All Backstop Reviews

1-25 of 46 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kenneth

Financial Services, 51 - 200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed March 2022

Ready-to-use CRM with sensible extensibility

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Backstop Review

The wide range of functionality is a good solution for various needs across different departments.

PROS

This a good data aggregator for client information, history and data. The functionality servers a lot of different uses.

CONS

The ease of use and custom reporting is not intuitive and locating specific charts and data sets can sometimes be difficult.

Ajay

Investment Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Backstop Review of Investor Relations module

Overall, great saas software with flexibility for users and management

PROS

Very easy to use product and transition from legacy applications has been quite easy for all our Advisors and Admins. Their training program and help tools are excellent.Very customizable product

CONS

While APIs are for all out of box data integration, it can be better exposed with custom data fields specific to each client

Reason for choosing Backstop

For better cost, infrastructure, Easy of usage. Better functionality

Reasons for switching to Backstop

For better infrastructure, Easy of usage. Better functionality.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Ajay! We are happy to hear that Backstop' has been easy to use and that our training program and help tools are helpful features. We have flagged your comments APIs for our product team.

Replied April 2023

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

Mostly for reporting, needs improvement on analysis

Experience is overall positive, although the company does have serious issues that it needs to address to compete with other investment analysis softwares that exist. Interface / plugins need work.

PROS

Strong in terms of accounting and tracking capeabilities

CONS

Interface is dated and it is not very strong on the investment analysis side. Comparability / plugins in excel often cause issues

Jeannine

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Backstop Review

PROS

Valuable calculations and contact management

CONS

Lack of flexibility in the UI. Limited integration between contact data and account data.

Reason for choosing Backstop

Initially we choose Backstop over other products because it also had an investor portal capability. In the end we did not implement the investor portal due to limitations on UI and data.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Jeannine! We are happy to hear that Backstop is helpful when it comes to valuable calculations and contact management. We have flagged your comments about improving the flexibility in the UI to our product team.

Replied March 2023

Imre

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Happy user

PROS

Website features and having all clients related files in one spot.

CONS

Support and the outlook feature. Suggestions for improvements to the system are slow to implement or ignored or half fixed.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Imre! We are happy to hear that you believe Backstop offers helpful features. We have flagged your comments about improving support and Outlook features to our product team.

Replied March 2023

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Ready-to-use CRM with sensible extensibility

A cloud-based CRM to centrally store business contacts, collaterals, qualitative and quantitative data and share amongst different departments. Combing Report Builder, Excel Toolkit and API allows end-users to self-serve business intelligence.

PROS

Backstop hits the sweet spot between features and extensibility. Out of the box, the platform meets 70-80% of our business requirements. Our firm fortunately has the know-how to use API and Excel Toolkit (ETK) to cover the last mile. Most importantly, the product team listens to its customers and continually enhances the platform based on our input. You would unlikely get such feedback loops from the likes of Salesforce, Oracle or Microsoft.

CONS

Compared to a CRM startup that has unlimited flexibility to innovate, Backstop may seem more mature and risk-averse. The UI/UX seems a little dated, and mobile-responsiveness and mobile app have room for improvements. The labeling of different data entry screens should be more standardized as well.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2019

Quality Product in a World with Many Competitors

Great tool for investment team to track meetings/calls as well as manage our massive database of documents. The team has always been willing to help with initiatives we have in the system and overall, my organization views Backstop as a central hub for much of our investment management work.

PROS

Clean look, high quality search capability, strong reporting tools to extract data, very good customer support, Backstop team is always looking for ways to improve the software, overall the best CRM/document storage/high level investment management tool on the market

CONS

Still missing some vital Private Equity components, still lacking in cash management functionality, far behind in mobile app technology, would like to see more analytical capabilities rather than just high level investment information

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Backstop Review

Backstop has been my preferred CRM at four different institutions I have worked at over the past 10 years. It is very intuitive and user-friendly. The sales/support team will work with you for any bespoke request and will help you customize the product to fit your firm and team's optimal needs.

PROS

Backstop is extremely customizable and therefore can meet every clients' needs. The platform is very helpful for centralizing all existing and prospective client information.

CONS

I am not an active user of the Investor Bridge but in demo, did not find that to be very good.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Backstop Review

PROS

Easy to use software that is very customizable. We utilize a balanced combo of out of the box features along with unique layouts to track tasks that are more specific to us. Backstop's staff and support teams are great. They are always willing to go the extra mile to solve an issue.

CONS

Reporting can be a little onerous with the sheer volume of reportable data. There is a learning curve and a little extra effort required to get the reporting to meet your needs.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Excellent CRM Platform!

Overall, I am very pleased with the platform. Our team has come to use it in-depth and daily!

PROS

Backstop is a central hub for all of our relationships and reporting. The system is very easy to use, customizable, very robust, and the excel add-ins allow us to build sophisticated reports to match our daily needs and wants.

CONS

While the platform overall is very customizable, there are certain aspects that aren't. For example, the opportunities section under the organization comes standard, and some of the information is irrelevant to use.

Lubna

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Backstop - CRM Review

I like Backstop and it's important for our team to function. I like the portal usage for our clients. We can maintain all our files/info on one system and publish it for client visibility.

PROS

User friendly. easy to customize reports and fields. I like the formula functions on the reports. Pages also a +.

CONS

The time it takes to run accounts reports and some limitations they have on not being able to customize their performance review sheet or their decks.

Kevin

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Backstop / InvestorBridge Review

My experience has been great thus far, the folks at Backstop have made the implementation process a breeze, they are always available for questions and assistance which is an invaluable part of being a Backstop client.

PROS

Having a cloud based CRM with not only the functionality to store qualitative but also quantitative information is extremely helpful especially as a member of the investor relations team who is constantly servicing investors. Additionally, having the ability to have the CRM be the backdrop that feeds the investor portal is also great, having to only update one system saves time. The professional services team has been extremely helpful as we continue to implement new features.

CONS

Like any software there are limitations however Backstop does a great job at taking feedback and creating new features from that.

Vivian

Investment Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Great CRM software

Satisfied. The software is developing rapidly to meet clients' needs.

PROS

Designed for investment management companies. Reports and layouts are very customizable.

CONS

The fund/account structure/logic is designed for U.S. clients mostly which are not all applicable for Canadian users.

Brett

Investment Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Backstop - Functional, Collaborative, Efficient

We are solving an organizational need with the use of Backstop. Additionally, the platform offers analytical tools that would otherwise take a lot of hours to do manually. Lastly, the ability to log returns and other metrics we track is crucial to our process.

PROS

Backstop's document management is my favorite feature. Not only can you properly organize documents coming from various places, but you can make them easily accessible to your entire team with ease.

CONS

Backstop can be slow at times, lag and take some time to load.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Brett! We are happy to hear that Backstop's document management is your favorite feature. We have flagged your comments about loading time for our product team.

Replied April 2023

Heather

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Good software - lots of training required.

PROS

The flexibility of the software is a great feature - the ability to customize reports and layouts to suit our business has proven very helpful.

CONS

The flexibility of the software can also make things incredibly complicated and difficult to use at times. I'm the official 'power user' of the group - and have got to that position after attending conference, watching videos, and going to Backstop seminars. However - the rest of our group hasn't had the time or the mandate to do so, and it can be time-consuming for them to try to figure out some issues. I don't think that it's a very intuitive system to use at times (until you learn how it works), and that has presented some challenges.

Marc

Investment Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Ovata

Helpful tool to streamline and organize work flow.

PROS

Ease of use, functionality, app is well-designed.

CONS

Plug-in to Outlook could be more seamless.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Marc! We are happy to hear that you believe Backstop is easy to use and the app is well-designed. We have flagged your comments about improving Backstop for Outlook to our product team.

Replied March 2023

Maria

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Backstop and Backstop Portal

Prior to using Portal we emailed all investor documents individually, now we disseminate documents to investors through Backstop Portal and use it as our website host. Backstop CRM is how we track opportunities, investors, send out emails and keep track of events. Having one system to do so many tasks makes life much easier.

PROS

Simple, easy to use, can be customized to fit the needs of the organization. Support is outstanding. Definitely the best of the dozen CRM/portal systems I've used over a 20+ year career in Finance.

CONS

Reporting is still a bit slow and cumbersome.

Chris

Investment Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT