HSI

HSI Reviews

RATING:

4.66

(53)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.66

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"It is easy to use, and the customer service is great."
  • icon"HSI has quality content in an easy to use format. Users can easily access and take their required training."
  • icon"It was easy to navigate once in place, people were accessible for assistance when needed even with time differences. Curriculum was good, easy to follow."
  • icon"Before my time, not sure what other software was used."
  • icon"The sales team was sneaky and tried to make our company renew the program after they were told it wasn't working for us."
  • icon"We have experienced difficulties with the Part 48 New Miner training and the online virtual training. Part 46 & 48 certificates are a poor design with the need for more information on them."

All HSI Reviews

1-25 of 52 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kiara

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Awesome Software!

HSI has been a great benefit to my company and really helped us out in a time of needing a great LMS and online training. Our Customer Service Representative, Account Executive including tech support are just really awesome and provide amazing support. None of my questions have gone unanswered and they are always on point to provide us with new updates they've released. HSI will even reach out to make sure our company is doing well and if there's anything they can help us with.

Pros

I really love how dynamic the software is. It's easy to keep track of all my students, courses and even manage reports including purchasing additional credits. I also really like that HSI continues to provide updates and improvements to their software. It's very much so a "point and click" system with easy navigation.

Cons

Nothing bad to say about this software.

Response from HSI

Thanks for the kind words, Kiara! We really appreciate the review!

Replied October 2020

Melissa

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Very satisfied with HSI training videos

I did not have any negative experiences during the entire process of setting up an account with HSI. Their customer service reps are super friendly and very responsive. They check in on you periodically and they let you know when new training videos that may be relevant to your industry are available.

Pros

My university contracted with HSI to supply training videos for students, staff and faculty. The videos are high quality, up-to-date and easy to navigate. The training videos are created by subject matter experts and update automatically when regulations or industry standards change.

Cons

It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Reasons for choosing HSI

I didn't get too deep into the choosing process, but I believe the other vendor we were considering was more expensive.

Response from HSI

Thanks, Melissa! We really appreciate your feedback and kind words.

Replied October 2020

Cheryllee

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

February 2022

Low-Grade Quality and Sneaky Salesmanship

Sneaky salesmanship, difficulties with the built in reports, extra-ordinary amount of time employees needed to put into the coursework. Overall, not for a small manufacturing company.

Pros

I thought it would be easy to use for my employees but the course work took some employees hours out of their day.

Cons

The sales team was sneaky and tried to make our company renew the program after they were told it wasn't working for us. We paid for a year and didn't like it. As a "Leader in their industry" they should, in good faith, understand and allow us to find something that fits our company.

Reasons for switching to HSI

This product did not work for our company

Margaret

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2020

Quality content in an easy to use format

HSI has been great to work with. They provided lot of information during the set up phases and are quick to respond to questions regarding the system.

Pros

HSI has quality content in an easy to use format. Users can easily access and take their required training. Supervisors monitor progress through premade reports that are easily customized. Administrators set up a system and only have to do short regular check ins.

Cons

Our organization doesn't have an email for each employee so updating passwords requires and admin but we've gotten a good system in place.

Reasons for choosing HSI

Quality of content, quantity of content, features and functionality

Response from HSI

Hi Margaret, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied December 2020

Jeff

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Refreshing Change to HSI and Vivid Learning.

My experience with Vivid Learning and HSI has been exceptional. From the first call into HSI / Vivid to investigate the available course library and opportunity to use the SCORM course packages was a welcome conversation. All avenues along the way was a focus on one thing, the satisfaction and success of my project and timeline. Rare do you find a company that is in partnership to meet the budget and target timeline for deployment with such absolute confidence. It made my decision to partner with HSI a natural fit. Additionally, even after the contract and after the successful deployment of the project, HSI / Vivid staff frequently remained in contact to gauge success and satisfaction. Even during the initial part of the COVID-19 outbreak and people began working from home, their engagement with their customers never failed. I appreciated that.

Pros

The variety of safety OSHA Awareness courses within the available library and the options to either use the SCORM files to load directly into our existing LMS or utilize the HSI LMS which is outstanding.

Cons

Can't really say I have a "Least" desired attribute, but given our Oil & Gas Industry needs for OSHA safety courses, it would be perfect to have the content specific to Oil & Gas (imagery & some other topics). However, the courses we use are sufficient to meet our needs and we have the option to custom build courses in partnership with Vivid Learning / HSI team.

Reasons for choosing HSI

In order of priority based on our needs (it's not all about price): #1 - Service - HSI / Vivid has gone far and beyond my exceptions and still do today. Positive attitude and always willing to help their customer success goals. It's refreshing. Good people. (They should be a raise :-). #2 - SCORM file availability, as well a large OSHA Compliant safety awareness library #3 - Pricing. Important, but the first two I found to be exceptional. #4 - Product support & support team members. We got not only a good product, but also great support. Diligent and thorough completion of any issues or questions asked. As one can see, I am a big fan of HSI and Vivid Learning. Congratulations to their leadership for assembly of great, high quality products. And, for hiring great people, the greatest asset to any company.

Reasons for switching to HSI

Switched due to the lack of overall support & knowledge from Veriforce about eLearning success. Also because HSI / Vivid supported our need to get SCORM courses and also the variety of safety courses for our Oil & Gas Employee base.

Response from HSI

Hi Jeff, thanks for leaving us a review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied May 2021

Brandy

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Great Safety, HR, and Computer Training

Saves the EHS professional time for in-person training (minimizes this). It is also a great way to track all trainings and a leading indicator.

Pros

The software allows new employees to be entered into the system quickly to get their training started immediately. The software is user friendly. If the users have problems, customer service great at helping. The content is accurate and is updated often. The storylines and animation are also great. From an admin side, the software allows reports to be run, and makes a leading indicator easy to have (the % of people who are in compliance with their training). It helps decrease the number of working hours that the EHS Professional or Supervisors have to put in for training, because this system does it. They also track any other trainings that you want to have (live events) that are not included in the software. I would 100% recommend this training software to companies.

Cons

It would be nice to send an email out to all delinquent users (they may already have this and I do not know of it). I know the email goes out for 1 day overdue, 15 days overdue, etc, but I would like to make my own and send it out.

Reasons for choosing HSI

More topics (included HR and computer safety) and better animation.

Response from HSI

Hi Brandy, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied December 2020

Ben

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Public Safety

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Great Resource for EMS Training

We are extremely pleased with our purchase. It has allowed us to provide needed continuing education to our EMS providers at their convenience. Most work out of our satellite stations and this has been essential to maintain their professional licensures, as well as, allowing them to keep sharp on EMS knowledge. This ultimately leads to high quality patient care. Our providers have given very positive feedback about our purchase of HSI online training. Very soon, we plan to start taking advantage of their other great features, such as, creating custom classes. Customer service has been exactly as promised, top notch! [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] continues to impress and deliver, help every time I call. One can imagine how useful it has been during this year of 2020.

Pros

The online training is easy to assign to my EMS providers. The classes offered are full of useful and current information. Providers are able to receive CEU's for state and national recertification on their own time. They offer a wide variety topics to choose from that challenge all levels of EMS certifications.

Cons

During a training session, providers are able to pause and resume the class you are taking overall, but not in the middle of the video. Must watch again, in its entirety, if you log out of class while watching this portion. Fortunately, the length of these segments are kept reasonable, so issues with this are very minimal.

Reasons for choosing HSI

After calling around and speaking with other companies offering similar products, we decided on HSI based on my conversation with their representative [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. He was thorough in explaining the product and potential value to our department. Answered all our questions and made us feel confident that our purchase would be worthwhile.

Response from HSI

Hi Ben, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied December 2020

Daniel

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Incredibly Versatile

We started using this solution as a safety software solution, but quickly started utilizing additional custom features and benefits as we became more familiar with the site and support team.

Pros

The best part about this software is how customizable it is. The content can be tailored as robust or as generic as needed down to the individual employee for course enrollments. The ease of reporting for compliance and performance as a result has been a tremendous benefit.

Cons

The best feature is also the worst feature. The site is very robust and flexible in that if you do not have a solid plan on how you want to internally administer the site it can be somewhat overwhelming and challenging. Fortunately they have a great support team that helps you through these challenges as they arise and tailor it to meet your needs.

Reasons for choosing HSI

The quality of the content in the safety videos was a key determining factor in that they were not like your traditional safety videos with the 80's music, bad haircuts, and overacting. They were real life situations, with a fresh animated way to deliver the content in ways we believed would create employee engagement. The pricing structure of their course catalog was also appealing in contrast to other solutions.

