User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(83)

83

4 stars

(47)

47

3 stars

(14)

14

2 stars

(5)

5

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Works as expected. Easy to configure and is very intuitive. "

  • "Very customizable, and no coding!! Easy to use"

  • "Great out of the box, customizable, code less, great company culture"

  • Cons

  • "The software is lacking in visual design. It's functional but getting information to be readable and look good is very hard and takes quite a bit of work in the dashboard manager. "

  • "The UI is somewhat dated but still functional. Their web-based console (for technicians) has about 90% the functionality of the thick client."

  • "Cloud based and it can be slow once in a while, but works most of the time it is fine. It is getting better after our feedback."

Browse Cherwell Service Management Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 149 results

May 2020

Douglas from Education Management

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Very effective ticketing system

Cherwell Service Management has been a very effective ticketing system for our operation. It rewards inquisitive users who have some experience with SQL queries. It integrates with our email system, so we end up receiving and answering email inquiries from our user community through the Cherwell interface. It gives good reporting, and good statistics, although the reporting requires some effort to access. It has been a good system for my organization

Pros

Customization of searches; use of an SQ-like search format to build queries that can then be saved and reused

Cons

Requires some level of training in order to increase personal customization. Occasionally have multiple people working on the same tickets, so some tickets get resolved with ineffective solutions while others are working on them. Reporting requires some effort to access.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great product with high upside

Overall the process with Cherwell has been great. The product is fantastic with very few hiccups.

Pros

This product allows us to customize it in a way that makes it so we can bring all departments within the same system (finally!).

Cons

Implementation and additional integrations can be difficult (as with any product).

Reasons for Choosing Cherwell Service Management

Better interaction with the Cherwell team, better customization.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

Excellent help desk product

I've been working with Cherwell for 4 years. The product is extremely stable and safe. Through personalized screens it is possible to have a complete view of the activities that are being requested by priority, demand and responsible. To search for an extended call, the tool has quick and well-designed consultation screens. I also manage the process changes using the tool.

Pros

The ability to create customized panels with all the demands that are being requested, filtering by responsible analyst.

Cons

When we have a large number of queries on personalized screens the product loses a lot of performance. Creating micro-slowness. Even in the transition of their product. This could definitely be better.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Standard functionality but horrible UX

We use Cherwell as a ticketing system for the help desk as well as change management system. The user interface is challenging, to say the least. There are frames within frames that have to be scrolled through separately to see all of the information. The text box containing the user's message is so small, it show the tiniest portion of the message. To expand it, you have to pop open a new window, which automatically inactivates the main window so you have to trick the system in order to see multiple tickets at once. The emailing functionality is clunky - the initial email you send to a customer uses one link but replies after that need to use a different "email" button that is oddly hard to find. When a customer sends a reply, the ticket displays in a different color, but that is the only notification. So if they send multiple messages, you wouldn't know unless you fully open the ticket and that is cumbersome. There's an inactivity timeout that may not apply to everyone, but it's a hassle. The system times out after an hour of inactivity but it isn't consistent - sometimes it will run for days with no activity and not sign me out and other times it's at 60 minutes on the dot. Also sometimes when I'm logged out automatically, it doesn't actually log me out so when I try to log back in, I'm locked out. Overall, with the current UX, it would have to be the cheapest option available for me to recommend it to anyone.

Pros

Help desk tickets are tracked Released changes are tracked

Cons

User experience Look and feel of the software Search functionality Notification process Inactivity timeout

March 2019

Cliff from N3

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

High level of accurateness and flexibility

Cherwell Software offers one ITSM product which is aimed at companies with medium and high level of maturity. If you are interested in integrating a flexible and adjustable solution in your organization, then Cherwell Service Management is exactly what you require.

Pros

The company has expanded its ITOM capabilities and supports a wide range of third-party integrations and extensions. For instance, the example of such a platform can be Exchange Mergeable Application. In a few words, this application gives various opportunities for third-party developers to host their applications. In general, the vendor pleases us with the new program’s opportunities and abilities rolling out pretty frequently. We have given our preference to Cherwell Service Management because of its great visualization capabilities, user-friendliness of the program’s interface, powerful reporting, etc. With its help, our team has automatized numerous processes and tasks. The platform pleases with its accurate dashboards and incredible search abilities.

Cons

The company has a tendency to reassign account people. Maybe, the reason for that is the high speed of their self-development, who knows. But still, it may cause little difficulties. Where we see problems with Cherwell Service Management is that this program requires a lot of computer memory to run correctly. In addition, the program will be a real pain without a strong infrastructure from your side. What’s more, this solution does not have any web version.

October 2019

Catherine from Texas State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Cherwell

Pros

Flexibility and customization - if you have the time, you can build it.

Cons

ADA, mobile and browser apps (thick client for PC only)

Reasons for Choosing Cherwell Service Management

Cost and feature sets.

October 2019

Jason from Genesco, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great product!

Very good

Pros

Easy to use once you are trained. Easy automation.

Cons

Can be difficult to work around the "codeless" design for those with coding backgrounds

Reasons for Choosing Cherwell Service Management

Price, features

July 2018

Denise from Society of Petroleum Engineers

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

I used Cherwell as a client is enjoyed it

Pros

Cherwell is easy to use and set up. Creating multiple threads for multiple projects is a plus. Its easy with adding or removing participants to the threads.

Cons

Cherwell has no real cons in its software or platform. I have had no issues that I can report. Its just a great software and I enjoy using it.

October 2019

George from Vanderbilt University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Cherwell is Great

Pros

Ease of administration and support when issues arise

Cons

Many options. Difficult to decide where to go next

February 2020

Danny from Yuma Regional Medical Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Lots of Features.

The ticketing function is working as expected. The software is functional.

Pros

It seems like this ticketing software has the ability to become very powerful analytics tool. It also provides basic functionality.

Cons

Your mileage may very depending on how much time and resources you want to use to make this extremely useful. The options are there it just takes research and time with product.

October 2016

Robin from City of Wichita, KS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Best ITSSM Platform - Indespensible in Delivering Our Services

Cherwell implements 11 ITIL process out-of-the-box which helped an immature organization like ours start practicing ITIL. It's automation capabilities are vast and robust. The single best part of this product is its philosophy. It is completely customizable to fit your organization's needs and if Cherwell doesn't do something another tool does or you want to continue to use that tool, Cherwell integrates with many tools natively, through merge application functionality, and lastly through general customization. Simply put, if you can dream it, Cherwell does it...and if it doesn't, it will integrate with something that does.

Pros

Everything! It is customizable to fit my organization's needs. I happen to be a programmer, but I don't need to be to develop and configure Cherwell. It implements robust and customizable frameworks that allow you to use it as you need to. Cherwell doesn't dictate ITSSM, it's your partner in it.

Cons

The customizability allows unwary or naive implementors, developers, or Cherwell Admins to make changes that ultimately reduce the awesomeness of the product. The biggest area of this is in implementing business processes. Before making changes, consider whether you business process is as effective as it should be, rather than making the product implement a poor-performing process.

October 2016

Chris from University of Iowa Community Credit Union

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell is a powerful, flexible software that is great out of the box

We did not have an ITSM software in place prior to implementing Cherwell, so we did not come in with any preconceived notions. The implementation was smooth and the PSO helped us customize the software during the process. I have found it to be very easy to maintain, upgrade, modify, and enhance. The Cherwell customer community is vibrant and the company listens and incorporates ideas and requests from its user base. Support is very friendly and helpful, and always willing to help me with implementing any ideas I come up with. I also very much appreciate their emphasis on participating in their community and supporting organizations who have a positive impact on our world.

Pros

The product allows for a high level of customization and is very easy to use, both from user and administrator standpoints.

Cons

The built in report writing leaves something to be desired. However, reporting through dashboards and searches within the system is a great alternative.

October 2016

Jennifer from County of Los Angeles

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell has changed my career life.

Using Cherwell has been great because I have gotten to learn a new software product and how to develop in it, whereas before I was sort of stuck not doing any development work for years. CSM has challenged me to learn more and stretch boundaries in planning future projects for more innovative development, as well.

Pros

I really like how the company makes its customers feel special and makes us a priority, and how it is a software company that is proud of providing a code-less software product, that always seeks to be innovative and the best.

Cons

There are some quirks in the product that cannot be explained that exist in different places in the software that make troubleshooting a challenge at times. I have a One-Step, for example, that changes perspective after the 4th or 5th step, for some reason, and I had to build a work-around for it.

October 2016

John from K&L Gates, LLP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Unparalleled Flexibility

The application allows non-developers to create their own scenarios and solutions, and engage your users with highly-configurable dashboards, reports, and forms. With some more advanced knowledge, you can easily turn a basic ticketing system into a full-featured platform for your company.

Pros

The flexibility and ease of use. The licensing model is extremely flexible and makes sense in nearly every business case.

Cons

The depth. While this isn't generally considered a negative, the software is so deep that you tend to realize there are a half dozen ways to do the same thing, and if you're of the mindset where you constantly tweak your apps, you'll always find a better way to do something, even if you don't have the time/resources to do so.

October 2016

Brian from UW-Madison

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell is amazing software

We've been using Cherwell since August 2014, and have yet to encounter something we can't make it do. The ability to develop the tool with the access to the same tools and features that their in-house and partner developers use means that we can build the tool exactly as we like at very little cost, and it provides numerous ways to build integrations to other tools and services, without needing to develop expensive bespoke code. Going back to anything else would be unthinkable.

Pros

User community, ability to modify to meet our needs, variety of hosting options, a vendor who is as interested in making the best possible tool as we are.

Cons

The webclient isn't quite up to par with the installed client yet. This is my only real gripe.

October 2016

Jamie from Curves Jenny Craig

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell is a great ITSM that is easily expanded to the Enterprise

We implemented Cherwell in 2013. Currently we have incident, service request and change management implemented within IT. IT Projects underway are problem management, knowledge management and employee on-boarding/off-boarding. We also expanded the tool to Customer Service, Operations, Facilities Service and Supply Chain. Our next non-IT project will be implementing the tool within HR. The tool does not require programming background to configure. We have two non-technical resources who are responsible for the administration of the tool and development of new applications. Dashboards are an easy way to report real time data from the system. They are powerful and we use them everyday to monitor our service. As a company Cherwell is 100% customer focused. They listen to us and help us be successful with the tool. The culture of the company is amazing and not something you typically see at a software company.

Pros

Configurability, flexibility and ability to expand beyond IT.

Cons

The report writer is difficult to learn and understand.

June 2019

Austin from Rehmann

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Highly customizable but watch for bugs

In the grand scheme of things, the software works very well. We are able to tailor it to meet our requirements for separating Incidents and Service Requests without too much of a learning curve. This has allowed us to obtain accurate metrics that were previously unavailable. The ability to customize everything has also opened up options for other teams to use the software instead of relying on email because other ticketing systems are too restrictive.

Pros

Cherwell gives you the ability to do almost anything you want/need to do. It's built in workflow (One-Step) feature is great for automating repeatable tasks. The extensibility and integration options are also huge benefits. Being able to link into pretty much any other application with a SQL back-end is huge.

Cons

There are quite a few bugs especially when it comes to the browser side of things. Customizing the Customer Portal lacks a functioning WYSIWYG interface and if you're a hosted customer, you have to open a ticket to have support restart IIS services before some of your changes go into effect. This makes creating/modifying a Customer Portal very painful. The Browser Client for technicians is also quite buggy. With the amount of "out of the box" features the software comes with, be very careful.. As some of these features are misconfigured out of the box and require either scouring the whole system or relying on a third party vendor who knows where the bugs are and can fix them. If you ask me, this is just a way to force you to use a consultant for implementation.

October 2016

Steve from New Pig Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell just works and I love to tell others about it

From the moment that we met the Cherwell folks in 2014 we knew that they were the right fit for us. They listen to their customers and they truly care about our needs and they encourage user input and interaction. There hasn't been a need that we've thought of that we either haven't been able to do or haven't been able to find an answer from the user community.

Pros

It's extensibility. There hasn't been anything that we haven't been able to find an answer for so far.

Cons

When building a new business object there are so many options and check boxes (that's good). The problem customers face is that we don't know exactly what all those check boxes do so would like to see additional documentation on those.

October 2016

Derek from MAXIMUS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Total Cost of Ownership is the best in the industry

We had several systems at our company of the last few years. We have 20,000 users and over 400 locations spread throughout the world. We have used Lotus Notes, Heat, IBM Smart Cloud Control Desk. We went through major consolidation efforts for tools, people and processes. We are in the middle of a massive IT Transformation. We evaluated ServiceNow and Cherwell very closely with test instances in our organization. From easy of setup, use and administration Cherwell blew away ServiceNow. Continual Professional Services are costs not usually highlighted in initial sales meetings. With Cherwell, we are able to significantly decrease our 3rd party Professional Services costs. The licensing costs are much less expensive. With ServiceNow, you have to pay for modules as your organization matures and finds value in these new features. This is not the case with Cherwell. From easy of use, functionality to customer support and costs, there was not comparison. Cherwell blew away the competition and continues to do so.

Pros

Easy of use and intuitive nature.

Cons

Some current challenges with multiple developers working simultaneously. The DEV leadership at Cherwell is currently working to resolve this challenge.

October 2016

Robert from Dun & Bradstreet

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2016

Widget disparity between client application and web browser

All widgets are available in both the client and web parts of Cherwell, however, the widgets viewed in a web browser lack the same visual quality that you see in the client. Mainly graphs and grids differ between the client and web so much so that either widgets are doubled to accommodate the differences or separate dashboards entirely.

Pros

The application is incredibly customizable. You don't have to figure out how to cram a custom process into a fixed application, you just create your custom process with all and only the things and functions it needs, but still have the capability to link it to existing objects and processes

Cons

The lack of web browser compatibility development. However Cherwell is a company that actually listens to it's customers and they are constantly improving.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Cherwell Ticketing Software

Cherwell has been great overall. Have used it for around 3 years and have had almost no functional issues with it during that time.

Pros

Cherwell does a great job of keeping track of tickets across multiple teams with seamless integration. Makes ticketing for a large IT Dept. with over 12 teams easy. The software is customizable and allows for automation in just about every facet of the program. Tasks that take up to 10 minutes can be done instantly through the One-Step feature.

Cons

The software is lacking in visual design. It's functional but getting information to be readable and look good is very hard and takes quite a bit of work in the dashboard manager.

October 2019

Chris from New Brunswick Community College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Very cutomizable, and no coding!!

Pros

Very customizable, and no coding!! Easy to use

Cons

It's a bit buggy and there are some quirks that require adjustments

December 2019

Niru from Dealer-Fx

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

CRM Software used for Helpdesk

Overall, cherwell has allowed our team to collaborate on many levels across the organization. We can create,track, monitor and assign problematic cases that come to our helpdesk from clients so we can best assist them and find a resolution.

Pros

I like how cherwell provides a database of all our incidents created from agents at the helpdesk. This allows us to collaborate and best assist our client with issues that arise. Cherwell service management allows admins to customize dashboards and ticket templates to best cater to the orgainzations needs.

Cons

Fairly easy to use interface, its straight forward however sometimes we experience issues with slowness of lagging. The software becomes sluggish at times when the servers get over loaded so the users experience increased load times between screens.

October 2016

David from Parkview Health

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Excellent ITSSM and climbing rapidly.

Excellent product with very good support. Very flexible and supports many business processes beyond ITSM. Has been effective for our organization for Supply Chain management. Very good user group community that free contributes mApps that significantly enhance functionality. Also has excellent business partners supporting a wide array of services.

Pros

Powerful and flexible. Great dashboards and reportts.

Cons

Allows you to implement poorly if you don't follow best practices. The look and feel of Windows client is a bit dated and needs refreshed.

October 2016

Catie from New Pig Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell - The Best

We implemented in 2014, and it was the best decision we could have made. Cherwell is great. It gives us the functionality that we need, and we don't have to be programmers to make changes. It offers integration with so many other applications. It can be used for so many different uses. It goes above and beyond our expectations, and we have been able to use it for more than just IT. We only wish we would have found Cherwell sooner.

Pros

The fact that it has so much functionality, and you don't have to be a programmer to make changes.

Cons

There's almost too much you can do with it, and not enough time to accomplish it all.

October 2016

Michael from Des Moines University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Best solution... even for the little guy!

Cherwell is the best solution for ITSSM on the market -- even for small businesses or schools. Cherwell is easy to configure and intuitive to use. Unlike other ITSSM vendors, it is flexible enough to handle anything without needing costly customizations. As a company, Cherwell is like a family. They truly care about their customers and their customers' success. In my experience, this is VERY rare among other ITSSM vendors.

Pros

Easy to use and customize. Extremely scalable without the need of costly vendor or 3rd-party professional services.

October 2016

Delcia from British Columbia Ferry Services Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Translation and Localization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Once you go Codeless you'll never go back

Cherwell has allowed our I.T. to really mature our IT and Business processes. We have made huge gains in providing our I.T. department with dashboards that provide real-time information. We no longer spend hours gathering reporting information. With Search Manager and Report Manager, you'll wonder how you ever did with out these. They are huge time savers and the best part of working within Cherwell Service Management is that you don't have to rely on Vendor support or Developers to re-customize and configure. It's all at your fingertips. Cherwell has certainly made our lives easier. We are looking forward to future gains that can be made with this super great ITSM tool.

Pros

It's codeless and super friendly

Cons

I don't have any cons at this point

October 2016

Olivier from CAA-Quebec

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

A cost-savvy tool that you can do anything with (except coffee)

We needed a new ITSM tool that could do almost everything out-of-the-box, that was customizable, that allowed us to automate most of our regular processes and that didn't cost too much. After comparing most existing tools, Cherwell was the only one that filled our criteria. All of them. Anything you want to do with it can be implemented within days, even hours.

Pros

It can do anything, it is very customizable, it has an out-of-the-box fully working self-service portal, and my users love it!

Cons

The web interface could get some more love. Currently it's a web view of the hard client view, whereas I'd like it to use more of what web browsers and languages can currently offer.

October 2016

John from Town of Castle Rock

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Excellent Service Management Software

Cherwell is an excellent service management platform and can be used for just about anything you want to track and record. My organization started using it for ITSM and has expanded to volunteer management, project management and time tracking. The tool takes time to learn but after you understand the principles almost anything is possible.

Pros

The flexibility it provides, excellent customer service, ability to share mApps with others.

Cons

Takes some time using the software to become proficient at making modifications.

October 2016

Kevin from Calvin College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell for Change Management

We did our implementation of Cherwell in an unconventional way. We started with the Change Management module because that is what we needed the most. From there we tackled Problem Management and then Incident Management. It was amazing how quickly we got Change Management working for Calvin IT. We did not have C.M. before so this was not only a technology project but also a culture change. Cherwell Software provided both a easy starting point out of the box and a easy path to make the changes we needed. The quick win in Change Management allowed us to tackle Problem and Incident with great momentum.

Pros

Easy to customize and develop new business processes

Cons

The portal needs to be responsive - the objects are currently static.

July 2017

Picaso from Ace Hardware Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

A lot of features and functionality, plus easy to configure.

I was involved in the selection process, we met with CA, ServiceNow, Landesk, and two others. Cherwell hands down was the best we viewed because of what you get out of the box, the ability to make tweaks, those tweaks do not get in the way of upgrades, upgrades are rather easy and painless, they have other functionality that will bolt on to the tool by simply importing a file, it is offered at a fairly affordable price although I think all vendors quotes we received were expensive in my book but what can you do, in this case Cherwell was lower than others, and unlike some their licensing model is a blessing.

Pros

That it is fairly easy to configure. The administration course contained a lot of information but once you start to play with it and build things out its sort of like riding a bike for the first time, well maybe more like flying a plane for the first time.

Cons

The overall look of the ticking window, very busy, a bit confusing for new users to figure out exactly what to fill in and where to go next on the page. Different sections, different font sizes, the colors, etc. make a bit difficult to navigate around. Again, you learn it over time, but if it's your first time using it, or with our IT staff some people rarely use it, this can make it difficult to know where to navigate. We are still in the testing/learning phase and about to go live, it will be interesting to see if our system administrators continue to develop and enhance the system over time, which the should do because in the week long administration class we saw first hand how powerful this tool can be, or will they just leave it as is which is a rather simplistic go-live model.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Easy to manage your change management

Configuration is easy; Workflow is very easy to configure. Good documentation & training is available online.

Pros

You can easily configure and create Incidents and Change requests; easy to use workflow and very well integrated with Microsoft active directory. Support is available as a community website and or as a phone call.

Cons

Cloud based and it can be slow once in a while, but works most of the time it is fine. It is getting better after our feedback.

October 2016

Brad from Bank of the West

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Cherwell Service Management Review

Cherwell was a very easy application to install and configure to meet the needs of our organization. As the sole developer for the app, with the help of a vendor to start, we were able to get almost everything we needed up and running. Since the initial rollout, we've needed only occasional vendor support for some complex integrations, but everything else has been manageable internally. Overall, great product and easy to use and administer.

Pros

Easy to use and customize.

Cons

Sometimes not as powerful as you'd like.

February 2018

Thomas from My Choice Family Care

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Used to track tickets

Track things that happen in the company more easily and understand where resources are being spent.

Pros

System was easy to implement. Give the ability to track tickets and record when things are going wrong. Shows clearly what was already attempted and allows use to see the time spent per person on a single issue.

Cons

Locking the Description down so after initial creation, it cannot be changed We like this idea, and will take some time/thought to get it right We are concerned that doing this could result in automation processes to stop working correctly, or other onesteps from functioning. Other concerns are auto-populate options for fields potentially breaking. Additionally we're concerned this might pigeon hole us a bit.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Ability to customize but not always in an optimal way

A consistent and streamlined presentation of employee service responses across multiple departments in our organization.

Pros

Organizes and streamlines our employee service responses across multiple HR departments. Reporting features are helpful.

Cons

We haven't always been able to customize optimally to reduce administrative burden. There are certain "statuses" we'd like to add that have been a challenge up to now.

October 2016

Chris from University of Wisconsin - Madison

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Excellent Product, Excellent Company

Cherwell is a great company to work with, they are responsive and never leave you hanging. The product is very flexible, we went from a NO organization to a YES organization. When we have requests for functionality we can meet our customers needs using Cherwell. The code-less platform is a great way to customize the program and not hamper our ability to upgrade to the latest version.

Pros

flexible, easy to upgrade, complete vendor support

Cons

After version 7, the theme colors were removed.

October 2016

Ray from National Swimming Pool Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

My Favorite Toy

If I can dream it, I can configure it in Cherwell. I love to describe it as playing a chess game with 5,000 pieces. My colleagues repeatedly ask, 'Can this be done? My usual response: give me 5 minutes and I will roll it out.

Pros

It can be configured in almost unlimited ways.

Cons

The features are so robust, sometimes I need assistance to find where to configure a tool.

October 2016

Katharina from Colorado College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Great product out of the box

We implemented out of the box and have been able to use the application from day 1 after a 3 week implementation. What is even better is the flexibility of customizing the application in any way and even outside of ITSM.

Pros

Great out of the box, customizable, code less, great company culture

Cons

Expensive licensing for small companies, can take a while to get issues through at the help desk.

October 2016

Sue from MD Anderson Cancer Center

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Sue Pip- MD Anderson.org

I have using Cherwell Service Management for the past 3.5 years as a Administrator. I find that Cherwell is easy to design basic requirements and also for difficult requirements. I find the upgrades are easy to preform, however they usually come with a few bugs that have to be fixed.

Pros

Easy to use for the end user

Cons

1st level of Support is not as knowledgeable they need to be when calling in for assistances.

October 2016

Justin from St. Charles Health System

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell Review from Cherwell Conference

This has been an amazing experience. Very informational and well presented. I am excited about attending next year as well!

Pros

Ease of use and incredible versatility.

Cons

Because of the versatility it is easy to overestimate your abilities.

October 2016

Mike from FHI 360

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Great software, great company.

We've been using Cherwell for two years, and I still feel we've made the right choice. Its OOTB is excellent, and the ability to customize and expand the capabilities is great.

Pros

Works as expected. Easy to configure and is very intuitive.

Cons

Not really a "con", but our users are always coming up with new ways to use Cherwell.

June 2017

Keth from Ace

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

A lot of flexibility & functionality when compared to other top players in this realm.

We are still in the learning process of all the benefits and about to roll it out and go-live.

Pros

Ability to make changes to forms is very easy. We can also created and adjust workflow pertaining to incident/problem tickets as well as change tickets, which can all be done without having to recycle services during the off-hours. Such changes to the code are captured in snapshots which can then be easily restored if we discovered something we changed isn't working correctly. ITIL is also built into the tool and yet it can be tweaked to meet our needs. Likewise, dynamic reporting capabilities without having to go to an 3rd party bolt-on vendor. I'll also add that configuration item comes with the product, something we have desired for a long time in order to increase productivity and reduce outages related to our weekly Change Meetings.

Cons

Not too much I don't like. I guess learning the administration portion was a bit overwhelming at first, a lot a material to try to grasp and then apply when those situations arise that require us to dig thru the old memory banks on how to go about accomplishing what is needed. HOWEVER, I'm sure all Service Mgmt. tools are like this, in fact the tool we left was so overwhelming that most of our work had to be contracted out which made it hard to support later down the road.

February 2017

Neil from British American Tobacco

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Deployment in large global FMCG

Started implementing in early 2016 for multiple business service units HR, Finance and IT finance and IT and now live for all. Approximately 3500 resolvers and agents (including third party outsourcers) and a user base of 50,000 internal consumers.

Pros

Flexibility for all needs Features Cloud Based Licensing model (concurrent resolvers) Serves HR and Finance as well as IT Covers our global needs

Cons

Professional services arm is less developed and less experienced in project management Language translations model proved troublesome for our requirements of many languages

April 2018

Shantanu from Damco Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Amazing software

Pros

It's extensibility. There hasn't been anything that we haven't been able to find an answer for so far.

Cons

Some current challenges with multiple developers working simultaneously. The DEV leadership at Cherwell is currently working to resolve this challenge.

October 2016

Brendan from Carter's Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell Service Management Is an excellent, scalable ITSM tool.

Cherwell deployment and implementation went reasonably well. More requirements assessment and UAT on the front end would have been better. A great tool for ITSM.

Pros

The adaptability to different processes

Cons

Some features (printing, reporting) are more complicated than they should be.

October 2016

Anthony from Arvest Bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Best ITSM Tool Around

I've used/demo'd several different ITSM tools and Cherwell is by far the easiest to use and admin. My favorite part of this product is the Dashboard Manger. Creating intuitive dashboards has never been easier.

Pros

Dashboard Management

Cons

Admin tool, could be easier to use. But may also simply be lack of training on my end.

October 2016

Bernie from University of Wisconsin

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Flexible and plays well with others

CSM offers a truly flexible platform that allows mapping your business processes regardless of complexity or size. This enables your work flow, not what just the tool does. CSM also integrates with any REST api as well as offering its own. So what ever you want to do is possible.

Pros

Flexibility and integrations

Cons

Mobile client

October 2016

Marsha from Charlotte Mecklenbutg Schools

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Cherwell review

We have been a customer for 4 years. Ease of use is a big plus. Not losing your customizations after an update is wonderful. We have expanded our package to other departments over the last 4 years.

Pros

Product being updated to stay current with what is occurring in IT

Cons

None

October 2016

Jason from Tetra Tech, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Easy to use and easy to be productive

I find the software tool is so robust and easy to customize. Out of the box is great, but there is so much more magic you can do to make your team productive.

Pros

Ease of use and ability to customize everything

October 2016

Zsolt from Hungarocontrol

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

To the future with Cherwell

We have implenented Cherwell 3 years ago, that was the 4.30 version. We have made a lot of customization and now we have 8.2.1 version there were any big problems with the upgrade, this is what other softwares can't do :)

Pros

Flexibility Customable

Cons

Need better portal features like web2.0

Displaying 1 - 50 of 149 reviews