User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(43)

43

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I enjoyed the ease with which I am able to move around the program. Every item on our intake has its place in SA and it's very simple to access. "

  • "It's easy to use and has a lot of options to make work easier. "

  • "I love the templates in SA. They are easy to create and administer as well as user friendly. I also really like the searchability of each window, particularly documents."

  • Cons

  • "The interface could be a little more intuitive in places, but generally very user friendly."

  • "Some basics like "clipboard" aren't useful, but the company is responsive to requests for features"

  • "Some features are difficult to customize and implement but great support if needed"

Browse SmartAdvocate Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 55 results

November 2020

Joe from Thompson Law

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

One of our tools for success

The problem of inefficiency corrects itself with many of SmartAdvocate's customizations and automation. For example, we are expediting electronic contracts/agreements to clients via text message and email, whereas other firms are still stuck on paper contracts. Never would I have thought clients would embrace technology, like the use of text over email. Yes, snail mail still has a role and a place, but the practicality and adaptiveness text messages give clients is excellent. This program stays relevant at the speed of shifts and trends, as well as changes with technology.

Pros

Our personal injury law firm switched from Needles to Smart Advocate about three years ago. The amount of growth we've had plays largely thanks to this case management software, especially after Covid-19 hit. This software made the transition from working in the office to working from home almost effortless. Our staff never missed a beat, and our clients never realize the change happened virtually overnight. While other firms struggled with technological, let alone case management issues, for us, it was business as usual. With Smart Advocate's features, updates, support, and innovation, there is no other way but growth. It's a powerhouse of a tool for great staff, which gives clients the most significant outcome.

Cons

There is not much to dislike, but there is always room for improvement. That said, when a dislike does arise, reaching out to SmartAdvocate usually remedies our dislikes. For example, the recommendation was to set up multiplaintiff parties under one case number. We tried that out and realized that would not work for our reporting and usage needs. Their development team quickly remedied a solution for each party to work with one case number while still giving us the linking ability needed for multi-party cases.

Reasons for Choosing SmartAdvocate

Filevine, as well as other programs at the time, shared a few features with SmartAdvocate. Still, overall it was SmartAdvocate that had the better and compelling features we would need for our day-to-day use, which made up our minds. In retrospect, some shortcomings in the software and others would have been detrimental to our growth if we had taken them as our path for our case management software.

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

I used Needles since 2007, and not much had changed from when I had first used the software to when we decided to make the switch. Its limitation and usage were significant for 2007, but in 2017, times and trends had changed. I've since seen its ramped-up version and changes but still would not switch case management software preference from SmartAdvocate. It's the program's endless possibilities, backed up by their constant desire to be the best case management software around, that I express this opinion. These guys WOW me with every yearly update, training, and support session. For example, not even Covid-19 stopped them from having their annual software conference for its users. These guys have a can-do attitude, whereas Needles' lackluster and repeated promise for an update after a decade equivocates to a lot of talk with no innovative action, which cements my preference to pick SmartAdvocate on any day of the week.

November 2020

Susan from Klein Lawyers LLP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Intuitive & Robust

Much more effective reporting on intake, client contact, and staff management. Very effective case browsing and searching. Implementing SmartAdvocate has allowed us to move much closer to a "less paper" work environment.

Pros

I love the templates in SA. They are easy to create and administer as well as user friendly. I also really like the searchability of each window, particularly documents.

Cons

I like the UDF Editor, except for the way that items are re-ordered. It would be easier if there was a way to drag and drop to put the items in the order you want.

Reasons for Choosing SmartAdvocate

SmartAdvocate is more of an all-in-one case management software. The others required more integrations and dealing with multiple vendors. Even with the two integrations we have with SmartAdvocate, the support team at SmartAdvocate manages them for us.

April 2021

Joshua from Winegar Law, P.A.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Fantastic for personal injury plaintiff firms

SmartAdvocate has made an enormous difference in our law firm and has helped us tremendously. The software allows you to have a bird's-eye view of everything going on in the cases and manage matters efficiently. I researched and demoed many software programs, and SmartAdvocate is by far the most superior out of all the choices.

Pros

It is very customizable but also provides an out-of-the-box turnkey solution. Everything is organized, and streamlines the process, and reduces errors by forcing your team to do things the right way every time.

Cons

None. They are constantly updating with new features to meet their customer's requests.

August 2017

andrew from Costella & gordon llp

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2017

not as flexible as I told it would be

case management of arbitrations status reports

Pros

assists with arbitration and personal injury departments / used and understood by all employees /

Cons

does not assist enough; limited capacities salespeople made promises that they could not keep overpriced for its value

Response from SmartAdvocate

Replied August 2017

We are surprised by this review and have reached out to Mr. Costella. As I wrote to Mr. Costella: "Your comments that the system "does not assist enough" and has "limited capacities" frankly caught me by surprise. We pride ourselves on the fact that SmartAdvocate is the most comprehensive and full featured case management software system on the market. There seems to be a disconnect here, one that we want to resolve. We want you to be satisfied and get everything you should out of the system." We hope to get a more detailed understanding of criticism and see how we can help them to get more out of the many features and capabilities contained in the system.

March 2021

Slawomir from The Platta Law Firm, PLLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Lack of customer support

I would not recommend this product only because the support is non-existing. The program is very good in my opinion but without customer support, you cannot get anywhere. training is ok and necessary but then you still have questions that are not answered. They charge a lot for a good program but then completely lack customer support.

Pros

It is good software as long as you have ON STAFF a dedicated person that can implement it for you.

Cons

There is no phone to call customer support - if you have an issue u can write a ticket and then wait for hours to get an online response. they only offer training sessions that are expensive. The transfer of data from other programs leaves a lot of information behind that you need to then spend time to transfer

Reasons for Choosing SmartAdvocate

Quality of the program

October 2020

Arren from Price Benowitz

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

A great case management tool for any office.

Our office has been able to keep much better track of cases with Smart Advocate, specifically calendaring. Everything is in ONE PLACE and very easy to find. Additionally, the document production portion has been wonderful. We are not re-creating the wheel everytime we want to send something to a client, opposing counsel, or the court.

Pros

The user interface of SmartAdvocate is much easier than the many competitors out there. Not only do the capabilities outweigh other platforms, but the training and assistance we have received in our office has been excellent. Everything is easily able to be found in one place and the templates for document production have saved us countless hours of work.

Cons

There is not much I don't like about SmartAdvocate. Every time I have had a question about a capability, it seems that it already exists or has been easily able to be integrated.

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

The tools available and user interface were much better with SmartAdvocate.

October 2020

Brian from Price Benowitz, LLP

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Comprehensive Case Management and Endless Ability to Customize

Overall, the software is a powerful tool to help with the day-to-day management of a large caseload.

Pros

The ability to customize every feature to best fit our needs. The quick responses from SmartAdvocate support and their willingness to listen to suggested changes. The reporting features are robust and also customizable, so that even when you are requested to produce a very specific report, with a little work, it is possible.

Cons

The steep learning curve to get started. Out of the box, SmartAdvocate needs a lot of work in order to get running in a manner that works well for your firm. However, the time and effort is assuredly worth it.

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

TrialWorks had too much of a decentralized approach to data management. It was difficult to easily find things the longer and bigger a case got. Additionally, it was severely lacking in the reporting department.

October 2020

Nicholas J.N. from Price Benowitz, LLP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Smart Advocate is a Competent Case Management Software Catered to your Needs

Smart Advocate has allowed my firm to automate significant portions of our pre-litigation practice which is a huge time-saver. As we continue to learn about Smart Advocate's features and further develop our use of it, the logistics of our practice has been improved significantly .

Pros

Smart Advocate easily integrated into our firm with a relatively seamless transition from our prior case management software. Since then, Smart Advocate has been easy to pick up and learn and its wide breadth of features makes customizing the program to our specific practice worth taking the extra time to learn.

Cons

Not all litigation management tabs in Smart Advocate are self-explanatory, requiring a dedicated support person who is intimately familiar with Smart Advocate to wade through feature functionality at times.

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

Trial Works lacked the automating features that we were looking for in a case management software.

December 2020

Laura from Law Offices of Dworkin & Maciariello

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Smart Advocate is a Winner!

My 4 years of experience with Smart Advocate has been a positive experience. Over the course of the last 4 years this software has allowed us to grow without the normal growing pains. The automation and dashboard reporting are amazing tools to manage cases and personnel with a few clicks. We are better able to communicate with our clients using automation tools, have streamlined work processes using workplans and have been able to maintain labor costs even during growth due to the specific use of workplans. I had been a Needles user for several years prior to using Smart Advocate and hands down this is a winner.

Pros

Ease of use, intuitive nature of program. Automation and dashboards.

Cons

Inability to write custom reports and intake functionality.

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

Needed a system that would allow more automation and employee oversight

November 2020

Joseph from Jurewitz Law Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

SA is Effective and Easy to use

Great, as someone who came into an office job for the first time, using this software has been easy, and is very helpful in organization.

Pros

This software is easy to learn and use. It does a great job of keeping things organized and has lots of options for easy accessibility.

Cons

Sometimes it can load slow, and customer support is not the best, sometimes needing to wait long times for response or follow up on submitted issues.

November 2020

Stacey from JUREWITZ LAW GROUP

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Great Product

Customer support is amazing, and the product itself delivers.

Pros

We have been using Smart Advocate for roughly 7 years for our case management software. It has streamlined our practice and is a great tool to manage both our cases and our team.

Cons

The lack of ability to seamlessly handle single event accident cases involving multiple parties.

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

Better case management and reporting features

November 2020

Jonathan from John Michael Bailey Injury Lawyers

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Unequivocally Amazing

Smart Advocate has helped us be more efficient, and more detailed. Because there is a place in which to put every shred of data, our employees are obtaining it. Before Smart Advocate, employees would get busy and forget to ask our clients for the little details. Since Smart Advocate has the option to build your own workplans, we can put every required detail in as an automatic task which reminds/requires the employees to get that information.

Pros

Smart Advocate is completely customizable, optionally automated, and such a time saver. If you have ever said to yourself "there must be a better/easier/quicker way" to do something, Smart Advocate likely has the solution in place already. If you do have an idea that they're not doing yet, they are always at the ready to create and implement new solutions. More than a business, they become family! Customer service is top notch!

Cons

If there is anything to dislike, it's that I don't have enough time in the day to learn and utilize everything they offer.

Reasons for Choosing SmartAdvocate

Smart Advocate's capabilities seem to far exceed the other products. We are thrilled with Smart Advocate, and have no reason to look back.

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

More advanced capabilities.

October 2020

Lauren from Price Benowitz LLP

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Easy to use, not always user-friendly. VERY detailed which can be a good or bad thing

Organizational problems solved with SmartAdvocate. The best benefit to Smart Advocate is when you actually use all of its functions and input all the information in its necessary place/fill out all the fields, it makes life very easy.

Pros

That you can add almost ANY detail to the case to SA that is separated into so many different categories to find info about the case. I love how it can be connected to our Outlook email to send/set tasks or email tasks to anyone. If all the information is inputted into the correct places, it can be VERY helpful. Love how it puts all the info into the template for you.

Cons

It can be overwhelming the amount of information that SA shows/requires to fill out for the case. Not always user friendly...especially if you are still learning how to use SA and ALL of its features. I do not like when searching for a client in search bar that multiple tabs open up and can make the screen overwhelming to look at with multiple tabs. It is both a good and a bad thing how much information can be stored into SA. I wish the dashboard was easier to read, too crowded.

May 2019

Steve from Malman Law

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Life changing practice management software

The SmartAdvocate support team is amazing and very responsive. You have to be patient with any software product that you launch, but the team at SmartAdvocate has seen it all and they will solve any issue quickly.

Pros

SmartAdvocate has all of the tools necessary to successfully operate a personal injury law firm with incredible efficiency. The ability to text and esign right from within the program is a game changer in terms of client satisfaction. Ordering medical records is simplified to a few clicks and tracking those requests is totally transparent. A huge benefit of SmartAdvocate is that they are not new to the space which gives them a huge advantage over their competitors because they know what makes a PI firm tick.

Cons

You have to be committed to SmartAdvocate and it will pay to back handsomely. If you take the extra seconds to input the data, it’s well worth it.

Reasons for Choosing SmartAdvocate

The years of experience and knowledge of the industry put SmartAdvocate head and shoulders above the competition.

April 2017

Justin from Leitner Varughese PLLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Tailor made to meet our needs

SmartAdvocate is simply the best case management software out there. It's great to finally use a program designed for Plaintiff's personal injury practice. The ease of use in generating forms, managing the calendar & statutes, tracking the status of cases, and easily accessing documents is phenominal. We've become so much more efficient thanks to this program.

Pros

Features of this program are specifically tailored to meet the needs of a plaintiff's personal injury practice. Makes keeping up with deadlines and workflow between staff members incredibly easy. Ultimately makes us much more efficient.

Cons

The interface could be a little more intuitive in places, but generally very user friendly.

Response from SmartAdvocate

Replied June 2017

Justin, Thank you for your great review of SmartAdvocate. The reason you feel so comfortable using SmartAdvocate is SmartAdvocate was designed hands-on by and for litigation attorneys and paralegals and only became a retail product many years later. As you know, SmartAdvocate has been listening very carefully to its clients and issues 3 releases per year with over 300 enhancements PER RELEASE. We will be contacting you to get your suggestions on what we can do to make SmartAdvocate even better. Thanks again, Jerry

August 2013

Philip from FRANCKEL & PLEVY, LLP

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2013

The only Personal Injury Case Management Software to consider

I recently installed SmartAdvocate after switching from software for which I paid $5,000 just 11 months ago. I thought the software I had was extremely powerful but my partner didn't think it was easy to use. The admin side was even more difficult. I am the one who created template documents, especially since it was extremely complicated requiring 26 separate steps to save a template document after it was created. I can honestly say I'm excited about SmartAdvocate. SmartAdvocate is not only much more powerful than my previous software, but it's very easy to use. My partner is also excited because he found it easy to learn how to use. It's not only easy to learn but it's also easy to enter data. It has time-saving features such as when entering a zip code, the town and state is automatically populated in the appropriate fields. The admin side is also easy to use. One of the most critical aspects, creating template documents, is now extremely simple. After creating a template document, you just save it like a regular word document. No more multiple steps to save a template document. SmartAdvocate is more powerful than any other software in every respect from the number of available merge codes to the information provided in the dashboards. It's also extremely customizable. There are so many features that I couldn't possibly go into all of them here. However, the first four and probably most important categories to look at is ease of creating and saving template documents; the number of merge codes available; ease of use; and the information displayed in the dashboard. Only SmartAdvocate wins all four categories. One of the reasons that make SmartAdvocate different from most of the other case management software is that SmartAdvocate has been designed, for over 10 years, specifically for personal injury by a very large personal injury law firm. They currently have 7 programmers and customer support couldn't be better. I have have had issues corrected and suggestions implemented within minutes of my call or email. I have been using personal injury case management software since 1992 with a 100% personal injury practice in NY. I currently have over 200 websites which I built and maintain. I have more experience than I would like de-hacking phising files from websites and I have designed my own software including personal injury lead capture software and software for the mortgage industry.

August 2017

Eric from The Paris Firm

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

It has been a first class experience working with Smart Advocate. I am a very satisfied customer!

This is the best case management program on the market for a personal injury practice.

Pros

I love the ease of use of the program. I love the case wizard which allows my staff to quickly set up a new matter in the program. I love the customization of the program to make it work for my particular practice and my jurisdiction. I love the document management capability of the program and the extension merge codes that make template generation and the preparation of form documents smooth and seamless. The report capabilities are tremendous to bring up the information to review all stages of a matter. The custom user defined fields allow the firm to be able to capture any particular piece of information that we feel is vital to the management of our cases for our clients. i am tried numerous case management programs for my firm over the last 25 years. There is none in my opinion that comes close to Smart Advocate.

Cons

None as of the time of this writing. i have not encountered any problems with the software that would cause me to comment on it at this time.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Excellent case management system and terrific customer support

I have found SA to be more robust and user friendly as compared to our prior CMS (Needles). Moreover, the staff at SmartAdvocate has been an amazing resource for helping us to integrate into the new system, and where we ask, help us to create numerous functionalities that allow SmartAdvocate to function in a way that works best for our specific firm. I can't imagine a better group to work with and I have found SmartAdvocate to be robust and superior to anything I have used before. I also spent a tremendous amount of time with demos on other CMS systems and believed (and still believe) SmartAdvocate is the best of the bunch.

Pros

* Dashboards and overall reporting functionality. * Bar coding for documents. * Integrations that allow for texting, faxing, etc. directly out of SmartAdvocate. * The summary page for each case allows you to quickly see all highlights of a case with a quick glance.

Cons

Like any new system, there is a learning curve which created some challenged, but once you have figured things out (and the SA team did help with plenty of support for my office), the system greatly surpasses Needles.

November 2020

Hilari from Law Offices of John Day, P.C.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Intuitive legal software with great customizations available and support

Pros

Intuitive legal software with great customizations available and support

Cons

Some features are difficult to customize and implement but great support if needed

December 2020

Patty from Craig Swapp & Associates

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great for going paperless!

Customer service has been great. They are always quick to respond to my questions. They also have frequent training webinars to help learn the many many features.

Pros

I really like the added features for attaching documents that are applicable in that particular setting. We have been transitioning to going more paperless and SmartAdvocate is great for that! I like all the extra functionality it provides

Cons

Runs slow sometimes. For the most part it functions well but occasionally seems to get stuck

Reasons for Choosing SmartAdvocate

See above

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

Needles was long overdue for an update and it didn't seem to be anywhere in sight. It kept being pushed off.

October 2020

Juan from Price Benowitz

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

incredibly versatile and customizable

Much better organizing and reporting than what I'm used to (Needles)

Pros

It can be customized to fit the needs of the user, just as much as the practice area.

Cons

Document saving is more difficult than it needs to be. As documents have to be transferred to the SA platform, they lose the original metadata source, which can be very important in a legal setting.

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

Switched Firms. Not a personal decision, but glad it worked out.

November 2020

Hemily from Dell & Dean PLLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

AMAZING AMAZING AND NOTHING BUT AMAZING

I have worked with SA and their team since we got the software and I could only recommend it!

Pros

There's is so much to love but the Documents system is a big plus.

Cons

there is no Con, its all love! honestly speak with time and some guidance everything is possible.

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

2015

November 2020

Nicole from Jurewitz Law Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Great Software Product

Pros

Smart Advocate makes it easy to manage a high case load effectively and efficiently. I love the lien tracking page and the medical providers tab in our build out. Smart Advocate makes it easy to keep data updated in the case files so that everything is live and accurate. I love that we can build out the product in the way that it works great for our law firm.

Cons

The product has a learning curve to it for new users, but once trained on it and playing with it people then master it.

October 2020

Kayla from Price Benowitz LLP

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Pretty user friendly once you learn the system.

Overall using SmartAdvocate to work and communicate with my colleagues has been very useful and user friendly once I figured out how to use the system.

Pros

I like that SmartAdvocate is that it's a web-based system, so I could access it from any web browser. It's pretty helpful that we can create barcodes to scan any type of mail-piece into Smart Advocate, and it will automatically find the file to place it in. I like being able to mark a task as "in progress" once I've started it so the attorney or paralegal that assigned me the task knows I've started it. I also like that there are templates saved for documents I can generate to send to providers.

Cons

Sometimes I wish that I didn't have to select the "type" of mail-piece I'm trying to scan in... There isn't a button for "other" for me to select, and sometimes I don't know what to label it as for the scan. Additionally, It would be great to able to search for adjusters, providers, lawyers, etc. in the system like we can do when we search for clients. It can be difficult to learn the system since there is a lot to learn, but once you know where everything is it's very simple to use.

November 2020

James from Levin & Zeiger LLP

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Great software

Overall, it is a great product. SA has made working from home seamless.

Pros

Cloud based software makes it incredibly easy to have all your files available on the go, from home, or at the office. Workplans have helped our firm streamline and uniform our case preparation.

Cons

Some of the features, like emailing, calendar integration, and word template formatting do not integrate well with Macs. The document's tab organization is a little clumsy.

November 2015

Sean from Gruenberg Kelly Della

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2015

From Saga to SmartAdvocate - Seamless Transition - Superior Support

We had been using Saga for Windows for 10+ years and have now switched to SmartAdvocate. We decided to make the switch from Saga to SmartAdvocate because no other legal software could offer what we wanted from a new case management system. The main reasons we decided on SmartAdvocate are as follows: (1) no other case management software package was designed by, and specifically for personal injury lawyers. (2) the data conversion from Saga to SmartAdvocate was seamless. (3) all of our custom Saga document templates were converted and now work even better in SmartAdvocate. (4) the medical records module makes obtaining records simple and verifiable. (5) all mail, records, photos, documents, etc., are scanned directly into each case in SmartAdvocate using a simple bar code system which is helping us move closer to becoming a paperless office. (6) the report generation module is completely customizable and can be set up to automatically generate reports and automatically emailed to the user as directed. There are many other things we like about SmartAdvocate that are not available from any other legal software . Specifically, since SmartAdvocate operates in a browser, like Google Chrome, you can open up multiple cases at the same time by merely opening a new window. No other product allows you to do that. So if you can navigate a website, you can navigate SmartAdvocate - it is that easy to use. Everyone in our office was able to quickly learn how to use SmartAdvocate after a single day of training. Also, SmartAdvocate has what they call "dashboards," which will change the way you manage your cases. Request a demo and they can show you all the great features.

December 2020

rachel from Sacco and Fillas LLP

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Software Program for All Your Business Needs

At first the conversation from Lex PI to SA was slow, it took a little while for the conversation but once everything was up and running, it has been great. Its much more efficient than Lex PI. Smart Advocate caters to the needs of what the business is looking for. I use it to text client, send docs for esign, drafting is easy with the templates created. I have basically no complaints.

Pros

I like that all of the files from the old software program we had, transitioned over to Smart Advocate. Features like text messaging and esign make it easy to communicate with clients fast.

Cons

The tracking of time feature could use a little work. If i start a task and forget to turn it off, it would be nice to have a reminder instead of seeing 345 hours if i dont work on the file for a week later or so.

September 2020

Renee from The Cochran Firm Atlanta

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Client Signature Upload

I should attend more webinars and implement more of the various features it offers.

Pros

I did not know the feature existed. I will be implementing this feature and sharing with my colleagues. This is quite helpful as we are currently working remotely.

Cons

I don't have any cons at this time. The TIPS and webinars are most helpful with implementing new features.

November 2020

Vittal Kumar from Law offices of Scott Warmuth

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Great features, value for money

So far its been a great experience.

Pros

Easy to use product Lots of customization Good reporting features

Cons

Not many cons - design/features inclined towards Personal Injury practice

October 2020

Elsa from Brian J. Levy & Associates

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

SA Review

I have used other programs at other law firms but this program is the easiest and most efficient that I have used.

Pros

I enjoyed the ease with which I am able to move around the program. Every item on our intake has its place in SA and it's very simple to access.

Cons

There isn't much I would change about the software.

July 2017

Tanya from Buckley & Associates, PS, Inc

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

It's a great program

Pros

It is very user friendly and give a lot of options. The reports are great for keeping track of cases and their statuses. Note section is really awesome because we can pretty much note anything that is important for the case.

Cons

We are really happy with this program! We have not have any huge issues with anything. It is easy to learn.

September 2020

Lillian from JRMGT Attorneys

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Great Produce

It's been great. The customer service is amazing and they respond quickly if you have questions. I love that they offer on line classes if you want to learn more.

Pros

It's easy to use and has a lot of options to make work easier.

Cons

I don't really have any, but I know my boss has issues with the statutes of limitations.

December 2020

Dioselvi from Freedland Harwin Valori, PLLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Amazing Management Software!

We're happy with our decision to use Smart Advocate.

Pros

The software is adaptable to the needs of the office. We're able to manage our case load with ease thanks to the options offered.

Cons

We dislike that we cannot add documents to our calendar.

Reasons for Choosing SmartAdvocate

NA

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

We needed up to date software.

February 2021

Nataly from Law Offices of Dworkin & Maciariello

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Recommen!

Pros

This software has everything you will need for case management. SmartAdvocate really helps you stay organized and on top of your cases. There are so many helpful features and tools!

Cons

I have no cons about SmartAdvocate. I use this software everyday for my cases!

November 2020

Melanie from BBGA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Excellent Case Management

After a year of use, I find that this product is a wonderful way to keep track of our mass tort clients / documents.

Pros

SmartAdvocate is end user friendly for staff. We are able to work on site or remote without any hiccups.

Cons

I would like more customizable reporting options.

Reasons for Choosing SmartAdvocate

SmartAdvocate was recommended to out administrative team from peers, and they felt that the functionality best suited our needs.

May 2017

rachel from Silbowitz & garafola

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

this program is extremely user friendly & my cases are all extremely organized

Pros

the documents and ease of finding anything i need on a case the fact that the most important things for me are generally on the first screen

Cons

that you cant put commas in the numbers, other then that there isn't much i dont like i have used many programs iand by far this is the best on e

August 2020

Amran from Fielding Law Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Great software

Pros

I like the ability to customize the tasks and evenly distribute the workload using statuses and stages. Also, Dayhanarah is awesome!

Cons

It would be great to have more options to customize reports and track individual performances.

November 2020

Eric from Gottfried Law Group PLLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

A very good program

Very pleased

Pros

Works seamlessly w a personal injury practice

Cons

Some basics like "clipboard" aren't useful, but the company is responsive to requests for features

Reasons for Switching to SmartAdvocate

TimeMatters very "buggy" and has 0 customer service

December 2020

Carla from Sacco & Fillas

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Smart Advocate Review

The best software out there for legal use.

Pros

The software is very user friendly. I always find a option to access information easily.

Cons

Too many tabs open for one case. However the case name is on the tabs which help.

December 2020

Brian from Commonwealth Law Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Law Firm SA

Pros

they listen to our concerns and comments and it is easy to customize

Cons

we do not like the app, we don't feel like it is as easy to use as it could be

July 2017

Tyson from 1-800-LAW-FIRM

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Simple case management

Pros

Tons of features, simple setup, great support. When we have questions they are always answered swiftly and professionally.

Cons

Easy to get off track, resulting in a lot of manual entry-make sure you have a process in place for your attorneys and paralegals to ensure that everyone is putting data in the system consistently.

December 2020

Retoria from Sacco Fillas

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Retoria SA Review

Pros

I like the merging of information. shortcuts

Cons

I dont have any complaints - the software is developing very well

August 2017

Justin from GoldenbergLaw, PLLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Top Notch Case Management System

Pros

It is pretty much a fully customizable system, with a little bit of know-how and creativity you can do just about anything with it.

Cons

It is a tad complex and can be intimidating for new users. The reporting features are also a little bit bulky and complicated. They could be simplified

February 2021

Rosalie from Furey, Furey, Leverage & Darlington, P.C.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Webinar - Medical Records - Calendar - Signature

I think it's a very good system once you learn how to maneuver everything afforded to us.

Pros

The product is easy to use once you get used to using it. Some actions require too many steps.

Cons

Sometimes, it takes too many steps to enter a document, action, etc.

February 2021

Kayann from The Cochran Firm

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Updated new features

By far the best legal software I've used to date.

Pros

Very efficient software. SmartAdvocate offers instructional webinars on how to use new features, thus enabling us to be better users of SmartAdvocate.

Cons

There are no is cons about this software.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Could not imagine practicing without it.

Pros

Reduces the number of staff needed to run my practice. And also makes the staff if have more productive.

February 2021

Patricia from Malman Law

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Easy to Use; Massive Functionality

Great software for large volume PI cases

Pros

Easy to use. Tons of functionality. With our VPN, remote work is a breeze.

Cons

There are a few little glitches, but SA is working on them

October 2017

Michael from McCready, Garcia & Leet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Best case management for personal injury practice on market. Nothing else compares

Pros

All the monitoring and reports you could want built in without exporting to a spreadsheet. Extremely efficient which increases productivity.

Cons

Learning a new case management system and migrating data is never easy, but the process was easier than expected. While not necessarily a con, there are so many features, we haven't even started using some of them.

August 2017

Bonita from The Matera Law Firm

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

Overall great program. It is a bit tricky to at first but does make sense on how its formulated.

Pros

Notes, medical portion/record request, some of the forms, ease of use to locate and update contact information, how each aspect is predicated upon another of the program.

Cons

To create the forms, using the merge codes and having the margins/tab sets line up exactly where you want them to is frustrating if it is not a full left margin. Figuring out how to modify information in some of the screens if there is not an edit option on that screen.

February 2021

Lori from Furey, Furey, Leverage and Darlington

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

My Experience as a Smart Advocate user

Easy to scan and upload documents in a safe environment

Pros

It's a great place to have all of our documents in one organized location

Cons

Features are more geared to a Plaintiff's firm not a defense Law firm

Displaying 1 - 50 of 55 reviews