All BMC Helix ITSM Reviews

1-25 of 114 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Timothy

Verified reviewer

Higher Education

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Complete Helpdesk and IT service management solution

It is a single repository/database for incidents, assets, change requests and knowledge You can easily track old tickets as well as you can figure out the approval chain, pending tickets and followup on tasks done and has to be done.

PROS

We upgraded to cloud based Remedy system which saved us the hassle of supporting the solaris server. Web-based and integrated with SSO solution The software is highly customizable. BMC's customer support are very responsive. All branches of IT department use it for incident management, change management, asset management and knowledge management. The approval workflows are easy to set and update.

CONS

customization of the application was a very long process specially if you need to use the most of it. But once it is running, it is worth the pain.

Shayne

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed August 2015

Used it for 3 years in our corporation now and it has been great for tracking change and incidents

Enterprise level, very powerful software which is very easy to use. As of Remedy 7.6x, you can make your own customizations to the application or even create applications of your own with their customized Eclipse tool. While a lot of OOTB features worked very well for us, we still needed the ability to customize and create our own forms and processes or even the ability to perform automation and self-service with other applications. Some items the learning curve is not bad at all and customizations can be added with little to no effort. Whereas others have taken quite a long time to develop and troubleshoot. One such customization which we developed was the ability to have placeholder templates for Change, Incident, Work Order and Tasks where we pass through variables via the SRM and it dynamically generates and populates the ticket with this information. We have full date automation, dynamic Task generation and the ability to dynamically modify the template on the fly based on the answers that the user passes through via SRM. So instead of multiple templates which are served based on "if-then" answers in the Process Definition, we have a single template which then gets massaged based on the user's answers. This customization took a decent amount of time to complete, but it reduced the amount of time of SRM and template rework to almost nothing. Of course with such customization, there are always risks of breaking existing workflow or failure during an upgrade. So when we upgraded fro 7.6.04 to 8.1, it took a solid month of work to check each and every form, active link, filter, etc to make sure that things worked with the new upgrade. But BMC's tools helped reduce both the time and work it took to get the kinks worked out and we had all of our environments upgraded and without the need to call in expensive consultants to assist with it. As with any piece of software, there are always going to be issues. However, we have found that 9.5 out of 10 times we contact BMC for support, their staff is more than knowledgeable and have us up and running again in short order. BMC's Remedy ITSM Suite is a great piece of software and VERY flexible to meet the most demanding of situations. After being a Remedy Administrator for 3 years, I can say without hesitation that it is well worth the price and would be a welcomed addition to any I.T. department.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Great IT Support Tracker

We are using this tool to manage all report for each user that is requesting assistance from IT support by creating a ticket. They are are to copy all relevant information about the issue that users is experiencing with the device and any of the peers from IT support can go directly to the users that is facing the problem and provide the correct support. We already know what we need to have in order to solved users issue since there is an initial description for that. We can also track who has resolved previous ticket and easily provide report and have a history for each of electronic product we internally provide support on the company.

PROS

► We can easily track all tickets resolved. Also, track any particular behavior in case we face any bug or virus on multiple users reporting the same issue. ► Easy categorization for tickets.

CONS

► GUI looks pretty slow. ► Sometime users report some slowness in the tool and this affects users experience. ►There are a few fields mandatory that for some users are annoying since there is no like an option for a quick ticket to report a particular emergency that wants our support ride away.

Jacqua

Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Overall Adequate Functionality

Remedy enables our organization to track incidents and change requests in a single system of record.

PROS

I like that change requests can be linked to incidents and tasks. This is very helpful when quantifying impact.

CONS

Reporting is quite difficult, at least in our organization. Also extracting data is not easy and adding additional fields to assist with data analysis of incidents does not appear to be easy to accomodate.

Reasons for switching to BMC Helix ITSM

Organizational decision.

User Profile

Jose

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

All-in-one asset management under a single app

We have consolidated all our ITOM operations under a single app, readily accessible across the organization.

PROS

Remedy Asset Management handles the complete IT lifecycle of endpoints and IT devices in general. What makes it more comprehensive is that, unlike other asset managers, it includes literally the COMPLETE lifecycle, including non-IT processes such as Procurement, Inventory, up to Depreciation and EOL (decommission or disposal). Being part of the BMC Remedy family, it also seamlessly integrate and expadn its capabilities with other related products such as Remedy ITSM and Remedy CMDB. Having said that, what I Iike most of it is the integration of all ITAM (IT Asset Management) steps in a single suite, and the representation, mapping and auditing of all assets in a single place. Normally you would resource to several different tools to achieve this.

CONS

One thing definitely open to imporvement is the reporting module. The reporting module could be definitely improved to add more options of building and scheduling reports.

User Profile

shaik

Verified reviewer

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

One of best tool that tracks the status of the tickets that are being raised as part of request

PROS

The remedy tool is very cool and helpful in tracking the problem resolution status on various tickets that are being raised. It keeps holds of all the members that are being worked on this it provides us the space to comment on the satisfactory level of problem resolution.Overall this has a very powerful features like tracking the status of year back old tickets and it has graphical representation of the ticket status.The BMC is linked with various MNC's who are using this now.

CONS

There is nothing least about this but if BMC can concentrate on the UI make the components which are required keep available on the screen which are not much needed please locate them in seperate location and help us in navigating to it

User Profile

Prachi

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Essential and User Friendly Tool used for ticketing purpose

Best Ticketing tool for business purpose. Gives us wide range of options to customize from. breadth of services. Easily understandable Can generate reports according to requirement Able to link tickets to one another easily

PROS

Able to create. update, resolve tickets easily Able to calculate SLA. Good process work flow Able to link Incidents to problem and change requests

CONS

Too many fields are needed to be filled up for raising a ticket, thus its a bit time consuming for us.

User Profile

Razvan

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Works OK, but has some flaws

I used Remedy in the last 3 years to process automatic generated incidents and changes. Overall it was a good experience, but you always have the feeling that you are using an older, obsolete software.

PROS

- A lot of features and options. - Good (logical) interconnections between fields/tables etc

CONS

- The user interface could be better - Some unexpected errors - Horrible web interface (e.g.: multiple scroll bars in the same window, sub-windows larger than the screen size)

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Remedy Review

Remedy hasn't been the best service management software I have used, but it's also not the worst. Cluttered, very unfriendly to new users, slow, and overall lacking features that other software provided

PROS

Gives users a lot of power to view cases and different tickets.

CONS

Cluttered interface. Cannot have multiple cases open at once. Cannot have multiple comments open at once. Not user friendly and too many hard stops.

Bradley

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Robust but Ruthless

PROS

Remedy encompasses almost anything and everything you would need in an ITSM solution. Feature rich to the core.

CONS

There is somewhat of a learning curve here. Training is not only suggested but STRONGLY suggested

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2018

Enterprise Incident and Change Tracking Software

PROS

Remedy works well in modern web browsers which is something anyone can appreciate. Specifically browsers that handle advanced web applications well such as Google Chrome. The general layout is relatively intuitive and a lot of organizations will use their development framework to customize.

CONS

The application feels extremely bloated even for a web application. I find myself often spending more time waiting for a screen to load than I do resolving the issue, documenting the incident, or logging the change request.

Felipe

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2020

Support tool for acting demands and sla compliance

We use to receive incidents identified by customers or other T.i teams

PROS

It is a system that covers many features. The fact that having interface with other systems facilitates the delivery of the protocol and completion within the time limit of the incident

CONS

It has many errors, from the need to be used via the web, such as problems in scripting, execution and timeout.. Serious problems that make the tool a bad work mechanism

Adnan

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Decent SD tool

Room for improvement for User experience and interface for making it simple to new or non technical work force

PROS

Decent Service desk tool for logging, tracking and monitoring of incident, change and problem tickets in a IT service management environment

CONS

It could be more user friendly and intuitive in terms of the user interface and user experience for non technical workforce who are new to ITSM or service desk environment.

Leo

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

A Mediocre Solution

Although Remedy works, there are much better options out there.

PROS

What Remedy has going for it is the ability to scale upwards to the nth degree. It does that well and allows external emails to be sent to other services.

CONS

It is a slow system and it takes loads of patience to work with. It isn't very forgiving with mistakes either.

Murtaza

Information Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Remedy the best ticketing tool

I am using this tool from last 7 years and happy with this ticketing tool.

PROS

Its very nice tool for logging ticket and raising incident. Change, outage management can be used with remedy. Its best and most used in IT industry

CONS

its typically slow. It should be fast to use like Jira. rest all feature are very good

Rekha

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Nice product, however out of the box options are not ready solutions available

I use it for Ticketing sytem of IT services,

PROS

module wise purchasing options, good cost wise, however this allows us to buy only specific modules, which might not give complete ITSM work module

CONS

The look doesnt seem catch at times. Remedy on Premise doesnt allow easy reporting.

Megha

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

Easy ticket management tool

PROS

Service tickets made easy to handle. Managing SLA and teaching incident is very easy Changes and incidents can be handled without any fuss

CONS

Initial mapping is bit hectic. Takes lot of time for higher queues

Kelly

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

Reviewed January 2015

Remedy ITSM - Kelly's view point

Pros - * Consistent UI makes it easy to navigate. * Fully ITIL Compliant and easy to explain how using SMPM * Easily customizable to meet company needs and business processes * Data driven configuration/business rules allows for less customization to need to be done * Data load capabilities are getting stronger * Default configuration of system variables works for 90% of companies * Continues to add new sizzle in each release Cons - * No end to end data model so when you do have to do a configuration or customization change you don't know all the places impacted * Limited Mobility solution - ability to show reports/charts on mobile devices. I think Smart Reporting in 9.0 will help with this. Ability to work tickets - you have Smart IT for the Service Desk. We need it for the resolvers. * Upgrade is a bear if you have done any customizations. * No support for multiple overlays. Unisys has done a lot of overlays for our improvements. If a customer wants to change something then it goes in our overlay, not a second level overlay. Consequently, when we do an update to our overlay, their customization goes away. Overall General Impression - Remedy ITSM is the most feature complete yet flexible tool on the market. Time to implement is far less with Remedy than the competitors. The open ability to integrate is a huge plus because in today's world everyone wants all the tools form multiple vendors to work together.

Ryan

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE