Chamilo

Chamilo Reviews

RATING:

4.65

(46)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.65

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Stable, mature, solid software. You can use it as a fully working LMS or just as a framework to create your own solution."
  • icon"It works very well, the interfaces are so intuitive and help teachers to advance over the digital transformation faster than others LMS."
  • icon"The best thing of Chamilo is its usability. The great majority of our users require little or no support in setting their online courses and start using them."
  • icon"I had difficulty changing the template and there is no much tutorial on the web on doing so."
  • icon"Some more advanced features are difficult to use."
  • icon"I think about difficult is to use Chamilo fóruns, because bugs on design, for exemple."

All Chamilo Reviews

1-25 of 46 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ome

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

The best and most effective PHP e-learning platform

I really loved using chamilo when compared to other e-learning platforms

Pros

It was very easy for me to install using softaculous and then setting up the platform was easy as well. Chamilo has all the basic tools for an e-learning platform. Their authoring tool is top-notch and has all the flexibility to make course authoring very easy.

Cons

I had difficulty changing the template and there is no much tutorial on the web on doing so.

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Chamilo is very easy to use and has a growing community ready to help each other

Response from Chamilo Association

Hello Chukwuemeka, thanks for your feedback. We love to hear your experience with Chamilo has been sucessfull. Warmest regards

Replied March 2021

Leo

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

LIBERTAD, FUNCIONALIDAD Y FUTURO

Estamos en general muy satisfechos con Chamilo. Nuestros clientes pueden vivir una experiencia de calidad, desde cualquier dispositivo y nosotros contamos con mucha libertad y flexibilidad para trabajar y crear contenido. La comunicación con nuestro partner es muy fluida y poco a poco vamos mejorando la herramienta conjuntamente con desarrollos que se ajustan a nuestras necesidades específicas.

Pros

Lo mejor de Chamilo es las posibilidades de ofrecer una experiencia amable e instructiva para el alumnado. Por otro lado resulta muy cómodo contar con usuarios ilimitados, esto permite que cada alumno mantenga su cuenta y pueda acceder para actualizar sus datos, descargar certificados o interactuar en la red social sin que suponga un coste extra. Además se trata de una herramienta muy flexible, por lo que contamos con mucha libertad a la hora de incluir nuevas formaciones, adaptar el campus a las necesidades de cada cliente, etc.

Cons

En cuanto a la experiencia del tutor considero que se podrían mejorar aspectos relacionados con los informes de los alumnos, posibilidad de ordenarlos por avance, número de horas, empresa etc. Por otro lado, sería muy útil poder realizar comunicados atendiendo a estos datos: alumnos que no hayan alcanzado un determinado porcentaje de avance, alumnos que hayan finalizado, alumnos que tienes determinadas tareas pendientes, etc.

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Por la flexibilidad, calidad/precio, experiencia del alumno y alumnos ilimitados.

Reasons for switching to Chamilo

Por la flexibilidad, las posibilidades de desarrollo a medida, los alumnos ilimitados y la experiencia del alumno.

Response from Chamilo Association

Gracias Leo p por tu feedback. Sin duda uno de los puntos fuertes de Chamilo es su comunidad abierta que permite que sugerencias basadas en la experiencia real de clientes como tu se incorporen al codigo de Chamilo. Para el caso de las gestiones con perfil de tutores, estaremos agregando sin duda algunas mejoras en la proxima version.

Replied March 2021

Mariano

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Cuando el potencial de un buen producto es afectado por la falta de visión...

Bien en el precio y una vez que uno llega a algo mediocre pero que funciona, funciona. Hit and miss.. Me frustra la falta de visión que implica el UX y el diseño y que los desarrolladores no se dejen influir por el mismo. Me frustra que pedir una aclaración tonta les genere tanta frustración, como si uno debiera saber lo que ellos saben, porque cuando uno busca la respuesta en los manuales no esta, y cuando uno llama para preguntar en que debo hacer click para que funcionen quieran cobrar como si fuera una hora de desarrollador especializado. Como si explicar estas cosas es robarle trabajo a otra persona!

Pros

Su facilidad de instalación con relativos pocos problemas sacado de la caja. Lo poco que esta integrado esta medianamente bien integrado.

Cons

Su poca capacidad de personalización. Tiene muchas funcionalidades del e-learning y debo instalar todas o ninguna Haciendo dificil la personalización hacia los profesores o sistemas específicos de e-learning En materia de diseño si bien es flexible desde el punto de escribir código y mas o menos hacer que luzca como uno quiere, esto requiere de personas con conocimiento de código para modificarlo... Hay toda un área desperdiciada de desarrollo de diseño que facilitaria la aceptación del e-learning (los diseños son de la epoca del primer windows 95 y cuando mac saco su primer performa no parece haber ni conciencia ni interes en el desarrollo de user experience and design. Las herramientas educativas estan bien diseñadas pero solo una persona que sabe como se diseñaron puede desde la información disponible configurarlas y para que se usan en un contexto corporativo o educativo... Lo peor de esto es que chamilo, como comunidad se resiste a explicar o desarrollar contenido que explique como y porque se configuran las herramientas (sin esto la aceptación de chamilo en instituciones será muy dificil porque requiere la contratación de especialistas en algo que ni siquiera esta probado o aceptado)

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Hoy en dia la unica razon por favorecer chamilo es económica, y aun así es muy débil puesto que solo tiene 6 proveedores y para modificar algo no hay suficiente gente familiarizada con el software para hacerlo y hay otras combinación de soluciones que pudieran ser eficientes. El nivel que más me interesa a mi, el de crear y experimentar con la creación de contenidos educativos y investigar su eficiencia, esta siendo consumido por el estallido comercial, y chamilo no está exento de esto. Quizás como plataforma Chamilo debiera aplicar fondos de la ayuda internacional, EU, ONU etc etc, para poder ofrecer un desarrollo que sea sustentable para todo el mundo y pueda darse gratuitamente... También podría considerar un modelo tipo WIKIPEDIA. La crítica mayor desde el punto de desarrollo de software es que solo Yannick es el que implementa, aprueba y decide en que dirección va la plataforma, y la visión y modelo. Yannick, si quieres que tu hijo vuele y dejar un legado en el e-learning, es tiempo que lo dejes ser libre y decidir si quieres abastecer al viejo sistema educativo (universidades y empresas y tus proveedores) que nos daran de comer por el futuro proximo sin duda, pero dejar volar a Chamilo que tiene el potencial si le sumaras flexibilidad visual, flexibilidad estructural y por sobre todas las cosas, que sea gratuito porque todo lo que se relaciona con la educación asi debe de ser...

Response from Chamilo Association

Gracias Mariano por tu aportacion sobre tu experiencia con el software. Sin duda comaprtimos contigo que nos queda mucho por mejorar en el area de dise?o y esperamos cubrir parte de las necesidades de personalizacion con la version 2.0 de Chamilo. Sobre las herramientas y su uso, seguiremos aumentando el esfuerzo por publicar nuevos tutoriales y guias para hacer mas accesible a los usuarios las diferentes herramientas. Recordarte tambien que Chamilo cuenta con 6 proveedores oficiales pero existen un sinfin de empresas a mayores que prestan servicios por cuenta propia sobre chamilo tambien. Y finalmente indicar que no solo Yannick es la persona que implementa y decide sino un grupo de desarrolladores con a?os de experiencia y al que cualquiera que cumpla los requisitos de colaboracion y conocimiento del software puede unirse. Jose Angel, Julio, Ivan, Alex, Patrick o Laura entre otros muchos son algunos de los miembros de una comunidad de la que solo sobresale la punta del iceberg

Replied March 2021

Leandro

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Excelente plataforma E-learning

Mi experiencia es en la implementación y uso en Escuelas secundarias en Argentina, si bien veníamos trabajando, con la pandemia de acelero el proceso, se adaptó y utilizó Chamilo Camino para usarlo completamente Virtual, obteniendo un ciclo lectivo 2020 excelente con docentes y estudiantes muy conformes.

Pros

Facilidad de implementación, facilidad de uso tanto para profesores como para estudiantes, adaptabilidad a distintos tipos de sistemas educativos, una función que he utilizado y me dio resultados fue la de poder traducir y crear propio idioma, herramienta con la que cambie en toda la plataforma la palabra curso por materia para realizar implementación en escuelas secundarias en Argentina.

Cons

Realmente no encuentro herramientas que no me han gustado.

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Por lo fácil de implementar y por lo sencillo y rapido para capacitar a alumnos y docentes.

Response from Chamilo Association

Muchas gracias por tu review Leandro. Hace tiempo se inicio un proyecto innovador en Salta, Argentina que quizas te pueda aportar. Te dejamos aqui el enlace a la charla que mantuvimos con ellos sobre el uso de Chamilo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=01eYS8J-I7I Nos alegra que el software resulte util para tu practica diaria.

Replied February 2021

Patane

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Hace fácil el e-learning!

Nos permitió, en muy poco tiempo, migrar nuestra programación de formación presencial a formato virtual, mediante una herramienta perfectamente integrada en el funcionamiento de nuestra organización. Recibimos soporte de nuestra proveedora, Contidos Dixitais, durante todo el proceso, ese acompañamiento fue muy importante par el éxito de la implantación. Nuestro alumnado nos devuelve una opinión favorable sobre la plataforma de teleformación.

Pros

Nos ha resultado muy fácil integrarlo en los servicios que ofrecíamos en la organización. La rapidez en la que nuestro proveedor, Contidos Dixitais, realizó la adaptación e implementación del campus nos permitió migrar nuestra programación a elearning en muy poco tiempo. La integración del aula virtual para realizar sesiones de videoconferencia.

Cons

Me gustaría poder realizar una gestión y clasificación de usuarios más sencilla. El funcionamiento de los foros a veces resulta engorroso para el alumnado.

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Por las condiciones en las que nos ofrecían la implementación del servicio: costes, plazos, adaptación, por la confianza que me ofrecía nuestra proveedora.

Response from Chamilo Association

Muchas gracias por tu feebdack Patane.REcuerda que podeis hacer sugerenicas de mejora a traves de los proveedores o a traves de nuetsro portal Github.

Replied March 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

An open source LMS you can trust

We wanted to start with a small campus for a brand new business school that offers MBA programs worldwide, especially in Latin America. Chamilo gives us the accurate platform to scale from a few students to hundreds.

Pros

It's easy to install and you can scale from a small virtual campus to a large arrangement and keeping using open-source software.

Cons

The mobile experience is good enough from its native web interface, but having an official mobile app will be great.

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Due to its ease of use, user accessibility, and its network of Official Providers that offer services worldwide.

Response from Chamilo Association

Thanks for your feedback. This 2021 we will make public in our github repository our mobile app.

Replied March 2021

Enrique Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Cheapest Versatility on LMS

Pros

It works very well, the interfaces are so intuitive and help teachers to advance over the digital transformation faster than others LMS

Cons

It's not so much popular, so some teachers resist to the change at the begining

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Interface, price, stability, and the new features

Response from Chamilo Association

Thank you so much for your review Enrique. We apprecciatte so much the time and effort you dedicate to evaluate our software.

Replied April 2021

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

Powerful and customizable LMS

We use it in the university to implement some distance study mats, it was installed and configured in a very simple way, besides it can be customized with the modules and extensions that are available in the repositories, excelenete manager of learning and virtual education.

Pros

It is one of the best platforms for the management of courses and online learning, has many functions for asynchronous communication with the student, in addition the interface is very attractive for teachers and students.

Cons

As it is a free software, in the face of any difficulty or error I have been able to recursis to the community that supports the project and I have found the solution, it is a great advantage to have that support, in addition they are constantly updating the version.

Fernando Matías

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2022

Herramienta de enseñanza online y tradicional

Ideal herramienta para dictado de clases, tanto virtuales como de modalidad tradicional. Aunque cuenta con mejoras y características potentes, existen otras alternativas más versátiles en el mercado que permiten realizar la misma tarea, a menos costo de tiempo.

Pros

Cuenta con la posibilidad de generación de informes muy potentes y completos. Facilita la creación de cursos virtuales y compartir documentación con los alumnos. En la generación de exámenes, se destaca al proporcionar una plataforma segura y fiable para la realización efectiva de un examen.

Cons

Su implementación puede llegar a ser un poco más compleja que otras herramientas similares disponibles del mercado.

Response from Chamilo Association

Gracias Fernando por dejar tu opinión sobre Chamilo LMS. No es fácil aglutinar en un mismo software toda la potencia requerida para procesos de formación con mayor complejidad y seguir mostrando una interfaz sencilla para los cursos más simples. Seguiremos trabajando en lograr un equilibrio entre ambas necesidades.

Replied November 2022

Irwin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Chamilo una ruta para realizar formación de colaboradores

Ha facilidi la formación de los colaboradores en el area técnica y facilidad de acceder a los documentos cargados

Pros

La facilidad de crear cursos y lesiones dentro de los mismos que permitir el avance del alumno

Cons

Manejar muchos submenús para la creacion de las diferentes funciones y no sé vinculas una con la otra a la hora de crear los cursos

Jorge

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Chamilo for language learning

Chamilo has a big potential, but still there is a lot improve, to make it be much better.

Pros

I use Chamilo a lot with my students and think it has a lot o very interesting features, for e-learning.

Cons

However, some things could be improved. I think about difficult is to use Chamilo fóruns, because bugs on design, for exemple. Also, exercises could be more easy to organize by cathegories: when we have many it is a little confuse from where to chose. Orther features could be improved too. It is also quite difficult to find help and valuable information about some procedures.

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Because of interative exercises and hability to create lessons.

Response from Chamilo Association

Hello Jorge. Thanks a lot for your review. It really helps us to keep working on Chamilo to improve it. Regarding your comments just a quick note to let you know that the current version of Chamilo, 1.11.14 allows "categories" for exercises and the forum is free of bugs. Please upgrade to teh latest version to get the best out of this software. To get free help you can use our free resources: https://forum.chamilo.org/, our tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLIsgySYhTVz27BHsukGZAMdn_ubmho7ot And do not hesitate t register to our neswletter to get last minute news about the software. To register go to chamilo.org and you will find the subsciption box. Thanks again for your review and we would love to keep seing you within the community of users. Noa Orizales Iglesias Communication Coordinator Chamilo Association

Replied February 2021

José Luis

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

6 Years with Chamilo

My overall experience with Chamilo is very good. It is a reliable platform that does not usually fail or present major problems.

Pros

Easy to use. Great flexibility. Highly customizable. Good community feedback. Frequent updates. Good communication with developers. Does not use too many resources.

Cons

Lack of updated user manuals. Missing (for me) some useful features. Some more advanced features are difficult to use. Some features require a dedicated server.

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Because it adapts well to my needs and it is not an excessively complex or heavy platform.

Response from Chamilo Association

Thanks Jose Luis. We are glad your experience with Chamilo is good. Regarding new features and suggestiones, please remember our Github Channel is always open for new proposals that make the software easier to use for our end users. There is a tutorial on how to leave a suggestion in our Youtube Channel.

Replied March 2021

Lourdes

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Mi experiencia con Chamilo.

Los cursos en línea han tenido una aceptación mucho mayor por la pandemia, dando por resultado más inscripciones en este tipo de cursos.

Pros

Lo que más me ha gusta es lo amable que es la plataforma y que se puede trabajar en los contenidos con facilidad no se necesita ser informático para comprender los pasos a seguir.

Cons

El problema es que en mi empresa no se ha actualizado y hay varias funciones que no tenía hace cinco años pero el informático dice que hay un problema con las claves pues los administradores iniciales no las dejaron.

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

Cuando llegué a la compañía ya lo tenían en funcionamiento por lo cual no se la historia anterior.

Response from Chamilo Association

Hola Lourdes. Muchas gracias por aportar tu experiencia con Chamilo. Para que no sucedan cosas como las que comentas (un admin que se va y no deja las claves y el portal se queda sin actualizar), siempre recomendamos contactar con proveedores de la red oficial de Chamilo, que esten certificados, ya que podran ofrecer una mayor grantia y se rigen por un codigo de buenas practicas que evita casos como el que comentas. Los proveedores pueden ser consultados desde aqui: https://chamilo.org/es/proveedores/

Replied March 2021

María José

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

Friendly and reliable e-learning platform

We use chamilo to offer our researchers and teachers a place to create their learning courses, collaborative areas and support materials for very different uses. Right now we have over 30000 users enrolled.

Pros

The best thing of Chamilo is its usability. The great majority of our users require little or no support in setting their online courses and start using them. Both teachers and students. It has all the basic options you could expect from a flexible e-learning platform, regarding communication tools, authoring, testing, statistics...of course there are other platforms with far more options in each of these tools, but in my experience most users don't use them anyway.

Cons

It would be desirable to count on more plugins to integrate external tools.

Reasons for choosing Chamilo

The three of them were born from original Claroline and we loved its philosophy, but relied in the team that is running Chamilo, which, besides, has local support in our country and region.

Response from Chamilo Association

Thank you so much for your feedback Maria Jose

Replied March 2021

Rudy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

A quality opensource solution for the professional environment !

My role is to guide the heads of various professional structures from both the private and public sectors. I use Chamilo every day to inform about its high potential and its adaptability for important projects. It has a platform that is easy to use, quick to learn, very stable for projects with a large number of users, and surrounded by a network of very competent official service providers.

Pros

Once you understand how Chamilo is organized, it becomes easy and quick to work and learn how to use the platform, which offers a huge number of configurations to adapt to the different profiles of professional structures or not.

Cons

Chamilo is a solution developed by a large and very active community BUT does not receive any help for its development. The economic aid comes from the official network of service providers who guarantee the sustainability of the project.

Response from Chamilo Association

Thanks Rudy for your feedback. This 2021 we will be working to increse even more the number of official certified providers that join the association to provide an even better service to end users.

Replied March 2021

Gemma

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT