All Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions Reviews

1-25 of 38 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Mel

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Funeral Software -- Personal service at the speed of business

We are solving the value proposition of time. The less time we spend at the desk and doing repetitive tasks, the more time we spend with our client families and focusing on our businesses.

PROS

The user interface and web-based software allow our team to easily manage our client families both inside and out of the funeral home. We can now spend more time with our own families and still manage work remotely from anywhere. This software has improved our Customer Relationship Management and cut down on the time we spend printing documents, programs, and other custom forms. Having personal contact with programmers, customer service, and administration is something you won't find with the big software houses. We get detailed support and can influence the direction of the software by having close working relationships with the owners, developers, and designers.

CONS

Being a small shop sometimes means that new iterations come a little slower than the big software firms, but the flexibility and influence on the technical direction are still worth the wait. This is the best software on the market today -- period.

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

We've looked into or used almost everything on the market at some point. User interface design is something we focus on to improve our workflows and decrease repetition and time. Halcyon has the bests user interface to date on the market.

Reasons for switching to Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

A true web-based CRM specific for our industry was needed.

Vendor Response

Thank you Mel for your kind review. We are proud that Pennington Funeral Homes is using Halcyon software to continue to thrive and support families.

Replied June 2019

Matthew

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Funeral Software

PROS

The ease of using the software is great, and all the tools are there that we use daily.

CONS

Nothing that we can find everything seems to be running smoothly and at ease.

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

Gathering did not offer the account part of the software that was needed they where more live stream and website, and the price was by far greater than Halcyon.

Reasons for switching to Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

There system was not keeping up with Quickbooks and the updates where way behind, never could get support when needed, overall was not good for our business.

Caroline

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2022

Do your Reserach

I would recommend doing research and asking for a more through understanding of the program. I found the staff to be frustrated with me during the training sessions.

PROS

It seemed like a very helpful program. However once I signed up I was sorry to see the customer service was really dissapointing.

CONS

Customer Service was quick to respond. however I was having trouble with adaption to the software and I felt frustration by the administration. I ended up canceling my subscription and was told that the $500 was not refundable.

Reasons for switching to Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

I was not able to understand/adapt the program

Vendor Response

Halcyon is widely accepted as the easiest funeral home management software to use. On rare occasion a customer doesn't have enough confidence using the computer and cannot grasp the system. When that happens we go well beyond our commitment to get them going. That is the case here despite the heavily discounted setup fee that was charged. Our setup fee is nonrefundable and we set that expectation right up front. We also were not paid for several months' of service fees and custom work that was done. We remain confident we did all we could and we wish you nothing but the highest success going forward.

Replied February 2022

Brienna

Events Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Personal Staff and Easy to Use Service

Excellent, would suggest to other managers in the business and will continue using

PROS

Body tracking, customer support, forms list and customizable options.

CONS

Sometimes the communication about fees incurred is a vague.

Reasons for switching to Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

Different company, but I took the opportunity to seek elsewhere as soon as I could

David

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Elevating our operation with clean, easy to use and effective technology

Overall, it has been a nice experience. The capabilities that Halcyon provides gives us room to be more efficient, saving administrative time and producing our most important documents in the way that is needed in order to reflect the quality of our operation. Saving documents and being organized digitally is becoming more important every day. Halcyon provides a great solution for modern day problems in the death care industry.

PROS

The general case management and printed contracts were our biggest improvement operationally. The ability to get our entire staff consistent with our statements of goods and services and clean up the details of those was our biggest goal when moving to Halcyon. The integrations with ASD and Matthews-Aurora was nice features that made things easy and effective. Both of those organizations were already partners of ours, so it just made things easier for all of us. Our credit card processing is run through Halcyon's integrated partner. It has been a nice transition from an old terminal, and all transactions automatically post to the account, which saves time on data entry on purchases and payments.

CONS

Wrapping your head around the sophistication of this software is the hardest part when onboarding. It can be overwhelming to think of all of the features to utilize and what it would do to your organization. The best advise would be to prioritize your goals when onboarding, and compartmentalize a few of the highest priority goals to focus on. You can always expand to other features over time.

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

We chose Halcyon because of their ability and willingness to customize anything that we wanted tweaked from the beginning. They seemed to have a better understanding of the need to adjust certain documents, reports, etc. than other solutions. If they didn't understand, they didn't let us know that. They just listened to what was needed and why and made the changes. That was the biggest reason for us in choosing them over others, and it continues to be impressive with their ability to adapt and customize our experience and case management.

Steven

Individual & Family Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Halcyon

Halcyon overall has been a game changer for my business. I am able to easily access information from anywhere in the world on any device at the touch of a button or swipe of a finger. The platform exceeds our expectations and the constant (weekly/monthly) updates only make it better.

PROS

The ease of use and implementation is huge for my team. We were able to get the process running quickly with only a few hiccups that were technical in nature. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and his team were fair and responsive to our requests for help and continue to be. Quite simply, Halcyon does what it says it's going to do without a lot of extra frills and that is huge in my book. Having come from another cloud based solution, I could not imagine not using Halcyon at this point for my business.

CONS

There are a few things that would be nice. As mentioned earlier in this survey the ability to enter pre-need payments without having an account number would be huge for my business. The ability to manually edit some pre-filled information in some forms would be beneficial to me as well (CFF in particular). It would be helpful to me if the charitable donations would become a list so that we don't have to keep entering the same charity over and over. Social Security numbers could auto format. I would like to see integrations with aftercare.com and Ring Ring Marketing for their review tool.

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

Frankly, the ability to customize the platform to meet our specific needs at the touch of a button - or on the fly - and the simplicity with which Halcyon works. We liked [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and the price point as well. The testimonials from well respected firms in funeral service on the website sealed the deal for us.

Reasons for switching to Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

Funeral Tech's product did not meet our needs.

Vendor Response

Thank you Steven. We love having you as a customer. We will consider your suggestions too.

Replied February 2022

Shane

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Great software! Took our aftercare services to the next level.

As one of the most prominent and longest operating pet crematories in North America, Cal Pet has had the privilege of assisting thousands of pet parents with their beloved companions' aftercare services. For nearly 80 years, we have prided ourselves on connecting with clients and providing superior service with integrity and efficiency. When we needed to take our operations to the next level, we went with Halcyon, and are so glad we did. Our industry has become increasingly competitive and Halcyon’s software allowed us to fully embrace programming that, up until not that long ago, was only available to human mortuaries. We are eternally grateful to the Halcyon team for seamlessly integrating an extensive amount of data from our antiquated software. They welcomed feedback and generously provided customization of the software that made it much more applicable to our business and more user-friendly for our staff. In addition to the ample amount of standard features and capabilities, Halcyon engineers continuously announce new updates and features. If you’re an aftercare provider looking for software that can handle all of your business needs (and more), Halcyon is the perfect solution. Their software is constantly updating and adding new features, is intuitive and reliable, and is cost-effective. We at Cal Pet are thrilled to work with Halcyon, which is helping us assist our clients through a very difficult time in a more efficient and compassionate manner.

PROS

In addition to the ample amount of standard features and capabilities, Halcyon engineers continuously announce new updates and features.

CONS

We are eternally grateful to the Halcyon team for seamlessly integrating an extensive amount of data from our antiquated software. They welcomed feedback and generously provided customization of the software that made it much more applicable to our business and more user-friendly for our staff.

Dennis

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Very comprehensive and user friendly.

PROS

All of the information that we need, whether it is funeral or financial related, is easy for even the novice, computer savvy employee to navigate. When we enter information into one location it populates to all of the forms and/or reports that it applies too. We are able to have forms, that are specific to our company, uploaded into Halcyon to have them populate as well. Halcyon technical support, has been open to suggestions, when it comes the improving, changing, or modifying most things, to accommodate our needs.

CONS

We have a few of our locations that are producing all of the necessary forms for funeral arrangements, out of Halcyon. There are only a couple of small issues, regarding information for these forms, being in different areas. So, until our Funeral Directors and/or office staff become comfortable with the system, the families may have to wait a little longer for them to be printed for their signatures.

Vendor Response

Thank you Dennis for reviewing Halcyon! In an upcoming newsletter we will highlight how our system's customizing features allow you to hide fields so that those fields needed are more readily available.

Replied December 2017

Jeff

Alternative Dispute Resolution, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

A Diamond in the Rough

Halcyon is NOW a Great Solution. I has used it briefly back in 2009 and it was a real turd, so I tried multiple industry software solutions and never found one that was easy to use and did things “MY WAY”, so for the past 10 years we have used a multitude of spreadsheets to manage of 2 funeral homes. I was hesitant to try it again but after taking a second look, it’s an entirely different product.

PROS

The simplicity of screen layout and data organization is Great. The ability to create custom forms that automatically %%Include%% data from the case record makes our operation appear very professional. Having everything Cloud based makes instant access from my iPhone or iPad simple, anywhere in the world I am.

CONS

I can’t really think of anything that could be done better, simply because as we run across a “bug” or feature that could work better for us, a simple Help ticket to Support and Halcyon is on it and fixes it within days.

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

We desperately needed a single product to manage the business better to continue our growth. Halcyon now does that for us. It is not perfect, nothing really is, but I have used or reviewed everything else out there and Halcyon is the closest thing to perfect out there.

Carl

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Great, We love this program.

PROS

It is easy to navigate. It is professional looking. It creates professional looking forms, it is easy to train new employees with Halcyon.

CONS

We have to be careful to update often because it will kick you out. When leaving the computer to go to the selection room, upon returning, depending on the family and the time needed to select, updating will loose all the info already keyed from last update. Death certificate total no longer exists when one key in a number selected. We want that feature back.

Vendor Response

Thank you Carl for your kind review and thank you for trusting Halcyon! Although Halcyon is not required to comply with HIPAA regulations we strive to anyway. Login timeout is one of those features that HIPAA requires and it is good security practice too. So we recommend you save often. Related enhancements we are considering include lengthening the timeout and allowing purchasing line items to extend the quantity times price.

Replied April 2018

Llewella

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Halcyon Product Review

Over all the program is very helpful with having all the clients and financial information in one place at your fingertips.

PROS

As a funeral home, we handle about 300 families a year. The feature of having each deceased with their own computer file is very helpful. The file shows all family background, contract and payment information. Very helpful by having all the information at your fingertips. As office manger, the Financial section is very user friendly as well as the software is also very helpful with gathering report figures.

CONS

As a funeral home that has two locations, we have two separate client numbering systems, but one Halcyon platform. There is a problem with the program and the client numbering system. No matter which location you select the next contract number that appears is always based off of the last contract entered. It does not change the numbering for each location, we manually have to keep track and change the contract number ourselves. Another issue is with the Financial section. When I am entering a check to be written from a client account, (ie: cash advances) it takes forever to populate the client name and the cash advances to choose from with which I am paying. The final concern is with sending out statements to our families. A statement and an Contract Summary are two different items. If a family had "add-ons", those add-ons do not get added to the balance if you are sending out a late statement. With a statement you must print off every financial item for that family. Where as an contract summary will show everything. You must really be on your game to make sure you are sending out an accurate balance due to the families

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

Our funeral home is with the Rollings Funeral Service Group and this product came along with the new acquisition on July 1, 2017

Vendor Response

Thanks for your candid review Llewella. In January we made some system changes that address all of the concerns you pointed out. I suspect since then you would reconsider your review and you are more likely to recommend Halcyon. Would you consider updating the review with a more favorable score and likelihood to recommend? Thanks for your input towards making Halcyon even better!

Replied May 2020

Catherine

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Halcyon Cremation Software

It truly was a great experience and I love working with all the staff at Halcyon. They are very friendly and easy to work with.

PROS

How user friendly it is and how we have the ability to do a lot of customization on our end. The set up and transition process was very easy and Halcyon's support was amazing through the process. Their support is great, they respond within a day and are great at figuring out ways to customize the software to meet ours and our clinic needs. The partner portal is great, I love that we can tailor some things per clinic need. The tracking system is also great and Halcyon did an awesome job working with us to get it customized to our process.

CONS

Merchandising set up, I wish that there was a drop down menu rather than list format. Price groups, it is not easy to change things with the price groups. Urn selection, it would be nice if a standardized urn could auto-populate for each clinic. Printing of the tracking/tag form, would like it if this was more streamlined.

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

Because SRS seemed very similar to the software we were using. We were very impressed with the Halcyon demo.

Reasons for switching to Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

Because they were very difficult to work with, they charged us for every tiny change, even if they were updating their software, we would have to pay for it. There support was awful, took them days to get back to us. The software itself seemed like something that was designed in the 80's

Lee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Using software for 4 years, easy to use and functional

PROS

Easy to use. You can customize for your business needs. Reports to complete monthly tasks are great.

CONS

Since you transferred to Firefox, minor issues went away. Can't change check numbers, if someone is using a check for purchases you need to wait for their return to pay bills, etc. I understand this is a security issue and helps you not forget to log in check amount. I will add check with estimate amount to continue working.

Vendor Response

Hi Lee, Thanks for being such a loyal Halcyon user! We never switched to any web browser. Halcyon is intended to work with any browser although Internet Explorer sometimes has problems. When checks are used out of office for an unknown amount it is best practice to enter $0.00 or an estimated amount so you are handling that well. Fortunately persons with admin access can also reset the last check used.

Replied April 2018

John

Individual & Family Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Great Crematory Management Tool

This has been a great experience! Their support team is incredibly patient and very helpful. We are more than pleased with the program and the company. They are great. We are honored to recommend them for your consideration.

PROS

Definitely the case tracking features. Through Halcyon, we provide the highest level of security for the cremation services we provide. By assigning QR Codes to each case and each step/location in the cremation process, we are able to confirm where each case is located and maintain total control over each cremation until safely released to the family or partnering funeral home. Also the invoicing ability, financial accounting, and document archival features are tremendous assets.

CONS

With any new technology or software program, there is a learning curve. So, we did invest time and energy into understanding the best way for Halcyon to support our business. They have an excellent support team who were invaluable to us are we learned the system. Halcyon is a complete death-care management system. When we discovered Halcyon, we were looking for an effective way to streamline our cremation intake and processing while raising the level of security in the services we provide. It has exceeded our expectation at every level. The time spent to learn the program has been a great investment.

Fred

Individual & Family Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Review

So far, so good

PROS

Ease of Navigation, Reporting, Accounting

CONS

Inability to customize "Cases" page. We would like to choose different columns on the cases page. i.e., Total Funeral Cost and Balance Due.

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

price

Reasons for switching to Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

Better design and overall function

Kyle

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

User Friendly Software

Amazing

PROS

I love how intuitive the software is and it’s affordability!

CONS

I have found none at this time and it’s been over 1year.

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

Affordability and ease of use

Cody

Individual & Family Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Interviewed 7 different companies, Halcyon topped them all

PROS

They integrated directly with our website, casket distributor and was the most reasonably priced of all 7 companies we were in talks with. All our forms can be uploaded to pre populate names, dates, etc. Ofcourse there’s always bumps in the road when trying new things but the customer service has always been quick to respond and always has been helpful.

CONS

I wish it could integrate with google calendar and have an app that is for the Funeral end and not so much the cremation end but those are just tiny things compared to how great this program works.

Reason for choosing Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions

[ Sensitive Content ] sold me on this for sure, he has been great from start to finish along with the rest of his staff.

Evan

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE