User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(53)

53

4 stars

(19)

19

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse RStudio Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 75 results

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Prince from Stoller USA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Great tool for coding in R

I've used RStudio to build out code that can help run simple systems that help save a lot of time. Our most important need is that we had to do calculations using data from different sources that can manually take hours but RStudio allows us to get it done within minutes! And the best thing is that you can customize the output better than some other software out there. So overall, I like it a lot but I can understand why some may need something even more powerful.

Pros

This is the best way to code in R and run code that could be helpful for all tasks from the mundane (like renaming or moving files) to the more advanced (like calculations across multiple excel sheets and creating a new master excel sheet with all of the data). Variables are clearly defined in the workspace at the top right, console at the bottom left - your typical work layout which helps with consistency. Overall, I love how powerful it is and like how many different packages are available.

Cons

It's not as fast as some other software, but even for being free, this is more than enough. There isn't a lot of help for using this program either and I feel like I only knew about it because we've used it in school. Overall, the UI could get an update in looks to be more updated with the current times.

Reasons for Choosing RStudio

Easiest coding system to use at the time and had an easier interface for other users.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

Cost - SAS is extremely expensive compared to the free version of RStudio

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Exceptional IDE for Working with Data

I have found using RStudio intuitive, easy, and fun to use. I continue to marvel at the big and little things the developers have implemented that makes this a world class IDE and an indispensable tool for data analysis, data visualization, and general purpose coding.

Pros

RStudio is a delightful IDE for working with Rlang and data. The ability to view tables instantly as you write each line of code allows for deeper insights and better coding. The table viewer even has sort and filtering functions to assist with the coding. The IDE functions make finding the right code commands and their arguments as simple as can be hoped. The layout of the screen and the ability to break out separate windows is really great and makes using the software on a single screen or multiple screens very friendly.

Cons

Missing since of the third party add-ons of IDEs like PyCharm or Visual Studio that enable greater customisation.

Reasons for Choosing RStudio

RStudio is superior in all respects for Rlang and data science. It is far more developed and versatile for data analysis.

May 2020

Rachel from Temple University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Many functionalities but large learning curve

Overall it seems like a very worthwhile platform, but extremely time consuming learn the basics. This can be frustrating and discouraging.

Pros

There are a ton of packages that can be loaded into R for many purposes (e.g. tables, graphs). For example, GGPlot makes very professional looking graphs that are great for publications. Once you have a basic understanding of the code processes, R can be very useful for a variety of statistics, from simple to quite complex (e.g. MLM, HLM). Also, R is free, which is so amazing considering some of its competitors cost thousands of dollars.

Cons

This is very very difficult to learn as a beginning. It takes quite some time to feel remotely comfortable with the syntax. There are free tutorials on youtube, etc, but it can still be very discouraging as a beginning with coding experience to get started on this platform.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

For coursework assignments.

November 2021

User Profile Picture

Vivek from Bridgei2i Analytics Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

R for Data Analysts

R was created keeping the data science community in mind, and till date it has lived up to their standards. It is a tool purely focused on analytics and creation of machine learning models. Its libraries allows users to tweak every possible parameters to get the desired results.

Pros

It has always been a tool for statisticians. It provides very specific ML libraries for very specific tasks. The libraries are strategically developed to cater to every minute hyperparameter tuning to achieve optimum results. RStudio allows the codes to be converted to markdowns which can be converted to HTML pages and published as websites effortlessly.

Cons

As mentioned, the R language is quite challenging for naïve users and hence its documentation is also very technical. Its requires some time to gain hands-on experience to get used to this tool. The customer support is also not quite established as compared to python.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

RStudio provided better options as well as flexibility to create optimized machine learning models

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Excellent tool for modelling!

Pros

Really great tool and the execution time is quite low!

Cons

There is nothing that I did't like about R-Studio.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

For the execution time and because R-Studio is free of charge.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Code with simple insights to what you do

Overall, I could write my desired code and do my job using powerful packages which were available.

Pros

R studio provides a user-friendly environment for R-coder, especially for beginners. The environment provides easy access to variables and their values which is more critical to beginners who need to know what is happening in each part of the code.

Cons

This might be a pain point for R overall and not specifically for R studio. However, there are different syntaxes for doing one task when working with some data types, which might get confusing. I prefer simplicity with only one solution.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

It was way more robust and easier to use compared to Matlab.

August 2021

Marianela from UNMdP

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

RStudio: from scary to lifesaver

It helps me to analized, organized and get explanatory and understandable graphics of my time serie data. I work with a great amount of numeral data that could make me go mad but RStudio helps a lot. It is not that scary once you understand how to use the program, in fact it has become one of the most important tools in my research.

Pros

RStudio becomes my best friend. It is so practical to use when you get used to. I work with great amounts of data, time series data of phytoplankton, and having the right packages and codes make my work so simpler. I can analyze and get beautiful and explanatory graphics in a few minutes. The coding part is very handy and it can be editing and saved so you do not lose any code or project for the future. Last but not least, it has an universe of graphic design (colours, shapes,...) that adapts to whatever you need.

Cons

I have been using the 1.4.1106 version of RStudio and I have a big problem, every once in a while the program crashed and get closed. I could not find any solution to that problem and it keeps happening. Apart from that, it is a very handy program but you need to learn how to use it and, at first, it is not easy at all. So many steps and packages that you have to be very careful or you are gonna end up very frustrating and angry. It could help a lot to bundle functions from different packages (that are statistically related) into one and the program could provide a "first approach" tutorial when you install it for the first time.

April 2021

Sudarsan from MAHE

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2021

A Good Tool For R Programmers

Overall, this is my to-go tool for R programming even though there are other options such as Jupyter that offer many different kernels such as Python and Julia other than R.

Pros

The ability to install missing R packages instantly, creating R Markdown documents, and integration with Shiny Web App are the most appealing features for me as a machine learning researcher. I use RStudio almost everyday and have found it be one of the best interfaces to the R programming language for large scale data science projects.

Cons

Memory management, in particular, with regards to installed packages is not intuitive and the user has to rely on command line options for a clearer picture.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

Installing and managing missing packages was easier with RStudio.

October 2021

Ugnė from Bored Panda

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Don't use R without this

Pros

I love this software, I may be biased as it was what I started with, but it has some features that I miss in other coding interfaces. To name a few: the ability to find and replace strings in your code (even with regex), the ability to comfortably view stored variables, all the neat keyboard shortcuts. You can even run Python from it!

Cons

As I said, I love it, so it is hard to find criticism for it. Perhaps it could have R Markdown integrated right away - I am fairly certain that is not the case by default.

December 2021

Sushma from Na

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

One of the best

Pros

Best software to manage the data analyze and plot

Cons

It's bit tricky initially once you master then it's very nice

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Mahmood from Self-Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

The best suite for R programmer

In my opinion, Rstudio provides the best environment to be used by statisticians and data scientists. The software is great and its supporting website provides a lot of tutorials.

Pros

As a statistician, I have been an active user of the R statistical programming language since 2007, and I had insisted to use the legacy R GUI all these years until about two years ago. Then I started to use RStudio and It was really a big step that makes me more productive. RStudio is an advanced Integrated Development Environment (IDE) for the R language. It has a very nice user interface with advanced code highlighting, viewing data environment, help, and graphs in the same window. Moreover, It is integrated with GIT for easy version controlling inside of the Rstudio. Furthermore, It facilitates creating R shiny apps and developing R packages. Last but not least, it let to easily develop an R notebook to integrate code, graph, table, and documentation with the ability to export it to HTML, PDF, and Word formats. So it is a complete R environment for both Statisticians and Data scientists.

Cons

Rstudio does not provide menu-driven support for data analysis. In fact, a user can make it him/herself by using Shiny apps but the nature of the Rstudio is code-driven and the software graphical user interface is intended to help programmers and data scientists and not ordinary pople that like a menu-driven data analysis framework.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

R GUI provides a very basic environment for R in Windows. Rstudio is an advanced and complete environment for Desktop (Windows/Mac/Linux) and Web.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

The best R suite for statistical analysis

My overall experience has been great, I used RStudio during my PhD program and continue to use for statistical analysis as well as developing new functions, running data analysis and data visualization.

Pros

RStudio integrates the programming language of R into a suite where the user can download packages, visualize their code and run it as well as debug it. Its a must have for R programmers.

Cons

There are no major dislikes about R studio, being a free software it does depend on the open source community for continuing development, which can be arguably not beneficial to the software.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

Free software.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Best IDE for R

The user interface is friendly enough and easy to navigate through for beginners and the tools and capabilities are very satisfactory for advanced users. So R-Studio is a great product for a wide range of users.

Pros

I have enjoyed sing R studio in my machine learning project. R-Studio provides great visual representations of data which I found tremendously helpful. If you are doing heavy R coding, R Studio is a must. The variables are defined in the environment and you can see them by simply clicking on them. There are lots of great libraries to experience with once yo get a hang of it. R-Studio can slow down with large data, but the great integration with cloud computing technologies make up for it. I used the Azure Cloud for cloud computing with R-Studio and I liked that the integration was seamless and the process was so easy. I set the cloud in R-Studio under five minutes.

Cons

Some libraries are not optimized for performance. So you might need to try a few libraries before finding an implementation that will run the algorithm smoothly for a large data set. Also, the program might freeze and you might not be able to recover your work. It's always a good idea to save your work.

March 2021

Carlos from University of Warwick

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

A de facto standard for R Developers

It has almost everything an R developer will ever need + some features that are particularly appealing for data scientists (using R) that other generic IDEs are lacking, such as the integration with knitr, pandoc, and markdown, bibliographies and visual editor, that make them particularly appropriate for writing papers or other types of reports.

Pros

* Features: it has almost every feature a developer may need + some specific ones for R developers (such as the integration with Knitr and Rmd files) * Objects' explorer is a must in data science, and Rstudio's is particularly good for exploring and giving lot of information about every object in a glimpse. * Multi-platform: GNU/Linux, Windows, Mac * FLOSS * It is used extensively within the R Community * Can be used with python, too

Cons

* Lacks refactoring capabilities * Not as appealing as other more modern IDES (such as VSCode) * Not so good for languages other than R * Not extensible

April 2021

Ogechi from USAA

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Awesome free analytical software

I used r-studio to clean/visualize data and run analyses for a psychology study I worked on. It helped me build on my basic statistical knowledge and gain confidence in my querying.

Pros

R-studio is one of the easiest to use statistical tools. It's clean, sleek interface is very intuitive and user friendly. It can handle large amounts of data and it suggests functions as you type, making it very beginner friendly. R-studio was a life saver for me in graduate school and is now a convenient tool I use in my work as an analyst.

Cons

R-studio automatically updates periodically which can be a pain. Also, it cannot run multiple queries at the same time.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Designed with science and engineering in mind

The value of this software is that it enables basically anyone to easily access and analyze large datasets. It has become imperative in biomedical science now to accommodate sequencing data, and even with no programming experience, R studio made it easy for me to get started with R. It's a must have for anyone who wants to do anything from moving a column to generating heat maps, and it can also compute statistics for you. All you have to do is know the right commands and how to use them, which I found challenging - it requires you to either have dedicated time to learn, or know someone who is very familiar with the programming environment already.

Pros

I don't have much of a computer background, so I was very hesitant about using R-studio, but it was actually a lot more easy than I expected. It is a powerful tool to do everything from simple one-line calculations and commands to full scripts that you can develop and run to analyze and output large datasets. I've found it to be invaluable in assessing sequencing data, and it makes it easy to manipulate large cohorts of data that excel would freeze if you tried to do it manually.

Cons

It i really hard to teach yourself how to use this software. At first, I was even confused which pane to type in, since there seemed to be two. However, after an initial ten minute introduction by another member of the team wo used R frequently, I was able to easily pick up how to use R studio to develop scripts and commands in R. You really have to get someone to teach you the different commands in order to make full use of R though.

January 2021

John from Independent Consultant

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

RStudio is a versatile independent development environment

My overall experience with RStudio has been very positive. My prior experience in code writing was mainly in SAS, STATA and Matlab. RStudio seems to be a much better IDE than those used by these commercial software applications.

Pros

RStudio is easy to install and use for programming. It has all the features one expects an IDE to have and the display makes accessing features clear and simple. The popularity of R and RStudio means there is an abundance of information, free tutorials and support from programming websites like DataCamp. For python users you can link RStudio to python for an IDE. Finally, RStudio is superior for code preparation and testing than to other freely available IDEs such as Microsoft's Visual Studio Code.

Cons

I have no significant complaints about RStudio. The problem of backwards compatibility of different versions of R and R packages is not an RStudio problem, and RStudio works with all versions of R and R packages. RStudio might look into ways to make the creation of projects that maintain R compatibility via the packrat package more prominent.

March 2021

Rashid from Cambridge School of Weston

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

R Studio Review

Overall R studio is an excellent product and a great tool to supplement teaching statistics and algebra II at the high school level and any statistics and data science class at the college algebra.

Pros

R studio is an improved version to manage and execute code in the R platform. The user interface makes it extremely easy to organize and visualize data sets and it extremely useful for teaching. R studio is also easy to download and install and is free for individual users! Since it is open source there are many add ons that you can implement to the library to improve its functionality.

Cons

R studio's greatest strength is also its greatest weakness, as a open source software there is a lack of support at the beginner level. You will have to do some online searching to find great tutorials and there is also a lack of customer support. I also found it difficult to intergrate R studio with other languages such as python or C+. It also seems catered to more of a data science analysis approach rather than programming and execution.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Excellent IDE for R.

Overall, an excellent IDE for the R language. Not as smooth and bug-free as could be.

Pros

An excellent R IDE for beginner and expert alike. A ton of useful features that makes using R extremely easy, such auto-completion, documentation browser, R Notebooks functionality, data viewer, debugging and build tools, GitHub integration, and more. Doesn't hurt that it looks good too, with the available themes.

Cons

Can be a little slow and sometimes glitchy. For example, the data viewer often cannot hand large data samples. Will sometimes crash for no particular reason. The R Notebooks functionality, though still very useful, is currently buggy and missing obvious features - could be much better! Furthermore, there are some features that are lacking compared to a customisable text editor such as Atom.

October 2020

Prasanna Dhammika from University of Peradeniya

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

R Studio For Data Mining

Basically, I have good memories with this software. When I was learning as a graduate, I used to use this R studio to solve some statistical and mathematical problems which are given by my lectures. There are many aspects of this R studio. If you are a Student, Statisticians or Mathematician, still you may able to use this in order to make things easy. It has given many options to get some quality graphs that are not available in other software. You have so many ways to present your output. You have a bunch of options to do some analysis in different techniques. But this is highly recommended for those who are familiar with statistics or Mathematics.

Pros

When we want to take the analysis output, there are so many options available according to that scenario such as R notebook, R markdown, R shiny etc. The very best second thing is this is open-source software( you do not need to buy it)

Cons

When I am dealing with some data mining process, I need to install some packages and I should have a great awareness about those packages in order to get the best output.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Dustin from Brigham Young University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best tool to use when working in R

Overall, this software is great and makes my day to day life much easier. There aren't many issues to complain about.

Pros

I like pretty much everything about this software. It makes my code writing tasks so much easier and more enjoyable. I really like the integration with Bash and Python. It's nice being able to write code in various languages in the same document. I like being able to see my code, console, global environment, and other windows all at the same time which is done with finesse in this software. Having a easy-access, searchable "help" window is a huge time saver.

Cons

There are some bugs I come across every now and again. For example, I had code that would not work like expected. The function I was using was giving a weird output. After troubleshooting for an hour, I closed out of R-Studio, went back in and the function was working as it should. I've encountered other similar issues as well where a simple, "close" and "reopen" fixes problems.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Excellent Data Analysis Tool

Working as a freelance epidemiologist and research consultant it is essential that I have access to a program within which I can analyze large amounts of data and share the results easily. R-Studio lets me do this. One the interface of R-Studio is understood it is easy to navigate and allows for numerous analytical procedures to be performed.

Pros

R-Studio is free to use and allows users to analyze large datasets easily and quickly. Code for R is available from a variety of sources which enables complicated analysis to be undertaken more easily than writing the code oneself.

Cons

I really feel there are no cons to using R and R-Studio.

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Christopher from Trust Insights

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

RStudio : The Reigning Champ for Data Science in R

I've been using RStudio for almost a decade now, and it keeps getting better every year. There are new features, new conveniences, and it's simply the best environment for writing and executing R code.

Pros

RStudio is feature rich, relatively easy to get around, and incredibly extensible. Combined with R packages of your choice, you can do literally anything in the environment. Code completion, colored highlighting, and easy project management make it a delight.

Cons

Nothing comes to mind; it's free and open source, so you get what you pay for.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Experience using R-Studio

With R-Studio, my data analysis tasks at work have been made easier. Its probably the best IDE for R available.

Pros

Great interface/layout, its open source, has the auto-complete feature why working with functions (this helps as you know which argument to pass into the function). Another great catch is that you can customise the interface to suit your preference. The ability to see your console, and global environment on the same screen is a big plus.

Cons

I haven't yet discovered a feature I don't like in R-Studio

February 2021

Ismail from Renmoney MFB Limited

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Review - R Studio

R Studio is my sought after Machine learning programme, I am so fascinated about how to use it scale business. All our credit models are built in R

Pros

Great open source software for data and statistical analysis, user friendly and minimized code writing, good supportive libraries and great infographs

Cons

The major disadvantage is the inability to use it for core code development, lack of flexibility in writing deep learning or neural network models.

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Adriel from DATSTAT Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Top of the Line Statistical Analysis

Pros

For the low price of free, one can get top of the line statistical analysis. Of course, the learning curve is much higher than commercial statistical software. R requires some knowledge in programming concepts like data structures. One may also very well learn algorithms used in Computer Science and Numerical Analysis to make full use of R. However, this preparation pays much in using the software.

Cons

R-Studio could improve its functionality by adding convenient menus and buttons for basic statistics like Stata does.

Reasons for Choosing RStudio

I still use those products for more advanced purposes. However, R does the job just fine when it comes to convenience and performance for free.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

RStudio is free

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

A great tool for statistics.

It is a very fast and straightforward tool to analyze data without using Excel or ArcGIS. If you know how to code, R-Studio is a convenient tool compared to R or Python if you focus on the analysis. The program is very light.

Pros

A very fast tool that you can manipulate and utilize the data without using tools like ArcGIS or Excel. It is free to use and it can analyze the data with coding, and the speed of analysis is faster than other tools like Python as R-studio is more focused on data analysis. Compared to R, it is more straightforward and easier to use for new users.

Cons

The help menu is somewhat difficult to understand even though you go into the help menu. As for the most coding programs, it is better to use Stack Overflow. When you use a version control project, sometimes there is an error when you open other files than R project and you might need to download from the respiratory again.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

The best IDE for data analysis, and not just R

Pros

Rstudio is basically the go-to IDE for R code. Period. What I like the most is the way it can handle R scripts, markdown, notebooks, other languages as well (python, sql, etc.) and even latex syntax if you need it.

Cons

The only downsides I've always experienced are: memory efficiency and the fact that it is quite slower than "console R". Also, sudden crashes are quite annoying.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Pietro from Biocy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Once learned it, never whitout !

Amazing matematical programming language. I use it often in my job to perform data analysis.

Pros

R is an amazing programming language designed to perform statistical analysis and calculations. It is the swiss army tool of a data-scientist. Thanks to its huge community any doubt you may have can be replied easily by a simple search on internet, or by asking in forums. It's easy to use and thanks to R studio its IDE environment is even easier to check what data is loaded / plot graphs / consult the documentation. Very reccomended.

Cons

The software is free and this is amazing since it offers so much. As every programming language it may a bit difficult at the start to learn.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Dami from Oil & Energy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Capital Markets

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Excellent Statistical Software

My overall experience with R-Studio has been positive. I really have the invention of R-Studio Cloud.

Pros

The software performs statistical analysis at a robust level and the invent of R Studio Cloud has made generating reports quick and easy.

Cons

What I like the least about this software is the way packages are typically installed and how long it takes to install a package.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Ricardo from Avanza S.A. de C.V.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Acrobat Reader DC

Acrobat reader improves my productivity because I can open files that I need on my cellphone and it doesn´t compromises the velocity of my mobile. Acrobat reader is my favorite software to open PDF files however, when I have to edit them, I go for nitroPDF

Pros

The quickness it has to load compared with other PDF readers

Cons

I believe Nitro PDF is more versatile to edit PDF files

September 2020

Sachini from University of peradeniya

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Review about using RStudio

It's a great software which generate outputs very easily using a coding system.And also it includes thousands of useful packages.

Pros

We can generate coding out put to a word,html or pdf using knit function

Cons

Installation of packages depend on the version of the software.so it's difficult to install packages easily

February 2021

SIDHAN from IIT palakkad

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

RSTUDIO : The User Friendly Software

Pros

The product is very user friendly. From a Hydrologist point of view, RSTUDIO has the capabilities to satisfy all the necessary needs like data processing, analyzing trends, Finding the correlation and also the wide variety of packages are the main attraction. Any latest developed data analysis tools are being made available very soon.

Cons

Graphical representation is one of the difficult things to handle in this compared to other software's like MATLAB, PYTHON. Although GGPLOT package provides a lot of features for graphical representations, it is very difficult to handle.

May 2019

Martín from Yale University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

The best interface to use R

I always enjoy working on R-studio; it's reliable, efficient, and very helpful!

Pros

It's the best interface out there to use R, specially for stats. It simplifies a lot of the things you would have to do with commands in plain R.

Cons

The 'help' section is the same as in R, so that could be improved.

January 2021

athira from IIT Palakkad

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Great solution for data analysis

Pros

They provide open source tools for doing data management, analysis, and visualization. Vast library packages are available to perform statistical analysis as well as machine learning techniques. Highly recommended to the researchers who are handling large data set

Cons

It requires basic knowledge in programming language/ coding. It would be great if the error messages are more informative.

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Ashirwad from Iowa State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

RStudio is the best IDE for data science

Pros

RStudio enriches the overall experience of working with R. The recent addition of support for Python is the icing on the cake!

Cons

Lack of support for easy-to-use equation editor for RMarkdown documents.

August 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Very useful for research

Very satisfied with it, easy to use and exactly what you need to work as a research student that analyzes a lot of data.

Pros

You can find a lot of useful programs in R, and R studio makes it easier to use, it saves your last commands, you can see the files you are using, the data, and some notes you have all at the same time. It's very friendly and easy to use.

Cons

It can be overwhelming at first if you have never code before and to see all the small screen at the time time with the commands, but once you get used to it, it's all very convenient.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Sanjona from Meredith Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Powerful tool to analyze data statistically

Analyzing media data statistically to predict future sales

Pros

There are many sources to find the codes you need like GitHub so you do not need to be a master code to use R-Studio. Statistical analysis is unparalleled and you get insights for your data easily. You can run complex regressions, and statistical tests easily with a few lines of codes

Cons

Not easy for beginners, lots of terminologies to get used to. But there are numerous tutorials on YouTube and a large community to help you whenever you get stuck

December 2019

Martin from Yale University

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best stats program around

Great software that has made the use of R for stats way easier.

Pros

I like that makes R language a bit more intuitive, since it has built-in functionalities that operate in that language, making it more accesible.

Cons

I wish it had more built-in processes, so to make the use of R easier across the board. Sometimes, I find it difficult to find which code to use.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

My experience using R Studio

I use R-Studio regularly at the office for data and statistical analysis and also data visualization.

Pros

The layout and ease of use is superb, there are functions for just about any statistical operation you need to carry out in R Studio. The autocomplete feature on the R-Studio IDE is remarkable, it completes the function for you and also gives you tips on what arguments should be keyed into the functions.

Cons

I have not discovered any feature I don't like yet in R, for now, its just remarkable for statistical analysis and visualization.

August 2019

Rahul from Computer Software

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

An amazing coding interface

Pros

Great tool for coding and has amazing packages including the ggplot library

Cons

For automation this tool lacks some of the features present in python.

May 2021

Mahonri from Stadler Rail US

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Railroad Manufacture

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Free open source tools for R coding

I like this software in general, it is very easy to use, and to download tables and databases. It's practical and the console working environment is user friendly

Pros

I like that it is very easy to use, the display is simple and straightforward. On the right side, you have all of the data and active objects you are using, and you can write, edit and execute your code right there right away in a simple manner on the same screen, which makes it handy.

Cons

A con that I would like the developers to work on, is that sometimes the errs I encounter are not easy to understand or to follow the promptings that the debugging gives you

October 2021

User Profile Picture

Dikshya from New Mexico State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Excellent software for data analysis of agricultural research

Pros

With R-studio, it has been very easy for me to analyse my lab and field data using the codes. The graphs and other visualization obtained using this software are very informative even without explanation. Its also very easy to export the results. Overall, its a very handy and useful tool for students and researchers.

Cons

There’s nothing I dislike about this software, but to mention one I would say its availability and cost.

October 2020

Bobbi from Arizona State University

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

RStudio is Fantastic! Easy to use

I typically use RStudio to solve research issues such as data analysis of growth mindset. I would highly recommend it for free, convenient data analyses.

Pros

It is super easy to use and convenient. Cheap compared to competitors.

Cons

I think that it is less intuitive than the competitors, such as SPSS. SPSS is much more expensive but definitely easier to use.

November 2021

Jacob from Omnidian

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Best IDE for R

Using R Studio has been a breeze. I used it to learn with R and ts built-in tools helped me in that journey

Pros

Ease of use, debugging, and GUI are the best in the buisiness when it comes to R IDEs

Cons

I wish that I could have better information on ram and CPU usage

October 2020

Gaurav from TS Bank

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

R Studio

Overall, I have used R studio extensively and it has helped me automate portions of my work as it easily integrates with Excel

Pros

R Studio is an easy to use interface for programming in R, which allows me to easily write/edit my code and check the results in the console. Its easy to use for non programmers and has extensive libraries for statistics.

Cons

R is an upcoming language, and it still needs more packages for machine learning, AI etc.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Ajay from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great Data Analysis Software With a Learning Curve

My overall experience with R-Studio has been positive and I have been able to effectively analyze a large amount of data and write papers on it .

Pros

I use R to analyze data for writing papers. What I like about R is that it allows researchers to great insights on their data by using the tools that are in R.

Cons

There is a big learning curve when trying to use R. The software itself does not look inviting to new users and can be daunting.

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Versatile and Essential for Professional-Looking Reports

Although I have less than a year in experience with rstudio, I have been able to improve the throughput of my work reporting while simultaneously improving the appearance of my data outputs and graphics.

Pros

Between rscripts and rmarkdown features in combination with the open-source nature and development community, anything seems possible in rstudio. I really love how versatile it is in creating professional looking graphics and tables, as well as how intuitive the syntax is to learn.

Cons

I have very little to dislike about rstudio, but do with the command help pages provided more in-depth examples, however, this is more reflective on the packages themselves.

Reasons for Switching to RStudio

I switched for a more user-friendly experience with a graphical user interface.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

The Best Data Software

Thanks for Providing R-Studio.

Pros

I'm using R software for about a year now. It is one of the best programming languages. Everyone who wants to work as a data engineer, data analyzer, or data scientist should know R. It provides efficient packages to solve various problems. It is user-friendly and easy to learn. When I started to learn R, I thought that it should take a lot of time. But after a while, I mastered using R. It has several features that make it easier to use R instead of utilizing other software.

Cons

It is a reliable and efficient software. I cannot say too much about its Cons. Just as a personal experience, I do not like the graphics and environment of the software. I think it can be improved.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Excellent IDE and platform for R programming

Quite satisfied and content for R programming with RStudio

Pros

1, Great coding platform for R - one of the best ones for R programming widely used for statistical programming and machine learning 2. Awesome integration with UI - RShiny to directly showcase backend work 3. Awesome light and dark mode for user preferences 4. Direct git integrations for faster and convenient coding with collaboration 5. Easy to install and run

Cons

Doesn't have too many features like which are available in other programming IDEs like Eclipse for Java

Displaying 1 - 50 of 75 reviews