All Explorer Eclipse Reviews

1-25 of 45 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Ethan

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Very Well Thought-Out Application

PROS

I use Eclipse for automated Selenium testing with Java and I love the multitude of features created to make the software development process as simple as possible. Imports are a snap, for example: just enter a method from a given library and the import statement is added for you. Move a class from one package to another & Eclipse updates the package in the file automatically. Setting breakpoints for debugging is easy & intuitive. The list goes on.

CONS

I'm still using Kepler, which works fine, but I'd be interested in upgrading to the latest version. However, I don't want to simply delete the whole application and replace it wholesale with the latest version. I know there's a way to do a piecemeal upgrade, but I'm not clear on the steps. It would be nice if that were clearer. Other than that, I can't really think of anything that qualifies as a negative.

Kevin

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Robust system with flexibility

PROS

Eclipse provides a very detailed project costing system that provides great analysis from the field to the office. They have improved the financial reporting and drill down functionality significantly from previous Explorer software packages. It allows for equipment utilization reports, job cost reporting and other functions. Eclipse has many modules to choose from and allows you to purchase what you need and add more later.

CONS

Eclipse is somewhat complex in the setup and I would ensure that your company has someone with a background in system implementations to ensure the product is setup the way you desire. Depending on your location they do not necessarily have local support to help with the implementation and the costs to cover travel are pretty high.

Mona

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2022

Be Prepared to Spend Most of Your Time Problem Solving Instead of Doing Your Job

2021 had over 100 support tickets sent due to absolutely ridiculous errors that shouldn't exist... with incredible amounts of wasted time asking for follow-ups and resolutions to the problems because there were rarely responses. And when responses were received, it was often 'this will be corrected in the next software update', which only happen monthly (and not done by the company... you have to update it yourself), so sometimes it would be a month after fighting for resolution before the issue was resolved. then when it was updated, that problem would be fixed, but something else major would break. Many of the things that the company [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was told would be no problem to handle in this system simply do not exist: - Construction specific burdens - Customization was not required, so all updates would be seamless - Workflows in all modules - Integration with Aimsio Do not waste your time, money or effort with this software. It is not user-friendly at all unless you know how to program; I have used this in 3 different companies now, and it has never once worked properly.

PROS

Cloud-based Absolutely nothing else about this program

CONS

AR - does not produce invoice PDF, must be created outside the system - does not allow a workflow even the option is there to do so - holdback invoices do not add GST when released... a JE is required to correct this AP - Invoice register took over 3 months of issue resolving on Eclipse's end in order to function properly, and every update, something that worked fine previously breaks - Subcontractor 'Pay-When-Paid' module is so convoluted it is impossible to use Payroll - A Construction Management software that does not have a Small Tools or any other useful construction burdens available to use. Pointless. - Unable to see unit numbers attached to employee's time or vise-versa - T4 setup is able to be manipulated, so if someone doesn't set it up correctly or makes changes in error, you are serioulsy hooped when you get your PIER report GL - Never in my life have I used a system that manages to put a Trial Balance out of Balance... but this one is great at that!

Kunal

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Good Solution to Enterprise Product Development

PROS

I have been using eclipse for a while for J2SE Development using Java Entity Beans and I found out the following pros Of Eclipse. 1.) It is very easy to use and is very less resource hungry as compared to other Development IDE's 2.) It supports Development languages such as C++,Java,JavaScript. 3.) It can be use by both novice and professionals to develop the rich applications. 4.) It comes with various themes and also has feature of auto completion in the Coding Editor. 5.) Window Builder Library of Eclipse seems to be very useful for developing good Desktop applications.

CONS

Since it is an Open Source Project, It is updated frequently which is very annoying at least for me, because of high Internet Usage. It has less Customer Support as Compared to Other Development IDE's.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Eclipse Review

my work is mainly with JAVA, so eclipse has helped me to easily deal with the daily development of my coding activities since it is based precisely on Java

PROS

I like eclipse as ide because it easily shows the errors and possible solutions to the most common ones, as well as easy to implement testing tools

CONS

There are times when Eclipse is not able to correctly describe errors to different from other IDEs.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2017

this is the best out there?

PROS

Supposedly - the best for distribution - with regards to forcasting, purchasing, inventory, email, ftp, flat files, reporting is good - if you can figure out how to get the data out. most users / companies can't or spend years trying to ....

CONS

1. company has been bought and sold many times in 15 years. Each time the new company tries to squeeze its users so the new company can implement cost savings and pay for their acquisition. ie outsourcing their customer service reps to other countries without having any training. so until you escalate and waste time, you don't get the question/issue resolved until you wind up back with some cust. service agent in America. 2. lacks automation. There are so many software companies popping up that automate sales and purchasing tasks, eclipse relies on Q's and user interactions instead of rules. 3. Not flexible in they SOP's you have to conform or your doing it wrong. 4. any mod is 10k plus - (if they even have time to quote you -) 5. you can't get much outside help for it - not too many people know universe databases or PIC programming language. 6. I could go on but I won't, is not a good look for a business. 7. very expensive.

User Profile

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Not as Intuitive as I'd Like

My overall experience with Eclipse has been mediocre. Once I learned to use the system in all of the areas needed for my workplace, it became much easier to navigate and understand. Learning the system was somewhat of a challenge for me, as I was new to the construction field and I had to use step by step instructions repeatedly until it became second nature. So, the issue is not with the software itself, it is a combination of my lack of knowledge of the field and being a new employee with the company. Once I learned all the steps and used it regularly, it became much easier to use as expected.

PROS

I like the amount of information you can view; how you can add and remove columns to include the data that you need and remove the data you do not need.

CONS

I dislike that the software does not seem to be very intuitive. In order for me to learn to use the software, I had to use step by step instructions, as many of the features and fields were not obvious as to what they are used for and what they can do. I also dislike that there are many visible fields in data entry areas that were to be left blank and I would have liked to see those fields completely removed to eliminate confusion when first learning to use the system.

Della

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2017

Eclipse Review

We have used this software for years. With recent upgrades, several modules have not been user friendly, do not provide the functions as sold and support doesn't have proper training to provide assistance as required.

PROS

Has a lot to offer for our scope of work.

CONS

Not user friendly, several modules have a lot of glitches that cannot be a "quick fix". Too many issue have to be sent to programming and researched which leaves a client "hanging" and unable to move forward until it is researched and eventually fixed

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Decent IDE. Good SVN/MVN integration

PROS

Solid SVN/MVN integration. As a new developer, it helps me zero in on where my mistakes are. Would recommend it to less experienced developers. Strong community support helps with the learning curve.

CONS

Intellisense can be glitchy at times. Not the IDE of choice for Android developers. Takes a while to get the hang of managing numerous plugins and extensions.

Darren

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

Reviewed May 2016

Explorer - Professional Services

For more than 15 years in my previous position as director of information services for a large multinational construction group, I led our team that was responsible for implementing and maintaining 'Explorer'. The product has always been fundamentally very good, with plenty of functionality that is for the most part very intuitive. I have given many recommendations over the years on behalf of the software. For a small construction company, there is more functionality and timely support than you'll ever need. For medium to large sized companies, I believe you need to invest more into the product than the relatively low-cost initially paid for the software to get the most out of your initial investment and to optimize your efficiency with the software. Explorer is like most ERP's where the software gets more complicated the more that users demand additional functionality. There are also a multitude of hidden features and functionality intended for various scenarios and customizations are relatively easy and commonplace unlike other large ERP providers. Every construction company has its own environment and unique needs requiring professional services to make the software fit your requirements. You need experts to make the product fit seamlessly into your operation and have your staff focus on their jobs rather than focus on the software. Contact me to for more information about my vast experience with the software and how professional services can make Explorer the ERP solution you always hoped for.

Thomas

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Our move to Eclipse

Our experience has been good. There are always problems with software, no matter what software one uses, but our problems have been minimal.

PROS

It provides for all our accounting needs. Explorer is continually improving the product.

CONS

Explorer's history started as a software supplier to the Canadian construction market so some of their terms are Canadian, not American, but really it is not a big deal and provides some amusement to us users on occasion.

Reason for choosing Explorer Eclipse

We first chose Viewpoint but after a difficult implementation and then serious support problems, we switched.

Reasons for switching to Explorer Eclipse

Viewpoint purchased StreetSmarts and did away with the product. We were very happy with StreetSmarts but we were forced to make a move.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on Explorer Eclipse!

Replied June 2024

Jennifer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2023

RUN!

One of the worst experiences ever. I initially paid for our product to be upgraded in August and we are now in November, and it still is not complete. I have literally been waiting on them to "fix bugs" since August. I have reached out several times asking where we are at with the project only to be told that they will look into it, and no one ever gets back to me.

PROS

I wish I could say that there is a pro, but I have yet to see it.

CONS

Customer service is AWFUL. There is absolutely no education regarding the product, and they just assume that you know how to use it. If you have trouble you have to create a ticket and they send you a related article to read to figure it out yourself, but we pay over $9,000.00 a year for support. That's not my idea of support.

Reason for choosing Explorer Eclipse

We purchased the company and it already had explorer; the previous owner warned me about how terrible they are. We brought an accountant onboard and when I reached out to explorer to purchase another user license, I was told that they would not sell me another user license unless I upgraded the system. So, feeling forced to so to get our accountant in the system I upgraded, and the upgrade is not complete after 3 months. It has literally been a nightmare.

Marc

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2024

MSE Review

At first was alot of work but now seems to be working great

PROS

I like that it has a Mobile Version that i can use on my iPhone

CONS

WE had to do alot of modifications , but after that it seems to be working great .... The next thing we have to look at is the Mobile version to be more (( Easy to use for our Site foreman's ))

Reasons for switching to Explorer Eclipse

more functionality across departments

Karen

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2022

Poor Support - Broke Company

HORRIBLE Support is the worst. There are monthly one-sided journal entries and weird bugs that month end is a joke. Don't use this software if you have a deadline. Its disgusting how poorly the place is run. They break something and then they expect you, the customer, to fix it in your "spare time". Make sure you hired few extra people if you want this product. They can handle the daily breakdowns.

PROS

We already have this software implemented

CONS

Everything else... Mainly the people. Training staff know less than me. Support is almost non-existent. They are so dirt poor they cant staff their company properly so there is never anyone available.

Deanna

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Good Windows based construction accounting software

PROS

The program is very user friendly and easy to navigate.

CONS

Some components are not as integrated as our previously used construction software

Reason for choosing Explorer Eclipse

Because we were familiar with their products and customer service

Reasons for switching to Explorer Eclipse

Program became obsolete and was not windows based

Vendor Response

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your experience using Explorer Eclipse!

Replied June 2024

Sean

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

Explorer Eclipse User Review

Our company migrated from a legacy product to Eclipse. We are a heavy highway contractor with multiple asphalt plants and quarry/crushing operations. This process, as with any large change, came with its own set of problems. We had AP, AR and a large Materials Handling division to bring online. Eclipse staff lead us through this with minimal pain. We needed several modifications to just about every module to suit our specific needs and Eclipse stepped up and helped us get everything we needed.

PROS

Eclipse has a pretty solid web based platform that allows for significant user oriented customization. Their business analytics/custom inquiries are top notch. Users have an array of tools at their disposal for data retrieval and reports. Eclipse has an implementation and support staff that has no rivals. They will work with you until its right! Need a modification? Well Eclipse can take care of those as well, large or small. The needs of the customer are a high priority with the staff. Data entry in any module of the software is easy and very intuitive.

CONS

Setup can be a brute, but with that being said, the implementation team/support staff will guide you through the process. The menu tree is a little overwhelming at first. But again, with easy menu customization that problem is solved.

Rohit

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Eclipse- One IDE which i used for Coding since 4+ years

I have been using this tool/IDE for my development stuff of automating test cases since more than 5 years I have seen lot many features and updated versions which help development task very smoothly also it support various types of projects .

PROS

One of the best IDE used across various Software Engineer and I am used to it as it has various good features The User interface is good enough to code in a style . Warnings and errors populated are very helpful while debugging the code . Has support to integrate using different plugin

CONS

For a beginner installation of eclipse and importing project with appropriate libraries inserting into code and various other sometime becomes a tedious ,rest its nice tool

Kululwa

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2024

Ecliptic experience

PROS

I enjoyed mostly progress billing functionality. How it takes into account every little detail from inception to date, it made it easy to track and review performance on the spot.

CONS

cash management is the least favorite, due to the fact that there is no integration option between bank and eclipse which translate to manual processing of bank entries.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Explorer Eclipse!

Replied June 2024

Rich

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Great Support Team

PROS

In addition to liking the software, we really love the support we receive whenever we have a general question or need a problem resolved. The Eclipse staff is very prompt and professional in all of their support for this product.

CONS

The initial setup takes some time and commitment, but it is well worth it once completed.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Explorer Eclipse!

Replied June 2024

Janet

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE