User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(21)

21

4 stars

(12)

12

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Nagios XI Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -16 of 34 results

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Vandana from Deloitte India

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

A powerful monitoring solution

Nagios XI is a powerful server and network monitoring solution. The automation monitoring provides the continuous feedback about the product and infrastructure which help in enhancing the product quality. The advance user interface help in analysis and administration.

Pros

Nagios XI provide a complete monitoring solution for any kind of server, application, web-service or network. User interface is easy to understand and simple to customize the layout or design for each user's priority. Nagios XI monitoring host fetch the quick data from nodes and GUI interact the data into the useful information. Configuration wizards simplify the setup process for new nodes monitoring. Integrated nodes trigger the notification if it needs to increase the capacity of the system. Configuration snapshot helps in saving the day in case of new check-in messed it up and you need a immediate rollback to the last working stage.

Cons

Schedule Reports are limited to enterprise but in case of Standard edition we need to setup the jobs to generate the schedule reports. Advance reporting should have some bulk server options. Monitoring of sensitive data like certificate expiry should have some simple wizards as configuring the web-service and then monitoring the certificate is a long process such need to be simplified.

March 2020

Irfan from Pak Suzuki Motor Co. Ltd

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Monitoring Large scale Network at a glance.

our large scale network and different network devices we are unable to monitor and resolve network based problems timely and devices are increase time by time. due to avoid network failure and need notifications of downtime we study and installed Nagios XI and other solution in our Infrastructure.

Pros

Open source and easy to configure easy to customized Notification/Alert in case of any failure. work on SNMP Protocol free add-ons to download and develop your customization

Cons

License cost is very high Interface is create confusing ( in Free Version ) Issue in monitoring in network throughput (bandwidth user wise ) Only monitoring tool , configuration are not allowed.

Reasons for Choosing Nagios XI

Nagios XI provide a complete range of monitoring of any type of network related device and services (server, application, web-service or network based device)

Reasons for Switching to Nagios XI

PRTG unable to understand & fulfill our business need & requirement via notification therefore we study and switch to Nagios XI and other solution in our Infrastructure.

August 2021

Nebojsa from American School of Brasilia

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Network monitor for everyone

This a great software for networks monitoring, which bring information on daily basis.

Pros

The web inteface that includes and well designed dashboard, shows all events that happen on the network and loggs them at the same time. Capable of reading advanced information from many devices.

Cons

The intial configuration is time consuming, together with a need of many interventions.

July 2021

Justin from MIM Software

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2021

The "horse and buggy" of monitoring

Nagios XI is like a horse and buggy: you use it when you'd like a taste of what the old world used to be like. Does it work? Yes, in the same way that a horse and buggy will get you wherever you'd like to go. But if you want to get somewhere in an efficient manner, and you don't want to deal with the tool taking a huge crap every once in a while, use a more modern, metric-based system like Prometheus.

Pros

People love Nagios because it "just works" with its check scripts, and Nagios XI adds an actually usable UX on top of that basic experience. It includes a small number of "wizards" that can help set up common monitoring configurations.

Cons

The Nagios monitoring agents aren't commercially supported, so good luck getting any features changed on those. You need to handle assembling a collection of test scripts, distributing them, and installing their dependencies on all managed nodes. The Nagios model, which mainly focuses on "mutable" infrastructure versus "immutable" infrastructure (Docker containers) is outdated in today's world.

July 2021

VINAYAK from HCL

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Good steady monitoring tool

Pros

The tool is simple to use and easy to deploy. Does it's job of performing good monitoring for network devices specially. Helpful in quick identification of issues and bottlenecks and help reduce MTTR

Cons

Certain features doesn't help you get down to the root-cause of the issues and investigation has to be done outside the tool.

June 2020

PAVAN from CMS IT Services

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Excellent Product

Good product and value for money. ROI from day one.

Pros

Value for money, easily availablity of pluggins and more stable product

Cons

Improved UI and more user friendly console

Reasons for Choosing Nagios XI

Ease of use and readliy availability of pluggins

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Sergey from sbe Lifestyle Hospitality

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Entire network at your fingertips

Great product. Not only I learned something new, I was also able to impress the management with the results of this $0 product.

Pros

I implemented a free version of the application to monitor my complex network, spreadout across multiple locations. While it took me several attempts to get it right, once installed, I was pleasanty surprised with what I saw. Having my network distributed across multiple locations, it was hard to monitor the upstate / resources of my servers and other network devices. Once I configure Nagious to my liking, I had every network device that I wanted to monitor on the consolidated map. Very simple configuration of the config files, once you get an idea of how to work them. Really great result for a free product

Cons

Being a Linux newbie, it did take me some poking around, before I got it right. You really have to understand the structure of the product and Linux OS itself to get it right. Config files were confusing at first, but once I figured them out, it was a breeze to add / remove hosts.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Abhinav from OATI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

The IT monitoring tool for faults detection.

Nagios XI is helping us to do the monitoring completely automatic. The advance dashboard and admin dashboard designed so well and easy to configure as per each user need. The scheduled managed report help in to scaling up the capacity planning of the infrastructure. Nagios XI is providing the complete and comprehensive IT infrastructure monitoring to many of our projects and help us to deliver the project faster and more efficient way.

Pros

Nagios XI is a powerful monitoring tool for faults detection which provide the notification via push, email or SMS. Nagios XI allows us to rollback the configuration on the last working stage in case of fault detection. The new wizard is easy and provide multiple option at the time of setup. Nagios XI have an exclusive feature of bulk modification of attributes which help in to monitoring the same set on monitoring module on newly setup environment. Audit trails feature allow to scrutinize the modification or setup.

Cons

Mobile interface is newly develop and need more development, it should provide more option for audit log and add more detail for configuration rollback option. Scheduled report should be included in standard edition.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Jorge from Ministerio del Poder Popular para Habitat y Vivienda

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

allows us to monitor the network equipment and help us know in real time when a fault occurs

Pros

It allows you to monitor many network devices, such as switches, routers, servers, helping to monitor network performance and track traffic on the network interface. very easy to install on a server, the interface is very intuitive, and has a variety of customization options since Nagios is an open source software which makes it easy to add custom scripts to extend the available services.

Cons

It is a bit difficult to configure, but once configured works very well, it continues to use add-ons that in some cases work perfectly but others are painful to work, the interface is a bit slow when you have many clients on the network, and the Search is very precise and does not look for possible matches.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Gurleen from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Nagios XI - The Open Source Enterprise level Network Monitoring Tool.

Nagios Xi web interface user friendly. It allows us to keep the eyes on the complete infrastructure run without any bug as it helps us to identify the failures and also identify the cause of the failure. Configuration snapshot is also helpful to clone the configuration monitoring settings.

Pros

Nagios XI is an Enterprise level monitoring tool as it helps in monitoring the service, infrastructure and network. Powerful dashboard provides all the information at the one place which helps us to monitor the infrastructure. Security can be set on the muti-level users, as it allows the client to view the required components for which they are authorized. The GUI is also very user friendly. Customization wizards is also easy and layout can be configured according to the need of the infrastructure.

Cons

Master Node is configurable on LINUX platform only. So this makes it necessary to learn LINUX for team that will setup and implement it. Once the slave nodes are 80+ it makes the Nagios XI interface slow. The Mobile interface also needs more enhancements in it. Upgrading the advance version is also complex and pre planning and backups are also required for the cases.

January 2021

User Profile Picture

Umair Ali from Pak Suzuki Motor Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Complete Monitoring system

it has been a critical part of our organization and has never let us down.

Pros

Nagios XI is the only NMS being used in our infrastructure for monitoring LAN, WLAN, WAN, Virtual infrastructure and physical servers. it supports almost all endpoint types and monitoring protocols. it has built in templates for popular endpoints which makes it very easy to add them.

Cons

the reporting feature has limited templates and they cannot be edited. you can create new templates but they also have limitations. some reports cannot be run on groups of devices while others show very little information.

Reasons for Choosing Nagios XI

because of the cost difference at the time of procurement. Nagios XI was relatively cheaper.

May 2018

Guillermo from Eastern University

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

It has proven to be a great business solution for monitoring and alerting critical problems.

Pros

- Ease to see the incidents in the network and solve them before they become big problems. - Provides users with effective and scalable monitoring, which makes a big difference compared to other tools. - In our Lab practices the configuration of remote access of users to any device through RDP, VNC, Telnet or SSH has been done very easily. - Multi-user access to the web interface ensures that the components of the infrastructure for which they are authorized can be viewed.

Cons

- Although it belongs to a large community, sometimes it is not easy to understand the support of some scripts. - Regarding the issue of vulnerabilities are always present in the different updates.

April 2018

Jose from Ogle School Management, LLC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

A solid network monitor and more...

Consistent alerting of network outages and potential server and application problems.

Pros

We introduced Nagios XI into our network a few years ago to help monitor network performance as well as for usage alerts. It has been a great tool to keep track of just about everything such as network interface traffic, volume sizes and service and process alerts. The web interface is pretty snappy and easy to get around in. The product just does it's job. We were considering Solarwinds NPM at the same time but glad we choose Nagios instead.

Cons

You need to a know a little Linux and it's a little complicated at first to set up more advanced alerting. However, with a little time, you can become a pro.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

The best infrastructure monitoring tool, helps a lot in managing any server for IT infrastructure.

Nagios XI is a truly powerful system that offers enough to monitor the infrastructure and generate reports about what is being observed. The tool contains a variety of configuration preferences and is very easy to use. So far I have not found a solution that helps me just like Nagios.

Pros

The best infrastructure monitoring tool helps a lot in managing any server for IT infrastructure which Contains All Needed Features! First of all, the program has a very up-to-date and extremely user-friendly interface, which is highly flexible and scalable. Permits a user to customize almost everything according to the organization’s needs, as well as to streamline administrative procedures for alerts, reports, updates and the whole thing related to them. Second, it is possible to monitor the network even if it is implicit in numerous sites without major glitches, which would be more problematic without using this platform.

Cons

I like to be fixed rather than just dislike: it's not user-friendly with almost anything excluding Windows Operating System. A Linux version, for example, is visibly backward. This does not seem to be a serious issue for most people, but it is still considered a disadvantage. As I do not like the way the dashboards are supposed to be designed, I think it should be easier and take less time. The initial price is reasonable, but the policy at this point is doubtful.

November 2017

Fermineduar from Datalink C,A

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wireless

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

excellent application for online equipment monitoring

It allows me to know at all times the status of the company's platform and know in real time when a failure occurs and where it is located to solve it in the shortest time possible is an excellent network tool

Pros

*Easy to use *It has a lot of good documentation *Has a variety of customization options *Easy configuration *Stability and scalability *Nagios is open source software * is easy to add a custom scripts to extend the services available

Cons

*It would be great if nagios could manage the network, not just monitor it *Many useful functions are disabled in the free version *It would be excellent if nagios could monitor the bandwidth used *La version enterprise es un poco costosa, pero es una excelente aplicacion

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Nagio XI makes Nagios SO much better

The best benefit is the ability to create a monitor in a GUI rather than a command line.

Pros

I really like the graphical user interface overlay on top of Nagios Core, it makes it so much easier to create monitors.

Cons

The only complaint I have with Nagios XI is not with the software but instead with the way that people do not take ownership for the monitors that they create. The software works great when done right.

November 2017

Alejandro from Datalink - Internet

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wireless

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

is easy for use, i use it every day in my work for monitoring a big network with a 1000 users.

i can monitor my network in seconds, and i can see the status of the nodes and the clients in the map mode, and if you install nagstamon is a very solid tools for any work in network monitoring.

Pros

it is very easy to install in a server, and very intuitive when using, the interface is really fantastic, and the map mode really show you how is the structure of your network, and the status of your client and your nodes.

Cons

the interface is a little slow when you have a many clients in the network, and the search engine is very precise and does not look for possible match.

September 2019

Thusitha from TechCERT

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

One of the best tools to monitor your servers

The Nagios XI is simple and user friendly. So, even a beginner can understand their functionality easily. Also, we can generate availability reports of servers.

Pros

The Nagios XI has simple and user friendly interface. Therefore, it's very easy to monitor our servers daily.

Cons

It needs a little bit of large screen to monitor the map. Otherwise, it will little bit difficult to find out the servers.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Old Monitoring solution

Been using this to monitor our infrastructure​ but now we are looking for something new

Pros

We purchased this many years ago to monitor our infrastructure and it started off well

Cons

We found this solution very difficult to set up​ and their support was not much help.

Reasons for Choosing Nagios XI

It was pretty much the best at the time.

March 2018

Carlos from University of Oriente

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

It is a very simple tool to use, and very complete ..

It allows me to monitor network equipment and be alert to any fall

Pros

Allows me to monitor many network devices, such as switch, router among others, even servers, The web map interface is very intuitive

Cons

It is a bit difficult to configure, but once configured it works very well, the web interface on mobile phones is very incomplete

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

"Easy And Essential Tool For Monitoring Purpose. Easily Linked To Other Ticketing Tools"

Essential tool for monitoring purpose. All the required details for any particular alert is visible on the main screen itself. Not required to go into every alert and check for its complete details. sily linked to other ticketing tools to be tracked. Cost effective tool for monitoring purpose. Easily understandable

Pros

Complete information/details about the alerts are present without needed to click on every alert for check for its details. Cost effective tool which can be used in major companies

Cons

When bulk alerts are received, they do not arrive in sequence. thus it increases the work of taking actions on alerts

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Ivan from Movilnet

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Adaptability to mixed networks

For small telecommunications companies it is very good, it allows to monitor networks simultaneously and control the statistics very well

Pros

we used nagios in some analysis tests of monitoring managers, we really liked its adaptability to monitoring of various cellular telecommunications networks. The management of statistics was very simple.

Cons

The only problem we encountered was licensing costs and support within Venezuela, specifically placing it below its competitors, but I believe that in a country without restrictions it can be an option.

July 2019

Pushkraj from Arista Networks

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Nagios XI Tool

Pros

The UI and its functions are great ! Enjoy working on this tool.

Cons

Need to improve on its new features and get more features to enhance the tool

December 2017

User Profile Picture

Roberth from Emida

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Good Product

Pros

Have multiple configuration options. Nice graphs and reports. Dashboard help to keep an eye on important thing that require attention.

Cons

Plugins. After version and version Nagios is still using plugins that in some case works perfectly but other is painful get they working. May a change of way to setup them would be interesting.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Andrea from Recordati

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Nagios Monitoring Great

Pros

It's really fantastic, as soon as configure on Linux PC/server is really easy setup monitoring services and hardware

Cons

if you are not confident with Linux may be difficult ...

November 2018

Jesús Noehi

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

November 2019

Orhan from IT

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

NagiosXI

It makes my life easy in case of system/network problems.

Pros

This monitoring tool is splendid to visualise the network topology to monitor. You can easily see which equipment has the problem.

Cons

If there is no wizard to monitor a host or service, it requires deep knowledge to configure the system

December 2017

User Profile Picture

Ummar from COMSATS Institute of Information and Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

No.1 NMS in industry

Pros

The email functionality is very great! admins can immediately find down the device and the best thing is host recovery and down bird eye view.

Cons

Sometimes but a bit when you turn off the system and again turn on the database crashes and can cause nagios unstable.

June 2019

Ishara from Lankacom

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Best Monitoring tool for severs

Use for server infrastructure like developments using three tier architecture.

Pros

I manage server infrastructure of my company using this.

Cons

It is free up to 7 nodes.Expand infrastructures get this issue.

September 2015

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2015

Biggest bang for the buck!

Nagios XI has the most flexibility on the market in an enterprise monitoring application. I have tried them all, and finally settled on Nagios XI to give my organization the ability to customize what is monitored and alerted on down to the most minute detail

Pros

Extreme flexibility Low cost Perpetual license

Cons

You need to tell it what you want monitored and how, however this actually is a pro for us.

November 2016

Dario from CacaoEnBytes

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

September 2015

Marc from Nagios Enterprises, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2015

January 2019

Keren from Checkpoint

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Monitoring Application

Pros

I really like the monitoring capabilities per network resources and hosts, the customization we can do we it is also amazing, and it is bring the product to higher levels along with it’s east of use

Cons

I lease liked in the product is the annoying bugs which occasionally prevents from working properly, combined with lack of response from the support I can’t say it perfect.

October 2018

Michael from Banque Nationale du Canada

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


October 2018