User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(29)

29

4 stars

(16)

16

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Eclipse IDE Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -5 of 45 results

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Flavio from Ericsson

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Eclipse changed the developer world

Consolidating the development environment using Eclipse for huge teams, spread all around the globe, helped to avoid loosing time to support more than on IDE and to maintain specific configurations which may be needed. We exported Eclipse configurations and even had a small team to certificate and manage internal plugins distributions, ensuring that the development work machinery was not stopped due to environment issues.

Pros

Eclipse IDE offers the capability to allow the users to develop plugins, which in my company was a killer feature because we had many proprietary languages that required also proprietary IDE. The plugins we developed helped a lot our dev teams community (about +1000 developers), bringing more efficiency and fun to the coding / testing / debugging activities.

Cons

If your application is too big, building it can cause the interface to hang, so, better to take coffee, a walk, to give time to Eclipse finish the process.

Reasons for Choosing Eclipse IDE

Eclipse is free and its usability was great.

Reasons for Switching to Eclipse IDE

Netbeans features and user experience was not as good as Eclipse offered.

February 2021

Mohammad Iqbal from MIKS Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Eclipse - Good IDE for Java

The overall experience with Eclipse IDE was good for Java but not for other programming languages comparatively. The absence of live server makes me dependent on other application for doing parallel job. It is slow and consumes lot of memory.

Pros

It is a powerful tool and Integrated Development Environment (IDE) for the developers / programmers using Java, C and Python. It has a good and modern user interface. It is available to download and use for multiple operating systems. It is open source and free to download and use. It support plugins.

Cons

It is memory eater and turns system slow. The absence of debugger for JavaScript is a lack. No plugin available for live server.

Reasons for Switching to Eclipse IDE

I was looking for a cheaper specifically Java supporting IDE.

January 2022

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Eclipse: Experience-Based Review

Pros

1. I've used Eclipse as a developer and automation engineer, and this IDE really adapts to what I need. I mainly use Eclipse for Java programming language as well as Python, and the coding experience stays the same. 2. IntelliSense feature is helpful. 3. Deployment is seamless since it can be integrated into CI/CD tools

Cons

1. If you have experience with other newer IDE now in the market, you may realize that Eclipse tends to be more "too techy" based on the interface. But if you prefer it oversimplified IDE (like PyCharm), this is for you.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

Switched to Software With Better User Experience / GUI

Overall the benefits of it being free and having lots of basic tutorials available did not outweigh the issues of the user interface and poor experience. I decided to go with IntelliJ IDE and was much happier overall.

Pros

As a former user, I'd say that the biggest benefits of Eclipse (while I used it) were the low price and the dearth of web content on using it. I was exploring Java applets as a tool in handling some internal tasks on a Intranet, so I wasn't even sure whether Java was the right choice for me. Being able to fire up a free yet capable IDE and follow some tutorials allowed me to test my proof of concept fairly quickly.

Cons

What led me to go with another product (IntelliJ IDEA) was the fact that the user interface and experience are just not enjoyable. The approach to debugging is very convoluted. I don't code very often, so at first I assumed it was normal. After trying a few other IDEs I realized that the whole Debug View approach seemed needlessly complicated, as a layperson. The UI is not very presentable, and it has some delays in refactoring and displaying that perhaps are a side effect of it being needlessly complex. Also, the dearth of tutorials and plugins were good at first but then I ran into the issue that the software is changing so much that the tutorials and plugins were oftentimes irrelevant or rendered obsolete.

October 2021

Rodrigo from Dapa Sistemas Ltda ME

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Solves many problems, but it's not the first option

Despite the shortcomings, I can say that it's more pleasant to create for Android in Eclipse using the plugin than using Android Studio. That's because the development of the supporting part of Eclipse is phenomenal. He helps you with things that clearly someone needed to use and took the trouble to develop. For example, for Android the help to find errors or gaps in internationalization is much more efficient in Eclipse than in Android Studio. When I used it for Java and PHP some things were like that, but then you stumble across something someone else did too lazy or in a hurry, and you get stuck.

Pros

It is a complete IDE, with many support tools, many plugins and support for many popular programming languages. It has "versions" with embedded items, making it easy to install for this or that purpose, such as IOT projects or embedded electronics, PHP or Java. If you don't have another tool, with Eclipse you can create your end-to-end product and deliver.

Cons

First off, Eclipse is free, but I put an average price. This is because despite not having a license cost, you have cost of use in productivity. If you take twice as much time on tool X it already costs you hours of production. I find Eclipse old-fashioned, heavy, huge and dated. It's not nice to use Eclipse, it's just functional. And he has many errors in obscure canvases that look like they were made twenty years ago.

Reasons for Choosing Eclipse IDE

It's worth commenting because the decision he took a few years ago is still in effect, and we would make the same decision today: we tested Netbeans and InteliJ IDEA at the time. Netbeans was slow, heavy, did any task in the least intuitive way. JBuilder was expensive and therefore unaffordable for us. InteliJ IDEA was even more expensive, but it was great. Eclipse was mid-range between the three worlds and with no direct associated cost.

Reasons for Switching to Eclipse IDE

That was a while ago. Today Eclipse is part of our toolbox but is only used for certain types of tasks. At the time we needed to get out of VB6 and JBuilder (Borland) was too expensive. The eclipse did, and while it's not a ferrari, sometimes it's the old 1113 truck that saves the day. We tried using Netbeans for a while, but it was SLOW and managed to make even the easiest task difficult. At the time it was Sun, but Netbeans under Apache doesn't look better.

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Abraham from Fynnefoto Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Is Eclipse IDE a Good Software?

Pros

Eclipse ide is a full environment for creating, testing, and deploying software especially if you are a java developer. It can be extended through plugins. it allows you to test out your codes along every step of the way and gives you detailed analytics about errors and warnings in your codes. It basically helps you debug your codes

Cons

If you are a beginner, it is not easy to use and the documentation is not very understandable. It is a heavy software and can sometimes be slow to loading

Reasons for Switching to Eclipse IDE

eclipse ide suited my programming language more

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Saad from Khushhali Microfinance Bank Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Best IDE for Java Developers

We use Eclipse IDE in the bank for development of Java interfaces and APIs for consuming third party application data.

Pros

Eclipse has been in the market for a long time now and hence the IDE has now matured to a great extent. For Java Developers, this is the best bet. Excellent integrated environment for development and exposing APIs as a war file. It has an excellent debugging tool. Also there are a lot of plugins available which makes implementing business logic more convenient as compared to Net Beans.

Cons

Its sad to know that Eclipse is not as prepared for other high level programming languages like in case of Java. So if you are coding in a language other than Java SE or EE, Eclipse might not be your best bet.

October 2021

Angeline from Infosys Limited

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Best IDE I have used for my development work

Being a user for almost a decade now I have always felt that this is one of the best IDEs that I have ever worked amongst every IDE I have tried.

Pros

Ease of setup and user interactions to set up a project and do the development work for almost a decode for me now. A lot of improvements on their new versions show that they are valuing their users and consistently improvising their products.

Cons

The IDE takes a little long time to load at times when trying to import complex projects from github that may have a lot of dependencies to be initialized and some time results in memory issue

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Giovanni from Banco General

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

One of the best IDE for java

It is a very complete IDE, with great documentation and you can find complete forums with solutions to almost any type of problem that you can find with the IDE, it also has a large library by the community in which you can any type of library that you They could be useful in your projects, whether personal or work.

Pros

One of the things I like about this IDE is its wide range of documentation and community support, one can always find some help in a forum about the IDE. A very complete IDE that allows you to carry out your projects easily and quickly, allowing you to export projects easily. Its installation and configuration is really simple, it does not require a great effort to configure it and in a matter of minutes you will have a tool ready to work.

Cons

As well as giving you a wide range of options and configurations, it gives you a certain complexity, since when looking for some necessary option for IDE configurations it can take a while.

December 2021

Thenappan from collabrium Systems LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

eclipse for java developers

excellent

Pros

easiness to get started , spring boot integration with the IDE and debugging made easy on eclipse and automated suggestion of code

Cons

some times it hangs , we have to quit the process and start fresh back . memory management.

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

The IDE that made Standards

Apart from the reduce the performance due to the plugin handler(might be on my machine only) the overall experience is fantastic i get to know eclipse IDE when most of the famous code editors were paid and eclipse opened a wide variety of selections for me specially with their android development suite(i know google made that but it was still running on eclipse) times went by and new laguages dropped in but the dev community were able to pull everything to maintain Eclipse as the Modern IDE for most Open Source fans and followers.

Pros

I am amazed how i forgot to review Eclipse as i am using the same since 2014 or should i say when the time android studio was based on it. If i were to say myself the wide selection of plugins and ofcourse countless devs working on Eclipse IDE to modernize or make it better for new generation to come is simply extra-ordinary. I love the way how it adapts the code formatting and refracting as it's best just define the project language and you are ready to go, simple yet amazing.

Cons

There are few things here and there ofcourse only in my personal opinion the thing i would love to have changed is it's plugin handler, i love how many plugins are available for it but the plugin handler sometimes just encrease the load time for some projects that aren't even using that many plugins. That's all nothing else.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Eclipse - Powerful but it requires getting used to

The versatility as a Java IDE and WSO2 Integration Studio make that it is actually quite handy for both Java and Synapse Development.

Pros

Eclipse is a powerful IDE that has a large number of functions and a multitude of views and settings. The Eclipse framework is also used in other products like dbeaver, Apache DS and therefor familiar to people with those tools. It is an extensible product with add-ons like Integration Studio makes it a versatile tool.

Cons

Eclipse has a large number of perspectives, views and so on. This makes it a bit hard to navigate between all the options. The stability sometimes also has issues. Especially when you have a large number of open windows. The options are not always directly clear as to what each option will do (e.g. a number of options have the same truncated name like maven build )

Reasons for Choosing Eclipse IDE

The fact that in its core it is a wellknown JAVA IDE and the fact that is offers in Integration Studio the Graphical High level view and the source code view make it easy to work with AFTER a learning curve and making sure that you do not do the things that make it less stable (i.e. many open windows)

February 2021

Sonu from Bigtricks.in

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

Old But Still a Gold

People always look for IDEs that can speed up the process of development and that's why they need some very good features and Eclipse still tops the List and very good as It's Free, Open Source Easily available, Tools and Plugins are very good

Pros

I am using IDE since 2013 when I started learning JAVA and yet Eclipse is My First Choice and it will be. Eclipse is a very Intelligent IDE if I talk about Java & spring Boot applications development. The Auto Doc Features, Inbuilt Console, Now the Dark Mode made eclipse a good Ide to work on. I recommend to fellows for working on it and the Best Part It's Free

Cons

Updated in Eclipse are a little bit slow, The Major updates usually take time Otherwise it's good

August 2020

Rajshekhar from Lakshmi Narain College of Technology, Bhopal

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2020

Eclipse - A simple, Easy to use, Basic IDE (Mother of all IDE's)

My experience as a student with eclipse is very good and smooth. I am still using this IDE for developing many major and minor academic projects. I started using this IDE as a student to practice java but then I started all my development work on it, many coaching institute including my college using this ide to teach the students.

Pros

The best feature about eclipse is its interface which is basic, clean and easy to understand. This IDE is very lightweight in terms of consuming processors. Most helpful user for this IDE will be a student because for a beginner this IDE provide enough features and it does not confuse the user by showing complex architecture and multiple options, If you are a student then I hardly recommend you this IDE.

Cons

The thing which I did not like the most is that It does not have a javascript debugger or a live server plugin as we have in netbeans and visual studio code, while developing a website a faced multiple problems in javascript writing because I can not see the errors at the time of writing, I think this is the only disadvantage in my opinion.

February 2021

Christopher from Restless Software LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great IDE without the high price tag

Overall I like Eclipse and have had a positive experience. It is an inexpensive option that performs at a high level.

Pros

What I like most about the Eclipse IDE is the different profiles depending on the type of development being done. If you're using java, that's the profile is pretty much standard. If you're using Spring you can launch your server directly within the IDE. In addition there are plenty of add-on's that can be downloaded from the market place.

Cons

What I liked least is the lack of shortcuts out of the box. I've used other IDE's like InteliJ and the added shortcuts make things way more efficient; nonetheless, Intellij can be rather expensive when compared to an open sourced option like Eclipse. The fact that you can get Eclipse IDE without a monthly subscription makes the lack of shortcuts seem like a frivolous complaint.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

My first great introduction to Java Programming and rightfully to many others.

While I change IDE every now and then, with its vast plugin support, Eclipse IDE remained with me for a long time. Amazing online community is one of the things you won't miss this one.

Pros

As it is open source, it comes with its own set of benefits like huge number of plugins, third party support and integrated management. Faster than many IDE's I have used. Supports multiple programming languages. Customize appearance like themes, light mode, dark mode etc. Debugging and auto format

Cons

I learnt Java in this IDE, there is nothing much to complain about when your language is Java but when you use it for other languages you might not have similar experience. For example lack of support for CMAKE. It could be optimized further to run large projects without crashing.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Good IDE for Java

Pros

This has best UI nearly you can utilize it as ide for java, c/c++, python as due to its flexible activity. Useful for project developement and the executives, it have an incredible troubleshooting limit which measure the code quick..

Cons

Nothing to detest except for it not help web improvement and it takes more memory area.

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Pavol from Itera

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2021

Great if you don’t want to spend money on IntelliJ products

This is definitely the best free IDE that you can get, but it does not come near any other commercial products like IntelliJ IDEA. I would actually recommend working with community version of IDEA rather than Eclipse. Even if you are a learning developer start with free trial of IntelliJ instead. You won’t have to learn new controls when you eventually switch to IDEA in your first paid job.

Pros

Versatile tool that supports many languages. It is free and a lot of plugins are free as well, which makes it a powerful IDE for also some serious work. It is open-source, so there are many great projects based on Eclipse. From the usage point of view it is fine, but it does not have the UX of a commercial product.

Cons

I had a lot of issues with stability and various bugs which caused me days to find out. They were highly specific, but still it is something that hindered me a lot. Free plugins are of various quality and usually will make the stability issues worse.

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Charan Raj from Deloitte

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Finest and premier tool for any development in the market

Overall I am really impressed with this tool Can do everything Development, Automation of UI, Integration what not using this

Pros

I can say everything is best in this tool right from GUI, easy of use, Integration/collaborations with other tools Worked for UI, API automation Code review Comparing Difference language supports

Cons

Least about this is nothing Only thing everyone say is, it is a open source so if any company/client wants to work on licensed then they will not look for this

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Andre from BPlus Tecnologia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Reference in JAVA development

It went from a simple learning tool to the ultimate development tool. How not to like something with so much quality and no cost? In addition to a strongly active community.

Pros

There is no way to separate Eclipse from Java development. I learned how to use it in 2000, and I still use it. Packed with tools and options, it's definitely the best choice.

Cons

It's relatively heavy software, but it's also evolved like the hardware that uses it, so if you want results, you're going to use it anyway.

March 2021

Sureshkumar from Lowe’s

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

No hassle software development

Overall experience has been great and have been using this software for 12 years now.

Pros

Eclipse has lots of cool features and it makes Development with spring framework seamless. It also supports Java/J2EE development and has built in plugins for most frameworks. It has cool integration with git and makes the code check in process simpler. Debugging is great too.

Cons

There is nothing about this software which I do not like.

August 2020

Kunal from Lnct Bhopal

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Best Java developement ide

It was a best experience with eclipse as its versatile operation helps to work with all popular language like c, c++, python, and Java. It integrate with most of the tools and installing of extension are very easy. It have an autocomplete feature which help user to code with less error and quick

Pros

This has best user interface almost you can use it as ide for java, c/c++, python as because of its versatile operation. Good for project developement and management, it have an excellent debugging capacity which process the code fast

Cons

Nothing to dislike but it not support web development and it takes more memory location

March 2021

Binigya from Hashstash

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Eclipse - For all your Java development needs

Pros

Eclipse is THE Integrated Development Environment you will need to use for any sort of Java software development. I loved that even though it is a complex IDE, it is pretty easy to get started with. Development with Eclipse is a hiccup free experience and has pretty reliable integration with GIT and contains lots of plugins to extend its features.

Cons

Although it is the best development suite for Java, it is not exactly the best experience for other languages such as Python or C. It is lacking in features for those languages as compared to CodeBlocks or PyCharm for example. Also, it is quite resource intensive as it gulps down oodles of RAM to maintain its smooth operations, but even then it crashes sometimes for extensively large projects, which is never desirable in a good IDE.

May 2021

Sairamya Madhavi Devi from N/A

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Most recommended IDE

Since I have been using it since a long time, I am very comfortable with all the features however easy/complicated they are.

Pros

My main language of work is java. All my academic projects, professional projects were all on eclipse IDE. I find it very simple and useful to maintain java projects.

Cons

Setting up of eclipse is a tad tiresome. If you are not used to use this IDE, it will be hard to understand the project explorer.

January 2021

Frédéric from Hamelin Technologie

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Eclipse as ide for java or c++

Yes...it make possible to start programming without breaking the bank

Pros

Opensource and free , you can download it for free and start to code without major depenses due to a software license

Cons

The integreation of the android sdk that is very painfull....and after the setup of java within windows....It was taking 4 fours to start coding

July 2020

Jagathi Harshitha from Cisco

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Best IDE for Java development

Pros

Most suitable for java and spring boot development. It has multiple plugins and easy integration with Git. This IDE is developer-friendly and debugging is easier compared to others. Errors and possible solutions will be shown which makes developer's life easier.

Cons

Missing few features which are available in Intellij. Sometimes it takes more time to load and requires reboots. Uses more RAM and becomes slow. Difficult to use for languages other than Java.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Eclipse Makes Software Development Easy

It has the best user interface and time to time upgradation makes it even better than before.

Pros

Eclipse is best for development of java projects as it provides features for auto completion, formatting etc.

Cons

If more than 3 projects are being added to workdpace of eclipse, it takes a lot of time at time of starting it up.

July 2020

Andrea from Cloudacademy sagl

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

A huge software

Pros

I've used a lot Eclipse when I was student and for a bit in my work experience and yes! It works well. It Is free. It support a lot of modern framework like spring, hibernate or tomcat. It give ti developers a lot of useful shortcut in order to simplfy their works. But..

Cons

... It Is a very huge IDE. It need a loot memory and cpu in order to be loaded and also it remain slow even of you run this IDE on a very good PC.

May 2021

Naresh from Nisum Technologies

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Code with ease and maintain well

Recommend to use for all the level of engineers.

Pros

Eclipse IDE helps to implement the requirements in the favorite languages without and hassle.

Cons

It's always fun to use Eclipse except the case where it hangs with memory issue, apart from that love to do coding using this IDE.

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Muhammed from Qatar University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Great IDE for java

Pros

When compared to many IDEs this one is very easy to use and make our job easier as programmers. This IDE not just declares the errors of code, it also shows us how to fix them.

Cons

The major con of this software is that it does not support many programming languages like Visual Studio.

October 2020

gaurav from TS Bank

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Eclipse IDE for programmers

Industry gold standard for IDE, easy to program multiple languages on it.

Pros

One of best industry standard software for developers. Pretty easy to use and well organized

Cons

Can be difficult to learn the nitty gritty details of the software for a beginner.

May 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2021

A decent IDE for Java development

Eclipse is a great software IDE for development in multiple languages. It mainly supports Java, but we can use it for many other purposes by installing the right plugins. The support system is not the best as it is open-source. Otherwise, it is a great IDE for beginners and experienced developers alike.

Pros

It is open-source and free to download for anyone. Everything related to java development can be done in a single window - from writing code with autocompletion features, to debugging, deploying and testing. I like that there are unlimited extension support via plugins. The multi-file management is very convenient. I also like that we can use SQL, python, JavaScript etc in the same environment, and it also allows integration with Git, which is helpful.

Cons

The IDE takes its time to load. It also takes a lot of RAM to run, so not very suitable for smaller-end systems. It's UI also seems a bit cluttered, which it could improve.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Jason from MSI Crop

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Your Programming Tool Box

Pros

Workspace management is a breeze. Need to push your changes to your repository? No problem. Like suggestions as you type. It’s got you.

