All System Center Reviews

1-25 of 89 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Sawan

Information Services, 2 - 10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed February 2023

System center , the enterprise platform to manage Active directory computers.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Hassle free system management

We are using system center configuration manager for operating system deployment and have custom images created for department wise. If new PC deployment is required we are able to plug the new PC into the network and run the deployment process and the PC will install the OS and required software in less than 1 hour. We are applying patch update company wide regulatory using system center and helps keep all the system up to the date and secure. Software center used by users to request and self service software installation process which reduce the helpdesk burden.

PROS

I have experience in System Center Configuration Manager and the Operating System Deployment (OSD) has saved lot of man hours in company wide when re-configuring or deploying PCs over company. We can deploy a new PC with all relevant software and updates without single user interaction in less than 1 hour of time. The software center is a feature where users can self service software installation and OS upgrade for Windows 10 very easily.

CONS

The automated client deployment is giving trouble most of the time if the remote end is miss configured firewall or corrupted WMI. We have to sort those problems manually if we encounter such a problem.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

System Center simplifies the process of deploying and administering computers and mobile devices

The amount of time this software saves us with deploying laptops, software, and Windows Updates alone justifies the cost (which is fairly minimal, actually). We deploy VPN, company signatures, specific software, etc. to our end users to make their lives and our lives easier. I use this software on a daily basis in some way or another, and I strongly recommend it.

PROS

We use System Center primarily for two tasks. The first is deploying new laptops. We use a captured image and automatically deploy a clean Windows 10 install, a driver package from Dell for that specific model of machine (detected by the task sequence), Windows Updates, and applications. Our second major task is deploying Windows and software updates to all of our laptops and servers. This is by far the biggest time-saving feature. We went this route for end users as opposed to just using WSUS because it allows you to very flexibly configure the times/days that updates will be installed for end users. So we have ours configured to never force users to restart during the day to avoid interrupting our users at critical times. And for our servers, we just run a series of OS-specific deployment rules, and we're done. Everything else is handled automatically from there after the initial setup of groups.

CONS

It can be a lot of work to execute simple tasks. For instance, if you just wanted to run a single command on all your computers, you would need to create a package (which requires quite a bit of configuration), create a deployment group, and deploy that package. It would be nice if Microsoft provided simple solutions for more lightweight tasks.

User Profile

Mo

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2022

System Center Virtual Machine Manager

PROS

The integration between windows and a hyper-v infrastructure that can scale the compute, storage and networking by using Microsoft technologies and not third party which reduces the overall licensing costs from other vendors like VMWare or Nutanix.

CONS

The powershell module to automate builds and management lacks features and needs fixes and better error checking. There are no popular modules to pick from the Powershell gallery so you have to install it from their ISO and it is very challenging to move the module to another machine for remote management.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

System Center is the King of the Microsoft Systems Management

System Center is the best suite of windows management tools there is.

PROS

For over the last 10 years I've worked with pretty much all products in system center suite. Mostly with SCOM and SCCM. These Products are massive, but there is nothing better when it comes to software delivery, patching, monitoring etc. !

CONS

the learning curve of the System Center Products is steep. it takes time to master. Sometime it could get expensive to get the right people to involve in supporting and administering these products.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Can't imagine running a Windows environment without it.

PROS

We use SCCM for everything. Imaging, software deployment, patch management, Windows 10 servicing, antivirus, hardware/software inventory. Log files make it easy to fix errors when they do occur. Ability to build flexible images and inject drivers and software during the imaging process (task sequence).

CONS

It takes a long time to get familiar with the software. If you're going to have multiple administrators, a lot of training may be required.

User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

Massive product that does much more than most people know

We are able to automate and keep track of so many processes. It really helps lower the number of employees we need.

PROS

We use this tool for managing our desktop computing environment as well as our ITSM ticket tracking. It is all there and is powerful.

CONS

The interface is circa 1999. It really needs to be moved to a web interface and streamlined. It is slow and clunky and as a result the team often feels lost. Unfortunately this leads them to be gun shy - with good right. We want them to have the confidence in making a change before committing something potentially to the entire environment.

Brandon

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Try managing 3000 devices without something like this.

We can manage 400 servers and 2500 desktops with ease.

PROS

Automation and reporting for compliance. All Windows Updates are delivered and staged in a controlled and predictable fashion at scale. Machines obey the rules and report back compliance. This makes it easy to only worry about a few systems that are not well behaved. Same can be said of delivering applications, OS feature updates, and OS images. I can't imagine dealing with this many Windows systems without a tool like this.

CONS

To deal with things at scale everything works with delays and over a period of time. This can sometimes make creating and testing changes difficult as it can take time for this to all work. All work is in the background and log analyzers are needed to understand what a client is doing if it is not working.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Fully Featured System Management Solution

PROS

SCCM is a solid enterprise management solution for doing routine patching, monitoring, and reactive maintenance on enterprise PCs. The application is scalable in the sense that additional management servers can be created to address growth. Devices are monitored by agents that provide a basic heartbeat and basic device status information. Standard reports and queries are available out of the box.

CONS

SCCM is a costly application both monetarily and in terms of the time overhead required to build, customize, and learn the application. Even though basic reports and queries templates exist, additional reports must be written from scratch. The software pre-requisites for installing SCCM are also substantial and more cost efficient with an existing MSDN subscription.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Must have for Microsoft shops

I love the software and it allows me to better manage my time with product and service implmentations.

PROS

The software suite is all encompassing. From managing hypervisors down to client PC's. The scalability of the software to make managing 1000 computers feel like 100.

CONS

The software isn't cheap. The licensing is pretty complicated too. There can be a sheep learning curve for some of the products.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

System Center

System center helps to automate day to day IT tasks, run and deliver reports on system health, manage endpoint protection, and deploy software updates for the organization.

PROS

Ease of intergration. System Center integrates well with Windows Domains.

CONS

Hardware requirements. System Center is resource intensive and some products do not provide a good return on investment in terms of resources versus tasks automated / simplified.

Onur

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Application Like A Swiss Army Knife. All In One

At first SCCM entered our structure only for inventory management. Afterwards, he started to take on tasks ranging from mobile device control to application distribution. The product gets what it teaches you to work in such a wide range. Now it is one of the indispensable products of our company.

PROS

At SCCM, I particularly recommend the ease of resource management and application deployment. If you are working with a large number of clients, you will need to switch to a centralized management system such as SCCM at a certain stage.

CONS

Personally, I can't find anything negative to write about SCCM. It responds to all our requests.

Reason for choosing System Center

At first it seems difficult to integrate the product into the existing structure, and when you go step by step, you make a seamless integration. Make sure that your workload will decrease and you will have easier management with the results you get in every step.

Jonathon

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

I couldn't do my job without this!

This software allows me to provide a higher level of support for my end users because it automates and streamlines deployments and configuration of devices.

PROS

System Center gives me the ability to remotely manage software, compliance policies, and operating systems on all of our windows devices. I spend 60% of my day in System Center managing the 5000 windows devices in our organization. I primarily use it to deploy windows updates, and operating systems.

CONS

I wish the logging and error messages were more "user friendly". I'm not a huge fan of "log files" so using this software and not having useful logs and helpful error messages is very frustrating.

Charith

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Microsoft System Center is the best Central Manage your IT Device & Users SCCM or MECM

Best discribe is best way to mange IT infrasture SCCM

PROS

System center configuration manager can use deploy Software,Windos patches level,inventry the Hard ware,software,remote conectivity..best secure software fo the IT infranstures

CONS

Actually SCCM define the manage Computer hardware software level.we can deploy all windows patch level,software level,Operating system upgrade,power management also.

Reason for choosing System Center

Because Sri Lanka insurance mostly use Microsoft product ant they give the best support also.

Charles

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2016

Microsoft System Center Review

Being part of a company that has multiple locations all across the world, System center is a must have tool for managing thousands of computers. It allows you to save time and be very efficient.

PROS

System Center 2012 R2 should be part of every organization period! It's the best feature would be the ability to push software through packages to multiple computers at once. What I like best about this release is the added PowerShell support.

CONS

There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this product.

Cathy

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2017

Easy to use management software

Easy computer management

PROS

Microsoft System Center make it easy to manage the ten thousand plus computer in our organization. Reports such as the Software inventory help keep our licensing in check.

CONS

Microsoft System Center is very complex. I recommend getting any/all training available to fully utilize all the features. We are still finding new ways to use SCCM.

Warren

Government Relations, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

SCCM Is a Great Tool

PROS

Software deployments as it makes it much easier to do so to thousands of machines.

CONS

Must be installed on machine. We do not have Azure set up yet so we are only able to use installed SCCM currently.

Reasons for switching to System Center

SCCM is the industry standard

orhangazi

Verified reviewer

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019