User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(37)

37

4 stars

(52)

52

3 stars

(17)

17

2 stars

(4)

4

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse BMC Helix ITSM Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 111 results

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Antonio from GB Advisors, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Former RAC and BMC Accredited Administrator AR System

Using the BMC ITSM you can consolidate in a Suite the major task of the ITSM support staff based on ITIL best practices.

Pros

The Remedy ITSM Suites cover the main processs of the ITSM aligned to ITIL best practices. All the Application are integrated as part of the ITSM Suite in order to manage the different scenarios that normally needs to be handled by the support staff. Using the AR System Server as base the ITSM applications can be customized in order to give to the organizations complete and achieve thier functionality requierements. The license model of floating write licenses, lets the organization to share licenses pool.

Cons

BMC Remedy ITSM was born as an On premise solution, the cloud option is in the process to be a mature option. In Remedy you could achieve many thing but you need a lot experience with the product to complete it.

April 2021

Marie from Internet

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Set the record straight!

Once installed/upgraded it is super easy to develop, manage and it is very easy to have to tool fit your processes. The automation and ability for it to assign, push workflow to other systems and automatically close is awesome. The intelligent integration for event management (off the shelf and event management system that can consume WSDLs or REST, can take advantage of this two-way BSR utility; it’s a game changer!

Pros

I’m not sure where this site is getting it’s information but it is wrong. BMC Software ITSM has mobile solutions built in for any html5 device and apps that can be downloaded from the Google or Apple store and connected to any instance. This system is incredibly robust to the extent that if you do not have mature processes and you do not manage IT well this system will become your mortal enemy. It does have a configuration database (CMDB) and it was the absolute first ITSM system to have one and it has many patents; so I have no clue why this site is saying it doesn’t exist. It is the only one that has a definitive catalog, normalization tool, reconciliation, transformation, mapping, auditing, drift management, outage management, impact analysis, and integration all built into the CMDB. The validation is the best. When combined with the Asset management system which adds on the procurement, ASL, receiving and well all the pre and post deployment activities it can manage the entire lifecycle. But it doesn’t stop there! You have cost and finance management, contracts, licensing, warranties, leases, people and group associations, underpinning agreements, and everything you can think of they’ve already built it! Not to mention that all of this isn’t just flat text, you actually get visual maps of the infrastructure and all the relationships, models and services. And it doesn’t stop there you can even view this through digital Workplace on actual maps.

Cons

Upgrades and installs are the absolute worst! You cannot just go download the package and run setup. There’s literally 50 installs you need to perform plus a checksum between each and everything has to be installed in a specific order and BMC Software doesn’t make it easy on the customers to comprehend this because every tool has a separate website in their DOCs and it’s up to you to understand what needs to come before and after. I suspect they’re making it difficult because they want to sell subscriptions to their SaaS. Additionally, BMC Software ignores their onPrem customers, whom by the way made this company who they are today and they chose to release everything formSaaS and not pay attention to their onPrem customers!

Reasons for Choosing BMC Helix ITSM

Flexibility, licensing, and the total solution was very mature. It was at the time the only tool with an ITIL focus.

Reasons for Switching to BMC Helix ITSM

Needed more flexibility and Service Desk Express was going to the cloud.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Remedy Review

Overall, I wouldn't recommend Remedy for IT Service Management. I believe there are better solutions available that are user friendly while also being visually appealing.

Pros

This software has a very simple layout that makes tracking information down an easy task. The filtering within the application is great and allows for extremely specified results. I like the priority emails that are given based on open tickets. This process allows teams to stay on track to complete requirements and continuously close open tickets.

Cons

I don't enjoy how the UI visually looks. The application has a very outdated look that doesn't appeal to you visually. I have found difficulty when trying to close Incidents because of status issues. This has been my biggest issue because Remedy will want me to enter twenty different status boxes in order to close a ticket or I will receive multiple errors.

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Emir from BH Telecom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2020

After 5+ years i still dont like it

Neutral, it works stable when you give the system enormous resources. System is quite complicated from licencing perspective, user handling, reporting, creating autoassigments, maintaing knowledgebase, problem management handling etc. Actualy when you try alternatives you figure out that system is not that bad. But in 2020 it looks like it's from last decade from perspective of resources, flexibilty and integration posibilites. Support forum is the worst. You are basicly on your own. When you implement any kind of improvement you often create 3-4 problems that you have to solve. Mobile aplication exist only on paper. It is abandoned by vendor i thing from version 1. Last updates still have part of system based on Adoble Flash so beware of Decembar 2020 when Microsoft, Mozilla drop support. After 5 years of using i'm still puzzled by database structure that creates so many problem for integration with 3rd party reporting systems. Smart Reporting and Birt reporting are basicly the worst reporting system ever. Slow, unresponsive, require enormous resources just to run basic reports. Personaly i would never choose it as solutin if you have any requirement for custimization. To expensive, to complicated.

Pros

Robust, ITSM compliant, fairly great integration posibilites

Cons

Where do i begin? Database structure is nightmare for maintating, creating reports and to actually understad inner workings of system. Reporting sofware lacks some basic stuff. Upgrading production system is a 14 days nightmare. Some basic stuff like creating user level reports based on who did what in which time are imposible. It has almost no room for adjusting, user interface is upgraded from version 7.5, 8.1 until version 9.1 but is substandard compared with cloud based solution.

Reasons for Choosing BMC Helix ITSM

I did not chose it. Management did.

Reasons for Switching to BMC Helix ITSM

We taught the ITSM will solve organisation problems, guess what after milions spent on this system we found out it did not.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Timothy from The George Washington University

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Complete Helpdesk and IT service management solution

It is a single repository/database for incidents, assets, change requests and knowledge You can easily track old tickets as well as you can figure out the approval chain, pending tickets and followup on tasks done and has to be done.

Pros

We upgraded to cloud based Remedy system which saved us the hassle of supporting the solaris server. Web-based and integrated with SSO solution The software is highly customizable. BMC's customer support are very responsive. All branches of IT department use it for incident management, change management, asset management and knowledge management. The approval workflows are easy to set and update.

Cons

customization of the application was a very long process specially if you need to use the most of it. But once it is running, it is worth the pain.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Jose from GB Advisors, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

All-in-one asset management under a single app

We have consolidated all our ITOM operations under a single app, readily accessible across the organization.

Pros

Remedy Asset Management handles the complete IT lifecycle of endpoints and IT devices in general. What makes it more comprehensive is that, unlike other asset managers, it includes literally the COMPLETE lifecycle, including non-IT processes such as Procurement, Inventory, up to Depreciation and EOL (decommission or disposal). Being part of the BMC Remedy family, it also seamlessly integrate and expadn its capabilities with other related products such as Remedy ITSM and Remedy CMDB. Having said that, what I Iike most of it is the integration of all ITAM (IT Asset Management) steps in a single suite, and the representation, mapping and auditing of all assets in a single place. Normally you would resource to several different tools to achieve this.

Cons

One thing definitely open to imporvement is the reporting module. The reporting module could be definitely improved to add more options of building and scheduling reports.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Jorge from Sykes Enterprises, Incorporated

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great ITSM Tool!

Remedy ITSM has been great to implement our Service Desk Service from Scratch. With it we can keep track of the ticket´s progress, and improve our Support Platform 100%.

Pros

Remedy ITSM is great for Service Desk administration due to it´s great flexibility and customization. It has everything you need to fine tune your Support Service, and keep track of the process with all the Reports functions it offers. It being design for Backlog Management, Problem, Knowledge, Incident and Request Managing with a very reliable platform and server

Cons

At this point, Remedy ITSM could feel outdated along the amount of others ITSM options out there. It´s not very easy to use therefore it needs a Learning curve. When the ammount of tickets on the database gets huge, it could be somewhat slow to pull out old tickets and to process some reports.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Good ITSM tool

I use this software withing ITSM and we use it to track tickets, problems and trends within service and its impact on business.

Pros

It gathers Incident, problem and knowledge management in one software and it doing it good. Tickets can be assigned ongoing change management items.

Cons

There is quite high entry level, so it takes some extra time to use it quickly and efficiently to support your business needs.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Diogo from Globalweb

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2019

incident management tool

All the demands of you, which need to be met by technicians, are registered in ars remedy, there are two ways to perform the registration. Via the web, having access to the tool, or contacting the helpdesk, the first level technician records the customer demand, this demand is received by the responsible area that continues the service. The process is correct and follows the itil methodology, but the tool is outdated and problematic.

Pros

The tool centralizes all of the company's IT demands, and that's a high point. We have a preview of all upcoming and upcoming incidents, changes in progress,

Cons

The tool has constant problems. In basically all areas, from browser interface to architecture issues. Bus error, requests, database information retrieval

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Service Management

Pros

Gather, analyze, store and share information to resolve any previously known issues. Self- and Service Catalog.

Cons

Lack of integration with client management to show details of end users machines and automated remediatio

August 2015

Shayne from Manitoba Public Insurance

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2015

Used it for 3 years in our corporation now and it has been great for tracking change and incidents

Enterprise level, very powerful software which is very easy to use. As of Remedy 7.6x, you can make your own customizations to the application or even create applications of your own with their customized Eclipse tool. While a lot of OOTB features worked very well for us, we still needed the ability to customize and create our own forms and processes or even the ability to perform automation and self-service with other applications. Some items the learning curve is not bad at all and customizations can be added with little to no effort. Whereas others have taken quite a long time to develop and troubleshoot. One such customization which we developed was the ability to have placeholder templates for Change, Incident, Work Order and Tasks where we pass through variables via the SRM and it dynamically generates and populates the ticket with this information. We have full date automation, dynamic Task generation and the ability to dynamically modify the template on the fly based on the answers that the user passes through via SRM. So instead of multiple templates which are served based on "if-then" answers in the Process Definition, we have a single template which then gets massaged based on the user's answers. This customization took a decent amount of time to complete, but it reduced the amount of time of SRM and template rework to almost nothing. Of course with such customization, there are always risks of breaking existing workflow or failure during an upgrade. So when we upgraded fro 7.6.04 to 8.1, it took a solid month of work to check each and every form, active link, filter, etc to make sure that things worked with the new upgrade. But BMC's tools helped reduce both the time and work it took to get the kinks worked out and we had all of our environments upgraded and without the need to call in expensive consultants to assist with it. As with any piece of software, there are always going to be issues. However, we have found that 9.5 out of 10 times we contact BMC for support, their staff is more than knowledgeable and have us up and running again in short order. BMC's Remedy ITSM Suite is a great piece of software and VERY flexible to meet the most demanding of situations. After being a Remedy Administrator for 3 years, I can say without hesitation that it is well worth the price and would be a welcomed addition to any I.T. department.

November 2019

Jacqua from Retail

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Overall Adequate Functionality

Remedy enables our organization to track incidents and change requests in a single system of record.

Pros

I like that change requests can be linked to incidents and tasks. This is very helpful when quantifying impact.

Cons

Reporting is quite difficult, at least in our organization. Also extracting data is not easy and adding additional fields to assist with data analysis of incidents does not appear to be easy to accomodate.

Reasons for Switching to BMC Helix ITSM

Organizational decision.

July 2015

Sandra from CACI

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

July 2015

Love Remedy ITSM 8.1.01

I have been a Remedy developer since 1998. I was an early deplorer of 7.6 and 8.0 AND love ITSM 81.01. I deployed 8.1.01 in January 2015. Installing email to use Outlook was missed because the install was not clearly understood. The same happened with Web Services. Correcting these deficits caused an outage shortly after Go Live. Incident, Change, Knowledge, Asset & Release Management are deployed. DMT worked well for the foundation data with one exception - it is no longer possible to import Categorizations as Global; all categorizations are Company specific. SRM deployed quickly using the export/import method; painless and a big win for my customer. Incident, Work Order & Change Templates were created using data mining were included in IOC deployment. I love the People Management Console; it too, was a standard customization I added to previous apps. Multi-tenancy was simple to configure and deploy. While Work Orders are now a stand-alone form, the app is not as well structured as Incident or Change Management, i.e. there is no "Print" button on the WOI:Work Order form. With the ITSM Email Engine & Rules of 8.x, Remedy has nailed it! This used to be a huge development effort that took several months to complete, often delaying application deployment. The incoming email rules are well written and meet most customer needs. We have all of our tickets create Service Requests. We had to add some customizations because when the "Requested For" user is changed, all of the new customer info does not write to the SR completely. This is a big deal when the customer has access to the Request Entry Console because the new customer does not have access to the REQ. The Survey is confined to tickets created using SRDs which does not work for my customer. A custom Survey is in the works because the customer for every resolved Incident must receive a survey solicitation. The TMS:Task form still uses the "Classic" view. It would be nice to have this view updated to match the "Best Practice" view of other ITSM forms. The same for CTM:People. It would be great to have the option of having the last Task close a Work Order or Change Request part of application rules. This is a big issue with customers who always get caught unaware of the behavior.

October 2020

Frank from Kajeet Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Remedy Service Desk Review

It suited us fine as an ITIL centric Incident, Problem, Change Management tool. We considered other options to add Config and Asset management but all were similarly hard to implement on an established nationwide network.

Pros

The ability to create customer scheduled reports from within the software without integrations to other external third party tools.

Cons

Configuration and asset management was hard to implement on a very large nationwide existing network. Discovery tools basically required you to define the network to Remedy instead of full discovery. There were third party integrations available for network discovery.

Reasons for Choosing BMC Helix ITSM

It was already implemented and we considered migrating to another tool but stayed with Remedy due to familiarity.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

shaik from Loyalty Methods

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

One of best tool that tracks the status of the tickets that are being raised as part of request

Pros

The remedy tool is very cool and helpful in tracking the problem resolution status on various tickets that are being raised. It keeps holds of all the members that are being worked on this it provides us the space to comment on the satisfactory level of problem resolution.Overall this has a very powerful features like tracking the status of year back old tickets and it has graphical representation of the ticket status.The BMC is linked with various MNC's who are using this now.

Cons

There is nothing least about this but if BMC can concentrate on the UI make the components which are required keep available on the screen which are not much needed please locate them in seperate location and help us in navigating to it

May 2019

Bala Jyothi from BSNL

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Best tool for Resolving Dockets - Customer support

We are using Remedy on a daily basis to resolve customer tickets...very easy to keep track of the issues, customer can revert back as well , so that we can provide optimum solution to the issues raised through remedy dockets..

Pros

It is very helpful for resolving the dockets, almost all the attributes are self explanatory, easy to use, what i like the most is reports are generated with all the details like when the docket is raised, when it is resolved, average time duration, and also we can customize the reports...It makes life easy

Cons

So far everything is useful and good about Remedy

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I missed it, once we migrated to a different system. I still do. Great software!

Work satisfaction and quality in performing daily tasks.

Pros

It was bulletproof. Rarely overloaded. Always running smoothly. Remedy is for people who value professional work. It's almost impossible to make mistakes when routing. Data extraction is also possible and is actually pretty good, although a bit complex.

Cons

Exchanged with other systems is always flawed for some reason. I worked so far with 3 different systems exchanged with Remedy and the exchange was always problematic.

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Prachi from Wipro Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Essential and User Friendly Tool used for ticketing purpose

Best Ticketing tool for business purpose. Gives us wide range of options to customize from. breadth of services. Easily understandable Can generate reports according to requirement Able to link tickets to one another easily

Pros

Able to create. update, resolve tickets easily Able to calculate SLA. Good process work flow Able to link Incidents to problem and change requests

Cons

Too many fields are needed to be filled up for raising a ticket, thus its a bit time consuming for us.

May 2019

Tony from Newstech LLC

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great Tool for Large Datacenter

we use Remedy incident and change management every single day as my team is a the datacenter support staff. It's crucial that we get notified immediately about incoming tickets and can access them quickly. Remedy does this for us and keeps our response time very low!

Pros

easy management for my team's incident ticket queue. can access from anywhere without a client app now

Cons

we frequently need to print incidents and change tickets to get all the info so we can travel to the datacenter and troubleshoot issues

November 2017

Nilesh from New York University School of Engineering

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

A simple change management tool

Use the 80/20 rule. It does meet most needs, however you will spend 80% of your time reaching the last 20% of your needs if you let it. Think outside the box and use integrations.

Pros

It has a simple interface.Easy to navigate around.We can access it via a web portal which makes it all the more easy and Id say more accessible anytime anywhere.You can trace the change easily which is a huge plus unlike some complex interfaces.

Cons

At times if we have a complex process i.e dealing with multiple user information can get a bit tedious.I wish I could export search results too since i always had a problem of copying and pasting stuff which was annoying.

August 2018

jesus from Telefonica venezolana

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

incident management tool

Pros

It is a very good tool to manage incidents within your company, very useful when it comes to putting details in each affectation, even if you want to download the data already stored for a while and the details you want

Cons

It really is an excellent tool, but at the time of programming and managing it can be a bit complicated for the end user, that is, you will need a specialist to be able to start up your tool 100%

July 2018

Adnan from Atos India

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Decent SD tool

Room for improvement for User experience and interface for making it simple to new or non technical work force

Pros

Decent Service desk tool for logging, tracking and monitoring of incident, change and problem tickets in a IT service management environment

Cons

It could be more user friendly and intuitive in terms of the user interface and user experience for non technical workforce who are new to ITSM or service desk environment.

April 2018

Patricia from CANTV

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Provides complete lifecycle management of your IT assets, from procurement to end-of-life.

Pros

Software licenses management helps you avoid audit costs. Proactively identify contract infringements and purchasing opportunities. Know where your assets are located, who is using them, and how many there are. Make informed decisions about IT changes.

Cons

It is possible that there are areas where it is not applicable, but in general it will cover the needs of the company.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Josh from Walmart, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

One of the Best Incident Trackers!

I worked 3.5 years for 1-800-WAL-MART and used this software to track every single customer incident that happened in Walmart stores in the U.S. and beyond.

Pros

I love how intuitive it is. The software flows just like you'd expect.

Cons

It was something I used at Walmart corporate office when I worked there. No complaints at all ... even from a user at the largest company in the world.

September 2017

Robert from Arizona State University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

I have used Remedy to track Tech Help Desk requests for years.

automation of documentation and communication from my help desk. They have resolved with the new versions what complaints I had about scalability between multiple help desks and user groups, and the reporting required.

Pros

The tech user interface is intuitive and follows a logical thought process. Remedy is feature-rich, and can be configured to do exactly what I want, when I want it done. The reporting is capable, and has commonly needed reports as defaults. My techs spend a minimal amount of time documenting, and therefore most of their time helping customers. Remedy creates tech reminders, sends progress notification email to customers and generally does what a great managerial assistant would do.

June 2019

Carl from Information Technology

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Industry Standard for a reason

Used this in the Air Force and as a Civilian and the program has been the best at tracking tickets and assets by far.

Pros

This product takes care of all parts of the IT Lifecycle Great service management module with SLAs and ticket tracking

Cons

This product doesn't have issues that couldn't be fixed with a little customization

April 2019

Murtaza from Schlumberger

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Remedy the best ticketing tool

I am using this tool from last 7 years and happy with this ticketing tool.

Pros

Its very nice tool for logging ticket and raising incident. Change, outage management can be used with remedy. Its best and most used in IT industry

Cons

its typically slow. It should be fast to use like Jira. rest all feature are very good

December 2017

Adarsh from Tata Consultancy Services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Excellent ticketing tool

Pros

I used it extensively for trouble tickets and asset management, and I both worked well for me. I like the asset management portion the more because it provided very valuable information if properly used. I also like being able to create queries to filter out criteria of my own choosing.

Cons

I did not like the way task were added to a ticket. I found it to be confusing, and if I was not told that a task was attached sometimes it would get overlooked.

November 2018

Rekha from IBM

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Nice product, however out of the box options are not ready solutions available

I use it for Ticketing sytem of IT services,

Pros

module wise purchasing options, good cost wise, however this allows us to buy only specific modules, which might not give complete ITSM work module

Cons

The look doesnt seem catch at times. Remedy on Premise doesnt allow easy reporting.

November 2017

Prabhdeep from Capgemini

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Review of Remedy 9

Pros

It's a very simple interface, meaning no bells or whistles, and that makes it easy to pull out the information you want for individual users if you're targeting something specific. I've been using it for years, so it's relatively easy to navigate.

May 2019

Loyce from MTN Uganda

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Remedy Service Desk

Especially in an organisation that involves customers and a back office, this is a must have.

Pros

It's instant. It's very easy to use. Ability to edit and add templates, to customize them to ones' need.

Cons

Get's too slow when the Tickets are many.

December 2017

Srajan from Tata Consultancy Services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

BMC Remedy

Pros

Really like the tool and works good for cross vendor communciations. It has various flexi features with good integrations with emails and managing tickets reporting works really good and helps maintain all changes for production and non production environment.

Cons

Slow response, lack of integration with new tools (or may be our org done have that), Not so easy Reporting configuration

November 2017

Harsh from Fidelity Investment

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Remedy 9 Review

Pros

That enterprise level ITSM software. Who are looking to implement ITIL practices, This will will help you do so, With module like asset, incident, management etc..Will give you confidence across the business vertical.

Cons

There is no advanced case management in remedy force like auto closer and escalation process where as we have in salesforce which i don't like. Not easy to configure.

January 2015

Kelly from Unisys

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

January 2015

Remedy ITSM - Kelly's view point

Pros - * Consistent UI makes it easy to navigate. * Fully ITIL Compliant and easy to explain how using SMPM * Easily customizable to meet company needs and business processes * Data driven configuration/business rules allows for less customization to need to be done * Data load capabilities are getting stronger * Default configuration of system variables works for 90% of companies * Continues to add new sizzle in each release Cons - * No end to end data model so when you do have to do a configuration or customization change you don't know all the places impacted * Limited Mobility solution - ability to show reports/charts on mobile devices. I think Smart Reporting in 9.0 will help with this. Ability to work tickets - you have Smart IT for the Service Desk. We need it for the resolvers. * Upgrade is a bear if you have done any customizations. * No support for multiple overlays. Unisys has done a lot of overlays for our improvements. If a customer wants to change something then it goes in our overlay, not a second level overlay. Consequently, when we do an update to our overlay, their customization goes away. Overall General Impression - Remedy ITSM is the most feature complete yet flexible tool on the market. Time to implement is far less with Remedy than the competitors. The open ability to integrate is a huge plus because in today's world everyone wants all the tools form multiple vendors to work together.

February 2018

Riccardo from SITE

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Easy to use!

Pros

Excellent IT ticketing software Excellent reporting Able to get reviews right from the software (from end users)

Cons

Not very customizable Very expensive Not very end-user friendly It can become very slow as more people use it

March 2019

Bradley from Rhwem Manufacturing

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Robust but Ruthless

Pros

Remedy encompasses almost anything and everything you would need in an ITSM solution. Feature rich to the core.

Cons

There is somewhat of a learning curve here. Training is not only suggested but STRONGLY suggested

October 2019

Megha from Cerner

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Easy ticket management tool

Pros

Service tickets made easy to handle. Managing SLA and teaching incident is very easy Changes and incidents can be handled without any fuss

Cons

Initial mapping is bit hectic. Takes lot of time for higher queues

May 2018

Ashish from Infosys Limited

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Easy to navigate interface but lags in load and search.

Pros

Overall Interface. Wild Card searches for key items. Approval flow for Change Request. Task effort tracker.

Cons

Load time for the software. Restrictions on CRQ update post approval. Lack of seamless CMDB integration.

July 2015

Ryan from LMC

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

July 2015

ITSM out of the box or tailored, Remedy will get you there.

BMCs Remedy platform has long been a core in service desks everywhere. "Platform" is the proper term, not "application". Most people hear Remedy and think 'help desk tickets'. While this is certainly the heritage and one of the strongest things Remedy does, it barely scratches the surface. Remedy ITSM provides an out of the box ITIL based solution ready to run by any organization that needs or wants to employ full lifecycle management for services. It is not just 'tickets' any more. Everything from baseline (Change) management, Problem Management, Release Management, to full Asset Management can be done in the ITSM suite out of the box. Just fill in the basics of your organization and you are good to go (this isn't a small task mind you, thinking out how to layout the organization in the beginning will leverage even more from the platform in the long run - a smart plan would be 3 months at least). Add to it BMC discovery (ADDM) and you have live asset data to feed Incidents, Change, and Assets. As your organization matures, customization to do just about anything you can think of in a 'ticket' fashion is possible. Recent updates in the core of the platform have made preservation of customization much easier - something that had been very difficult in the past. So whether you need ITIL from the start or have custom ideas to develop, the Remedy platform can handle it all.

March 2016

Lenny from Consultant Department

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

March 2016

Primary consultant in installing, configuring, customizing, health checks, and custom training.

PRO: ITSM is an easy application to work with as long as training is provided beforehand to the customers. CON:Too many End Users are not using the full capability of the product as they are not taught the finer pieces of using the tool to help in their daily business. PRO: The product provides a lot of detailed connections to information that is helpful in performing one's responsibilities, making business decisions with correct information, running valid reports, and keeping an eye out for the customer based on the backend capabilities. PRO/CON: The applications are constantly changing based on the cosmetic capabilities and functionality provided; however, the past couple of updates has not been a major change to the End User's way of performing their work, which has been very helpful. Moving from one version to another makes it difficult for customers to jump on the bandwagon of changes as they took 12 to 18 months to get to the next to the highest version possible. So to move to the latest version is not a very smooth transition and results in insignificant down time for the customer. But the products are great to work with and provides all the necessary options available for the companies to be successful. CON: The challenge is getting the End Users to use the tool correctly and to use it based in its fullest capabilities.

June 2019

User Profile Picture

Srishti from Cisco

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Great Tool

Pros

This tool is very helpful in managing alerts & can be nicely sync with monitoring tools.

Cons

I never faced any issues & used this in my previous organization too.

December 2018

Greg from Medical Devices

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Works nicely as an incident management system

Pros

Simple to use, nice interface, and helps me keep on top of all of my incoming and in progress jobs. I think once the SLA's are properly defined then it will check a lot of the boxes for ITIL standards.

Cons

As mentioned. If the SLA's are not configured properly then you can feel as if you are underperforming until you read that your SLA was breached at 4 in the morning on a Sunday. Also the change request can be cumbersome if you have not used the process previously.

December 2018

Mati from CapGemini

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Remedy ITSM

Pros

Organizes your incidents and changes. Allows you to search history and run customized queries.

Cons

Customization is complex and costly. Should be easier.

January 2015

Howard from Cox Enterprises

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

January 2015

Great backend and with MyIT/SmartIT a better product

Having played with ITSM since the 5.x days, and the 7.x release since the beta, I have always felt that this product is the leader that other companies would rip off. The backend of ITSM cannot be beat by any vendor, one can almost make it do anything and captor any data, any manager could use in a report. For example we have BPPM and BAO, tied to our ITSM system. So we auto-create, auto-rout and even auto-close incidents. ADDM populates our CMDB, so can keep track of what is in our environment. I wonder what is out there that can do all of that seamlessly. However, the long standing issue with ITSM is how complicated it was and still is. Not just to install, but to use. The first versions had mutable pages of data that needed to be entered, just to create an incident. As the product matured the number of data items reduced, however, not to the degree that our customers needed or wanted. The first attempt to reduce this was SRM. However, way too many SRD (service requests) were created without thinking of the end user. This is where MyIT (for the end user) and SmartIT for the support user came in. Having been playing with MyIT for a few months and a much shorter time on SmartIT, these two items will be what now gives a great backend a face one could love.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Great IT Support Tracker

We are using this tool to manage all report for each user that is requesting assistance from IT support by creating a ticket. They are are to copy all relevant information about the issue that users is experiencing with the device and any of the peers from IT support can go directly to the users that is facing the problem and provide the correct support. We already know what we need to have in order to solved users issue since there is an initial description for that. We can also track who has resolved previous ticket and easily provide report and have a history for each of electronic product we internally provide support on the company.

Pros

► We can easily track all tickets resolved. Also, track any particular behavior in case we face any bug or virus on multiple users reporting the same issue. ► Easy categorization for tickets.

Cons

► GUI looks pretty slow. ► Sometime users report some slowness in the tool and this affects users experience. ►There are a few fields mandatory that for some users are annoying since there is no like an option for a quick ticket to report a particular emergency that wants our support ride away.

May 2020

Martin from CGI

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

Enterprise ITSM solution

Remedy is an enterprise solution that scales with the size of the company. It offers a lot of options to comply to the services and processes within the company. BMC was many years the market leader regarding ITSM. However they are by passed by there competitors. Due to this BMC is moving to their new Helix platform. That is future ready and offers a modern look and feel.

Pros

The scalability and options available that the application offers.

Cons

Too many screens/pop-ups that a user needs to work through before they can work with the application and put in their comments and remarks.

Reasons for Choosing BMC Helix ITSM

We use multiple solutions from BMC, combining all these into one contract is more beneficial for the total volume and the overall pricing.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Gopi from Park Place Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

You need a better designer

Pros

This software allows you to log tickets and assign to groups.

Cons

If the person, i mean the designer does not know what he/she is doing and does not cater to your needs, then it is going to be a pain.

January 2015

Chris from Transamerica

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

January 2015

Remedy

I have been a user of Remedy for about 14 years and have done integrations for the past 10 with products like Atrium Orchestrator and Opalis. Remedy is a very powerful forms tool that is extremely customizable. Performance can vary widely based on load. It complements an ITIL approach or organization very well. Of the products that I have used, it is certainly the most complex, but also the most feature rich. The issues that I have with it are mainly in two areas. Upgrades are difficult and very time consuming especially if there have been several customizations done. Depending on how these customizations were implemented, each one may have to be redone post upgrade. The second major issue is the user interface itself. I have heard it described as being written by developers for developers. When first exposed, many things are not intuitive and require "end user training" to stay consistent. I hope that this is enhanced and streamlined in future releases as I find the user experience lacking. Overall, I am pleased with the Remedy ITSM product from a user and integration prospective. It does what we need it to do, and we get good support. Products can always be streamlined and user experiences continue to evolve.

October 2016

nitzan from MedOne

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

manageing IT with Remedy Force

i have been using Remedy Force to manage all of my IT organisasion (incident and Service request for some weeks. the system is very easy to use and offerces a self service portal and knowladge managment that are very usefull to my costumers. the reporting system is very good and allows me to pull out top heaters and known issues that i can escalaite to my IT org

Pros

good reporting system, easy to use, many 3th party apps and add-ons

Cons

encoding issues with hebrew

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Use of remedy

its useful for the team to efficiently place tickets without the hassle of going through paperwork

Pros

What I like most about remedy is that Im able to place tickets Ina orderly fashion and im able to search through old tickets that relate

Cons

N/A

Displaying 1 - 50 of 111 reviews