User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(59)

59

4 stars

(23)

23

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I like the integrations and synchronizations to other applications. Specifically, we use a hybrid AD approach. It works great! We’re also using the RaaS for dynamic vlan mapping. VERY impressed!"

  • "Easy to use and deploy for different OS options"

  • "I like how easy it is to add new users to my directory and mange them in one place from anywhere. "

  • Cons

  • "Migration tool is OK, but could use "push" functionality. All devices are not automatically added to the "All Devices" group. "

  • "At first it was a lack of features, but you guys stepped up the game fast!"

  • "The pricing model has improved but can still be cost-prohibitive for small IT budget clients. "

Browse JumpCloud Directory Platform Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 82 results

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Diana from BlueCastle IT Solutions LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great LDAP solutions for small businesses

Small businesses that need to become more operational mature in handling their staff and managing users but maybe can't afford an on premise Windows server or want to keep everything in the cloud - this is where JumpCloud reigns supreme.

Pros

The price is probably number 1 thing i like! Free for under 10 users. A great way for me as an IT professional to help smaller businesses get onto a stable platform for properly managing their users and devices, with room to expand as their companies grow. Great integrations with other apps (we use Office365 for most clients). With JumpCloud a small company really doesn't need a Windows Active Directory server on premises any longer.

Cons

No customer service for the free licenses - I get why, but I don't have to like it. It would be less annoying if the knowledgebase was a bit streamlined better. Can be difficult to find How-To information. Usually the article is there but is not intuitive and easy to find.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Way more streamlined and easier to use then Azure Active Directory. Okta I hear is great for SSO but doesn't do what JumpCloud does when it comes to LDAP integrations, at least from what I could see.

September 2020

Lance from MoneyLion

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Satisfied Jumpcloud Organization

We have had a very positive experience. From the onset, we have had great customer support throughout. The customer success teams and engineering teams have all been responsive, and it is clear that they care about the voice of the customer. Our inquiries are responded to quickly, and we are kept in the loop on a monthly basis, or more frequently if necessary, of any changes and what the roadmap looks like.

Pros

Jumpcloud has provided us with a full DaaS solution which we were able to scale easily, and have seen the benefits versus our prior environment. We are able to implement policies and enhance our security posture very easily by utilizing Jumpcloud. The SSO integration is a great feature which is included in the standard plan, and allows us to save money and resources on having an additional solution in our tech stack. The ability to manage all users and endpoints through the console allows for streamlined processing of requests through our Sys admin team.

Cons

I don't like the lack of readily available reporting which can be generated directly from Jumpcloud. The data is all there, and we can get it through various extracts, but I would like to see some high quality embedded reporting with the ability to share and customize reports. I also want to see more integration with services like Slack.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Jumpcloud made the most sense based on the size of our user base, the cost of the solution, and our needs at the time.

September 2020

Robert from Trussle

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Great functional product that tackles most of the Central management and directory functions

Jumpclouds offering has great features and helps simplify the central user management issue we had. Importing users from Gsuite which was the main system that housed all our users centrally was simple, albeit lacking granular import options (such as ignore mailgroups etc) Systems (which are devices) is the inventory of all your systems running the jumpcloud agent - the greatest feature here is being able to set MFA for logging into your mac, which is very useful if you'd like to bring that security practice in. Actioning user changes is pretty quick and straightforward but there are some caveats on some of the more everyday features that could be laid out in a slicker fashion. For example resetting a users password cannot be done from a click of a button - you have to go into the account and manually set a new one, or invite the user to reset it themselves, but if you've integrated JC and Gsuite, and they cant get into their email, which partly breaks our self serve functionality we're tyring to bring to the company. The idea of being able to deploy and manage the admin account when a mac is managed via the agent is a helpful addition taking away the need to implement one through various other means. Policies as they stand are a little different to what your typical "mdm polices" are. So theres a bit of a distinction to pick up with that. The Agent & account tis a less forgiving implementation and requires that the account names on the macs match the JC directory.

Pros

Support right through the demo to the purchase, to the implementation. Success criteria are agreed between yourselves and them. They're improving the product almost daily and have the ability to use web-hooks to monitor service status' The ease in which you are able to integrate Gsuite (as well as multiple ways to import users from your existing central directory) It also gives you the ability to tailor the input for mass imports to limit the need to get users involved in this stage. The ability to simply submit Ideas to improve the UI. The communication from their design team and being involved in user testing so early on. The resource and Knowledge base is extensive and easy to read - one of the best Ive used from a company in this space. The interface is also simple to use and navigate through without being buried under complex sub menus Straightforward email notifications from the system. Being able to simply reimport users youve deleted without having to wait for a sync or overlapping the account when reimporting.

Cons

A few tricky bits around JC > Gsuite integration wording that take some time to get your head around when integrating and activating accounts once imported. The admin vs user console login is dynamic and handled via one URL making it a little frustrating to see what the user profile looks like as you have to log out/open a new window to log in as a user - they should be separate logins URLS/Pages or have dropdowns within the admin page in order to switch between. The lack of global settings to apply around Security means for both user login and System security - you have to apply MFA individually to users When removing/disabling users there isnt an ability to change what happens to their email account - they will be disabled/suspended immediately. Not able to tailor the automated emails that come from the system to your users as it stands Importing users via OUs inside Gsuite isnt possible (its everyone or needing to know user by user who to import (not the end of the world but worthwhile noting if you have more than 200 users + copious amounts of group emails) Currently no ability to assign users to OUs from within JC to Gsuite. We utilitise divisions and Departments as sub groups for organising our employees and use this hierarchy in another solution. Youre currently not able to nest groups so we had to flat out create ever department as top level inside the "system of users" section. Again a little niche for us, and shouldnt mark this awesome product down

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Their offering for the tools and features came in at a great price and offered the greatest value. The ability to manage users as well as manage mac devices was a great bonus to us.

August 2020

Randy from Octane Lending

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

JumpCloud, the software that changed the game for companies all over the world.

JumpCloud is an IT / Infrastructure admins dream. Not only is their entire team from sales, to customer success, to engineering, to support amazing, they are very fast to jump on any issues or features you are interested in to help. JumpCloud is my favorite product to date.

Pros

What do I like best? I think the list goes on and on way too long for this. JumpCloud does everything I could think of. From LDAP, to IDP, to server authentication, to MDM and so much more. JumpCloud has helped Octane solve so many issues that I didn't even know I needed to solve. And on top of that their support team and our account manager are the absolute best.

Cons

The only thing I dislike about JumpCloud right now is that since we have so many bookmarks and SSO connections on the user portal, there is no favorites page on there for them to only star the applications they use daily. Its getting cumbersome to keep track and find the applications you need sometimes.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

JumpCloud is the best priced for all the features.

September 2020

Marty from Swimlane

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Replace your old on-prem AD server with Jumpcloud

Even without a global pandemic going on, our company is at least 60% remote. Solving the issues of users working remotely is what Jumpcloud specializes in. Cloud first was my philosophy when I began down this road, and JumpCloud definitely fits that model. No longer do you have to maintain on-prem servers and figure out how to securely allow remote access to them just so your users can log into their systems. JumpCloud handles all of that for you and frees you up to focus on more important issues. Its not "Active Directory in the cloud", but its close! What sets Jumpcloud apart from other solutions is their cross-platform support. Their support for MacOS is fantastic, and even linux workstations have some support!

Pros

Jumpcloud offers 10 users free, forever!

Cons

Without paid support, it can be difficult to adapt to using Jumpcloud if you're not familiar with Active Directory and Group Policies.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

After much investigation, I found that neither Ping or Okta could completely replace an on-prem AD server. Azure AD is much more difficult to use, especially in a mixed environment like we have.

August 2020

Carl from Webrepublic AG

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Excellent Solution for User and Device Management, Directory and Security

We are using JumpCloud as central directory, for SSO, for device and user management and partially MDM functionality. We love the support service, their incredibly enthusiastic and helpful staff. Support is brilliant! They are response time is sometimes hard to believe. The speed with which they have implemented features they mentioned in phone calls a few days before... we are well impressed. The end user experience is simple and assigning users to devices is lightning fast. JumpCloud helps us leverage zero touch deployment as well. We love that it has so many SSO integrations, too.

Pros

Great UI, self explanatory, fast and works in almost any browser (desktop and mobile). The ease of use is incredible. Basically no learning curve at all.

Cons

It would be great to have even more MDM functionality, especially for Mac and mobile devices.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Great experience with their team and it is the ideal solution for our setup.

August 2020

Aaron from Project-icon.com

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Directory as a service the next generation

It has been awesome to know I can track staff, device but not use active directory. It's only took a few days to learn the software and the documentation has been awesome.

Pros

Not having to use Microsoft domain management. Less on prem expense and more focus on daily needs. Easy to use and deployment.

Cons

I haven't really had an draw backs from using this software it has really help to go domain less for me as a MSP owner.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

To have a directory in the cloud and SSO with splash page was perfect and everything I was looking for. I have it connected to most of my major programs and since the agent was added to the systems icons I can easily get to my programs. It as been revolutionary in saving time and money.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

David from First Coast IT, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great AD alternative

With end users using G Suite for file storage and sharing, we are able to manage PCs and end user credentials without needing to deploy Active Directory.

Pros

Easy to manage web interface with clear categories and policies.

Cons

Client installation on PCs was more complex than I would have liked.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

More complete directory solution. Easier setup and management. Lower learning curve. Lower cost of entry.

August 2020

Felix from Airy3D

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

A simple yet effective Cloud based management system

Pros

The free 10 first users really helped me do my proof of concepts with the applications I wanted to integrate. The interface is simple and everything you need to manage users and associated systems and applications are easy to find.

Cons

Policies to deploy to systems are a cool feature, however, there are too few policies for Linux. A community driven for policies could be very interesting.

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

We wanted to manage users from LInux and Mac too.

August 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

The next step in efficient IT. The Biggest change that no one will notice

Really easy to roll out and implement. Weather you want go totally cloud with someone like Microsoft or Google, or you want to do all in-house or you want Hybrid, JumpClouds got you covered. Migrating AD accounts and the Domain joined machines they were on was done in one simple swoop, using ProfWizz and the Jumpcloud agent, the transition was seamless (and almost effortless) and the enrolment seemed almost too good to be true. But, once you get used to using JumplCloud, the alternative is less appealing. Like stepping out of a Bentley, and going into a city bus. They will both get you there, but only one does it with flair, elegance and style.

Pros

Jumpcloud is the chameleon that becomes one with any setup you throw it into. Faster, easier and more accurate(because there is less human interaction to make those mistakes) as well as being as secure as you need it to be. With SAML 2.0, SSO and and MFA, you would be hard pressed to find an alternative so rich in features and option AND in the same pricerange as JumpCloud. Managing users and machines over the internet as if they were on the domain. Adding/removing users, deploying scripts and software. User Account Management has made the need for VPNs and other fafferies totally redundant. Jumplouds agent will do all the lifting. You just tell it what you need. Once the user or machine checks in, the instruction is automatically actioned. In one word: Brilliant!

Cons

There was a times when a users account that locked out took more time and effort to resolve than would without JumpCloud. The alerting was also in need of review. Specifically, when a users account gets locked out, the process to get it unlocked could do with a tidy up.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Put simply: Superior product, inferior prices.

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

For all the reasons listed above and so much more. Simply: Jumploud bring all you management needs under one roof. Whether you are setting up a new user, group, machine. Its smooth, and it just works.

September 2020

ADam from Aldis Systems

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Avoiding the mistakes of others...

I watched our sister company who was all Mac-based turn to the dark-side and try to take on PC client machines along with active directory...it's been a slow churn for them. No unified passwords, a home built radius server held together by a band-aid and Mac clients that see no benefit and 2 AD servers that no one truly understands...it's like some mystical dark art. We on the other hand, spun up 10 free users on Jumpcloud and never looked back, we have Linux/Mac and PC machines...as well as virtual machines all running Jumpcloud. We have Single Sign On between VPN, Wifi, NAS, System Accounts, Email... and it's all controlled from the cloud. They will never admit their mistake and come over to Jumpcloud, but I did learn by watching their slow, fragmented process for user/device management. Glad I went with JC!

Pros

I love that this DaaS product "just works" right out of the box. There is plenty of good documentation to read if you are cautious like me. I found that many features just worked and were intuitive to implement. We went from a small company that was ravaged by "password fatigue" - we separate passwords for everything with no central password app. It was a nightmare. After deploying Jumpcloud, we were able to make use of many of the features hidden in our networking gear. Within a month, we had unique (per user) credentials to get into everything. VPN, Wifi, NAS, System Accounts, Email...SSO. The password complexity is adjustable and can rotate. 2FA is simple to deploy and is icing on the cake. All of this in a Mac, Linux and PC environment....you really can't ask Active Directory to do that.

Cons

While the support for features and processes pertaining to Jumpcloud are documented well. At times the instructions can seem vague and maybe presume too much. However, support personnel are just an email away...they will help you "stick to the script", they are not however always well-versed in real scenarios you may have on your job-site. Nonetheless, I'll give them a C+ for walking through a couple nerve-racking installs the first time through.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Great Application Getting even Better

My overall experience has been nothing but positive. Now that all passwords are sync'd across both local and web services, our users rarely need password resets anymore. Their technical support has been very helpful and responsive in the few (maybe two times in two years?) I've needed to call them.

Pros

I love its ease of use. Getting started using it was effortless as a single tech doing the work. Its ability to serve as a directory server for G Suite, PowerSchool (LDAP), and WiFi (RADIUS) makes my life so much easier. And it's even great that for G Suite it can be user-specific. We have some accounts that we don't tie into JumpCloud simply because they only need email. JumpCloud can "pull" G Suite Accounts if they already exist, and I love how it can "push" accounts as well for creating new users.

Cons

There are a few niceties that they haven't implemented yet. Extensive logs can easily be pulled via their API, but they aren't available via the web-gui. They also haven't yet managed to implement the ability to manage Google Groups through their interface yet (but that's supposedly coming soon).

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

We are a small IT Department, and we didn't want to dedicate the time and energy to learning how to implement and manage AD. JumpCloud doesn't require training for the average technician to know what to do, and I've heard that AD can be finicky or outright impossible to use for non-Microsoft services and systems. JumpCloud easily connects with Windows and Mac, has built-in LDAP and RADIUS services, and SAML connectors. And to top it off, JumpCloud was very willing to negotiate with us as a non-profit school. They have simply been a pleasure to work with from the beginning, and have a very easy product to manage.

September 2019

Chris from Cotterville

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Everything I Need, Without the Aggravation of AD

I have been very happy with JumpCloud. I used to run an ActiveDirectory system for the small amount of users I have, and AD is so old, clunky, and often overkill. This is a lightweight solution that can allow you to manage your organization with ease using users, groups, and policies. Setting up a user in another state is just a click away on the panel.

Pros

Very simple, quick package install that takes seconds. I love that the agent runs as service with a tiny footprint. You make changes using the web console, and they propagate down within a minute. Password syncing is not an issue. Just as if you were using AD, password syncing works fast. I loved how easy it was to setup RADIUS for wireless. I had it up and running within a couple of minutes. Agent installation on our machines was either done by a small installer, or in the case of Linux, a simple copy-and-paste command pasted into the terminal.

Cons

No mobile app yet. I am hoping this will change in the future so I can make changes without having to log into the browser.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Currently not an Azure customer, and Azure did not support Linux. I love the ease of use and not having to concern myself with maintaining infrastructure anymore.

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

AD is a pain to manage, and did not allow syncing without using a VPN. The most important thing was the cross-platform support. They support Windows, Mac, and Linux.

October 2019

Sean from Embaucha LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Not yet feature complete, but getting closer every quarter

Not having to maintain an internal LDAP directory has been a substantial burden that was lifted by JumpCloud.

Pros

Ease of use for SMB's, changes are reflected instantly, free for up to 10 users forever makes trialing trivial, and MDM features across Windows and Macs are uniquely useful.

Cons

Lacking some features. For example, they support VLAN assignment via RADIUS, but do not support named VLAN's in this configuration. It's not a complete replacement for AD in that you cannot nest groups, they have to be individually managed. The MDM features are some of the most interesting available, but feature availability is highly dependent on OS... for example, while both Mac and Windows have significant options available to them (albeit many fewer that Group Policy in AD provides), Linux has almost none of the MDM features available to it.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Availability of 10 free users forever.

October 2019

Jeffrey from C4 Tech & Design

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Solid way to manage users

I use jump-cloud for my own business and my clients primarily to help with user management and to manage access to the various services that are used. It jump make all this easier.

Pros

It solves a bunch of problems all at once. You can have Jumpcloud handle your G Suite/Office 365 password, then use that same password for your computer logins and well as for your office's WiFi. A lot of people miss that last one. Small business rarely change the WiFi password, so every exemployee knows how to log in. With Jumpcloud Radius service, everyone uses their Jumpcloud password to log in. If someone is no longer with the company, you disable their Jumpcloud account and they no longer can log in. If you are a Linux admin, Jumpcloud's system agent can handle password, or even better ssh keys with two-factor authentications. This really take security up while making all it easy to manage. They keep adding features as well, like recently added management of Bitlocker.

Cons

I only have minor grips. Like to manage LDAP, you have to create an LDAP bind user. No big deal, but that is the only thing I'm going to use that account for. The fact that it shows up as an option for G Suite or for system log ins is unnecessary. Seems like that should be a special user locked away under LDAP tab somewhere.

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

Easier to manage

September 2020

Kyle from oVertone Haircare

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Cosmetics

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

A great solution for a cloud-based business

Pros

JumpCloud solved a number of issues for us as we needed a cloud-based identity management and also a system management tool for our distributed workforce. The product has constantly been improving over the 2 years we have used it. Set-up is fairly easy and it was pretty simple to roll-out.

Cons

There are some limitations that I hope are improved as the product develops. MDM is currently limited in functionality, and the System Insights still require command-line input to gather detailed information. It doesn't not have commands that can run on a system automatically when joined which would be nice.

August 2020

Ratko from Ninoki doo

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Freedom of choice, movemant, security, breaking AD chains - all with JC

If you want to have or already have most of what is necessary in the Cloud, without the need for a DC server in the premises, to expand your intranet to the entire Internet, then you need DaaS. JumpCloud is simple but offers complex services.

Pros

Quite complete solution, pretty simple but comprehensive. Management of users, machines, groups, solid connections with o365, cloud RADIUS option... And constant service improvement, which is very important in the software industry.

Cons

Reliability of RADIUS service, addition of remote control.

September 2020

Ernesto from Smashtech

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Best DaaS and MDM ever

Absolutely love it

Pros

Ease of use and deployment, reliability and visibility.

Cons

At first it was a lack of features, but you guys stepped up the game fast!

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

More catered to my current environment

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

Cost savings and reliability

August 2020

Randy from ClassPass

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Simple, Reliable and Affordable

I have been very happy with the price and reliability of the services that I need from JumpCloud. I don't use them all, but what I do use, I use extensively.

Pros

While JumpCloud may not have all the bells and whistles, what it does do, it does well. Super easy to use with a Google GSuite environment.

Cons

I wish SSO was beefed up a little more. Some nicer integrations would be great, but it is possible that there are partnerships with larger DaaS providers that were made exclusive and they can not get access to.

September 2019

Mark from Virtual Information Technology

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Reliable product

Jumpcloud are always requesting feedback and improving their offering

Pros

Minimal downtime and easy to navigate GUI.

Cons

Access to logs is via API only making them hard to decipher at times.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

cost

October 2019

Michael from Griffin Technology Solutions

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

One of a kind cloud product

Solution to meet the requirement by having his/her own unique user account, therefore, no accounts are being shared.

Pros

As a replacement for an onsite server, JumpCloud leads the pack because they support companies that are very small with high growth potential, to take advantage of the software for free with limitations of number of users/computers. This allows the company using it, to grow and as it does, gives me an easy decision to subscribe to the service, without reinventing a solution. Another PRO is that is actually releases updates that have a beneficial use; JumpCloud has never stopped adding new or improved features. I have to research software to make recommendations that are best for the client and business. They choose JumpCloud.

Cons

As it relates to Directory-as-a-Service features, are policies for user/computer functionality. Such as standard policy to lock the computers after 15 minutes. It incorporates basic policies to apply to the machine or user, but not any near the amount Local Group Policy offers.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Divorcing Microsoft Active Directory, married nibble SaaS and cloud simplicity

Jumpcloud has helped me move the authoritative directory to the cloud, unify sign-on and simplify end-user password sprawl.

Pros

Jumpcloud is a great alternative to Microsoft Active Directory, I've rolled out JC at several firms and enjoyed the simple to use and easy to deploy, yet powerful service they provide. A big plus is that JC is designed to be OS agnostic, so I can deliver the security, management, and scripting I need to endpoints and servers while allowing end-users to choose their preferred OS.

Cons

not much to add here, it does what its supposed to do.

October 2019

Mike from Kosek Enterprises

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great Software and Service

Very good and very helpful with managing dispersed machines across many different clients.

Pros

Automatically updates and pushes changes out to devices in near real-time. Works with a host of services and grows every day. Has many of the main features of a DaaS, without being overly complex or difficult to configure. Windows policy configuration without a domain for small businesses.

Cons

Lacks substantial Mac and Linux policy configuration.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Azure works in similar ways, but the configuration and user interface is less friendly. It also has more than is necessary in certain cases, such as in small to medium businesses, and is a bit more rigid in terms of deployment and setup.

September 2019

Andre from Devine Consulting

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Dumping the old and embracing the new!

Overall JumpCloud has been wonderful. I was able to eliminate the costs of hosting a datacenter for my client and reduced their overall IT costs by 30% or more. This allowed them to use that savings to leverage other cloud based services to enhance their entire business model.

Pros

JumpCloud DaaS helped me move an organization from an expensive hosted AD environment to a cloud based one which provides much needed security and ease of use for my registered users. Its licensing scheme was cost effective, its inherent ability to migrate users onto the platform easily was great, and its administrative portal is very easy to use.

Cons

I haven't found any cons yet. The software runs very well. Whenever I did run into issues with the deployment or setup the help team was prompt and knowledgeable.

September 2020

Felix from Grabtaxi holdings p/l

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Best cloud based directory service

Pros

Constantly improving feature sets.. new policies and functions being developed constantly Friendly interface for sysadmins. RESTApi enabled backend.

Cons

Logging to external syslog from admin gui is not present. Older features don't have reporting enabled where new features all have logging in mind when building Often falling back to REST API to perform tasks which not available on admin gui.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Pricing and cloud based capabilities

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Tough To Manage - Effective at it's Job

Pros

I love what jumpcloud does, it provides safety and security to our company. We really needed a way to gain control and make sure company property was protected. Having the single login to multiple services helps our employees, with only having to remember one password.

Cons

It's pretty tough to implement and control. We constantly run into issues with configuring users on new systems. Systems fall out of date and don't add/remove users as the should. It's a headache to fix. Employees consistently get locked out, as they have to set a new password every 90 days

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great option as cloud directory as service

Works just fine as a cloud-based domain service, ideal for spread organizations.

Pros

Easy to use and deploy for different OS options

Cons

Cost can become considerable for large number of users

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Easier to use

August 2020

Nick from Reveneer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Great Product for a reasonable price

It has been a very good experience so far. We are streamlining onboarding of employees and management of all our SaaS accounts.

Pros

The product is very easy to use and helps us work more efficiently. It also help us unify security settings across all of our devices without having to change all of them manually. Computer set up is much smoother now using the agent.

Cons

I wish they had MDM for PCs in addition to Macs. Also, setting up the RADIUS server is difficult because there are so many different kinds of networking devices.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Cost and functionality

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Moises from HelloLife, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Break away from the traditional way of managing your computers

I love the ability of being able to manage computers and apps from anywhere that I am at. I do not have to be in the office to manage anything. Break away from the traditional settings.

Pros

I love the fact this this is an online solution to your old traditional way to manage computers from internal servers. It branches outside your office to anywhere you want to do work.

Cons

Some of the function setups are not that user friendly. Policies are a headache when selecting what to configure. It's not easy to go back where you left off. Sometimes you have to scroll down a long list of configurations to get back to the location that you last left off from.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

The concept was something out of the box and after looking over the youtube videos and noticed a free option. I had to try it. I am liking the possibilities that it presents for my company.

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

Trying to improve on not relying on internal servers to manage end user computers. Try to get as close to true cloud management.

August 2020

Gareth from GetUpside

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Excellent Free Tier

Pros

I run a predominantly Mac shop with only a handful of PCs. While I chose a competing Apple MDM solution, it was not because of dissatisfaction with JumpCloud. The Apple solution does not work with PCs, so I stuck with JumpCloud for those. At the price point (free) and the basic functionality provided, I am able to meet my audit and compliance targets with little effort and at a bargain.

Cons

The administrative interface and deployment steps are a tad cumbersome, but that's about it.

September 2019

Isreli from Mersive Technologies

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

DaaS as it should be.

Pros

- Simple to use yet allows for more advanced functions. - No add-ons. Full functionality so it is easier to adopt new functionality. - The product evolves and adds features very fast. - New features and the over all product tend to be high quality.

Cons

- Sometimes you can feel the start-uppy nature of the company with less then ripe features released. - The cloud nature of the service means depending on another company in case of an outage.

September 2019

Mike from Quality Logo Products

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great non-domain user control!

With this service I was able to settle some PCI Compliance issues with just a short amount of setup time.

Pros

I loved the fact that I was easily able to implement this product with Linux and Windows servers to auto-create and populate user information and user control. This has changed so many steps in our initial buildouts and use on these machines. Must say it has saved countless hours of work!

Cons

So far, I do not see any part that I am not a fan of at all.

September 2019

Christian from Nelkinda Software Craft Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Jumpstart your directory service with JumpCloud

Having SSO (Single-Sign-On) across all our systems (mostly Linux) and Google G Suite (Google Drive, Gmail etc) has made systems administration much less painful for both, users and administrators.

Pros

The setup is relatively easy, and major operating systems are supported. It allows single-sign-on (SSO) across a variety of systems. For me, of particular interest was having Linux and G Suite SSO, for which JumpCloud provides an excellent solution.

Cons

I wish Linux SSO would work by an LDAP proxy cache instead of a patch to /etc/passwd /etc/shadow /etc/group /etc/gshadow files. An LDAP proxy cache just appears more secure to me.

August 2020

Javier from Keifi Soluciones Tecnologicas

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

A very good platform

We are very happy to select jumpcloud platform, we are a startup company and jumpcloud helped us to deploy it very faster. I recommend it 100%. The services are very good and I only remember one incident that directly affected me, but the jumpcloud support resolved it quickly I hope that new jumpcloud company services include without modify the price, for example System Insights.

Pros

Very easy to deploy, configure users, devices, radius

Cons

May be de command function is not easy to deploy

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Easy to use and cost

September 2019

Jarred from Wheeler Consulting

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great for DaaS!

GREAT! This service has been FLAWLESS!

Pros

I like the integrations and synchronizations to other applications. Specifically, we use a hybrid AD approach. It works great! We’re also using the RaaS for dynamic vlan mapping. VERY impressed!

Cons

Wish there were more options that we didn’t have to customize via the powershell API. I don’t remember all of the cmdlets and have to look them up every time.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Pricing and integrations! Their customer service is quick too!

September 2020

Paul from Saint Thomas Academy

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Jumpcloud - Active Directory in the Cloud

Pros

Having a cloud-hosted authoritative directory. The ease of creating and managing users across g-suite, ldap and Microsoft 365.

Cons

The cost for a large group of users a little higher than I'd like to pay. Especially as a education institution.

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

Toe ease management time.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

I love JumpCloud - it's a very smart approach to directory services in a cloud first world

Pros

JumpCloud provides the ability to be the core directory service, easily federate with other services and provides wealth of management capabilities in a cross-platform way.

Cons

Replacing a directory service is never an easy process, so there is some upfront investment in regards to implementation.

September 2019

Igor from Cisco

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

swiss knife identity hub

Identity as a service - ability to stitch together disjoint web apps while maintaining centralized identity store

Pros

Flexible multicloud identity broker - allows to stitch and federate identity between onprem and cloud. When you are looking to go all-cloud, major challenge becomes identity federation and not depending on the onprem AD. Capability to offer tie the same cloud identity to onprem infra via RADIUS as a service is indespe

Cons

can become costly and api-level interop with major MDM / Security frameworks is highly desired

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Fantastic technical support, wealth of documentation and documented scenarios

August 2020

Roman from Artificial Intelligence

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Very ambitious product, and it delivers!

Would highly recommend.

Pros

Very easy to deploy, and does what it advertises. Do not expect all the mega granular functionality of Microsoft AD, but for a small to medium business, it covers the basis. Strengths are managing remote workers, and ease of use.

Cons

Migration tool is OK, but could use "push" functionality. All devices are not automatically added to the "All Devices" group.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Cross platform and Gsuite integration

April 2020

Bill from ComputAssist

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Free for ten users makes this very applicable to most small businesses

The small businesses that I work with have from 3 to 10 PCs, but usually no server. JumpCloud provides the missing centralized user account control. Fairly easy to implement once you understand the model. Their documentation is good and fairly complete, sufficient to learn and utilize the product. Once set up, it has been trouble-free.

Pros

Multi-platform! It uses and modifies local machine settings, so even if a laptop leaves the LAN or the service is down, everything continues to work.

Cons

The Samba integration is complex. This is more about Samba than JumpCloud, however. I needed a few different pages to pull together the whole picture on how to implement.

October 2019

Donald from INET consulting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Ease of use

Used this product at my clients sites that are a small office and not a domain. Works best in these environments.

Pros

Ease of deployment and ease of use when managing end users and Nas access.

Cons

When changing password it would not flow from jump cloud to O365. You would have to change in O365 and push to jumpcloud.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

It works best in workgroup environments. ease of management for the administrator

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Easy and affordable directory service

It’s been really great and the people at JumpCloud are very helpful if I ever have an issue.

Pros

I like how easy it is to add new users to my directory and mange them in one place from anywhere.

Cons

There are a few limitations when integrating with other software.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

I wanted to keep things cloud based if possible and it was free up to 10 users for me to evaluate.

September 2019

Susan from Peak Power Sport Development

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

JumpCloud

We are using this to be able to manage the users on our devices as well as to manage some of the features and push scripts out as needed.

Pros

This software was very easy to use and set up. Customer Service was great during the set up process. The knowledge base was also quite useful. I ended up using the knowledge base a lot more and used Customer Service for further clarification as needed.

Cons

Nothing at the moment. We are very satisfied with this product. It met our current needs.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Cost. We are a small company so the cost played a large factor in our selection.

September 2019

Preston from SDSU Academy for Professional Excellence

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Simple and effective

Excellent probably the best description I can provide for JumpCloud. In addition to using it for the office, I am personal use it at home.

Pros

Ease of use and works for Windows, Mac, and Linux OS

Cons

The agent periodically does not report. When this issue happens you typically have to reinstall the agent or reset the portal account.

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

Ease-of-use

August 2020

BENJAMIN from Homewatch CareGivers of Oakland

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Protect Your Sensitive Client Data with JumpCloud

Pros

We use JumpCloud to manage the user access on our office computers. It is an easy way to grant individuals access to specific workstations and protect the data we collect from our clients.

Cons

It is a little difficult to onboard new office staff and familiarize them with the software.

August 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

It works well

Pros

Ease of deployment and manageability from cloud

Cons

SAML v2 support is limited. Had to go over hoops to get stuff working.

February 2019

Greg from Envoy

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great for managing cloud resources

We needed a way to manage resources that were out of the office environment like remote empolyee's.

Pros

This has a great integration with Google allowing the ability to manage resources outside of the office environment. Works with pc's and macs. Once we purchased the software we were provided a success manager who helped with the rollout from step 1 to completion.

Cons

So far nothing bad to say about it. Anytime we've ran into an issue they were quick to provide a resolution.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Michael from TSI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Good solution for MSPs

Pros

Integration with G Suite Replacement for AD in small office environments Adds needed security and management for clients that have never implemented AD

Cons

The pricing model has improved but can still be cost-prohibitive for small IT budget clients.

October 2019

Chris from Dahu Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

JumpCloud

We use JumpCloud to secure our small software business and meet our security obligations for contracts with large government organisations.

Pros

full coverage of all of our internal and cloud domains, simple set-up, great customer support

Cons

very little- config with GSuite is quite confusing (but I think that is more to do with Google than JumpCloud)

Reasons for Choosing JumpCloud Directory Platform

very littel else had the coverage we needed.

September 2019

Ian from Galileo Services and Solutions Limited

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Executive Office

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

JumpCloud Directory Great

Pros

We are impressed as we are able to work remote with all staff without having to setup vpn's as well reduce the cost of servers and licence

Cons

Office365 SSO is not easy to setup knowledge base could be more helpful

Displaying 1 - 50 of 82 reviews