User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(3)

3

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I loved the ease of use, and ability to store records and update in an online, cloud based capacity."

  • "The original web application was simple and worked. The interface was intuitive and it did what it needed to do well."

  • "The old version was a free way for teachers to maintain a gradebook online."

  • Cons

  • "There's nothing I can say that I didn't like. "

  • "McGraw Hill bought out the software, changed it to a payment plan model, and then shuttered the software making it unavailable."

  • "They closed down the old version and replaced it with something different."

Browse Engrade Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -37 of 13 results

March 2018

Jessica from Delta School of Business and Technology

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Great web-side software for student and faculty use

Pros

Engrade allows you to track classes, attendance, at-risk students, and much more. I allows faculty to communicate with both the student as well as the parent if applicable. Students can keep track of their attendance and grades in real time. Engrade also has many features available for faculty members. Such as custom wiki sites, flashcards, test and quiz creations - which uses an automatic grading system that will post the grade to their grade book, discussion forums per class, and has the added feature of either allowing or disabling students contacting their classmates via the Engrade message system. As an administrator for Engrade, you will have access to many additional features that will assist in tracking at-risk students, students missing some/all classes, last login by not only the student but by faculty as well. Too many to list!!

Cons

Their site has a custom HTML tag system, referred to as E-html (Engrade-HTML). It's relatively easy to use, once you locate their help page with all the custom tags available to use.

December 2018

Jennessa from Adventist International Mission School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Easy to USe

Overall, I was very pleased with my experience using Engrade.

Pros

It is so easy and fun to keep track of students' grades and monitor their progress using this software. Almost everything could be customized as needed. I loved how easy it was to input grades, choose the categories for the type of assessment used and, if necessary, go back and change grades. I was very pleased with the ability to input non-graded points as well.

Cons

I hope to see some improvement in the rubrics option. You can spend a whole hour making a detailed rubric, save it, and then later realize you made a small mistake. By that time, there is no way to go back and edit the rubric. You have to start over from scratch. There were times when I would have liked to use the same basic rubric but change it slightly from the original without having to type it all out again. It would be nice to be able to use that rubric and just add to it as needed. I'd also like to see a rubric where you can vary the amount of points given for each category.

July 2019

Joshua from Mountain Christian School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

The Perfect Gradebook

Pros

This platform was the best platform our school has ever had the pleasure of using. Our teachers were able to figure out how to use it easily to input grades, keep track of attendance, print reports, and communicate with parents.

Cons

The only thing our school does not like about this software is that it is going to be disappearing in the near future. We will miss Engrade very much.

October 2019

Dale from Community Christian School of Baraboo

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great software for managing student grades.

Pros

The old version was a free way for teachers to maintain a gradebook online.

Cons

They closed down the old version and replaced it with something different.

September 2019

Annette from Worcester Public Schools

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Abandoned The individual Teacher

A place to have evidence of student work for IEP, 504, parent meetings and college applications.

Pros

The easy of the student to teacher and teacher to parent communication. A place to have evidence of student work for IEP, 504, parent meetings and college applications.

Cons

When Engrade was bought but Mcgraw/Hill they kicked their best customers to the curb, individual sales. I lost hundreds of student portfolios work to this option going dark. Mcgraw/Hill was only interested in getting contracts with school districts. The money they wanted per student in the district was insane.

February 2019

Mary from Falls Baptist Music School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Grade entry has become much easier!

Pros

I love how easy it is to set up a gradebook, customize it, and then enter grades. There are options for how you want it weighted, if you want the lowest grade dropped in a category, etc. Student reports are easy to print as well. Students have enjoyed being able to login and see their grade as well. I have found it very easy to use and navigate. So much better than calculating by hand, and much easier to use than other platforms out there.

Cons

There is not much that I do not like about it. Occasionally, there are times where I feel that a step takes a few more clicks backwards than necessary to get out of a section I was in. However, that is just a picky comment about a product I love using.

August 2018

Andrew from Podcast Panacea

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Awesome product for teachers

I loved using it and it was a total game-changer in grading and record keeping!

Pros

I loved the ease of use, and ability to store records and update in an online, cloud based capacity.

Cons

There's nothing I can say that I didn't like.

September 2019

Gretchen from Baltimore County Schools

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Engrade: Simply Practical

Overall, I had a good experience using Engrade as my grade book, for multiple subjects. It saved me time by averaging my grades and helping me track student progress. Having the curriculum readily available was also a huge benefit of the program.

Pros

I found this software to be user friendly. As a grade recording platform and a location to access curriculum, the ease of use was very important to me.

Cons

In some instances, you had to click through too many steps to reach your end destination.

October 2019

Megan from Grace Homeschool Connection

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Engrade Review

Pros

It was very easy to plug in grades for students and to communicate with parents.

Cons

It would be helpful to have a space to provide comments on each grade to let parents know why a student received a certain mark.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

An Outdated Grading System

I loved it when it was free and I didn't see any need to pay for it.

Pros

I liked that Engrade was free but then they were bought out by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and changed the model to be paid.

Cons

I think they're in the process of shutting down because they went to the paid model which killed of their free users.

March 2019

Tyler from Madison School District

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Engrade ends long grading sessions

We had a digital system but no student portal online. Using this allowed students to access their grades and focus more on their academic performance.

Pros

-Grades auto save -Cloud based so no need to to lug home your computer -Student portal so they have access to their grades and other feedback

Cons

-Initial setup for multiple grades and classes can be difficult and tedious

November 2019

Ben from Zion Lutheran School

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Exceptional Product!

Engrade has made our employees more efficient and takes away the stress of time never being enough.

Pros

This product allows our team to be efficient and increase productivity with its use. It creates a system that benefits our users.

Cons

The software is easy to use and creates a great work system. There is nothing currently that would need to be changed with the product.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

It was great, then McGraw Hill came along

It was great once, but now is a shell of what it once was. Such a shame.

Pros

The original web application was simple and worked. The interface was intuitive and it did what it needed to do well.

Cons

McGraw Hill bought out the software, changed it to a payment plan model, and then shuttered the software making it unavailable.