User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(5)

5

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "The amount of time it saves managing schedules, running reports and ability to make changes with ease."

  • "Transparency and able to see schedule well into the future"

  • "The program has a lot of features and it can be customized for many different applications"

  • Cons

  • "Poorly written software, terrible tech support"

  • "Printing functions could be improved.,particularly weekly & monthly schedules"

  • "During the introduction phase, it was hard to get used to. Especially, since we had moved from a more archaic way of doing things for years. "

Browse VCS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -38 of 12 results

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Great Employee Scheduling program

VCS POSS (Police Officer Scheduling System) has been great for RPD. Overtime reporting for budget projections and expenses is a primary use. Additionally, being able to capture detail categories that increase cost by pay period, quarter or annually has been the greatest bonus.

Pros

I love the ability to set up schedules for the various unit as far out as needed. The officers use the web based module to see overtime available, leave requests and approval as far as needed. Supervisor are able to ensure there is adequate staffing and never fall below minimum needs of the department. Every change in the VCS Employee scheduling system is documented which is great for payroll audits of time sheets and leave taken . Finally being able to run real time reports is best that are used to project overtime costs.

Cons

For updates of some screens require a lot more time to update such when you need to transfer an officer or employee to another unit. Or when schedules of the same unit have to be individually created.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied August 2019

Thank you! We're glad to hear that POSS is beneficial to your department. We're always working on ways to improve our system and ensure that everything is running as smoothly/quickly as possible. If you experience any issues, please do not hesitate to reach out to our support team at support@vcssoftware.com.

July 2019

Daniel from Lakewood Police

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

It's Great

Overall my experience with VCS has been more than excellent.

Pros

We have been using VCS (POSS) for several years. The migration to web has been bumpy but overall extremely positive and necessary. Their support staff is fantastic and they continue to improve the software.

Cons

Some features (shift bid module for example) are initially built according to their specifications. For example, officers are given a time limit for selecting a shift. If they don't select a shift within the time frame, they are skipped. There is no way to turn this off. My issue with this is if an officer is busy on an active case and is unable to select his/her shift in the time frame, they should not be skipped. There is no way to change this. Typically after enough agencies complain, they will incorporate the change, however an option like this should be included from the start.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied October 2019

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback. As you are now aware, you have been provided with the latest in Shift and Vacation Bidding within the platform. The latest Shift Bidding is completely redesigned from the ground up based on customer input and our Vacation Bidding follows suit as well. These latest additions to our platform have been well received and we look forward to seeing them utilized by our customers who will provide positive feedback and suggestions as we continue to fine tune these modules. Thank you for being a loyal VCS customer and we look forward to working with you as we continue to expand functionality within our platform.

September 2016

Tech from Upstate NY county

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

September 2016

Pure Garbage

Support is minimal at best. Poorly written software. Upgrades are not numbered version-wise; named after the SEASONS! Expect lots of permission reversals after upgrades; Bells and whistles sold don't work. Don't expect to get any support when entire "team" is off at their seminars trying to sell this junk to prospective customers. Our company had to withhold a payment to get their attention to address still un-addressed technical issues.

Cons

Poorly written software, terrible tech support

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied March 2019

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear of your experience. Our support team is available to assist our customers around the clock, with many options available at vcssoftware.com/onboarding. All customers are invited to attend our annual 3-day User Conference where they can gain additional hands-on training from our Product Specialists, however, during that time, Support Technicians are still accessible to customers unable to attend the conference. We're proud to have a 98% customer retention rate and encourage you to reach out to info@vcssoftware.com to discuss how we can be of better service to you and your company.

March 2019

Jeff from Plymouth PD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

10 year User of VCS (POSS)

We have become much more accurate and have saved a tremendous amount of time processing payroll.

Pros

The software is very customizable and has been very accurate payroll product for our department. We use most features of the software and have been very pleased overall. The continued updates VCS provides are making the product better and better. We love the versatility of product and the various modules that tie into payroll.

Cons

The general customer service options have been responsive. With that said, I found that the follow through has sometimes been lacking. As an example, we have found some inaccurate reporting issues with some reports. Customer service was initially responsive and agreed that there is an issue, but several months and counting, I have not heard any update and the issue has not been resolved.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied October 2019

Thank you for your review. VCS takes great pride in our customer support. From time to time support matters become more of an issue that falls into the hands of our development team. Over the past several months we have worked on creating additional reports, adding features to our current reports and reformatting some of our larger web based reports. Please feel free to run the reports again and in the event the report(s) are not working as expected please create a new support case and we will be happy to look back into this for you.

April 2019

Thomas from Freehold Township Police

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Solid program that could use additional updates

Overall good experience and customer support is courteous and works hard to help with any issues, but as I said if a problem in not readily repairable it may never get address some times I do understand why but it can be frustrating

Pros

The program has a lot of features and it can be customized for many different applications

Cons

When issues are detected they sometimes do not address the issue. If they do address the issue it can take some time. Many things work differently form the Desk top program to the web version which causes trouble.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied October 2019

Thank you for your review. As the VCS Web Platform continuously grows to embody all of the best features from both our Legacy and Schedule App Desktop applications we, at times, find some conflicts that we needed to address. Some of these conflicts may require more advanced testing and coding for an upcoming release. We do try to make a concerted effort when migrating functions to our latest platform to provide security and stability within our environment. Some of our newest screens may look and feel slightly different as we attempt to provide new and improved functionality within them. As you are aware, we regularly update our Web platform to incorporate our newest features and program updates. Please keep an eye on our KBA Today Emails and our Change Log which provide valuable information to our customers.

September 2019

Geoerge from Allendale Police Dept.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

POSS Review

We have been using POSS since 2007 and it has proven itself many times over. Being able to run the many reports has enabled us to save unnecessary overtime expenses. Having the clear, simple views of daily and weekly schedules makes it easy to see who is working and where shifts need to be filled.

Pros

This software is very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

Printing functions could be improved.,particularly weekly & monthly schedules

Reasons for Choosing VCS

We needed a scheduling system that gave us different ways to look at our schedule and, more importantly, gave us the ability to run reports on overtime and time off that we were not able to do.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied September 2019

Thank you! We're glad to hear that POSS is beneficial to your department. We're always working on ways to improve our system and ensure that all functions are operating as efficiently as possible. If you experience any issues, please do not hesitate to reach out to our support team at support@vcssoftware.com.

July 2019

Shawn from Garland Police Department

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Public Safety

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Garland PD Review

The owner and employees are great guys. I really like the ability to schedule help sessions on anything and get to work one on one with someone to fix issues. This makes for an overall good experience. On the negative side, I've been promised some features, fixes, and reports from our old system for almost a year. The fixes and reports still haven't arrived. We want our court notification interface working again, in some form or fashion. We would like to sick our SICK EVENT report back in the system.

Pros

The software is web-based and also has a mobile friendly version for some features.

Cons

I would like to see more features on the mobile version. I would like to see quicker fixes to defects in the product. I've reported several. If they have been fixed, I haven't been told.

Reasons for Choosing VCS

Can't remember, it has been 13 years.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied October 2019

Thank you for your review and for being a loyal customer to VCS. Our Team is working on the updates to your proprietary court interface and as you are aware we have already moved the court module over to our Web Portal that you are using today. Please be sure to keep an eye on our KBA Today Emails, as well as, our Change Log for other updates and fixes to our platform. We have out the Sick Event back on our radar to move that into our Web Platform for you as well. Thank you for your positive back on our support model and we look forward to clearing up your few outstanding items in the near future.

June 2019

Mike from Ridgewood Police Department

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Great Scheduling Software

Great replacement for our old paper system. We are able to remotely view our schedules from everyone and hold everyone accountable. The system is great and the customer service is bar none.

Pros

Transparency and able to see schedule well into the future

Cons

Sometimes it can be confusing for new users and more advanced options.

Reasons for Choosing VCS

Customer service, word of mouth testimonials, and the ease of use sold us.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied August 2019

Thank you. We're glad to hear that you were able to eliminate your manual paper trail and are now scheduling more efficiently automatically! We offer unlimited 24/7 access to training resources at no additional cost, which can be found at vcssoftware.com/onboarding or by reaching out to support@vcssoftware.com.

September 2019

Scott from Carlstadt Police Department

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Best scheduling system

Having officers on the road more than in headquaters trying to fill overtime and figure out who call and in what order.

Pros

The amount of time it saves managing schedules, running reports and ability to make changes with ease.

Cons

That we didnt have it sooner because it truly makes life easier regardless of the size of your department.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied September 2019

Thank you! We're glad to hear about how much time and effort our software has saved you. If there's anything we can further assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to support@vcssoftware.com.

March 2019

Bert from Cresskill PD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Cresskill PD review of VCS

Excellent experience! The staff is very helpful. We built the system using webinars and phone calls. The staff walked us through every step. They are always available for follow up questions.

Pros

Very user friendly. The software is tailored to police work and has cut down on processing time for both scheduling and payroll.

Cons

So far I have found no cons. We were using a very old software system and our new system has really cut down on the time and effort needed to complete the tasks.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied August 2019

Thank you! We're glad to hear about how much time and effort our software has saved you. If there's anything we can further assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to support@vcssoftware.com.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Great Scheduling Software

Overall, we are very satisfied with the product as well as the customer service that we receive.

Pros

We use this software to manage the scheduling of Police personnel. POSS gives us an overview of the schedule, who requested off, who is out sick, and what assignments they are on. Very easy to use and deploy thanks to a great support team.

Cons

The only con that I can think of is that since we host our own server, as opposed to using the cloud solution, updates have to scheduled and manually installed by VCS instead of pushing it out automatically or providing an update via download.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied November 2019

Thank you! We're glad to hear that POSS is beneficial to your department. If you're interested in switching over to our cloud solution at any time, please let us know we'd be happy to get that set up for you as our goal is always to have POSS run as efficiently for you as possible.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

So far so good

Overall the experience is great. We don't have to do any more manual calculations of bonuses based on performances. It has all been pre-designed so we just enter the final performance and based on that the tool does the rest for us.

Pros

We just recently started using this tool from an older version where we needed a long list of approval for bonus payouts, this tool has helped us to save time in things like bonus calculations, requests of approvals and this process is overall faster now.

Cons

During the introduction phase, it was hard to get used to. Especially, since we had moved from a more archaic way of doing things for years.

Response from Visual Computer Solutions

Replied August 2019

Thank you! We're pleased to hear that our software has expedited your processes and made them more efficient. Since our platform is robust, a lot goes into our onboarding, but our product specialists are there to guide you every step of the way and ensure you are set up for success.