Cons

The integrated browser is based on IE. not the best modern web development

August 2021

Pavan from DXC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Great IDE for Java Developers

Pros

Love how easy this IDE is to use and you can do so much with this tool!

Cons

Wish there was a live view foe front end where we can see the instant change on the page, also would like more options for mobile apps

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Deepanshu from ServiceNow

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Most customisable and old IDE for Java

It's good over all except the times, it behave strangely and give random errors

Pros

- Plugins availability - Themes - Autocomplete - Java Extensions

Cons

- Build failure suddenly - Memory issues

July 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Popular IDE not only for developers

Easy to use tool with large community support.

Pros

A lot of other IDEs are based on this application, so you need to learn usage of it once and you can use it up more times. It is released in packages for different audiences.

Cons

It consumes a lof of memory, when you are working on bigger projects.

June 2021

Amitanshu from HighRadius

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Easy to use IDE

Pros

Pros of Eclipse: - Easy debug mode - Clean view - Regular Upgrades

Cons

Cons of Eclipse: - Plugins are not optimised

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Excellent IDE for Java programming

Quite satisified and go to tool for Java programming

Pros

1. Supports customizable templates like dark and light theme 2. File detection with the tail end of filename extension 3. Supports running JUnit for testing and running Java programming languages 4. Has integrations of almost all Java libraries and easy to use

Cons

1. Git support will be a lot appreciated making it convenient for programmers 2. Doesn't support all languages

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Matthew from Advanced Integrated System

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Excellent for Startups

I really enjoyed the fact that I could even open netbeans based projects (with the exception of the GUI builder in Java swing). It made life a lot easier and on a budget it works very well.

Pros

I loved the fact that most of the tools to do any Java-based or even pyton-based development are free in this IDE. It gives a good introduction to new developers especially in the startup context.

Cons

There are now much better IDE's that are capable of better memory management. Unfortunate eclipse has slowly been getting heavier and heavier and has become as overweight as netbeans.

Reasons for Choosing Eclipse IDE

Better memory management, newer tools and Intellij has a LOT more plugins.

October 2020

Benjamin from SMART

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

A functional free editor

Eclipse is a functional editor that has its quirks. There are better alternatives available - but not for the price

Pros

Lots of integrations available depending which tech stack you are using for development

Cons

IDE stability and refactoring is not as good as other paid software like IntelliJ

May 2021

Burak from Ericsson

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

THE Java IDE

I have been developing with Java for quite some time now. ı think Eclipse provides the best IDE experience.

Pros

Eclipse provides what you would expect from an IDE and much more. I would recommend Eclipse to all developers who would use Java particularly.

Cons

I tend to think that it uses bit more system resources than it should; but nothing terrible.

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Deborah from Unisys

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Eclipse for the win!

Pros

Although I do not use Eclipse often now, I used it often in my other position. I was teaching Configurations for a proprietary product and rather than code Java by hand, I would teach the course using Eclipse. SO much easier to code and debug!

Cons

Nothing! This software helped out a lot as I taught those courses.

July 2021

Zhongyu from Blue Daisy Space

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Good IDE for beginners or a team that's already using it or STS.

Used it for 10+ years until I found IntelliJ and can't ever switch back to Eclipse so there you know which one is the better IDE. Unless you have to use STS, I would stay with IntelliJ

Pros

the eclipse marketplace and abundant plugins.

Cons

debugging can be nightmare if customizing the settings files didn't go smoothely.

Reasons for Choosing Eclipse IDE

Used Eclipse IDE while it was the best and most popular product.

April 2021

Yaroslav from Freelance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Classic IDE, can be good for using on daily basis

Pros

It's simple for beginner Good code autocompletion Okay for small middle-size project

Cons

might be choppy and laggy for big projects, but overall it's okay.

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Used to be the best

Used to be very good. It's still decent, especially if you need something free. But spending the money on another IDE can definitely be worth it.

Pros

I used Eclipse in school and for 5+ years on the job afterwards. It's a great IDE, supports all needs and there's a ton of plugins.

Cons

It's starting more and more to feel outdated, and there's no decent dark mode that does everything. Upgrading to new versions was always a hassle.