User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(6)

6

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The connection quality and speed is fine, and the features that they offer are what I would consider standard remote support tools. Connection speeds are much improved from prior versions. "

  • "It offers more in depth tools when connecting to a system, but not the user desktop, such as file browser, cmd/PS windows and registry editor."

  • "One of the things that really like about msp anywhere is how fast is the connetion of the remote access, and you can also record the session so you can used to win more clients by showing your work."

  • Cons

  • "It lacks interactive tools such as mechanisms to install software on the fly. It does do a good job of allowing easy file transfer."

  • "I would like more features to include an msi package to push out in AD. The screen blanking feature has had issues, but has gotten better."

  • "Compared to alternatives, this solution lacks in some more advanced features. It's possible they've been added in recent versions but I've stopped using this tool in favor of other options. "

Browse Take Control Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -37 of 13 results

December 2019

Doug from Unison Technology Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Solarwinds quality in remote support

As I do most of my work remotely this product has been steady and reliable in both maintenance and support of end users. I very happy with the product.

Pros

I had used LogMeIn Central for years, but the cost increased to an unaffordable price. I tried many different alternatives, but couldn't find a suitable product until I found Take Control. It has proven to be reliable and at a fraction of the cost of LogMeIn.

Cons

I would like more features to include an msi package to push out in AD. The screen blanking feature has had issues, but has gotten better.

May 2019

Andrew from ComTec Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Take Control: Just Works

Awesome. Love it.

Pros

It just works. Fast connections. Tons of features, built in multi-pane file transfer w/ multi-queue, pause and resume functionality. Automatic reconnect Lightweight integrated chat, system shell, information, full audit trail.

Cons

It's hard to find a glaring Con with Take Control. ~2-5% of installations occasionally have an issue (integrated NCentral version of TC), however I have never seen a simple quick reinstall fail to fix any of those issues.

January 2020

Mathew from Golden Living Services

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Director of Services

Ease of connecting to clients. Ability to see who is logged in and where they are on our network.

Pros

Ability to stay connected while re configuring network settings. Switching netowrks VPN's etc.

Cons

I currently have an issue. I cannot see chrome screens, and some windows screen areas. So far I've seen this on two Laptops that are running Windows 10, on is on 1903 and the other is running 1909. I need to call support on this yet. A second issue, I upgraded a PC from Windows 7 to Windows 10 it still shows up as Windows seven in the Devices list under OS.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2018

Not user friendly

None at all

Pros

The products drag and drop functionality with transferring files is wonderful. The groups make it easy to find machines as well.

Cons

This software has more bad points than good. Seeing the screen is very difficult unless you change the resolution on the client screen. If you use the zoom functionality you have to scroll all over the screen. Each session opens in it's own window so if you are doing a large upgrade and need many open it make sit difficult to use. Some of the default settings such as to log the person off when you log out of a remote session make support harder.

July 2019

Eli from Wolf Consulting, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Good Product as a Complment to Solarwinds N-Central

Overall, I am happy with the product, but I would prefer to not need to buy additional services to compliment what is integrated with N-Central.

Pros

Take Control standalone is a good compliment to N-Central. This product is integrated into N-Central, but that versions lacks ad hoc connections for systems tht are not already added to the system. Using Take Control stand alone lets start connections for users on machines that are not already in Solarwinds N-Central.

Cons

The fact that we needed to purchase an add on product to start ad hoc connections is a bit disappointing. his functionality really should be integrated into N-Central.

Reasons for Choosing Take Control

We are already using the version of Take Control integrated into N-Central, so complimenting it with Take Control standalone for ad hoc connections made sense.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great software with many features

I am able to support my clients with ease and provide A+ support at a reasonable cost.

Pros

* Easy to navigate once you have a basic understanding of the interface * Agent software is easy to install and has a lot of features to help manage a clients computer * Request help feature is fantastic. Simply guide a client to the website and ask them to select the request help option which allows you to assist them without installing the agent.

Cons

* The agents tend to fail randomly due to updates but this can easily be rectified with the new "repair agent" feature.

August 2019

Kelly from TRINUS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Solid Remote Support built on years of Usage

I've used take control for years with the N-Central monitoring tools and consider myself a professional. Take Control is a very nice value add for that package and a pretty nice remote management tool in of itself.

Pros

It offers more in depth tools when connecting to a system, but not the user desktop, such as file browser, cmd/PS windows and registry editor.

Cons

It lacks interactive tools such as mechanisms to install software on the fly. It does do a good job of allowing easy file transfer.

May 2019

Justin from Kerkering, Barberio & Co

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great solution built into our ticketing system to remotely view computers

Pros

It is easy to view our managed computers. When users are having issues, the IT admin just launches take control and you can see exactly what the user sees. It also supports multi-monitor environments.

Cons

Since a third party manages the software for us, we don't have access to reports.

February 2019

Jeff from Aim

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Excellent utilities to ease IT life

Pros

Solarwinds products have always been extremely useful especially with networking and Active Directory. They offer so many tools that can help with every day tasks to better streamline day-to-day activities that can become time consuming.

Cons

They can have the tendency to over advertise their products and try to push their paid products.

October 2018

Tyler from Tykisson IT

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Worth a Free Trial

Pros

Quick and easy to setup a trial with nothing more than an email address. Sales contact is quick to respond but not over powering in their approach. The software is full featured with a great set of tools for the IT support Tech.

Cons

When ending a session the remote computer is locked and this can be annoying. Maybe there's a setting to stop this but its not obvious and should really be optional not default.

November 2016

Gonalo from Fast Track

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Great alternative for helpdesk businesses

I've used MSP Anywhere for quite a long time. It's a great product for internal and external helpdesk teams, with multiple ways to provide attended and unattended support to our customers, usually fast and very simple to use. But what I like more is the customization options it offers: a plethora of security permissions for managing technicians, branding, and some sleek functionality like average waiting time information until a support request is taken. The price is also good, much better than Logmein or screenconnect.

Pros

Price, customization, ease of usage.

Cons

Integration options can be difficult to setup if you are not a developer, but at least the documentation is good.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

One of the best remote access that I used

Faster conection, live chat, file transfers in the background and bash shell access.

Pros

One of the things that really like about msp anywhere is how fast is the connetion of the remote access, and you can also record the session so you can used to win more clients by showing your work.

Cons

I don't have complaits about msp anywhere the only thing that I can say as cons is that the interface is really text-heavy and is not easy to used.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Okay, but there are better options

Pros

The connection quality and speed is fine, and the features that they offer are what I would consider standard remote support tools. Connection speeds are much improved from prior versions.

Cons

Compared to alternatives, this solution lacks in some more advanced features. It's possible they've been added in recent versions but I've stopped using this tool in favor of other options.