Firmwater LMS

Firmwater LMS Reviews

RATING:

4.64

(66)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.64

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Firmwater LMS is very intuitive and easy to use for both our internal team and our clients."
  • icon"The ease of use and reliability. Very little overhead with a learning curve that is palatable."
  • icon"The content library is set up in a way that allows us to easily manage our training content and share it with our clients as appropriate, saving lots of time compared to our previous LMS."
  • icon"It's difficult to think of any Cons regarding the Firmwater LMS."
  • icon"The feature of customizing training certificates is limited which can cause issues with regulatory requirements."
  • icon"Navigating and using the platform is not always user friendly and user mistakes can cause costly errors if you aren't careful."

Have you used Firmwater LMS and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Firmwater LMS Reviews

1-25 of 66 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Bradley

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

Awesome!!!

My company has been with Firmwater since late 2015, and we could not be happier. Their customer service beats any company I've worked with in the past by leaps and bounds. They genuinly want your business to be successful, and go the extra mile to help us out and learn the software. Well worth the money, and unless prices go up some time in the future I think our relationship will last for a long time.

Pros

The software is user friendly for a non-skilled individual like myself to not only deliver educational content, but also on the backend for controlling content, managing users, and providing reports.

Cons

Not a durn thing so far :), super easy and I am learning new things all the time.

Nicole

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Training and CE use

Pros

Integrating our Rise training courses are very easy with firmwaterIntegrating our orders within SAP to sign people up for training in Firmwater is also easy

Cons

it's not always clear what each report will show, wish it was simpler to pick our report parameters and have it all show up rather than needing multiple reports to get all the info we want

Response from Firmwater

Hi Nicole, Thank you so much for this review! We're happy you're having success with the e-commerce integration. We're always looking to improve our reporting, so thank you again for the input! -The Firmwater Team

Replied November 2022

Patrick

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2017

Does the job

The firmwater software does gets us by. The reporting feature is not ideal and I often question the accuracy of its data, and I feel as if I have no specified customer support manager.

Pros

Once I figured out what I needed to get done in it, it is relatively easy to use.

Cons

user interface appears outdated and reporting feature is lacking.

Response from Firmwater

We¿re sorry to hear that Patrick. Our team is known for excellent customer support and are quite surprised to see that you feel this way as we have always received excellent compliments for our service from your end. We have been trying to reach out to you and further explore the features you needed. Please give us a call or email us at your convenience to discuss this in more depth.

Replied May 2017

Lucy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Intuitive and easy to use

Excellent in particular the user support, trial period and on boarding, very responsive.

Pros

At first site the LMS seems plain in comparison to 'fancier' platforms. But its simplicity is one of the best features, once you see how well it works with importing great looking courses and excellent reporting functions. It is simple and does the job you want it to do.

Cons

Terminology is not the clearest - needed some explaining about exactly what was what.

Reasons for choosing Firmwater LMS

Other products did not give me the flexibility for users to self register, or for me to gather necessary data for reporting.

Reasons for switching to Firmwater LMS

I couldn't easily integrate SCORM packages alongside other course features; it didn't work with Rise which was the software of choice.

Response from Firmwater

Hi Lucy, Thank you so much for this kind review. We're happy to see that you have benefited from the simplicity and flexibility of the LMS as well as from the work of our support team. We're working on some updates to our documentation to ensure all terms are as clear as possible. We look forward to continuing our partnership. All the best, Liam and the Firmwater Team

Replied February 2021

Scott

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

A solid and flexible LMS

We switched from another solution and Firmwater has greater flexibility. Our support has been very responsive and able to get us running quickly. Recommended.

Pros

Firmwater is one of very few LMSs made specifically for training providers. If you want the ability to host an LMS on behalf of other clients, this is the ideal solution.

Cons

Like any LMS, there's a bit of a learning curve, but it's not bad, and the support is very good.

Reasons for switching to Firmwater LMS

Cost, flexibility. DigitalChalk kept promising updates that never happened.

Response from Firmwater

Hi Scott, Thanks for the excellent review! We're happy to see you're satisfied with your client sites and the support you've received so far. We look forward to our continued partnership. -Liam and the Firmwater Team

Replied June 2021

Andrew

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

June 2010

A Superior LMS for content publishers

I highly recommend the Firmwater development team and the Firmwater LMS to any content developer/training provider that needs a solution to deliver online training content. The LMS was designed with content vendors in mind. With the Firmwater LMS you can concentrate on your training content and let Firmwater handle the rest.

Pros

TPC maintains the largest industrial skills training library with over 640 hours on online content and many more hours of offline training material. We currently have over 200 online clients and are adding 3 to 5 new clients per month to our TPC Online (Firmwater LMS). The Firmwater LMS makes administering so many clients and managing content between them easy. The LMS was designed from the ground up to support content publishers and handles complex tasks with ease. From our clients perspective, the Firmwater LMS hides all complexity behind a straightforward interface making it simple to register users, create training assignments, manage users, and run reports.

Cons

It's difficult to think of any Cons regarding the Firmwater LMS.

Garry

Verified reviewer

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

October 2015

Firmwater LMS and CANSI

I'm the Treasurer and Past President of the Canadian Association of Nordic Ski Instructors (CANSI) and also manage their National Office and computer systems on a volunteer basis. I managed CANSI's implementation of LMS a few years ago and continue to liaise with Firmwater for support and enhancements. Firmwater also developed our website (www.cansi.ca/en/). Firmwater accurately understand our needs / requirements, customized LMS to track members, certifications and courses and exceeded our expectations. Their support is prompt and meets our needs. When we need enhancements, they meet our needs again.

Pros

Strong product and support. Great people to work with.

Cons

None! Firmwater continues to exceed our expectations.

Anwyn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2019

Great product, stellar customer support

Pros

The Firmwater LMS product is incredibly intuitive and user friendly. We are able to easily keep track of our clients and specific users, and there was hardly a learning curve. We did multiple conference calls with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], our Firmwater representative, who gave priceless instruction and suggestions again and again to get us set up. And that's what really impresses me; the customer support. The longest it has ever taken to receive a response from their support team is still less than one business day. They are quick to respond, knowledgeable about their product and the authoring tools (I primarily use Articulate Storyline). It would have been infinitely more difficult to set up our site without their instruction, advice, and hard work. Their help has been invaluable

Cons

I don't have any outright complaints. If a user is experiencing issues with the trainings we put out it's sometimes because they're using outdated software. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been able to tell me if the user is on a mobile device and what browser and version they're running. It would be helpful if we could have that information.

Reasons for choosing Firmwater LMS

Firmwater has many more options for us to use to keep our learners on track and provided pre and post tests.

Response from Firmwater

Anwyn, Thanks for your kind words! We are happy to hear that we were able to help you get off to a good start with Firmwater LMS. Regarding the info on user devices - this is a report that you have access to in the system. I'll give you a call to show you how you can access it! You can also find instructions in our help center (under General Admin Guide > Reports > Logins). Best, Josie & the Firmwater Team

Replied December 2019

Shannon

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Seamless, user-friendly, great customer service, great product.

Beyond the product itself, and most definitely one of the biggest reasons we ended up going with Firmwater at the end of the day was the customer service. They are definitely a very customer centric firm, very responsive, and very flexible with meeting our needs and working with us to get the system up and running. It took us a little time to make the final decision and throughout the process we never felt pushed or pressured to buy, just an attitude of we are here whenever you are ready to make that decision. Since signing on the customer service hasn't wavered, any question, no matter how big or small, gets answered, resolved and dealt with right away.

Pros

First and foremost this product was easy for a non-technical administrator like myself to take on, and understand. This was our first time using an LMS system and it seamlessly integrated with what we were already doing and has the features that we need.

Cons

There is nothing so far that that I don't like about this software.

Reasons for choosing Firmwater LMS

Our decision to choose Firmwater LMS came down to a combination of reasonable pricing, the ability to have a trial/demo to make sure it was going to fit with what we were already doing, and their fantastic, friendly, personalized, customer service. We haven't regretted it for one minute since.

Response from Firmwater

Hi Shannon, Thank you so much for this amazing review. It's been a pleasure working with the Beacon Group and we're so happy to hear you have had a great experience with our Customer Support Team. Thanks again, Liam and the Firmwater Team

Replied March 2021

Roxanne

Verified reviewer

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

Great LMS for a small company

We've been using Firmwater as our LMS provider since 2010, and it feels like they've grown right along with us. They've always been very responsive to our needs, and provide excellent and speedy tech support. As a very small company, we didn't have the resources or expertise in-house to develop or manage our own LMS, and we didn't have the big dollars needed to develop one. We are content producers, not computer programmers! Firmwater's SAAS model gave us a way to monetize our content in a way that was affordable and doable for us. Over the past five years, they have continued to develop and improve their product. The relatively new integration with Shopify was fabulous, it made things so much easier. Shopify allows us to use discount codes, which is an important marketing tool for us. And we now use our Shopify webstore as our website, saving us some money and making it easier for us to update our own content.

Pros

We can offer custom portals to our corporate clients. Students can print their Certificate of Completion from their Training Plan.

Cons

The per-head registration fee is the same, regardless of the size of the price of the course, but I think this is more our problem than theirs!

Hal

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

Firmwater LMS

I have been involved in LMS procurement for 15 years for organizations in the public, private and inter-governmental sectors. In my role as COO of Blue House Energy I have been using Firmwater for three years. We chose Firmwater after a detailed review of options, For a training company/organization, Firmwater is the best I have reviewed or used.

Pros

Very quick and personalized support Quick uploads Ability to create private brand labeled sites (known as “clients”) Grant content from a “master” to “clients”, enabling automatic content update Supports locations and departments Many email contact options, including customization of email messages Various options for user setup Ideal for certificates and certifications (including customized certificates of achievement) Logical user interface and process for content management

Cons

Need more backend functions accessible to the user interface (in process) Would be nice to have a "lite" LCMS that supports version control Upgraded user interface for reports and help

Navita

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2021

Excellent, dependable, user-friendly LMS with unparalleled customer service experience

My team sells eLearning courses and a blended certificate program (with a complicated process and setup) to a diverse array of clients from all industries and all sizes (e.g. government, schools, telecommunications, manufacturing, automobile, airlines, technology, food & beverage, cosmetics, retail, etc.). We also have learners, who are not comfortable with technology access, the training. Firmwater's ease of use, fantastic customer service experience, and dependability have allowed us to meet clients' expectations and exceed sales targets. There's not a lot of bells and whistles, but we have experienced this as a positive - its minimalistic design allows you to focus on what you need to know, and everything is clearly labeled. I appreciate that it is not a convoluted system. There are many options for customization, and the Firmwater team is always available and ready to assist with what we need. I've never heard a "no, we cannot help with that". They always have been able to assist with a resolution to any issue that arises. Their exceptionally responsive team goes above and beyond to ensure that my team has what we need to succeed. They are very customer-focused, and with them, I know that as an LMS administrator, I will never be stranded. With a diverse client base that's exponentially growing, Firmwater helps us get the job done and superbly allows us to address requests for customized processes or features on the LMS.

Pros

The ease of use and ease of navigation, amazing personalized customer service experience, reliability, and very easy to learn how to navigate. It has been very helpful to create countless client sites (which can be individually branded as necessary), and grant content from our host site to the various client sites depending on the training that has been purchased. The ability to customize the setup of complex programs has been invaluable.

Cons

I genuinely don't have anything bad to say about the Firmwater LMS due to the fact that in my experience when there was a "missing" feature or improvement desired, the Firmwater team is responsive and solutions-focused. They want to see you succeed in your business goals.

Response from Firmwater

Hi Navita, We can't thank you enough for this amazing review. It's been a pleasure working with you and we're very pleased you've found the LMS helpful in delivering your training content to multiple clients. We try our best to be as customer-focused as possible, so we're happy to hear you have had a great experience with our team. We look forward to our continued partnership! Thanks again, Liam and the Firmwater team

Replied November 2021

Doug

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

Positive Experience

I've been intimately involved in the implementation/launch of the Firmwater LMS with our company. Firmwaters' level of communication has always been dependable and solution driven. Our company business model is slightly unconventional, with many custom needs. Firmwater has continually stepped up to the challenge and satisfactorily delivered solutions that has kept us moving forward. Before Firmwater, we encountered numerous tech support calls on a daily basis. Since the launch of the Firmwater LMS, our calls have virtually ceased.

Pros

The ease of use and reliability. Very little overhead with a learning curve that is palatable.

Cons

Our business model requires we maintain very detailed records of user results. Most rapid e-Learning publication tools do not offer the level of data we need to export. Firmwater has worked with us to ensure this critical information is captured from the third party software we are currently using. A quiz building engine that offers detailed reporting is something we eagerly await from Firmwater. We'll be the first on board as soon as this is available.

Reasons for choosing Firmwater LMS

Overall best deal and team competency.

Reasons for switching to Firmwater LMS

We wanted to ensure we were able to deliver a product that works on all devices, delivering an improved user experience.

Response from Firmwater

Doug, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are very pleased to hear that we could help Compliance Solutions reach the goal of lowering tech support calls. We have been working closely with you to integrate with your existing systems and processes. We are looking forward to adding more valuable LMS features in the future that will help you streamline processes further and help you grow your business. Thank you for choosing us! The Firmwater Team

Replied July 2019

Chay

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2021

The supportive team make all the difference

The level of customer service is absolutely fantastic. As a team that was new to developing e-learning content, that has been crucial to the success of our projects. Overall we're very happy that we chose Firmwater as our LMS and would definitely recommend it.

Pros

The integration with Shopify is fantastic and means that our users have a seamless purchasing experience. It's great that we're able to have different certificates for different modules, ensuring that our users in Wales are able to access bilingual certificates. The support team are always happy to help, and as a non-specialist team that has made a huge difference to us. Once you know what you're doing, it's quick and easy to build the courses on Firmwater.

Cons

We make regular use of the reporting features, but it would be great to see these further developed so that we're able to build our own custom reports. That being said, the support team are always happy to look into reports or features that aren't available. It would be great for our development team to be able to have more control over the general look of the platform (ie font type, colours, icons etc). However, when we requested changes to the appearance the Firmwater team were more than happy to help.

Response from Firmwater

Hi Chay, Thank you for this great review! We've enjoyed helping Stonewall build this program from the ground up and we're happy to hear you have had success delivering your courses on Shopify. Your comments regarding the customization of reports and LMS branding are duly noted. These are two areas we will be focusing on in the future, so it's very helpful to receive this feedback. We look forward to our continuing partnership. -Liam and the Firmwater Team

Replied March 2021

Patty

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

It took a little while to learn it but now it's very easy to navigate it.

The most important benefit, besides very few if any user technical issues, is not having to personally deactivate accounts because the system does it automatically.

Pros

It has a lot of great features: Allowing a payee to send an invitation to someone else, easy access to the certificates after account is inactive, ability to send e-mails to participants reminding them of their time limit, automatically deactivating participants after a period of time, easy access to management to change participant's information (e-mail address), being able to resend invitations to start the class, easy access to view participant's information by management, and many other features that I can't think of.

Cons

There are only a few drawbacks or cons that we found: Some reports cannot be printed out using PDF.

Response from Firmwater

Hi Patty, thank you for a great, comprehensive review! We are very glad that our LMS features meet your needs and most importantly, that you find our LMS easy to navigate. All of our reports, with the exception of 'Attempt Data Export', are available for PDF export. We encourage you to get in touch with our support team for more information about exporting reports.

Replied November 2017

Mike

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5