User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(10)

10

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

5.0 / 5

Browse XMLSpy Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -35 of 15 results

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Scott from PDS Paragon Development Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Great Product!

I've written tens of thousands of lines of XSLT code using XMLSpy. It is my favorite XML editor.

Pros

XMLSpy is a full featured markup language editor. I am able to work within multiple markup languages, including XSLT and easily debug my code using this product.

Cons

In my opinion the cost is a little high for this product. But if you work in coding (by hand) these languages on a daily basis then it is worth it.

November 2020

Michael from Ennis, Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Paper & Forest Products

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

XML Spy - the XML Editor of your choice

XMLSpy is a very versatile XML Editor that we use a lot for our integrations. Like all Altova Products if you get stuck with a problem you usually count on the Altova team in Austria to fix your support issue within 24 hours.

Pros

I like the new XBRL Taxonomy Manager in XML Spy 2021 which helps to manage XBRL taxanomies across the different Altova applications. XML Spy will always be my first choice of XML editors. We use it a lot in conjunction with Altova's MapForce product

Cons

Software has several updates over the course of the year as have all Altova products. That can be a plus but it also means testing the updated versions before releasing them into the Production environment.

July 2017

Allan from Heritage College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Great product for using and maintaining XML code

- Manipulating and maintaining XML and JSON files easily.

Pros

- Features, features, features. Everything and anything that you might like to do with XML files and some things you may not realize you could do - Straightforward interface - Customer support was excellent although typical menu system to talk to a real person

Cons

- Examples are not great. Too complex in some ways and not enough explanations of how to use features. Need a better set of examples and perhaps one that continues through all the features. - Renewals are end of September which is problematic as that is in the middle of peak use time for us

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

The best software for managing XML

I have uploaded XML of some data sources into my relationship database, creating the database model with the automatic function

Pros

1.Continue updates 2. Complete solution 3.Useful for generating the dabase model 4.Fast

Cons

The interface could be improved; functions sometimes remain difficult to find

February 2020

Ray from Information Technology & Services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Great for Viewing and Editing

I use this software to create, view, and edit XML and WSDL files for our platform. The ease of use allows me to come in with no prior experience and be able to pick up the format quickly. This software aided me in presenting deliverables that the client made a point to say were excellent.

Pros

This software allows a user to easily create and view XML and WSDL files in multiple ways. The text is presented in an easy to read format that is miles about standard text editors.

Cons

I haven't personally encountered any issues with this software. It has filled all of my needs and came highly recommended.

December 2016

Edward from Deloitte

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

A feature rich development tool for any XML Developer

This is an outstanding tool packed with features. It lets you manage any XMLs DTD, with out of the box schema and XSL style sheet editors. You can easily import any XML and the UI interface makes it so easy to view XML files and edit your code. The tool has inbuilt validation and auto complete, which is great with any tool a developer uses. Add in syntax colouring and indenting makes any XML file easy to read.

Pros

The tool has inbuilt validation and auto complete, which is great with any tool a developer uses. Add in syntax colouring and indenting makes any XML file easy to read.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Advanced users only

I use it to save time because I can automatically check something just by importing another file

Pros

I like that it allows you to validate the files you are working with against a schema fairly conveniently

Cons

There is no free version of the software so you would have to get your company to purchase it for you

August 2019

Md Muhibbul from T-Mobile

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

XMLSpy review

1) Overall I believe it's a very good tool to format XML data, create XML from XML schema and also to troubleshoot and fix any error in XML payload.

Pros

1) Best way to format XML data and see flows for a XML schema. 2) We can create sample XML payload if we have complete schema using this. 3) Very easy to understand for the beginners in XML.

Cons

1) Not a free software. Always, need a paid version. 2) Sometimes all options are not easily identifiable. Need some research to do.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Long term XML Spy Customer

Pros

I have used XMLSpy for over 10 years and across multiple jobs/employers. I have found it nearly indispensable when designing complex schemas. The interface is intuitive and it makes easy actions easy and difficult actions possible.

Cons

The only downside to XMLSpy is the cost. I've had several employers balk at the cost but it more than pays for itself in productivity gains in my opinion.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Lakshmana Murthy from KSAP Technologies, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Very useful and widely used XML software. Helps making work on XML very easy.

Pros

Parsing XML using XML spy is very easy. Provide flexibility in adding tags in the middle of the XML file very easy

Cons

The cost of the software is a bit more compared to competitors. Also not allowing online formatting of XML even after purchase.

December 2016

Miha from Mihov.com Ltd.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

The tool for working with XML

This is the tool if you have to do some serious work with XMLs. It fully supports different versions of WSDL and offers a tool for building schemas with great debug capability. You can run requests from the tool and see responses in raw or formatted way. It comes in several versions with different pricing and functionalities. I have only used the lowest pricing version and it was already enough for my needs. It's definitely the tool of choice for developers who need to communicate though WSDL and exchange data with XML.

Pros

It has numerous features.

Cons

Because of many features can be difficult to start using.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great way to parse and manipulate XML files

I was able to go through and make bulk edits to a large file and got my results done quickly.

Pros

I like the ability to open, edit, parse and view my XML files. I used it to edit a library file for another software I frequently use and was able to make bulk changes.

Cons

I thought its interface could have been a little bit easier to understand and use. Otherwise I don't have any complaints.

January 2017

Suresh from TaisTech

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Texan-XMLSpy

XMLSpy is a commercial XML development environment supporting XSLT, CSS, XQuery, XML Schema and many other specifications. It offers an "XML editor, the original graphical schema designer, a code generator, file converters, debuggers, profilers, full database integration, support for WSDL, SOAP, XSLT, XPath, XQuery, and Open XML documents, plus VS .NET and Eclipse plug-ins, and more." I heavily use xml spy in my api implementation. I can not imagine my Integration carrier with out XML SPY.

May 2019

Paul from Subtle Designs

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Allows you to create XML documents in a visual environment

Pros

Allows you to view your your xml data in a whole new way from text view, grid view, Schema view that aid xml editing and debugging

Cons

You have to shell out a lot of money to get a professional or enterprise license

December 2016

Christine from OTIP

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Good IDE for XML Developers

If you're looking for an easy to use IDE for XML development then XML Spy is the product for you. One downside is that the program will change the default file association for txt files, making XML Spy the default.