HealthStream Learning Center

HealthStream Learning Center Reviews

RATING:

4.33

(40)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.33

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"Healthstream was really good at supporting a small organization with simple learning."
  • icon"Easily cycle through lessons and keep track of your progress. Quizzes help with progress and there is an option to view your certificates after each chapter/course."
  • icon"Product was easy to use, the options for successful implementation were very helpful."
  • icon"Limited content on the behavioral health side of the healthcare business."
  • icon"Conversely, if you were a small or mid-size organization I don't think you would have these same problems."
  • icon"This is frustrating at times not knowing its potential usefulness/impact."

Browse all HealthStream Learning Center Reviews

  • Have you used HealthStream Learning Center and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 40 reviews

Jeannine

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

The HealthStream Learning Center is Fundamental to our Organization

All online education for staff, particularly clinical staff continuing education by specialties, online CPR, regulatory training, classroom management, and more is handled via our HLC LMS. It is an easy way to deliver, track and report on learning activities in a central system. The system is always evolving to help us grow in online learning needs. Our staff love the system, especially the clinical staff who use it almost daily.

Pros

That is is always improving, and is a central system that can be utilized in a variety of settings. I also love being able to utilize the content libraries and also the partnerships with many organizations to provide or purchase additional content with ease.

Cons

HealthStream is always improving the product. The current test builder is a bit antiquated on the admin side but should soon be enhanced. The company is always communicating with users and through a variety of channels including a robust user community where idea sharing and suggestions occur, review our feedback and make changes very quickly. As an administrator, I am kept well informed on the many changes which can be challenging for time but in a good way!

Reasons for choosing HealthStream Learning Center

The HealthStream Learning Center provides an unparalleled product of the primary learning management system that is the gold standard in the healthcare industry, and the content specific to the healthcare industry. The HealthStream staff are all very professional and always provide great customer service. This is so helpful. Any inquiries or issues are handled quickly, and staff are available to talk in person as needed.

Carolyn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

HealthStream for Hospice

As with any system there is a learning curve but HealthStream is overall an intuitive, robust LMS with features for small and very large groups. They are very good with customer service and offer support groups which enhances system utilization. I view them as the Cadillac of LMS for healthcare organizations.

Pros

HealthStream has a robust course library and It is easy to assign courses and run/automate reports to track completions/compliance. I like that I can delay the start of an assignment and the LMS will auto-generate notifications which I can customize . It is easy to create groups and generate reports for anything from course completions to analytics. I can create courses with various learning activities and upload large content files. There are some tricks and tips to learn but support is there when you need it including helpful community support groups (live pre-pandemic, now virtual). There is also a "Help" button for administrators and learners with supportive content including video tutorials.

Cons

I have used the system for over five years and in the "early days" HealthStream support was easier to contact with a faster turn-around (I was spoiled compared with other LMS systems). With time they are less accessible and the turn around is slower but if your need is urgent they will work to respond fast.

Reasons for choosing HealthStream Learning Center

We use both. We considered discontinuing Relias but did not due to Relias having important, desirable content for hospice and more CEs for hospice, healthcare professionals.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

February 2020

HealthStream Learning Center

Pros

Geared for healthcare systems, the software offers many features and products that are industry specific, all in one place.

Cons

The software does not offer modern features that are available by default with many other learning management systems.

Janet

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

HStream from Administrator and Student Role

Adm - Excellent! Just had a TJC survey and the Reviewer was impressed by how we had so much of needed evidence in HealthStream- all in one place and not lost or misplaced as students transfer or managers change. Student - excellent! Especially appreciate having procedural guidelines available in Catalog and to receive CE credit on completion. The CE Path library is wonderful especially with nursing certification preparation.

Pros

Adm. Can start with a basic package then add to this as needed to meet additional needs. Student - gives me control over timing of training.

Cons

Adm - Billing is difficult. As you add additional products, separate Billing with differing timelines can get confusing; multiple invoices for various products. Student - can be slow to deliver or move to the next page

Reasons for choosing HealthStream Learning Center

Business appearance, functionality, met current and future needs, enjoy working with their representatives, customer service, responsiveness, HealthStream User Group - wonderful way to keep uptodate on products while also having a direct input into development and issues.

Reasons for switching to HealthStream Learning Center

Adm - M3 was purchased by HealthStream. After checking other products, HealthStream had a “business” look and the others at that time had a “home-built” look. In the past, we switched products every 2 or 3 years as we outgrew the product faster than the product could change. This has not been the case with HealthStream. HealthStream changed and evolved before so our new need was there are coming soon.

Anthony

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

Mid-Level Administrator

Using this system gets easier with time. I have relatively few problems with it nowadays, partly because I have been using it for 5+ years. Our newer administrators have more frustrations, i.e. "Why does it work this way?" vs just accepting it for how it is. If you stick with it and achieve a level of mastery, it will get the job done and will do what you expect an LMS to do.

Pros

They have identified the features that are used the most and have streamlined them heavily. The customer support is top notch if you need help. They really engage with customers and listen to feedback. You will always feel like you have a voice or can connect with the vendor to get a problem resolved. There's always some new feature they're working on to stay cutting edge.

Cons

Course building features have seemed a bit dated for a while now. Custom reporting is a bit clunky and doesn't always provide the data you are looking for without a lot of extra legwork. The learning curve can seem daunting when getting started, with a lot of system vocabulary and terminology to get used to. As a large, multi-leveled organization, we run into limitations that the system was not designed for. This means we end up having to work with the vendor to custom build solutions to band aid the problem. Conversely, if you were a small or mid-size organization I don't think you would have these same problems.

Amanda

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2020

HealthStream Learning Center

Overall, HealthStream has been a really great tool for Bayhealth. We've used the product for over 10 years and have increased our utilization exponentially since year one. They are usually right on top of any healthcare related trends in education and providing content/features necessary to meat the unique demands or needs of healthcare and education.

Pros

I love that it's centered around the healthcare, as it ensures we have the most applicable content available. Most of the features are developed with healthcare in mind as well which makes it a front runner in the industry. They are very customer geared so will listen to their customers for feedback and/or will do whatever they can to meet a need. The addition of features such as the Competency Center and Checklist have really transformed our orientation and annual education processes, and our end users absolutely love them.

Cons

Customer Service used to be exceptional but has struggled quite a bit in recent years. Reporting can be clunky at times, but is improving. I also struggle with the level of control I do not have as an Administrator over my own data; it affects the operational aspects of my job and use of the system. I also would like to see more collaboration on feature development with end users; sometimes the full functionality is not thought through (this has gotten better).

Dione

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

HealthStream Review

I am currently satisfied with the system. Learning how the system can even better serve our organization is a goal!

Pros

This is a comprehensive system that has the potential to address so many organizational needs.

Cons

The ability to modify some functions and to make small changes to better meet the needs of the organization. Too many obstacles to inquire about services/products - I have to inquire about any potential learning item I would like to purchase through my representative who then contacts another individual to reach out to me. The learning curve to learn the potential of how the system can assist out organization is sometimes challenging.

Reasons for choosing HealthStream Learning Center

Unknown

Kristen

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Great Product!

It's a great tool

Pros

HealthStream is a wonderful LMS for a health system, and they have great content options.

Cons

It's a bit outdated compared to other LMS systems.

Reasons for choosing HealthStream Learning Center

It was best for our industry, healthcare

Justin

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2022

Useful for the Healthcare setting for tracking

Pros

Tracking for training and compliance is used often with this software. This Learning Management System provides a solid platform to deliver and track course completion and other trainings. It can be accessed from any mobile device as well as laptop or desktop.

Cons

There are moments where the system has errors users experience which cannot always be resolved through the customer support. There are also sometimes complications in tracking when multiple sets of trainings need to be completed annually.

Michelle

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

LMS Partnership that WORKS!

HealthStream Learning Center has helped propel our online learning solutions to a new level. It has allowed a variety of departments within the organization to modernize their learning and provide alternative learning methods to our employees.

Pros

HealthStream has provided our organization with a modern learning platform. It is very customizable, meeting the various stakeholder needs and allows for the integration of many types of learning activities within its platform. Their customer service and technical support has been exceptional - very personable, tailored to our specific needs and willing to help us think outside the box as we continue to grow.

Cons

The one area that could use some development would be the reporting solutions. While there are many types of reports available, it is not always very easy to customize to meet our individual needs.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2020

Great system with great potential

We are able to easily assign and track all mandatory edcuation and competency.

Pros

The HealthStream Learning center is very fuctional, it makes delivering E-learning easy! Courses are easy to build and assign.

Cons

Many opportunities for improvement, for example the catalog is not a smart search, the wait list feature doesn't work as most users think it should, customer service closes cases without full resolution

Michelle

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

Can't Imagine Training Without HealthStream

Pros

The HealthStream learning center platform is easy to use and understand for staff, making it 'the way we do training' at our organization. The HR import brings in staff demographic information including department & job title, making it easy to create learning assignments to specific groups of employees. Our organization really loves the additional products like HealthStream Video and Checklists to develop interactive courses to meet our needs for training and competency. With new features continually being rolled out with the Customer Delight Campaign and the new hStream platform and MyTeams for managers, I'm excited to see what the future holds for us and other HealthStream customers.

Cons

One thing that is problematic is that some courses, or features within them, don't run with all major internet browsers. This is confusing and frustrating to staff.

Reasons for switching to HealthStream Learning Center

While we were a happy NetLearning customer, we were looking to add online performance appraisals, and NetLearning did not have this option at the time (2010); or if they did, their product did not have what we were looking for.

Francesca

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

HealthStream Client since 2003

Our organization enjoys the 3rd party vendors education offerings as HealthStream has been very strategic and selective in who they partner with. HealthStream continues to be an emerging force in providing healthcare

Pros

The technical support is amazing. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is a very motivating, supportive force as HealthStream's [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. He is truly inspirational as a keynote speaker. His energy and belief in supporting/providing staff education to make the best impact where it counts, at the bedside with the patient and their family is key to why we continue as a HealthStream customer/partner.

Cons

Some of the transition/conversion from legacy to HStream are unknowns until seeing it in the system as a choice/selection for the first time. This is frustrating at times not knowing its potential usefulness/impact.

Reasons for choosing HealthStream Learning Center

Seemed more robust with more flexible options.

Reasons for switching to HealthStream Learning Center

HealthStream I believe acquired D'Medici and several others to form HealthStream.

Bernadette

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

A Good Choice for HealthCare Organizations

We use HealthStream in many ways besides providing the education our staff needs to stay on top of the many requirements for medical care. We also use it to track annual flu shot compliance and for other needs. Our dedicated Ops Specialist is a treasure beyond compare, but HealthStream's de-centralized billing practices are a challenge to deal with.

Pros

HealthStream has a huge amount of features and content targeted specifically for healthcare organizations, which makes their system hard to beat in this industry. BLS/ACLS renewal, other patient safety and clinical content, checklists for skills and equipment check-offs, live class registration management - there is a lot you can do. The reporting options are also well developed and accessible.

Cons

Besides live classes, there is almost no capability for teacher/student interaction. It does not support discussion boards or homework uploads.

Amberlee

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2020

Good Product, but has flaws

Overall I have a great relationship with those that work at Healthstream. When I have issues I'm not afraid to ask, and they are more than willing to help and fix problems.

Pros

I like the flexibility of the software, there are many different elements that you can integrate to automate your processes and tracking.

Cons

The miriade of "fixes", that are just bandaid that seem to come back at least once a month. The other big issue is the system refreshing issue. In the age of immediate feedback, I shouldn't have to wait anywhere from 2-8 hours for the site to refresh with the information that I put in.

Jenni

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

HealthStream Learning Center Review

Pros

I find HealthStream easy to manage and navigate. I like that they are constantly updating and adding user friendly features - MyTeam , Event Tab,

Cons

I find it difficult to get best practice suggestions from the team when implementing new purchased features or when updates are made available. I often don't realize something in our organization has changed until I happen upon it.

Reasons for switching to HealthStream Learning Center

I had used HealthStream at a previous organization, HCCS contract was up and we chose HealthStream from among many other products.

Martia

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

HealthStream Learning Center

The HLC is a way to assign and track mandatory education. It also serves as a way to track education both inside the organization and from outside sources

Pros

HealthStream has healthcare related content already built. They also work with vendors to provide education through the HLC.

Cons

Some aspects of customization are not available in the HLC.

Reasons for choosing HealthStream Learning Center

We chose HealthStream because of the existing healthcare content available.

Reasons for switching to HealthStream Learning Center

The content that we used previously was no longer available.

Joni

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3