About Planning Pod


Planning Pod is a cloud-based event planning and management solution that offers tools for solo event planners, agencies, corporations and nonprofits. It enables users to create mobile- friendly event websites with customized branding. Key features include attendee management, collaboration, lead tracking, invoicing and payments processing and venue bookings.

Planning Pod enables event planners to create seating plans by using elements such as stages, tables and chairs. It also allows attendees to register online, and event managers can centralize and sort data. The solution allows users to scan the QR code on a guest’s ticket to check in.

Planning Pod lets users create budgets, share files and calculate the total time spent on each event. Users can also create proposals and collect electronic signatures to generate invoice.

Services are offered on a subscription basis and support is provided via phone, email, live chat and an online help center.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

27 Reviews of Planning Pod

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.33 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(13)

4 stars

(10)

3 stars

(4)

2 stars

(0)

1 stars

(0)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Good, easy-to-use and practical planning tool

I use it to mostly manage my client's budget and timelines. There are many other features that I don't regularly use because I use other tools or processes, but it works well for those items and I'm on it frequently.

Pros

I like that the owners are always trying to make upgrades to the software and they seem to genuinely listen to customer feedback on what we want to see. It's well priced and easy to use.

Cons

The wedding websites available to the clients aren't up to par with what is available in the industry. Same with the floor plan tool. It would be wonderful to only have to use one platform, but at the same time, it's priced appropriately that the tools you receive are good / on point with what you are paying for.

Response from Planning Pod of Planning Pod

Replied March 2018

Thanks for your review. We are currently collecting feedback on our Floorplans tool with plans to make major updates to it in 2018, so please let us know if you have any specific features you would like to see enhanced. We also recently added an Inspiration/Vision Board tool for collaborating visually with team members and clients. As for the event webpage tool, it is focused more on RSVP/registration collection, which is why it may not have the design capabilities of other tools like Wix. But I appreciate the feedback and we will be making updates to that tool later in 2018.

February 2018

Donna from Ame Soeur Events

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

I use PP to keep all my weddings in one place. It's an efficient tool to use in tracking my clients

My client info was everywhere, some in Google docs, some in excel...just everywhere. Now everything is in one place which has helped me organize and be a little more efficient.

Pros

The timeline feature and the ability to customize a few things. I enjoy the fact that my clients can collaborate with me on their events and manage their task lists on their own. The planning pod team is very responsive to ideas from its users and that is a huge plys.

Cons

It's easy for event planning use, but for weddings it has many features I don't use, such as ticket sales etc. It had also been nice to manage basic tasks specific to daily follow up on clients through the client contact area. I don't necessarily like that I have to utilize a task lust within the event to set a task if that makes sense. I want to go to one area that has all my clients in it, set my follow up tasks at one time for each client and then get an email reminder to do it.

Response from Planning Pod of Planning Pod

Replied March 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Donna. You can add/view/manage tasks via the Calendar tool also if you don't want to manage them inside each event. We will be adding workflows in Q2 2018 so you can more easily set follow-ups and reminders for anything in your account.

February 2018

Lisa from Conner & Winters

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Easy-to-use, cost-effective event management tool

It helps with signing people up for our events, tracking submitted information, processing payments from attendees and communicating information to attendees.

Pros

Planning Pod is a very valuable tool for processing event registrations, RSVPs and payments. It also helps communicate information to event attendees. Planning Pod offers a lot of powerful features without the high prices that come with a lot of other event management software options. The customer support at Planning Pod is always very responsive to any questions or issues that pop up.

Cons

While the event website component is very easy to use, I wish it had more flexibility to change fonts and font sizes and arrange text on the website in a custom way.
There should also be a way to change attendee ticket status without having to call customer support.
A little more flexibility in naming items would also be ideal. (e.g. - We "register" people for our big annual seminar - but had to "sell tickets" due to Planning Pod's set-up)

Response from Planning Pod of Planning Pod

Replied March 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Lisa. I have added your input to our list of suggested features for future consideration. As for changing ticket status, if you are charging a fee for registrations, there is a 60-day period that you can change status or refund tickets on your end in the application. After that, you do need to contact us due to the requirements of the credit card payment processors that we work with. If you are not charging a fee, you can always void a free ticket anytime.

March 2018

eric from Church Ranch Event Cetner

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

good

Pros

I like that you can acess it anywhere. We run 200 event through Planning pod. it is a good software.

Cons

When Planning Pod roll new thing out and there is no training. Would love to have a software rep to come out and do training. we could pay for it.

Response from Planning Pod of Planning Pod

Replied March 2018

Thanks for your input, Eric. Our software is mostly self-serve, so we don't provide live training. However, when we launch new features or tools, we do add new articles to our Help Center as well as how-to videos that walk you through how to use the features. In addition, we can provide you with Web-based training for your users that is a small fee in addition to your monthly subscription. Just let me know if you are interested in that. Finally, I was surprised to see that you were not happy with our customer support, as I show that every ticket you have sent in we have responded within 1 business day (usually much quicker than that) and did our best to answer your questions. If you are having issues with how we support you or your team, please let us know and I will see that it is improved immediately. Thanks for being our customer :)

July 2017

Theresa from Wedding Planner

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Almost perfect!

Planning pod keeps my business organized from almost every aspect.

Pros

White glove customer support, Extremely user-friendly interface, professional industry templates, accept online payments, budget management, vendor management, CRM, workflows, to do's, checklists, proposals, contracts, worksheets, calendars, vision boards, client portals, floor plans, guest management and so much more.

Cons

Pricing is a bit high for infrequent business owners and startups . . . For what I'm currently spending I want software features that are more competitive such as: more and better integrations, white labeling, custom domain, send messages through software from my email address, inventory management, e-commerce code for my website, quote generating form.

Response from Planning Pod of Planning Pod

Replied February 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Theresa. We have recently added integrations with Salesforce, MailChimp, Google, Dropbox and Microsoft OneDrive. In Q2 2018 we be adding integrations with QuickBooks, Xero and other online payment providers. And most of your other requests are on our build list for the coming months. As for our pricing, we try to be very competitive and we offer 30+ event management tools for as little as $0.63/day.

February 2018

Heather from First Coast Weddings and Events Inc

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Best value for the most features

Pros

Clean layout, easy to navigate. My staff likes it, but my clients will not use the features available to them because it is too confusing/complicated. Compared to other similar programs, I feel it has the most to offer for my staff's needs.

Cons

Flexibility of PDF reports, on-screen reports, and customization. Also the calendar sync does not work properly, which makes it useless for scheduling appointments.

Response from Planning Pod of Planning Pod

Replied March 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Heather. We do offer quite a few tools for all the aspects of managing events, but you can always limit the tools your clients see so that it's not so overwhelming for them. Also, we have recently enhanced all our PDF reports and dashboards. And I checked the electronic calendar syncing feature in your account and it is working fine now, so please let us know if you still have an issue with it.

February 2018

Natalie from Event Design Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

The system is fairly easy to use. Could use a bit of refinement in aesthetic but works great overal

ease of use. helps me keep client's organized.

Pros

great price, allows me to keep most everything in one place. I love the itinerary portion of the site my clients and vendors do too.

Cons

is not integrated with some other systems. I have to use Honeybook to manage contracts because it's easier. AislePlanner is more robust and has a new feel that makes wedding client's gravitate toward it

Response from Planning Pod of Planning Pod

Replied March 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Natalie. We are currently overhauling our contracts, invoices and proposals tools to incorporate feedback we have solicited from our users. We will be integrating with Quickbooks and Xero in Q2 2018 so you can integrate our proposals, invoicing and payments tools with those bookkeeping applications. We have also redesigned our interface and made it much more customizable so you can change the look for any audience.

April 2019

Erin from Lindeman Weddings and Events

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2019

Fraudulent - do not use

It's too bad because they have the right idea and I did enjoy using their platform while it lasted, but they can't partner with processing companies that don't support their mission statement. All they would have to do is have a couple options or help fix the one they are already partnered with.

Pros

I am an event planner and was happily using their software that I would give 4* to until the one and only banker/payment processing said they offer decided out of the blue after over a year of using the product -- that they can no longer work with my company as I plan events that sometimes involve travel. They won't even allow me to use the invoice software to put through event planning services that have nothing to do with travel. With no warning and zero help from customer service on both the WePay and Planning Pod sides. You can't provide a platform and advertise that you are working as an event planning platform only to have the invoicing and ticket registration platforms not work for events? It is fraud to sell something to companies that doesn't have the functionality that they advertise. They have built a platform to create events and take payments, yet I am banned from doing so. Not to mention it has been over 2 weeks and they are still continuing to charge my card for their service even after I requested a stop/refund. All they would have to do is a quick audit what I do and have a conversion with the one payment processor they work with to resolve this issue. No phone support which makes this even more difficult.

Cons

Terrible customer support. No phone support -- only emails that take more than a business day to answer a trouble support ticket. When your business has to stop because the platform that you are paying for is not working at all, it can be very frustrating having no sense of urgency or even 1 day warning this was going to happen. My account is still rendered useless as it has been for well over a week and still no response from them.

February 2018

Marsha from Events By Seven

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Thanks to Planning Pod, my planning service is extremely organized and savvy.

Pros

Where I can plan, organize, schedule, collect payments in one tab. I am able to plan our client's entire event in planning pod, I schedule their monthly to dos, I interact with our team via planning pod. Our clients are able to enter and update their guests lists, work on the seating chart and create meal assignments. I am able to create, send and sign contracts along with our clients. I can collet current and schedule payments with a simple clicks. I love that I can create an event itinerary and include the list of creatives on the itinerary.

Response from Planning Pod of Planning Pod

Replied March 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Marsha ... it is much appreciated :)

November 2018

Hillary from Sincerely Weddings

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Great Tools for Wedding Planners

Planning Pod helped streamline a lot of my work into a single software. I really love how everything was in a single place. If your looking for a good, reliable wedding planning software, this is the one to choose!

Pros

We used planning pod and it worked great! I really like how they were always willing to take suggestions from their users. The ability to take payments through the software also helped streamline everything. Their how to videos and articles really helped to explain how their features work. I really liked how I could store all contracts within the software itself. This helped me eliminate nearly all paper. Customer support was also always very helpful whenever I needed help. They always responded that same day!

Cons

Nothing really, it was a fantastic system!

March 2018

Veronica from Behind The Scenes Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

I've used Planning Pod since before it was called Planning Pod and I love it.

Pros

I like the ease of use, it is dummy proof. I like that my other professionals and cliens can also use it for certain events and I love the built in floor plan.

Cons

I don't like the contracts section, that part needs an update. I would like for my clients to "inital" different sections and right now that is not possible.

Response from Planning Pod of Planning Pod

Replied March 2018

Thanks so much for your feedback, Veronica. We are currently working on an update to our contracts tool that will enable for initialing sections of the online contract prior to signature, and we will be adding additional features to that tool based on user input. Also, look for a new workflows tool in Q2 2018 for added flexiblity in the contracts tool.

February 2018

Leah from The Direct Action & Research Training (DART) Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality