User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(44)

44

4 stars

(48)

48

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to get started and doesn't take much tutorials to implement. Interface is easy enough to learn."

  • "User friendly, easy to navigate, visually appealing, great customer service, variety of applications"

  • "Great customer support from the BrightIdea team, from sales to technical support and training. Wonderful support on boarding new customer and tremendous value."

  • Cons

  • "The onboarding process is really good but maybe too slow when you have already technical knowledge. Should be adapted to the skills of the administrator"

  • "We can think of defining a process flow to promote Education and learning through this tool. Rest the experience is good and no other feedback for Cons"

  • "The email notification feature is very good, however, if it is feasible to include the whole comment in the email, it will help save time to login to the bright idea site just to see the comments."

Browse Brightidea Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 97 results

January 2018

Kayla from Unum

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

I used Bright Idea to source & implement ideas from an organization of 1,200+ on an ongoing basis.

This software made it easy to collect, sort, organize, analyze, and communicate about ideas submitted by a 1200+ person organization spanning sites across the east coast (as well as an array of home workers across the country).

Pros

The software is intuitive and mirrors social media that most people are familiar with. It is easy to customize on the whole, and meets the objectives for our business goals.

Cons

I wish there were more options to support an ongoing program like the one we have. At Unum, we aren't looking for ideas in small spurts of time, but rather using the site as the foundation of an ongoing engagement and continuous improvement program spanning office locations and multiple departments/skills. Although we are using the tool in a way that it isn't necessarily intended, we have seen tremendous success. It'd be great to see BrightIdea work to tailor a version of the platform to a business goal like ours.

September 2019

Oliver from Willis Towers Watson

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Robust and highly capable idea management platform

The service at Brightidea stands out. Throughout the sales process and more importantly, since the sales process, Brightidea have been attentive while giving us the space to explore and use the platform. There a good transparent processes for raising requests for future enhancements. In the first few months we have set up a range of challenge in the platform with very few issues - overall, it is early days, but has been a good start.

Pros

The platform is not that big on frills, but it feels highly dependable. The navigation is intuitive and we feel no need to issue user guides.

Cons

Currently, the reporting is robust and fairly extensive, but the ability to create custom reports would be a great addition to the platform.

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

Brightidea had several key functionalities that we were looking for, particularly in the review process where their solution was the only one that met our needs in that regard.

April 2018

Claudia from Pwc

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2018

Good experience but the software has some limits that can be improved

Pros

Flexibility in terms of customized pipeline, different evaluations tools, open to external and business model canvas and business impact that allow digitalizing some activities. Customization in terms of look & feel.

Cons

No possibility to assign an idea to a specific evaluator (some clients ask this functionality in particular when they start to use the platform). The activation of the workspace is centralized and permitted only to the admin (a high effort to innovation team). The absence of a project management tool (the functionality in the workspace is really poor). The low flexibility of the dashboard (in particular the dashboard shows the ideas in specific step and not in the stage- the step in the pipeline is typically used to make easier the activities and is not relevant in terms of process). The submission form is not effective. The development tool is assigned mainly by the submitter in a dynamic way (and specific resources defined) but if the ideas are published by a team the development tool doesn't permit to fill in the tool by all members. The absence of links to ideas and possibility to merge them if really similar or complementary. The chip can be cool but the employees are not incentivized to use them (if the employees make a good investment they gain the chips- if the employees do not invest chips have the same amount of chips)

September 2019

Lindsay from Kao USA Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

BrightIdea Review

We started an internal crowdsourcing approach using BrightIdea and this has resonated very well with our business members. They are pleased that their ideas are able to be heard and the process is transparent.

Pros

The look & feel of the BrightIdea platform is very easy and engaging for users.

Cons

Functionality is limited in areas such as socialization and financials. Though the BrightIdea team is very open to hearing product enhancements and is frequently updating the software.

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

Better price, better look and feel for our end users, better support staff over Spigit

September 2019

Ray from Thibert Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Brightidea has been the key to organising our innovation initiatives

It has been a great way to get everyone involved in idea sharing. We have tried this without using Brightidea but it became too complicated to manage. This software makes managing the workflow super easy!

Pros

Very easy to adapt the software to the needs of the initiative, as well to the colors and theme of our company

Cons

I have not found anything negative, and I continue to try to find things that could be improved, but to date have not found any!

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

We prefered to deal with a company located in North America. Features were more in line with what we were looking for.

September 2019

Melanie from TD Ameritrade

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Brightidea's customer service makes the difference

Pros

Working with the Brightidea team is always a good experience. They're client-driven, and have continuously worked to improve their product to suit our needs.

Cons

As with many providers of this type of software, getting it set up to track the metrics we need continues to be a bit of a struggle.

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

Brightidea, while not perfect, did a better job with data/analytics and provided exceptional customer service at a similar price scale.

September 2019

Joseph from Sanofi

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Ideation software with built in features that you won't know you need until later

We are a very large company and have been working with Bright Idea for 4+ years. Overall, the experience has been a very positive one with teams using the Ideation software for initiatives such as Process, manufacturing, patient and other areas of improvement. There are tangible benefits to the Ideation process and Bright Idea goes a long way in helping us receive those benefits.

Pros

Having been an Enterprise Admin for 2 years; there are 4 general areas of focus in considering what I like best about Bright Idea. First, the end-user experience, those that come to a Challenge to submit, vote or comment on ideas. The interface is very straightforward and intuitive. I have yet to receive an end-user inquiry about how to use or what to do. Grade: A+ The next areas is Site (or Campaign) Administration; this is relevant for Challenge and Community Administrators - people running the campaigns. Typically, there is a small learning curve where you can show Managers easy-to-configure functional-widgets which provide a wealth of functionality in an easy to teach/use interface. Functional options can range from simple to advanced and can accommodate users on either plain. Grade: A+ As an Enterprise Administrator, there are a large number of features that can be customized for the Enterprise-wide site or individual Challenge experiences. I had one complaint about this tool is that there are too many features, which at times can feel a little overwhelming to when first learning the product. Grade: A Finally, Customer Service. The team is outstanding. Very responsive, easily understood, available when needed. This has made a big difference in the success of our use of Bright Idea. Grade: A++

Cons

As an Enterprise Administrator there is a learning curve for many functional options that can take awhile to understand. Also, I am not a fan of some of the terminology such as "webstorm".

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

Spiggit

September 2019

Kathlyn from Ralph Lauren

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Brightidea Site Feedback

Overall, a good experience using the platform. We are continuously increasing usage and participation. Currently using the platform for idea submissions & collaboration on specific business challenge questions and pitch events. Most recently, we are finding more valuable use cases as a service platform to enable new ways of working & employee engagement through building departmental communities mostly focused around learning + development initiatives (i.e. Job Swap application process, Scholarship application process, joining Diversity and Inclusion initiatives).

Pros

-Ability to set up initiative/challenge pages easily and quickly -Ability to build out pipelines to evaluate and track ideas's progress, and easily route to the appropriate evaluator(s) -Good customer support with quick response and resolution turnaround time

Cons

-Needs improvement for more accurate language translation(s) feature -Clearer differentiation between the various apps. It would be great if there were different templates/lay outs that fit the main purpose of each application. For example, the 'Discuss' app looking more like a discussion board rather than the rest of the applications where each submission is an individual idea board.

December 2019

Alexander from Oxy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Great Way to Crowd-Source Ideas from your Employees

Overall, Brightideas is a very excellent and worthwhile expense that your business can incur. We were able to save tens of millions of dollars in cost avoidance due to the creative and impactful ideas that were submitted by employees all around the company.

Pros

Brightideas offered an incredibly rich and robust platform that allowed our Innovation Team to create a method for our employees to share their ideas to management. There was also a way to incentive ideas with the build in "reward and recognition" system that was really well liked by our employees.

Cons

The learning curve for mastering this product is quite high, and back end users will need to go through some extensive training with the Brightidea representatives.

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

Brightideas offered the best value in terms of pricing and services/features offered.

September 2019

Audrey from Stanley Black & Decker

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

BrightIdea is a great software for innovation and collaboration

We are finding great innovative ideas and solutions with our implementation of BrightIdea.

Pros

BrightIdea is a great software for innovation and collaboration. It is easy to use as an administrator. We use it in our organization for a few different functions, including as a platform to crowd source innovation ideas from our employees. BrightIdea has been great because it gives us an easily accessible software to collect and store our innovative ideas.

Cons

I do wish they had a Workplace integration.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

One of the best ideation platforms out there!

Great customer service, abundance of out-of-the box features as well as a company that listens to Customer feedback.

Pros

Outside of the the great customer service the company provides, the ease of use and features are what make Brightidea stand out. Our customers have especially enjoyed the back-end idea management interface to be able to rank, sort, and group ideas that have come in from solvers. With a large company and thousands of ideas flowing in, this is a key features that other platforms have failed to address meaningfully.

Cons

The one potential disadvantage of the tool is that advanced customizations will require professional services support which add up. Out of the box, however, the platform will service 90%+ of the Customer base so that may not be a big issue.

September 2019

Anthony from Clifford Chance LLP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Jumpstart your innovation program

Excellent team to work with, clearly experienced and supporting clients in the field getting things done!

Pros

- Will support you on your innovation program journey as it matures, covering nearly all possible activities in your program with templates and guidance for each! - Mobile app! - can be tailored to match what we want to achieve - overall analytics and pipeline management from idea to delivery

Cons

Its visual identity option (themes and css) are effective but a bit too much work to my liking! It does require you to consider properly the user journey on its homepage in particular.

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

We reviewed the market in detail with Gartner’s help; focusing on comprehensive innovation program rather than partial idea collection solutions.

July 2016

laurent from AXA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Great tool for idea crowd sourcing

I have been using the Brightidea Platform to run an idea crowdsourcing contest in my company (international insurer). the Platform is extremely modular and has all the features it takes to make your innovation program a success.

Pros

- modular and easy-to-set up / easy-to-use platform - brightidea accustomed to dealing with large international groups (security & integration is made easy by the team - handy tools to get ideas to be evaluated (simple to set scorecards, basic single scale assessment tool...) - reactive support team in case of technical issues. You are never alone with your problem - talented team of Professional services team to get you up and running

Cons

- no in-platform design thinking type of "prequel exercise" in order to better identify the user pain point before idea submission - 2 yr-contracts take the level of users at the end of 1st year as reference point for year 2

October 2019

Miguel from ABS-CBN

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Quick and cheap platform to get an organization started on tracking initiatives

We're using the platform to create a culture of Innovation

Pros

Easy to get started and doesn't take much tutorials to implement. Interface is easy enough to learn.

Cons

Lacking a lot of features and functionalities to make an admin's life easier. Works best if someone on admin side has knowledge of CSS and HTML

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

Brightidea was the best value for money

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Platform Usage

Pros

The ease of use of the tool. The ability for the end users to collaborate and share ideas across all work streams. The platform captures all submissions and allows the end user group to tailor to their needs what the whole submission and evaluation process consist of.

Cons

When viewing submissions the ease of use can be challenging. When viewing submission within the pipeline you are not able to see the specific number attached to the submission without hovering over the specific submission. Being able to tailor the layout of the submission form to meet the end users needs.

October 2017

Chris from Oil Search Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Extremely intuitive and user friendly interface to capture creative solutions

Introduction of the software was a catalysts to changing the behaviours and culture of the business whereby challenging each other, sharing problems and solutions and constantly looking for opportunities for improvement are becoming the norm.

Pros

Ease of use and flexibility. The breadth of scope of the platform from initial challenge submission, to idea generation, screening and review through to tracking of results makes it an invaluable tool for generating and managing large numbers of quality ideas and innovations.

Cons

Back end statistical representation could be more effective, the ability to slice and dice data and determine which areas of the business are heavily engaged and also to track commercial benefit of specific challenges, ideas or groups of ideas.

August 2016

Sathya from Wabtec

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

Expanding Possibilities

BrightIdea has been a great find. I have experience working with a host of leading solutions, including the likes of Spigit, Imaginatik, Hype, Hyve, etc. but I found BrightIdea to be a cut above the rest. They are passionate and offer you more than just a solution. They bring out the psychology behind actions that help turn around an organization. They are passionate about innovation rather than just merely interested in pushing their product. They are keen to see you become successful using it. They are also patient about letting you get up to speed.

Pros

Ease of setup and configuration Ease of use (for the user) Ability to scale up with different use cases of the platform

January 2018

Toni from Unum

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

We use talent sharing functionality giving us the ability to strengthen our cross functional skills

Pros

Brightidea gives my organization the ability to collaborate more cross functionally and strengthen skills and experiences across the board. We love the ability to post opportunities for others to volunteer for. We also leverage the functionality to be able to solve challenging questions and source for opportunities to simplify and be more efficient at what we do. We connect these opportunities to our performance and coaching sessions for our organization to measure the success that we are gaining using Brightidea. Overall, we are very satisfied with Brightidea and look forward to use it in other creative ways to support growth and experience within our organization!

Cons

The only thing that challenges us is the pricing and limited Admin seats we have. This makes us have to rely on our IT partners for support and administration.

November 2017

Steve from BT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Very flexible and reliable application that gets better and better

Pros

It’s so simple to set up and managing the challenges we run is first-rate, the support offered is top rate and the portal has a wealth of information. The ideas space where fellow Innovation programme managers share ideas is a place to see what other organisations are looking at rolling out. Finally, the user experience is very simple which is essential.

Cons

Whilst we can get all of the reporting data we need out of the Brightidea application - improving the real-time dashboards would be something I would like to see improved further

July 2016

Mike from Stanley Black & Decker

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2016

Leader In Innovation Challenge Software

Using BrightIdea to help run our innovation challenge program has been a wonderful experience. The software is easy to use for both admin's and most importantly users. Their features cover all aspects of the innovation life-cycle allowing for everything to be completed and tracked in one place. And their customer support has exceed our expectations, they have done a fantastic job and helping us scale our program in the right ways.

Pros

It's extremely easy for users to understand and use it, thereby making engagement an easy sell. The features they support are also extensive and they continue to add new ones to support a growing program.

Cons

A few bugs have made setup from an admin standpoint more time consuming then they should be, but work around are available and they are quick to respond to our needs.

October 2017

Serafettin Cemil from Turkish Airlines

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

It is very flexible and has a lot of great apps for your specific challenge needs.

A lot of profit' cost saving and innovative thinking.

Pros

This Platform has and easy to use interface and customizability just great for tweaking it for your specific needs.

Cons

It would be great to give out some minor admin permissions like dashboard view access and reporting to ordinary users for limited times. This would allow the people learn more about the system and get involved even more while making life a little bit easier for the system and web storm admins.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thanks for the review, Serafettin! Many customers leverage our Moderator role to assign light administrative permissions to users. This role is restricted to viewing reporting and light submission management. I hope this will be helpful to you!

October 2017

Oscar from Factum Partners

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Easy to use innovation

Pros

Simple, fast to start an innovation program, easy to use, some nice templates, design our own pipelines.

Cons

Translations, we need to make the platform translate 100% to other languages. More custom templates to choose.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thanks for the review, Oscar! We intend all end user-facing features and pages to be translatable, and we actively release updates to ensure gaps are resolved. Please let us know if you're seeing gaps, and we'll do our best to address them. And thank you for the feedback on templates - as we work more in this area, we will be reaching out to customers to better understand what they are looking for. Our newest homepage template, which came out with the Fall Release 2017, was designed based one extensive customer feedback.

October 2017

Kalvin from Nike, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Robust tools with lots of features.

Successful launching of Open Innovation Program. It's hard to tell the story and show proof of engagement without this tool. Thank you!

Pros

Great customer support from the BrightIdea team, from sales to technical support and training. Wonderful support on boarding new customer and tremendous value.

Cons

User interface design can be a bit more simplistic. e.g. like Apple website, or aesthetics of Apps like Slack.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thank you for your feedback, Kalvin! It is part of our design process to stay abreast of the modern design landscape - not just within B2B but also for B2C products like Slack - to identify opportunities to continually evolve and update our product. We are also continuing to invest in growing our product design team. We hope you will like the UI/UX for the latest round of product updates that we've made. Over time, we will also be cascading our updated style guide to more parts of our existing platform.

October 2017

lisa from Kemper Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Bright idea allowed us to launch a program with confidence.

Pros

User friendly, easy to navigate, visually appealing, great customer service, variety of applications

Cons

some things don't make sense to us and are not customizable.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thank you for your review, Lisa! We do believe that the Brightidea innovation platform is the most customizable solution available on the market. Please do share with us on IdeaSpace if there a particular area where you are getting stuck, or if there is an area that does not seem intuitive to you. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

October 2017

Sarah from United Airlines

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Good user interface on the front end, back end is a bit trickier.

Pros

The software is easily scalable and easily accommodates our many users. We enjoy being able to launch many different challenges fairly frequently.

Cons

We would love to have more support for 'open ideation' platforms at a large scale. It is valuable for companies to engage their employees beyond ROI of their ideas by making them feel heard and listened to.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thanks for reviewing, Sarah! We're glad to hear that you find the software easily scalable. We offer a few apps for engaging a broad employee base. The Discuss app allows you to create a dialogue among a large number of employees about important company topics. The Suggest app is meant to support a company-wide idea management process. Please let us know on Ideaspace if you have other opportunities that we should consider. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

September 2019

Marti from Applied Systems, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Great Innovation Tool, constantly updating features

We use this tool as a customer portal for product enhancements. We've been very pleased overall.

Pros

Their account managers and support are very responsive and update the product with an ear to customer voice. Lots of helpful documentation to help companies learn how to use innovation across the organization.

Cons

Reporting and metrics could use a facelift.

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

Easy to implement.

October 2018

Giorgi from Philip Morris International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Tobacco

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Perfect realization of idea crowd-sourcing in a platform

It helped us to save lots of time by automation of the certain tasks and also what's more important, it certainly brought a way more organized way of working for the team

Pros

The main advantage of the platform is the high flexibility and customization which allows us to adapt the platform to our needs not vice versa to adapt to the platform. Sometimes it might get overwhelming due to this, though overall I'd say this is a big asset of this platform. Furthermore, the constant improvements are made from the Brightidea team and communicated in a clear understandable way. We totally love the platform from its idea to the interface and usage. It helps us break down the projects into the categories/silos and supports us work in a way more organized way than before within the team.

Cons

I cannot really name anything big that we dislike. Though, the reporting could be slightly better as it doesn't fully shows the essence when exported, thus, makes it a bit harder to present to the third-party persons. Also, the pricing could be slightly lower.

October 2017

Avi from HP Indigo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

great easy to use program

Pros

the challenges app is one of my favorites , we can use it to describe our top challenges and to easily expose it to all of our employees

Cons

to many applications can confusing the end user , i think that bright idea can help their admins with suggestions to internal communication (it will help us to extend our program and it is a share interest for us)

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thanks for the review, Avi! We were so excited that you travelled all the way to SF for our user conference! We've worked to categorize our Apps to help you understand which Apps to use for which use cases - please check out our newly released Apps Pillar page. Also, take a look at the Knowledge Base for sample content you can leverage for internal communications, for example the Solve App Challenge Sponsors Guide.

October 2017

fethi yasir from turkish airlines

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

easy to implement and tools are very functional. brightidea team is very helpful. glad to choose

Pros

easy to use, functional and customizable. mobile app is helping us to reach all workers. new features are coming to make our work easier.

Cons

doesn't support multi language and facing bugs. web storm admins need more role in the platform.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thanks for the review, Fethi! It was great connecting with you at our user conference and learning about how your team is using Brightidea. I'm sorry to hear that you've encountered bugs. Our support team will ensure any issues are resolved as quickly as possible. The software can be configured to support a number of different languages; please reach out if you need help.

October 2017

Leslie from Express Scripts

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Can't say enough about our Account Team at Brightidea - outstanding assistance, patient, and helpful

Pros

It's completely different than anything we're doing in our organization. Crowdsourcing has been difficult, and it gives us the flexibility to reach out to employees with a digital platform who wouldn't otherwise have a voice to ideate.

Cons

Would like some additional flexibility in customization without needing to engage BI developers as needed.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thanks for the review, Leslie! We love that you're giving a voice to employees whose ideas wouldn't have otherwise been heard. Once you've achieved the custom style that you're looking for, you can leverage the "Duplicate" utility on the Apps Pillar page to carry that style over when creating new initiatives. You can also select "Copy Design from an Existing Initiative" from any App Setup Wizard.

October 2017

Laurie from Cox Communications

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

new user have run two pilots

Pros

platform is easy to use, team is open to new ideas. The over all graphic support is nice and we can make challenge look good with out much effort.

Cons

Would like to see a user community supported by the Bright idea team to allow users to collaborate on lessons learned and best practices across industries to reduce learning curve and make sure we are getting the most out of our investment in the solution.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Hi Laurie, We appreciate your review! We're so glad that your pilot is working out well. You're not alone on your request for a user community. We're looking into how to best implement this for you guys! Any thoughts or suggestions on that just let us know, otherwise stay posted for updates on it. Thanks, Daniel

October 2017

Fatih from Turkish Airlines

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Practical software helps corporate innovators do their jobs best

Pros

A lot of useful and plug and play options in it. It helps corporate innovators easily start idea competitions and gives opportunity to practically managing idea pipeline

Cons

Not much customizable for specifical needs. Customer support can be much creative in solving problems.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thank you for your review, Fatih! We do believe that the Brightidea innovation platform is the most customizable solution available on the market. Please reach out to us on Ideaspace if there is particular area where you are getting stuck. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

October 2017

Lisa from Express-Scripts

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

In the infancy stages of learning!

Pros

I appreciate the feel and look of the sight. When you are in the application, it does not feel like "work"...like you are completing a task that you have to do...that you are told you must complete. The collaborative feel and functionalities that are available make the innovation process easier to manage.

Cons

At times, there are limitation to the admin adjustments that we can create on our end (i.e. color schemes, pixel adjustments, hiding of functionality, etc)

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thank you for your review, Lisa! You can likely make the adjustments you need by leveraging our "Custom CSS" functionality. Please reach out if this does not address your needs!

June 2018

Adonay from Stefanini

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Even though it's a challenge, I do like to use this platform because it's been great so far

I'm getting to know more about my company and being able to come up with ideas to make them more creative and collaborative

Pros

When it comes to organization the webstorms are helpful The platform is relatively easy to use, customize and collect data And I do like setting things on my own and being able to come up with new strategies from data analysis

Cons

Truth be told: I do hate it's chat mechanism All the users, the team and I just can't get it, so we communicate via email Other than that, I'm having struggle to set up customized and independent pages and I would love to have a way to merge categories and pipeline stages

October 2017

Chase from CB&I

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Enjoyable, though having to learn tips and tricks to operate w/out error.

Pros

Fundamental function of the software and ease of use for the end use. Easy to set up challenges and import users.

Cons

Multiple options/settings menus, and multiple areas to extract participation data:Pipeline, webstorm, enterprise, etc.. It can be challenging to remember which setup menu specific items reside, ex: scorecard is in the pipeline setup, and newsletters in the enterprise setup. There's a few different ways to do common tasks, and the end result isn't always the same, such as importing users (pillar v enterprise), reporting, extending step timelines.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thanks for the review Chase! Many customers leverage our extensive support portal to discover how to best take advantage of all of the configuration settings and functionality that Brightidea has to offer. I hope this can be helpful to you. At the same time, we are committed to continuing to simplify and streamline the software, to make it easier for users to perform key tasks. If you have other product suggestions, feel free to submit them in IdeaSpace - https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

September 2019

Zack from International Paper

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Paper & Forest Products

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Great product

Pros

Ease of use and administration. Templates for different applications

Cons

Limited out of the box (non-code) flexibility of campaign pages. Something like 3 column and footer layout, or two column layout. The ability to switch these after a campaign is created.

September 2019

Jonathan from Synchrony

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Brightidea for tracking new product introduction

Having a real time, up-to-date tracking system for projects in the NPI pipeline has allowed us to better manage our initiatives both internally and externally. Grouping projects depending on their particular stage helps us to prioritize better and use our time efficiently, This keeps projects from being forgotten along the way. Brightidea has always made reporting to the OCC much easier because all of our NPI projects are being stored in one place and only authorized users can make changes. This prevents errors and duplication.

Pros

We love that Brightidea logs status changes as projects move through our new product pipeline. The approval dependencies and historical data have been incredibly useful for tracking changes and reporting to our regulatory agencies. Being able to view all of our project inputs in different ways is also very useful. We can sort projects by stage and export them into spreadsheets according to various criteria. The pipeline view also helps us to visualize where attention is needed.

Cons

One issue we ran into was the inability to backdate projects. We are able to adjust dates when we export the data from the Brightidea site, but it would be useful if projects could be backdated, since we cannot always upload new products the day that they start. Otherwise, the Brightidea team has been able to solve any other problems that came up!

December 2017

Charles from CB&I

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Enjoyable and rewarding

Employee engagement. Critical in fostering a culture of innovation, and sourcing sustaining and disruptive ideas to our product line, services, operations, and industry.

Pros

Ease of use for end-users and administrators. The program is fun to use. Employees in our company enjoy having a platform to share their ideas and collaborate with their peers.

Cons

Setup menus can be consolidated. Different types and managing communications is confusing: Enterprise Set-up > Site > Newsletters; Enterprise Setup > Site > System Email Messages; Communications pillar; Setup pillar > Rules Engine > Email Templates.

August 2018

Rebekah from Cortland

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

The best software

Our overall experience with Bright Idea has been excellent. We have been able to name programs through associate engagement. We have also been able to manage our large pipeline of pilots that we are testing all over our portfolio.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use and administer. This tool is highly customizable, which allows us to cater to our brand and make the tool work for us. It provides us with an organized platform to crowd source answers to some of our challenges by engaging our associates! We have been using BI for two years and the number of enhancements and improvements they continue to make is impressive.

Cons

The system has so many applications and I struggle to figure out a way to use them all! I wish that there were some better real world examples of each.

October 2017

Maureen from Unum

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

BrightIdea will positively wow you.

Pros

The best and easiest way to tap into business improvements from the people who know best...employees. Helps with EE engagement and provides the means for collaboration with everyone involved.

Response from Brightidea

Replied October 2017

Thanks so much for the glowing review! -Daniel

July 2018

Brad from Ventia Pty Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Market leading innovation management platform

Improved safety, increase quality, cost reduction initiatives.

Pros

The ability to create multiple environments, to customise workflows, to duplicate workflows (for rapid deployment), the dedicated mobile app and customer success support.

Cons

Lack of mobile app development, slow development of product enhancements, lack of local (i.e. outside of USA) hosting options to reduce latency.

August 2018

Mathieu from LEMO SA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

The best innovation mangement software

Pros

Intuitive, easy to customize and lots of ready to use apps

Cons

The onboarding process is really good but maybe too slow when you have already technical knowledge. Should be adapted to the skills of the administrator

July 2018

Wendell from The Innovation Institute

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

I use BI daily to schedule appointments and to track project activity.

See survey!

Pros

Keeps me on point with where projects are in the pipeline. Helps me to make decisions on what projects will move forward and which projects will be exited. Gives me the opportunity to make email contact with constituents from BI.

Cons

I can't determine who used the system last and may have moved things around. Needs a tracking mechanism.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Positive experience with Brightidea software and support.

Pros

intuitive, easy to use user interface - no end user training required. full function, end-to-end idea management tool. Crowd sourcing, collaboration and built-in social media capabilities. Scorecarding, reports. Configurable, cloud implementation. Automated feedback mechanisms to update submitters and others on progress. Good support. Good value for money.

Cons

Back-end administration not as intuitive to me as the front end. Needs a knowledgeable administrator to take full advantage of all the tool has to offer.

October 2017

Kyton from Children's Miracle Network Hospitals

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

This tool is a life saver for innovation teams.

Pros

I love the pipeline management tool and back-end reporting. I think that the user interface is also incredible. They also update with cool new features often. The support team is very quick.

Cons

The cost is very high for a nonprofit. The tool can get pretty technical at some times and a little difficult but the Support team is very quick to help.

July 2018

Deepashu Reshi from Allstate

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

We have been using this tool in our project to put forth improvement ideas for our team.

This has become a part of our team activity where we log our ideas, comment on other's ideas and track the ideas to closure thus improving the overall functioning of the team.

Pros

One of our track leads introduced this tool to our team around one year back. Since then, team has raised around 56 ideas and it has led to many process improvements in the team. Team is very happy with the tool because of its ease of use. Email notifications to the wider team audience helps get useful review comments on the ideas. Bright Idea moderators help to move the ideas forward to closure. Overall, the team is happy to use the tool and make a difference to their routine work.

Cons

The email notification feature is very good, however, if it is feasible to include the whole comment in the email, it will help save time to login to the bright idea site just to see the comments.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Innovation organized and efficient!

Pros

It is important that it is easy to use to a certain point. Same applies to customization features. But it is improving constantly, so it's great. Offers a wide range of evaluation tools and makes collaboration easy. It boost productivity and innovation significantly. Innovation and initiatives are generated with ease.

Cons

You can extract data to excel and generate your own reports, but the idea would be that those reports were generated by the software itself.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Easy to use with great customer support

Pros

I would like to say that I like the Flexibility and easy to customization. Rules of engine and automated email notification is my favorite for our organization.

Cons

feature for collaboration is not fully built into the platform. In current dynamic business environment, we need more collaboration with thinking of Agile mode.

June 2018

Shivkant from Allstate

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Innovation and Bright Idea tool compliments each other.

Already mentioned in Pros section of the tool. Better engagement of my folks and fostering Innovation culture in my Org

Pros

This tool is properly structured with defined process flow, metrics and stuff which makes our life easy. Driving Innovation and Ideation event through this tool is very easy and we are leveraging this tool to foster Innovation culture in our Organization

Cons

We can think of defining a process flow to promote Education and learning through this tool. Rest the experience is good and no other feedback for Cons

September 2019

Timothy from Harman International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Unique but cumbersome

I like how you can customize the entire thing. It's a proper web application. You can make it as advanced, simple, or personally branded as you need. I also greatly enjoyed and appreciate the BI support. I generally think it is too cumbersome, and it took me a while to learn how to use, at least the backend. Maybe that is the nature of backends. At first Brightidea felt like I was in a pilot's cockpit, with too many knobs and buttons to keep track of. The features also make the backend slow and not snappy like a fun/good piece of software.

Pros

I like how you can customize the entire thing. It's a proper web application. You can make it as advanced, simple, or personally branded as you need. I also greatly enjoyed and appreciate the BI support.

Cons

I generally think it is too cumbersome, and it took me a while to learn how to use, at least the backend. Maybe that is the nature of backends. At first Brightidea felt like I was in a pilot's cockpit, with too many knobs and buttons to keep track of. The features also make the backend slow and not snappy like a fun/good piece of software.

Reasons for Choosing Brightidea

We are using Brightidea specifically to stoke innovation into our various business centers, from Connected Car services to Personal Audio products. In lieu of more rigorous R&D across various departments, we have found value in collecting all of our employees' ideas from the ground up.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 97 reviews