User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(29)

29

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Absence de bug, bien adapté, apprentissage et usage facile"

  • "1.- The open forums empowers students to share there opinion about important topics. "

  • "Easy to use. Great flexibility. Highly customizable. Good community feedback. Frequent updates. Good communication with developers. Does not use too many resources. "

  • Cons

  • "De las funcionalidad del software hemos encontrado las mayores dificultades con el apartado de "Encuestas" Sería interesante incluir algún aspecto de gamificación"

  • "Not really something at all. Free open sourcec software, and it is working :-)"

  • "The mobile experience is good enough from its native web interface, but having an official mobile app will be great. "

Browse Chamilo Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -8 of 42 results

March 2021

Patane from Unión de Cooperativas Espazocoop

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Hace fácil el e-learning!

Nos permitió, en muy poco tiempo, migrar nuestra programación de formación presencial a formato virtual, mediante una herramienta perfectamente integrada en el funcionamiento de nuestra organización. Recibimos soporte de nuestra proveedora, Contidos Dixitais, durante todo el proceso, ese acompañamiento fue muy importante par el éxito de la implantación. Nuestro alumnado nos devuelve una opinión favorable sobre la plataforma de teleformación.

Pros

Nos ha resultado muy fácil integrarlo en los servicios que ofrecíamos en la organización. La rapidez en la que nuestro proveedor, Contidos Dixitais, realizó la adaptación e implementación del campus nos permitió migrar nuestra programación a elearning en muy poco tiempo. La integración del aula virtual para realizar sesiones de videoconferencia.

Cons

Me gustaría poder realizar una gestión y clasificación de usuarios más sencilla. El funcionamiento de los foros a veces resulta engorroso para el alumnado.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Por las condiciones en las que nos ofrecían la implementación del servicio: costes, plazos, adaptación, por la confianza que me ofrecía nuestra proveedora.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Muchas gracias por tu feebdack Patane.REcuerda que podeis hacer sugerenicas de mejora a traves de los proveedores o a traves de nuetsro portal Github.

February 2021

Leo from BOREALIS TRAINING GROUP

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

LIBERTAD, FUNCIONALIDAD Y FUTURO

Estamos en general muy satisfechos con Chamilo. Nuestros clientes pueden vivir una experiencia de calidad, desde cualquier dispositivo y nosotros contamos con mucha libertad y flexibilidad para trabajar y crear contenido. La comunicación con nuestro partner es muy fluida y poco a poco vamos mejorando la herramienta conjuntamente con desarrollos que se ajustan a nuestras necesidades específicas.

Pros

Lo mejor de Chamilo es las posibilidades de ofrecer una experiencia amable e instructiva para el alumnado. Por otro lado resulta muy cómodo contar con usuarios ilimitados, esto permite que cada alumno mantenga su cuenta y pueda acceder para actualizar sus datos, descargar certificados o interactuar en la red social sin que suponga un coste extra. Además se trata de una herramienta muy flexible, por lo que contamos con mucha libertad a la hora de incluir nuevas formaciones, adaptar el campus a las necesidades de cada cliente, etc.

Cons

En cuanto a la experiencia del tutor considero que se podrían mejorar aspectos relacionados con los informes de los alumnos, posibilidad de ordenarlos por avance, número de horas, empresa etc. Por otro lado, sería muy útil poder realizar comunicados atendiendo a estos datos: alumnos que no hayan alcanzado un determinado porcentaje de avance, alumnos que hayan finalizado, alumnos que tienes determinadas tareas pendientes, etc.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Por la flexibilidad, calidad/precio, experiencia del alumno y alumnos ilimitados.

Reasons for Switching to Chamilo

Por la flexibilidad, las posibilidades de desarrollo a medida, los alumnos ilimitados y la experiencia del alumno.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Gracias Leo p por tu feedback. Sin duda uno de los puntos fuertes de Chamilo es su comunidad abierta que permite que sugerencias basadas en la experiencia real de clientes como tu se incorporen al codigo de Chamilo. Para el caso de las gestiones con perfil de tutores, estaremos agregando sin duda algunas mejoras en la proxima version.

February 2021

Mariano from Lunardog

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Cuando el potencial de un buen producto es afectado por la falta de visión...

Bien en el precio y una vez que uno llega a algo mediocre pero que funciona, funciona. Hit and miss.. Me frustra la falta de visión que implica el UX y el diseño y que los desarrolladores no se dejen influir por el mismo. Me frustra que pedir una aclaración tonta les genere tanta frustración, como si uno debiera saber lo que ellos saben, porque cuando uno busca la respuesta en los manuales no esta, y cuando uno llama para preguntar en que debo hacer click para que funcionen quieran cobrar como si fuera una hora de desarrollador especializado. Como si explicar estas cosas es robarle trabajo a otra persona!

Pros

Su facilidad de instalación con relativos pocos problemas sacado de la caja. Lo poco que esta integrado esta medianamente bien integrado.

Cons

Su poca capacidad de personalización. Tiene muchas funcionalidades del e-learning y debo instalar todas o ninguna Haciendo dificil la personalización hacia los profesores o sistemas específicos de e-learning En materia de diseño si bien es flexible desde el punto de escribir código y mas o menos hacer que luzca como uno quiere, esto requiere de personas con conocimiento de código para modificarlo... Hay toda un área desperdiciada de desarrollo de diseño que facilitaria la aceptación del e-learning (los diseños son de la epoca del primer windows 95 y cuando mac saco su primer performa no parece haber ni conciencia ni interes en el desarrollo de user experience and design. Las herramientas educativas estan bien diseñadas pero solo una persona que sabe como se diseñaron puede desde la información disponible configurarlas y para que se usan en un contexto corporativo o educativo... Lo peor de esto es que chamilo, como comunidad se resiste a explicar o desarrollar contenido que explique como y porque se configuran las herramientas (sin esto la aceptación de chamilo en instituciones será muy dificil porque requiere la contratación de especialistas en algo que ni siquiera esta probado o aceptado)

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Hoy en dia la unica razon por favorecer chamilo es económica, y aun así es muy débil puesto que solo tiene 6 proveedores y para modificar algo no hay suficiente gente familiarizada con el software para hacerlo y hay otras combinación de soluciones que pudieran ser eficientes. El nivel que más me interesa a mi, el de crear y experimentar con la creación de contenidos educativos y investigar su eficiencia, esta siendo consumido por el estallido comercial, y chamilo no está exento de esto. Quizás como plataforma Chamilo debiera aplicar fondos de la ayuda internacional, EU, ONU etc etc, para poder ofrecer un desarrollo que sea sustentable para todo el mundo y pueda darse gratuitamente... También podría considerar un modelo tipo WIKIPEDIA. La crítica mayor desde el punto de desarrollo de software es que solo Yannick es el que implementa, aprueba y decide en que dirección va la plataforma, y la visión y modelo. Yannick, si quieres que tu hijo vuele y dejar un legado en el e-learning, es tiempo que lo dejes ser libre y decidir si quieres abastecer al viejo sistema educativo (universidades y empresas y tus proveedores) que nos daran de comer por el futuro proximo sin duda, pero dejar volar a Chamilo que tiene el potencial si le sumaras flexibilidad visual, flexibilidad estructural y por sobre todas las cosas, que sea gratuito porque todo lo que se relaciona con la educación asi debe de ser...

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Gracias Mariano por tu aportacion sobre tu experiencia con el software. Sin duda comaprtimos contigo que nos queda mucho por mejorar en el area de dise?o y esperamos cubrir parte de las necesidades de personalizacion con la version 2.0 de Chamilo. Sobre las herramientas y su uso, seguiremos aumentando el esfuerzo por publicar nuevos tutoriales y guias para hacer mas accesible a los usuarios las diferentes herramientas. Recordarte tambien que Chamilo cuenta con 6 proveedores oficiales pero existen un sinfin de empresas a mayores que prestan servicios por cuenta propia sobre chamilo tambien. Y finalmente indicar que no solo Yannick es la persona que implementa y decide sino un grupo de desarrolladores con a?os de experiencia y al que cualquiera que cumpla los requisitos de colaboracion y conocimiento del software puede unirse. Jose Angel, Julio, Ivan, Alex, Patrick o Laura entre otros muchos son algunos de los miembros de una comunidad de la que solo sobresale la punta del iceberg

February 2021

Leandro from Escuela de Educación Secundaria Nro 8 Nicolás Avellaneda

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Excelente plataforma E-learning

Mi experiencia es en la implementación y uso en Escuelas secundarias en Argentina, si bien veníamos trabajando, con la pandemia de acelero el proceso, se adaptó y utilizó Chamilo Camino para usarlo completamente Virtual, obteniendo un ciclo lectivo 2020 excelente con docentes y estudiantes muy conformes.

Pros

Facilidad de implementación, facilidad de uso tanto para profesores como para estudiantes, adaptabilidad a distintos tipos de sistemas educativos, una función que he utilizado y me dio resultados fue la de poder traducir y crear propio idioma, herramienta con la que cambie en toda la plataforma la palabra curso por materia para realizar implementación en escuelas secundarias en Argentina.

Cons

Realmente no encuentro herramientas que no me han gustado.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Por lo fácil de implementar y por lo sencillo y rapido para capacitar a alumnos y docentes.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied February 2021

Muchas gracias por tu review Leandro. Hace tiempo se inicio un proyecto innovador en Salta, Argentina que quizas te pueda aportar. Te dejamos aqui el enlace a la charla que mantuvimos con ellos sobre el uso de Chamilo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=01eYS8J-I7I Nos alegra que el software resulte util para tu practica diaria.

February 2021

Jorge from Escola Secundária Francisco Fernandes Lopes

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Chamilo for language learning

Chamilo has a big potential, but still there is a lot improve, to make it be much better.

Pros

I use Chamilo a lot with my students and think it has a lot o very interesting features, for e-learning.

Cons

However, some things could be improved. I think about difficult is to use Chamilo fóruns, because bugs on design, for exemple. Also, exercises could be more easy to organize by cathegories: when we have many it is a little confuse from where to chose. Orther features could be improved too. It is also quite difficult to find help and valuable information about some procedures.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Because of interative exercises and hability to create lessons.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied February 2021

Hello Jorge. Thanks a lot for your review. It really helps us to keep working on Chamilo to improve it. Regarding your comments just a quick note to let you know that the current version of Chamilo, 1.11.14 allows "categories" for exercises and the forum is free of bugs. Please upgrade to teh latest version to get the best out of this software. To get free help you can use our free resources: https://forum.chamilo.org/, our tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLIsgySYhTVz27BHsukGZAMdn_ubmho7ot And do not hesitate t register to our neswletter to get last minute news about the software. To register go to chamilo.org and you will find the subsciption box. Thanks again for your review and we would love to keep seing you within the community of users. Noa Orizales Iglesias Communication Coordinator Chamilo Association

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

An open source LMS you can trust

We wanted to start with a small campus for a brand new business school that offers MBA programs worldwide, especially in Latin America. Chamilo gives us the accurate platform to scale from a few students to hundreds.

Pros

It's easy to install and you can scale from a small virtual campus to a large arrangement and keeping using open-source software.

Cons

The mobile experience is good enough from its native web interface, but having an official mobile app will be great.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Due to its ease of use, user accessibility, and its network of Official Providers that offer services worldwide.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Thanks for your feedback. This 2021 we will make public in our github repository our mobile app.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Ome from ZeroTen Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

The best and most effective PHP e-learning platform

I really loved using chamilo when compared to other e-learning platforms

Pros

It was very easy for me to install using softaculous and then setting up the platform was easy as well. Chamilo has all the basic tools for an e-learning platform. Their authoring tool is top-notch and has all the flexibility to make course authoring very easy.

Cons

I had difficulty changing the template and there is no much tutorial on the web on doing so.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Chamilo is very easy to use and has a growing community ready to help each other

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Hello Chukwuemeka, thanks for your feedback. We love to hear your experience with Chamilo has been sucessfull. Warmest regards

March 2021

Lourdes from IMENDE

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Mi experiencia con Chamilo.

Los cursos en línea han tenido una aceptación mucho mayor por la pandemia, dando por resultado más inscripciones en este tipo de cursos.

Pros

Lo que más me ha gusta es lo amable que es la plataforma y que se puede trabajar en los contenidos con facilidad no se necesita ser informático para comprender los pasos a seguir.

Cons

El problema es que en mi empresa no se ha actualizado y hay varias funciones que no tenía hace cinco años pero el informático dice que hay un problema con las claves pues los administradores iniciales no las dejaron.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Cuando llegué a la compañía ya lo tenían en funcionamiento por lo cual no se la historia anterior.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Hola Lourdes. Muchas gracias por aportar tu experiencia con Chamilo. Para que no sucedan cosas como las que comentas (un admin que se va y no deja las claves y el portal se queda sin actualizar), siempre recomendamos contactar con proveedores de la red oficial de Chamilo, que esten certificados, ya que podran ofrecer una mayor grantia y se rigen por un codigo de buenas practicas que evita casos como el que comentas. Los proveedores pueden ser consultados desde aqui: https://chamilo.org/es/proveedores/

March 2021

María José from Centro de Supercomputación de Galicia

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Friendly and reliable e-learning platform

We use chamilo to offer our researchers and teachers a place to create their learning courses, collaborative areas and support materials for very different uses. Right now we have over 30000 users enrolled.

Pros

The best thing of Chamilo is its usability. The great majority of our users require little or no support in setting their online courses and start using them. Both teachers and students. It has all the basic options you could expect from a flexible e-learning platform, regarding communication tools, authoring, testing, statistics...of course there are other platforms with far more options in each of these tools, but in my experience most users don't use them anyway.

Cons

It would be desirable to count on more plugins to integrate external tools.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

The three of them were born from original Claroline and we loved its philosophy, but relied in the team that is running Chamilo, which, besides, has local support in our country and region.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback Maria Jose

March 2021

Rudy from BeezNest

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

A quality opensource solution for the professional environment !

My role is to guide the heads of various professional structures from both the private and public sectors. I use Chamilo every day to inform about its high potential and its adaptability for important projects. It has a platform that is easy to use, quick to learn, very stable for projects with a large number of users, and surrounded by a network of very competent official service providers.

Pros

Once you understand how Chamilo is organized, it becomes easy and quick to work and learn how to use the platform, which offers a huge number of configurations to adapt to the different profiles of professional structures or not.

Cons

Chamilo is a solution developed by a large and very active community BUT does not receive any help for its development. The economic aid comes from the official network of service providers who guarantee the sustainability of the project.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Thanks Rudy for your feedback. This 2021 we will be working to increse even more the number of official certified providers that join the association to provide an even better service to end users.

March 2021

José Luis from Escuela de Yoga Uttama

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

6 Years with Chamilo

My overall experience with Chamilo is very good. It is a reliable platform that does not usually fail or present major problems.

Pros

Easy to use. Great flexibility. Highly customizable. Good community feedback. Frequent updates. Good communication with developers. Does not use too many resources.

Cons

Lack of updated user manuals. Missing (for me) some useful features. Some more advanced features are difficult to use. Some features require a dedicated server.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Because it adapts well to my needs and it is not an excessively complex or heavy platform.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Thanks Jose Luis. We are glad your experience with Chamilo is good. Regarding new features and suggestiones, please remember our Github Channel is always open for new proposals that make the software easier to use for our end users. There is a tutorial on how to leave a suggestion in our Youtube Channel.

March 2021

Gemma from Atento

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Software con buenas capacidades a nivel de formación

Chamilo nos ha proporcionado disponer de un entorno LMS de aprendizaje 24*7*365 para nuestros empleados. Estamos muy satisfechos con el uso que hasta ahora venimos haciendo del software y que nos ha permitido realizar de una manera sencilla procesos de formación para un elevado número de usuarios que están presentes incluso en diferentes países.

Pros

Este software de muy sencilla instalación y con gran ayuda por parte del equipo de soporte facilita una herramienta con diversas funcionalidades para establecer procesos formativos de diferentes niveles de complejidad. Su uso es muy intuitivo y sencillo tanto para profesores como para alumnos.

Cons

De las funcionalidad del software hemos encontrado las mayores dificultades con el apartado de "Encuestas" Sería interesante incluir algún aspecto de gamificación

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Muchas gracias Gemma. Tomamos nota de tus sugerencias sobre la gamificacion y las encuestas.

October 2016

Jurgen from Sjette Online

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

User friendly open source project

Chamilo is really easy to use as a student. As a teacher it is intuitive but very broad. You can create simple basic courses (text courses with multiple choice quizzes) or really advanced courses (conditional questions, wiki, assignments, group collaboration, forums, ...) It offers a huge set of features to organize students in classes, work with sessions (date based set of courses) or single courses. It fully pulls the card of open source and is thus invested in reaching out to open source solutions like Big Blue Button or OpenMeetings for webinar features. Support could be better - while you have a very active (Spanish but also English) community, response from the developers is limited and happens if you're lucky. If you pay for support (which is cheaper than the paid providers), you get premium service though. I guess it's not really fair to expect premium service on a free product.

