User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.53

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Interfaces with virtually everything we have running, Windows Server, Linux, iSeries and is the central part of the production environment. Proved to be a great catalyst for developing in PowerShell."
  • icon"However, the support team is an invaluable part of the product. The support team has been fantastic in helping me to understand what capabilities are available and exactly how to use them."
  • icon"Both Client-Server and Web app interfaces available. Supports task scheduling on Windows and Unix/Linux platforms."
  • icon"Clients tend to lose connection with server as it does not refresh consistently (v6), sometimes frustrating that other sessions will show different job statuses."
  • icon"Sometimes the response time in viewing the detail screens is slow. However, it is difficult to know if it is the JAMS product or our environment that is slow in rendering results."

All JAMS Reviews

1-19 of 19 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Jams: How to automate OpenVMS...and more

Core functionality was interfacing with an Alpha server running on OpenVMS software. We needed a way to better automate the processing. Also important was to get notifications if things went wrong, and for a non-programmer to quickly resolve issues that might come up. We did not want them looking through batch files and trying to figure out what failed and when.

Pros

One of the few programs on the market that integrates well with OpenVMS via a native agent.

Cons

Debugging of scripts is more burdensome than it could be, but I like the audit capabilities where you can roll back to previous versions of a job very easily.

Bruce

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

JAMS helps IT do their job

Our team has used JAMS extensively to manage a number of different tasks/processes on several different servers and different operating systems (unix/windows) with a number of different methods such as scripting (bash/powershell) and SSIS calls and calling URL endpoints as well. This is a very flexible tool and it works well for our IT services team.

Pros

Jams is a pretty full featured job schedule tool. Jobs can be scheduled to run on repeated (hourly) or one time. Jobs can be tired or chained if you want as well. The interface is well done so you don't spend a lot of time finding what you need to modify or update a job. My favorite feature is the email log for completed or errored jobs, so you can get right to work - from your email tool by viewing the log.

Cons

I have found that the search/query tool doesn't default to the current day when I'm looking for a job. I realize that some users want to keep the query as they left it - thus the need to keep the previous dates and query string. Perhaps a "reset to default" button to clear everything up and get the query tool ready to use would be helpful.

Response from HelpSystems

Thanks for the great feedback, Bruce! We're thrilled that JAMS continues to be a useful tool for you and the team. The search/query behavior is very powerful, but something we're actively working to improve upon from an end-user's perspective. Be sure to keep a close eye on the Release Notes for an update on that front in the near future! If there's anything else you need, or features you'd like to see added to JAMS that could benefit the user base, please don't hesitate to reach out to your JAMS account rep or JAMS Support.

Replied May 2019

User Profile

Davesh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

February 2019

Excellent idea for software, clients, and scheduling. However, very buggy and not well executed

Pros

The idea of having JAMS scheduler handle jobs and monitor them is fantastic and is the best solution so far for batch jobs while managing 20-50 servers.

Cons

Software is extremely buggy, web client is almost unusable, constant updates, clients sometimes crashes leaving an entire system useless until restarted, sometimes updates fail wasting company time in reverting state

Response from HelpSystems

Thank you for the feedback! JAMS is constantly being enhanced and improved, so we hope your overall experience also improves with each release. If you have specific enhancement requests that you feel would help make the product better, please feel free to contact your JAMS account rep or JAMS Support.

Replied April 2019

Nancy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Package/Freight Delivery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

JAMS ease of use, ease of understanding

Very positive. It is a great tool for a variety of teams to use. At our site, the non-production JAMS instance is used to insure the jobs / setups work as expected BEFORE being deployed to Production. And once in Production, Setups & Jobs can be visually monitored by the general public. A variety of notifications on a job's status can be sent automatically, thus eliminating the need to involve valuable "production" resources to answer routine inquires of process owners. Win-win!

Pros

JAMS has an amazing amount of processing capabilities available. However, the support team is an invaluable part of the product. The support team has been fantastic in helping me to understand what capabilities are available and exactly how to use them. Response to on-line chat requests are answered very quickly. They offer to set up GoToMeetings for hands on assistance. And, on the rare occasion the technician doesn't know the answer, he will find the answer for you! Amazing! They take customer support seriously! The product is tremendously robust too!

Cons

It can seem a little clunky when using the UI. Sometimes the response time in viewing the detail screens is slow. However, it is difficult to know if it is the JAMS product or our environment that is slow in rendering results.

Response from HelpSystems

Thanks for the review, Nancy! We always appreciate hearing success stories like yours, and strive to provide industry leading support to all of our customers. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you ever need anything.

Replied June 2019

Craig

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

JAMS Scheduler From HelpSystems

As I stated above, I have been using JAMS since 2009 and here it is now 2019. JAMS is easy to install and once up and running JAMS just keeps on running. JAMS is extremely stable. The JAMS Support Staff is very knowledgeable and respond if needed very quickly. JAMS Support also resolves any issues quickly and resolves the issue the first time.

Pros

I am the JAMS Administrator at one of the largest Banking Financial Institutions Worldwide. We have been using JAMS Scheduler since 2009 in our Credit Card Division and Mortgage Division scheduling and running thousands of batch reports worldwide each month with no issues, automatically running all jobs on time as scheduled and as requested. Another vendors scheduler system used in other divisions is called AutoSys. Once Line of Business partners see JAMS they ask: How do we convert from AutoSys to JAMS.

Cons

CONS would be just that during major upgrades from one release version to the next higher release version, ex: version 6 to version 7 migration, the new version is NOT backwards compatible, thereby causing to have to perform the Big Bang approach to upgrading to the newest release.

Response from HelpSystems

Awesome review, Craig! We are extremely happy to have you as a long time customer, and proud of the fact that JAMS continues to be an integral part of Bank of America's ecosystem. Let us know if we can be of any assistance, and we look forward to continuing to strengthen our relationship with your team.

Replied May 2019

Chris

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Center of our universe

Using JAMS at last 3 sites I've worked. There is no other competitive product in the price range. And should be included as part of any Direct Commerce system install.

Pros

Interfaces with virtually everything we have running, Windows Server, Linux, iSeries and is the central part of the production environment. Proved to be a great catalyst for developing in PowerShell.

Cons

Clients tend to lose connection with server as it does not refresh consistently (v6), sometimes frustrating that other sessions will show different job statuses. Needs a frequent restart, not just a simple refresh.

Response from HelpSystems

Great review, Chris. Thanks for that! We often compare JAMS to the cardiovascular system of organizations, so your review title is very fitting. The JAMS Client connection can be affected by the network being leveraged, however we've focused development efforts in newer versions of JAMS (V7) to increase resiliency between the JAMS Server and Clients. We hope you get a chance to check it out for yourself soon, as well as experience all the new features that come in V7! Of course, if you need anything, please don't be shy. JAMS Support or your account manager are always available!

Replied May 2019

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

More than just scheduling

We have been very happy with the JAMS product and the Team @ MVPSI overall; the product is very stable and the vendor team is very responsive with issues and helping the customers.

Pros

We have found the flexibility of the JAMS product to give us a great breadth of use cases. Beyond just doing conditional job execution; we actually use it for workflow orchestration on larger processes where a job can monitor other jobs and continue or fail the larger process.

Cons

There have been growing pains shifting from the V6.5 to V7.x version of software so much changed in the UI/UX that getting use to the new front end has been tiresome. The installation process has also been problematic over the years; but appears to be more stable in the most recent version.

Response from HelpSystems

Thanks for the great review, David! We hope you continue to enjoy the flexibility and robustness of JAMS, and always be sure to reach out to us if you ever need anything.

Replied June 2019

Joseph

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Excellent Workload Automation Scheduler Solution

Excellent quality and reliability. The cost makes it a very simple option to go with considering what the software offers. A true Enterprise class workload automation solution.

Pros

The scheduler is very flexible and reliable as well as scalable. We use it for all our ERP transmissions and automation tasks and it's very easy to use! We also found it to be AWS cloud friendly.

Cons

The software could probably be even more intuitive for non technical people. Perhaps offer a forms interface that follows a workflow. To be fair, I don't think there isn't anything out there that offers this though it would be very helpful as it is a need.

Response from HelpSystems

Thanks for the great review, Joseph! JAMS is a very technical solution, and one of JAMS Development's recent initiatives has been to make it more intuitive for business end users. We hope you have a chance to check out the improvements soon! If there's anything else you need in the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out to your account manager or JAMS Support. We're here to help!

