Shiftboard Software

4.38 / 5 (230) FrontRunners

Our advisors have recommended this product 2 times in the last 30 days

What is Shiftboard?

Shiftboard is a cloud-based scheduling and workforce management solution that is suitable for businesses of any size that employ an hourly or shift-based workforce. Key features include employee management, scheduling, timekeeping, applicant tracking and onboarding.  

Shiftboard enables HR personnel to manage any number and type of employees including full-time, part-time, contract, project-based, hourly, remote and volunteer. The solution includes five timekeeping options—including mobile app, QR code and call-in—to support on-site or remote staffing. When remote staff checks in through their mobile device, their location can be retrieved through location tracking.

Shiftboard’s scheduling feature allows users to organize PTO re...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

230 Reviews of Shiftboard

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.38 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(112)

112

4 stars

(103)

103

3 stars

(9)

9

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(4)

4

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 230 results

October 2017

Chris from Security Industry Specialists, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Fantastic Software!

Pros

I like the various search perimeters for report running. This is a great user friendly system that's easy to teach.

Cons

The Salesforce.com customer base is predominantly B2B. The CRM software is not nearly as well oriented to the B2C industry.Surprisingly, Salesforce.com generally doesnt provide a Service Level Agreement (SLA) for its cloud service unless the customer requests and negotiates it. Even then, SLAs are inconsistent from customer to customer and fall below uptime guarantees of primary SaaS CRM competitors.

November 2018

Alexander from G4S

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

Adequate, but has room for improvement.

Overall, it is a passable scheduling tool. Having worked with Deputy previously, I am finding the overall user experience somewhat disappointing. Since the program is not integrating with our payroll system at this time, I am reviewing it solely on the grounds of it's use as a tool for communicating schedules to my staff, and keeping track of who I have working. In this respect it is just adequate. If changes to shift dates/times/employees are made on short notice, the available schedule visualizations and inelegant user interface make it more frustrating and time consuming to change or delete a shift than it is worth, and the lack of an effective visual representation of the schedule from the employee side means it isn't used as often as I'd like. I often end up using text messages and email to communicate changes instead. Their willingness to work with my company's billing (Net 60) is greatly appreciated, and this flexibility should be a major selling point for larger organizations.

Pros

- Cost effective. - Shiftboard accounts receivable is willing to work with you on billing times. - Good array of features and tools. - Very good features for bulk assignments and automated help generating a schedule. (Good for large organizations or new sites needing a schedule generated.)

Cons

- Visualizations available for the calendar leave something to be desired. - Interface and controls are not the most user friendly I've seen. - Help documentation and live customer assistance is disappointing or non-existent. - Glitches and uncooperative UI elements have occurred more often than I'm used to.

June 2020

Sean from Burning Man Project

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Shift management for events and beyond

Once the software is set up for a particular department, the management of shifts and teams is made much easier.

Pros

I like that staff within certain roles are able to trade shifts within Shiftboard without going through management.

Cons

The software can be a bit tedious to set up. Likewise if you bulk upload your shifts then removing or changing one of them can be difficult without changing the rest.

Reasons for Choosing Shiftboard

From a user point of view I like the lack of ads, the clean views, the ease of shift signup and trading shifts. From a management point of view I like the ability to set roles so that people can sign up for certain shifts that fall within a certain role and also trade shifts within that role. The ability to print shifts by person, by day, and see various views is very helpful as well.

June 2016

Jeff from Achates Security

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

June 2016

Bad Bad Service

The system is complicated and the customer service is very poor. We were scheduled 30 minutes of training. Our trainer literally had to cut off at 30 minutes. Turned out that the system could not accommodate a California seven day in a row overtime prevention, although we were told that it could handle those needs when we initially called about the service. In fact, that was the only reason we were interested in changing our scheduling system. I was upset by the lack of willingness by the sales rep to return calls or try to make this right. We were charged $105.00 for a system we cancelled in 18 days from the initial purchase. The training was a joke, the service was poor and the product did not meet our needs. Better customer service is needed.

Pros

It's cheap.

Cons

Complicated. Learning curve is steep and I am well versed in PHP script, Joomla, Wordpress and other database software. Cannot effectively staff a large business with 30 minutes of training. Poor customer service and return policy.

Response from Shiftboard

Replied July 2016

Hi Jeff ¿ Thank you for your message. We regret the difficulties you experienced and that the system workarounds we provided did not support the overtime prevention process, as you would have expected. Our billing department has confirmed that you did receive a full refund, as it is never our intention to misrepresent the capabilities of our product. We greatly appreciated the opportunity to work with you and hope that as our product evolves we might be able to better support you in the future. Please reach out if there is anything else we can do. Thank you.

February 2018

Steven from The Patriot Brass Ensemble

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Music

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

A great value, an irreplaceable tool for our organization.

It really organizes our musicians extremely well, we have very little confusion now.

Pros

This helps us organize all of our contractors and employees. It gets them all onboard pretty easy and has a lot of powerful tools that have made running our organization much easier. We tried a LOT of different products and this one was the only one that really met all our needs to get everyone scheduled and organized, it is an amazing value for the price they charge us.

Cons

I wish it was easier to sync with 3rd party apps. The good part is making a .csv of data is super fast and easy but I would still like to see it play nice with other products.