Response from HSI

Hi Daniel, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied December 2020

Shirl

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2020

Elevating Training Program

The level of customer service provided by HSI/VIVID Learning Systems has been exceptional. I appreciate their level of commitment to helping us solve training challenges and provide new tools and materials, on a regular basis.

Pros

Employees at all levels of the organization were able to adapt to the user interface quickly. The EH&S training material that is an integral part of the licensing agreement added a lot of value by ensuring continuity in training, flexibility for employees, and compliance to regulatory and other legal requirements.

Cons

The reporting features need to be more robust, including having a dashboard that shows performance to planning real time.

Reasons for choosing HSI

> Priced competitively > Offered per-user fee structure > Discounted rates for 3-year licensing agreement > Included additional “specialty” DOT Hazmat training module, at no additional cost > Reduced impact on in-house resources to develop safety training materials > Established, competitive pricing for other “specialty” safety and Human Resources courses

Response from HSI

Hi Shirl, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied February 2021

Dominic

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Corporate Safety Manager

HSI (Vivid Learning) has been excellent in providing me with helpful information and suggestions on training content for our employees. This include materials outside of our package content, at reasonable prices. Their customer service people have gone above and beyond my expectations.

Pros

Topics are current and meet todays training and educational requirements. Because we are able to load them onto our own LMS site, student/employee access is convenient and makes it user friendly.

Cons

We do a lot of classroom training at our DC's and sometime the classroom (handouts) are a little sparse.

Reasons for choosing HSI

The package offered to us inclusive of the pricing, was far better than other providers.

Response from HSI

Hi Dominic, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied December 2020

Kristina

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Import and Export

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Great value for a superior product

The team at HSI has been great to tailor the system to our needs. Everyone is very professional and courteous and they always provide a response in a timely matter.

Pros

The software is very easy to use considering the wide variety of employees at our business. The multi language option is key with our workforce. I like how there is the ability to upload your own content to supplement the training lesson. Most importantly, the support team is very quick to respond.

Cons

Sometimes it lags on the speed, but that could be an internal issue with our network.

Response from HSI

Thank you, Kristina! We'll pass along your kind words about our support team - we love them, too!

Replied October 2020

Michael

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

As a User

As a client of theirs for over 23 years I find their materials superior to others in many ways. The customer service is impeccable and I will continue to use their product for years to come.

Pros

HSI's material are very user friendly and their customer service is outstanding. If there is ever an issue (which is very, very seldom) the issue is dealt with and resolved almost immediately.

Cons

Can't think of any issues that create any problems. As I stated earlier, if any arise, they address them immediatley.

Response from HSI

Hi Michael, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied November 2020

Sue

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Vivid Software Review

The team is very quick to respond when any issues or questions arise and offers good suggestions to facilitate changes, user experience, etc.

Pros

The software is easy to deploy, track and create reports with.

Cons

There's 3-4 weeks of downtime as you're moving into a new calendar year while the team makes the training updates. There have been a few glitches where the software can't be programmed to accommodate individual company training needs.

Reasons for choosing HSI

Ease of use, familiarity with the software for our employees, pricing, etc. We had used Vivid before for several years and after the third party provided by the PEO didn't work out, returned to Vivid.

Reasons for switching to HSI

We returned to Vivid in spite of the offering through the PEO at a cost in addition to our PEO package.

Response from HSI

Hi Sue, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied November 2020

Dave

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

HSI/VIVID Review

Very satisfied so far, HSI customer service has been good. HSI was smart not to completely change over VIVID during the acquisition and it made for a smooth transition.

Pros

Ability to generate the reports that I need to inform employees and Admin about our performance.

Cons

Instructions can be difficult to obtain on how to use the product.

Reasons for choosing HSI

Overall it was the large quantity of subject matter, ease of use, and ability to track.

Response from HSI

Hi Dave, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied August 2021

Danella

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Great product

Pros

We have been using HSI for 3 years now, the platform for training their chemical database are very user friendly and easy to navigate. Their customer service team works quickly to resolve any issue that may arise.

Cons

Training videos could be updated, but they serve the purpose we need them for and are interactive.

Response from HSI

Hi Danella, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

Replied November 2020