All Interplay Learning Reviews

1-25 of 32 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Sergio

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Interplay Learning Is Very Useful

The experience has been positive. Entry level technicians enjoy all the courses. The more experienced technicians wish there were more advanced courses. We did find one error on one of the videos a couple months back and sent the information in to Interplay but have not heard back.

PROS

I like that fact that as the administrator, I can track progress on my team members on my dashboard. I also like the variety on different courses and the fact that each course is presented in short sections/chapters. I like the knowledge checks/quizzes.

CONS

I wish there were more advanced courses on chillers, cooling towers, water-source heat pumps, etc. More DDC controls courses would be a plus as well.

Reason for choosing Interplay Learning

Pricing and user management features

Vendor Response

Hi Sergio! We are so thrilled you and your techs are enjoying the training! And thank you for your feedback on not only your request for more advanced courses, but also a few specific examples, that is so helpful! Consider your requests submitted to our Production team for review. They love to know what our customers want to see, it helps us prioritize what courses are developed and launched, which is primarily based on how many requests we get for it. So keep the feedback coming, we're all ears! Regarding the error you never heard back from us on, we will make sure to notify your Customer Success Manager so they can help track that email down for you. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful and helpful review, we really appreciate it, Sergio!

Replied June 2021

tom

Environmental Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

National trade academy instructor review

As an hvac company and trade school, we also use interplay learning to train office personnel that are good with managing people, and business, but literally have no idea what services we provide. It allows them to be a better liaison between tech and customer, and between tech and office personnel.

PROS

I like that I can give students assignments and have them complete it before showing up to training in our class. Our platform is structured so that 80% of class time is spent in the lab. Interplay learning allows us to have students learn a lot of stuff that would normally have to be taught in a classroom at home before they show up, which allows us to then spend time in the lab rather than the classroom.

CONS

I do not like that there is no way to have an app for this software on a phone. Most people do not use computers or even tablets these days. .. Sometimes the software for tablets is not great and causes videos to crash, or especially the 3d training will crash. Some of the video content is a little inaccurate, but for the most part is spot on. I also think the new 3d training for recovery and vacuum needs a little work.

Reason for choosing Interplay Learning

Because it is able to be used online, and because of the virtual troubleshooting aspect.

Vendor Response

Hi Tom! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a helpful review! We're thrilled to hear you and your students are making the most of the platform. You're not only using the platform for technical training, but for creating a community and culture of learning as well. So awesome. Regarding the crashing and video content accuracy, we'll make sure your Customer Success Manager reaches out to make sure we fully understand your feedback and get it in the right hands to investigate and work on a fix. They'll be in touch soon. Thank you for bringing it to our attention! Regarding a mobile app, smartphones don't have quite the screen space or computing power to make the 3D sims playable...yet...but never say never! Really appreciate your feedback there though - noted! We're also glad to hear it's not just your students using the training, but the office staff too. We are starting to see so many companies decide to do the same, and it's awesome to see. Knowledge is power, as they say!

Replied May 2021

Richard

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2021

Not worth the money

Disappointing

PROS

Just about everything about it was disappointing. Its awkward to use and does not lend itself to being used for assessments

CONS

Lots of glitches and trouble getting assistance when needed.

Reason for choosing Interplay Learning

There really wasn't anything else that I knew of to deliver content in this way.

Vendor Response

Hi Mr. Zaker, Thank you for submitting this review, your feedback is valuable to the entire Interplay Learning team. I apologize that your experience was negative, we are committed to providing the best customer journey and in this case did not fulfill on that commitment. We understand your frustrations, and if possible would like to speak with you directly to understand more of what did not meet your needs. Time is valuable, so if that is not of interest to you we completely understand, but if available we would love to speak with you further. Our support address is support@interplaylearning.com, and we have given instruction at a high priority to keep an eye out for any communication that may come from you. Thank you again for the valuable feedback, we hope to speak with you further. -Interplay Learning

Replied May 2021

Mark

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Training Manager's Viewpoint

I think it is an excellent tool for someone who wants to expand their knowledge. My team does not work on Solar but I have a few that take the course, myself included, just to understand how it works.

PROS

Overall the software is easy to use. I have some people who use their smartphones & work on it during the day, while others spend time with it in the evenings. I have 30+yrs in the HVAC industry & review the courses before assigning them...I'm still learning from the courses. I love when I can assign a course & receive notification when the course is complete or late.. It is great for personal development & used for performance reviews. I also like that if a user is not using the software I can reassign their seat.

CONS

My team does not use Virtual Reality so I don't know how it would look with the googles, but when troubleshooting & placing your meter on objects it doesn't like the real world. I would like to remove points as an admin user when students are got cheating the game, ( yes they still do cheat & they believe I am too old to catch on :).

Reason for choosing Interplay Learning

It is a multifaceted course & ease of use.

Vendor Response

Hi Mark! You are such a great example of how to maximize the platform and make the most of it. We are so glad that you and your students are enjoying the platform and really benefiting from it (and that they're completing their assignments!) Always a win for you. If you're looking for a true "real world" experience, the 3D is powerful, but VR is on a whole new level. Definitely reach out to your Customer Success Manager to talk about VR if you want to explore what that would look like for your team. If by "cheating" you mean duplicate points for multiple attempts, you're right, they do get points for each activity they complete, even if they re-take that activity. Reach out to your CSM about this too to talk about different ways to measure progress instead of points -- course completions are never duplicated, so that would be a good example of a different way to measure progress. But thank you for your feedback there, and for leaving such a thoughtful review! Keep up the great work!

Replied May 2021

Samuel

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2021

support

great experience interplay has made get steps to improve this program. it's a thousand times better than when i first began. still needs some tweaking to make it better.

PROS

easy to use. Great foundation. great support team.

CONS

needs some work on electrical side. also need a variety of different style manufactories to give students a more wide range of how different units operate.

Vendor Response

Hi Sam! We're thrilled you've been along for the ride as long as you have - you've seen so many launches, adjustments, tweaks, and additions to the training since you came on board! Thanks for always being so candid with your feedback and being a great partner in our growth. But the most important growth is that of your students, so we'll keep working towards that mission. We appreciate your feedback on training for different manufacturer unit styles. For now, we try to make the units in our 3D sims largely universal so that the troubleshooting applies to any unit that technicians would see in the field. We'd love to hear more about your thoughts on Electrical content you'd like to see, so reach out to your Customer Success Manager so we can get the feedback submitted! Consistent and intentional improvement, that's our motto. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Sam!

Replied May 2021

Aaron

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Interplay Learning Electrical Skill Mill for the Win!

My students now have a very powerful tool to enhance their classroom experience and master the learning objectives for the class.

PROS

This product was very easy to integrate into my high school Construction Trades Electrical class. The online learning modules prepare the students for real-world hands-on applications. The VR labs allow the students to simulate circuit building and troubleshooting that they will replicate in the classroom lab. The safety of trying to wire a VR circuit first before actually doing it is extremely valuable.

CONS

I would like to have students have the ability to retake certain modules from the beginning. It appears once a module is completed the instructor cannot reset the progress.

Reason for choosing Interplay Learning

The ability to use a VR headset to complete some of the activities.

Vendor Response

Aaron, we are thrilled Interplay Learning is a tool in your classroom and that, in partnership with your expertise as an instructor, your students feel prepared for the real world - that is why we do what we do. Thank you for all your hard work and all that you do for your students, we're grateful to partner with such innovative instructors like you. We appreciate your time leaving such an awesome review. SkillMill for the win, indeed!

Replied April 2022

Tony

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Good use of technology

Repetition creates a habit, doing the troubleshooting helps build the right sequence and helps older techs remember to check the most common issues first. Our biggest hurdle with using this is adapting our company culture. Training is often low on the list when things are busy. We are working on changing this and in the future we hope to incorporate regular training into our schedule instead of fitting it in when things are slow. I see us using this technology more and more in the next 5 years.

PROS

Real life scenarios and the thought put into troubleshooting. The A/C and RTU troubleshooting has been very helpful for us. I appreciate the regular updates to the system. That makes it have more value to us and keeps it relevant.

