User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(16)

16

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use and install. Provides very good insight into use of assets."

  • "Ease of use and user interface, low learning curve."

  • "Screenshots are fairly clear Email activity works fairly well"

  • Cons

  • "i have had issues installing the recorders on certain computers and servers. it installs in the background so it does not tell if you it was completed or if something stopped it from completing"

  • "THAT IT DOES NOT SEND ME NOTIFICATIONS THE EBLASTER USE TO I LOVED THAT PRODUCT IT WAS EASY TO READ BRIEFLY THRU AN EMAIL VS TRYING TO NARROW DOWN TIMES "

  • "the need fo a dedicated PC, instead of a Virtual Hardware."

Browse Veriato Investigator Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -19 of 31 results

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Mike from TechPromise, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

The best way to monitor your employees

Pros

Veriato Investigator records everything an administrator or business owner would want to see. The best feature is the ability to play back screenshots, almost like a video!

Cons

Setting up antivirus software exclusions can be difficult, but their support pages document the process very well.

January 2019

Rey from White Sands Treatment

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Good Employee Monitoring Program

This product is being used to monitor employees to improve productivity and minimize unintended data leaks. I'm currently using this product since it was recommended by the IT Director from another branch, but I'm still looking around for a more cost efficient product out in the market with the same functionality and features.

Pros

The program monitors and records the activity on the system while the employee stays unaware of the software due to its obstructiveness to the system processes. It is not cumbersome on the system.

Cons

Updating the recorder version has a little issue. It will not update the recorder on the client even though you push the update. I had to push a re-installation of the recorder with the new version manually. The product does cost more than the other products from the other companies even though the functionality and features are almost the same.

January 2019

Charlie from GEM

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

Antiquated Monitoring System

We've used Veriato since before they were acquired (formerly SpectorSoft). Our use case: Recording systems ad-hoc for legal review purposes (disgruntled or departing employees). If an employee does something malicious (data exfiltration, deletion, etc.), the software is only effective to verify what was done after the fact. Alerting is not very good. That said, it's a great value for the money if you're not intersted in real time user behavior analytics.

Pros

Reasonably priced Good US-based tech support

Cons

Very outdated compared to peers No user behavior analytics Resource intensive - client side Difficult to deploy to remote machines Not all features work the way you'd want them to

Response from Veriato

Replied January 2019

Investigator, while a great product is really designed for temporary or short term directed investigations. Our Recon product does include behavior analytics and when coupled with our 360 product provides a holistic Insider Threat Management platform. Our AI is advanced and will be looking at devices, files, locations, skype conversations, etc. It will understand the sentiment in the language of the monitored users and identify changes from positive to negative. Our product will review a user's normal behavior over the course of a rolling 21 day period to set the baseline and identify trends moving forward, for activity, then provide alerts if anything exceeding the norm occurs. It compares the dynamic baseline to current behavior. This will raise awareness for the need of best practices education on company policies as well; (such as use of USB drives, uploading documents and where, etc.). Cerebral is able to compare 1:1 and 1:Many.

January 2019

Jason from Leisure & Travel

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

A good tool for keeping track of the employees

This is a good overall product that keeps track of employees online activities and company time.

Pros

I like that I can see what my employees are doing and when they are doing it. How they are utilizing company time and money!

Cons

It can be cumbersome and timely to install. Some of the settings are a pain but a skilled IT professional can overcome those pains.

January 2019

Mary from Fort Bend County MUD No.25

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent Monitoring Software

Safeguarding proprietary material is a must. The Veriato software has added real value to our risk management processes.

Pros

The ability to monitor the activities related to proprietary activities helps relieve the anxiety associated with potential loss of protected material through electronic transfers.

Cons

Nothing to dislike. The software is excellent!

January 2019

Geof from Sandbox Technologies, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Good spy software

Sometimes it's necessary to review what a certain worker is doing. This product is unobtrusive, and really does give you the information if you dig for it. Deployment, and the administrator dashboard are quirky, feel terribly old school, and it's difficult to find what you need. But, at the end of the day, it does do the job.

Pros

The software does a great job of capturing what a worker is doing throughout their day. If you have questions on any stats in a report, you can easily review the screenshot footage to find out what was really happening.

Cons

The interface is rather old and clunky, and it's hard to find the information you need quickly, if you're not a power user every day. Also, upgrades are clunky, too, requiring you to upgrade on the server, and hopefully push out to agents. Finally, it's really hard to know what's happening with an agent. The administrator dashboard could show if the machine had been shut down or restarted or any number of things. Also, deploying agents isn't so clear and sometimes it works, and sometimes not.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Excellent product for HR

My clients use Investigator to supervise hourly wage employee activities, particularly those who work unsupervised hours, to make sure they are doing actual work rather than surfing YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and alike.

Pros

Undeniable screenshots and data for HR make it easy to make a case. Tech support staff have been EXCELLENT!

Cons

Setup can be a little complicated because of antivirus exceptions. Some improvements could be made to the viewer. Licensing should be by computer but should also be relocatable. Pain in the neck to have to physically move the computer from one user to another once an investigation is complete without arousing suspicions.

January 2019

Lyle from Empyrion Technologies

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Great Product

Pros

Screen Shot Recording so any unsupported software you can monitor Key logging, web and email filtering Constant Recorder Updates to keep the integration working Great Support Seamless to the user running in the background and hard to find Tonnes of features to be able to adjust the settings to your Organizational Needs

Cons

- Constant Antivirus Exclusions with every recorder version - Computer licensing is a bit of a pain as if you want to record a different computer or replace a computer you need to keep the same name as that license is tied permanently to the name of the PC and cannot be changed unless you talk to support

January 2019

Caroline from Norris Choplin Schroeder

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

First Time User

Although we discussed using this type of software in the past, we finally purchased this, based on our IT's recommendation. It paid for itself, unfortunately, giving us the information confirming our issues with an employee.

Pros

I especially liked the screen shots feature. I thought the pricing was reasonable as well. Although I didn't look for a training section, I thought the software was user friendly and I was able to navigate my way just by the buttons/menus.

Cons

I had a question on getting right to the screenshot feature. I would also like to have had a way to narrow down my viewing time instead of going through the Refresh screen and then putting in my dates. There may be another way but I didn't research that further.

January 2019

Timothy from Rhonda Hinds & Associates CPA PA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Works great if you can get it to work properly

The customer service is great, every question I have had, they have an exact answer which is really nice when dealing with customer support.

Pros

I like most that I can manage my licenses from my server directly and make changes. The ability to have the software functioning without me having to check on it on a constant basis lets me worry less about it.

Cons

The setup is what makes this software hard to use. I use a domain server and it is tricky to install and get the workstations synced with the server properly. I have gotten it to work, but it is a long process of having to go to the individual computers, install the recorder, and change the antivirus permission settings which is a pain.

November 2019

Martin from FFS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

The eye in the sky

its been 50/50 for me, there were times where we needed to see the activity of a employee and the software was either down or not recording properly. its something you have to keep an eye on to make sure the services for it are running and the antivirus sofware is not getting in the way.

Pros

capability to monitor the activity of our users via screenshots, email, key logging, web site views, application view, file transers and etc. all in one software to know what you employees are up to and if they are doing anything they should not be.

Cons

i have had issues installing the recorders on certain computers and servers. it installs in the background so it does not tell if you it was completed or if something stopped it from completing

Response from Veriato

Replied November 2019

Thanks for leaving us a review Martin. With regard to the agent health status, this is a feature that is on our road map. This feature was recently added to our flagship product called Cerebral where once the agent is successfully installed on the device, a notification is sent to the Admin. The reason the recorders stop working sometimes is that users often update to newer versions of browsers or even operating systems that we may not have built a patch for yet. All this feedback will be sent to our Dev team!

September 2017

Chandler from Techonsite

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Trouble uninstalling, many issues reinstalling and pushing recorders to clients. Steve made it easy.

Steve V. was a good tech, explained things thoroughly and carefully. I appreciate his help. I have not seen any benefit.

Pros

Personally I do not enjoy this software. The boss however loves it. I'd imagine the features are pretty useful for auditing and productivity. Cool that it can be pushed and controlled from main server, when that actually works.

Cons

Its pretty much a keylogger + spyware. The viewer doesnt seem to work over the network although everything is connected in workgroup, hence the issues. The clients stop checking in randomly. Setting up AV exceptions with RMM is surprisingly difficult. I am unsure of the necessity of a program like this for a small company. The installation fee is sort of a bummer, as in its lame that you have to pay for someone to fix the software. Some of the tech's I spoke too (not Steve V. he was wonderful) were not very helpful.

January 2019

Ilan from WATTCO

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

Veriato review

Technical support is unable to problem solve these issues leaving an unfavorable experience.

Pros

Screenshots are fairly clear Email activity works fairly well

Cons

After countless call with Technical Support there are still problems with: Tracking of websites do not work for users of Chrome List of Recordings by Computer contain older irrelevant recordings Cannot rename computers Online Searches feature does not work Websites Visited does not work File Transferred feature does not work File tracking is not detailed enough

January 2019

BARBIE from TIME FOR BLINDS

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

VERIATO SOFTWARE REVIEW

MY EMPLOYEES NOT PRODUCING EFFECTIVELY FOR MY COMPANY THIS WAS THE ONLY SOFTWARE COMPATABLE TO EBLASTER

Pros

THAT I CAN CHANGE THE DATES TO MAX OR MIN VIEWS

Cons

THAT IT DOES NOT SEND ME NOTIFICATIONS THE EBLASTER USE TO I LOVED THAT PRODUCT IT WAS EASY TO READ BRIEFLY THRU AN EMAIL VS TRYING TO NARROW DOWN TIMES

January 2019

sergey from All American Exterior Solutions

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Review of software: Nice functionality but poos quality

Pros

Recording and the screen recorder. Easy to Use.

Cons

Constant blue screens and crashes. This happens on a regular basis. The problem is you are not a partner of Microsoft or any of the anti-virus companies. The solution resembles a bolt on system, and is great when it works but continues to experience a lot of issues. The software does not keep up with updates of operating systems and anti-virus's and is re-active when there are problems and not pro-active.

January 2019

Mustafa from Merkem

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Protect your company and your data

Pros

Love the ability to track multiple parameters at the desktop level. We can easily gather enough information on a specific user and see what their daily work habits are across the network and the Internet.

Cons

Some portions of the user interface tends to be a little confusing and not as intuitive as we'd like but overall it gets the job done. I'm confident future software releases will provide us with enhancements.

January 2019

Leon from TR Computer Sales

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Tells you everything you need to know.

Pros

The reporting is very descriptive. Used the software many situations.

Cons

Sometimes the initial server setup is a little overwhelming. Having to setup the virus scan exclusions can be daunting, but that isn't the software's fault.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Investigator Review

Overall experience is great! Kept an eye on select/suspicious employees. End result made the company easier to work with and more efficient.

Pros

Veriato Investigator is very easy to use. It does everything you need to keep an eye on your employees and make sure they are staying on track.

Cons

Investigator could use a UI/UX update to make it a but more user friendly.

January 2019

Alex from CHU de Québec

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Overview

Pros

fast, reliable, easy to use. Never had problem using toe software.

Cons

the need fo a dedicated PC, instead of a Virtual Hardware.

January 2019

Bess from County government

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

computer investigations made easy

We have used this software several times with excellent results. The reports are professional and exactly what legal is looking for.

Pros

this software captures everything without the user knowing anything is being tracked. You can set it up on the computer and just let it run. Works great!

Cons

A little pricey but worth it when you need to know what's going on.

January 2019

JEAN PIERRE from University Hospital

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Ease of use

Pros

configuration was easy to do and very good support for your team

Cons

I did not see anything I did not like, I recommend this software to my contacts

January 2019

Antranik from Information technology and services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great software m

Pros

Ease of install. Ease of use. Support was great.

Cons

Initial installation was troublesome,bht eventually worked.

January 2019

Adam from Paycor

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Veriato Review

Pros

Easy to use and install. Provides very good insight into use of assets.

Cons

Sometimes requires reboot to take hold. Also, the UI is a bit dated.

January 2019

Trace from Office of Information Technology State of Colorado

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

State of Colorado

Very powerful and reliable tool

Pros

Ease of use and user interface, low learning curve.

Cons

Nothing, very satisfied with our experience

January 2019

Ryan from Vortex America

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Review

Great experience very feature enriched

Pros

Features and functionality, has great monitoring features for management to review employees computer habits

Cons

You can't transfer a license to another PC with out calling support

January 2019

HARVEY from Chevs Of The 40's

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Investigator

Insuring computers are being used for their intended purpose.

Pros

The ability to monitor usage of computer in multiple areas.

Cons

Installation process. Too many file exceptions to make to allow install.

July 2017

John from Murray Aronson, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Efficient, Customer-Service Oriented, Helpful,

I suppose the installation process could have been shorter but I understand why it was long (because the software is substantial).

Pros

We haven't used the software too much yet but from what we can tell, it is very comprehensive and thorough and will suit our needs perfectly. Two representatives were extraordinarily helpful and went above and beyond to help us get the software installed and explain how to use it.

January 2019

Ryan from Paycor

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Good product for employee monitoring

Pros

Simple deployment and installation. Working around AV was the biggest challenge.

Cons

Shows some age. Browser and OS updates always caused me to hold my breath.

January 2019

Tou Bee from top dog pc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Acceptable

Good experience overall. Setup was a bit confusing but with support, we were able to get the program functioning.

Pros

You can easily grab user activities with this software. Also provides in dept details on user usage.

Cons

Sometimes difficult to set up. Especially with anti virus exclusions.

January 2019

Matt from Honcoop Technology Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Sort of ok...

Pros

Provided enough details to be functional

Cons

It was very combersome to setup. Getting my antivirus not to flag the items as malware took me half a day. And continues to flag when things get updated.

January 2019

William Dan from Staff Boom

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent on-premise solution

Pros

The software is easy to deploy and administer. It allows for private and conspicuous deployment to workstations.

Cons

The deployment for remote workstations (offsite) is difficult at best. It requires a thorough understanding of networking to allow the appropriate ports and protocols through on both ends of the connection.