Pros

It's open source - you can tweak the code if you are inclined to Its very easy user interface Its very friendly community The social features in the LMS

Cons

Cluttered code - it's a fork of a fork. They are working on this though. Huge (both in number of files as in size of download) Lack of English certification/training

April 2021

Enrique Daniel from datec

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Cheapest Versatility on LMS

Pros

It works very well, the interfaces are so intuitive and help teachers to advance over the digital transformation faster than others LMS

Cons

It's not so much popular, so some teachers resist to the change at the begining

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Interface, price, stability, and the new features

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied April 2021

Thank you so much for your review Enrique. We apprecciatte so much the time and effort you dedicate to evaluate our software.

March 2021

Bruno from Pasteur e.r.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Facile, intégré, gratuit, efficace

Je me sers de Chamilo pour enseigner un catéchisme en e-learning

Pros

Absence de bug, bien adapté, apprentissage et usage facile

Cons

J'aimerais que la gamification soit plus poussée.

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

La gratuité et l'idée communautaire, le partage de ressources pour le bien de tous

Reasons for Switching to Chamilo

Claroline est remplie de bugs

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Thanks for your feedback!

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Alexander from osc - open source company UG (haftungsbeschränkt)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Chamilo - the chameleon of possibilities...

Pros

Stable, mature, solid software. You can use it as a fully working LMS or just as a framework to create your own solution. Also the possibility for gamification or selling courses/sessions makes it even more attractive for running your own online academy. And with the skill wheel, talent management got easier.

Cons

Not really something at all. Free open sourcec software, and it is working :-)

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Daniel from Unikemia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Powerful and customizable LMS

We use it in the university to implement some distance study mats, it was installed and configured in a very simple way, besides it can be customized with the modules and extensions that are available in the repositories, excelenete manager of learning and virtual education.

Pros

It is one of the best platforms for the management of courses and online learning, has many functions for asynchronous communication with the student, in addition the interface is very attractive for teachers and students.

Cons

As it is a free software, in the face of any difficulty or error I have been able to recursis to the community that supports the project and I have found the solution, it is a great advantage to have that support, in addition they are constantly updating the version.

December 2017

User Profile Picture

Alain from Cégep Limoilou

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

The most completed LMS softward

Very easy to use and complete with all you need to teach and manage courses including quiz online.

Pros

Intuitive use and it's conception is for teacher and it is possible to use it for synchrone and asynchrone teaching !

Cons

You must do your installation by yourself and need knowledge of server configuration. But, you can use free campus at http://campus.chamilo.org

February 2021

Irene from IDD Consultoria

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Una piattaforma rapida e funzionale

L'esperienza con Chamilo è molto buona.

Pros

È una piattaforma molto semplice da usare: è intuitiva, è rapido apprendere come immatricolare gli studenti o come poter costituire un corso o un esame. Inoltre, l'assistenza per problemi tecnici è sempre molto rapida.

Cons

Cambierei alcune cose del layout (più personalizzazione).

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Hola Irene, Gracias por tu review. En la nueva version de Chamilo 2.0 estamos trabajando mucho mas la parte de dise?o. Esperamos que cuando se publique cumpla tus expectativas.

March 2021

Benjamin from freelance

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Chamilo work fine

Good alternative to systems like moodle, simpler to admin and easy to learn

Pros

- Free - Easy to learn - Easy to understand by students - Intuitive administration

Cons

- There are functions that do not work very well - I have not been able to get the email notifications to work

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

I thing that is better that others

Reasons for Switching to Chamilo

To try other system than moodle

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Thank you Benjamin. Regarding e-mail notifications, do not hesitate to ask for help in our public forum or reach a provider to solve. IT is probably related to your mail provider.

March 2021

Fernando from CADIT A.C.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Flexibilidad Chamilo

MI experincia en muy buena, es una plataforma que cumple con la mayoria de los requerimientos de usuario LMS

Pros

Su interfase de usuario es muy amigable lo que lo hace atractivo

Cons

Hasta el momento no he encontrado ninguna

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Thanks for your feedback!

February 2018

Akhilesh from Notes for IAS

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

A true blue alternative for Moodle that is just so underrated ... Deserves better recognition

Pros

Well , I liked almost everything about Chamilo . 1) Open source and so completely free 2) Has an in built authoring tool that is so comprehensive that you will need to seriously plan your content before you start using its authoring tool . 3) Supports SCORM content 4) The look is minimal and yet with enough customisations to give a very elegant polished finish . Chailo is very easy to use and you will almost require no customisations . It works beautifully out of the box.

Cons

Although it supports SCORM content , some of the SCORM files I tried on Chamilo didn't work . That was the reason I had to move away . However , its internal authoring tool developed content functioned very smoothly.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

A very clean and easy to use educative platform (compared to others...)

We set up our own installation of Chamilo and set up a virtual classroom for thousands of users. The experience was successful. We also had to fix some bugs that came with the platform.

Pros

Having used different platforms in the past, I can say Chamilo is very simple to use and understand by the end user.

Cons

At the team, we are not 100% happy with the architecture behind Chamilo. It's not easy to make modifications since the html code is distributed in hard to follow chunks all over the place. The fact that it's using an unsafe language like PHP doesn't make it easier.

January 2020

Tito from Graphic Design

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Amazing!

Pros

The platform is really amazing. Easy to use and accesible through mobile devices.

Cons

Nothing. Right now everything Is working perfectly.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied February 2021

Waw, your review sound like music for our ears :) Thanks for your super positive feedback. Hope future versions of Chamilo keep providing you such a good experience.

March 2018

Sergey from Sokol webstudio

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

We made it work as a Learning Management System for our client.

Free software, less features than Moodle, simple and easy.

Pros

Chamillo is a free learning management system that has can be used for medium sized businesses. Installation is easy as it comes in Softacoulous bundle available in any standard hosting.

Cons

This software has nice features, useful for businesses but still is geared towards academia. It has less features and is less customizable than Moodle- but our client wanted simple solution.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

We used Chamillo as a learning management system for our client

Very short set up time for a quick e-learning project.

Pros

Perhaps it is important to mention our case: we needed not the "best" but "good enough" system for host a post-face-to-face training e-learning module and Chamillo just hit the bill. It is free, works almost out of the box and has a nice interface.

Cons

It's considered to be used in educational environments, so out of the box set up is typical for a school or university.

February 2021

Roberto from HdT

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

Sencillo y funcional, sin complicaciones

En general ha sido buena, sin problema alguno mientras tengas itinerarios armados clásicamente.

Pros

Es práctico y sencillo, lo que hace que la curva de aprendizaje sea muy corta. Una vez configurado, es raro que de algún problema.

Cons

Es un sistema muy rígido de e-learning clásico. Permite ciertas personalizaciones y es cierto que cada vez incluye nuevas funciones, pero excepto que integres herramientas externas, no permite mucha variedad de presentación de los contenidos.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Gracias por tu feedback Roberto! Seguiremos trabajando en mejorar las formas de presentacion de los contenidos.

February 2019

Luis Fernando from GA

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Chamilo in UPA

A teacher used this software during my industrial engineering clases. most of the students liked the web and the functions.

Pros

1.- The open forums empowers students to share there opinion about important topics.

Cons

1.- Sometimes become slower when a lot of students are trying to upload their assignments.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied February 2021

Thanks for your review Luis Fernando. Please take into account that sometimes slowliness does not depend on the software but on the technical software used. That's why we always recommend to reach an official provider to deploy your Chamilo LMS solution. Thank you for taking time to evaluate us!

June 2018

Maria from UCAB - Universidad Católica Andrés Bello

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Best open source LMS

I have used it to complement face-to-face training and it is excellent, I recommend everyone to give it a try

Pros

It's open source so is free. It's easy to use and its interface is very intuitive. It supports SCORM. The support community is very big and helpful.

Cons

It is complicated to install and configure, and takes a lot of memory, but once you start using it it's worth the effort

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Chamilo is good and free

Chamilo is a breeze, easier to set up and use than most FOSS and proprietary systems.

Pros

Free AND easy to use! Not common for a Free and Open Source Software (FOSS)

Cons

Not enough compatibility with third-party systems. (Mostly falls on third party's responsibility)

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

Cost. Admittedly a larger project might require a different evaluation rubric.

Reasons for Switching to Chamilo

Cost, technical overhead, ease of use - training expenses

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Thanks for your review.

February 2021

Soledad from Unidad Editorial

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Facil de usar

Pros

Es súper sencillo de utilizar incluso para aquellos que no están familiarizados con herramientas de este tipo.

Cons

Nada, todo me ha gustado. No he tenido ningún problema.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Gracias por tu feedback!

July 2016

Andy from Dragon Tribe international School

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Great Improvement and Showing Better Quality Than Most Other Platforms

Overall, I found that Chamilo is not only simple to use but also has all the features that I need in order to create the courses and lessons for the students I am serving. The platform not only allows me to add the plugin within a few clicks but also upload files just like any other LMS (which is why I found that I don't always agree with everything that this website say about the LMS since I found that Chamilo has made a ton of changes for their new version).

Pros

the design, speed, effective and efficient, has all the features, and has all that I need

Cons

the software cost about more than 480 MB of memory

February 2021

Raquel from Thales España

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Cómo y fácil

Pros

Que es sencillo y amigable para el usuario.

Cons

Nada realmente importante, al menos hasta ahora.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Gracias por dejarnos tu feedback Raquel

December 2020

Charles from UCO

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

An alternative to Moodle but graphically not that appealing

A decent LMS with some valuable features but lacks collaborative possibilities that Google and Microsoft offer in their suites.

Pros

Ability to use audio in quizzes, ability to recyle lessons, ease of use to set up classes, mulitple teaching possibilities.

Cons

Graphically Chamilo stays in the past. It would be better if it grouped icons together into menus. It is often not that simple for students to navigate. No synchronous collaboration possible.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied February 2021

Hello Charles. Thanks for youre review. This 2021 Chamilo is going to launch a new, fully redesigned interface with its 2.0 version. Keep track of the project by subscribing to our mailing list to get all the updates regarding this topic.

May 2014

Arturo from Mathematics Research Centre

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

The best open source LMS on the market

I started using Chamilo LMS as an alternative to other similar platforms, initially as a way to reduce costs due to a reduction of my operational budget; however before starting using it, people at my organisation began to comment that they liked Chamilo LMS more than the old platform. This fact was a trigger for me to start deploying all my e-learning solution based on Chamilo LMS due to its usability, computational resources optimisation, and its committed community. Pros Easy to use Easy to deploy All plug-ings and modules are part of the core and free to use It is SCORM compatible Committed community Truly open source Cons Lack of native mobile applications (work in progress)

March 2021

Ana from Akali

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Good en general

Chamilo es almost good, but is good at general

Pros

Chamilo is ease and useful, except exercise area. We can't use it because need development PHP

Cons

Exercise area. We can't use it this area because needs development with PHP

Reasons for Choosing Chamilo

was a heritage

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied March 2021

Hello Ana, Chamilo is a built-in solution that does not need an specific development for its use, so you can test the exercices area in our fren campus campus.chamilo.org Thanks a lot for your review.

July 2014

Andreu from Vall d'Hebron University Hospital

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2014

Easy to use

Nowadays, for me, the key factor to choose a LMS is the simplicity, but without losing any functionality. In fact, Chamilo is very easy to use . When you access for first time in a Chamilo LMS, you have the impression to know a lot of things! All icons are well used. Today, we want to use a power web applications, with a lot of possibilities. But the most important thing for the user is to find what they search. And Chamilo is all this. If you've used another LMS, you know what I mean. In summary, with Chamilo you can do anything with the easy and the fast way.

May 2014

Yannick from BeezNest

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

Great for many use cases

Whether for corporate or academic users from 7 to 77, Chamilo is a great option, mostly thanks to its ease of use and great set of tools, allowing you to build, teach and give access to many kinds of courses. The community forum has answers to any kind of topic, and most people seem to just enjoy using the tool.

Response from Chamilo Association

Replied May 2014

And it is 3 times faster that with any other LMS to traing your teachers to start using Chamilo.

May 2014

Noa from Contidos Dixitais

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

Chamilo has it all in one

Great open source platform that has all you need in one software. No need to work with a hundred add-ons that get out of date when upgrading to a new version. It´s so easy to train new users to use Chamilo.

May 2014

Jose Angel from particular

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

Intuitive virtual campus

Chamilo is a software that is evolving every day and makes the work both teachers and students, as well as being easy to manage administrator

February 2015

wuilmer from wisetek 1604

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2015

Ease of use

Totally intuitive LMS software, icon based configuration and fully customizable for anyone.

May 2014

Laura from Nosolored

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

The better Open Source Platform for elearning

I like Chamilo because is very easy and powerful. It has a lot of different tools to support teaching.