Actionstep

RATING:

4.33

(119)

About Actionstep

Actionstep is a cloud-based legal practice management solution designed for growing and midsize firms. The integrated solution offers tools for managing cases, billing, invoicing and accounting as well as enables businesses to automate their workflow. Key functionalities include customer relationship management that helps to keep track of new as well as existing clients. A client-facing portal allows customers to log in to an online portal from where they can view their case related information, make payments, track deadlines and more. Users can also add customized file notes, schedule appointments, set tasks, generate documents and send emails from their dedicated portals. Actionstep also allows users to manage their accounting functions. Users can generate i...

Awards and Recognition

FrontRunner 2022
Software Advice's FrontRunners report ranks top products based based on user reviews, which helps businesses find the right software.

Actionstep Pricing

Actionstep is offered across three pricing plans, outlined below. Express: $49 per user/per month billed annually Practice Pro: $89 per user/per month billed annually Practice Pro+ Accounting: $99 per user/per month billed annually

Starting price: 

$89.00 per month

Free trial: 

Not Available

Free version: 

Not Available

Actionstep conveyancing
Slide 1 of 4

Actionstep Reviews

Overall Rating

4.33

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

Showing 1 - 5 of 118 reviews

User Profile

Natalie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2017

Our firm uses Actionstep's workflows to increase efficiency & deliver better value to our clients

We are able to increase efficiency & deliver better value to our clients because we have built automated tasks, checklists, templates, data collection, and deadlines at every step of the process. We know in advance which team member will complete the tasks, and we have peace of mind that nobody will miss anything. We can gather data about our files and make decisions based on real insight into our firm, rather than gut-based guesswork.

Pros

Actionstep allows you to build custom workflows that you can use to manage any aspect of your practice. We believe in workflows so much that we dedicated an entire podcast episode discussing our experience with another lawyer obsessed with workflows too. We have over 50 workflows that help us to structure processes within our tax-litigation files, as well as for administrative matters, such as asking for client testimonials. We give our team peace of mind that nobody will miss anything as we have built in automated tasks, templates, checklists, and deadlines at every step of the process. We can make sure that the most appropriate team member performs each task. The workflows are also a great resource to help train new team members because we created detailed descriptions of how to complete each task with links to our internal knowledge base to give team members additional support where needed. In addition to custom workflows, Actionstep also allows you to gather custom data so that we can make more informed decisions.

Cons

Actionstep is unique and sophisticated. However, Actionstep falls behind its competitors and is underdeveloped in some key areas, such as budgeting capabilities, template user experience, graphical displays, mobile applications, and reports. Prospective users should not underestimate the commitment and resources required to build workflows and implement Actionstep. Building workflows requires time, money and, most importantly, grit. Not everyone is ready to make this investment in the future of their firm. Although you can outsource the technology aspect of inputting the workflows to the system, you need people within your firm identifying the steps and tasks that you want to build into the system. We are a very process-driven law firm with a lean focus, so Actionstep is perfect for us, but if you aren't familiar with process mapping it can be a daunting task. When you get over the initial investment of mapping your processes, you will see first-hand how quickly Actionstep improves your firm's ability to grow and deliver better value to your clients. We hope that Actionstep will continue to develop its product to address its limitations and bugs. Actionstep has promised that it is working to address the concerns that our firm and other users raise in the LinkedIn user forum and UserVoice feedback. We hope that Actionstep continues to improve the product, and we look forward to more progress. If so, we expect to continue to use Actionstep for a very long time.

Leslie

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

A slower learning curve that completely pays off in the end

I love the app and highly recommend it. The integration between its web forms (you create forms in Actionstep then you just plug 'em into your site), the app, and documents is a huge time-saver. Although there is definitely a learning curve in the set-up, if you take your time to learn *how* it works, the logic will suddenly click in your brain and open up all the the possibilities for customization. It makes for an extremely efficient system in the end. One small warning: the creators are New Zealanders and so some of the English in the system and its documentation is not standard American--that may throw some folks. Me, I find it kind of a bonus (I studied linguistics so....). As of this writing, I've been using Actionstep for two months and actually enjoy running my practice now, which seems a happily odd thing to say.

Pros

Actionstep is very customizable, but you don't need a degree in coding to do it--just a little patience. I'm a solo, not a tech geek, but I set it up myself. Now, the integrations between web forms and the app and document creation and document management (connects with MS 365) save me so much time. I also love the (again, customizable) matter lists so that I can see at a glance where each of my cases is and what's coming up. It quite simply works.

Cons

The help section--the old user guide is still the most helpful thing (even though out of date for some things) but it takes some digging to find it. Also, I wish it did contingency fees more directly, but the work-around isn't bad. Finally, I really hate the help chat tool being always visible in the lower right. I'd rather go to a contact AS for help page than have that thing lurking there, but that's a minor complaint.

Reasons for choosing Actionstep

Customizability, details in financial reporting, and the integrations made Actionstep the winner.

Reasons for switching to Actionstep

I was sadly disappointed with ZolaSuite, which I had gone to in January 2019, after using Clio (Clio got too pricey and big-firm oriented for me--good app overall though). Its accounting modules had not worked correctly for months (they had been "working on it" since May... I gave up) but if your account balances are in error, why bother using an app? Luckily, I'm belt and suspenders when it comes to finances and so had all my accounts in another accounting app, as a back-up. This was after repeated email issues and problems if one uses Safari (Chrome is not a good browser if you like data privacy) and issues with its LawPay integration. While no app is perfect, the errors just became too numerous for me.

Response from Actionstep Software

Hi Leslie Thank you so much for your response. We are so happy to hear you have dived into Actionstep and made the most of its customizable features. Thank you for your feedback concerning the help section and the chat, we are gathering feedback and looking to make these work great for everyone. It is also fantastic to hear how you have been using integrations across Actionstep to help you transform how you run practice. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact our support team (support@actionstep.com) Thanks

Replied January 2020

Peter

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2022

Upsides: File Management Downsides: Software Bugs, Customer Service, Integrations, and Set-up Costs

Unfortunately, the customer service is not up to par of that of our previous software, expect to receive a response from their support team 24-48 hours after you have contacted them. They have never answered the phone when I've called for immediate support, so I've stop trying this and just email even though i feel like for the amount we are paying we should be receiving quicker support.

Pros

We like the matter dashboard a lot and it's probably the firms favorite feature since all the most important information is readily available.

Cons

INTEGRATIONS: If you're looking to switch to AS because of the integrations they offer make sure they actually work exactly how you intend them to. Lawpay: If you use lawpay their integration is useless since it only grabs new charges and does not include any past due amounts. I brought this up because we really wanted this to function, but we were told they would not fix the issue. InfoTrack - One of the reasons we switched to AS and they don't actually integrate in US, even though their website states they do... Outlook - The bottom bar of the desktop version may not bill the correct amount. I asked for this to be fixed since it's easier to use this bar than the right bar they have, but it's been over 9 months... BILLING: If you close your billing at the end of the month be prepared to manually enter Trust payments to allocate the funds on the closing date and not for the next billing cycle, since the automated billing will automatically post these payments on the date you are running them, not on the date which you wish will be allocated. Another feature I have brought up, but essentially fell on deaf ears. If you work with probate matters where you don't bill your time, so you input a $0 amount, and you have matters that weren't worked on for the month, you cannot filter out between the two, so you'll end up printing bills for all matters. This is something i asked to have fixed in July 2021 and have yet to hear back regarding a fix (3/3/22)

Reasons for switching to Actionstep

The our previous Client management software had a very poorly built practice management system, but had a really robust billing system

Response from Actionstep Software

Hi Peter, Thank you for your feedback. I have passed this on to our product team. I have also passed on your details to our Customer Success Manager who will reach out to you to find solutions for these pain points. Thanks, Matt

Replied June 2022

Nigel

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2021

Powerful and flexible practice management

I have used the product extensively over the last 5 years and would happily recommend it as a platform for legal practice management

Pros

I have used the product in a number of different law firms and have been involved in the setup for those firms. It is easy to use and easy to adapt to your own requirements

Cons

I have no adverse comments as I have not found any aspect of the software to fall short of what is needed

Reasons for choosing Actionstep

Cost and ability to make the system fit most law practice processes

Reasons for switching to Actionstep

Lexis Affinity was extremely expensive and had little flexibility when it came to template document creation and general flexibility

Response from Actionstep Software

Hi Nigel, Thank you for your response - Great to hear you have seen the benefit of our software across multiple firms. Should you have any feedback on the product, please do not hesitate to get in touch with our team. Thanks

Replied April 2022

Kimberly

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Best switch our office could have made

Everyone has gone above and beyond to make sure our team is thoroughly trained, and assures they are always a phone call away if ever we have questions. That kind of support is hard to find.

Pros

The ease of integration between Actionstep and Office software has been very useful. The two programs work seamlessly with each other.

Cons

The only con is the lack of an integration between Actionstep and Adobe software.

Reasons for switching to Actionstep

Time Matters crashed on a daily basis for us, leaving us vulnerable to losing our work.

Response from Actionstep Software

Hi Kimberly Thank you for the positive comments. We are glad you are enjoying our Microsoft Office integration. In an upcoming release, we are expanding its features even further. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact our support team (support@actionstep.com) Thanks

Replied January 2020

Popular Actionstep Comparisons