All Okta Reviews

1-25 of 346 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Greg

Higher Education, 1,001 - 5,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed October 2021

Good 2Factor System

User Profile

Yuriy

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Solid SSO package.

Overall, this really does help with consolidating logins, making onboarding and offboarding a very easy process. There are some admin panel quirks, but overall very useful.

PROS

Software is easy to use and implement. The Control panel just makes sense. Every implementation is very well documented and pretty much walks you through every integration possible. MFA is fairly easy. Support is great. Even pre-sale, we were able to get support from sales engineers and it was great. Pricing is nice too if you go through a reseller.

CONS

While the control panel is nice, there are quirks. The bulk delete users process is painful, you almost have to do it one by one. The MFA, while nice, can be quirky. I am getting a bit fed up with the number of authenticator apps on my phone.

Reason for choosing Okta

Integration setup was much easier with Okta making this a no-brainer pick.

Jean Pierre

Computer Games, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Okta, the one provider that delivers

10/10 .I've worked at SMB, Large Enterprise and startups. I ALWAYS get Okta if the org can afford it. There is really no "competition" that comes close to delivering a product as polished and easy to use as Okta.

PROS

Okta does what Okta says it does, and delivers. Okta doesn't try to be like other competitors (if you can call them that in the space) and does IAM, SSO and Security. It doesn't do 15 things poorly, it does what it does better than anyone else on the market. Okta's support is also insanely good. I've had Okta support trouble shoot an application issue and figure it out before the actual application support even scheduled a call with me. If you want fast a great support, then you really need Okta.

CONS

For smaller organizations the price is higher than others that "offer more". I say offer more, because in reality you get subpar products bundled together that all "kind of" work. Really if your org can afford it, you'll have a top notch product with Okta that is bar none.

Reason for choosing Okta

Okta does SSO and IAM way better than Rippling or JumpCloud. Plain and simple its comparing a butter knife to a scalpel. Maybe you can only afford the butter knife, but really you want the scalpel 99% of the time.

Seth

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2023

They will sell you then drop you and won't get in touch until it's billing time again

We had a terrible experience with Okta. Our sales rep left out very important details that would have dissuaded us signing up. First, the SSO paywall for 3rd parties is so massive and of course they left out that detail. For $12k per year, our costs would exceed $50k in 3rd party charges, just to connect the core apps we use on a daily basis. Second, they said Okta would work seemlessly for our customer service reps, who check in on email accounts and different software services that we use; however, after talking to 3 customer service reps, we found out that we could not achieve this using Okta, making this all-or-nothing deal fall short of our needs. Thirdly, they insisted that we pay them to get support on the product that they sold us on. I would highly recommend first googling "SSO wall of shame" and thinking twice about signing with Okta. They are hounding us to pay for year 2 when we did not even launch it in year 1. Steer clear of these guys, they will bait and switch and they only care about signing new customers.

PROS

Getting the team set up was relatively straightforward.

CONS

Setting up individual apps can be tedious and not straightforward. They offered no support unless we paid them. The paywall for SSO is very steep. Multiple users cannot access single accounts using Okta Verify.

Natasha

Mental Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Everything in one spot

PROS

That every tool/website that I need access to is downloaded, and can search for anything that I would need access to, can also add outside websites to this tool. Even super helpful when we have other departments that need access to other tools, it is set up for that department so they wouldn't have access to tools they shouldn't. Big bonus is when an individual leaves the company we have one shut down vs multiple spots to shut down.

CONS

I do not have any cons about Okta, for my use I find it extremely helpful.

Andualem

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Streamlining User Management

As a user of Okta software, I can say that it has been a great tool for streamlining user management within our organization.

PROS

1.Easy to use: Okta's interface is user-friendly and intuitive, making it easy to navigate and manage user accounts.2.Single sign-on: With Okta, users only need to remember one set of login credentials for multiple applications, which saves time and reduces the risk of security breaches.3.Customizable: Okta can be customized to fit the unique needs of your organization, including branding and access policies.4.Integrations: Okta integrates with many popular business applications, including Microsoft Office 365, Salesforce, and more.

CONS

1.Price: Okta can be expensive for small businesses or organizations with limited budgets.2.Support: While Okta's support team is generally responsive, some users have reported long wait times for support tickets.

Reasons for switching to Okta

I've decided to switch to Okta for my IAM needs. With Okta, I can manage my user identities and access in a centralized way, improving my overall user experience and providing a higher level of security. Additionally, I'll be able to enable single sign-on (SSO) functionality across different applications, making it easier and more efficient to access the tools and resources I need. Overall, I believe that Okta will provide a more robust and scalable solution for my IAM needs compared to using OAuth on its own.

Santosh

Automotive, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Excellent Authentication Tool - Okta

- The overall experience with Okta is excellent as it is used on every day cadence by all the users in the company for various reasons.

PROS

- Okta is the most efficient and critical application that we use every day and every moment for single-sign-on authentication, password management - Okta is integrated with Salesforce and all applications to perform some business automations accordingly without having the user to login multiple times into multiple applications - Okta has a very good features OOB which are used by enterprise customers at a wider range

CONS

- The pricing for Okta can be more affordable when compared to other alternate solutions in the market - The UI can be more customized and add more OOB features to integrate and build custom APIs - The support can be more responsive on critical issues at all times

Reason for choosing Okta

- The pricing was better when compared to other alternative products in the market - The customizations available in Okta are more wider than other products

vasil

Computer Networking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Okta

we primary choose Okta for MFA to increase security for users and SSO to integrate with multiple providers and applications .

PROS

Very rich feature set with multiple options for MFA and SSO.Policies are very easy to configure . Logging is very useful .It was very easy integration with our F5 SSL VPN.

CONS

almost nothing probably most secure solution on the market.

Reason for choosing Okta

Simplicity and reach features

Reasons for switching to Okta

Cloud based feature rich and very easy to config and integrate with your infrastructure

Chase

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Hands Down The Best SSO/Adaptive MFA Solution on the Market

We have been more than pleased with Okta. It makes signing into a bunch of different applications so much easier and only having to remember one password. Without having any prior knowledge with SAML, being able to set up new applications was still very simple and straightforward.

PROS

Okta has simplified everything for us. The process of setting up applications is pretty straight forward, and the number of applications that are supported is amazing. The adaptive MFA is really neat so we can easily balance security and usability to meet just about everyone's needs. The amount of work we have to do to onboard a new user has been reduced drastically through the support of SCIM and APIs. They continue to innovate and bring out new features that further enhance the usability and security of Okta.

CONS

Only minor issues with Okta, primarily being chose of wording for some of the settings that lead to some confusion on when Okta sessions expire.

Reason for choosing Okta

Simplicity was the overarching factor in selecting Okta. They are very focused on helping nonprofits as well, and that was a huge bonus for us.

David

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Okta Buyer Review

Need to provide Single Sign-On (SSO) and policy modeled MFA/Adaptive Authentication along with Directory integration are the main use cases. Okta hit it spot on!

PROS

SaaS Model, easy to provision and supports the most used applications from an access management and directory integration perspective. The user interface and capabilities are light years ahead of the competition.

CONS

Limitations around on-premise integration with applications and environments. This is not too bad as a SCIM provisioning agent/component is available to support limited provisioning to on-prem applications.

Reason for choosing Okta

Okta is leading the charge in the world of "modern authentication" and has integration/apps to support a highly mobile workforce supporting appropriate access to applications and services.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Great MFA

great that it doesn't disclose what you are authenticating

PROS

Most banks and services use mfa, and 2factor. but they identify who / what you are authorizing. Okta doesn't. If you have criminals trying to access your logins. Okta gives 1 major step of security above the other. s

CONS

nothing, it's fine. it ticks all the boxes for what i need.

Reasons for switching to Okta

had to, but microsoft allowed users to access my account. and when i tried to contact them to have this stop microsoft didn't bother to do anything.

Tomas

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Seamless Identity and Access Management

PROS

Okta excels in providing a seamless and secure Single Sign-On (SSO) experience, streamlining user access to multiple applications with a single set of credentials. Okta streamlines user provisioning and de-provisioning, automating processes to ensure timely and accurate management of user access throughout their lifecycle, reducing administrative overhead.

CONS

Implementing Okta may pose a learning curve for administrators, particularly in configuring advanced features and settings. The platform's extensive capabilities and customization options may require dedicated training to fully leverage its potential.

Sanchit

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Enterprise grade and a pleasure to use!

Much better than competitors and cost effective to boot, we'll be sticking with Okta along with their several other happy customers

PROS

- Extremely secure- Support for multiple MFA methods- Okta Verify takes away the pain of entering codes and lets you allow sign ins with the push of a button- Extremely rich API support- Cost efficient- Takes away the need to remember passwords for individual applications- Excellent customer support

CONS

- UI feels a little dated, even after the recent refresh. Still intuitive, just not that pleasing to look at- Creating a scoped API key requires logging out and logging back in with reduced permissions

Reason for choosing Okta

Simplicity and ease of use, cost

User Profile

Yevheniya

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

I am amused with the SSO feature and how it saves my time

I recommend using this excellent security tool as it has a lot of integrations for 2FA and provides my company with a wide range of configurations that could be customized on the unit/division level.

PROS

The most important feature for me as a user is a single sign-on option. I should pass the auth flow dozens of times on a daily basis to various services and platforms configured on my projects.In addition to this, from the security perspective, the login and the password are not saved on my work PC, so if I had to use the standard auth flow with credentials filling, it will be very painful to repeat it so many times daily.The SSO helps me to pass the authentication just using my phone, it is very handy!I can verify my identity by clicking the button on my smart watches, or I am able to confirm the 2FA with my cell number usage.

CONS

The token expiration time can be variative from time to time.

User Profile

Kavindu Githsara

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Secure Your Digital Perimeter with Okta

Overall, as a user of Okta, I am very satisfied with the software. Its ease of use, security features, and access management capabilities make it an excellent solution for businesses of all sizes. While the cost may be a potential concern for some, the benefits that Okta provides are well worth the investment.

PROS

I find it to be a highly effective identity and access management solution. Okta allows me to easily and securely access all the applications and systems I need for my job, from anywhere and on any device. I can use a single set of login credentials for multiple apps, which saves me time and ensures that I can keep my accounts secure. One of the key benefits of Okta is its ease of use. The interface is intuitive and user-friendly, and it’s easy to navigate to the applications I need. I appreciate the ability to quickly search for and find the apps I need, and I also find it helpful that I can customize the dashboard to show only the apps that are relevant to me.

CONS

One potential drawback of Okta is its cost. The licensing fees for Okta can be quite high.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Okta - MFA solution

Overall satisfied with product. Many companies have been increasingly integrating with okta.

PROS

We have integrated Okta with most of our apps. With MFA enabled you need to download Okta app on your phone and accept the push to login. I have been using this for more than a year and has been working fine so far. Integrations with Okta have been ok was able to read through documentation and proceed with integration. There is single page which shows all the okta enabled apps which is cool too.

CONS

There is some delay in push notifications at times. Also in case you loose your phone then you are caught up since you need phone to login and need to work with helpdesk to get it sorted.

Reasons for switching to Okta

This was enterprise level decision.

Andrew

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Okta leads the way in SSO and controlled access

Okta leads the way in SSO and controlled access Allowing users a hybrid experience for work which is safe and secure

PROS

Once setup, administration is easy and user management is simpleCompany portal is a great feature to manage user accessMFA and SSO does what it meant to do very well

CONS

The product does take some initial setting upThe product has many features that can seem very confusing and the price goes up with each of the features you need significantly for each user

Quang

Defense & Space, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Okta for remote work

Experience has been very positive. I access most of the Apps in Okta from home. For those Apps that I cannot access, I'll just wait until I come back to the office to use them, or bring my work laptop home. Okta has made working remotely more convenient.

PROS

Lets you access Apps without directly using VPN. This is useful for working remotely since you can use your personal computer to access the Apps instead of bringing your work computer home to access the Apps. All you need is username and password, and second authentication (if set up) to log into Okta to access your Apps.

CONS

There are still certain Apps that need direct VPN in order to access remotely. For these Apps, you still need to bring home your work computer to connect directly to VPN to access them. If this limitation can be overcome, then Okta would be fantastic for remote work; you no longer need to bring your work computer home.

Gus

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

The best SSO I have used so far!

I use it multiple times a day, to access everything on my work environment and it has never failed, not a single time in over one year, that's a 5 start software!

PROS

I have used many other SSO software apps in the past, Okta is by far the best of them all, safe, easy to use and user friendly!

CONS

Maybe just the fact than a Okta window remains open after you use it and you have to go and manually close it everytime, but it's not a big deal.

Reasons for switching to Okta

Changed the company I was working for.

Vishnu

Computer Games, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: