All TriNet Reviews

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Calvin

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

One stop shop for most things HR

Highly positive. There is some variability when it comes to customer service, some reps are either new or not as good as others, and some TriNet people are outstanding beyond belief.

PROS

The sheer variety of options and capabilities is excellent. Very good insurance options offered throughout the country.

CONS

Trinet tends to offer large company benefits, which is great, however, some of the competing providers are offering more tailored benefits typically seen in startup companies. It's only a minor issue.

Reason for choosing TriNet

As a startup company with multi state HR requirements, we have to offer highly competitive employment packages that be on the level with larger companies. Trinet lets us do that without invoking the monstrous bureaucracy of dozens of individual benefits contracts with many providers and brokers. I've been there, and it's not a happy place. Trinet just takes care of what's needed.

Reasons for switching to TriNet

Trinet may not have offered the cheapest options, but, it had more capabilities in house, and it's actively growing capabilities and features in areas of interest to us.

User Profile

Phil

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Great PEO and outsourced HR solution for small businesses

Overall, we've had a good experience with TriNet. The "outsourced HR" platform TriNet offers is the right decision for our small business so we don't have to invest in internal HR personnel.

PROS

TriNet helps us manage payroll, talent acquisition and retention, support for our employees, access to "big company" benefits and helps our management team with proactive risk mitigation and data compliance.

CONS

TriNet is expensive and the support we received for our company 401(k) plan was not good.

Reason for choosing TriNet

More features and overall value than the competition.

Reasons for switching to TriNet

More overall features and value than our previous provider despite the increase in cost.

Josh

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed October 2023

Trinet is a scam

Trinet is a scam. They have very non-transparent pricing. With all of their reports, it is next to impossible to understand what you are paying. It turns out they are ripping off their customers. My monthly service fee has more than doubled in 3 years from $500 per month to $1100 per month. My worker's compensation has increased to $1400 per month per employee when the maximum payout is $1099 per week--most companies have a maximum salary when calculating workers compensation. My medical premiums have increased from $48,000 per year per employee to $150,000 per year per employee which I believe is a direct violation of the affordable care act. Trinet has many reports and emails and alerts but you can't find these hidden prices any where. Avoid them at all costs because on top of these scam prices, their service is horrible.

PROS

Over five years ago, Trinet used to save me money on health insurance and time on payroll. Now it provides lousy service at insanely high prices.

CONS

Trinet is a scam. They have very non-transparent pricing. With all of their reports, it is next to impossible to understand what you are paying. It turns out they are ripping off their customers. My monthly service fee has more than doubled in 3 years from $500 per month to $1100 per month. My worker's compensation has increased to $1400 per month per employee when the maximum payout is $1099 per week--most companies have a maximum salary when calculating workers compensation. My medical premiums have increased from $48,000 per year per employee to $150,000 per year per employee which I believe is a direct violation of the affordable care act. Trinet has many reports and emails and alerts but you can't find these hidden prices any where. Avoid them at all costs because on top of these scam prices, their service is horrible.

Tom

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

Annual price increases of over 10%. Hidden charges

Will not use again. Shopping for a new provider

PROS

Product is a commodity so I don’t think they do anything better than anyone else.

CONS

Hidden charges. Exorbitant annual increases.

Reasons for switching to TriNet

Lack of transparency in pricing. I believe this has been corrected.

Sally

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Product is not bad; customer service is pretty bad

Overall, TriNet is a pretty good product, and it really takes the burden off a small startup employer who wants to attract and retain talent with high-level benefits plans. It's great that the payroll runs automatically unless there are changes, and the employee self-service registration works well. Customer service is definitely their weakness, and they have a lot of room for improvement there.

PROS

I like the interface for the product; from an administrator's perspective it's fairly easy to use with no training. The payroll invoice and payroll register are very clear and easy to use. I love that once you enter an employee's basic information, the employee logs into the portal and registers for benefits, etc.; so the administrator's work is lightened extensively. The product is really good for small startups who otherwise would not have a lot of resources for HR, Onboarding, Payroll, nor access to large-group benefits plans at large-group rates.

CONS

I think the reporting functionality lacks a lot of basic reports. I do not like how the I-9 process works. I like that there is online chat for support; however, it's not always effective at solving my problem or answering my question, and the support representatives frequently seem irritated to answer questions, etc.

Rachel

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

TriNet is definitely worth the price!

PROS

I like that it is a one stop shop for all HR services including ATS, payroll, benefits enrollment, performance management and employee onboarding.

CONS

At times, customer support wasn't the quickest or the most detailed in their responses but other than that i have enjoyed the TriNet experience.

amanda

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

Good but has issues

PROS

I like their support the most. They are actually very helpful all the time (even though the chat box will kick you out if you don't respond in 30 seconds) and the platform is easy enough to navigate. We've received help with any issue that came up pretty promptly.

CONS

There have been a number of issues we've experienced with Trinet, mostly around employees going on leaves of absence. It's pretty hit or miss.

User Profile

Beno

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Amazing solution but not as good as ADP

The overall experience has been good, but when comparing to using ADP, ADP takes the cake by a mile.

PROS

The best part about Tri Net is customer support. They have the best customer service representatives that are not only knowledgeable but super friendly. The solution itself is easy to use, but the app interface can be better. The app interface needs some work, they don't even come close to ADP, but still, get the job done.

CONS

I don't like their app or online interface. It is not user-friendly and you have to really look at where you are clicking or you have to start all over again from the main hub.

Chris

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Disappointed in Changes

I used to really like TriNet and the personal service they delivered. However, they have changed their customer service model, and we are not happy with the changes they have made.

PROS

I really liked the personal service TriNet used to provide. However, they have changed their Customer Service model to more of a call center instead of having two people assigned to each client.

CONS

I really do not like the new Connect 360 they have recently adopted. I also find working with their reporting module somewhat challenging

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

A good tool for HR designed for small companies

PROS

Easy to use, you can access all your HR documents in a few clicks.

CONS

The PTO tab is a bit hard to understand, it could be improved.

Kimberly

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2023

I am paying how much per person for what?

This is not for you if you want things done right and easy! I have used sooo many different HRIS and payroll systems and this hands down was the worst I have ever experienced!It's better to pay more for insurance and get better plans, and then use Bamboohr or similar for $12 a person (payroll, onboarding, offboarding time management, pto and benefits, performance management all included) you end up with better plans and save money.

PROS

Insurance pricing is good. That is all I can say good.

CONS

Insurance plans are not good, time tracking is separate from system and does not integrate well. PTO tracking is very confusing. Customer service is awful. I have spent 1.5 weeks trying to get our PTO corrected, they do not know the laws in your state, you pay 116$ per person per month, and you have to keep them in check because they do not make sure you are compliant. Payroll is harder than it needs to be. There was a glitch in there system and one of my employee's got paid $0 for 80 hours. Not acceptable. I let them know of the issue, and was promised they could correct and get employee paid on time, That did not happen and I had to talk to 7 different people to get it corrected. So many issues!

Reason for choosing TriNet

Insurance pricing. BIG MISTAKE!

Reasons for switching to TriNet

Insurance costs, and all the promises that were made by Trinet

User Profile

Andy

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2021

Quite possibly the worst company we work with

My experience has been horrendous. I don't have enough time to list them all but here are the highlights: (1) They have made several serious mistakes in payroll that caused my and my team countless lost hours. (2) They no longer have a personal rep who knows your account, you now have to go through "Connect 360." I was just in a chat session and the rep said "hold on, while I research your issue" and then the chat timed out because of no activity. No one followed up with me. Now I have to start all over with someone else who has no idea what they're talking about. Have you ever worked with Comcast before? Do you love their support? Well, now you can get the same robotic and ill informed support from TriNet. I could go on. We are in the process of moving away from TriNet as quickly as we can.

PROS

I have found nothing that I like about TriNet.

CONS

When I was "sold" on using TriNet I wasn't told that their technology was some of the worst I had seen. They did upgrade some of the web software but there are still places where you click and find yourself in the old horrible software that is klunky and difficult to use.

Vendor Response

Hi Alan, we received your message and confirmed that a member of our team has reached out to you.

Replied February 2021

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Very User Friendly

PROS

TriNet is incredibly helpful for viewing and downloading my bi-weekly paychecks, accessing my retirement plan portal, submitting expense reports, viewing my health benefits, and tracking time off all in one place. I especially appreciate the "Estimate Balance" feature on the Time Off page, which allows you to view the exact date at which you will hit your earned PTO cap. This has enabled me to always make sure I take off time before I hit my cap, and avoid losing out on well-earned PTO. The TriNet mobile app also gives you access to most, if not all, of the same features that the web browser version offers, so you can check any work-related details you might need to on the go.

CONS

There is honestly nothing I dislike about TriNet. Our company had no cohesive, one stop shop for all of the services TriNet provides until we switched to TriNet, so it solved all of our problems with one software.

Jared

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

TriNet as a Professional Employment Organization

TriNet is ideal if you have a small business that cannot get a good small company health insurance quote (usually less than 10 employees). However, once you get over the minimum threshold to compete in the insurance market, then TriNet is of little value.

PROS

TriNet is easy to use and provides all you need from a payroll, benefit and HR perspective.

CONS

The overall cost is high and the health insurance benefits are low to average quality, with fairly high deductibles and poor coverage.

Reason for choosing TriNet

We switched from TriNet after we found better alternatives that work much more cost effective.

Bonnie

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Excellent for Outsourcing

PROS

I really liked that the implementation was extremely easy. Everyone was very helpful and the sales team stayed in contact to make sure everything was done correctly

CONS

This is was an expensive tool. We were utilizing it to cut the cost of our healthcare which is did help with but I couldn't imagine pitching the added cost to a company that didn't have that problem.

Chris

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Full featured suite for payroll and employee management

Its was comparatively easy to setup and once its all up and running it's really easy to manage moving forward.

PROS

I love that TriNet just takes care of everything for you, they really are a full featured offering that has everything you need for HR/Payroll and benefits.

CONS

It's a little cumbersome to use, their integrations are very obviously just tacked on as an afterthought.

Reasons for switching to TriNet

Cost, features, support.

Usman

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Everything in one place

Overall I was happy with Trinet. The main thing was that everything was accessible through the single dashboard which makes all the difference.

PROS

I liked that all employee benefits were under the trinet system. I have used other systems where health stuff may be viewed from one dashboard but let's say you want to look at your commuter benefits, that may be in another system from some other company. Trinet had everything under a single website/dashboard and I only needed to remember that one login.

CONS

The UI could be made better. It definitely has aa learning curve and seems very corporate and slow. It also reminds you a lot of HR.

Celexsy

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Best HR platform I've had

I have had a wonderful experience with TriNet as an employee. Having worked for small to extremely large organizations, I have to say I wish more large organizations used it.

PROS

I signed on with a new company and they were proud to say they used Trinet. I didn't think much of it, but once I started using it, not only was it super user friendly, but the real people behind chat are EXTREMELY competent and easy to work with. I have used the chat function many times to address issues and always had them resolved on the first try.

CONS

No real cons. Everything is easy to use and very simple. I don't like that I couldn't find some of the benefits information easily - like pricing when you go to sign up is not published anywhere until you go through the sign up process.

Kanad

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: