What are Sage HRMS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Sage HRMS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

3.69

42 Reviews

5
12
4
12
3
11
2
6
1
1
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
3.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It is easy to use and manage all aspects of your business. Love the payroll integration within."
  • icon"This system keeps data and is relatively easy to report from. It is nice to upload a picture of employees."
  • icon"I like how easy it is to run payroll reports and I like how friendly the HR module is as well."
  • icon"Payroll Reports that were standard in ABRA SUITE no longer exist in HRMS."
  • icon"It doesn't integrate as well as anticipated for our company's specific needs."
  • icon"Crystal Report feature can be difficult to learn."

Jump to:

Browse all Sage HRMS Reviews

  • Have you used Sage HRMS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 42 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 42 reviews

Kay

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Does it All

Sage HRMS makes it pretty easy to run our payroll in house and gives us tons of information about our employees' pay.

Pros

We use the HR and Payroll module as we process payroll in house. There are so many processes available that we don't use, but are available for larger companies. The HR side is very easy and user friendly. The payroll side is less intuitive. There are many stock reports and the on-board Crystal Reports makes it easy to create others as needed.

Cons

The payroll side is very detailed and complicated to set up. Sometimes there is no good explanation for why something has to be done in a particular way, so you just have to do it and not really understand why. Coming from Abra, HRMS payroll took some getting used to. The rounding doesn't always follow normal conventions, so we sometimes have to chase down pennies to make sure everything is exactly correct.

Reasons for switching to Sage HRMS

Abra was no longer going to be supported

Barbara

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Paper & Forest Products

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Sage HRMS - Takes effort but worth it.

The learning curve was quite steep but since we have been using the software for a while now, we are much more comfortable with it.

Pros

The system has many features within the program itself to store information, provide status and look-ups. Set up is extremely important to have done correctly in order for the software to function fully and correctly.

Cons

Reporting features are limited requiring an upgrade to incorporate Crystal Reports to obtain needed information for tax payments and reporting purposes.

Reasons for choosing Sage HRMS

Information could be pulled from Sage Abra system and parallel processing could be run to ensure set up was done correctly.

Reasons for switching to Sage HRMS

Sage Abra Payroll was no longer going to be supported after 2020.

Meredith

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

SAGE HRMS PAYROLL/HUMAN RESOURCE modules compared to SAGE ABRA PAYROLL/HUMAN RESOURCE

It gets the payroll process done and has other modules to greatly help, like attendance and human resources but would like a more modern payroll module.

Pros

I love that it does not have a hard close after each quarter and you can rerun reports for any payroll that is in history which means you can go back years. Love that it has an HR module that is easy to use and did not change much going from Sage ABRA to Sage HRMS but wish the payroll module was more modern and interactive so you can actually see a paycheck instead of doing a calculating process and then pulling a report to see what the paycheck will actually be. Love being able to have an excel spreadsheet containing bonuses/incentives that can be easily imported/uploaded into the payroll module.

Cons

Hate that HRMS Payroll does not have an interactive paycheck view while processing payroll where you can make a change on an employee's paycheck and see instantly how it changes everything. An example of this is if an employee wanted to change their 401k pre-tax election/deduction how would it change the taxes and net pay. It is time card driven then you have to calculate (process) before you can see an employee's possible paycheck when you run a Pre-check payroll register (report driven). Every time you have to make changes you do the change on their timecard, even to deductions, then calculate pay before you can see the employee's paystub when you run a report (Pre-check Payroll Register Report) so it is report driven. I would love to see an interactive paycheck in view and see how changes can change the net pay. I love that it comes with Crystal Reports but to find the information (fields) in the payroll directory/data bases is difficult but on the human resource director/data basis are considerably easier. Support, that you pay for, does not help you with crystal reports or how to find the field/information to get it onto a crystal report. Also the standard reports that come with the HRMS program (payroll) are not helpful nor have enough filters/sorts/structure to make them useful so you have to become savvy with Crystal reports to get the information you want in the format you must have it. Also to do W2 or tax forms are only process in HRMS payroll to Aatrix.

Reasons for choosing Sage HRMS

We went from one Best Software/Sage product to another since the one being used was discontinued which made it an easier install. Since Sage HRMS was replacing Sage ABRA which was being discontinued there were many price breaks/incentives to do so. This also made the switch easier to install.

Reasons for switching to Sage HRMS

Best Software Sage ABRA payroll and human resource software/program was discontinued since it was written in old FoxPro that was discontinued instead of current SQL which is supported and continues to be the programming language most often used.

Michael

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Love hate relationship

We are migrating from Abra Suite so it is excellent that it is so similar but the upgrade path is ROUGH..

Pros

It is an excellent on prem solution to HR and Payroll for a company that wants allot of functionality for a reasonable price.

Cons

Performance and stability. Very slow on launch to the point that every user gets the loading twice message because the click and click. Screens can crash if you push them. I believe this is because there is still foxpro lingering underneath the covers in the screens.

Reasons for choosing Sage HRMS

On prem and price.. as well as familiarity to our user base.

Reasons for switching to Sage HRMS

End of life.. and foxpro

Danty

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

HRMS Review_Dekalb Farmers Market

Pros

Ease of Use & user Friendly. Good reporting's and also the customer support is so good

Cons

Its not that stable and kicking us out almost all time when we run some reports

Niki

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Transition from Abra Suite to HRMS SL

Still in the learning process with the HRMS SQL version from Abra suite 9.2 version Still issues from implementation that happened in July 1, 2020 and still not resolved - we have both Sage support and 3rd party installer involved and neither have resolved our issues ...very disappointing to say the least.

Pros

HR panels stayed the same, easy to use and toggle

Cons

Payroll Reports that were standard in ABRA SUITE no longer exist in HRMS. Not sure why they would be omitted, it they used customer reviews. Attendance set up is not the same as it was in SUITE and has not functioned since installation. This is not due to the product it was due to the implementation 3rd party. Support - wish we would have a specific contact person for issues we need to fix. I have been a customer with Abra Suite since 1997 and always bragged to fellow collegues about the product, at current I wouldnt do so.

Reasons for choosing Sage HRMS

Our long history of being a ABRA SUITE customer

Reasons for switching to Sage HRMS

due to ABRA SUITE ending the support as of 12/31/2020 , other wise we would have never changed at all

Hart

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Sage HRMS

Its pretty good I cant really complain a whole lot

Pros

It runs on SGL unlike out Sage 300 product. Updates seem to be fairly easy

Cons

Support is hard to get in touch with. Its fairly expensive.

Reasons for choosing Sage HRMS

We already had other sage products and like that there is support for interface between the products.

Mary

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

So far so good

We use SAGE HRMS as payroll processing and HR part.

Pros

This sofeware is very stable. Sometime computer has stuck and dead . After start off the computer Sage is working well.

Cons

Some feature is not conveninet to use. Getting compensation report with Salary as of Sage HRMS always runtime error.

Mornay

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Limited Functions

Our company has been using the software for a number of years. We will replace this software with another type that will provide more functions.

Pros

A good software program to manage employees and keep record of employee actions.

Cons

Cannot upload and store documents and training material.

Lynda

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Sage use opinion-Lynda

Satisfied

Pros

Easy to use, easy to navigate, able to link to Medical insurance website.

Cons

Not able to keep track of Sick leaves calculations since I fall into a different category.

Carol

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Webinars

I've been with this software since it was ABRAcadabra. It's a good product.

Pros

I attended a webinar today on using Crystal Reports. It was a brief overview, but easy to understand and very helpful.

Cons

Sometimes the software is not intuitive, and it's hard to learn all of the tricks to make it run smoothly. I get frustrated with tech support.

Reasons for choosing Sage HRMS

In house and overall proce.

Melissa

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

HRMS works for us!

This product is great mainly because customer service is such a great help. People at Sage know their product well and their people have been able to answer every question I have to help find solutions.

Pros

The software has wizards that help with entering new hires, training, pay raises, job changes, etc. These are helpful because you don't miss a step!

Cons

The software requires a manual export to our payroll system. So, after a new hire is entered, or any changes are made for that matter, I have to manually export the data to payroll. I don't have to enter things twice, but I do have to wait for the information to export over so that the most up to date information is in the payroll system.

Betsy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Easy to use

Pros

Everything is well laid out, intuitive and has a nice, updated look. Like that you can add as many custom fields as you want on the HR side. They do a great job of keeping up with tax and legislative updates.

Cons

It's not necessarily a con because the software comes with lots of standard reports, but if you want custom reports then they need to be written in Crystal Reports. If you have someone that knows Crystal Reports, it's super easy! If you don't have someone that knows it, then you can end up like one of the previous reviewers and end up with reports that don't tie out. :)

Karen

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Sage HRMS

I have access to any employee data at any time and can do reporting from the system with ease.

Pros

This system keeps data and is relatively easy to report from. It is nice to upload a picture of employees. It provides easy look up for employee data.

Cons

This system needs an onboarding tool and self-service options. Also, sometimes it would be good to see more data on a person without moving from page to page.

Mary

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Sage HRMS 2020 Review

I can't say that any specific business "problems" have been solved. More that is fills the needs of HR, Payroll, Attendance functions that are necessary to the business.

Pros

It was the easiest transition from the former Sage Abra Suite that we were using prior.

Cons

It requires a stand alone computer log-in due to security concerns with the database. This has caused several problems. There was a very critical execution failure of Processing Time Off and Print/Post checks during a recent payroll processing.

Reasons for choosing Sage HRMS

Because it was the easiest transition from the Sage Abra Suite product we had been using for 20 years.

Freddy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Good Management System

Pros

It is easy to use and manage all aspects of your business. Love the payroll integration within.

Cons

Many programs are needed to be manually made/built. Upgraded versions always have certain glitches until they can get to them and fix/repair.

Matt

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Gets the job done

Pros

The promise that HRMS would work seamlessly with CRE was a huge perk of using it.

Cons

It doesn't integrate as well as anticipated for our company's specific needs. Support is slow and sometimes unhelpful. Training is long and dry.

Sean

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Not HR Software

Below Average.

Pros

Basic and not the most expensive. Have used it at other employers before.

Cons

Not a viable HRIS. Software looks and acts outdated, clunky, not user friendly. Functionality is below average compared to competitors

Keron

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

A great investment .

Pros

on a users perspective it is very intuitive and very user friendly.

Cons

depending on how much users are using it at the same time it would lag .. but most of it was due to our systems being overloaded

Charles

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Excellent HRMS platform.

HRMS platform has been a excellent tools to manage people operations.

Pros

This software was easy to learn, use and teach. Ease of use and service.

Cons

Integration with our payroll services was null.

Gabriela

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

HRMS

Have used HRMS for many years now. It was an easy software to navigate

Pros

Board to board functionality. Make's it easy to use and train on.

Cons

Crystal Report feature can be difficult to learn.

larry

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

great software and support

Pros

we would not use this if it were not for the support

Cons

none that I can think of. The only issue is none

Precious

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

System of Management that Works

Listen the software has great potential and I think it's really giving it a chance otherwise it gets the work done.

Pros

I like how easy it is to run payroll reports and I like how friendly the HR module is as well. I must say, just like any product it isn't easy to use in the beginning, but once you learn how to and familiarise yourself, it is easier to navigate. The integration process to the business was not difficult.

Cons

The system needs to be improved, new improved models will still have bugs until they can patch or restore. So making the software more user-friendly especially for new users will be great. And maybe introduce one that will cater to small companies, and one that caters to larger companies instead of an all-for-one process.

Cristopher

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

SAGE Review

Pros

The ease of viewing everyones profile. Along with maintaining the reminders and notes needed.

Cons

Pulling reports from SAGE can sometimes be a hassle.

Ashley

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2016

Multifunctional but Complicated

I did not like this system at all until I had to try another system and then I realized they have both definite cons and pros. Their customer service is horrible and they do not usually provide much assistance and use outside support contractors that are not always pleasant or timely. I ran into problems quite frequently but I also have to say I was using it for a municipality, not a private company like the software was intended. I can say that the options for reports and capabilities are extremely extensive and the limits seemed never ending in terms of data. They had some hiccups with their ACA reporting add-on but in the end it was extremely simple, easy, and effective to use.

Pros

Features and functionality.

Cons

Customer Service. Complicated to understand and learn at first.

Showing 1 - 25 of 42 reviews
Sage HRMS

Sage HRMS

3.69/5 out of 42 reviews
PriceDemo