CONS

I would like to see high efficiency boiler troubleshooting. We have had a few issues with Oculus software but that seems to be better now.

Reason for choosing Interplay Learning

I saw and used the demo at the AHR Expo and was sold on it.

Vendor Response

Hi Tony! This is all music to our ears. We're so glad our paths crossed at the AHR Expo. You and the Blakeman team have been such great partners to work with. Creating a training culture takes work indeed, but is worth every step - amen! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. We'll make sure High Efficiency Boiler Troubleshooting is on our Production team's radar for consideration and review, great idea! Glad to hear the Oculus software is running more smoothly now, but don't hesitate to reach out to your Customer Success Manager for any VR assistance if more questions come up. Keep up the great work!

Replied May 2021

Adam

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Interplay is good

Interplay helped out Apprenticeship & Trades department replace the in-person lab experiences in many of our classes. Our Electrical instructor and our HVAC instructor were able to to use several of Interplay's course offerings to keep their students engaged during the past 15 months of Covid-related distance learning.

PROS

Catalog is full of worthwhile offerings for our instructors to use to augment class lectures. Great selection of different subject areas that is very well organized. VR simulations are better than most other options that I've seen.

CONS

It has been a little difficult for our team to come to an understanding of how the organizational structure of the Teams works. But that is the only real hang up we've had.

Vendor Response

Hi Adam! We are so glad to hear that both your instructors and your students are enjoying the courses across the different trades! We've been making some updates to how the Team page works especially with subgroups to make it easier for schools and large companies to manage their learners. To make sure you feel confident with how your Team page is structured, please don't hesitate to reach out to your Customer Success Manager and we can work with you on it! Also, if you have any ideas on how we can improve the Team page structuring, let us know, we are always all ears for ways to make our platform better! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful and helpful review, keep up the great work future-proofing your program and engaging your students virtually!

Replied June 2021

mike

Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Better Statistics

overall the platform is a great learning platform to move my technicians into another competency

PROS

The ease of sending courses to my employees

CONS

The members course progress is missing the point on grades.. Yes it tells you that a person completed a course at 100% but what is there grade on all of the tests and quizes within a certain course.. I make my guys go back and retake the course on a score less then 80%.. but it is very tedious for me to go through and add up all of the quizes and tests to see what there average was for the course.... This would be a huge improvement moving forward. Also I would like to have full control over what the team gets for courses, i see that they can go in and pick what they want when they want and this disrupts the reason why i gave them certain courses...

Vendor Response

Hi Mike! Agreed 100%. We are putting a big effort towards buffing out our reporting. We want to make it more robust so that admins like you have more visibility that's easier to access. Reporting updates are on the roadmap, so definitely keep your eyes out for those announcements when they launch! If you have any other ideas, please feel free to reach out to your Customer Success Manager, they can help discuss best practices and make sure our Production team is aware of any product or content feedback you have. Thanks for taking the time to leave such a candid review, Mike, keep the feedback coming, we're all ears!

Replied May 2021

Jeffrey

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Excellent Product, Highly Recommend!

Interplay Learning's product is a must have if you are wanting to start or supplement your HVAC/R education. The software has become an intricate part of our curriculum and Interplay Learning is always upgrading and adding new content.

PROS

The features of this product are excellent, the details for real world applications is wonderful and covers an wide variety of topics that service technicians may encounter in the HVAC/R industry. The videos are well developed and contain great information. The interactive portion of the software is the greatest, especially the virtual reality portion, our students love the real world experience they receive from this great product.

CONS

None, we have not found any part of the software or system that isn't easy to use or relatively user friendly.

Reason for choosing Interplay Learning

Best graphics, best content, best price!

Vendor Response

Hi Jeffrey! We are ecstatic to hear that you and your students are enjoying the platform and really gaining value from the courses. From an HVAC instructor, your compliment is not taken lightly. Thank you for your dedication to your students' growth and for bringing our content to life in your classroom. You all have been such a great customer and partner in training, we hope for many great years to come! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. Keep up the great work!

Replied June 2021

J. Joe

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2021

Very Good

This is my 3rd year using Interplay, and many students continued to like using this video . In short, I like it very much!

PROS

Overall, students like that it's a quick stimulation video that reinforce what they learn from the subject matter, especially the beginner's video stimulation from Interplay-.VERY GOOD!

CONS

Registration- I had hard time registering students to Interplay. It was was countless error & glitches when students trying to login.

Vendor Response

Hi Joe! You've been a partner in training of ours for a long time, thank you for growing alongside us. We can only imagine how much you've helped your students grow! We're also so happy to hear you and your students are enjoying the 3D sims! Call us biased, but we think they're pretty awesome, too! But login issues are the worst, we're so sorry you and your students had experienced those issues. You know we're always here to help if any other issues come up, always feel free to reach out to your dedicated Customer Success Manager as well as our Support team (support@interplaylearning.com) Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, Joe, we really appreciate it!

Replied May 2021

Andrew

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

HVAC Training

During times with limited meeting abilities the software filled a gap in training and really helped to review new material with the students.

PROS

I like the "hands on" experience with out being able to put hands on, it allows inexperienced technicians the ability to safely learn new skills.

CONS

Least favorite feature is the ability to have "free reign" of the systems. For example, being able to add or remove refrigerant on your own, to be able to view its effects.

Vendor Response

Hi Andrew! We're thrilled you and your techs are enjoying the training. We're glad you think the 3D sims provide an opportunity for learning and making mistakes before they're in the real world. You know what they say, safety first! Your feedback on "free reign" sounds interesting. Reach out to your Customer Success Manager so we can more fully understand your thoughts there and take action! We'd love to know how we can make our training better and always more safety-oriented. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review, Andrew!

Replied May 2021

Michael

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

The easiest way to get technical training to your employees

Interplay Learning listens to your concerns and truly wants you to be happy with their product.

PROS

Short videos with quizzes allow students to spend just a few minutes a day on training and actually learn something.

CONS

Not actually a software issue but I find that left to follow the content at thier own pace, many employees will not stick with the program.

Vendor Response

Hi Michael! You hit the nail on the head. Access, consistency, and accountability. Access is the first step. When your team can access state of the art training, their careers are in their hands, and your team becomes all the more efficient and productive because of it. Consistency is key for long term gain and development. But without accountability...well, where would any of us be? Luckily, we know you're making great strides towards incentivizing training in a way that works for you and your techs. You've been such a great partner of ours for a long time, and have done such great work in building a training culture at your company. Keep up the great work!

Replied May 2021

Kim

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Training the Next Generation Workforce

We have had a very favorable experience with Interplay Learning. There was a gap in our usage during the recent pandemic as hiring was not at our normal pace. We have been very pleased with the program as well as the feedback and customer service. We would definitely recommend this product to others in the industry.

PROS

Interplay Learning allows us to efficiently train and/or assess our new technicians. There is reliable immediate feedback for both the employee and the employer.

CONS

Initially, we had some set up issues with the 3D simulations, but received assistance quickly from Interplay Learning with the issues.

Vendor Response

Hi Kim! Closing. The. Skills. Gap. Yes! This is one of the most important reasons we do what we do. Training efficiency is key, especially at scale, and we're so thrilled you and your team are maximizing the platform to achieve that. Keep up the great work, and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a powerful and candid review. Here's to training the next generation together!

Replied May 2021

James

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

A saving grace during Covid19

Overall it was the best program I have found for HVAC

PROS

This software is the missing link to any HVAC program , its easy to use for both the Instructor and students

CONS

Occasional glitches that could not be fixed

Reason for choosing Interplay Learning

Was the best simulations compared to others

Vendor Response

Hi James! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a thoughtful, awesome review. We're thrilled to hear it's the missing link for both your and your students Silicon Valley Career Technical Education. We're so humbled that incredible instructors like you trust us with your curriculum and your students. You kept your students on track, and we are so glad we could do our part to help you achieve that goal. Keep up the great work of future proofing your classroom!

Replied May 2021

Steve

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Steve's review

We are very satisfied.

PROS

The product works great and is always growing. We occasionally have issues with some of the VR streaming but have figured out with tech support how to resolve most of them.

CONS

We occasionally have issues with the VR running but have figured out solutions.

Ayaz

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY