and has actually led our 20 year payroll lead to retire, rather than deal with this software. Staff have nicknamed it the "HRMS Titanic"

Reasons for Choosing Sage HRMS

We were reasonably satisfied with ABRA and assumed (wrongly) that HRMS would be very similar to ABRA, but have many improved functions.

June 2015

Jessica from Red River Credit Union

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.5

June 2015

Payroll Software

Pros

This software is very user friendly and efficient.

Cons

I have no complaints regarding this software. I am able to navigate and process payroll in a timely manner using this software.

December 2017

Vicki from Whit-Ash Furnishings

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Keeps Us Up To Date on Payroll Changes

Pros

Keeps Us Up To Date on Payroll Changes. We don t have to worry about law changes or payroll changes.

Cons

No so easy to learn and understand. Somewhat complicated which I assume it has to be to encompass the necessary laws.

April 2017

Krista from Langley Federal Credit Union

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2017

Extremely poor customer service. Inconsistent and flat out wrong answers which have caused more work for the HR Team as well as make us look bad without employees.

Pros

Some similarities to ABRA Suite. Crystal Reports still similar as well. Does not outweigh the cons at this time.

Cons

Support is extremely poor. We are supposed to have GOLD level support and we continually get first line tech support. Takes much too long to get the expert answers we need to move forward.

December 2019

Loren from APICDA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Outdated and expensive compared to other systems.

I have used sage products since the early 2000s and have noticed the decline in quality over the years. Sage has not done their job in staying updated with the times and the system reflects that.

Pros

Customer service has always been good with the company. They have made several customization over the years that were specific to our operations.

Cons

System was slow, prone to crash and did not allow for selfserve access and management by employees. Outdated for the times.

October 2016

Ashley from Town of Southborough

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Multifunctional but Complicated

I did not like this system at all until I had to try another system and then I realized they have both definite cons and pros. Their customer service is horrible and they do not usually provide much assistance and use outside support contractors that are not always pleasant or timely. I ran into problems quite frequently but I also have to say I was using it for a municipality, not a private company like the software was intended. I can say that the options for reports and capabilities are extremely extensive and the limits seemed never ending in terms of data. They had some hiccups with their ACA reporting add-on but in the end it was extremely simple, easy, and effective to use.

Pros

Features and functionality.

Cons

Customer Service. Complicated to understand and learn at first.

July 2015

Felicia from Red River Employees Fed C U

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2015

Great product!!

Pros

Abra's support and notifications of updates are beneficial. The system is very user-friendly. I have lots of information at my fingertips. The system those all the regular reporting such as 941's and W-2's.

Cons

I have not had any problems with the product or vendor.

November 2016

Jeff from Tennyson Center for Children

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2016

It's better than hand processing payroll

Abra is a pretty basic in-house payroll system. It helps automate more of the process into electronic records, but we still had to require paper timesheets and do a lot of manual cross-checking and verification before processing.

Pros

Basic, simple, cost effective

Cons

Lack of or not useful for timesheets records, have to back up internally, requires lots of manual work hours

October 2016

Sheri from Western Home Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2016

Sage HRMS Review

Sage HRMS is very difficult to use. The reports do not tie out and are not easily available to be written.

Pros

None

Cons

Very difficult to use and doesn't function well

April 2015

Carlos from Dgs

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

2.5

April 2015

Review for Sage

Review for Sage

Pros

Friendly user interface, windows compatible, cost effective

Cons

Adds on options, does not work in Mac iOS, no tools for Mac developers