What are HootBoard users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using HootBoard software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.79

19 Reviews

5
15
4
4
3
0
2
0
1
0
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It is very easy to use - from initial startup to creating posts each day."
  • icon"The customer service is really helpful, and the ease of posting is fantastic. Simply put in an image and a few words and it is beautifully displayed for our students."
  • icon"Ease of Use and Functionality - the user interface looks great and it is easy to manage."
  • icon"The connection to post from soial media has limitations and seemingly shoule be available without a 3rd party and additional fees (zapier)."
  • icon"The email with the weekly posts does not display properly in Outlook. The screen updates from mobile are delayed compared to desktop updates."

Jump to:

Browse all HootBoard Reviews

  • Have you used HootBoard and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 19 of 19 reviews

User Profile

Marcelle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great product with even better support

The kiosk setup was easy and adding content to the backend was pretty smooth too. Our customers seem to really appreciate the interactivity and dynamic display.

Pros

Working for a unique business, it was very difficult to find a product versatile enough to meet all of our needs. HootBoard is not only easy to use but can be made to work for a variety of different use cases which was perfect for our team. We use the interactive kiosk and the TV screens, and both the front end and back end experiences were great.

Cons

Since HootBoard is a new company there are a few minor bugs in the software. But for every issue that we ran into the support team was available and ready to help us find a solution.

Reasons for switching to HootBoard

We formerly used a WordPress site that functioned as a slideshow on our TV screens. The content was difficult to adjust and the screens weren't eye-catching enough.

Scott

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Simple, elegant, powerful digital signage

We needed a better, faster way to share content across the org at multiple locations and in an engaging, creative way. HootBoard checks all those boxes and then some. Implementation was very easy, support is always timely, HootBoard listens to and acts upon feature/bug requests, and I have only positive things to say about them/the product. We've gone from our initial purchase of one kiosk to 6 displays and as long as they keep up with the stiff digital signage competition, this will only continue to grow. We also recommend this product to our clients that need a simple digital signage solution.

Pros

Being able to very quickly and easily upload just about any type of content to a distributed network of HootBoards, including touch capable and non touch displays, ensures we're constantly putting up new content. A low barrier to use/administer is essential to user uptake and appreciation.

Cons

Expensive hardware that's essentially off-the-shelf kiosks. But the software is what makes this product so that can be forgiven.

Charlotte

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Great customer service!!! Easy to use platform for communicating with a wide audience.

Pros

User friendly for posting a myriad of events/items/announcements. Nice display of posts. Loved offering to members to contribute.

Cons

A few features had hiccups or took time to iron out - i.e. events disappearing after they occurred. Would love to know a character count so copy doesn't get cut off.

Ian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Big Kid Ipad

I would rate my experience as very good with the board, the techs, and support staff. They are always all helpful and quick to respond.

Pros

I like this software because it makes it simple to post resident events and deals in the local area that our residents can view as they get their mail and packages after work. This allows them to see what is going on in the area, building, and what we can offer them outside of just a typical apartment rental.

Cons

Sometimes there are functionality items that I would like to add, but it is only link based instead of open applications.

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Very functional communication board

The Hootboards have been great to help our company with internal communications. One of the best parts of HootBoard is their customer service, we have run into a few speed bumps along the way and we have been able to call or email directly to our rep who has personally helped us through each of the small issue.

Pros

Ease of Use and Functionality - the user interface looks great and it is easy to manage. We have several kiosks in multiple buildings and it is nice that we can add and update items one time and it will post to all the kiosks. No more walking and driving around to different buildings to hang up flyers and signs.

Cons

One difficulty we had was not necessarily with the software, but we had a hard time at first getting connected to our work's network. Mostly just finding an appropriate way through the network firewall, once we resolved that issue the Hootboards have worked great!

Mary

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Conference Center Kiosk

Hootboard is very responsive to our requests and does their best to make everything right. We've had some pretty unique requests over the past year and they always respond willing and ready to help!

Pros

We love how easy Hootboard is to work with! If we ever have a request or suggestion they are on top of it! They do their best to accommodate our every request!

Cons

We wish it was easier to add our brochures, such as our Visitors Guide. That is the only thing we wish we could change!

Reasons for choosing HootBoard

Hootboard was the better option for price and look of the kiosk.

Response from HootBoard

Mary, Thanks for the review and we love to have you as part of the HootBoard community. As for the brochures like visitor guides, that might be already possible else we can discuss adding enhancements. Let's take that offline. - Satya

Replied May 2021

User Profile

Bethany

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Dynamite way to promote our department!

Pros

Love being able to quickly add events, tips, and tricks for our students! Our students can see the hoot board as soon as they walk in and it draws attention to our department that we did not receive before!

Cons

Nothing - i love it all! I wish we could have more of them and that I had more time to really dive deep and use all of the promotional tools available.

Barbara

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

It has been very positive!

Community building. Information sharing.

Pros

Very user friendly, and comes with great customer support. Our community loves it. I love the look of the board. It is wonderful that we can customize it. It is great that we can keep it within our community.

Cons

Can not delete hoots through the phone app. Accepting the invitation is a bit confusing to non-English speakers.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Hootboard has been a great tool for us to communicate to our students and community with ease.

Pros

The customer service is really helpful, and the ease of posting is fantastic. Simply put in an image and a few words and it is beautifully displayed for our students.

Cons

It takes a lot of promotion to get students to sign up for the platform, so the main use is usually for the visual display on the screens.

Tom

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Very cool kiosk!

Pros

Very modern way to replace a cork board! The setup was very easy.

Cons

Customer service can be better with call back.

User Profile

Nicole

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Exceptional tool for company communication. Fun, easy, effective way to communicate important news.

Pros

The software is super easy to use. Set up is quick and simple. Customer service is top notch. Customer service agents are quick to get back to you and always has a solution to your questions and is willing to help in any way he can.

Cons

I wish there was an easier way to post videos/video links. The board gets pretty jumbled pretty quickly with so many postings. There is a way to better organize that but it is separate from the software (excel spreadsheet) so that process could be improved upon.

Meghan

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

HootBoard Benefits Our Workforce and the Public

We've noticed citizens constantly stopping by to view the information the kiosk automatically displays, as well as manually scrolling to view other announcements and going to the different apps/widgets such as weather and directory to find out more info. Our employees are very impressed by it and use it also. Our workforce is proud to display this HootBoard.

Pros

I love the customer service. That is top notch, first of all. Every part from learning about the different options in the beginning to follow-ups and check-ins now that we're official has been great. They also listen to suggestions and have even added new features to match those suggestions and improve service. It's very easy to upload to HootBoard and easy to use the touchscreen kiosk we have in our City Hall lobby.

Cons

I didn't like how needy the wifi/ethernet connection is sometimes. We have to run an ethernet cable to it because there is no outlet in the location where it best satisfies our needs and wifi is not recommended by HootBoard for the machine as the machine cannot be depended on to stay connected.

Shawna

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Public Safety

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

We use HootBoard for internal communications at police headquarters. It is satisfactory.

Ease of sharing information with multiple staffers. Mobile app for updates from outside the office.

Pros

The functionality of the system and ability to use it on multiple platforms. The convenience of adding a variety of posts (events, news, etc.) with images & backgrounds to categorize info.

Cons

The app does not allow for the same updates as the desktop ( i.e. delete posts). The connection to post from soial media has limitations and seemingly shoule be available without a 3rd party and additional fees (zapier). The email with the weekly posts does not display properly in Outlook. The screen updates from mobile are delayed compared to desktop updates.

Brittany

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Simple and effective

Super simple to implement and utilize daily. Great platform to share company announcements and fun things around the office (that you wouldn't necessarily share via email ). Hootboard provides a unique platform to communicate.

Pros

It is very easy to use - from initial startup to creating posts each day. Also a great platform for sharing company announcements - things you may not always send an email about (like work anniversaries or birthdays) but want to share with the team.

Cons

I'd like more control over the screens that the Hootboard scrolls through while idle. I'd also like to be able to edit other admin's posts (as an admin).

Michael

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Condo Building Lobby

The biggest thing about the Hootboard is that it separates our building from other residential buildings. We don't have a typical corkboard for posting items for sale, neighborhood events, etc and this classes-up the Lobby tremendously. It's a very cool feature to show prospective buyers in the building.

Pros

The software is very user-friendly. I am able to post items in seconds and they are on the Board instantly.

Cons

No complaints - it really is very cool to use.

Dawn

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Easy to use internal comms platform

Pros

It looks great and is easy to use - for both admin and users. Our IT team were happy as system doesn't need access to our server. We were able to get the screens up and running pretty quickly and now have multiple screens in various locations at our head quarters. Contact support has been good for trouble shooting and queries.

Cons

We have chosen to have our own branding on our hoots which means we have to create a pdf/jpeg of the comms message before we post onto hootboard. We are hopeful that the hoots could be more customisable in the future.

Amber

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

DHL CVG Hub Board

I love the ease and display of this product. The customer service is excellent as well.

Pros

I love that you can control it from the PC

Cons

That it has to run off mifi/wifi - it disconnects often and has to be reset.

User Profile

Jono

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great Product That's Still Getting Better

We were looking for two things: a way to communicate internally with employees, and a way to highlight the work that we're doing for our clients, to potential customers. Hootboard does both, in a way that's intuitive and different than anything out there.

Pros

-Easy to Set Up -Easy to Use -Unique way to communicate with customers and employees -Very responsive support

Cons

-Could use more feature and customization, but that's getting better with every update

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

December 2018

Showing 1 - 19 of 19 reviews
HootBoard

HootBoard

4.79/5 out of 19 reviews
Learn More