SmartJobBoard

SmartJobBoard Reviews

RATING:

4.33

(36)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.33

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Hands down their support, specifically Will - this guy has been amazing with helping us get everything set up effectively."
  • icon"The options are great and the value is tremendous. Plus, I've received great customer service with short response times."
  • icon"And, there are a number of great bells and whistles to boot. The best part is that it's priced reasonably."
  • icon"Not being able to access the server where our system is deployed. With limited room for customization and integration of other services (eg. i couldn't integrate onesignal to my job portal )."
  • icon"With the Tech team based out of India its is a real mess."
  • icon"Not enough reporting features. No ability to edit all pages i.e. the access denied pages."

Have you used SmartJobBoard and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All SmartJobBoard Reviews

1-25 of 36 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Dillon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

All in one solution

Pros

Loved that this product was all-inclusive. No need for additional products other than a domain name and email. I set up Stripe for payments, filled out the details, and could move on to sales and service within a day.

Cons

The price is far more than a blog or Wordpress plug-in. The deciding factor is whether your job board will be profitable enough to justify the costs. I've taken the chance and am enjoying the time saved on maintenance so far to focus on running my business.

Daryle

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

Fantastic Job Board

Overall rating; 5/5 I highly recommend it to anyone. It's not exactly cheap, but it's more cost-effective than their other competitor (Job Board.IO) and will save you money, time, and headaches if you're using crappy Wordpress plugins.

Pros

Hands down their support, specifically Will - this guy has been amazing with helping us get everything set up effectively. It's a very easy software to navigate, and they have different themes that can be used. We had to hire a developer to help heavily customize the job board through CSS/JS to fit our branding, but this is totally optional. We're a recruitment company and postings from employers might not always completely fill our job board, so MSJB offers Indeed backfilling that helps "bulk up" our postings which is nice so we don't have limited listings. Their e-commerce for job postings is also slick. We used to work with WP Job Manager and it was a total headache keeping on top of all of the changes and updates from other plugins which frequently caused it to crash. Since moving to MSJB, we haven't had to worry about ONCE. Everything is managed and well taken care of on the back-end, and it's so smooth.

Cons

I do have a few things, but these are mainly requests, not cons: 1. Sign in with Google - most employers use this option because they forget their password, so it would be great to have this feature implemented, and hopefully soon. 2. Actually being able to see, create, and vote on feature requests from other users. 3. A Zapier integration, but I believe this is in the works as I write this.

Reasons for switching to SmartJobBoard

We were looking for a better solution that didn't require constant upkeep or maintenance. We even tried Wordpress themes (WorkScout + StaffScout) but neither compares to how good MSJB is.

Paul

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2021

Fantastic job board software!

The experience with this product has been absolutely fantastic. I loved it from the moment I set it up and revolutionized the way we were able to connect our students with internship opportunities. Tech support is awesome and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and his team constantly looks to improve the product. If you are looking for easy to use job board software with a great team supporting it, this is it!

Pros

This is a very easy to use and set up job board that is graphically pleasing and very user friendly. My students can easily use it to search for posted positions and apply to them. My companies can easily post jobs for my students to find. Unlike other software we use, I rarely get any issues or problems--once you launch it runs itself with little upkeep!

Cons

I honestly love MySmartJobBoard and the team behind the product. They are very open to feedback and any complaints or requests I have about the product they consider and often include in future updates. The only negative that I can think of is you are limited in adding custom fields to a job post so if you wanted to add some custom drop-downs or something you are somewhat limited, but it doesnt detract from the effectiveness at all.

Michael

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

We were #1 job board, 14 days after launch!

We did an extensive search to identify the various alternatives to establish a jobs platform. This process included reaching out to CTO’s around the country to independently gauge opinion on the options (quality, price, ease of use). This due diligence led us to select Smartjobboard solution to establish JobsInOrtho. We launched JobsInOrtho on November 2, 2020 and within 14 days we were the #1 Orthopaedic Job Board in the United States, this would not have happened were it not for [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and his team and the Smartjobboard solution. The customer service component of Smartjobboard was, and still is, critical to our ability to create such a platform that is providing significant value across the United States. Kudos to all the Smartjobboard team for their vision and for having created such an invaluable option for organizations that wish to establish job boards in a cost efficient and scalable manner. The simplicity and the value of Smartjobboard are game changing not only for our company but for those we serve (job seekers and employers). - Michael R. Gagnon, MBA Founder & CEO, Academic Orthopaedic Consortium Founder & CEO, JobsInOrtho Chief Administrative Officer- Emeritus Duke University Orthopaedics

Pros

Great value for the price. It's easy to utilize, it's easy to post jobs, it's easy to find jobs. We were able to aggregate all of the jobs onto a single platform using this technology. Job seekers and employers both love the simplicity and functionality of the platform.

Cons

Nothing. We liked everything! Our users are also loving it.

Caroline

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Overall a great fit!

Overall, we had a great experience with SmartJobBoard.

Pros

Overall we enjoyed our experience with SmartJobBoard. The process of inputting job listings was pretty straightforward and although limited, the customization options for adjusting the look of the website to match our branding was more than sufficient. It was very straightforward to import job postings via a CSV file. Our users appreciated being able to set up job alerts as well!

Cons

Overall we didn't have many dislikes about the software. Ultimately, we decided to shift our strategy and discontinue this offering, but we likely would have continued using it.

User Profile

Brian

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

SmartJobBoard is an excellent choice

Pros

Easy Rollout, hosted solution. Just add a domain name and off you go.

Cons

At the time, the basic plan was limited to 100 job postings. I believe this number has since changed higher.

Reasons for choosing SmartJobBoard

Pricing

Reasons for switching to SmartJobBoard

Way better features on the Smartjobboard platform

Christina

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Best Bang for Your Buck

Overall, I'm super happy with SmartJobBoard. It really gets the job done and when we run into bumps, the customer service has been great. THe SJB team is responsive and also just kind.

Pros

This software helped us to enhance the ease-of-use of our job board for both staff and users. The templates are easy to use and fairly customizable. And, there are a number of great bells and whistles to boot. The best part is that it's priced reasonably.

Cons

I would like to see better reporting functionality, and a bit more ability to make changes on the admin side.

Christina

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

A great value for small businesses.

Pros

This is a very easy platform to administer and to use. The options are great and the value is tremendous. Plus, I've received great customer service with short response times.

Cons

It could be just a touch more flexible, but that could be solved by hosting on your own server. Plus, the design team is great about helping find ways to solve problems.

Chris

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2016

Better Job Platform Than Most and Always Improving

Most importantly: Job seekers visiting our site powered by SmartJobBoard.com consistently tell us they like how easy it is to navigate and perform searches. We tried several other solutions prior to implementing SmartJobBoard and found this optino to be the simplest to get up and running with easy to use admin and posting tools. SmartJobBoard is available at various price points which has allowed us to grow into the product which is an ancilary solution to our core business offerings. SJB is always improving with new features and has been kind to entertain and implement several of our feature suggestions. SJB has plug and play integration with Indeed, Jobs2Careers, ZipRecruiter, JobG8, TopResume, GoogleAnalytics, On the social media front: SJB has a fully integrated Facebook job site app that is more stable and reliable than others we've tested. (Related Tip: If you are working with a job-board or talent marketing tech vendor which claims to have a solution to host your jobs on Facebook yet their own company facebook page doesn't feature this tool - be prepared to do some thorough testing) I was pleasantly surprised SJB's Facebook app is truly plug and play ready in the middle and top tier accounts. SJB is worth checking out and offers a free trial. If you have complex third party integration needs, definitely check with the SJB team before getting in too deep. As I understand it the platform is available in both a hosted and self-hosted option - we have encountered some limitation to desired integrations with the hosted version largely given. SJB powers hundreds of job sites as I understand it... If there was one wish list item I'd love to see from SJB - it would be a Facebook group or similar crowdsourced user community to network and share best practices with.

Pros

Our team is tech proficient enough to be dangerous and perhaps high maintenance at times. Support team is super responsive and patient with our inquiries.

Cons

Lacks function to create job templates - each post is created from scratch via browser or can be uploaded via CSV/Excel file.

Peter

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

1

December 2020

Was Fantastic before changing business model

After spending time, energy and a lot of money to customize the software our market, we had to start from scratch which also cost time and money.

Pros

I had previously given this software 5 stars (2016). At that time you could purchase the software, host on your own server, have complete control to customize or even pay them for customization. We even received regular updates to the software (very reasonable fees). However, they stopped supporting that product and forced users to use their SaaS model where everything is hosted on their site with their limited customizations.

Cons

The part about not being able to download the software to use as you need. You cannot customize more than the limitations they offer. I am sure this is fine if you just want something easy and do not intend to grow. I had used their software and paid to improve it for three years and they change business models.

Reasons for choosing SmartJobBoard

Now, there is little reason to select this software. The alternatives were a better solution for us.

Response from SmartJobBoard

Thanks for your feedback, Peter! We understand that having the self-hosted software copy with ability to customize it may seem like a preferable solution sometimes. However, we've found that the hosted (SaaS) option eventually provides much more value to job board owners and users. And the user engagement data we collect from our customers confirms that. Our mission at Smartjobboard is to provide the best job board experience for admins and end users. And we believe that this can only be achieved with the SaaS model that we currently use. First, it allows us to provide more frequent updates which we do automatically for all our SaaS customers. Second, it's just not possible to offer some of the cool features that we've recently developed as a part of the self-hosted solution and only possible to provide in our unique server environment optimized for job boards. Let us know if you'll be interested in learning how our SaaS solution may significantly improve your job board.

Replied January 2021

Rick

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2016

Great Job Board Solution

We run the HLPA - Hispanic / Latino Professionals Association, large association of over 275,000 members and needed a Job Board solution for our website www.HLPA.com We researched several Job Board services and software programs and ended up purchasing SmartJobBoard after several other services and software programs could not meet our needs or where inadequate. The program has been easy to customize and we would definitely recommend it to others.

Pros

Great platform to start with and is easily customized.

Cons

Will have not run into any problems to report.

Response from SmartJobBoard

Hi Rick, Thanks for choosing out platform! You have an awesome website.

Replied July 2016

Shan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2017

Amazing after care

there are plenty of job board software prooducts out there. But what makes SJB difference is not just the product that they keep improving, but the super after care that they offer. The are dedicated to make the clients aspirations come true. Accidentally deleted a few templates that caused my site to crash but when i realised and pointed that out to them, the fixed it within 15 min. It was 10:30 at night there time... Kudos to SJB team.

Paul

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2017

Using SmartJobBoard for several years

Pros

Easy to use, looks great, works very well. We have used a number of different platforms and this is by far the best.

Cons

In the latest version there are fewer advanced employer features. Does not have a robust Applicant Tracking function, however it would be excellent for most users.

rachel

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2016

Best jobs board software

having used other jobs board software i was really pleased to find my smart jobs board. This is great for start ups - being very cost effective and allowing you to upgrade your functions as your business grows. The customer support you receive is amazing and the best I have ever experienced with any provider. Its easy to use for both admin and recruiters.

Pros

cost customer support ease of use

Cons

could have more options for banners etc JobG8 should be available on all options

Tewodros

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

Exceptional

Pros

The ease of use , exceptional Customer support and matured product. i have researched the market before settling for smartjobboard platform and found it to be the most reliable so far

Cons

Not being able to access the server where our system is deployed. with limited room for customization and integration of other services (eg. i couldn't integrate onesignal to my job portal )

Ron

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY