User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.42

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"Very responsive, easily understood, available when needed. This has made a big difference in the success of our use of Bright Idea."
  • icon"The tool allow to manage complex innovation program both involving employees and external actors such as start-ups etc. It is extremely flexible and it scales with the ambition of any innovation team."
  • icon"Speed of being able to spin up new sites is fantastic - if you're not looking to customise much it's quite simple to get a professional looking site up quickly."
  • icon"The customisability of the product. Some features are quite rigid and hard to customise."
  • icon"Truth be told: I do hate it's chat mechanism. All the users, the team and I just can't get it, so we communicate via email."
  • icon"There are too many widgets and options to configure. Lack of templates slows the configuration process down."

Browse all Brightidea Reviews

  • Have you used Brightidea and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 106 reviews

User Profile

Kayla

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

I used Bright Idea to source & implement ideas from an organization of 1,200+ on an ongoing basis.

This software made it easy to collect, sort, organize, analyze, and communicate about ideas submitted by a 1200+ person organization spanning sites across the east coast (as well as an array of home workers across the country).

Pros

The software is intuitive and mirrors social media that most people are familiar with. It is easy to customize on the whole, and meets the objectives for our business goals.

Cons

I wish there were more options to support an ongoing program like the one we have. At Unum, we aren't looking for ideas in small spurts of time, but rather using the site as the foundation of an ongoing engagement and continuous improvement program spanning office locations and multiple departments/skills. Although we are using the tool in a way that it isn't necessarily intended, we have seen tremendous success. It'd be great to see BrightIdea work to tailor a version of the platform to a business goal like ours.

Oliver

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Robust and highly capable idea management platform

The service at Brightidea stands out. Throughout the sales process and more importantly, since the sales process, Brightidea have been attentive while giving us the space to explore and use the platform. There a good transparent processes for raising requests for future enhancements. In the first few months we have set up a range of challenge in the platform with very few issues - overall, it is early days, but has been a good start.

Pros

The platform is not that big on frills, but it feels highly dependable. The navigation is intuitive and we feel no need to issue user guides.

Cons

Currently, the reporting is robust and fairly extensive, but the ability to create custom reports would be a great addition to the platform.

Reasons for choosing Brightidea

Brightidea had several key functionalities that we were looking for, particularly in the review process where their solution was the only one that met our needs in that regard.

Reasons for switching to Brightidea

Cost and reliability.

Claudia

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

April 2018

Good experience but the software has some limits that can be improved

Pros

Flexibility in terms of customized pipeline, different evaluations tools, open to external and business model canvas and business impact that allow digitalizing some activities. Customization in terms of look & feel.

Cons

No possibility to assign an idea to a specific evaluator (some clients ask this functionality in particular when they start to use the platform). The activation of the workspace is centralized and permitted only to the admin (a high effort to innovation team). The absence of a project management tool (the functionality in the workspace is really poor). The low flexibility of the dashboard (in particular the dashboard shows the ideas in specific step and not in the stage- the step in the pipeline is typically used to make easier the activities and is not relevant in terms of process). The submission form is not effective. The development tool is assigned mainly by the submitter in a dynamic way (and specific resources defined) but if the ideas are published by a team the development tool doesn't permit to fill in the tool by all members. The absence of links to ideas and possibility to merge them if really similar or complementary. The chip can be cool but the employees are not incentivized to use them (if the employees make a good investment they gain the chips- if the employees do not invest chips have the same amount of chips)

Lindsay

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2019

BrightIdea Review

We started an internal crowdsourcing approach using BrightIdea and this has resonated very well with our business members. They are pleased that their ideas are able to be heard and the process is transparent.

Pros

The look & feel of the BrightIdea platform is very easy and engaging for users.

Cons

Functionality is limited in areas such as socialization and financials. Though the BrightIdea team is very open to hearing product enhancements and is frequently updating the software.

Reasons for choosing Brightidea

Better price, better look and feel for our end users, better support staff over Spigit

Ray

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Brightidea has been the key to organising our innovation initiatives

It has been a great way to get everyone involved in idea sharing. We have tried this without using Brightidea but it became too complicated to manage. This software makes managing the workflow super easy!

Pros

Very easy to adapt the software to the needs of the initiative, as well to the colors and theme of our company

Cons

I have not found anything negative, and I continue to try to find things that could be improved, but to date have not found any!

Reasons for choosing Brightidea

We prefered to deal with a company located in North America. Features were more in line with what we were looking for.

Melanie

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2019

Brightidea's customer service makes the difference

Pros

Working with the Brightidea team is always a good experience. They're client-driven, and have continuously worked to improve their product to suit our needs.

Cons

As with many providers of this type of software, getting it set up to track the metrics we need continues to be a bit of a struggle.

Reasons for choosing Brightidea

Brightidea, while not perfect, did a better job with data/analytics and provided exceptional customer service at a similar price scale.

User Profile

Toni

Verified reviewer

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

We use talent sharing functionality giving us the ability to strengthen our cross functional skills

Pros

Brightidea gives my organization the ability to collaborate more cross functionally and strengthen skills and experiences across the board. We love the ability to post opportunities for others to volunteer for. We also leverage the functionality to be able to solve challenging questions and source for opportunities to simplify and be more efficient at what we do. We connect these opportunities to our performance and coaching sessions for our organization to measure the success that we are gaining using Brightidea. Overall, we are very satisfied with Brightidea and look forward to use it in other creative ways to support growth and experience within our organization!

Cons

The only thing that challenges us is the pricing and limited Admin seats we have. This makes us have to rely on our IT partners for support and administration.

User Profile

Giorgi

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Tobacco

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2018

Perfect realization of idea crowd-sourcing in a platform

It helped us to save lots of time by automation of the certain tasks and also what's more important, it certainly brought a way more organized way of working for the team

Pros

The main advantage of the platform is the high flexibility and customization which allows us to adapt the platform to our needs not vice versa to adapt to the platform. Sometimes it might get overwhelming due to this, though overall I'd say this is a big asset of this platform. Furthermore, the constant improvements are made from the Brightidea team and communicated in a clear understandable way. We totally love the platform from its idea to the interface and usage. It helps us break down the projects into the categories/silos and supports us work in a way more organized way than before within the team.

Cons

I cannot really name anything big that we dislike. Though, the reporting could be slightly better as it doesn't fully shows the essence when exported, thus, makes it a bit harder to present to the third-party persons. Also, the pricing could be slightly lower.

User Profile

Brad

Verified reviewer

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2018

Market leading innovation management platform

Improved safety, increase quality, cost reduction initiatives.

Pros

The ability to create multiple environments, to customise workflows, to duplicate workflows (for rapid deployment), the dedicated mobile app and customer success support.

Cons

Lack of mobile app development, slow development of product enhancements, lack of local (i.e. outside of USA) hosting options to reduce latency.

User Profile

Kyton

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

This tool is a life saver for innovation teams.

Pros

I love the pipeline management tool and back-end reporting. I think that the user interface is also incredible. They also update with cool new features often. The support team is very quick.

Cons

The cost is very high for a nonprofit. The tool can get pretty technical at some times and a little difficult but the Support team is very quick to help.

Joseph

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Ideation software with built in features that you won't know you need until later

We are a very large company and have been working with Bright Idea for 4+ years. Overall, the experience has been a very positive one with teams using the Ideation software for initiatives such as Process, manufacturing, patient and other areas of improvement. There are tangible benefits to the Ideation process and Bright Idea goes a long way in helping us receive those benefits.

Pros

Having been an Enterprise Admin for 2 years; there are 4 general areas of focus in considering what I like best about Bright Idea. First, the end-user experience, those that come to a Challenge to submit, vote or comment on ideas. The interface is very straightforward and intuitive. I have yet to receive an end-user inquiry about how to use or what to do. Grade: A+ The next areas is Site (or Campaign) Administration; this is relevant for Challenge and Community Administrators - people running the campaigns. Typically, there is a small learning curve where you can show Managers easy-to-configure functional-widgets which provide a wealth of functionality in an easy to teach/use interface. Functional options can range from simple to advanced and can accommodate users on either plain. Grade: A+ As an Enterprise Administrator, there are a large number of features that can be customized for the Enterprise-wide site or individual Challenge experiences. I had one complaint about this tool is that there are too many features, which at times can feel a little overwhelming to when first learning the product. Grade: A Finally, Customer Service. The team is outstanding. Very responsive, easily understood, available when needed. This has made a big difference in the success of our use of Bright Idea. Grade: A++

Cons

As an Enterprise Administrator there is a learning curve for many functional options that can take awhile to understand. Also, I am not a fan of some of the terminology such as "webstorm".

Reasons for choosing Brightidea

Spiggit

Larry

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

Great Innovation Platform!

The experience with Brightidea has been great so far! I believe we made an excellent choice as a company for choosing Brightidea 2 years ago. The fact that Brightidea is also evolving and willing to take on suggestions as a means of continuous improvement of their platform is quite commendable. The company lives and breathes innovation par excellence!

Pros

I have found the customization features relatively easy to use compared to previous platforms that we adopted. The ability to add steps and create rules in the innovation pipeline set up helps to create the various dynamics that we needed as we shape our relatively complex innovation and product development process. Integration with our processes was a bit challenging at first, but overtime we found ways to adapt the platform to meet our needs.

Cons

The ability to have all the functionalities we enjoy on the desktop version within the mobile app option would definitely be a good improvement.

Reasons for choosing Brightidea

We had an extensive RFP process and Brightidea came on top for ease of customization and one of the key advantages that Brightidea had was the ability to have the business do their own customizations rather than raise an IT ticket every time a process change or modification needs to be made. This decision came down to the total value proposition for the company and not just for a few departments within the company.

Reasons for switching to Brightidea

We had to make a switch as the old platform did not meet our business customization needs and innovation approach going forward.

Kathlyn

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Brightidea Site Feedback

Overall, a good experience using the platform. We are continuously increasing usage and participation. Currently using the platform for idea submissions & collaboration on specific business challenge questions and pitch events. Most recently, we are finding more valuable use cases as a service platform to enable new ways of working & employee engagement through building departmental communities mostly focused around learning + development initiatives (i.e. Job Swap application process, Scholarship application process, joining Diversity and Inclusion initiatives).

Pros

-Ability to set up initiative/challenge pages easily and quickly -Ability to build out pipelines to evaluate and track ideas's progress, and easily route to the appropriate evaluator(s) -Good customer support with quick response and resolution turnaround time

Cons

-Needs improvement for more accurate language translation(s) feature -Clearer differentiation between the various apps. It would be great if there were different templates/lay outs that fit the main purpose of each application. For example, the 'Discuss' app looking more like a discussion board rather than the rest of the applications where each submission is an individual idea board.

Alexander

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Great Way to Crowd-Source Ideas from your Employees

Overall, Brightideas is a very excellent and worthwhile expense that your business can incur. We were able to save tens of millions of dollars in cost avoidance due to the creative and impactful ideas that were submitted by employees all around the company.

Pros

Brightideas offered an incredibly rich and robust platform that allowed our Innovation Team to create a method for our employees to share their ideas to management. There was also a way to incentive ideas with the build in "reward and recognition" system that was really well liked by our employees.

Cons

The learning curve for mastering this product is quite high, and back end users will need to go through some extensive training with the Brightidea representatives.

Reasons for choosing Brightidea

Brightideas offered the best value in terms of pricing and services/features offered.

Anthony

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Jumpstart your innovation program

Excellent team to work with, clearly experienced and supporting clients in the field getting things done!

Pros

- Will support you on your innovation program journey as it matures, covering nearly all possible activities in your program with templates and guidance for each! - Mobile app! - can be tailored to match what we want to achieve - overall analytics and pipeline management from idea to delivery

Cons

Its visual identity option (themes and css) are effective but a bit too much work to my liking! It does require you to consider properly the user journey on its homepage in particular.

Reasons for choosing Brightidea

We reviewed the market in detail with Gartner’s help; focusing on comprehensive innovation program rather than partial idea collection solutions.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

One of the best ideation platforms out there!

Great customer service, abundance of out-of-the box features as well as a company that listens to Customer feedback.

Pros

Outside of the the great customer service the company provides, the ease of use and features are what make Brightidea stand out. Our customers have especially enjoyed the back-end idea management interface to be able to rank, sort, and group ideas that have come in from solvers. With a large company and thousands of ideas flowing in, this is a key features that other platforms have failed to address meaningfully.

Cons

The one potential disadvantage of the tool is that advanced customizations will require professional services support which add up. Out of the box, however, the platform will service 90%+ of the Customer base so that may not be a big issue.

laurent

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

4.42

107