Replied May 2019

Greg

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Best automation software for processing inbound/outbound files.

Great files automation at all levels. Great dependency checking. The new Workflows are a great addition and very useful for full scale "thinking" by the flow or processes.

Pros

Very configurable with PowerShell and many other languages.

Cons

When I am in the system and I undock my laptop, the software loses it's connection to the server. So you have to close the software and reopen it. But that is the least of my worries.

Response from HelpSystems

Hi, Greg. Thanks for the review! It's great to hear that you're having success with your file processing and PowerShell jobs. Client connection is something that JAMS Development has been working to improve in newer version of V7.x, so hopefully you're able to upgrade soon for a better experience when undocking. If there's anything else we can do to help, please don't hesitate to reach out to JAMS Support. We're here to help!

Replied May 2019

Jerry

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Enterprise Automation at its Finest

Very impressed with the support and pre sales teams technical knowledge. Top notch team and product.

Pros

Easy to use. Nice web client. Easy to maintain, setup, update and on-board new users. This tool literally saves our organizations hours each day. Endless opportunity to add automation around the organization.

Cons

Windows only can make it tough in a mixed environment but we do just fine with it.

Response from HelpSystems

Thanks, Jerry! Ease of use is a main point of focus for us as we continue to develop JAMS, so we're glad that you find the tool easy to use while also saving your company time. JAMS Support is always available if you need assistance with anything!

Replied May 2019

Mehul

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

JAMS Product Review

First and foremost JAMS helped us moving our windows based scheduled jobs which involved manual efforts. Since moving 100+ jobs to JAMS we no longer have to manually monitor the jobs. Overall, we're very pleased with the product and their customer support is exceptional.

Pros

Ease of use, Robust functionality, built in features like connecting to Oracle EBS, FTP, SFTP, FILE COPY to name a few.

Cons

So far none. Though we are on version 6.5 which lacks some reporting features but moving to 7.x version soon. And hopefully we will have what we want.

Response from HelpSystems

Thanks for the review, Mehul! We are glad that JAMS has freed you and your team from manually monitoring Jobs across your various systems. If you need a hand with V6.5, or making the move to V7, please don't hesitate to reach out to JAMS Support. We're always here to lend a hand if you need anything!

Replied May 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

JAMS is a legitimate scheduling system for our scheduling needs

We are using JAMS Scheduler to schedule business process in Higher Education, including job scheduling with Ellucian Banner as our ERP. As now configured, JAMS has been working seamlessly without interruption.

Pros

We were able to transition from much more scheduling systems to JAMS for a small fraction of what our annual costs had been.

Cons

JAMS Scheduler has had some technical bumps that have required careful testing and sometimes clever workarounds. However, JAMS Support has been incredibly helpful and proactive to work with in identifying issues, assisting us with workarounds, and promptly addressing bug fixes. Concerning the bumpts, JAMS has improved immensely during the past 18 months that we have owned the product.

Scott

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Using JAMS for 8 years

We heavily use JAMS and love using the product. We run about 30,000 jobs a day and have a production support team of 10 people that manage the jobs.

Pros

The access to the data - we run SQL queries to easily manage the data - the table structure is easy to understand and is accessible.

Cons

Sometimes it takes a little time to find a job in complex workflows.

Reasons for choosing JAMS

Cheaper and better features

Reasons for switching to JAMS

Cheaper and better features

jeff

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

JAMS is a must...

Fantastic !!!

Pros

The software is fantastic in ease of use, reporting and job creating. However, the support is second to none .. I cannot stress how fast and effective their support team is, I haven't seen anything even close.

Cons

I cannot think of much that I don't like, upgrades are a snap, support is amazing, GUI is amazing.

Stephen

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

A Fully capable task scheduling system

Sadly at this time, after spending a year attempting to deploy, JAMS is not the product for us. Not that it could not be, just simply that it is not a seamless replacement to our existing product and the amount of time to convert (re-write) all the current tasks. Variables and passing arguments to chained procedures may be possible under JAMS, however the non-capital investment and general lack of understanding of the issues at hand caused this deployment to fail.

Pros

Both Client-Server and Web app interfaces available. Supports task scheduling on Windows and Unix/Linux platforms

Cons

Uses old programming utilities and modules. Sales in-correctly represented the ability to seamless migrate to the product from our current job scheduler.

Michael

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE