All Smokeball Reviews

1-25 of 202 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Patricia

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

So happy I made the switch

They made it easy to migrate from our other system despite the lack of cooperation from Abacus. They train the staff and make sure that we are aware of all features. Our productivity has increased significantly since leaving Abacus.

PROS

It automatically tracks your time and gives you time report through email. It is easy to link to your emails in the matters. You are able to customize workflows and documents. It integrates with Zoom and ring central. I am so happy that I changed to Smokeball

CONS

No cons to date. This product is easy to use and easy to learn. They are responsive when we have questions about the product.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

Abacus was horrible. The glitches made work horribly unproductive and we were forced to get numerous work arounds to try to make our work process flow.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback, Patricia. Feel free to reach out if you need anything!

Replied June 2022

Richard

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Smokeball user review

PROS

Product layout, user training, user support, and migration support from a prior product are all great. Feature-rich. Provide a workflow for tasks and has stage control for matters.

CONS

I would like to be able to color code entries on the calendar. The workflow is easy to use but you cannot put tasks on the calendar as an event; they only go on as a task. I'm not great at using tasks that pop up for a given day. I would prefer that they could populate the calendar with a date and time.

Reason for choosing Smokeball

Features; support; cost.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

Abacus was too expensive and didn't have up-to-date features; Clio needed several add-on products, at additional cost, to make it function to the required level. Smokeball covered both issues.

Vendor Response

Rich, thank you for your review. We're so glad you're finding value in Smokeball and that the transition from your previous software was easy thanks to our migration and support staff. We're always here if you need us, and I've passed your feature suggestions along to our product team.

Replied May 2023

Lee

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2019

Smokeball does not have legal forms as advertised; and does not interact with G calendar

I foolishly jumped in and signed up for a one-year deal with Smokeball. After I explained the shortcomings of their product and my need to buy additional software to make their software work, I asked to be released from my one year contract. Somkeball denied the request. I would strongly look for a product that is less expensive and has some type of money back guarantee.

PROS

The staff is friendly and tries to assist.

CONS

I bought the software for the forms library that you could use in your practice. I am a small practitioner in Oklahoma. However, the forms library for Oklahoma, and most states, is non-existent. Smokeball costs more than other practice software packages. I purchased it for these forms, but had to buy forms elsewhere. Smokeball does not interact with Google products including Google calendar even with work-arounds. My work was all automated through Google calendar. I worked with trying to use the work-around recommended, but none worked. To use Smokeball, I would have had to buy additional soft-ware. This made the one stop shop advertised by Smokeball not work for me at all.

Vendor Response

I'm incredibly sorry to hear this, but want to clarify two points for any likeminded readers here: (1) It is true that we have more forms in some states than others. That's due to how many active users we have in each state; obviously as we grow in some states we add more forms. When users, say in Oklahoma, sign up and see that they need more forms, they can request that our dedicated Content team pull public forms and load them directly into Smokeball for all users to access. (2) It is true that we currently don't have direct integration with the Google suite. We do, however, integrate directly with MS Office products like Outlook and Word. Our Sales people in charge of demos should make this absolutely clear in initial conversations, and we will ensure that they continue to do so for all future consultations.

Replied January 2020

Kathy

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Smokeball is a time saver!

I was surprised how easy it is to create workflows and letter templates! Creating our own workflows unique to each matter type has made staying on track so simple for our team. Technology may not be my strongest skill, but with input from our team I easily create workflows that are convenient to use and highly functional.

PROS

Smokeball is exceptionally user friendly. It integrates very well with with Outlook, and importing/exporting documents between OneDrive and Smokeball couldn't be easier. There are so many ways to customize the calendar, which makes scheduling a little less hectic!

CONS

I would like to see a quicker, more thorough conflict check feature.

Vendor Response

Kathy, thanks so much for your review! We're thrilled that Smokeball is saving you time and streamlining work for your firm. I'll pass along your feedback on more thorough conflict checks.

Replied July 2023

Brooke

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

I Love Smokeball

PROS

I love Smokeballs features. The document automation saves me time and headache with formatting. The integration features make sure that nothing I do is missing in the client files. The cases are always complete. the ease of integration for the products that I use is excellent and seamless. The time tracking capabilities help make sure that I don't miss a billable.

CONS

They recently updated the mobile software so it is more difficult to use on a tablet or my phone.

Reason for choosing Smokeball

Because the feature were more robust and the billing time tracker is key.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

I didn't like the document automation of Practice Panther nearly as much as I like Smokeballs. The billing software in practice panther is not as user friendly as Smokeballs.

James

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Great platform, great Outlook email syncing, just no ability to automatically monthly invoice.

My experience with Smokeball was great. If Smokeball had the features I needed that MyCase had, I would have stayed with Smokeball. I liked the look of Smokeball better.

PROS

It was very user friendly and looked easy to use. Very customizeable. The Email syncing feature is great if you use Outlook. You can not only send emails when you're logged-in to Smokeball (which connects the email to the matter), but you can also send emails out of Outlook and you can click on a button on the bottom of the email screen and connect that incoming/outgoing email to a Smokeball matter. Can create custom fields. Can set-up intake forms with fields, that can be sent to the potential client for them to fill-in that automatically in-loads to their contact info in Smokeball.

CONS

Not able to set-up automatic repeat invoicing. If you have a client (such as a criminal defense client that needs to make monthly payments and want to, when you're setting up the client's case, set-up future invoices to go out to the client for them to be able to pay on-line, Smokeball can't accomplish this. The only platform I found that was able to do that is MyCase. This is a lifesaver for my criminal-defense firm. It only syncs with Outlook and not Gmail.

Reason for choosing Smokeball

I loved the email syncing (if you use Outlook), the document management/creation, the customizeability, and the price is very reasonable.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

I loved the email syncing that Smokeball had/has. But I wanted to be able to pre-schedule emails to go out on later dates (such as pre-scheduling fax-arraignments to go out via email), Smokeball only synced with Outlook and Outlook will only send out pre-scheduled emails 'if' Outlook is open. Gmail will send out pre-scheduled emails whether Gmail is open or not, which, because of the repeat invoicing that MyCase has and that Smokeball only syncs with Outlook, were my main reasons for going back to MyCase.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review, James. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the user experience with our software, so this feedback is very much appreciated.

Replied June 2022

Sandra

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Best practice management software!

Our firm literally cannot work without Smokeball. I am not exaggerating one bit when I tell you that it is as essential to our practice as air. When the pandemic began, other lawyers were struggling to figure out how to work from home. Luckily for us, Smokeball is everywhere we are. With help from Smokeball's cloud-based system, we were able to transition to working from home very quickly and easily. Thanks to Smokeball's features -- file notes, memos, timeline, phone messages, email tracking, and activity tracking -- it is easier than ever for multiple staff members to collaborate on a file even though they are not physically in the same space. The integration with InfoTrack/Docusign means that we obtain client signatures without even leaving our desks. And the document automation and contact database make working much easier and more productive in general! I highly recommend Smokeball to any small law firm.

PROS

Email tracking, file notes/timeline. These features make it so much easier for two or more people to collaborate on a file!

CONS

I wish that "to-do" tasks in the system would auto-delete if a matter is canceled or closed.

Reason for choosing Smokeball

I've tried Amicus and I know that Smokeball provides a much better and user-friendly experience.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

Amicus Attorney is clunky, with way too much involved to get up and running. Also, it didn't have email tracking at the time. So it was a no-brainer to switch.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback, Sandra.

Replied June 2022

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Allows for easy systemization saves time increased profit

Smokeball is an excellent system that has allowed me to streamline my Estate Planning and Elder Law practice. They systems I have put in place through smokeball have allowed me to increase profit in each practice area. And my team can sleep well at night knowing things won't get missed or fall through the cracks.

PROS

Easy to use, easy to implement. Customer service is excellent they are always willing to improve their product and help with issues and questions. We have systemized every practice area so we don't forget steps and can sleep at night knowing the system has our back.

CONS

hybrid cloud and desktop was helpful in the beginning. It is nice to work when not online, however it slows the system a little and going completely cloud based would probably remedy that issue.

Reason for choosing Smokeball

It came down to customer service. they had the best team and the best service and they still do now ( 5 years later). I am still happy we went with Smokeball.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

Needed a much more robust system. I have tired several and Smokeball still leads the pack.

Jessica

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

The BEST software for small firms

We have two offices that are 200 miles apart, so the Communicate and Task features help us stay connected and working as a team. Our efficiency has grown, as well as the ability to keep up with retainer replenishments.

PROS

Smokeball is the best case management and billing software I've used during my 6 years as a paralegal. I am with a small firm, and my time is extremely important, so the AutoTime feature is my absolutely favorite part about Smokeball. It has saved me countless hours on billing.

CONS

The mobile app does not track your time, so we don't use it often. We have been told that Smokeball is working on that feature.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

Cosmolex took up way too much of my time to do manual billing.

Spensyr Ann

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

I am a happy Associate!

This is by far the easiest to use platform with the most robust time capturing options that I have ever used!

PROS

What a time saver! Smokeball is by far the easiest to use matter management and timekeeping platform I have used in my career. As an associate I really appreciate all the bells and whistles I can access that make the admin portions of my work (especially timekeeping) so much easier! This is a huge benefit to me, the firm, and our clients! And I can access it on my iPhone in a pinch!

CONS

I only wish the automatic time capturing also captured my time spent in research online and in Lexis! Then practice life would be such a breeze!

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

The firm decided to switch and I am a happy Associate!

Natasha

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2020

Great product but still lacking in essential features!

I have really enjoyed using this product and a have been a strong advocate from day one; however, I am concerned that they have not fixed this problem and I do not have the one capability that I need which is being able to get my emails and task while Iā€™m in the car.

PROS

This software is easy to use and all of my staff love it! It improves our workflow, makes us more efficient and makes every day more enjoyable!

CONS

This software is lacking in one essential area ā€“ ā€“ you are unable to get your emails and task while on the go on your phone. I was told this app and feature works when I signed up for three years only to find out later that it does not work and the calendar is not very good either

Reason for choosing Smokeball

I chose Smokeball because all the features, the efficiencies and the workflows. Overall I am pleased but disappointed and not having this major feature

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

I made the switch because the other program did not have the essential features that I needed

Nancy

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

It has been a god-send.

We have had a great experience with Smokeball thus far.

PROS

The feature that instigated our interest in Smokeball, and that keeps us loving the product, is the automatic time tracking feature. I'd literally been complaining for years that no one had figured out how to do this, and then we found Smokeball! So glad there are smart folks thinking through how a lawyer's practice, time keeping and billing can be streamlined.

CONS

I wish the billing system was integrated as part of the software instead of being separate (online).

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

We switched to Smokeball from PracticePanther because of the automatic time keeping feature in Smokeball.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review, Nancy. Our team is dedicated to improving the user experience for new and existing users, so your feedback is very much appreciated.

Replied June 2022

Sidney

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Smokeball

Awesome!!

PROS

The is software is extremely user friendly. It saves a ton of time with templates for documents you regularly draft. Also, the absolute best part is the app you can download on smartphone which lets you access your files anywhere and anytime.

CONS

Honestly nothing. Smokeball is a huge time saver and I am so glad our firm did the switch.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

The partners at the firm decided on that switch and I am so glad they did

Sandra

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Benefits of using Smokeball

We have been able to minimize our paper files Enhances efficiency and tracking billable time

PROS

Integration of client information, document creation, and billing

CONS

Often files must be saved to computer hard drive and then transferred into the matter

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

More functional for our needs and competitive pricing

Andrew

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

A Good Investment

We are moving toward a paperless office, and have a better sense of organization, because with Smokeball, we know where everything is, and it's easy to find.

PROS

That it is cloud-based makes is usable anywhere: home, office, while traveling. That's especially important now, given the limitations imposed by Covid 19. I appreciate the ability to have all emails related to a case appear in the same place. I like the automation features, particularly for drafting quick letters.

CONS

There are still technical issues involving the relationship between Smokeball and Outlook, and even when everything works smoothly, which is most of the time, the loading of both programs takes a while.

Reason for choosing Smokeball

Smokeball had more and better features than Clio and Practice Panther, though it costs more, too. And TrialWorks was more than we needed.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your positive response. We'll gladly admit to being a bit more than some competitors but we're also happy to point out that our users get more features and value for the price, too.

Replied June 2020

Edward C

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

An Invaluable Tool for Lawyers

Smokeball has increased my firm's ability to organize our client database and keep it updated and available on a moments notice.

PROS

The organization and accessibility Smokeball provides for my practice is invaluable. The integration of Word, Outlook, and the Smokeball overlay keeps all client matters easily organized and accessible from the cloud. Smokeball was integral for my practice to transition from paper heavy documents to a digitally based system. The ease of access provides on the spot support and client records by laptop or phone when at court or remote locations. As a bonus Smokeball integrates automatic billing through calendar and email events to help me keep track of billable hours. I am, and will continue to be, a dedicated and satisfied user.

CONS

The only con is the necessary time to input basic information on a client and client matter. However, once the initial input is complete it is transferable to new client matters.

Vendor Response

Thank you for this positive review. We love hearing the things that are working, but are also cognizant of the time it takes to input new data, too. We're always working to streamline this process for you. More to come!

Replied June 2020

Dean

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Great system for big or small

One of the most impressive items is that we can answer a call from a client whether it is our matter or not, we can communicate with our client giving them what they called for without delay. We have had other firms ask what we use as they were impressed with are detailed fast response.

PROS

We are a law firm in the Chicagoland area, it is such a relief to have all of our communications and files in one location so that all of us can share the data at any time. Having the court forms at our finger tips, not having to go to each county is such a time saver. We have only scratched the surface using the many efficiency's that are offered.

CONS

Sometimes, when the documents are populating they could load just a tad quicker.

Reason for choosing Smokeball

The customer service team is second to none. No matter what you need or problem you may bump into, they have the answers to make it right, with a nice disposition. That in itself is worth it. I think we were one of the first in the Chicagoland area and I have never be reluctant to recommend Smokeball.

Jill

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: