Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.68

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"If you can script it, you can do it. I really like the ability to customize nearly everything so that the software exactly fits your needs."
  • icon"Price performance ratio in the Enterprise Edition very good. Most of the configuration can be done via the GUI with the additional option to do it on the console."
  • icon"The easy install and configuration via Web Interface. Interfacing to other products like Grafana or i-Doit."
  • icon"User interface, Historical data browsing is quite bad (there is a solution for that though)."
  • icon"Overwhelming amount of options that aren't that well organized or explained, tricky to manage services and hosts."
  • icon"The difficulty to get into it. The user manual online is not complete."

Have you used Checkmk and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Checkmk Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Best monitoring solution you can find on the market.

We deliver in a sequenced order in short interval parts to our customer (JIT/JIS). The IT systems are crucial in the supply chain to the customer. With check_mk we are able to alert an issue with this IT systems before it becomes a problem for the delivery process. check_mk is used in a highly distributed way at over 300 sites with one central configuration platform which allow us to quickly implement new monitoring solutions and standards.

Pros

check_mk is a very intuitive, easy to use and easy to setup monitoring system. It scales perfect vertically and also horizontal. it provides already a huge amount of monitoring functionalities for a lot of environments and it is quite simple extensible with own functionalities. Beside state based monitoring it has also a complete solution to integrate event based monitoring. With the Business Intelligence we are able to picture our mission critical processes in monitoring and able to simulate the impact of outages to the business.

Cons

The design of the front-end is a bit vintage style and is in hour highly distributed implementation somehow slow.

Max

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Check_MK as a single pane of glass

Providing infrastructure monitoring to everyone involved in IT provision, whatever their level of technical knowledge. I did the initial deployment, and then sold the product to the rest of the team managing the infrastructure. I found it easy to set up, and to import an initial set of hosts, and fairly simple to explain to others.

Pros

We are using the Raw Edition, monitoring over 7000 services on nearly 400 hosts. Although we have another product for monitoring switches and routers, we have integrated status updates from that product into the Check_MK view, so we have a single pane of glass. Almost every aspect of the software can be configured through a web page. It's relatively easy to extend and even modify the supplied checks, and if you do, you don't prevent future upgrades, because the upgrade process supports merging of modifications. The agents are read-only, so inherently more secure, and pretty simple to install. The BI feature enables us to provide monitoring of the business services people actually use, as well as the underlying infrastructure. When there are failures, you can drill down to see which component actually failed, and when. The automatic generation of graphs makes it easy to do trend analysis.

Cons

I didn't find it easy to understand the way to use tags. The difference between maintenance windows on hosts and those on services is also not obvious, and similarly acknowledgements on hosts and on services. But these are minor issues.

Reasons for choosing Checkmk

Much easier to configure, and similar or better web monitoring

Reasons for switching to Checkmk

That product had not been maintained much for a long time, and it was clear that it needed replacement. I spent several months looking at a number of products that would fit our budget (hardware: reused; software: zero) and Check_MK was by far the best I saw.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Best Budget monitoring software, but you get what you pay for

It's free, so that's great. You will sink more time into it to get it running as you like compared to other slicker monitoring programs, it's up to you if that's a fair trade off.

Pros

Lots of features and customization, very affordable

Cons

Overwhelming amount of options that aren't that well organized or explained, tricky to manage services and hosts

Constantin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Outstanding Customize, Scale & Performance vs. easy of use

We use Check_MK to 24x7 monitor our IT-Infrastructure from bare metal devices, the network, to our apllications which are hosted onpremis and in the cloud. The monitoring is very stable and performant. We use aswell the BI features to build dependency trees to make the availablility of single applications/IT-Services visible for all our users and the management. In that case we make use of the API to integrate those numbers in our Intranet and existing Management dashboards. We picked Check_MK because we liked the many integration possibilties and becase it scales.

Pros

We liked the thousend of customizing possibilities to build the monitoring for our needs. Another plus is that CMK comes with a lot of checks for different devices included so you can monitor the most things right away. The new Business Intelligence "module" and the Reporting features is awesome :-) There is a free & paid version available, so you can start free and upgrade if you need more features. The new and automatically generated Network Topology is very nice

Cons

- Finding the correct ruleset to tune the values for a check is sometimes not that easy :-) - Handling in general and the UI could be more intuitive/easier - Troubleshooting is sometimes not easy, and requieres you to be aware of the commandline of cmk and the correct paths to check the logs. (What about a cool Log overview directly in the Web UI? And a log bundle collector to report issues in the forum/support.)

Reasons for choosing Checkmk

- More Flexibility - Better scaling with Rulesets

Reasons for switching to Checkmk

- The installation & Upgrade process was very complicated. - License Model changing

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Excellent product that lacks in documentation and examples

Overall the application looks good. Not so much of a learning curve if you’re moving away from Nagios like I am.

Pros

Best bang for your buck. Constantly updated to include new features, enhancements, bug and security fixes. Active community that is very helpful.

Cons

Documentation and examples are lacking though it does look like they are trying to catch up. Conferences only seem to be in Europe.

Reasons for choosing Checkmk

Easier to use than Zabbix. Zabbix didn’t have the temporary alarm suppression like check_mk does.

Reasons for switching to Checkmk

Nagios couldn’t provide a feature to temporarily acknowledge alarms for a specific amount of time.

Adam

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

Fanastic monitoring tool - nagios replacement

We use CheckMK Raw Edition to monitor an extensive range of networking devices (routers, switches, UTMs, wireless APs, wireless point-to-point links), servers (Hyper-V, Windows and Linux), associated networked equipment (power rails, UPSs), VOIP devices including PBXs and applications. This covers approximately 400 network devices, 200 servers and 10 or so internal applications. The internal applications are monitored for uptime and availability and have customised checks to graph and monitor individual aspects of their performance.

Pros

Rapidly develop passive and active checks in python is incredibly handy and has allowed us to standardise our monitoring plugins. Being able to reuse nagios plugins has helped in this migration. Customisable dashboards have been very useful. Integration with automated configuration has been straight-forward.

Cons

Not many so far - the documentation has been limited in some areas but did not impede our ability to implement checks in the way we wanted. We are waiting on the 1.7 release to more fully utilise the API.

Reasons for switching to Checkmk

Required additional features and capabilities. Customisable dashboards and a more modern interface.

Christian

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

A flexible and extendable monitoring solution

We are using the Checkmk Enterprise Edition to monitor our infrastructure with around 500 hosts (Linux, Windows, Cisco, Barracuda Firewalls, VMware, Surveillance cameras, Building Access Control Systems). The hosts are located in different sites in Germany and India. This year we are starting to monitor our user endpoints (Windows and Linux) too. We wanted to gain a better insight in which system run which OS version and patch level, hardware health, and which systems are offline for long periods of time. This works very well for us with Checkmk.

Pros

"If you can script it, you can do it!" I really like the ability to customize nearly everything so that the software exactly fits your needs. You can create your own checks so you can monitor custom applications or odd use cases. Checkmk offers a nice API so you can automate host creation, create your own little helper tools and much more.

Cons

The documentation lacks depth on some topics but it is getting better. When you start to use Checkmk for the first time the learning curve is a bit steep, but you get reward with a sheer endless amount of possibilities when you take time to learn.

User Profile

Marius

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Best in-class IT Monitoring software

With Check_MK we have visibility and insight into the systems and applications that power our business. We know the lifecycle and usage patterns of our systems thanks to Check_MK and this is really a powerful feature when making important business decisions regarding these systems. We do not have to do guess work, it is a matter of pulling up the right view or generating the report and looking at the details. We have gained agility and gained operations performances by using Check_MK. In time it has showed to us usage patterns we were not aware of from that helped us fine-tune and optimise thereby reducing complexity/costs or both, it has provided us with instant fault-management and helped identify issues before they become critical as well as historical and trending information that help us budget and plan.

Pros

The software is very pragmatic and provides instant results. With Check_MK you get a solution that is focused on providing the absolute best in monitoring without getting bogged down into maintaining the solution or constantly tuning to keep it running.

Cons

There is nothing that comes to mind. The product does a wonderful job for what it is intended.

Thomas

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

One product to rule them all :-) Checkmk CEE

We monitor our whole store infrastructure: all Media Märkte all Saturns over Europe all Datacenters Frankfurt & Ingolstadt including: Nutanix, VMware, Windows, Cisco network devices, Linux ..... All in all >21500 hosts with >162000 services and counting All centralized from Frankfurt (WAN reaches to Portugal in the West to Turkey in the East)

Pros

Scalability & the sheer amount of check plugins already shipped!

Cons

That the ability to assign contact groupts to LDAP connections was removed. Bring it back please

Reasons for choosing Checkmk

Scalability and pricing

Reasons for switching to Checkmk

With Checkmk CEE we replaced 8 Checkmk CRE instances 8 PRTG instances all of them hosted 80000 checks in total Now we are on 4 instances on 4 VMs with 24vCPUs each

Norman

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

The perfect monitoring solution for small, mid-sized, big and huge infrastuctures

Checkmk offers a whole monitoring framework that you can use to monitor like everything out there. With the help of the ~1800 check plugins and the ability to write your own checks you can monitor whatever you want. The amount of abilitys to do things like sending out notifications, configuration etc. are huge. Checkmk offers a steep learning curve and the benefits you're getting from it are great and I personally learned a lots of new things with the help of Checkmk. The insights you're getting from it are great and help to resolve problems even before they are real problems. One of the greatest things is the opensource edition (RAW Edition) of Checkmk. The ability to contribute your own code to the final product is great. I'm working with Checkmk everyday and used almost every type they're offering (CME,CEE,RAW, virt. Appliance). I'm consulting companys in monitoring projects and my company is part of the Checkmk Partner Programm. I only had good experiences with the Checkmk Team.

Pros

The ability to monitor almost every device with small to little effort is great. (Out-of-the-box) The rule based configuration is one of the key features why Checkmk is superior. Performance is great, even in bigger setups (>2000 hosts). Distributed Monitoring and the ability for managed services helps a lot. Thridparty Integration is great, thanks to the open source community. You're not forced to a cloud (SaaS). All your sensitive data is stored local and you have the power over it. You're able to build your monitoring dynamic from the ground up and Checkmk helps to improve the overall quality of your infrastructure.

Cons

It takes some time to get used to the GUI because of the vast amount of features.

Simon

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

One of the best monitoring tools on the market

Having an overview over your IT-infrastructure 24x7, recognizing misconfiguration/misbehaviour before it becomes a real problem (predictive monitoring). Being able to automate many tasks to save a lot of time with the configuration via API or through other configuration management systems (eg. I use puppet to keep the agent and the plugins up-to-date all the time). The possibilites to notify yourself, customers, co-workers, etc. are endless and also very flexible.

Pros

Many devices can be monitored out-of-the-box because of the discovery feature of the tool. The software is easily extensible with your own scripts or check-plugins from other monitoring tools like Nagios, Icinga, Zabbix, etc. There wasn't a single device that I couldn't somehow monitor with at least a basic set of checks like the SNMP hr-MIBs. The passive checks of the agent are still one of the most appreciated features of the software.

Cons

The active check plugins from Ethan Galstad/Nagios written in C which are still being used widely, eg. check_dns could need a make-over in python (like all the native ones are), because they are either not working the way they should (eg. check_dns reports the time of it's own process, rather than the time the dns answer took) and are missing features (eg. check_dns has no clue about DNSSEC). Some of the enterprise features like the Reporting (especially PDF export functionality) should be ported over to the open-source variant (Raw Edition) of the software to be able to compete with other FOSS tools on the market.

Reasons for choosing Checkmk

- Ease of administration (through WATO), especially for users that don't have deep linux/programming knowledge - Many features work out-of-the-box and don't need initial configuration - The ability to extend your setup with Distributed Monitoring, keeping configuration still in one place - Being able to keep track of changes being made through git, especially when many people are working parallely - Great user community, helping a lot of customers free of charge through mailing lists or nowadays forum

Moritz

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

Nagios with a twist

We are using the Checkmk Raw Edition since 1.2.something to monitor ~500 hosts (mostly Linux VMs, but some are Windows and some are actual hardware, too). Many of those run web applications which we try to monitor using active HTTP checks, too. Some specific monitoring of Docker and Kubernetes components is also used.

Pros

There are tons of features: Using Checkmk allows us to monitor basic aspects about our systems rapidly using the included host agent and server side check evaluation. Additional active checks that require more domain knowledge can be easily configured using the web interface. Compared to the plain text file configuration mess that is Nagios, this is absolutely futuristic.

Cons

Due to the huge complexity of the configuration framework, it is sometimes hard to find the right location for settings and rules, but as you get more familiar with the design of the system it gets easier.

Rolf

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Enterprise grade monitoring as it should be

- component based state monitoring: -- all kind of servers (real, virtual; Windows, Linux, AIX, Solaris, ESX, AS400...) -- all kind of network devices and appliances -- full stack - component based event monitoring - monitoring of business processes by using the Check_MK business intelligence - alarming via e-mails, ticketing tools, umbrella managers, SMS etc.

Pros

- Very fast and easy implementation - Incredible low costs - Very close communication with and fast feedback from the company behind Check_MK - Almost complete API set for all automations need for an enterprise sized infrastructure - Highly customisable, flexible and extensible by several plugin mechanisms - A vast set of monitors already shipped with the product - A very secure architecture - A limit footprint on the monitored servers and devices - No Java, no application server needed to run the product - Much more, you have to experience Check_MK

Cons

To cut a long story short: to my and all of my customers opinions there is nothing to criticise.

Gerd

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Complete monitoring for IT infrastructure of any size

We are monitoring IT infrastructure from UPSs over servers, hypervisors, network, SAN and NAS storage up to the operating systems and databases as well as SAP for over 80 customers with Check MK and have made excellent experiences with the tool, the technical support and also the user community.

Pros

Automates many formerly cumbersome tasks like the discovery of hosts and services (both agent based and snmp or proprietary APIs) Offers a free open source version that packs the same checks as the enterprise version. 1700 checks for free is pretty sweet. The whole system is extremely lightweight, 4 CPUs and 4 GB memory are more than enough for medium sized environments (~200-300 hosts). Since it's open source you can always extend the system or look into the code to find out what it does on the most detailed level.

Cons

The available documentation on the website is sometimes outdated or incomplete (they are however aware of this and have made it a priority for 2019)

Bernd

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

One tool for monitoring "almost" anything

Here a short system overview what we do with the Enterprise Version Monitoring of about 150K services such as - SNMP devices - Server Linux / Windows / AIX - SAP - diverse applications - Tracking of deliveries (trains & ships) - Tracking of large vehicles for maintenance - Control and monitoring of the building services engineering - Automatic ticket handling in the ServiceNow - Alerts ... and a thousand other things

Pros

What I like best: - very steep learning curve - conclusive operation - very easy to define hosts and service even for beginners - very good support (Comunity & Enterprise) - more than 1700 plugins "out of the box - in the community version for free - Price performance ratio in the Enterprise Edition very good - most of the configuration can be done via the GUI with the additional option to do it on the console

Cons

I can't think of a great thing that is constantly and actively improving the system.

Reasons for switching to Checkmk

to cover all our Services with one Tool

Felix

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Perfect monitoring for heterogenous IT environments

Monitoring complex heterogeneous IT environments and capacit management.

Pros

The best thing about check_mk is its ability to monitor all sorts of operating systems, appliances and applications in one central place. Combined with custom checks and performance data we are using it for monitoring as well as capacity management. The compatability to nagios and it's huge plugin repository made migration from classical nagios to check_mk very easy. We have been using check_mk for 5 years and are not planning to change that in the future.

Cons

The menu structure is unintuitive in some cases and the Web API does not make use of HTTP response codes (You get a 200 even if the call fails). The Agent output is not encrypted by default.

Roland

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE