User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

5.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(19)

19

4 stars

(1)

1

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Simplicity and adaptability ! Easy to use for admins, students and teachers ! Powerful and intuitive e-learning solution ! "

  • "1.- The open forums empowers students to share there opinion about important topics. "

  • "the design, speed, effective and efficient, has all the features, and has all that I need"

  • Cons

  • "Not really something at all. Free open sourcec software, and it is working :-)"

  • "Cluttered code - it's a fork of a fork. They are working on this though. Huge (both in number of files as in size of download) Lack of English certification/training"

  • "1.- Sometimes become slower when a lot of students are trying to upload their assignments. "

Browse Chamilo Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -30 of 20 results

September 2018

Alexander from osc - open source company UG (haftungsbeschränkt)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Chamilo - the chameleon of possibilities...

Pros

Stable, mature, solid software. You can use it as a fully working LMS or just as a framework to create your own solution. Also the possibility for gamification or selling courses/sessions makes it even more attractive for running your own online academy. And with the skill wheel, talent management got easier.

Cons

Not really something at all. Free open sourcec software, and it is working :-)

October 2016

Jurgen from Sjette Online

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

User friendly open source project

Chamilo is really easy to use as a student. As a teacher it is intuitive but very broad. You can create simple basic courses (text courses with multiple choice quizzes) or really advanced courses (conditional questions, wiki, assignments, group collaboration, forums, ...) It offers a huge set of features to organize students in classes, work with sessions (date based set of courses) or single courses. It fully pulls the card of open source and is thus invested in reaching out to open source solutions like Big Blue Button or OpenMeetings for webinar features. Support could be better - while you have a very active (Spanish but also English) community, response from the developers is limited and happens if you're lucky. If you pay for support (which is cheaper than the paid providers), you get premium service though. I guess it's not really fair to expect premium service on a free product.

Pros

It's open source - you can tweak the code if you are inclined to Its very easy user interface Its very friendly community The social features in the LMS

Cons

Cluttered code - it's a fork of a fork. They are working on this though. Huge (both in number of files as in size of download) Lack of English certification/training

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

A very clean and easy to use educative platform (compared to others...)

We set up our own installation of Chamilo and set up a virtual classroom for thousands of users. The experience was successful. We also had to fix some bugs that came with the platform.

Pros

Having used different platforms in the past, I can say Chamilo is very simple to use and understand by the end user.

Cons

At the team, we are not 100% happy with the architecture behind Chamilo. It's not easy to make modifications since the html code is distributed in hard to follow chunks all over the place. The fact that it's using an unsafe language like PHP doesn't make it easier.

December 2018

Daniel from Unikemia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Powerful and customizable LMS

We use it in the university to implement some distance study mats, it was installed and configured in a very simple way, besides it can be customized with the modules and extensions that are available in the repositories, excelenete manager of learning and virtual education.

Pros

It is one of the best platforms for the management of courses and online learning, has many functions for asynchronous communication with the student, in addition the interface is very attractive for teachers and students.

Cons

As it is a free software, in the face of any difficulty or error I have been able to recursis to the community that supports the project and I have found the solution, it is a great advantage to have that support, in addition they are constantly updating the version.

December 2017

Alain from Cégep Limoilou

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

The most completed LMS softward

Very easy to use and complete with all you need to teach and manage courses including quiz online.

Pros

Intuitive use and it's conception is for teacher and it is possible to use it for synchrone and asynchrone teaching !

Cons

You must do your installation by yourself and need knowledge of server configuration. But, you can use free campus at http://campus.chamilo.org

May 2018

Rudy from BeezNest

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Chamilo LMS, the best e-learning solution to develop training platform for our customers !

Pros

Simplicity and adaptability ! Easy to use for admins, students and teachers ! Powerful and intuitive e-learning solution !

Cons

Not have more time to use it ! There are some details that could still be improved, technical information needs to be more clear.

February 2018

Akhilesh from Notes for IAS

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

A true blue alternative for Moodle that is just so underrated ... Deserves better recognition

Pros

Well , I liked almost everything about Chamilo . 1) Open source and so completely free 2) Has an in built authoring tool that is so comprehensive that you will need to seriously plan your content before you start using its authoring tool . 3) Supports SCORM content 4) The look is minimal and yet with enough customisations to give a very elegant polished finish . Chailo is very easy to use and you will almost require no customisations . It works beautifully out of the box.

Cons

Although it supports SCORM content , some of the SCORM files I tried on Chamilo didn't work . That was the reason I had to move away . However , its internal authoring tool developed content functioned very smoothly.

March 2018

Sergey from Sokol webstudio

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

We made it work as a Learning Management System for our client.

Free software, less features than Moodle, simple and easy.

Pros

Chamillo is a free learning management system that has can be used for medium sized businesses. Installation is easy as it comes in Softacoulous bundle available in any standard hosting.

Cons

This software has nice features, useful for businesses but still is geared towards academia. It has less features and is less customizable than Moodle- but our client wanted simple solution.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

We used Chamillo as a learning management system for our client

Very short set up time for a quick e-learning project.

Pros

Perhaps it is important to mention our case: we needed not the "best" but "good enough" system for host a post-face-to-face training e-learning module and Chamillo just hit the bill. It is free, works almost out of the box and has a nice interface.

Cons

It's considered to be used in educational environments, so out of the box set up is typical for a school or university.

January 2020

Tito from Graphic Design

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Amazing!

Pros

The platform is really amazing. Easy to use and accesible through mobile devices.

Cons

Nothing. Right now everything Is working perfectly.

June 2018

Maria from UCAB - Universidad Católica Andrés Bello

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Best open source LMS

I have used it to complement face-to-face training and it is excellent, I recommend everyone to give it a try

Pros

It's open source so is free. It's easy to use and its interface is very intuitive. It supports SCORM. The support community is very big and helpful.

Cons

It is complicated to install and configure, and takes a lot of memory, but once you start using it it's worth the effort

July 2016

Andy from Dragon Tribe international School

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Great Improvement and Showing Better Quality Than Most Other Platforms

Overall, I found that Chamilo is not only simple to use but also has all the features that I need in order to create the courses and lessons for the students I am serving. The platform not only allows me to add the plugin within a few clicks but also upload files just like any other LMS (which is why I found that I don't always agree with everything that this website say about the LMS since I found that Chamilo has made a ton of changes for their new version).

Pros

the design, speed, effective and efficient, has all the features, and has all that I need

Cons

the software cost about more than 480 MB of memory

May 2014

Arturo from Mathematics Research Centre

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

The best open source LMS on the market

I started using Chamilo LMS as an alternative to other similar platforms, initially as a way to reduce costs due to a reduction of my operational budget; however before starting using it, people at my organisation began to comment that they liked Chamilo LMS more than the old platform. This fact was a trigger for me to start deploying all my e-learning solution based on Chamilo LMS due to its usability, computational resources optimisation, and its committed community. Pros Easy to use Easy to deploy All plug-ings and modules are part of the core and free to use It is SCORM compatible Committed community Truly open source Cons Lack of native mobile applications (work in progress)

February 2019

Luis Fernando from GA

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Chamilo in UPA

A teacher used this software during my industrial engineering clases. most of the students liked the web and the functions.

Pros

1.- The open forums empowers students to share there opinion about important topics.

Cons

1.- Sometimes become slower when a lot of students are trying to upload their assignments.

July 2014

Andreu from Vall d'Hebron University Hospital

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2014

Easy to use

Nowadays, for me, the key factor to choose a LMS is the simplicity, but without losing any functionality. In fact, Chamilo is very easy to use . When you access for first time in a Chamilo LMS, you have the impression to know a lot of things! All icons are well used. Today, we want to use a power web applications, with a lot of possibilities. But the most important thing for the user is to find what they search. And Chamilo is all this. If you've used another LMS, you know what I mean. In summary, with Chamilo you can do anything with the easy and the fast way.

May 2014

Yannick from BeezNest

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

Great for many use cases

Whether for corporate or academic users from 7 to 77, Chamilo is a great option, mostly thanks to its ease of use and great set of tools, allowing you to build, teach and give access to many kinds of courses. The community forum has answers to any kind of topic, and most people seem to just enjoy using the tool.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied May 2014

And it is 3 times faster that with any other LMS to traing your teachers to start using Chamilo.

May 2014

Noa from Contidos Dixitais

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

Chamilo has it all in one

Great open source platform that has all you need in one software. No need to work with a hundred add-ons that get out of date when upgrading to a new version. It´s so easy to train new users to use Chamilo.

May 2014

Jose Angel from particular

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

Intuitive virtual campus

Chamilo is a software that is evolving every day and makes the work both teachers and students, as well as being easy to manage administrator

February 2015

wuilmer from wisetek 1604

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2015

Ease of use

Totally intuitive LMS software, icon based configuration and fully customizable for anyone.

May 2014

Laura from Nosolored

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

The better Open Source Platform for elearning

I like Chamilo because is very easy and powerful. It has a lot of different tools to support teaching.