User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(43)

43

4 stars

(29)

29

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse System Center Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 82 results

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Muhammad Adil from Khushhali Microfinance Bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

System Center by Microsoft

For big companies and organizations this is one of the best for deploying and managing. Incident management and deploying systems over the network is very easy to monitor. Must have for any enterprise organization which have hundreds of services to manage. Deployment of systems and laptops is very easy handled through it.

Pros

One of the best network management system which help my organization to grow and manage the network problem. There are lots of built-in reports to monitor. Great security features and easy to define roles. Top of the cherry is remote control and management. If you are able to learn UI then it is very easy to manage all products.

Cons

There are some glitches while remote support. It is not a cheap one, products are expensive as compare to competitors. Bit slow as well in performance.

April 2021

Leonardo from Squishy And The Princess

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

System Center allows for end-to-end device management and provides a wealth of actionable data.

System Center offers any business, regardless of its size and complexity a platform to manage endpoints consistently. For me, where it really shines is in the consolidation of various operational processes and the wealth of underlying data you get, which can easily be turned in useful and actionable information for not only technology teams, but the business.

Pros

System Center gives us the ability to consistently deploy and manage both servers and workstations, as well as continuously monitor key indicators for executive reporting, like patch compliance, software deployment and inventory information, supporting risk and cost management decisions and empowering project teams to have a wealth of information about the environment at hand.

Cons

System Center is very much a suite of components and adoption, as well as operational running, requires expertise, however this is a small price to pay for the capability of its integration of functionality and the data/useful information it provides.

Reasons for Choosing System Center

It was simply far more capable, especially in overall integration with our environment and offering superior reporting capabilities.

May 2018

Stephen from ASU

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Asset management, CRM, incident management, deployment all in one. But, man, if it isn't annoying.

I have never used a better CRM tool, but that isn't saying much. Asset management is good. Application/OS deployment is good but difficult.

Pros

Asset management, CRM, incident management, application deployment and those are just the features we use. Excellent, detailed reporting of incidents, users, assets, etc. Integration with everything Microsoft. The desktop apps are actually pretty decent, if you have used other Microsoft apps and are already used to how they are laid out. It really is better than some CRM tools and asset management tools.

Cons

Slow. Maybe it is just us and our on-prem setup (another con, these days) but boy is it slow. We were even told by Microsoft that it just is slow. That's it. Other MDM, asset management, CRM tools come with manufacturer setup teams to help you get started, we just threw ours together from scratch and a few classes. Everything is a learning experience and almost nothing is intuitive. Writing C# and XML are a must. SCCM/SCSM is not user friendly and takes 1, 2, or 3 full-time employees to run, let alone get setup.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

This is one of the best software and OS deployment systems out there

Literally couldn't do my job without this application.

Pros

I love how easy this product is to use. It is very intuitive and doesn't require any unnecessary steps to create a beautiful working operating system image.

Cons

I wish there were more new features being added with the new versions. There is a very active and very large UserVoice out there for this app and it seems like their team only works on 1 or 2 at a time and there are HUNDREDS of requests out there for changes/adds/etc/

Reasons for Switching to System Center

More features and a better developed product.

June 2018

Jose Leandro from Mercantil Seguros

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

It is a fantastic and incredible tool for the administration of computers and servers

Pros

- It can be unified with Active Directory and DHCP to locate any computer that is connected to the network. - You can deploy Windows desktop and Windows server updates automatically or manually. - You can implement any application or shortcut. - Most impressive is the ease with which you can implement operating systems through the network. - When you deploy an application, update or operating system, you can easily see the progress of the implementation. - Has a wide range of created reports. - Can generate Querys according to the need of the company. - SCCM has its own remote connection system that provides great help at the time of remote technical support. - You can set up an "SCCM server" or a "distribution point" in each location you need to avoid bandwidth consumption. - It has a great security to establish the differences between the roles of the different areas of the company that require the use of the tool. - You can use the LOG as they are very useful.

Cons

- Microsoft System Center is a very expensive tool - It requires many pre requisites for the installation of the SCCM in a server. - The set-up requires many hours of work so that SCCM is 100% configured - The creation of additional reports is very complicated. - Generating Querys in SCCM does not have much documentation and is really difficult. - You really need to do a course to be able to use the tool. - Many errors of the tool are basic and do not show details. - It is complicated to verify the installation of Windows updates.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

YagneshKumar from ProfitSword, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

System Center by Microsoft Review

This product is great for companies and organizations that want to quick apply the fix, patches, and updates throughout thier server environment so they can maintain thier web traffic effectively and other business related issue they may want to revolve or enhance.

Pros

One of the reasons why I tend use Microsoft's System Center Configuration Manage (SCCM) at ProfitSword is the ability to track network inventory, application installation and deploying updates and security patches across all of our Organization. what i like about SCCM is that it gives me the ability to take over our Microsoft SQL servers to implement security patches, and updates to our QA environment servers so we can quickly apply updates to our BI software and deploy the updates to production. Next best feature of system center is the ability to integrate with other Microsoft products to give us a fast and flexible updates to our servers at all times.

Cons

One of the downside of SCCM is the average cost to run and maintain SCCM, which is usually not sold as bundle within Microsoft product, but it is a larger separate suite from Microsoft and it is primarily expensive since it is not a Enterprise product. I hope Microsoft to create an enterprise version of SCCM .

November 2017

User Profile Picture

Gerson from TECRA TECHNOLOGIES

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

It's a great product and using it's full potential no doubt it´s a great Investment.

Peace of mind. Fantastic features and it's on the top of it's category.

Pros

It's a great product and using it's full potential no doubt it´s a great Investment. I love the software delivery. Operative System deployment and software inventory. Super powerful and it worth the investment.

Cons

One thing I specially don't like and I believe that is the reason why most of the companies buy this, it's how the software inventory is handled. When you scan a computer and set the scan to be repeated every day, obviously you need an exact number of equipment at any time. But when you change the name of a computer, you see two instead of one. There should be a better way to recycle computers without missing information.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Joshua from Sundt Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

A one stop solution to enterprise device management

Pros

The features of System Center are comprehensive. Remote support, remote management, asset tracking, software deployment, compliance monitoring and alerts, security enforcement, comprehensive reporting. The list goes on.. if you in anyway support an enterprise environment with thousands of deployed devices, System Center is the primary tool you should be using.

Cons

There's been a host of bugs that caused some issues with remote support among other things. However, Microsoft is very good about correcting and patching issues quickly once they're aware of them.

April 2021

Charith from Sri Lanka Insurance

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Microsoft System Center is the best Central Manage your IT Device & Users SCCM or MECM

Best discribe is best way to mange IT infrasture SCCM

Pros

System center configuration manager can use deploy Software,Windos patches level,inventry the Hard ware,software,remote conectivity..best secure software fo the IT infranstures

Cons

Actually SCCM define the manage Computer hardware software level.we can deploy all windows patch level,software level,Operating system upgrade,power management also.

Reasons for Choosing System Center

Because Sri Lanka insurance mostly use Microsoft product ant they give the best support also.

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Must have for Microsoft shops

I love the software and it allows me to better manage my time with product and service implmentations.

Pros

The software suite is all encompassing. From managing hypervisors down to client PC's. The scalability of the software to make managing 1000 computers feel like 100.

Cons

The software isn't cheap. The licensing is pretty complicated too. There can be a sheep learning curve for some of the products.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Joe from Cireson - Your System Center Experts

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Service Manager for the Win!

Use it everyday, really makes desktop and server management easy!

Pros

System Center Service Manager + Configuration Manager + Orchestrator enables full end user self service and automation, whist building a rich CMDB.

Cons

Can be a little tricky to configure System Center Service Manager, and the built in Microsoft Portal is not very user friendly, however can be made better with Third Party products.

January 2018

Jeff from Berkley Tech Services

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Microsoft's complete package for Imaging, patching, app deployments, upgrades & more.

I feel that being a Microsoft product it is easier to integrate and maintain. It is a complete package for maintaining OS, patching, security, apps, and images. Server and Workstations. We have had few issues since setup. and I would recommend this even with a few drawbacks.

Pros

We primary utilize this for Imaging (Win7 and 10), Patch deployments, Win10 Upgrade, App packaging and deployments. We previously used CA and RES AM so I have a lot of experience with these platforms. 1) Happy with the overall performance. Once SCCM is fully setup, it more a matter of maintenance. 2) App Packaging and deployment works well. Especially if you combine with the MS Powershell add-in. It does lack a few features Id really like to see. Some of these can also be found by finding useful 3rd party add-ins. 3) Reporting can be very thorough. The canned reports cover all the basics Ive needed. If you really want to dig in you can make your own reports. 4) Patching is straightforward. Since this is a MS product to MS OS there are no compatibility issues. Plus the SCUP product also from MS is still viable for 3rd party security updates from companies like Adobe. Comes in handy to deploy the latest Flash as an update, with the rest of the monthly updates.

Cons

My main complaint is SCCM is slow. This is well known and unlikely to ever change. For example, MY second compliant is there are certain features and hooks that still are not in the product over its many years of life. For example you simply cannot stop or delete a job from the [deployment] list. You need to trace back to the app group, patch group, and/or collection, then find and delete the deployment. Lastly, I do have to say Im not fond of MS Cust Service on this. We have had some big issues and the resolution was slow to get to. Example, a situation where the Win10 Upgrades feature was broken, eventually there was a general bulletin, and their own Tech Support failed to notify us of this before that. Took 6 weeks to resolve.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

System Center simplifies the process of deploying and administering computers and mobile devices

The amount of time this software saves us with deploying laptops, software, and Windows Updates alone justifies the cost (which is fairly minimal, actually). We deploy VPN, company signatures, specific software, etc. to our end users to make their lives and our lives easier. I use this software on a daily basis in some way or another, and I strongly recommend it.

Pros

We use System Center primarily for two tasks. The first is deploying new laptops. We use a captured image and automatically deploy a clean Windows 10 install, a driver package from Dell for that specific model of machine (detected by the task sequence), Windows Updates, and applications. Our second major task is deploying Windows and software updates to all of our laptops and servers. This is by far the biggest time-saving feature. We went this route for end users as opposed to just using WSUS because it allows you to very flexibly configure the times/days that updates will be installed for end users. So we have ours configured to never force users to restart during the day to avoid interrupting our users at critical times. And for our servers, we just run a series of OS-specific deployment rules, and we're done. Everything else is handled automatically from there after the initial setup of groups.

Cons

It can be a lot of work to execute simple tasks. For instance, if you just wanted to run a single command on all your computers, you would need to create a package (which requires quite a bit of configuration), create a deployment group, and deploy that package. It would be nice if Microsoft provided simple solutions for more lightweight tasks.

June 2017

Kory from Tapestry Technologies, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Great Suite Of Products - Large Initial Learning Curve

Pros

Since I'm reviewing "Microsoft System Center" as a whole, and not one individual product, I will say that all of the products offer an amazing amount of tasks that can be accomplished! Microsoft System Center Operations Manager (SCOM) allows for all types of alerts to be setup on both Servers and Network equipment, alerts such as "low disk space" on a server can be a real life saver, as well as a time saver. Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) makes imaging computers, pushing out software, managing windows updates, etc. a breeze. The product is very robust and offers a ton of different options. All of the products in the entire suite are laid out very similarly, so if you learn the layout / capabilities of one, you'll start to understand the others.

Cons

The biggest complaint I can make about the entire suite is that the learning curve is quite steep. I've been a Systems Administrator for a few years, and it has taken approximately 2 years to really get to a comfortable level with the products. There is tons of documentation out there, and odds are, if there is something you are trying to do, someone else has done it, and written a guide for it, the problem is that sometimes Microsoft's preferred approach isn't always the most easy, or doesn't always make the most sense.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Hassle free system management

We are using system center configuration manager for operating system deployment and have custom images created for department wise. If new PC deployment is required we are able to plug the new PC into the network and run the deployment process and the PC will install the OS and required software in less than 1 hour. We are applying patch update company wide regulatory using system center and helps keep all the system up to the date and secure. Software center used by users to request and self service software installation process which reduce the helpdesk burden.

Pros

I have experience in System Center Configuration Manager and the Operating System Deployment (OSD) has saved lot of man hours in company wide when re-configuring or deploying PCs over company. We can deploy a new PC with all relevant software and updates without single user interaction in less than 1 hour of time. The software center is a feature where users can self service software installation and OS upgrade for Windows 10 very easily.

Cons

The automated client deployment is giving trouble most of the time if the remote end is miss configured firewall or corrupted WMI. We have to sort those problems manually if we encounter such a problem.

September 2017

Matt from Parkview Baptist School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Awesome core functionality but needs more improvements to features and aesthetics.

This software saves us an enormous amount of time and resources.

Pros

Microsoft System Center has become a key resource for our organization's IT Department. It is the primary tool we use to make software available to end-users, it is the only way we doing imaging for all of our organization's computers, and it does have a lot of features that we have yet to take advantage of.

Cons

The only real cons we have with this software is primarily aesthetic changes are extremely limited on how we can customize the software center and application catalog that the end-users see. I would almost go as far as to say there is hardly anything you can change about the way it looks to the end-users. Overall, everything that is a business necessity is already integrated into this software, but it would be nice if we could change the look and make it appear a little more user friendly.

August 2017

Chris from EXPD

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Powerful Software

peace of mind

Pros

Great for protecting your network, and a really great tool for sniffing around your network. You can see programs installed, updates applied, and even connect/remote control for a user in need. The suite is pretty easy to use and has never failed me so far with all the PC's I have to maintain. It saves you time, money and can prevent serious issues arising in a network. Once a virus gets in, game over!

Cons

I find the program is a big of a resource drain, however you can fix this by changing the priority to a lower setting to use less CPU power. Only other issue I have ever had was having issues with Internet Explorer, seems this program and IE likes to fight from time to time. Otherwise, no real issues. I do find it used a lot of hard drive space, but that isn't a big deal these days.

December 2019

Onur from D-Smart

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Application Like A Swiss Army Knife. All In One

At first SCCM entered our structure only for inventory management. Afterwards, he started to take on tasks ranging from mobile device control to application distribution. The product gets what it teaches you to work in such a wide range. Now it is one of the indispensable products of our company.

Pros

At SCCM, I particularly recommend the ease of resource management and application deployment. If you are working with a large number of clients, you will need to switch to a centralized management system such as SCCM at a certain stage.

Cons

Personally, I can't find anything negative to write about SCCM. It responds to all our requests.

Reasons for Choosing System Center

At first it seems difficult to integrate the product into the existing structure, and when you go step by step, you make a seamless integration. Make sure that your workload will decrease and you will have easier management with the results you get in every step.

January 2017

Mark from Boise State University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Microsoft System Center Service Manager

Little know Microsoft ships an enterprise class ITSM Help Desk tool with its System Center suite. It is built around the ITIL frame work and covers incident, problem, change, release, knowledge, asset and service management. It is really well thought out, if you think like Microsoft. It is not the easiest tool to navigate nor to customize. If you invest yourself it is capable of a serious amount of automation. I have a love hate relationship with it. Once you get it working it is really good, but it doesn't have the fullest amount of documentation and requires you to do a lot of self learning. For us it is worth the price. It is included in an enterprise agreement.

Pros

It is full featured and tracks all of the ticket types we want to

Cons

Complex, not well documented

November 2018

Scott from Getronics

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Windows system Management to rule them all

We have brought the management of our windows servers and soon desktops under the reins of this system and it has simplified management of them especially in the patching arena. Was well worth the effort to learn how to use it and to get it up and running in the long run.

Pros

This is a total solutions for managing your windows systems in an organization. It has a lot of bells and whistles and there are no less than 5 ways to do anything you want to do in this application. It is extreamly flexible and can be used for everything from deployment to end user software management and post deployment software install to patch management. Lots of reports are available to keep track of your windows systems and their place in the life cycle as well.

Cons

This can be a bear to get setup. It is a very complex piece of software. Once you get the hang of it it isn't too bad to use, but there is a steep learning curve in the beginning. I would recommend taking a training course on this piece of software as opposed to trying to learn it from google searches.

April 2018

Jonathon from FHPS

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

I couldn't do my job without this!

This software allows me to provide a higher level of support for my end users because it automates and streamlines deployments and configuration of devices.

Pros

System Center gives me the ability to remotely manage software, compliance policies, and operating systems on all of our windows devices. I spend 60% of my day in System Center managing the 5000 windows devices in our organization. I primarily use it to deploy windows updates, and operating systems.

Cons

I wish the logging and error messages were more "user friendly". I'm not a huge fan of "log files" so using this software and not having useful logs and helpful error messages is very frustrating.

February 2017

Diana from Allscripts Healthcare

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

System Center Tools 2012 R2; Configuration Manager,Orchestrator,Operations Manager,Service Manager

Configuration Manager, Orchestrator, Operations Manager, and Service Manager. I administer, develop in, and technically use each of these products. As a whole, as long as their is an understanding of Data Center Management, these tools are smart to implement as well as ease of crossing lines with these tools as far as going from creating deployments in Configuration Manager, creating a runbook in Orchestrator or setting up new Event ID's for custom monitoring in Operations Manager, and even creating Self-Service Service-Requests to accommodate all of this in an automated fashion has been made much easier and efficient. Thank you Microsoft System Center team for your continued efforts in making our jobs as Tools administrators easier and more efficient.

August 2018

Jon from Church

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

I couldn't do my job without this tool

We are able to deploy software to 44,000 machines across the globe in an automated fashion.

Pros

SCCM has the ability to do infinitely more than I use it for. This software can deploy software, updates, system configurations. It has the ability to be expanded using extensions/add ins made by third parties as well as Microsoft which only make the software more powerful.

Cons

The direct support from Microsoft is almost zero. But, there is a huge number of people in the online community that provide support and are good resources.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

System Center is the King of the Microsoft Systems Management

System Center is the best suite of windows management tools there is.

Pros

For over the last 10 years I've worked with pretty much all products in system center suite. Mostly with SCOM and SCCM. These Products are massive, but there is nothing better when it comes to software delivery, patching, monitoring etc. !

Cons

the learning curve of the System Center Products is steep. it takes time to master. Sometime it could get expensive to get the right people to involve in supporting and administering these products.

December 2016

Charles from Sofutech

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Microsoft System Center Review

Being part of a company that has multiple locations all across the world, System center is a must have tool for managing thousands of computers. It allows you to save time and be very efficient.

Pros

System Center 2012 R2 should be part of every organization period! It's the best feature would be the ability to push software through packages to multiple computers at once. What I like best about this release is the added PowerShell support.

Cons

There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this product.

March 2018

Michael from Jefferson County Board of Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

System Center has made our life at work much easier

Pros

We are able to quickly deploy system images to computers all across our network with the click of a button. It has made managing our network to get software out 100x easier than if we had to send a technician to each site.

Cons

Initial setup is a bit cumbersome and while MS provides a lot of documentation, it doesn't have good troubleshooting steps. We had to scour the internet for some decent walkthroughs on getting things setup at first, but found what we needed.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Can't imagine running a Windows environment without it.

Pros

We use SCCM for everything. Imaging, software deployment, patch management, Windows 10 servicing, antivirus, hardware/software inventory. Log files make it easy to fix errors when they do occur. Ability to build flexible images and inject drivers and software during the imaging process (task sequence).

Cons

It takes a long time to get familiar with the software. If you're going to have multiple administrators, a lot of training may be required.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

What is System Center

This product is almost identical to the HP BSM. SCCM is more cost-effective if total purchasing costs are prioritized.

Pros

SCCM allows us to manage mobile devices with physical and virtual clients. It can centralize installation, configuration, and update operations. We can also enable it to integrate with other components such as Active Directory, WSUS.

Cons

Since this product is designed for large structures, it takes some time to learn. Also the price is a bit expensive.

April 2018

Brandon from City of Sioux Falls

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Try managing 3000 devices without something like this.

We can manage 400 servers and 2500 desktops with ease.

Pros

Automation and reporting for compliance. All Windows Updates are delivered and staged in a controlled and predictable fashion at scale. Machines obey the rules and report back compliance. This makes it easy to only worry about a few systems that are not well behaved. Same can be said of delivering applications, OS feature updates, and OS images. I can't imagine dealing with this many Windows systems without a tool like this.

Cons

To deal with things at scale everything works with delays and over a period of time. This can sometimes make creating and testing changes difficult as it can take time for this to all work. All work is in the background and log analyzers are needed to understand what a client is doing if it is not working.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Fully Featured System Management Solution

Pros

SCCM is a solid enterprise management solution for doing routine patching, monitoring, and reactive maintenance on enterprise PCs. The application is scalable in the sense that additional management servers can be created to address growth. Devices are monitored by agents that provide a basic heartbeat and basic device status information. Standard reports and queries are available out of the box.

Cons

SCCM is a costly application both monetarily and in terms of the time overhead required to build, customize, and learn the application. Even though basic reports and queries templates exist, additional reports must be written from scratch. The software pre-requisites for installing SCCM are also substantial and more cost efficient with an existing MSDN subscription.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

System Center

System center helps to automate day to day IT tasks, run and deliver reports on system health, manage endpoint protection, and deploy software updates for the organization.

Pros

Ease of intergration. System Center integrates well with Windows Domains.

Cons

Hardware requirements. System Center is resource intensive and some products do not provide a good return on investment in terms of resources versus tasks automated / simplified.

December 2018

James from NHS

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

System Center

Excellent software for managing Infrastructure and workstations

Pros

Microsoft have collaborated a good set of software. Allowing management of multiple systems within the system center group of software. It is easy to use and manage.

Cons

If problems arise troubleshooting can be a problem. There are a lot of logs to look through, and in experience, MS support is required

March 2017

Simbarashe from MYLAB

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

The best IT admin system

As a managed service provider we do our due diligence in finding the best systems that make managing systems easier and more efficient. Microsoft is by far one of the leading producers of such with its System Center suite. You can essentially go from handling over 100 issues a day to sitting back and drinking coffee all day. However it must be said this system is not so easy to set up. Installation can take a couple of days but getting the right configurations and finding that sweet spot is the difficult part and could take months. Setting up your own private cloud has also been made as simple as clicking one button. From my personal view, if you run an enterprise system there is no better route for you to go except Microsoft System Center. But I do advise you find a training center and a certified Microsoft trainer before you implement.

Pros

It gives you a full spectrum overview of what your environment looks like. Automation and the usage of ITIL principles just bring it home for me. This software is like fine matured whiskey, it takes someone who knows what good is to appreciate the tools.

Cons

It is extremely difficult to get all the setting perfect for your environment. It can take up to a year before you finally see the return on your investment.

August 2017

Cathy from Williamsburg James City County Public Schools

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Easy to use management software

Easy computer management

Pros

Microsoft System Center make it easy to manage the ten thousand plus computer in our organization. Reports such as the Software inventory help keep our licensing in check.

Cons

Microsoft System Center is very complex. I recommend getting any/all training available to fully utilize all the features. We are still finding new ways to use SCCM.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Central Control for Servers

Our IT department consists of mainly Windows servers and System Center is the ideal tool to manage them all from one source. We use it very frequently.

Pros

You can manage your servers easily from this tool. Execute a script, send an update file, a patch or anything for your need.

Cons

It takes time to get used to it and learn all its capabilities.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Good suite of products that together are very powerful

Centralisation, visiblity and automation in our environment.

Pros

Largely good integration between the various products of the suite. Good integration with Microsoft's cloud offerings through the various products within the suite

Cons

Some functionality is very complex, some areas of the product are not consistent across the suite.

September 2018

Ryan from JTEKT North America

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Very Versatile

Pros

Microsoft System Center is a platform for datacenter management. I have worked with several companies using this resource. It streamlines processes to save both time and money. It is a great tool.

Cons

Unfortunately, this software can be expensive and therefore cumbersome to even a medium sized business.

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Mücahit from Türkiye Finans Bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Multi-server single screen

Overall very practical to follow a lot of errors on the server.

Pros

We manage a lot of servers available. very easy to watch each by System Center without requiring a server rdp.

Cons

bugs that are fixed on the server sometimes fades late System Center panel.Panels very simple, can be more visual.

January 2018

Pablo from Technology

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

System Center is one of the most complex suite in which I've had worked and I continue working in it

One of the most complex and powerful suite that I've used in my job.

Pros

It's very complex and provide a solution for almost everything you need, so regardless your needs System Center can help you to reach your goals.

Cons

The cost is one of the most common obstacles at the moment you request a software that belongs to System Center.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

System Center Virtual Machine Manager is Amazing

Pros

I have personally used the System Center Essentials/System Center Virtual Machine Manager to manage our Hyper-V cluster, its a great tool, and in many ways superior to VMWare.

Cons

It is not as advanced as VMWare, although every update it gets a little better. It is however a great tool for a great cost.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Cool set of tools to manage both Cloud and On-Prem infrastructure

It brought order to our IT infrastructure

Pros

System Center allows you to manage your IT infrastructure based both on-premise and in Azure. You can manage virtual machines (both VMWare and Hyper-V), public and private clouds, control configuration, update and monitor your environment.

Cons

Some tools, like SCCM, can be a bit complex when you start working with these. Documentation is huge and it can be hard to find required information for non-experienced users

April 2019

orhangazi from KT Bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Serves everything for a Datacenter!

Pros

System center has several sub-products to manage datacenters; like scom and sccm. Sccm is very practical tool to manage hyperv servers and virtual machines. Scom is used to automate jobs on servers.

Cons

some tasks on hyperv servers are unable to be complete on sccm.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

SCCM for Microsoft Systems

Image management and operating system set up with SCCM. We also do windows updates and application installations with SCCM. We have distribution points in our remote locations.

Pros

Distribution points very useful and working good. DP's reduce network load.

Cons

Support for non-Microsoft products is not very good.

June 2018

Ryan from Tapestry Technologies

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Must-have for Windows Administration

Awesome Windows Managability

Pros

Love the amount of features and control you have with System Center. Has functionality to fully manage a full windows enterprise

Cons

Takes a long time to set up. Can be difficult to troubleshoot. Can be expensive and pricing can be confusing.

January 2020

User Profile Picture

Brad from Campbellsville University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Must Have for Enterprise Workstation and Server Management

Pros

It is really easy to deploy software and updates to your endpoints.

Cons

I wish you could query the database from SSMS or Power Bi or any other analytical tool. You can only easily use the built queries.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Extremely powerful desktop management

Pros

Everything. The level of control it gives over desktops from OS build to patching and software deployment.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve in order to master the workflows of some areas such as 3rd part software patching.

July 2020

Rogelio from ASSMCA

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

July 2020

System Center User Experience

Is a solution for device inventory.

Pros

Devices are easy find. Users too. It comes with many good report.

Cons

Reports are not too easy to modify. My opinion take a time to master this tool.

April 2019

William from Claymont City Schools

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

System Center - WDS on Overdrive?

I would recommend System Center to any business or district with a large amount of Windows workstations. It works great for our staff who need to be able to install any application on their machine that they need.

Pros

System Center is an excellent piece of software provided by Microsoft that runs as a virtual server in our rack. It has been extremely helpful in streamlining our process in which we push out applications. In addition, System Center also allows us to publish our own "app store" that allows our faculty to download what they want on their machines without needing admin access. It also handles all WDS functionality on top of everything else.

Cons

It is very difficult to set up compared to a simple WDS server. We are still not configured fully after a couple months of tweaking with it. Perhaps we are doing something wrong, but it seems as confusing to configure as a domain controller.

May 2017

Sunil from Fidelity Investments

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

System Center is a great product that covers multiple capabilities

Pros

The software characteristics that make System Center very effective are: Powerful, Dynamic, Eloborate

Cons

The software characteristics that make System Center less effective are: Complex, High ramp up time

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Hamza from Service de police de Granby

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Control all your Microsoft servers from one console

Easy to track ad users, easy to set up server.

Pros

Set up and control all the servers from one software.

Cons

Grouping my Microsoft server in one environment.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 82 reviews