GoCodes Asset Management Software

4.32 / 5 (152)

About GoCodes Asset Management


GoCodes is a cloud-based asset and inventory tracking solution for small and midsize companies in the accounting, education, construction, engineering and health care industries. Key modules include fixed asset accounting, inventory management, field service request, maintenance management and GPS tracking.

GoCodes has a central database that tracks asset information like maintenance scheduling, cost, depreciation, warranty, check in/out and location. It also updates inventory information by tracking product using smart devices. The GoCodes solution includes patented QR code asset tags and labels. Once the asset tag is scanned, public asset and company information can be viewed, and a message is sent to the company. Employees can log in to view and update asset information as well as check assets in/out using any computer or smartphone.

GoCodes allows users to schedule future appointments and service tasks and then receive automated alerts before the due date. Inventory quantities can also be tracked with automated email alerts when running low on stock. Services are offered on a per user per month/year basis. Support is available via email, phone and through an online help knowledge base.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Mac OS, Linux, Unix, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000, Windows 8, Windows 10

152 Reviews of GoCodes Asset Management

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.32 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(77)

4 stars

(52)

3 stars

(19)

2 stars

(2)

1 stars

(2)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 152 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Meets Expectations

For what we pay, and as a bare minimum of our needs it meets the bar. While there is certainly room for improvement, it is still a valuable resource and database that was created with a good amount of thought and effort.

Pros

When it comes to meeting expectation for creating a database for physical assets, GoCodes does an excellent job at that. The app is very easy to use, it makes it easy in check things in/out as well adding photos and creating fields. There's minimal lag time between holding a camera over the code and it recognizing and reading it. The sites search functionality works great as well, I'm able to search and it will find those keywords within any of the fields available for an asset. This makes it easier to use a secondary way to reference an asset

Cons

A bit archaic. The site could definitely use a facelift that aligns more with 2018/19. It would be nice to create secondary databases, for example where I can just search once specific type of asset and see if something is checked in or not. It would also be nice to be able to create customizable views and dashboards that I can share internally with other departments who may be affected by the status of a specific asset

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied January 2019

Thanks for the review and detailed feedback. You will be pleased to hear that GoCodes 2.0 is coming in Q1 2019 and will be a complete modern overhaul of the web based UI and user experience.

August 2018

Goran from Kuch Contracting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2018

Great beginning software

Overall I am happy with GoCodes, it has made it much easier to know where everything is and what we have which has led to a decrease in unnecessary buying of things we already own. This has led to a decrease in the amount of storage space needed at the shop. There could be minor improvements as I mentioned above, and there should be an option to add more assets without upgrading the account to a much higher paid bracket with extra features. For our purposes the basic version works great but we are getting close to our Asset allowance. Id like to see asset increment upgrades available at a fair cost to the consumer.

Pros

Quick loading time when entering bar codes. Easy to use and enter data on the app. Reports available on the website to easily see the "big picture" of where everything is located.

Cons

- Scrolling down to find an empty asset in order to create a new item. I wish there was a button to open a new Asset form to start filling out.
-Sometimes when searching for a bar code, it shows other results of equipment containing the same numbers.
- Reports on Excel show too many fields, most of which are not in use for my purposes and it can't be set to not show them when opening the reports so they must be manually deleted.

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied August 2018

Hello Goran, thanks for taking the time to review GoCodes. You provided some great comments and suggestions. For adding new assets, we will look at adding a button to update the first available blank asset. For searching, did you know you can also filter on multiple columns to get the desired list. For reports, you can use the Grid View to create a custom view with just the columns you need in the order you want and then download in Excel. We would be happy to help you with these tasks by phone or email support@gocodes.com

November 2016

simon from Magnat Kaffehus

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

November 2016

Review from Norway

GoCodes is a great management system and very easy to use. I would how ever pay more for a better product. There are a few things that don't work as one would wish. for example different time zones don't work. export to excel does not work. There are a few more features that would make it better and i would pay more for.

Pros

i can see were may assets are on a map. and see all assets info on my mobile or pc.

Cons

I would like to be able to personalize my account more to our market, I would like to be able to print off of see my assets in Excel, and also with my own Custom Fields, (not possible for me although they say it is) . The date and time zone is a bit problem for us to know when the asset whats installed or purchased 02/04/16 means the 02 of april for us in norway but for gocodes it means 04 of febuary. so this is a feature we cannot use correctly

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied November 2016

Thanks for the review. It's possible to export to Excel, there are sometimes some Excel settings which need to be updated for use outside USA/UK. Contact us directly and we can help with this. We are working on adding the local time zone feature.

October 2016

Allison from NaperMed Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2016

Saves us money and helps avoid conflict!

We use this software for rental items, and while it only allows us to keep one picture, and does not yet provide notifications to admin on check-in and check-outs (assignments), it has helped the warehouses and customer service team IMMENSELY in communication about the items, and our customers find it hard to wiggle out of paying for lost items that are clearly scanned out to them and not returned. We use the mapping too, to see if an item is in one or the other warehouse. Overall, this has been a great investment in a tool that help us, and continues to improve as we grow as well! thanks GoCodes!

Pros

The images, custom fields, app tools, and location services.

Cons

No email to admin on assignment and unassignment

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied November 2016

Thanks for the review. We are evaluating adding asset assignment notifications as a new feature.

August 2018

Franklin from J&M Keystone Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2018

Great inventory system for static assets

This has helped our business so much with keeping track of equipment and so many other assets. We go code our lock boxes, ladders, vacuums and almost anything we don’t want to lose. The GPS feature is so helpful.

Pros

The ease of putting a sticker in the asset. The ease of scanning the asset. The ability to scan multiple assets

Cons

The scanner doesn’t always work. Having to manually put in all of the info for each asset into the system

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied August 2018

Hello Franklin, thanks for reviewing GoCodes. Glad you love the ease of use! Sorry to hear you have had an issue with the scanner. We would love to hear more about how that happened so we can track it down and fix the issue. Please check our knowledge base for more information or contact support@gocodes.com

August 2018

Tamlin from Andrews University, Dept. of Speech-Language Pathology & Audiolgy

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2018

Easy Check In and Check Out

We love the bulk discount and the kind attention from Todd Penny. He's the best!

Pros

We love how easy it is to scan an item in and out of the department. It's FAST and easy. The Faculty love it and the students find it easy too. No more hassles!

Cons

It does take some time to put all the info for each item into the GoCode system, but it would be that way with any system.

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied August 2018

Hello Tamlin, thanks for reviewing GoCodes. Glad you love the ease of use check in and out features! For data entry, have you tried the Update All feature in the mobile apps that will make it very fast for entering lots of near identical assets? We also offer an optional data upload service using an Excel spreadsheet which can really help in that area.

January 2019

Jackie from Reliance Interiors, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

GoCodes Review

IWe have had a good experience with GoCodes, it seems very easy to use from both the mobile and web platforms.

Pros

I like the ability to print our asset list by location so we can always have our foreman verify the assets on their job.

Cons

I think there are too many options to list for each asset, it should be kept more simple.

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied January 2019

Hello Jackie, thanks for the great feedback. I wanted to let you know that you can remove the asset options by hiding unused datafields. Let us know if you need assistance with setting that up.

January 2019

Tom from TMD Enterprises

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

January 2019

Held my inventory list hostage

As a small Photographer in DC we didn't find ourselves needing to use it every day or in some cases every month. Therefore we simply wanted to use it when and as needed. Sadly the team had no interest in helping us when we needed the files. We had started to use them very early on when you could create your own asset tags - we had ordered a bunch of them and it took us a long time and we still haven't even gotten to use them all however the GoCodes teams wouldn't let us use them or even refund us just because we didn't really meet their client model.

Pros

The concept of it is great, However for us it just seemed like they didn't have services for the little guy

Cons

wasn't friendly to the small business owner

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied January 2019

Hello Tom, sorry to hear that things did not go as planned. As a GoCodes customer, you can view and download your asset data at any time. We always make it available to you from your online account. If you contact us with more information we can work to resolve any issue you had with our services.

October 2017

Christopher from J&M Keystone

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2017

Great problem wish it had a few more features for actually filtering through equipment and such

Equipment accountability is very important for what we do. I have found that we can use it for anything within our warehouse to keep track and make people accountable. Very happy with this.

Pros

Great GPS tracking and map locator
App is great and easy to use
Easy to train people to use the program. I have this to be nice.
Effective for its use.

Cons

The reports that are produced seem to be a little outdated. A better version of the report or a better template would make it much easier to read.
Filtering through equipment is not the best and needs some sort of update

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied October 2017

Hi Christopher, thanks for sharing your feedback on GoCodes. You mentioned the filtering and we can help. There are comprehensive features for filtering and grouping asset data using the grid sub-menu. We would be pleased to demonstrate this to you if that would help.

January 2019

Karen from Marketing & Advertising

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Protect your assets by tracking

Very good. Very thorough. It’s a great til to help you keep track of the so many parts of a world of assets.

Pros

Ease of set up and support. We misunderstood a few things at the beginning but support was so helpful in helping us. Great customer service.

Cons

For our purposes we needed some additional equipment to erect it’s use. But we operated fine manually with this until we set up an electronic process.

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied March 2019

Hi Karen, thanks for your review.. We were a bit confused about your overall rating vs. likelihood to recommend? If you can explain further we would be pleased to assist you.

August 2018

Keri from Branch Line School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2018

Small School - works great!

LOVE - it has saved me so much work!

Pros

We can download an inventory and see all the assets immediately. It's great - especially for state reporting!

Cons

I want it to be more mobile - easier to use from a phone.

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied August 2018

Hello Kari, thanks for reviewing GoCodes. Glad it works so well for state reporting. We would love to hear your ideas for how we can improve the mobile app to make it easier to use, please email or call us with your suggestions.

January 2019

Michael from IpadHire

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Managing iPads

I am a repeat purchaser and its a reasonably priced product that gives a lot of functionality for the price.

Pros

The online activation and tracking is excellent. I have a rental business and checking assets in and out is quick and simple compared to the time consuming manual way I did it before. Simple to add new assets once you get the hang of it,

Cons

I cannot really figure out the depreciation reports but thats not why I bought the tags so it does not matter to me. Would be nice to have a feature to add multiple activations where say only the serial number of the asset needed changing.

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied January 2019

Hello Michael, thanks for providing your feedback. We would be happy to explain how our IRS GAAP deprecation reports work is needed. Also, did you know that there are three ways to add lots of assets quickly. There is a scan and copy feature, mass update feature and an upload. These three should really help you with data entry for new assets. As always call or email for additional assistance.

November 2016

Karen from Lipscomb University

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2016

Track and Protect

We check out alot of equipment and GoCodes has been a lifesaver in tracking and marking our stock against theft and loss. Highly recommend it.

Pros

Easy to use. Very thorough instruction and customer service on initial roll-out.

Cons

The initial rollout is a bit awkward and you really do need team as you recommend to get your arms around all the pieces.

January 2019

Frank from Millbrae School District

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

January 2019

GO CODES almost there

Overall, Go Codes is a much better system then our homemade inventory practices

Pros

We needed an easier way to track our inventory and GO Codes works great in that way. With the ability to scan tags and to add custom fields, Go Codes is a great value.

Cons

Being a school district we often have large quantities of equipment arriving at once. It's a little clumsy to maneuver while scanning large numbers of devices. I have a great vendor who sends me a list of serial numbers and inventory numbers so we can just add them without scanning. I would LOVE to be able to import all these but it can only be done by Go Codes doing it for a $$$. This is a major deal for me. Adding the ability for customers to upload into the system is a must for me.

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied January 2019

Hello Frank, thanks for your review. Our product team is looking at ways to make it easier and safer for customers to upload bulk data. To date we have provided this as a service as small user errors can easily result in data corruption and loss.

July 2015

Douglas from EMW Productions


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2015

GoCodes, how it helps EMW Productions in Asset Mangegement

Pros

The product is super east to use a "no brainer" really. The ability to track our assets is simplified and I as CTO can manage the location, check in check out and the maintenance, warranty, etc of each asset is a key to proper asset control.

Cons

No GPS. No, seriously, I've talked with my peers and yes there is a strong placement for GPS tracking but dollar to dollar GoCodes is the best and most viable solution for multi office asset control.

The tag quality, but that is only because I choose the cheapest tags to start with. Next batch will be the more durable tags.

October 2016

Tom from Railroad Construction Co.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2016

A lot to offer

We have been using GoCodes for almost a year and we have had nothing but a positive experience. The bar codes work Everytime and help us track equipment coming and going. I can also communicated with supervisors through the scan of each code.

Pros

GPS location, equipment tracking, apps for Android and iPhone.

Cons

Atvthe mercy of the scan, no scan, no trackability

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied November 2016

Thanks for the review. Affordable real-time tracking is the holy grail for many customers. Were working on it. Unfortunately the only solutions available today cost significantly more and have additional limitations.

August 2018

Russ from SBM Site Services

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2018

App functions great for our purposes

Positive

Pros

Printing Reports is easy and customizable.

Cons

No alerts are sent for follow up items.

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied August 2018

Hello Russ, thanks for taking the time to review GoCodes and glad to hear that it's working out great. It sounds like you may need help setting up the future service alert feature. We would be happy to help you with this or you can check the knowledge base for assistance.

August 2018

Brandon from Tricorp Group Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2018

Invincible stickers!

It has allowed me to take my inventory lists from piles of papers and data entry to one quick scan and entry. It saves of hours of labor and I don’t have to worry about keeping track of my inventory log papers anymore.

Pros

The software is great it provides many ways to categorize or classify your assets. The stickers are metal and practically impossible to scratch off the QR code. The software also provides means of recovering lost assets through contact info and rewards.

Cons

Sometimes the app freezes during entering the information for the assets and you have to start over on that asset.

Response from GoCodes of GoCodes, Inc.

Replied August 2018

Wow, thanks for the great review! We are concerned though that our mobile app is freezing for you and are working on a new release now which should address the issue. If it re occurs, please call our support team directly and we will assist you as an urgent priority. App stability is very important to us for all our customers.

November 2016

Jason from Pipeline Irrigation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2016

Asset tracking with great software!

From the beginning we were just looking for a way to find out where our equipment was. We got in touch with GoCodes and from day one they offered us a demo and over 200 stickers! We started the process of adhering the easy to install GoCodes stickers, and installed the mobile app. Since then we have added over 1000 additional stickers. We would highly recommend this system to anyone who is looking for asset tracking or inventory management.

Pros

The detailed information options that can be added to every asset.

Cons

Couple of bugs that need to be worked out with the mobile app. When you do a multiple scan. and then go back to a single it polls the previous multiple.

November 2016

Jen from BankLiberty

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2016

Great for track of peripherals

We were looking for an easy way to keep track of hundreds of printers, scanners, monitors, and other equipment that isn't connected using the network. Go Codes stood out to us as offering great pricing, an easy to use interface, and flexibility in designing our ID tags. We looked at other companies offering similar solutions, but it was the simple deployment that sold me and my team on Go Codes. Our sales representative was easy to get a hold of and quick to respond with any pre-sales questions or concerns. Post deployment support is reliable and also fast to reply with any questions on of the staff may have. I would recommend Go Codes for any company looking for an easy to use asset tag and inventory tracking solution.

Pros

Easy to get started tagging and tracking. Branding and customizing of asset tags.

Cons

Certain fields within the item description are vague, and it would be nice to have more control over customizing our fields.